Reading Reviews for Upper Class
  
52 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Six

29th September 2014:
^.^ Hey there, and sorry for stealing your review ^.^.

Of course Hermione would have to examine everything about her life -- about whether or not everything would be different. It's something that I'm sure will haunt her throughout the story, and it could drive anyone a little batty. I love the idea of not quite being able to "put words to her emotions". I think we've all been to that point at some point in our lives, which makes the saying easy to relate to.

Despite everything that's happening, it's wonderful to see Hermione and her parents getting along so nicely. There's a lot of love in that scene, and I think it reiterates the fact that her parents are still her parents, even through the huge secret they'd been keeping from her. ♥

Being gifted a house is something huge, and completely unexpected for Hermione. Naturally, it brings back all of the confusion for her, knocking her back from her sense of normalcy.

It's not surprising that she doesn't understand why the didn't fight, and why they took such extreme measures to hide from Voldemort, and her parents don't react to it the right way. The revelation that comes from it, that Hermione's mother was pregnant (and then lost that child) was absolutely heartbreaking. :(

I love the back story (even if it was sad)!

On a little side-note on your AN, I had absolutely no idea that English wasn't your primary! I think that it's absolutely incredible that you write so well in a secondary language! I could never write so well in my secondary ;).

Great job!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Five

23rd September 2014:
Hey there ;).

Format-less Rumpel ramblings, round two.

I think that Pansy's ownership of a high-end dress shop suits her perfectly, especially with what you're doing with her characterization. Pansy never had much of a show of character development in the series, mostly because she was an extremely minor character, so I absolutely love what you are doing with her. She's has hints of what canon we DO have from her, and then so much more depth (from growth through the years and just more characterization in general).

Obviously, Hermione is a bit overwhelmed by all of the different kinds of dresses, heels and jewelry that Pansy has available in her shop. Not being used to such an array of items would be overwhelming to anybody, really. Of course, Pansy doesn't make it much easier on her, with her snide comments about Hermione's sense of fashion ;).

Draco's characterization really shines in this chapter, as he defends Hermione against Pansy's comments.

Despite everything about Pansy, she sure knows what she's talking about when it comes down to fashion advice. I'm curious to see if Hermione will be able to make a good impression at the fundraiser, and if she'll be able to walk in those heel ;).

Another great chapter!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Four

22nd September 2014:
Hey dear, I'm here for the Slytherin review exchange.

(I don't particularly feel like sticking to a format tonight, so prepare yourself for a free-for-all!)

Understandably, Hermione's remains entirely resistant to the idea of her parents' new lifestyle (well, their OLD lifestyle that was abandoned, and now being reestablished). I do love that you've kept this canon stubbornness about her that really is one of the only things about her that could possibly hold her back...and of course, she's holding herself back from experiencing life differently. Though, I wouldn't be too keen on spending time around someone like Draco, who had tormented me through school. That's a tough situation to be in.

Her state of dress caused that much commotion? Oh boy... Well, maybe she'll get the elitist-style dress down someday ;). It seems quite unfair though, that she would be judged solely on the way she was dressed -- poor girl!

Harry's outburst made me laugh a little. He's really a great friend, and I love Harry/Ginny in this, it's very cute.

Of course, with the obligations to her parents hanging over her head, she can't exactly escape the life that she doesn't want. That leaves room for some interaction with Draco, because she does, in fact, need his help if she's going to pull this off. It is also true that she'll be able to escape the grasps of the Prophet if she is able to blend into the society smoothly, becoming invisible instead of sticking out like a sore thumb.

Speaking of, that particular part of Diagon Alley is a little intimidating, isn't it? Though, I wouldn't expect to meet someone like Draco Malfoy anywhere else. Hermione may hate Draco, if only just a little ;) but I don't think that she would have any reason to believe that he would poison her (at least not now that the war is over and everything).

I'm excited to see all of the guidance that Draco can provide in leading the lifestyle of the upper class (or 'infiltrating' it, as he's said). I find it humorous that Hermione's getting dragged along into this, especially that she'll be dealing with Pansy in the ways of dressing properly ;).

Great chapter! Sorry about the rambling (it's what happens when I don't stick to my format)!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 Chapter One

21st September 2014:
I loved the ending of this chapter! That was just so mean and yet wonderful at the same time! It will definitely help for the dramioneness of the story and to bring that about. I always find these kind of stories my guilty pleasure as I really can't help but read them and enjoy them, including the ones where Hermione is really Blaises sister. I thought that this was a wonderful opening to your story. It sets it up perfectly and gives me a good idea of where things are going to be going from here. The only thing I can suggest would be to maybe add in some more descriptions such as the apartment and the likes. Overall though, it was a very enjoyable first chapter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell Chapter Six

20th September 2014:
Hey Avi! Finally made it back :D

For some reason, I love that their dog is named Alastair.

This is great, "Suddenly Hermione wanted to learn more about their history, who was her grandparents? What about their parents? Did any of them invent anything or did they have a dark history? ď
--Itís just so Hermione. Of course the idea that she now had this family connection to wizarding history would fascinate her!

I honestly think her parents took her not wanting their gift extremely well. Of course, they know her, and maybe they saw that coming. And I donít blame Hermione for not wanting to lose yet another piece of her normal life, though it sounds like eventually she might have to.

Iím glad to see that it looks like they were Gryffindors! Just because sheís already had her world turned upside down, and it would probably be nice for her to have that connection with them. And there are Purebloods in houses other than Slytherin, after all. I wonder if they did have a connection to Harryís parents. After all, James was a Pureblood, as was Sirius. It seems likely that even if they werenít friends, they must have known one another.

Thatís so sad about what happened with her sister. I can understand their wanting to get out and protect Hermioneís mom, especially while she was in such a delicate state. I can also understand why Hermione got so upset about it. After all, she did stay and fight.

I wonder why, when they realized their daughter had been caught up in the fight against Voldemort again, they didnít leave? Maybe they knew that Hermione would never forgive them for it? They canít have been cowards, at any rate, to go through it all a second time.

Good chapter. I really feel for Hermione. Itís such a hard situation sheís been put in.

So, I have this fantasy/mental picture wherein Hermione decidees f that if she could brew a Polyjuice Potion at the age of 12 then, for Merlinís sake, as a full grown woman she is certainly not going to let herself be defeated by mascara! And then, like, a montage of Hermione poring over the makeup sections of a pile of Witch Weeklyís, and when Draco inevitably makes some snarky comment about her finally figuring it out. she punishes him by talking his ear off about random facts she picked up in

 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell Chapter Five

19th September 2014:
Man, Pansy knows more about fashion than I do! I learned stuff.

Iím definitely interested to see how Hermione handles all this. Sheís very competent and clever, and is perfectly capable of learning and remembering all these rules. However, Hermione also remembers things so well because sheís interested in knowledge, and this isnít the sort of knowledge that generally interests her.

Also, I am really curious? *Is* Pansy in some sort of trouble?

Hmm...I guess I shall have to read on to find out!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #7, by Infinityx Chapter Six

11th September 2014:
Avi! I am so so sorry! I just realized that I'd read this chapter but hadn't reviewed, so here I am a few days too late. :/

I am so glad you finally updated this! I know it must have taken some effort to consciously get back to writing something that you last updated quite a long time ago and I hope the plunnies are flowing now!

I like how you've brought in Hermione's insecurities with the whole situation. I mean, if such a huge secret had been revealed to me, I'd probably feel so angry and betrayed. And the way Hermione thinks about the sorting also connects well with her position. It's just like her to try and rationalize something out but also over-think at the same time.

It's so nice that she's finally going back to meet her parents. And no matter what they did, they're her parents and I love how she feels when she sees her mum again. The house is just magnificent and I get why Hermione was so awed! Maybe she could feel a tiny bit of resentment though? She's suddenly been pushed into a new life without explanation so she'd probably take a while to recover from the shock.

I think you've done a great job of characterizing Hermione. The anger, the silent acceptance, the love she feels for her parents even when she's angry...that seems just like her. However, wouldn't her parents try to make her feel better and explain things before they tell her about tradition and everything? Or are they just that way, not understanding the position Hermione's in? I understand if they're shallow parents. They did watch their daughter struggle against Voldemort without telling her anything about her history or that they're both magical. And even if they had reason not to fight in the first war, they could have in the second one! So anyway, it makes sense if their personalities are just a bit...uncaring. I don't really like them much.

Great going with this chapter, Avi! You've evoked a lot of strong emotions and you've characterized everyone in such different ways that are really interesting! I'm really curious to know how things proceed so don't stop writing this story and update soon!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Amber Chapter Five

22nd August 2014:
The book really sucked me in. Love it!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you love my story! :)
Thank you so much for reviewing.

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ellie Chapter Five

31st July 2014:
Have you written anymore yet?

Author's Response: Hi!

Not yet, my laptop crashed, so I lost the chapter I had written, and I went on a trip afterwards. But hopefully I'll get the time to write a new Chapter Six soon!

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #10, by Emily Chapter Five

10th July 2014:
Update please😩

Author's Response: I'll update as soon as I can :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jane Chapter Five

30th June 2014:
Do you have a specific date you are planning to update?

Author's Response: I just got a new laptop, so hopefully the new chapter will be written this week! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Sarah Chapter Five

17th June 2014:
Great story!! Post again soon.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you liked it.
I'll post a few chapters during summer :)

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #13, by Samantha Chapter Five

16th June 2014:
Please update soon!:)

Author's Response: I'll definitely update this story with a few chapters during the summer :)
Thank you so much for your reveiw!


 Report Review

Review #14, by MissBookWorm Chapter Five

23rd May 2014:
Loving the story so far, just wish the chapters were a little bit longer! But its going great so far and is well written

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you! I'll definitely try to keep the chapters longer from now on :D

Thank you so much for reviewing :)
- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lululuna Chapter Five

19th May 2014:
Hi again!

So I forgot to mention this last chapter but I liked the details about how hot it is and how they have to cope with that. It's such a relatable thing and being too hot is such a wretched feeling, and I really loved the detail about Hermione's feet squelching in her sandals.

Hmm, so are Draco and Pansy dating, or is the whole "my love" thing just them being posh? If they are, then that's certainly an interesting development...and I'm very intruiged by Draco's cryptic comments and how Hermione is sensing that there's something going on here beneath the surface in the last few lines.

I feel like I learned something about accessorizing from Pansy here! :P But come on, Hermione, did she really not know what mascara was or was she just playing along to avoid interrupting Pansy? :P

I'm so interested in so many things - whether her parents really were dentists, getting to know them better, what Draco is up to, and even the other details like Hermione's job and where she's at in her life other than the shock of finding out her identity. This is a really original and fun story to read, and I especially like all the little canon details. Well done, and I'll definitely be back when you update! :D

Author's Response: Hi Jenna! :)

I'm so sorry for the (very) late response to your lovely reviews! RL has been hectic, with my project and all.
I was so surprised to see FIVE reviews from you! It made me so happy! And perhaps a little embarrased I only gave you five, even though I intended to give you more - but then again, RL came in the way.

Hehe, I'm glad you liked that detail with the sandals - I was so unsure how to describe it.
No, they're not dating - but I can see why it seems confusing. I always had this impression that the upper class people throw words like that easily around, but they mean it when they say it - just as friends, though. And the real reason to why will come later :)

Haha, I'm glad you learned something from Pansy! :P Well, in that scene Hermione did downplay a little bit - just to please Pansy :) So you're right :P

Now that I have time for it, the sixth chapter will be up very soon! And there you'll get the story about Hermione's parents :D I'm so glad you liked my story, and that you'll come back?! You're too sweet, Jenna! *hugs you*
Thank you so much for your lovely reviews! I loved reading them, and responding to them.

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #16, by Lululuna Chapter Four

19th May 2014:
Hello again! :)

Ah, I like how you're bringing them together here! It's subtle, and careful, and makes sense, and I wonder if Draco has some sort of ulterior motive, like he wants to bring down the upper class or something, I'm not sure but you got me excited with all the talk of missions. :P It would be so cool if they were working to break down the class barriers instead of just integrating Hermione into them: sort of destroying the need for the upper class to exist. I sound very socialist right now: it's been a long day. :P

The one thing I'm not sure about is how Hermione is sort of giving Draco the benefit of the doubt about bullying her: frankly I still get the impression that he was a little spoiled brat and did enjoy the bullying and the power it gave him, even if he's grown up a lot since then and now sees the error of his ways. But it is very like Hermione to try and see the best in everybody, and it's one of the things I love about her. So I'm excited to see how that whole issue of their past progresses.

Working in a high-end dress shop seems like a good job for Pansy. :P I wonder if she's going to be mean to Hermione or perhaps try to cosy up to her now that she's of a higher social standing? Hmm...

This chapter reminded me a little of the Princess Diaries and the makeover moments, if you've seen/read them. Except instead Hermione has Draco as her guide. Hey, he liked that jewellery store, I bet he has great taste in dresses too!

Another great chapter, I really like how the plot is progressing smoothly, but not too quickly and how the details and plot are so well balanced. Well done!

Author's Response: Hi again, Jenna!

Haha, ulterior motive :D well, he has another motive - but I can't talk about it, since it's a spoiler of some sort :) Except that it doesn't have anything to do with tearing down the upper class. Sorry to disappoint you :b

I really should write Draco as snobby, maybe even a little. I somehow just find it difficult, I don't know why :/ But yeah, I thought it'd be very Hermione as well, that she tries to see the best in people.

Hehe, it's a perfect job for Pansy - since she was so snobby in the books, haha :) I tihnk it's going to be a mix, but I can't say more than that :b Other than she's going to be an important character for the story as well :) uuuhh :b

I'm so glad you liked my story! And it took me such a long time to answer all your lovely reviews! (I'm not sure how I did it, but your review for the fourth chapter is the last one I respond to... hmm.)

Thank you so much for reviewing my story! It meant a lot to me, and it certaintly brighten up my day :)
- Avi


 Report Review

Review #17, by Lululuna Chapter Three

19th May 2014:
Hi again! :)

It's great to see the Trio together again, I love how Harry and Hermione are still having their emotional chats, even if this time it's Harry being there for Hermione instead of vice versa. I also liked how Harry was the one cooking as since he lived with the Dursleys and was basically their child house elf he would have had to do a lot of cooking and still know how, whereas the Weasleys would be more used to having Molly do it and waiting around for their supper - great details! :)

I'm really glad they're talking about the bullying from Hogwarts. If somebody was as rude and relentless towards me as Draco was to Hermione he would probably be the last person I would ever trust/fall for so I'm glad you're confronting that and I'm sure you'll find a strong way for Hermione to confront her issues and see if they are able to move forward.

Haha, poor Hermione! Honestly I probably would have wanted to wear comfortable clothing as well so that was very relatable, how was she supposed to know? I also liked how you showed Narcissa's snobbiness and how it was compared to Hermione's mum's not caring about her daughter's clothes, and just the fact that she was there. It did a good job of highlighting the differences between the two woman, possibly brought on my the war, and goes back to Hermione's earlier thought that perhaps her parents had also been cold before the war.

This was another wonderful chapter, and I can't wait to read more and find out what else is going to happen at the party/for Hermione's development! :) Lucky me that the wifi likes me today and I can keep reading. :P

Author's Response: Hi Jenna! :)

You notice so many different things, I like it! With Harry cooking, that was exactly what I thought of - he was raised by muggles, so cooking with magic isn't something he's familiar with (except those times he had dinner with the Weasley's), so I thought it'd be realistic to have him cook without magic :)

I'm definitely going to find a strong way for Hermione to confront those issues, that came from being bullied, and also a way to confront Draco about it :) He will definitely not get easily away from it :b

The scene where we can see how different Narcissa and Hermione's mother is, was certainly my way to kind of respond to Hermione's doubt about her parents :) Again, you notice so many things! It's incredible.

Haha, you did manage to review all my chapters during that ride :D
- Avi


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lululuna Chapter Two

19th May 2014:
Hello again! :)

*swoons over the amazing Ci*

It's great to see that Hermione is still coming to terms with her parents' lies. Like I said last time I'm really excited to learn more about her parents and get to know them with this story and what their motivations were. It's nice to see how important family is to the whole cast of characters and how Draco, if not right away Hermione, seems to realize that especially after the war they should be keeping their families close.

I like the dialogue between Draco and Hermione, and how there isn't really attraction between them yet but he's mainly there as a favour to her family. It seems to fit more rather than him deciding to be nice to her all of a sudden just because she's a pureblood, but he actually has some family motivations to be welcoming.

The one thing I would have liked to read more about in this chapter was how Draco's parents were spies for the Order. I think it's probably important for the story that they still be around and have their influence in society but it did seem a little quick and without explanation, so that had me wondering. But that just means I'm even more excited to learn more details about that in future chapters, of course! :)

Another great chapter, Avi! :)

Author's Response: Hi again, Jenna! :)

Yes, the chapter image is so gorgeous! :)
I really think it's important to let her deal with the fact that she's a pureblood SLOWLY. So I thought it'd be realistic that she also takes a long time to adjust to the fact that her parents have been lying to her, her entire life. It would be unrealistic if she forgave them quickly and just focused on her new bloodstatus - at least that's wat I think :P :)

Draco really isn't interested in her, yet. It's not reaally a spoiler, since this story is already listed under the Draco/Hermione ship, hehe. But yeah, there isn't really any attraction between them and he is only doing it for his family's sake.

Yeah, the part with his parents, I really should have written more about it! I was just really unsure what to do with it, because like Hermione's parents, I wanted to explain it later in the story, so it didn't take too much focus from this chapter. But then again, I can't just leave the readers hangin' by mentioning it shortly and move on... hmm. I'll definitely think about it! :)

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiws, Jenna! You're a sweetheart!
- Avi


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lululuna Chapter One

19th May 2014:
Hi Avi! :) Here for the snake review exchange! :D Just so you know I'm on my ipad in a land of unpredictable wifi so if these reviews are a little weird/typo-ridden that is why. :P

Ooh, so this is a really cool story idea! I'm not a hardcore Dramione shipper, but I do enjoy individual stories about them if they're interesting and written well and believably and I really like this one so far. I've seen a few stories where Hermione finds out she's a pureblood because she's Zabini's long lost sister or something but I think this is so original and I love how it keeps her parents in the picture and even turns it into these more dynamic and secretive characters than in the books - I always had a bit of a soft spot for those dear old dentists. :P

Haha, I love how Harry and Ron are so messy and typical boys, and their casual, comfortable bromance of course. They're just great and I do really like how you wrote all three canon characters here. Another cool thing is how you manage to say a lot without wasting words, if that makes sense: instead of describing the whole scene with the parents and then having Hermione repeat it to her friends, you use suspense and build-up to present the big reveal to the reader in a more dynamic way. I can't wait to find out more - for some reason I'm very interested in what houses Hermione's parents were in, especially. :P

I also am curious to find out more about why her parents felt the need to be undercover for so long. Right now I'm kind of thinking that maybe they were scared Voldy would try and recruit them as Death Eaters, and they weren't ready too be spies, so they tried to get themselves out of the situation altogether. That would actually make a lot of sense. I also can't wait to hear more about this friendship with the Malfoys as it feels so unlikely but so awesome.

Another great characterization was when Ron assumed that Hermione would want to be pureblood. It shows how even though he's a good guy and a pretty kind person, he still carries some inevitable prejudice that even though he doesn't think Muggleborns are lesser than wizards, he still thinks there's something special about being a pureblood. It's something I felt from him a little bit in the books and I love how you've hinted at that here.

But then, Hermione is just lovely how she doesn't care about blood status, but about the fact that she's been lied to. It's not how pure or noble her blood is, but that her identity is confused, and that's a great element to throw in there. I'm looking forward to seeing how she continues to deal with this, and really like how she doesn't think this should change her even if it does shape the way she thinks about her parents. It's very in character for Hermione!

Great start, Avi! :) I'll be back for the next chapter soon!

Author's Response: Hi Jenna!

Such a long review! I'll definitely do my best to give the best response to it! :)

Yes, I've been seeing those stories as well - there are a few of them out there, but I've never read them. I really wanted to try a different approach to the plot about Hermione being pureblood :) I'm glad you liked it!

I thought it would be the best way to write the chapter, without being too repetitive. I'm so thrilled to know I succeeded in that :b I remembered Harry being a little messy during his stay at the Durlsey's, so I just let him be messy as a grown up as well :) hehe.

Your guess on Hermione's parents isn't bad at all, and all will be revealed in the sixth chapter! I'm not saying this to force you to read the sixth chapter (which I'll be working on very soon) but I have everything planned - all the way up to the fifteenth chapter :)
And chapter six is actually dedicated to her parents! Who knows, maybe you'll be able to get the answer to your question - which house they were in, in Hogwarts :b

I'm glad you noticed that with Ron, as I kind of hinted it with the way he didn't understand Hermione. Because he was there during their entire time at Hogwarts, and he saw how hurt she was from being bullied because she was a muggleborn. When she finds out she's pureblood, he automatically assumes that all problems are solved. In a good way.

I'm so happy you liked my chapter! And thank you so much for all your lovely reviews!

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #20, by dramione lovegirl Chapter Five

17th May 2014:
hi!

this is a great story :) i love the plot and i love the way Draco behaves towards hermione. Instead of the usual way where hermione gets to know that she is some slytherin's twin, this is perfect and i really loved all those fashion tips thanks a lot for that :) keep going all the best :) waiting for more :)

Author's Response: Hi! :)

I'm so happy you like my story. Yes, I've been hearing alot about the stories where Hermione turns out to someone's twin. I've been avoiding them, but I was also kind of inspired by them - instead of her being adopted, I made her parents hide their true identity :)

I'll definitely write more, and hoprefully the following chapters will be up soon!

Hugs,
- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #21, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Three

9th May 2014:
Hey there -- I thought I'd return some of the lovely reviews you left me ^.^.

Plot/plot arch: Harry could be right; things have the possibility of not changing all that much. The Weasley's are (and the Potters were) purebloods, and they were nice and normal (ish). However, there is also a strong possibility that things WILL change, though, change doesn't have to be a bad thing. It makes sense that Hermione never told her parents about being bullied at school; when I was in school, I never told my parents. It was just something I'd dealt with. Furthermore, it does make sense why they're attempting to use Draco to convince Hermione, thusly. After all, they are only seeing him as the son of their best friends, and not somebody who had been mean to their daughter throughout the majority of their school years. Between running late and feeling a bit underdressed at the party (two things that never mix well), I can imagine Hermione's feeling a bit disgruntled!

Characterization: Ron -- the eating...it's fantastic. Hermione -- There are a couple different elements in this chapter that indirectly point towards her personality. They're subtle, which is why I really love them. The first is Hermione's wardrobe. While it has a large capacity to hold clothes, Hermione's never really seemed as though she'd be bothered by something as trivial as clothing (which explains her very small selection). The large capacity for more strikes me as symbolism for Hermione's ability for character growth/change, if she allows herself the opportunity, and/or that something's missing from her life (the empty space), though she doesn't realize it at the moment (I tend to read too much into things, so don't mind me). The second element that I liked was the fact that Hermione was late. It's not in her nature to be late, which really emphasizes her reluctance to go to this house warming. Furthermore, her constant worry over being late wraps right back around into canon nicely. Narcissa -- I love her welcoming nature that's mildly spattered with her pureblood nature... it's pretty fantastic!

Detail: The story behind the swallow necklace was sweet, and I do believe that it will hold some purpose in the future, perhaps acting as foreshadowing. I'll keep my eye out for that.

Emotion: Anticipation, worry, and overall distress really shine through in this chapter. Hermione's emotions are explainable and natural in response to the stress entering her life.

Notes/other: Fantastic! Sorry it has taken me a bit to get back here, I get distracted easily and forget things that I want to get done ;).

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi Rumpel!

So sorry it took so long to reply to your lovely review! It made me so happy :)

That's what happened to me too, and which is the reason to why I wanted Hermione to keep it a secret. My mother was a teacher at my school, which is why I never told her that I was being bullied. Hell would break loose. So I really understand why you didn't either. And Hermione :b

Ah yes. Hermione's wardrobe! I loved writing that part, because I felt that it really showed her personality, just like you said. I've always imagined her being this hard working young woman when the war was over. That she doesn't have time to shop, buy nice things to herself and stuff like that.

Rumpel, you really have a gift for noticing things! I did make Hermione get late, JUST to emphasize the fact that she wasn't really keen on attending the housewarming :) You're amazing.
And yes, the necklace will be featured later in the story again - again, you're amazing. *applause*

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I loved it!

Big hugs,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #22, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Two

28th April 2014:
*Stumbles in and acts like she's been here the entire time.* -_- I realize that I'm cutting it close, but life has been utter chaos (as it can be) recently. I'm here! (Do I get brownie points for making it over before the deadline?)

Anyway.

Plot/plot arch: I can't help but sympathize with Hermione. It must be impossibly tough to go through life without really knowing who you are (that sounds odd, but I think you'll know what I mean). I wonder if things would have been different if Hermione had been raised as a pureblood. Perhaps she wouldn't have tried so hard in school because she wasn't a Muggle-born entering a new world, or maybe she would have even been sorted into a different House. I find it funny that Draco shows up suddenly AFTER Hermione learns that she's actually a pureblood :D. One of the things that I'm most skeptical about with Dramione is how the couple got together. This explanation is a just cause for romantic interest in my head, so thank you for that! Hermione's going to have an extremely difficult time adjusting, it seems, especially with the Prophet and other reporters attempting to get their noses into her personal life!

Characterization: Your cannon is nicely peppered with some continued character growth from when we left them in DH (excluding the epilogue, of course). I like to see characters continuing to grow, and I think that you did a great job with it!

Detail: In response to your previous response, I think that for many people the amount of detail and description that they like to see really depends on personal preference. In general, in certain scenes, it may suit the story better to have more descriptions while other times it seems to muck up the flow of the story if someone were to have many descriptions. I still have certain people comment over and over that I need more descriptions, even when I write details down to the color and texture of the bed curtains. I personally like the amount of detail you add in your story, because it flows directly into the story without becoming distracting. Like I said, I really think that it has a lot to do with personal preference.

Emotion: I really care about Hermione (already) in this. I want her to be happy and to be able to accept her predicament, though I know it will be a struggle. I also think that you captured Draco and Hermione's interactions nicely, as it made for some great characterization and dialogue.

Notes/other: I definitely rambled in this, despite my reviewing style (which is meant to prevent me from rambling). Hopefully I was able to provide some decent feedback somewhere in here ;).

Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi Rumpel! It's like you never left (psst. I won't tell anyone) :P

Yes, Hermione will be/is going through a rough time, since she learned the truth. And I'll definitely do my best to try and develop her character through the following chapters.
I've always wondered the same thing, what would Hermione be like if she was a pureblood? I stay clear of the stories that include her being an adopted child, but this plot I thought was interesting - which is why I started writing this story :)

I'm so glad you mention the growth of the characters, which is exactly what I was going for. So it's nice to see that I succeeded with it :)

Yes, it really has a lot to do with personal preferences. I get all these reviews that tells me what I could do better, and since I don't speak english or have read the books for quite some time now, I get easily affected by it and often think they're right (even though there is no right or wrong). So I'm glad you think my amount of detail is okay, I think I needed to hear that :)
I'm not the best at writing in detail, mostly because I don't speak english (well yes I do, but you know what I mean) so there's a lot of descrptive words I don't know about or know how to use :)

You were definitely helpful! Never question that. You're a brilliant reviewer :) And thank you for reviewing!

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #23, by Missy_Janelle Chapter One

26th April 2014:
Hey! This is OMG! Hermione is not a Muggle born! U love it! How do you come up with such good ideas? Though didn't Hermione obliviate (erase their memory) her parents brains before she went off with Ron and Harry in the last book? It doesn't matter anyway, it doesn't make the story not good.

Well it's obvious from the banner that thus is probably going to be a Dramione so I wonder how that will unfold. I bet that Draconian won't believe that she's a pure blood but then again it could be someone else. I wonder how Ron and Harry will react to Hermione going out with DracosGirl12's. This US just me assuming that it WILL be a Dramione.

I thought the chapter was a bit short but that was probably because I enjoyed it so much :) good job!

HEG

Author's Response: Hi :D

I was a little confused, and had to check the account you used to write this review. It's your collab-account :D Can't wait to read what you've come up with, it's exciting.

I thought it was a terrible idea, haha! But I don't remember how I came up with it, maybe when I read a few stories that included her being adopted...
I read in an interview with JK Rowling that Hermione went back and gave them their memories again. So I based my story on that :)

It will be a Dramione, in the future chapters :) I guess you mean Draco when you write Draconian and DracosGirl12's? :D

Thank you so much for your review :) And I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it!

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #24, by AudenPenelope Chapter Five

14th April 2014:
I like that Draco and Pansy have enough respect for each other that she listens to him. This is a good story, but again, I can't help but want more! I'd love to hear more about her parents (did they go to Hogwarts? How did they meet the Malfoys?)

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm glad you liked that they respect each other. And I have plans to explain it later in the story (oh so many plans) and it will explain the reason to their close friendship.

Hermione's parents, the answers will be revealed in Chapter Six :D I'm actually not advertising or anything, but I have everything planned (up to Chapter Fifteen so far) and it so happens that Chapter Six will be about Hermione's parents! :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading my story and read all five chapters even though it wasn't your ship! I'm so happy :)
- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #25, by AudenPenelope Chapter Four

14th April 2014:
Oooohh, so in my last review I asked if she didn't realize how fancy the party would be. I can see how she would get confused. I certainly wouldn't think to dress up all fancy for a housewarming - especially not one that my formerly muggle middle class parents were throwing. Haha.

I, again, enjoy that you don't skip over the whole Malfoy-had-a-part-in-the-war bit. It's an interesting thought that they were just playing pretend to avoid suspicion from Voldemort. I can certainly buy that. Especially from Narcissa - I would love to see her fleshed out more; the idea of Narcissa having a best friend is just fascinating to me and I can see her being kind of snobbish/fashionable/well-intentioned in her own way.

And we meet Parkinson! Is she going to be mean or a new best friend? :-)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yes, haha, there was the answer to your earlier question :D

Well yes, i think that part shouldn't be left out. Just like the part with Malfoy bullying Hermione. And I'm so happy you're enjoying it!
Narcissa is probably one of the people we all expect to be snobbish, but she still loves her family very much and wants to protect them in any way she can. But I'll try my best to write her snobbish :)

Oooohh Pansy. I love her! And to answer your question, she'll be a little bit of both.

Again, again. Thank you so much for your reviews!
- Lostmyheart


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>