Reading Reviews for Upper Class
75 Reviews Found

Review #1, by rosiful Chapter One

9th October 2015:
I'm here to give you a Hot Seat Review! Which I know I'm a bit late for... Sorry! I had meant to start reading this story sooner, but better late than never?

I've never read a 'Hermione is actually a Pureblood' story, but I think it is such an interesting concept and there's so much to explore with it! I really like that you've kept her parents as her actual parents. Yes, they lied to her and kept their past and knowledge of magic completely hidden, but at least they still took care of her and did what they thought was best for her?

It would really suck to be in her position right now though! I feel really bad for her. I mean... not even her last name was actually real? Which does make sense if they were hiding her/their family, but still, that would be so freaky!

I wasn't really sure how old the trio is in this... I know they've left Hogwarts and everything, but how many years has it been? But, I'm sure I'll find out in the next few chapters!

I really liked the ending of this chapter, makes me want to read on.
I can't wait to see the Dramione!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Seven

5th October 2015:
Do you know how stoked I am to see another chapter of Upper Class? Super-stoked.

It's true, Hermione does always come with a backup plan. However, everything that has been going on seems to have taken its toll on her. She seems to be getting sucked into the riptide, so to speak. She's lucky to have such great friends who support her ♥ .

Part of what I like about this is the hint of a potential love interest between Ron and Hermione, that becomes almost completely demolished when Draco comes around ;). He's super suave!

Of course Pansy doesn't like her own husband -- she's Pansy (tehe)!

Aaannnd you've stopped the story on a cliffhanger! That's mean, Avi! :D I wonder what she'll ask Hermione about. Maybe she'll try to fight for Draco's affection, or maybe she'll have some dirt on Draco that she wants to tell Hermione! Or maybe something else!

Ah, the suspense!

Great chapter, dear!


 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Seven

5th October 2015:
I wonder what Astoria wants to talk to Hermione about? Draco didn't seem to like her all that much so I have to wonder about her character and whether or not she'll be a friend or a rival to Hermione.

So, Pansy's shop is still new and Draco wanted Hermione wearing one of her dresses to help get the name of her business out there? That was nice of him to do for Pansy. And surely the more Hermione shops from there the more the word will probably get out about it.

And Pansy's married! That was a bit of a surprise. Although it did seem odd that she's so affectionate with Draco but could seem to care less about her own husband. I wonder why that is.

I also wonder what the press will say about Hermione now that she's been to her first fundraiser. I can't wait to read more. I do hope you post more chapters soon!

Great story, Avi!

 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Six

5th October 2015:
That's so great that Hermione's not so scared of being a pureblood anymore! Although terribly sad that her parents lost their first child! They must have been under so much worrying about their friends and all the muggles and muggleborns while they hid away from Voldemort!

I am curious to know more about their family though. Were her parents Gryffindors? Does she have any interesting ancestors who helped shape history? And how did she lose her job? And where did she work anyway? I don't think you ever really mentioned that? That's terrible that she had to go through all of that. I hope she's able to find work again soon, unless she decides not to work. I guess without how rich her family is she wouldn't need to, but Hermione doesn't really seem like someone who would just not work. She's always been very interested in helping others and making the Wizarding World a better place. I think she could do a lot of good with some of these fundraisers if she just set her mind to it.

I can't wait to see what happens next! Only one more chapter left!


 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Five

5th October 2015:
I'm still wondering about the relationship between Draco and Pansy, they do seem very affectionate to one another. And they both call each other 'love' which is interesting.

I'm glad Pansy and Hermione were able to get along for the most part though. I do wonder though what Draco meant about this being good for the both of them? Maybe it will make Pansy look good if Hermione shops at her shop? Maybe Draco thinks Pansy and Hermione should be friends to help benefit Pansy's business? I wish Hermione had asked more questions, like how long Pansy has owned the shop.

I can't wait to see what happens next though! Great story so far, Avi!


 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Four

5th October 2015:
I loved this chapter! I love the way Malfoy talks about Hermione entering the aristocracy, he really does make it sound like a mission! I'm sure he knows what he's doing though.

I can't believe the Daily Prophet wrote about Hermione like that! Saying she caused a scandal at the party and kicked the door down, barging in in muddy clothes and what not. The doors were wide open for Merlin's sake! Anyone could have walked in! Of course some of the people may have been a bit disgusted by her clothes but she didn't know the event was going to be such a formal one. Although maybe if she had contacted her parents sooner she would have had more of a heads up.

And Pansy is in this! Oh, I'm so excited for the next chapter! I wonder if Pansy is still harboring a crush on Draco, or if they are just good friends? Very curious! And how will Pansy get along with Hermione!? I guess I'm just going to have to read to find out!


 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Three

4th October 2015:
Hahha, yes! Ask Malfoy for help! I must say when she was getting dressed I was a little hesitant, like "you're going to wear that? Didn't you remember hearing about the balls and galas? This probably won't be much different..." lol. But I'm so glad she finally faced her parents and feels comfortable around them again. And where is Malfoy anyway? I was kind of expecting him to just appear out of the crowd at the sound of his name. lol.

Although I am slightly curious as to why Harry and Ron were invited? Since they aren't exactly in with the aristocracy. Or were they invited because her parents knew they were her best friends? I was just curious.

Anyway, this was a great chapter and I can't wait to read the next! Hopefully I can get through all of them by tonight/tomorrow.


 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Two

4th October 2015:
Oooh, we get to see Malfoy in this chapter! And so soon! I like how he sought her out in the jewelry shop and enjoyed how she called him out or not being there to shop for a girlfriend he didn't have. It's sweet that he cares for his parents, and even her parents, and wants to help her adjust to her new station as part of the aristocracy. I wonder if she will accept his help in the near future?

It was nice though, seeing them have a civil chat where they aren't shouting or cursing each other. I wonder if she'll go see her parents though after talking to Draco. It is kind of inconsiderate to worry them like that by avoiding them and refusing their invitations.

I'm super excited to read on but I might not be able to review anymore until tomorrow.


 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter One

4th October 2015:
Hi Avi! I'm here to give you more Hot Seat reviews! I must say I love a good "Hermione's actually pureblood" story and I love Dramiones so I honestly don't know why I didn't check this out sooner. It's been on my reading list for ages.

But this is quite interesting! I feel bad that Hermione's so upset over all her parents' lies. I think that would be a hard thing to accept when you look at all the little things like Hermione has. They've been playing dumb all her life about Magic and the Wizarding World and she doesn't know what to do with that information. And why wait so long to tell her the truth? Although is she really 21? At first it sounded like this was the first dinner she's had with her parents since the war ended, but she would have only been 18 or so then. What's been going on between then and now? I'm a little confused about that.

It's also a little confusing why they decided to hide for all those years. But even Hermione doesn't seem to understand that so I guess that's okay. Maybe they were afraid of being forced to join up with Voldemort since they were so close with the Malfoys.

I did notice a little mistake when Hermione first appears in Harry and Ron's apartment, you say they hear weeping sounds twice in the same sentence.

But overall this was a nice start to the story. I can't wait to read on to see what happens next.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Crescent Moon  Chapter Seven

30th May 2015:
I've just found this and I'm loving it so far!
Dramione's are my guilty pleasure so I can't wait to see what happens as you develop their relationship.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you love it!
I am currently in the process of re-writing all the chapters, then I'll post the seventh chapter! ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by MadiMalfoy Chapter One

24th May 2015:
Hello! This is me (inexcusably) here for your requested review from so long ago you most likely completely forgot about it!

Okay so first of all, I was somewhat confused by the summary due to your use of the word "teacher" to describe Draco but now I get it! I think if you changed that to "mentor" or something similar it would work better. The summary did draw me in though, so no worries about that! :)

I have yet to read a fic where Hermione is actually a pureblood (somehow!) and then gets involved with Draco due to that. Basically, this is good because while it is a cliche of Dramione, it's not so common (at least on HPFF) where it gets boring. I think you've got quite the interesting premise here--I've seen lots of stories where Hermione is actually Blaise Zabini's long-lost twin and then falls in love with Draco that way, or she was adopted by the Grangers and finds out her biological parents were rich purebloods. I like that you're keeping her with her parents and how that dynamic will play out. It's also quite interesting that Ron & Harry would have a flat together even though I'm sure Ron knows Harry & Ginny are totally together (If you're sticking with that bit of canon) and that would cause tension like no other.

The only CC I really have for you would be to add more description in. Describe the scene; are Hermione's hands shaking? What about her voice, what does that sound like? Do the couch cushions squeak as the boys sit down beside her? Things like that really pull the reader into the story and helps them visualize what it is you see perfectly clear in your head.

Anywho I really enjoyed this introductory chapter--if a bit short--and I would be happy to continue reviewing this at your request. :)
~MadiMalfoy x

 Report Review

Review #12, by StormAngel_PAC Chapter Seven

8th March 2015:
Oh so good! I'm hanging on the edge of my seat!! Please update soon! Loving the story!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Seven

21st February 2015:
I’m can’t eat when I’m nervous,

Tiny mistake, should be: I

Astoria can be described with a lot of words and I don’t want to utter a single one of them tonight

Woah! What’s going on with Astoria? I want to know more about her relationship with Draco and what she wants to talk to Hermione about.

I knew Hermione would get comfortable at the gala. She doesn’t realize it but come on…she’s…regal. In a way I guess. I can’t think of the proper word but I don’t think she’s meant to blend in entirely either. She has her quirks that make her unique and lived her life differently. Her mindset isn’t on fashion and other trivial things but she can appreciate them.

I wonder if Ron is going to turn on her at least for a little while because she’s going to be with Draco more and her new life is going to influence her. I don’t want to say change because she’s not going to change completely but there’s going to be little things here and there that are going to be different. I don’t see Harry having an issue with anything even Draco. I think he just wants her to be happy.

 Report Review

Review #14, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Six

21st February 2015:
If they were, then maybe they could tell a story or two to Harry.

I didn’t even consider this. I wonder if her parents were Gryffindors. Then again her mother is French, right? She could have gone to a different school. If they were friends with the Malfoy’s they were probably in Slytherin though, right?

Uh! I want to know! I’m impatient. -_-

Interesting. I was wondering why her parents fled and didn’t fight either. I was going to say how very Slytherin of them. Haha. Their story was heart breaking though. She could have had a sister. Or maybe if the first child had been born Hermione would not have been. So many what if’s. I want to know more about their background.

 Report Review

Review #15, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Five

21st February 2015:
“Granger, remember that I do this to help you. If you don’t like the dresses you try on, please be nice about it and just work with us.”

I don’t know why but for some reason this scene reminds me of Cinderella in a weird way. Draco is sort of like her fairy godmother dressing her up for a ball.

Hermione let the dress silently glide down her body; her mind full of guesses with what Malfoy meant with it would be good for them both.

I imagine it’s because she’s very hot right now in the papers so if she’s seen wearing a dress from Pansy’s shop that’ll bring more customers in who want to dress like Hermione or know things about her.

Until she saw the prize and she almost fainted

I think you mean ‘price.’

they both walked out to the burning son

I think you mean ‘sun’

The Pansy part was great to read. I thought you did a really good job explaining the whole shopping process. Not that we all haven’t been shopping before but I will be honest I’m girly but not so much where shopping is fun for me at all. It’s not. I despise it. So reading this scene here was fun! It was like something out of a movie.

 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Four

21st February 2015:
And he ripped the paper in front of Ginny and Hermione. They were silent as they watched the torn paper slowly falling to the floor, making it look like a chicken had been plucked.

I laughed with Ginny too. Oh, Harry you are silly.

We’re bringing Pansy into the mix? Oh man, I think I might need to lie down after this one. For some reason I keep reading fic’s where Pansy is heavily involved lately. She’s actually not a bad character.

Anyway, the interaction between Hermione and Draco is great. They’ve kind of moved on from the war and they have a small amount of respect for each other. They aren’t snapping at each other, which is refreshing, but they aren’t exactly friends either. They’re mere acquaintances right now and I like that. I wonder how their relationship will blossom.

 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Three

21st February 2015:
But it only made her push the thoughts out, and after a month, she still hadn’t dealt with the fact that she was a pureblood.

I know it’s two entirely different things but it’s almost like she’s adopted and she’s finding out for the first time, ‘Hey these aren’t your parents.’ Except these ARE her parents and maybe they will be slightly different? Just because now they can speak the truth and be themselves. I’m sure they were themselves all these years but there’s probably something there that makes them slightly different. I mean, come on, they weren’t throwing balls and house warming parties in a mansion before.

Wow. I really enjoyed Hermione and her mother’s conversation. It was sweet and nice to see that their relationship hadn’t changed. The introduction of Narcissa though. She couldn’t at least be a little bit more cordial and understanding the poor girl doesn’t know what it’s like to live this kind of lifestyle.

 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Two

21st February 2015:
The way he said her name, the way his tongue fumbled over ‘mione’ made her guess he had never said it out loud before.

Wow. I like this part. Makes me wonder if he really never said it before. I suspect when he was older after the war and what not since he respected Harry he would have been able to say Ron and Hermione’s name without any issue. Though I wonder if he respected them as well.

I felt like this chapter was setting the scene and kind of fillerish but I’m not angry about that. I like that Hermione and Draco have now met and they are not entirely at an understanding just yet. He knows more about her ‘life’ than she does and he wants to help her. That’s…creepy and sweet at the same time I guess.

The only thing that took away from the chapter was I think you overused her saying ‘Malfoy.’ I think maybe just getting rid of two or three of the Malfoy’s would make the chapter flow better.

 Report Review

Review #19, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter One

21st February 2015:
“We are not muggles.”

MIND BLOWN. My car is warming up so I have enough time to read this chapter. I've never read a story where Hermione was a Pureblood. Maybe pretending to be one but never where she was! I'm super excited.

Okay just finished reading the chapter. There were so many quotes I wanted to pull out but sometimes I can't help myself and need to read on. I can't wait to see what happens in chapter two.

I understand Hermione's feelings and reactions completely. Her entire life was a lie. She never knew. She never had an inkling. Her parents are really magical and they had her believe they weren't. I thought it was a good touch adding all the things she had to show them and explain to them because in reality they knew everything she was saying all along. I'm surprised they never slipped up either!

Oh, and the new last name. Yikes. That freaks me out entirely. It's just how can she go from Granger to someone else, you know? I wonder what Draco's reaction is going to be like. Will we get an apology for the past? I reckon he's going to be a tad different because the war is over now.

Nice job adding Harry and Ron here. I was glad to see their input and it wasn't anything too out of the box. Harry was calm and understanding trying to look at the bigger picture while Ron was kind of like puzzled at her reaction but understanding as well. I'm glad you didn't have them go off the handle and be completely out of character. I tend to write them very silly because I write humor but I have a special place in my hear for canon Ron and Harry.

Hey, Hermione looks great in a dress though. She could turn heads at a ball.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Goldenpaw 43 Chapter Seven

18th February 2015:
This was amazing and I can't wait to see what happens next with Ron and Dramione!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm so glad to hear that!
I'll start writing the Eigth Chapter early next week, so hopefully it'll be up in two weeks time.
Thank you so much for your review!

- Lostmyheart

 Report Review

Review #21, by wolfgirl17 Chapter One

13th February 2015:

Wolfgirl here with your requested review. I feel absolutely terrible, because I realized whilst reading this chapter that I'd read your story before and had obviously just forgotten to review or something. Like a total slacker. I'm so sorry for forgetting and for being o rude, it's just awful of me. Especially when in the past I've been known to rant about the idea of folks reading and not leaving a review and how positively lazy it is. *hides*

In all honesty, I love this idea and actually have a fic of my own that I've been working on where Hermione isn't a muggle-born (though in mine she's secretly a Zabini) and so the idea is very appealing to me indeed. I especially love the way you had her so shocked and less than pleased by the knowledge. It really fits with Hermione's character I think, because she's very proud of being muggle-born.

It's a good first chapter that really throws the reader into the world you're creating and results in a very compelling and intriguing read. I especially liked that you went the route of having the Malfoy's be her parent's best friends and I know that with where you take this (I can't believe I forgot to review *hangs head in shame*) that the interactions you paint between Draco and Hermione are awkward but brilliant because they're very realistic.

A really great first chapter, and I promise that in future I'll remember to review when I read. Feel free to re-request with the additional chapter of this story. I think the first time I read it I got to about 3 or so, as that was all you had posted at the time, but then I wandered off and have been super slack about reading fics on the archives when I've got so many that I'm working on myself.

I always love a Dramione too, so don't hesitate to request for every chapter if I can be of service. =)

xx-Wolfgirl (Ellie)

Author's Response: Hi Ellie!

Haha, don't worry about it! It can happen. I used to do it all the time.

Really? Then I should go check it out someday, because I've gotten a few reviews that mentions the stories where Hermione is a sister to Zabini, instead of her becoming a witch "by herself" (not as a sister etc.)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter, and I'll go re-request as soon as I can ^_^ I'd love to hear your opinion of the rest of the story.

- Avi

 Report Review

Review #22, by StormAngel_PAC Chapter Six

1st January 2015:
Please load another chapter ASAP! I hope writer's block hasn't captured you! Marvelous story! Absolutely love it!!

Author's Response: Hi!

Your review made me so happy, thank you so muchfor your kind words!
And no, I don't have writer's block, but I've been so busy with school, work and travelling that I haven't had any time to write the Seventh Chapter. But now I have the time for it, and hopefully it'll be up sometime during January.

Happy New Year!

- Lostmyheart

 Report Review

Review #23, by ArtyGirl Chapter Six

9th November 2014:
Damn, I was kind of disappointed to see this was the last updated chapter. I'm really enjoying it so far. Sometimes, I think it gets a little wordy and hard to read, so I think I would focus on making things a little more concise in the upcoming chapters. I like you descriptions and details, so don't loose that. You just need to focus on cutting out some extra words to make it easier to read.

Although we haven't seen much of Draco, and I understand your reasoning behind making him the way he is in your story, I would try and keep him slightly more true to the character that JK Rowling created. Perhaps you can include some details about his interactions with his family and the Morells and his thoughts, in order to make the reader understand why he is being much more civil with Hermione. I would like to see his reaction when he meets the Morells for the first time, and when he finds out they are actually Hermione's parents.

Also just a note, I would really like to know what the Morells were thinking and how they felt when the Malfoy's joined Voldemort. It would be interesting to explore.

Another point- I know Hermione is not a girly girl, but keep in mind she did stun everyone at the Yule Ball, and she's worn dresses and been dressed up for various events at Hogwarts (Slugclub parties). I think it's safe to say she might have a little difficulty with fashion, but I've never pictured Hermione as being inept to dress herself for the event. But on that point- you did a great job with Pansy and her fashion knowledge. You must work in retail or care a lot about style! I appreciate that. I sometimes gag a little when I read stories and there's too much detail in very obvious tacky garb. Your descriptions were detailed enough to give us a good sense of the style and scene, yet vague enough for the reader to envision their own image of Pansy's fashion choices.

PS in the first couple chapters I was confused as if you were having a Harry/Ron pairing. It totally makes sense they would live together but I was like... wait... are they together-together?

Anyways, I'm looking forward to your updates. This is definitely going on my reading list.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Six

29th September 2014:
^.^ Hey there, and sorry for stealing your review ^.^.

Of course Hermione would have to examine everything about her life -- about whether or not everything would be different. It's something that I'm sure will haunt her throughout the story, and it could drive anyone a little batty. I love the idea of not quite being able to "put words to her emotions". I think we've all been to that point at some point in our lives, which makes the saying easy to relate to.

Despite everything that's happening, it's wonderful to see Hermione and her parents getting along so nicely. There's a lot of love in that scene, and I think it reiterates the fact that her parents are still her parents, even through the huge secret they'd been keeping from her. ♥

Being gifted a house is something huge, and completely unexpected for Hermione. Naturally, it brings back all of the confusion for her, knocking her back from her sense of normalcy.

It's not surprising that she doesn't understand why the didn't fight, and why they took such extreme measures to hide from Voldemort, and her parents don't react to it the right way. The revelation that comes from it, that Hermione's mother was pregnant (and then lost that child) was absolutely heartbreaking. :(

I love the back story (even if it was sad)!

On a little side-note on your AN, I had absolutely no idea that English wasn't your primary! I think that it's absolutely incredible that you write so well in a secondary language! I could never write so well in my secondary ;).

Great job!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Five

23rd September 2014:
Hey there ;).

Format-less Rumpel ramblings, round two.

I think that Pansy's ownership of a high-end dress shop suits her perfectly, especially with what you're doing with her characterization. Pansy never had much of a show of character development in the series, mostly because she was an extremely minor character, so I absolutely love what you are doing with her. She's has hints of what canon we DO have from her, and then so much more depth (from growth through the years and just more characterization in general).

Obviously, Hermione is a bit overwhelmed by all of the different kinds of dresses, heels and jewelry that Pansy has available in her shop. Not being used to such an array of items would be overwhelming to anybody, really. Of course, Pansy doesn't make it much easier on her, with her snide comments about Hermione's sense of fashion ;).

Draco's characterization really shines in this chapter, as he defends Hermione against Pansy's comments.

Despite everything about Pansy, she sure knows what she's talking about when it comes down to fashion advice. I'm curious to see if Hermione will be able to make a good impression at the fundraiser, and if she'll be able to walk in those heel ;).

Another great chapter!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>