Reading Reviews for Creperum
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunshineDaisies Chapter One: Anguish

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Ooh! What an interesting start! I love the idea of this, or at least the idea I have of where the plot is going. Having Harry stay with other family members, even if they aren't exactly grandparents (or even blood related? It doesn't matter, they're family), is such a nice change of events. Rebecca and Amadeus seem to genuinely love the Potters, which is more than can be said for the Dursleys. (I have my fingers crossed that they get to take him and that this is a HAPPY AU.)

I already love Rebecca and Amadeus. I mean, Amadeus seems a little bit pretentious, but I think that comes with the territory of being old and pureblooded :) Rebecca is absolutely lovely. Her dedication to her children, even the ones that aren't really hers, is so wonderful and heartbreaking at the same time. I love her already simply because she seems to love others so much, and I'm completely heartbroken for her and the tragedies that seem to have befallen her children.

This is a fantastic introduction to a story, I'm excited to read more!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Chazzie Chapter Three: Hope

20th June 2015:
Oh. I feel stupid now. She's a vampire. Duh Lottie. She did run halfway across England in a very short space of time. May I say that I think it's amazing that the Potters have vampires in the family? And Harry too, that is a game changer. Argh it's so exciting!

The bit about Lily and James never mentioning the Dursleys was rather sad actually. I thought it was really well worded, and nonetheless very sad.

Rebecca found Harry, and for that I am so glad. I did smile at the part where you mentioned her waiting in a tree. I mean, her in a tree, Minerva on a wall, neither of them could have been very comfortable and yet they stayed there because they both wanted to make sure Harry was alright. It was so very sweet.

I need to know what happens next. This isn't funny anymore, I have to know.

Lottie
Slytherin
House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by ad astra Chapter Two: The Child

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

This is another intriguing chapter - and your description throughout is amazing. You evoke the scene of the Potters' house and the destruction really well, as well as Rebecca's raw emotion at finding Lily and baby Harry. I love the interaction between Rebecca and Harry as well - her desperation to keep him, and the cruel irony that he's being taken away by wizards to be raised by the Dursleys - “He belongs with his kind, Rebecca!” Amadeus cut her off, fighting to pry her hands off Harry. Their voices never raised above a loud whisper. Rebecca’s heart was breaking as she fought to hold onto the crying child. “They’ll take care of him, you’ll see.” Oh no they won't

I'm so interested in who Rebecca and Amadeus are and their links to James and Harry - they're obviously Muggles, and not James's bioogical parents - where do they fit in? I'm hooked on this story now, nicely done!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ad astra Chapter One: Anguish

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Hi Selene! I decided to stop by and check out this project of yours!

This was a really good opening chapter - I love your depiction of high wizarding society and the ball Rebecca and Amadeus were attending, especially the ladies dripping in their glittering jewels and fine evening gowns and the gentlemen with their cigars, reminiscing of old times long gone - it evokes such a strong image of privilege and wealth and Respectable Society, and you contrasted that really well with Rebecca's behaviour and the shock of the Potters' place at Godric's Hollow after Voldemort's attack.

This chapter raises a lot of intriguing questions as well - I feel like I should recognise the name Amadeus? - but Rebecca's relationship to the Potters and to James is one of the biggest questions raised of this chapter and I'm really interested to find out who she is - and how she had such a strong physical reaction to James's death. This chapter sets up your story really well in tone and invites interest in the story itself.

Awesome start and I'm looking forward to seeing where this goes!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Chazzie Chapter Two: The Child

20th June 2015:
Whaaat no Amadeus D: he left Harry. He left him there. Poor little baby Harry.

I said the last chapter was heart breaking? Well this was worse. Merlin Selene. I can't even think correctly, you've broken me. How am I supposed to review your amazing story now?

*breathes* right, story. The description, particularly in the top few paragraphs, was simply astounding. I don't know how you manage to write like this, it is too good for me to even try to describe. (Still I will try nevertheless. It might just be slightly random.) I liked the sound words used - crunching was one that stood out to me and made me shiver. It's the whole immersion thing, it makes the reader feel that they are really there. And it hurts, terribly. Poor James and Lily and Harry.

Um, immortal heart? I may have missed something in my excitement, but just how old are Rebecca and Amadeus? This story has just gotten even more wonderful and interesting. Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Lottie
Slytherin
House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #6, by Chazzie Chapter One: Anguish

20th June 2015:
Selene!

Okay, first off, this looks very intriguing. I loved your use of description here because it dragged me immediately into the action. From the very first line in fact you had me there with Rebecca. Second thing that I wanted to say was: Selene, what in the name of Merlin are you doing to my poor tiny heart? That was heart shattering.

Rebecca and Amedeus (lovely names by the way) have been characterised so much already. Subtle things such as Rebecca narrowing her eyes, as well as the more blatant mentions of her being 'caring and docile', worked together to really complement each other in your writing.

You really had me on edge, desperate to know what was happening. And then that last bit, she heard Harry. She was devastated, but now there is a chance that things aren't just so bad. Harry is still alive. They still have him.

The only typos I could see were in the lines 'Surely not even to Gods' with a to instead of a the, and 'She could sense Amadeus...' with a her at the end rather than a him. Minuscule things. Honestly this was amazing Selene. Ahh I can't wait to read more!

Lottie
Slytherin
House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Chapter One: Anguish

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015
Slytherin

Oh I can't help but wonder what this woman is running from and why, she seems scared, and she's not even responding to her husband.

Wow, that must be horrible to feel that kind of pain out of nowhere, eek! Haha he's called Amadeus and now I have the Amadeus song in my head! *hums*

Oh no! He can't do that to her when she's running! What if she doesn't get to where she's going in time? I want her to get there and find out why she's feeling like this.

She can feel something wrong with James? Oh no, please tell me that wasn't her feeling the killing curse on James. I don't think that my heart could take it! *cries*

Oh no! I'm so devastated for them! I've got goosebumps and I want to cry! :(

YOU CAN'T LEAVE IT THERE SELENE!!! *cries more* I need to know what happens next. I need to know why Harry wasn't given to Rebecca and Amadeus! I am going to read the next chapter right now!

Brilliant first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx Chapter Four: Home

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

Ooh, this is such a mysterious chapter. I really want to know who these figures are! They've obviously been watching Harry for a while and are trying to stop her from taking him but the way you haven't mentioned exactly who they are is just killing me! I need to know! :D They also don't seem like anyone we know. Their personalities are definitely not like Dumbledore or Minerva. Are you introducing new characters? :O I am so intrigued!

And omg what! Harry is immortal? Does that mean Rebecca bit him or something by mistake? Or did she do something else? But obviously he's one of their kind now and that's why she was allowed to take him. This is amazing. The chapter itself is pretty small but it has so much mystery and suspense in it! I love the way the story is proceeding so far and I can't wait for you to update! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Infinityx Chapter Three: Hope

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

Ah yay! Rebecca goes and find Harry! That's such an uplifting end to the chapter. I love the way you've described the whole locality. It really paints such a vivid picture and is so easy to imagine. The pace is perfect in this and I love all those little details you've given without just brushing over them and moving to the main plot of the story.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the part about the "strange tabby cat" hahaha is that McGonagall? Has she been watching Harry ever since he was a baby? That's such a lovely theory if so and I love how you've brought that in here. Also the contrast between how Petunia spends so much time with Dudley and he's seen all the time versus how Harry is nowhere to be seen was a wonderful touch. It gave a lot of insight into the way the Dursleys treated him even as a baby.

I am so happy Rebecca found him. Obviously she is not going to leave without him and I love that about her. She's so caring and lovable and fiercely protected. Ooh, is that McGonagall who makes an appearance in the end? That would be amazing. I'm guessing it's her since this person called Rebecca "Mrs. Potter." I can't wait to find out!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Infinityx Chapter Two: The Child

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

Selene! I remember reading the first chapter quite a while ago and I think I guessed that they're vampires. :D But that's amazing, it's such a unique story line and I love the way you've incorporated it into this. So they're from James' side of the family i'm guessing. And wow, this chapter was filled with SO much angst it just radiates the emotions. I love the way you've characterised both Rebecca and Amadeus and I hope that they somehow end up with Harry. I also really like the way you've made the distinction of "our kind" and "his kind". That was great - it brings out the underlying themes of marginalized "creatures" and half-humans. Your writing is wonderful in this and the emotions have been described so well. Each scene is so powerful and their actions are all so rough and that adds an extra layer to this chapter. There are some mistakes to clean up but overall, this was amazing! I'm so glad you're getting back to writing it, it's an incredible premise.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Infinityx Chapter One: Anguish

5th May 2015:
Hi Selene! Here for the April Review Exchange!

I absolutely love how you've started this chapter off. It's gripping and even though there's not much about the characters, the way you've described the scene and the events taking place is so amazing and it just draws me in right from the beginning. There's also a great mystery surrounding your characters because although you reveal things about them, the details aren't completely clear. I don't mean this is a bad thing - you've revealed just the right amount in this first chapter to make the reader get familiarized with how this Rebecca character is feeling, but still feel slightly confused and want to know more.

Time had not kind been to their children, and she felt each of their deaths keenly in the way only a mother, and a grandmother, could feel. And, while they were not a direct child of her own womb, something terrible was happening to a child of her own blood and she must stop it.
This part is especially intriguing. I feel like there's something more to it. Rebecca has outlived a lot of her family members whom she thinks of as her own children - and it's because of time? But if Rebecca is older to them, like a mother or grandmother, then it must mean she's quite old herself. Hmm, this is very interesting.

chasing you halfway across Cornwall
I'm not sure if this is a figure of speech or if he means he actually chased her halfway across Cornwall, because if it's true, then they're definitely not human. Which would also explain the whole time thing from the previous sentences I quoted.

Okay, so this is when James and Lily die fighting. I like how you've brought in the time period in a smooth manner as well. It fits right into the context of the story.

The emotions in this chapter are so powerful and you've written them so well. I can feel their grief at seeing James and Lily dead and you're writing is just amazing.

So, she's a part of James' family. His grandmother?

The sound of beating hearts were too unreliable
She can hear heartbeats? :o then she's definitely not human! Or she's using some kind of spell but I think the first option explains it better. If she's not human, then...maybe a vampire?

OMG JAMES HAS VAMPIRE RELATIVES?

SHE'S GOING TO FIND HARRY?

OMG IS HE NOT GOING TO LIVE WITH THE DURSLEYS?

I'm going to read the second chapter now but you have to finish this story. Please.

There are a few mistakes that need to be cleaned up but I'm not nitpicking since you've mentioned this hasn't been beta'ed yet.

Love this first chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by poobear Chapter Two: The Child

20th March 2015:
O.M.G Wow what a great start (sorry hi)i love this story already and i hope its going to be a long one ??. Ilove the diff angle that you have started on this and soo carnt wait for the next chapters and see were you take this and a lot more vampires in it and i would love to see becca to raise harry but i guess i will just have to wait and see. please keep up with the super dooper work you have done so far. take care and i hope to make more reviews soon by for now.
Bruce

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rita Skeeter Chapter One: Anguish

18th March 2015:
Hello there my dear Selene!

I'm Rita Skeeter. You may know me from such publications as The Daily Prophet, The Life and Times of Albus Dumbledore, and a few others that I can't quite keep track of. Really, there's so many that sometimes I just forget!

You may be wondering why I'm here on this errr...computer thing, but I've found them quite helpful in digging up dir..I mean looking up information on my latest subjects. Especially since that meddling Hermione Granger found out about me being an illegal animagus.

I must tell you that your story was quite informative. While I pride myself in knowing almost every little detail about The Boy Who Lived, I can't say I knew much about his grandparents. This filled in the details quite nicely. Maybe I'll have to go digging for a bit of info about them now. Perhaps, a book on the tragic Potter family history through the generations.

Now because you've shared such a nice bit of history with me, I'd like to share a bit of gossip with you. There was a dual purpose to me stopping here. I'm running a bit of a contest. You see, things aren't always as they seem. If you can guess who my alter ego on the forums is, I will donate E50 in your honor to the HPFF fundraiser. You better hurry though because others have received similar offers and there can only be one winner. You have until March 30th.

Oh and I suppose I should leave you one clue so you can start some digging of your own. Unlike Rita, I'm a member of your house.

Best of Luck!

 Report Review

Review #14, by CambAngst Chapter One: Anguish

25th April 2014:
Selene! I've been meaning to read this for a while. Some nights, our free time catches up to our ambitions.

I love the way you've kicked off the story. I recognize the event that's playing out, even though it's seen from a completely different perspective. You did a great job of dropping us right into the action without any preamble or pretense. I was instantly caught up in what I was reading without even half a chance to get bored. I know very little about your leading characters -- at least the ones leading so far -- and that's FINE. I can't wait to learn more about them, but that's what future chapters are for. Right now, I'm captivated by the moment and that's what a good first chapter should do.

Your pacing for this chapter was excellent. A rapid, downhill ride, interrupted only by a couple of moments where the characters -- and the readers -- catch their breath.

I saw a couple of small typos, at least I think they're typos:

-- Time had not kind been to their children, and she felt each of their deaths keenly in the way only a mother, and a grandmother, could feel. -- Time had not been kind?

-- Surely not even to Gods were so cruel to give her hope. -- not even the Gods

Otherwise, excellent writing.

You crazy giraffe, you! I am really looking forward to seeing where this story goes, and what it is about Rebecca and Amadeus that Lily had to become accustomed to. Rock on!

-Dan

 Report Review

Review #15, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Chapter One: Anguish

15th March 2014:
Hey!

So this first chapter was nothing what I expected but I really enjoyed it! I loved what you did here... at first I thought we were back in a founder era fic but quickly caught on that they were spirits of some description.

I thought the idea that Rebecca could physically feel pain when something happened to one of her descendents. I think it truly shows how strong a mothers love can be, something we already knew from the the books of course.

I also wanted to say your descriptions were fantastic in this... I could picture the whole thing from start to finish so great job there. The heartbreak when they reached the wreckage was so sad, I just felt gutted about their death once again so yeah. Lots of feels.

So, my only complaint? There's only one chapter! I can't wait for you to update - I hope you do soon! This was brilliant!

Lauren :)
Gryffindor vs Slytherin Review 14 of 20

 Report Review

Review #16, by adluvshp Chapter One: Anguish

13th March 2014:
Blackout Battle 6/6

This was an interesting start to your story. The plot is intriguing and I am curious to know what happens next. I also like your character Rebecca and how she heard Harry's cry and came for him.

Her husband is also an interesting character and I like the couple from what we know of them so far. It was really sad how all their children and grandchildren are dead, and finally James too.

The atmosphere of tension and sadness ever present throughout the narrative was very good and had me reading with absolute concentration.

I liked your descriptions as they jumped straight into the action. There were no glaring grammar errors either. All in all, this made for a smooth read and a good opening for the rest of the story. I liked it =)

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #17, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Chapter One: Anguish

29th November 2013:
Selene! It's here! Ah, I'm so excited!

First off, I'm sorry I'm only reviewing this now. I haven't read anything during NaNo, except snippets in the Novel Nests. But I am here and I love it!

It's so sad to hear that they've lost children and grandchildren, being around for so long. And then for it to get worse because James has been killed - gah, I want to cry. *holds James tightly and never lets go*

I love that it's James who has the vampire family. It makes more sense to me because he's the Pureblood (well, maybe not in this...), whereas Lily had no idea about magic or this world until meeting Severus. Also, I can just see him as part of this world more than I can with Lily. She'd definitely be the one who joined the family.

I'm so glad Rebecca came and heard Harry's cry. I can't wait to see him grow up with vampires and how different his life will be compared to canon. It's going to be an awesome read, I can tell.

Cannot wait for the next chapter, Selene!

Sam.

Author's Response: I'm terrible with review responses...

Don't be sorry, since I'm clearly responding over a year later! XD Thank you so much though! -hugs-

I suppose because Rebecca is not a witch, James may not technically be a pureblood? But there are enough witches and wizards in his family tree that I suppose he can be classified as a pureblood by modern standards. Lily on the other hand, is pureblood human. Not a drop of vampire blood in her family tree.

Rebecca is one of my favorite characters in these stories, and I'm looking forward to playing with her more. She's an important person in Harry's life and I want to do her justice.

Despite being well over a year since this chapter and review, thank you so much Sam! I hope to start writing it again soon after I've refreshed on some of the older chapters and notes I have. I'm itching to start writing again.

-Selene


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login