Reading Reviews for What You've Given Me
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ArtyGirl Chapter 3

25th November 2014:
I can't read this any more because it hits too close to home. I just. I read your AN about the subject, but I feel it's written from someone who hasn't experienced the pain, fear and suffering of abuse like this. It's not fathomable. It's not believable. I do think JKR left out rape and sexual assault- a true part of war, and life- but then again it's a children's book... but I just feel as if you really haven't connected as an author to the feelings a rape victim has. I'm sure she loves her children dearly... but that fear that's there never goes away. It changes you. I just don't know if this was a good topic to start a story on. I am disgusted by the possibility of Hermione forgiven Draco. I'm sorry, I won't be reading this past this chapter. I can't. Like I said, too close to home yet still much to far away.

Author's Response: It's a shame you feel that way because the pain and the fear and everything else that comes along with a topic like this is more fully explored in Chapters 5 & 6.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lyse Chapter 5

24th November 2014:
About that last review, sorry. I should've read on. She *did* fight. Good on her, I guess. To answer your question for the reads, sometimes people just view this chapter multiple times and that causes the reads to go up. It's not that they don't read the chapters before.

What inspired the story, by the way?

x Lyse

Author's Response: Hey,

I'm glad you actually read on =)

My other story, Soft Mysteries, in a continued version on FF . net involves a story where Draco rescues he from being raped because they are dating, and then I got to thinking about how it might play out if they still hated each other but the same thing happened and Hermione got pregnant as a result. It grew from there. =)

Thanks for reviewing!

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lyse Chapter 1

24th November 2014:
Okay, I really can't deal here. Like did he *have* to rape her? Why wouldn't Hermione tell anyone? That doesn't seem very canon to me. The Hermione I know from the books would have like fought or screamed or something. Heck, I thought she would be the type to find him afterwards and hex him into the next decade. Why didn't she fight back? If he cared for her at that point, why couldn't he just like pretend that he raped her instead of actually doing so? Why would he even *consider* doing that? If he's so guilty, why didn't he turn himself in? I don't mean to come off as insulting or offensive. Gosh, like I really hope you don't read this review in that way. like I just need to know if you've considered it.

x Lyse

Author's Response: Hi Lyse,

Don't worry I haven't read it badly =) And I can assure you that all of these things have been taken into consideration. If you read past chapter one, you'll learn why he *had* to rape her and that Hermione did fight back. And I never said he cared for her during the war. In fact, his actions are only the result of not wanting to see her raped, killed and eaten by Greyback.

In all honesty, he doesn't care about her until much later, hence his horror at seeing her and his concern that he might have children with her. As to why Hermione didn't tell anyone, it's very common for victims of rape to hide it because they blame themselves for not being able to fight off the attack, or for believing that it must have been something they did to cause the attack. In this instance, if you read on, you will see that Hermione kept it from everyone because she believed she failed the trio by not being able to stop them being caught in the first place, and because she was ashamed to have anyone know she'd had intercourse, however involuntary, with Malfoy. She keeps the pregnancy from her friends for the same reason, because she doesn't want to admit to it, and as the children grow, doesn't ever want her kids to learn they only exist because of such a heinous act and such a horrific ordeal for both Hermione and Draco.

If you read on, it will all make sense I promise. =)

Thanks for reviewing though. It's nice to know what people are thinking as they read the chapter. Maybe I need to include a foreword on the story to clear up this kind of confusion. It's explained in later chapters, but I imagine there are a few whom, like you, read the first chapter and don't get it, resulting in them giving up on the story before they can enjoy the rest and have everything explained that way. It's a touchy subject too, so it's understandable that people have some trouble with it. =)

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #4, by a fan Chapter 6

15th November 2014:
when is your next chapter

Author's Response: Soonish, hopefully. I'm stuck on a new story idea at the moment, so I can't guarantee anything. I can only promise I will update eventually. =)

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #5, by Mirgob Chapter 5

29th October 2014:
Hey! :) I came from your Siruis/Hermione story...I love the way you write and captire emotions and reactions so perfectly! Love it!

Author's Response: Cool, thanks, I'm glad you liked my writing style so much that you looked up some of my other stories. Totally flattered over here! I hope you like the rest too.
xx-Wolfgirl17


 Report Review

Review #6, by KimmieC Chapter 6

25th October 2014:
Absolutely love this plot. Fantastic. I hope you update soon. Love reading this. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you liked it and will try to have more uploaded soon.
xx-Wolfgirl17


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pleased Chapter 6

20th October 2014:
This chapter really portrays some of the adverse effects of the trauma Hermione and Draco have experienced. Great work. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Impressed Chapter 5

20th October 2014:
Wow, they finally addressed the issue and it's so raw and tangled and messy and. I think you've done a good job of capturing the way such a scene might play out and I look forward to reading more of this story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by guest Chapter 4

20th October 2014:
Oh gosh, Ginny's reaction, and Hermione keeping secrets and Malfoy being well... Malfoy. More please!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by guest Chapter 3

20th October 2014:
So many raw emotions in this chapter. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by guest Chapter 2

20th October 2014:
This is good, I like the idea of Hermione opening a little tea-shop/cafe type place with books and feel-good products.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Anonymous Chapter 1

20th October 2014:
I like the way you've made Draco so tormented and have always thought Hermione would make a wonderful mother, no matter the circumstances that led to the conception of her children.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sarah Chapter 6

19th October 2014:
Another AWESOME chapter!! I hope you will get another chapter up again soon!!!

Author's Response: Hi, I hope so too. Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you are enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Sam Chapter 5

17th October 2014:
So far so good, I've read this and the previous chapters. Very good, great range of emotion. Very good

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying it and hope you will continue to read.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Silenceislouderthanwords14 Chapter 6

10th October 2014:
Oh. My. Gosh.

I was really drawn to this story because of the summary, and now I am so hooked! The last couple of chapters have been a bit intense, but wow! I am so excited to see how this story progresses! I can't wait for the next chapter!

You've definitely earned a new fan! :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad yo u like it. I love it when I manage to lure people in and hanker for more. Thanks so much for taking the time to review and I hope you stay hungry for more.
xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #16, by Murishka21 Chapter 6

10th October 2014:
Please tell me you are going to write more on this story!?!? This has by far been my most favorite one yet! I am excited to think it might continue.

Author's Response: Of course there will be more, my dear cherub, I never give up on a story. You'll definitely have more for you to read.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review. I love hearing what people think.
xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #17, by Amb Chapter 6

8th October 2014:
I really like this story so far, can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you like it.
xx-wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #18, by Danae Chapter 6

8th October 2014:
this story is amazing please write more soon

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review. I will try to have more uploaded soon.
xx-Wolfgirl17


 Report Review

Review #19, by Draco_Severus_Ginny Chapter 6

5th October 2014:
The whole book is simply amazing, it is so well written and I'm very impressed. I look foward to reading future chapters. Keep up with your great talent in writing fanfiction.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I will try to get an update written for you soon.
xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #20, by emia23 Chapter 6

2nd October 2014:
Wow I was so exited, an update! Oh how I have longed for it and then it ends in such an interesting way! How shall I bare to wait again?! Thank you so much. I love to see the way Draco has changed and that he finds ways to help her, even if it's in such small steps, I hope they will eventually find happiness together. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it and thanks so much for taking the time to rievew. I will try to have another chapter posted for y'all soon. In the meantime you should check out some of my other Dramione stories that are published now =)
xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #21, by Chrissy Chapter 6

30th September 2014:
I am so so so so so very happy that you finally updated :-) I loved this chapter. It was different from the rest, very emotional and deep. Please continue writing this story. You are doing such a fantastic job!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you liked it =)
xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #22, by Winghazel17533 Chapter 6

30th September 2014:
It's good, I just wish you would do a little less rambling

Author's Response: Rambling? I'm not really sure what you mean by Rambling. Do you mean rambling as in you think there is too much dialogue and not enough description?. Too much description and not enough dialogue?. Or just that you don't have the patience to read a slow-burn story, which this is, because you want to get to the forgiving and the happiness and the love-dovey fluff stuff. Because if the last one is the case, sorry to disappoint, but this story is going to be a slow ramble centered around the idea of Hermione learning to trust Draco after so much psychological damage.
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review though. =)
xx-Wolfigrl


 Report Review

Review #23, by Me Chapter 5

18th July 2014:
Love this story, plz update soon!

Author's Response: Hi, I'm glad you like it. Thanks for reviewing. I'll try to update soon.
xx-Wolfgirl.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Mlle-Lay Chapter 5

13th July 2014:
This story is so interesting ! I really want to find out what happens. I don't usually read on this website but I am on fanfiction and and your new story popped in my mail since I'm a fan of yours :). You said there were more chapters here so the first thing I did was check it out. I look forward to more, I don't have a clue how they are going to explain having kids to everyone !

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it so much. I will try to have an update ready soon.
xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #25, by Willow 136 Chapter 5

10th July 2014:
There are plenty of fics with a plot similar to this and yet you've managed write something so diferent, real and ... soft. I LOVED it. I started read this on FFnet and couln't wait till the next update.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it and hope you continue to follow the story. It's fun to write, though highly emotional at times. Thanks for reviewing.
xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>