Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Upper Class
  
78 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybe Chapter One

23rd April 2017:
Here to free Sam from jail for CTF =)

WOW, what a way to start! Maybe it's because I didn't get into fic until later on in the fandom, but I've never encountered a story with this premise before. It is so bizarre to think of Hermione as a pure blood! And what a complicated lie for her parents to maintain for sooo long!

I have many questions. Are her parents really dentists, or were they, like, the magic equivalent of that but she never knew? Did her parents go to Hogwarts? Did someone come to explain Hogwarts to them when Hermione was excepted? Was it McGonagall? Did she recognize them? If they were so cautious and knew how dangerous things were, why did they let Hermione keep going back and do all that stuff? And, if they were friends with the Malfoys, does that mean they were blood purists? God, that's a terrible thought, isn't it?!

Seriously, I clicked next and started reading chapter two without noticing, and then realized I needed to come back and review because Sam is waiting! haha

The point is, this is a very successful first chapter - it really peeked my curiosity and made me want to read more. I'm not generally a Dramione reader, but this one has me hooked!

I really enjoyed how you characterized everyone - i think the golden trio is hard to write, and you captured them well =)

only CC is there are a few typos. Those sneaky things!

I am extremely interested to see where you take this.
Well done!
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dojh167 Chapter One

23rd April 2017:
Hufflepuff CtF Review

I was told to expect lots of Dramione stories in the Slytherin author ages and they weren’t wong!

This story is based on a trope that I’ve heard of quite a bit before (surprise Hermione’s a pure blood), but I don’t think I’ve ever actually read a story about it, so I’m interested to see how you handle it.

Okay, so it looks like this story is DH compliant, since you mention Hermione’s parents being in Australia. The fact that they tell her this right after they return is interesting to me. They couldn't have been planning to do it for some time since they didn’t have their memories of Hermione, but perhaps when they regained them and realized what it felt like to be deceived like that they realized they had to tell the truth to Hermione.

Hehe, I love the introduction of Ron and Harry as incredibly lazy flatmates.

This line isn’t quite right: “loud crack and the sound of weeping disturbed their quiet evening, followed by a loud sound of weeping.” You seem to have weeping followed by weeping.

I’m with Ron, in that I have lots of questions! Your sections are really short, which is good in that it keeps the inertia and suspense of the scenes going - it feels kind of like scenes in film, where they end quite early and we don’t see everything resolved or discussed between characters.

Like Harry, I think it’s kind of odd that Hermione’s parents moved back to England while Voldemort was still in power and they were pregnant. I guess narratively I’m not sure why they had to move to France at all, instead of directly going into hiding as muggles. Maybe that will be relevant later. It also seems like overreacting to stay in hiding so long after Voldemort fell.

They must have had a really good reason for having to hide very well, to abandon use of magic and to blatantly lie to Hermione for so long. I can’t blame her for being upset. By the sounds of things there is more they haven’t told her though.

What has changed now that they finally want to return to their old lives?

At least hermione is twenty one and shouldn’t have to be part of her parents’ lifestyle more than she wants to.

Hermione’s parents don’t seem like the kind of people who would get on well with the Malfoys, but this is certainly making me question everything about them. If they were lood elitists, would they have really tried to be muggles? Are they still on good terms with the Malfoys, or did their hiding and the hint of them knowing something they shouldn’t put them at odds with the Malfoys?

I have so many questions! A very intriguing start =)

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Slytherin Snowflake Chapter Seven

27th December 2015:
Ho! Ho! Ho! Your Slytherin Snowflake is here again. Let's get started.

Till now, I have only been exposed to your romantic works except Tetraphobia, which was more of a psychological horror. But they have been mostly short works. Short works require liberal dashes of emotion but novels are slightly different in that they require strong plots. I guess you are tired of hearing this but Bravo.

You have a small idea and the marvellous way in which you have expanded it is truly commendable. You have painted the world of the pureblood aristocrats with brilliant colours and given us a story of what life was behind the enemy trenches.

I guess paparazzi is as big a menace in the wizarding world as it is in the world of us muggles. Just goes on to prove a grain of truth I heard somewhere, "We only wish to see our heroes fall, we wish to see them fall to our level."

Your characters were close to original canon and that's something I enjoy. Ron is just as obsessed with food as he always was. :') Nice touch. Seeing Draco acting civil is a refreshing change I agree.

Just a little CC. You should stock yourself with candies when writing because it seems that in your hunger, you ate away the letter h from where twice. In Chapter 5 -
'The maxi dress was a floor length gown, were you almost couldn’t see your own feet' and in Chapter 6 - 'We knew were our closest friends were, and they were on the same boat, as we were, not wanting to join his evil regime.'

Another great job Aviaja. Someday you shall have to tell me the story behind your unusual name though.

Till we meet again

-Secret Slytherin Snowflake

 Report Review

Review #4, by rosiful Chapter One

9th October 2015:
Hi!
I'm here to give you a Hot Seat Review! Which I know I'm a bit late for... Sorry! I had meant to start reading this story sooner, but better late than never?

I've never read a 'Hermione is actually a Pureblood' story, but I think it is such an interesting concept and there's so much to explore with it! I really like that you've kept her parents as her actual parents. Yes, they lied to her and kept their past and knowledge of magic completely hidden, but at least they still took care of her and did what they thought was best for her?

It would really suck to be in her position right now though! I feel really bad for her. I mean... not even her last name was actually real? Which does make sense if they were hiding her/their family, but still, that would be so freaky!

I wasn't really sure how old the trio is in this... I know they've left Hogwarts and everything, but how many years has it been? But, I'm sure I'll find out in the next few chapters!

I really liked the ending of this chapter, makes me want to read on.
I can't wait to see the Dramione!

-Rosiful

 Report Review

Review #5, by Rumpelstiltskin Chapter Seven

5th October 2015:
Do you know how stoked I am to see another chapter of Upper Class? Super-stoked.

It's true, Hermione does always come with a backup plan. However, everything that has been going on seems to have taken its toll on her. She seems to be getting sucked into the riptide, so to speak. She's lucky to have such great friends who support her ♥ .

Part of what I like about this is the hint of a potential love interest between Ron and Hermione, that becomes almost completely demolished when Draco comes around ;). He's super suave!

Of course Pansy doesn't like her own husband -- she's Pansy (tehe)!

Aaannnd you've stopped the story on a cliffhanger! That's mean, Avi! :D I wonder what she'll ask Hermione about. Maybe she'll try to fight for Draco's affection, or maybe she'll have some dirt on Draco that she wants to tell Hermione! Or maybe something else!

Ah, the suspense!

Great chapter, dear!

-Rumpel

 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Seven

5th October 2015:
I wonder what Astoria wants to talk to Hermione about? Draco didn't seem to like her all that much so I have to wonder about her character and whether or not she'll be a friend or a rival to Hermione.

So, Pansy's shop is still new and Draco wanted Hermione wearing one of her dresses to help get the name of her business out there? That was nice of him to do for Pansy. And surely the more Hermione shops from there the more the word will probably get out about it.

And Pansy's married! That was a bit of a surprise. Although it did seem odd that she's so affectionate with Draco but could seem to care less about her own husband. I wonder why that is.

I also wonder what the press will say about Hermione now that she's been to her first fundraiser. I can't wait to read more. I do hope you post more chapters soon!

Great story, Avi!

 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Six

5th October 2015:
That's so great that Hermione's not so scared of being a pureblood anymore! Although terribly sad that her parents lost their first child! They must have been under so much worrying about their friends and all the muggles and muggleborns while they hid away from Voldemort!

I am curious to know more about their family though. Were her parents Gryffindors? Does she have any interesting ancestors who helped shape history? And how did she lose her job? And where did she work anyway? I don't think you ever really mentioned that? That's terrible that she had to go through all of that. I hope she's able to find work again soon, unless she decides not to work. I guess without how rich her family is she wouldn't need to, but Hermione doesn't really seem like someone who would just not work. She's always been very interested in helping others and making the Wizarding World a better place. I think she could do a lot of good with some of these fundraisers if she just set her mind to it.

I can't wait to see what happens next! Only one more chapter left!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Five

5th October 2015:
I'm still wondering about the relationship between Draco and Pansy, they do seem very affectionate to one another. And they both call each other 'love' which is interesting.

I'm glad Pansy and Hermione were able to get along for the most part though. I do wonder though what Draco meant about this being good for the both of them? Maybe it will make Pansy look good if Hermione shops at her shop? Maybe Draco thinks Pansy and Hermione should be friends to help benefit Pansy's business? I wish Hermione had asked more questions, like how long Pansy has owned the shop.

I can't wait to see what happens next though! Great story so far, Avi!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Four

5th October 2015:
I loved this chapter! I love the way Malfoy talks about Hermione entering the aristocracy, he really does make it sound like a mission! I'm sure he knows what he's doing though.

I can't believe the Daily Prophet wrote about Hermione like that! Saying she caused a scandal at the party and kicked the door down, barging in in muddy clothes and what not. The doors were wide open for Merlin's sake! Anyone could have walked in! Of course some of the people may have been a bit disgusted by her clothes but she didn't know the event was going to be such a formal one. Although maybe if she had contacted her parents sooner she would have had more of a heads up.

And Pansy is in this! Oh, I'm so excited for the next chapter! I wonder if Pansy is still harboring a crush on Draco, or if they are just good friends? Very curious! And how will Pansy get along with Hermione!? I guess I'm just going to have to read to find out!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Three

4th October 2015:
Hahha, yes! Ask Malfoy for help! I must say when she was getting dressed I was a little hesitant, like "you're going to wear that? Didn't you remember hearing about the balls and galas? This probably won't be much different..." lol. But I'm so glad she finally faced her parents and feels comfortable around them again. And where is Malfoy anyway? I was kind of expecting him to just appear out of the crowd at the sound of his name. lol.

Although I am slightly curious as to why Harry and Ron were invited? Since they aren't exactly in with the aristocracy. Or were they invited because her parents knew they were her best friends? I was just curious.

Anyway, this was a great chapter and I can't wait to read the next! Hopefully I can get through all of them by tonight/tomorrow.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter Two

4th October 2015:
Oooh, we get to see Malfoy in this chapter! And so soon! I like how he sought her out in the jewelry shop and enjoyed how she called him out or not being there to shop for a girlfriend he didn't have. It's sweet that he cares for his parents, and even her parents, and wants to help her adjust to her new station as part of the aristocracy. I wonder if she will accept his help in the near future?

It was nice though, seeing them have a civil chat where they aren't shouting or cursing each other. I wonder if she'll go see her parents though after talking to Draco. It is kind of inconsiderate to worry them like that by avoiding them and refusing their invitations.

I'm super excited to read on but I might not be able to review anymore until tomorrow.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chapter One

4th October 2015:
Hi Avi! I'm here to give you more Hot Seat reviews! I must say I love a good "Hermione's actually pureblood" story and I love Dramiones so I honestly don't know why I didn't check this out sooner. It's been on my reading list for ages.

But this is quite interesting! I feel bad that Hermione's so upset over all her parents' lies. I think that would be a hard thing to accept when you look at all the little things like Hermione has. They've been playing dumb all her life about Magic and the Wizarding World and she doesn't know what to do with that information. And why wait so long to tell her the truth? Although is she really 21? At first it sounded like this was the first dinner she's had with her parents since the war ended, but she would have only been 18 or so then. What's been going on between then and now? I'm a little confused about that.

It's also a little confusing why they decided to hide for all those years. But even Hermione doesn't seem to understand that so I guess that's okay. Maybe they were afraid of being forced to join up with Voldemort since they were so close with the Malfoys.

I did notice a little mistake when Hermione first appears in Harry and Ron's apartment, you say they hear weeping sounds twice in the same sentence.

But overall this was a nice start to the story. I can't wait to read on to see what happens next.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #13, by Crescent Moon  Chapter Seven

30th May 2015:
I've just found this and I'm loving it so far!
Dramione's are my guilty pleasure so I can't wait to see what happens as you develop their relationship.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you love it!
I am currently in the process of re-writing all the chapters, then I'll post the seventh chapter! ;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by MadiMalfoy Chapter One

24th May 2015:
Hello! This is me (inexcusably) here for your requested review from so long ago you most likely completely forgot about it!

Okay so first of all, I was somewhat confused by the summary due to your use of the word "teacher" to describe Draco but now I get it! I think if you changed that to "mentor" or something similar it would work better. The summary did draw me in though, so no worries about that! :)

I have yet to read a fic where Hermione is actually a pureblood (somehow!) and then gets involved with Draco due to that. Basically, this is good because while it is a cliche of Dramione, it's not so common (at least on HPFF) where it gets boring. I think you've got quite the interesting premise here--I've seen lots of stories where Hermione is actually Blaise Zabini's long-lost twin and then falls in love with Draco that way, or she was adopted by the Grangers and finds out her biological parents were rich purebloods. I like that you're keeping her with her parents and how that dynamic will play out. It's also quite interesting that Ron & Harry would have a flat together even though I'm sure Ron knows Harry & Ginny are totally together (If you're sticking with that bit of canon) and that would cause tension like no other.

The only CC I really have for you would be to add more description in. Describe the scene; are Hermione's hands shaking? What about her voice, what does that sound like? Do the couch cushions squeak as the boys sit down beside her? Things like that really pull the reader into the story and helps them visualize what it is you see perfectly clear in your head.

Anywho I really enjoyed this introductory chapter--if a bit short--and I would be happy to continue reviewing this at your request. :)
~MadiMalfoy x

 Report Review

Review #15, by StormAngel_PAC Chapter Seven

8th March 2015:
Oh so good! I'm hanging on the edge of my seat!! Please update soon! Loving the story!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Seven

21st February 2015:
I’m can’t eat when I’m nervous,

Tiny mistake, should be: I

Astoria can be described with a lot of words and I don’t want to utter a single one of them tonight

Woah! What’s going on with Astoria? I want to know more about her relationship with Draco and what she wants to talk to Hermione about.

I knew Hermione would get comfortable at the gala. She doesn’t realize it but come on…she’s…regal. In a way I guess. I can’t think of the proper word but I don’t think she’s meant to blend in entirely either. She has her quirks that make her unique and lived her life differently. Her mindset isn’t on fashion and other trivial things but she can appreciate them.

I wonder if Ron is going to turn on her at least for a little while because she’s going to be with Draco more and her new life is going to influence her. I don’t want to say change because she’s not going to change completely but there’s going to be little things here and there that are going to be different. I don’t see Harry having an issue with anything even Draco. I think he just wants her to be happy.

 Report Review

Review #17, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Six

21st February 2015:
If they were, then maybe they could tell a story or two to Harry.

I didn’t even consider this. I wonder if her parents were Gryffindors. Then again her mother is French, right? She could have gone to a different school. If they were friends with the Malfoy’s they were probably in Slytherin though, right?

Uh! I want to know! I’m impatient. -_-

Interesting. I was wondering why her parents fled and didn’t fight either. I was going to say how very Slytherin of them. Haha. Their story was heart breaking though. She could have had a sister. Or maybe if the first child had been born Hermione would not have been. So many what if’s. I want to know more about their background.

 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Five

21st February 2015:
“Granger, remember that I do this to help you. If you don’t like the dresses you try on, please be nice about it and just work with us.”

I don’t know why but for some reason this scene reminds me of Cinderella in a weird way. Draco is sort of like her fairy godmother dressing her up for a ball.

Hermione let the dress silently glide down her body; her mind full of guesses with what Malfoy meant with it would be good for them both.

I imagine it’s because she’s very hot right now in the papers so if she’s seen wearing a dress from Pansy’s shop that’ll bring more customers in who want to dress like Hermione or know things about her.

Until she saw the prize and she almost fainted

I think you mean ‘price.’

they both walked out to the burning son

I think you mean ‘sun’

The Pansy part was great to read. I thought you did a really good job explaining the whole shopping process. Not that we all haven’t been shopping before but I will be honest I’m girly but not so much where shopping is fun for me at all. It’s not. I despise it. So reading this scene here was fun! It was like something out of a movie.

 Report Review

Review #19, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Four

21st February 2015:
And he ripped the paper in front of Ginny and Hermione. They were silent as they watched the torn paper slowly falling to the floor, making it look like a chicken had been plucked.

I laughed with Ginny too. Oh, Harry you are silly.

We’re bringing Pansy into the mix? Oh man, I think I might need to lie down after this one. For some reason I keep reading fic’s where Pansy is heavily involved lately. She’s actually not a bad character.

Anyway, the interaction between Hermione and Draco is great. They’ve kind of moved on from the war and they have a small amount of respect for each other. They aren’t snapping at each other, which is refreshing, but they aren’t exactly friends either. They’re mere acquaintances right now and I like that. I wonder how their relationship will blossom.

 Report Review

Review #20, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Three

21st February 2015:
But it only made her push the thoughts out, and after a month, she still hadn’t dealt with the fact that she was a pureblood.

I know it’s two entirely different things but it’s almost like she’s adopted and she’s finding out for the first time, ‘Hey these aren’t your parents.’ Except these ARE her parents and maybe they will be slightly different? Just because now they can speak the truth and be themselves. I’m sure they were themselves all these years but there’s probably something there that makes them slightly different. I mean, come on, they weren’t throwing balls and house warming parties in a mansion before.

Wow. I really enjoyed Hermione and her mother’s conversation. It was sweet and nice to see that their relationship hadn’t changed. The introduction of Narcissa though. She couldn’t at least be a little bit more cordial and understanding the poor girl doesn’t know what it’s like to live this kind of lifestyle.

 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter Two

21st February 2015:
The way he said her name, the way his tongue fumbled over ‘mione’ made her guess he had never said it out loud before.

Wow. I like this part. Makes me wonder if he really never said it before. I suspect when he was older after the war and what not since he respected Harry he would have been able to say Ron and Hermione’s name without any issue. Though I wonder if he respected them as well.

I felt like this chapter was setting the scene and kind of fillerish but I’m not angry about that. I like that Hermione and Draco have now met and they are not entirely at an understanding just yet. He knows more about her ‘life’ than she does and he wants to help her. That’s…creepy and sweet at the same time I guess.

The only thing that took away from the chapter was I think you overused her saying ‘Malfoy.’ I think maybe just getting rid of two or three of the Malfoy’s would make the chapter flow better.

 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter One

21st February 2015:
“We are not muggles.”

MIND BLOWN. My car is warming up so I have enough time to read this chapter. I've never read a story where Hermione was a Pureblood. Maybe pretending to be one but never where she was! I'm super excited.

Okay just finished reading the chapter. There were so many quotes I wanted to pull out but sometimes I can't help myself and need to read on. I can't wait to see what happens in chapter two.

I understand Hermione's feelings and reactions completely. Her entire life was a lie. She never knew. She never had an inkling. Her parents are really magical and they had her believe they weren't. I thought it was a good touch adding all the things she had to show them and explain to them because in reality they knew everything she was saying all along. I'm surprised they never slipped up either!

Oh, and the new last name. Yikes. That freaks me out entirely. It's just how can she go from Granger to someone else, you know? I wonder what Draco's reaction is going to be like. Will we get an apology for the past? I reckon he's going to be a tad different because the war is over now.

Nice job adding Harry and Ron here. I was glad to see their input and it wasn't anything too out of the box. Harry was calm and understanding trying to look at the bigger picture while Ron was kind of like puzzled at her reaction but understanding as well. I'm glad you didn't have them go off the handle and be completely out of character. I tend to write them very silly because I write humor but I have a special place in my hear for canon Ron and Harry.

Hey, Hermione looks great in a dress though. She could turn heads at a ball.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Goldenpaw 43 Chapter Seven

18th February 2015:
This was amazing and I can't wait to see what happens next with Ron and Dramione!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm so glad to hear that!
I'll start writing the Eigth Chapter early next week, so hopefully it'll be up in two weeks time.
Thank you so much for your review!

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review

Review #24, by wolfgirl17 Chapter One

13th February 2015:
Hello!

Wolfgirl here with your requested review. I feel absolutely terrible, because I realized whilst reading this chapter that I'd read your story before and had obviously just forgotten to review or something. Like a total slacker. I'm so sorry for forgetting and for being o rude, it's just awful of me. Especially when in the past I've been known to rant about the idea of folks reading and not leaving a review and how positively lazy it is. *hides*

In all honesty, I love this idea and actually have a fic of my own that I've been working on where Hermione isn't a muggle-born (though in mine she's secretly a Zabini) and so the idea is very appealing to me indeed. I especially love the way you had her so shocked and less than pleased by the knowledge. It really fits with Hermione's character I think, because she's very proud of being muggle-born.

It's a good first chapter that really throws the reader into the world you're creating and results in a very compelling and intriguing read. I especially liked that you went the route of having the Malfoy's be her parent's best friends and I know that with where you take this (I can't believe I forgot to review *hangs head in shame*) that the interactions you paint between Draco and Hermione are awkward but brilliant because they're very realistic.

A really great first chapter, and I promise that in future I'll remember to review when I read. Feel free to re-request with the additional chapter of this story. I think the first time I read it I got to about 3 or so, as that was all you had posted at the time, but then I wandered off and have been super slack about reading fics on the archives when I've got so many that I'm working on myself.

I always love a Dramione too, so don't hesitate to request for every chapter if I can be of service. =)

xx-Wolfgirl (Ellie)

Author's Response: Hi Ellie!

Haha, don't worry about it! It can happen. I used to do it all the time.

Really? Then I should go check it out someday, because I've gotten a few reviews that mentions the stories where Hermione is a sister to Zabini, instead of her becoming a witch "by herself" (not as a sister etc.)

I'm so glad you liked this chapter, and I'll go re-request as soon as I can ^_^ I'd love to hear your opinion of the rest of the story.

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #25, by StormAngel_PAC Chapter Six

1st January 2015:
Please load another chapter ASAP! I hope writer's block hasn't captured you! Marvelous story! Absolutely love it!!

Author's Response: Hi!

Your review made me so happy, thank you so muchfor your kind words!
And no, I don't have writer's block, but I've been so busy with school, work and travelling that I haven't had any time to write the Seventh Chapter. But now I have the time for it, and hopefully it'll be up sometime during January.

Happy New Year!

- Lostmyheart


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>