Reading Reviews for Upper Class
  
66 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Crescent Moon  Chapter Seven

30th May 2015:
I've just found this and I'm loving it so far!
Dramione's are my guilty pleasure so I can't wait to see what happens as you develop their relationship.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you love it!
I am currently in the process of re-writing all the chapters, then I'll post the seventh chapter! ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by MadiMalfoy Chapter One

24th May 2015:
Hello! This is me (inexcusably) here for your requested review from so long ago you most likely completely forgot about it!

Okay so first of all, I was somewhat confused by the summary due to your use of the word "teacher" to describe Draco but now I get it! I think if you changed that to "mentor" or something similar it would work better. The summary did draw me in though, so no worries about that! :)

I have yet to read a fic where Hermione is actually a pureblood (somehow!) and then gets involved with Draco due to that. Basically, this is good because while it is a cliche of Dramione, it's not so common (at least on HPFF) where it gets boring. I think you've got quite the interesting premise here--I've seen lots of stories where Hermione is actually Blaise Zabini's long-lost twin and then falls in love with Draco that way, or she was adopted by the Grangers and finds out her biological parents were rich purebloods. I like that you're keeping her with her parents and how that dynamic will play out. It's also quite interesting that Ron & Harry would have a flat together even though I'm sure Ron knows Harry & Ginny are totally together (If you're sticking with that bit of canon) and that would cause tension like no other.

The only CC I really have for you would be to add more description in. Describe the scene; are Hermione's hands shaking? What about her voice, what does that sound like? Do the couch cushions squeak as the boys sit down beside her? Things like that really pull the reader into the story and helps them visualize what it is you see perfectly clear in your head.

Anywho I really enjoyed this introductory chapter--if a bit short--and I would be happy to continue reviewing this at your request. :)
~MadiMalfoy x

 Report Review

Review #3, by StormAngel_PAC Chapter Seven

8th March 2015:
Oh so good! I'm hanging on the edge of my seat!! Please update soon! Loving the story!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Seven

21st February 2015:
I’m can’t eat when I’m nervous,

Tiny mistake, should be: I

Astoria can be described with a lot of words and I don’t want to utter a single one of them tonight

Woah! What’s going on with Astoria? I want to know more about her relationship with Draco and what she wants to talk to Hermione about.

I knew Hermione would get comfortable at the gala. She doesn’t realize it but come on…she’s…regal. In a way I guess. I can’t think of the proper word but I don’t think she’s meant to blend in entirely either. She has her quirks that make her unique and lived her life differently. Her mindset isn’t on fashion and other trivial things but she can appreciate them.

I wonder if Ron is going to turn on her at least for a little while because she’s going to be with Draco more and her new life is going to influence her. I don’t want to say change because she’s not going to change completely but there’s going to be little things here and there that are going to be different. I don’t see Harry having an issue with anything even Draco. I think he just wants her to be happy.

 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Six

21st February 2015:
If they were, then maybe they could tell a story or two to Harry.

I didn’t even consider this. I wonder if her parents were Gryffindors. Then again her mother is French, right? She could have gone to a different school. If they were friends with the Malfoy’s they were probably in Slytherin though, right?

Uh! I want to know! I’m impatient. -_-

Interesting. I was wondering why her parents fled and didn’t fight either. I was going to say how very Slytherin of them. Haha. Their story was heart breaking though. She could have had a sister. Or maybe if the first child had been born Hermione would not have been. So many what if’s. I want to know more about their background.

 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Five

21st February 2015:
“Granger, remember that I do this to help you. If you don’t like the dresses you try on, please be nice about it and just work with us.”

I don’t know why but for some reason this scene reminds me of Cinderella in a weird way. Draco is sort of like her fairy godmother dressing her up for a ball.

Hermione let the dress silently glide down her body; her mind full of guesses with what Malfoy meant with it would be good for them both.

I imagine it’s because she’s very hot right now in the papers so if she’s seen wearing a dress from Pansy’s shop that’ll bring more customers in who want to dress like Hermione or know things about her.

Until she saw the prize and she almost fainted

I think you mean ‘price.’

they both walked out to the burning son

I think you mean ‘sun’

The Pansy part was great to read. I thought you did a really good job explaining the whole shopping process. Not that we all haven’t been shopping before but I will be honest I’m girly but not so much where shopping is fun for me at all. It’s not. I despise it. So reading this scene here was fun! It was like something out of a movie.

 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Four

21st February 2015:
And he ripped the paper in front of Ginny and Hermione. They were silent as they watched the torn paper slowly falling to the floor, making it look like a chicken had been plucked.

I laughed with Ginny too. Oh, Harry you are silly.

We’re bringing Pansy into the mix? Oh man, I think I might need to lie down after this one. For some reason I keep reading fic’s where Pansy is heavily involved lately. She’s actually not a bad character.

Anyway, the interaction between Hermione and Draco is great. They’ve kind of moved on from the war and they have a small amount of respect for each other. They aren’t snapping at each other, which is refreshing, but they aren’t exactly friends either. They’re mere acquaintances right now and I like that. I wonder how their relationship will blossom.

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Three

21st February 2015:
But it only made her push the thoughts out, and after a month, she still hadn’t dealt with the fact that she was a pureblood.

I know it’s two entirely different things but it’s almost like she’s adopted and she’s finding out for the first time, ‘Hey these aren’t your parents.’ Except these ARE her parents and maybe they will be slightly different? Just because now they can speak the truth and be themselves. I’m sure they were themselves all these years but there’s probably something there that makes them slightly different. I mean, come on, they weren’t throwing balls and house warming parties in a mansion before.

Wow. I really enjoyed Hermione and her mother’s conversation. It was sweet and nice to see that their relationship hadn’t changed. The introduction of Narcissa though. She couldn’t at least be a little bit more cordial and understanding the poor girl doesn’t know what it’s like to live this kind of lifestyle.

 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Two

21st February 2015:
The way he said her name, the way his tongue fumbled over ‘mione’ made her guess he had never said it out loud before.

Wow. I like this part. Makes me wonder if he really never said it before. I suspect when he was older after the war and what not since he respected Harry he would have been able to say Ron and Hermione’s name without any issue. Though I wonder if he respected them as well.

I felt like this chapter was setting the scene and kind of fillerish but I’m not angry about that. I like that Hermione and Draco have now met and they are not entirely at an understanding just yet. He knows more about her ‘life’ than she does and he wants to help her. That’s…creepy and sweet at the same time I guess.

The only thing that took away from the chapter was I think you overused her saying ‘Malfoy.’ I think maybe just getting rid of two or three of the Malfoy’s would make the chapter flow better.

 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter One

21st February 2015:
“We are not muggles.”

MIND BLOWN. My car is warming up so I have enough time to read this chapter. I've never read a story where Hermione was a Pureblood. Maybe pretending to be one but never where she was! I'm super excited.

Okay just finished reading the chapter. There were so many quotes I wanted to pull out but sometimes I can't help myself and need to read on. I can't wait to see what happens in chapter two.

I understand Hermione's feelings and reactions completely. Her entire life was a lie. She never knew. She never had an inkling. Her parents are really magical and they had her believe they weren't. I thought it was a good touch adding all the things she had to show them and explain to them because in reality they knew everything she was saying all along. I'm surprised they never slipped up either!

Oh, and the new last name. Yikes. That freaks me out entirely. It's just how can she go from Granger to someone else, you know? I wonder what Draco's reaction is going to be like. Will we get an apology for the past? I reckon he's going to be a tad different because the war is over now.

Nice job adding Harry and Ron here. I was glad to see their input and it wasn't anything too out of the box. Harry was calm and understanding trying to look at the bigger picture while Ron was kind of like puzzled at her reaction but understanding as well. I'm glad you didn't have them go off the handle and be completely out of character. I tend to write them very silly because I write humor but I have a special place in my hear for canon Ron and Harry.

Hey, Hermione looks great in a dress though. She could turn heads at a ball.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Goldenpaw 43 Chapter Seven

18th February 2015:
This was amazing and I can't wait to see what happens next with Ron and Dramione!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm so glad to hear that!
I'll start writing the Eigth Chapter early next week, so hopefully it'll be up in two weeks time.
Thank you so much for your review!

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #12, by wolfgirl17 Chapter One

13th February 2015:
Hello!

Wolfgirl here with your requested review. I feel absolutely terrible, because I realized whilst reading this chapter that I'd read your story before and had obviously just forgotten to review or something. Like a total slacker. I'm so sorry for forgetting and for being o rude, it's just awful of me. Especially when in the past I've been known to rant about the idea of folks reading and not leaving a review and how positively lazy it is. *hides*

In all honesty, I love this idea and actually have a fic of my own that I've been working on where Hermione isn't a muggle-born (though in mine she's secretly a Zabini) and so the idea is very appealing to me indeed. I especially love the way you had her so shocked and less than pleased by the knowledge. It really fits with Hermione's character I think, because she's very proud of being muggle-born.

It's a good first chapter that really throws the reader into the world you're creating and results in a very compelling and intriguing read. I especially liked that you went the route of having the Malfoy's be her parent's best friends and I know that with where you take this (I can't believe I forgot to review *hangs head in shame*) that the interactions you paint between Draco and Hermione are awkward but brilliant because they're very realistic.

A really great first chapter, and I promise that in future I'll remember to review when I read. Feel free to re-request with the additional chapter of this story. I think the first time I read it I got to about 3 or so, as that was all you had posted at the time, but then I wandered off and have been super slack about reading fics on the archives when I've got so many that I'm working on myself.

I always love a Dramione too, so don't hesitate to request for every chapter if I can be of service. =)

xx-Wolfgirl (Ellie)

Author's Response: Hi Ellie!

Haha, don't worry about it! It can happen. I used to do it all the time.

Really? Then I should go check it out someday, because I've gotten a few reviews that mentions the stories where Hermione is a sister to Zabini, instead of her becoming a witch "by herself" (not as a sister etc.)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter, and I'll go re-request as soon as I can ^_^ I'd love to hear your opinion of the rest of the story.

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #13, by StormAngel_PAC Chapter Six

1st January 2015:
Please load another chapter ASAP! I hope writer's block hasn't captured you! Marvelous story! Absolutely love it!!

Author's Response: Hi!

Your review made me so happy, thank you so muchfor your kind words!
And no, I don't have writer's block, but I've been so busy with school, work and travelling that I haven't had any time to write the Seventh Chapter. But now I have the time for it, and hopefully it'll be up sometime during January.

Happy New Year!

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #14, by ArtyGirl Chapter Six

9th November 2014:
Damn, I was kind of disappointed to see this was the last updated chapter. I'm really enjoying it so far. Sometimes, I think it gets a little wordy and hard to read, so I think I would focus on making things a little more concise in the upcoming chapters. I like you descriptions and details, so don't loose that. You just need to focus on cutting out some extra words to make it easier to read.

Although we haven't seen much of Draco, and I understand your reasoning behind making him the way he is in your story, I would try and keep him slightly more true to the character that JK Rowling created. Perhaps you can include some details about his interactions with his family and the Morells and his thoughts, in order to make the reader understand why he is being much more civil with Hermione. I would like to see his reaction when he meets the Morells for the first time, and when he finds out they are actually Hermione's parents.

Also just a note, I would really like to know what the Morells were thinking and how they felt when the Malfoy's joined Voldemort. It would be interesting to explore.

Another point- I know Hermione is not a girly girl, but keep in mind she did stun everyone at the Yule Ball, and she's worn dresses and been dressed up for various events at Hogwarts (Slugclub parties). I think it's safe to say she might have a little difficulty with fashion, but I've never pictured Hermione as being inept to dress herself for the event. But on that point- you did a great job with Pansy and her fashion knowledge. You must work in retail or care a lot about style! I appreciate that. I sometimes gag a little when I read stories and there's too much detail in very obvious tacky garb. Your descriptions were detailed enough to give us a good sense of the style and scene, yet vague enough for the reader to envision their own image of Pansy's fashion choices.

PS in the first couple chapters I was confused as if you were having a Harry/Ron pairing. It totally makes sense they would live together but I was like... wait... are they together-together?

Anyways, I'm looking forward to your updates. This is definitely going on my reading list.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Six

29th September 2014:
^.^ Hey there, and sorry for stealing your review ^.^.

Of course Hermione would have to examine everything about her life -- about whether or not everything would be different. It's something that I'm sure will haunt her throughout the story, and it could drive anyone a little batty. I love the idea of not quite being able to "put words to her emotions". I think we've all been to that point at some point in our lives, which makes the saying easy to relate to.

Despite everything that's happening, it's wonderful to see Hermione and her parents getting along so nicely. There's a lot of love in that scene, and I think it reiterates the fact that her parents are still her parents, even through the huge secret they'd been keeping from her. ♥

Being gifted a house is something huge, and completely unexpected for Hermione. Naturally, it brings back all of the confusion for her, knocking her back from her sense of normalcy.

It's not surprising that she doesn't understand why the didn't fight, and why they took such extreme measures to hide from Voldemort, and her parents don't react to it the right way. The revelation that comes from it, that Hermione's mother was pregnant (and then lost that child) was absolutely heartbreaking. :(

I love the back story (even if it was sad)!

On a little side-note on your AN, I had absolutely no idea that English wasn't your primary! I think that it's absolutely incredible that you write so well in a secondary language! I could never write so well in my secondary ;).

Great job!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #16, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Five

23rd September 2014:
Hey there ;).

Format-less Rumpel ramblings, round two.

I think that Pansy's ownership of a high-end dress shop suits her perfectly, especially with what you're doing with her characterization. Pansy never had much of a show of character development in the series, mostly because she was an extremely minor character, so I absolutely love what you are doing with her. She's has hints of what canon we DO have from her, and then so much more depth (from growth through the years and just more characterization in general).

Obviously, Hermione is a bit overwhelmed by all of the different kinds of dresses, heels and jewelry that Pansy has available in her shop. Not being used to such an array of items would be overwhelming to anybody, really. Of course, Pansy doesn't make it much easier on her, with her snide comments about Hermione's sense of fashion ;).

Draco's characterization really shines in this chapter, as he defends Hermione against Pansy's comments.

Despite everything about Pansy, she sure knows what she's talking about when it comes down to fashion advice. I'm curious to see if Hermione will be able to make a good impression at the fundraiser, and if she'll be able to walk in those heel ;).

Another great chapter!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #17, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Four

22nd September 2014:
Hey dear, I'm here for the Slytherin review exchange.

(I don't particularly feel like sticking to a format tonight, so prepare yourself for a free-for-all!)

Understandably, Hermione's remains entirely resistant to the idea of her parents' new lifestyle (well, their OLD lifestyle that was abandoned, and now being reestablished). I do love that you've kept this canon stubbornness about her that really is one of the only things about her that could possibly hold her back...and of course, she's holding herself back from experiencing life differently. Though, I wouldn't be too keen on spending time around someone like Draco, who had tormented me through school. That's a tough situation to be in.

Her state of dress caused that much commotion? Oh boy... Well, maybe she'll get the elitist-style dress down someday ;). It seems quite unfair though, that she would be judged solely on the way she was dressed -- poor girl!

Harry's outburst made me laugh a little. He's really a great friend, and I love Harry/Ginny in this, it's very cute.

Of course, with the obligations to her parents hanging over her head, she can't exactly escape the life that she doesn't want. That leaves room for some interaction with Draco, because she does, in fact, need his help if she's going to pull this off. It is also true that she'll be able to escape the grasps of the Prophet if she is able to blend into the society smoothly, becoming invisible instead of sticking out like a sore thumb.

Speaking of, that particular part of Diagon Alley is a little intimidating, isn't it? Though, I wouldn't expect to meet someone like Draco Malfoy anywhere else. Hermione may hate Draco, if only just a little ;) but I don't think that she would have any reason to believe that he would poison her (at least not now that the war is over and everything).

I'm excited to see all of the guidance that Draco can provide in leading the lifestyle of the upper class (or 'infiltrating' it, as he's said). I find it humorous that Hermione's getting dragged along into this, especially that she'll be dealing with Pansy in the ways of dressing properly ;).

Great chapter! Sorry about the rambling (it's what happens when I don't stick to my format)!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #18, by slytherinchica08 Chapter One

21st September 2014:
I loved the ending of this chapter! That was just so mean and yet wonderful at the same time! It will definitely help for the dramioneness of the story and to bring that about. I always find these kind of stories my guilty pleasure as I really can't help but read them and enjoy them, including the ones where Hermione is really Blaises sister. I thought that this was a wonderful opening to your story. It sets it up perfectly and gives me a good idea of where things are going to be going from here. The only thing I can suggest would be to maybe add in some more descriptions such as the apartment and the likes. Overall though, it was a very enjoyable first chapter! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi Erica!

I'm so glad you liked the ending. it kind of gets this story more exciting, than it really is.
Seriously, I've been hearing a lot about those stories and I have never come across one! I would love to read them, just to see what it's all about.

Yes, I will definitely do that in the future, putting more details in it.

Thank you so much for your review!
- Avi


 Report Review

Review #19, by Penelope Inkwell Chapter Six

20th September 2014:
Hey Avi! Finally made it back :D

For some reason, I love that their dog is named Alastair.

This is great, "Suddenly Hermione wanted to learn more about their history, who was her grandparents? What about their parents? Did any of them invent anything or did they have a dark history? “
--It’s just so Hermione. Of course the idea that she now had this family connection to wizarding history would fascinate her!

I honestly think her parents took her not wanting their gift extremely well. Of course, they know her, and maybe they saw that coming. And I don’t blame Hermione for not wanting to lose yet another piece of her normal life, though it sounds like eventually she might have to.

I’m glad to see that it looks like they were Gryffindors! Just because she’s already had her world turned upside down, and it would probably be nice for her to have that connection with them. And there are Purebloods in houses other than Slytherin, after all. I wonder if they did have a connection to Harry’s parents. After all, James was a Pureblood, as was Sirius. It seems likely that even if they weren’t friends, they must have known one another.

That’s so sad about what happened with her sister. I can understand their wanting to get out and protect Hermione’s mom, especially while she was in such a delicate state. I can also understand why Hermione got so upset about it. After all, she did stay and fight.

I wonder why, when they realized their daughter had been caught up in the fight against Voldemort again, they didn’t leave? Maybe they knew that Hermione would never forgive them for it? They can’t have been cowards, at any rate, to go through it all a second time.

Good chapter. I really feel for Hermione. It’s such a hard situation she’s been put in.

So, I have this fantasy/mental picture wherein Hermione decidees f that if she could brew a Polyjuice Potion at the age of 12 then, for Merlin’s sake, as a full grown woman she is certainly not going to let herself be defeated by mascara! And then, like, a montage of Hermione poring over the makeup sections of a pile of Witch Weekly’s, and when Draco inevitably makes some snarky comment about her finally figuring it out. she punishes him by talking his ear off about random facts she picked up in

 Report Review

Review #20, by Penelope Inkwell Chapter Five

19th September 2014:
Man, Pansy knows more about fashion than I do! I learned stuff.

I’m definitely interested to see how Hermione handles all this. She’s very competent and clever, and is perfectly capable of learning and remembering all these rules. However, Hermione also remembers things so well because she’s interested in knowledge, and this isn’t the sort of knowledge that generally interests her.

Also, I am really curious? *Is* Pansy in some sort of trouble?

Hmm...I guess I shall have to read on to find out!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi Penny!

Haha, I'm glad you learned something! But really, they're just my own opinion of things, kind of like my own guidelines :S I'm not even sure if it's fashionable advice.

Pansy may or may not be in trouble. *evil laughter*
I am working on the seventh chapter (finally) and I think I'll put some more hints in it, about Pansy. You'll see.

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #21, by Infinityx Chapter Six

11th September 2014:
Avi! I am so so sorry! I just realized that I'd read this chapter but hadn't reviewed, so here I am a few days too late. :/

I am so glad you finally updated this! I know it must have taken some effort to consciously get back to writing something that you last updated quite a long time ago and I hope the plunnies are flowing now!

I like how you've brought in Hermione's insecurities with the whole situation. I mean, if such a huge secret had been revealed to me, I'd probably feel so angry and betrayed. And the way Hermione thinks about the sorting also connects well with her position. It's just like her to try and rationalize something out but also over-think at the same time.

It's so nice that she's finally going back to meet her parents. And no matter what they did, they're her parents and I love how she feels when she sees her mum again. The house is just magnificent and I get why Hermione was so awed! Maybe she could feel a tiny bit of resentment though? She's suddenly been pushed into a new life without explanation so she'd probably take a while to recover from the shock.

I think you've done a great job of characterizing Hermione. The anger, the silent acceptance, the love she feels for her parents even when she's angry...that seems just like her. However, wouldn't her parents try to make her feel better and explain things before they tell her about tradition and everything? Or are they just that way, not understanding the position Hermione's in? I understand if they're shallow parents. They did watch their daughter struggle against Voldemort without telling her anything about her history or that they're both magical. And even if they had reason not to fight in the first war, they could have in the second one! So anyway, it makes sense if their personalities are just a bit...uncaring. I don't really like them much.

Great going with this chapter, Avi! You've evoked a lot of strong emotions and you've characterized everyone in such different ways that are really interesting! I'm really curious to know how things proceed so don't stop writing this story and update soon!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Amber Chapter Five

22nd August 2014:
The book really sucked me in. Love it!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you love my story! :)
Thank you so much for reviewing.

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ellie Chapter Five

31st July 2014:
Have you written anymore yet?

Author's Response: Hi!

Not yet, my laptop crashed, so I lost the chapter I had written, and I went on a trip afterwards. But hopefully I'll get the time to write a new Chapter Six soon!

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #24, by Emily Chapter Five

10th July 2014:
Update please😩

Author's Response: I'll update as soon as I can :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jane Chapter Five

30th June 2014:
Do you have a specific date you are planning to update?

Author's Response: I just got a new laptop, so hopefully the new chapter will be written this week! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>