Reading Reviews for Through The Darkest
  
107 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne A Case Worth Waiting For

13th March 2015:
ooo I am so close to having reviewed everything you've ever written :D For that I'm going to review all of these chapters so that I can say that I have reviewed everything you've written! :D

I am so glad that I'm reading this story! That summary has got me hooked! As has that first paragraph, you need to stop being so amazing at beautiful descriptions!... I lie of course, you should never stop! This way I can bask in the brilliance of it and keep reading the perfectness that is your writing! :D It's such a pleasure reading your work!

Oooo who is visiting Aenor? What have they gotten from him? So many questions!

What happened to Ginny? Why is she missing? What did Cress see in the photograph!? SO MANY QUESTIONS!!

AHHH I CAN'T WAIT TO READ MORE! You've left me hanging so badly and I need all of the answers!! I can't wait to get back to this! And I am so coming back to this! Gahhh!!! So much need right now!

You're such a fabulous writer for getting me so hooked on your beautiful work! I absolutely love your stories! So very much!

Author's Response: Yes you are!! And I really hope you decide to continue with this. I absolutely love you and your reviews! :D

Thanks! I wrote and rewrote the first part so many times that I was kind of exhausted when I finally came up with just the right descriptions. I'm so happy you like my writing so much! I just don't know how to respond. *blushes* I'm not good at taking compliments.

Yes, so many questions! ;) But I'm sure they will get answered so I hope you continue reading!

Aww, thank you so much!! Me? Fabulous writer? YOU'RE TOO SWEET TAMMI. I CANNOT HANDLE THIS. THANK YOU FOR BEING SO AMAZING. :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #2, by milominderbinder Picking Up The Pieces

8th March 2015:
hiya! here for our review swap! i reviewed chapter one for a review swap a while back, i remember, so it was cool to get to read chapter two! i don't have much time for keeping up with WIPs these days but this is definitely an intriguing one.

reading about Teddy's early life kind of broke my heart, but in the best way. i love your take on it. i've actually never seen an interpretation where he grew up with Harry but I've always thought it would be interesting, and i loved how you explained it all here! he sure has had a lot of tragedy in his life, poor lil bean.

i really can't say enough just how INTRIGUING the mystery of ginny's disappearance is so far! that note is what really sold it for me. i'm dying to know who wrote it - i guess i'll have to read on at some point ;) the fact that the writer is sure she'll recognise the writing but nobody else does is interesting to say the least. it hints at her having some big secret or something. my first thought was that it was tom riddle's writing, like from the diary, but i guess harry would have recognised that :")

well, i'm sure there's a lot more mystery to go, anyway, but you've done an awesome job with the setup of it all! well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hello Maia! So sorry for responding late! Exams are eating my HPFF time. :(

Writing this was kind of hard for me too. I have a soft spot for Teddy Lupin ever since he lost Remus and Tonks, but no one suited this story better than him. And I am going to try and make him a little more happy through this story. The plot needed him to grow up with Ginny so she could be like his mother so I decided to do that. ;)

Thank you so much! I have every chapter planned out and I know where the story is going so I absolutely love reading the questions and theories of you guys. :D

Ooh, the handwriting could be Tom Riddle's! :O I love your theory! That hadn't crossed my mind though! So you're gonna need to come up with some other theories. ;)

Thank you so much for the awesome review! It was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini



 Report Review

Review #3, by Wistful So She Is Back

26th February 2015:
HEY, LOVELY!

This is Wisty, here for our review swap. So the summary of this one immediately captured me, and I was definitely excited to check out something like this. I honestly don't see too many stories with Harry and the lot that isn't more focused on the next generation. And of course Teddy Lupin is eVERYTHING TO ME (i need him like i need air) so unf unf unf it looked good.

And it was good! It was easy to read, and I love your straight forward writing style and how you write your characters. Each of them have such a decisive voice. I like how you write Ron the best honestly. Like even if you didn't give him his name and just said he, I could tell it was him from a mile away. This was really just so good.

And you're creating suspense just so well! I was curious as I reached this chapter to what was going on with Ginny and how you were going to continue the story if Ginny was already found, but then the last line oh my god. Way to twist the plot.

I'm so excited to read on and to see what you do with this!

-- Wisty x

Author's Response: Hi there Wisty! :D

I'm so glad you think the summary is intriguing. That's something I constantly worry about. I'm not really good at coming up with titles and summaries! :P

Aaah I love that boy too! I know we don't know much about him, but he seems so cute and Remus and Tonks's death has created a soft spot for him in my heart. ;) I love him too! That's why I decided to include him in this one. A next gen story written by me without any Teddy in it? Not possible!

Thank you! I haven't purposefully kept this simple. It's probably because I'm still learning to write in English as it's not my native language. That's why I generally use simple words so that I don't make any weird word usage! ;)

I'm so glad you liked Ron! I love him so much that I wanted to put a bit of him in every chapter possible. :D

I LOVE ending my chapters with cliffhangers! You'll just have to get used to that. ;) Haha I hope you don't mind!

Thank you so much for being so nice and leaving this lovely review! I hope you come back for more soon!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #4, by Carrie The Case Complicates

25th February 2015:
THIS WAS AMAZING. I love this story so much! I know I have two more chapters to catch up but I wanted to know that this was really great. I enjoyed reading this. :D

Author's Response: NO YOU ARE AMAZING! :D You literally made me smile like crazy with this one! :) I'm so glad you enjoyed TTD so far and I hope you like the next too chapters as well! Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by CP The Case Complicates

7th February 2015:
I'm really loving this story! I read five chapters in a row but now I have tosleep. So I'll come back for more later for sure! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming back to this story even after a long time! I remember you leaving a review a while ago. :) I'm happy I entertained you and I hope you have a good sleep! Good night! ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heaven A Case Worth Waiting For

5th February 2015:
REVIEW SWAP. Sorry for being a little late :)

So this is a super interesting start. A (possible) murder mystery involving Ginny Weasley. How exciting! I'm very intrigued about where the story is going to head - and how Teddy plays into it all, since he wasn't mentioned in this chapter, but was in the summary.

I love the amount of description. I'm terrible at it, so I always pay attention to it in other people's work, and I think you've done a lovely job. It creates an image in my head of the setting and characters, and so their actions are given some context. Well done!

I also like the way you opened this with a flashback scene from an unknown person's perspective. It has the feeling of the books themselves, as often, the first chapter wouldn't be from Harry's point of view at all.

I enjoyed the different sections as well. I think it's a good way to keep the pacing fast and quite clearly separates one section from another for the reader. There were places where the endings were a little abrupt for me, but that was a minor thing.

Overall, this is a fantastic start. I really enjoyed this. Thanks for the swap :)

Author's Response: Hello there! I'm so sorry for responding so late! I was kind of busy with college for the last few days. :(

I won't say this is a murder mystery even though it is concerned with murders and other criminal stuff. :) Ginny is just missing and this story is about what happened during these five years. This was mostly an introductory chapter, so nothing much is revealed here, but I'm sure things will get clearer in the next. The next chapter is centered at Teddy.

I personally don't think you are terrible at descriptions ;) but thanks for the compliment! I have put a lot of work into descriptions lately, so it makes me feel extra good to know that you liked them. :) Imagery is very hard and compliments about it make me super happy. :D

Actually the whole story will be told through switched point of views even though Cress is the protagonist. :) There are more flashback scenes in random chapters too.

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving this awesome review! :D

Ashwini



 Report Review

Review #7, by Infinityx Pain and Soothing

31st January 2015:
I AM BACK.

YAY THEY KISSED. YES. FINALLY. :D

That was such an amazing, passionate moment and I love how you've described it! The emotions, the heat, the longing...they were all described so wonderfully! I have been waiting for this to happen for so long now and YAY! :D

Okay, so the imposter isn't Joanne. The way she was murdered was so brutal and horrifying and the fact that she'd been identified means that that theory of mine is completely useless. However, if Ginny's imposter is able to pose as her so perfectly in terms of physical features and identifying factors, it's possible that the person identified as Joanne wasn't really her and Joanne is still alive and posing as Ginny. That seems like a long shot though. But I still think they're both interrelated in some way, and I can't wait to find out how!

I love the way you've described Cress' feelings for Teddy in the beginning! It was so warm and cute and I melted inside. That plus all the angst about her losing her job and the whole dead end with Joanne's case made this such an emotion packed chapter!

I'm still a bit skeptical of Harry's behaviour though. It's just my opinion but it seems a bit out of character for him to be this way because family was always most important to him and neglecting James, shutting himself off, pretending he got Ginny back...it's all really extreme. Although, it is possible that the trauma did that to him. I'm on the fence about that though.

But other than that, I LOVED this chapter! And I'm still in suspense about Cress' father and how everything is tied up so please please update soon before my brain crumbles from thinking too much!

You're so fab.

Author's Response: OH YEAH THEY KISSED. :D I've been waiting to write this chapter for so long! I'm so excited you liked it too!

Thank you! I LOVE passionate kisses. I never really liked the happy ending sort of first kiss. I love this kind of moments and I'm glad you liked it too. :)

It was fun to read your theories! Don't mark any of your theories useless just yet. Anything might be coming your way. ;)

Aah, they make me want to melt too sometimes. :) They're extremely cute. I don't go much for fluff, but Teddy and Cress make it so much fun and it's also easier with them. :)

Yeah, this was a pretty intense chapter. Cress is going through a lot at the moment so I thought she deserved a complete chapter dedicated to her inner storm and feelings. :( Poor girl! But I promise the story will bring something nice to her at the end. :)

Thank you so much for being awesome and writing this review! You didn't make my day. You made my WEEK! :D ;)

Ashwini

PS- No. YOU are fab. :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx Conversations and Revelations

31st January 2015:
I'm finally here, I'm so so sorry! I'm reviewing on my phone so I apologise beforehand for any weird typos.

Aah, you've put up two new chapters! I can't believe I missed the update!

Ooh, some Teddy and Cress bonding! I really think they make such a cute couple! And they understand each other so well because of their similar familial situations. And she's finally looking for her father. This should be interesting.

Hmm, I wonder what happened between Teddy and Victoire. He still seems to be really hung up on her.
Aand my question is answered. It's not what I expected though. Vic seems really selfish and stubborn when it comes to understanding what Teddy's going through. It's weird though, considering her profession. I wonder if there's more to it...

Oh wow, they've finally figured out that connection between Ginny and Joanne. I have goosebumps. Could Joanne be the imposter? :o what on earth is happening here!? The suspense is eating me up!

And omg as if that wasn't enough, you go ahead and break another bombshell! Aenor Garrott, seriously? Is this why Ginny is against Cress? But didn't she get the vial in the first chapter from Aenor? Hmm... Maybe he betrayed her or something. But it's so serious that she had to have someone else pose as her, go missing for five years, and have hateful thoughts against Cress! I'm really boggled here.

You've developed such an intricate plot here, Ashwini, and I really don't have any guesses here. It's so confusing and so exciting and I'm just so intrigued by this that I really NEED to know the reason behind the whole scheme!

The only bit of CC I have is that there could be something that denotes a separation between the Teddy-Cress scene in the beginning and the Vic-Ali scene after it.

I loved this chapter and I most certainly did not expect two huge bombshells to be dropped here! I'm so glad the next chapter is up. I don't think I could bear the suspense for much longer!

Author's Response: ERIN!! It makes me all happyyy to see you here! :D And who cares about typos while reading such a sweet review?

I know right! I always keep including small Teddy/Cress moments here and there just to be able to write something about them being together. :P I kind of love them myself and I'm really happy that you like them too. :) I wanted their grief to bring them together just to show that you can always find something happy and bright even when you are going through a bad phase in life. No matter what happens to Teddy, Cress or their families in this story, they will always have each other as a reason to be happy. Hope it makes sense!

There's some Teddy/Victoire history coming up in chapter ten! You'll get your answers then, I promise!

You're right. The mysterious 'She' did take something from an old man named Aenor in the first chapter. There's a lot more to the connection between Aenor and Cress which I won't reveal right now of course. I hope you're intrigued enough to keep reading like you always have! :)

Aww, thank you so much! It makes me so happy to know that you want to know what happened so badly! :') I have just posted chapter nine in queue and I'll let you know when it gets validated. :)

Yeah, I forgot to put a line to break the two scenes. I'll make sure I edit that out asap.

Thank you for being such a wonderful person and leaving awesome reviews for me! You really made my day! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #9, by mymischiefmanaged Picking Up The Pieces

27th January 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap (sorry about the delay - I only just saw your reply to my post).

I think I reviewed chapter one for a swap a while back. I'm glad to get back to this story.

I really like the way you've focussed on Teddy here. Cress was a lovely character in the first chapter but was obviously viewing the case from a distance. It's interesting to get a more personal take on the same story from Teddy.

The depiction of Teddy's childhood with the Potters is just lovely. Of course Harry would see it as his duty to protect Teddy from the things he went through. You've shown a lovely glimpse into Harry's life with Ginny and the kids, and it's very believable.

And then after having seen that, James having to live with his grandparents seems so much more terrible. It's a clear demonstration of just how much Harry is hurting that he's let this happen.

The story about Gabrielle is incredibly sad. I wonder whether she has relevance to the greater plot about Ginny? I feel like she must if you've made such a point of bringing her up here, and I look forward to finding out more.

This is a really good story. You've got the level of mystery just right and your characterisation so far has been really strong. It's an original idea and you've handled some difficult topics with a lot of tact.

The only thing I would say is that there are quite a few grammatical errors here that I noticed - it might be worth getting somebody to beta or doing some more proofreading before uploading? It's not a big deal but it's something worth thinking about because it breaks up the flow a bit. Apart from that this is a fantastic chapter though!

Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hello Emma! It was nice to see you here! :D

That's exactly why I decided to include Teddy into the story. I wanted the readers to see the case from personal view too. I thought it would have seemed too plain from Cress's point of view, for she is not much of an emotional person.

Thank you! That's how I have imagined Harry to raise Teddy. I'm happy you found it believable. :)

Poor Gabrielle! What happened to her was kind of terrible. It may or may not have any relation to Ginny's case. I'm not going to spoil anything! ;)

I'm so glad you liked this! I did revise this chapter long time ago but if you still spotted some errors I'll try to look at it again. Thanks for pointing that out. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was fun swapping with you! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #10, by TwilightPrincess A Case Worth Waiting For

11th January 2015:
Hi! Ilia here for our swap! Thanks for swapping!

This is definitely an interesting start to what seems like an intricately planned story. Your summary drew me in immediately. Also the Harry/Ginny situation seems interesting.

I love that you are taking this Post-Hogwarts world to a dark place. I like that Ginny is missing or presumed dead (not in a morbid way... in a writing way, I promise! =P) because it shows me as the reader that you have thought deeply about where you want this story to go and what you want it to be about, and that you're not afraid to take risks. I appreciate that from a writer. When a writer is not afraid to take risks, it means they trust the reader, which is great.

I like the character of Cress right now and it will be interesting to see where she goes. The bit at the end where she is interacting with her mother and sister is quite telling of her feeling jaded and misunderstood. That was a great scene. Even though it was rather short, it showed a lot about her character.

I think you did an excellent job of setting up the story. Where you ended it was very smart too: you told us that she is currently on her way to go speak with Teddy Lupin about what happened to Ginny, which is a great cliffhanger.

That scene at the beginning has me baffled but intrigued. I am very curious to see who that woman was and what she was doing and why she was doing it. You made it clear that it was a peculiar request and perhaps a dangerous one, so I assume it has quite a bit to do with the plot.

This is a great chapter! Good luck continuing the story. Thank you for the swap!

Ilia

Author's Response: Hello there! :)

This story does need to be planned very carefully! I always kind of have to make sure I'm not missing anything before I start writing a new chapter and I also need to write and rewrite again and again. But all these lovely reviews (just like yours!) are definitely worth doing it all. :)

Yeah, this is quite darker than the actual epilogue that we have at the end of the series. But the plot requires everything to be as dark as possible to make it all seem mysterious and intriguing I guess. It is indeed a risk, but I have received good feedback until now so I don't worry about this risk now. :)

You will be able to know more about Cress in the future I promise! I just didn't feel like revealing too much about her in the very first chapter that's all.

Thank you! As I said, I have spent quite a lot of time planning the plot and spreading the clues and cliffhangers throughout the chapters. So it makes me feel all happy to hear your compliments. That's just too sweet of you!

I'm so glad you liked the opening scene! I can't say much about it right now, but the request was indeed peculiar and is very important to the plot.

Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope you feel like coming back for more! We can even swap again. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #11, by ReeBee Pain and Soothing

9th January 2015:
here for our review swap again! And ASHWINI YES. THANK YOU. THEY KISED!! BEEN WAITING FOR EVER YAY.

*anyway*

umumumumumumumum so cute. I mean o. M. G. Like adorable. I love how passionate the moment is I mean :OOO seriously!!! No words. ASHWINI. No words. And how she can't help but notice his pshyique XD Like lolol XD and he's so comforting it's actually adorable. It kills!!! So cute.

Dude and your description is perfect. Like serious. I could almost feel the passion! And believe me I am in the opposite of a passionate environmen- so boring but AH. I could see the scene playing out. It was awesome

As for the mystery I really hope Joanne's murder has something to do with the imposter! I think it should and it would be awesome to see alison all happy that the murderer would be caught.

Anyway please please please update soon and pm me so we can swap like usual ;) hurry! Update! We're waiting expectantly XD

Ilys girl,
Curie

Author's Response: OMG YES THEY KISSED!! ISN'T THAT PERFECTLY AMAZING?? :D

I still cannot believe I made them kiss, really! I hadn't planned to let that happen until the last chapter actually, but Cress a LOT more sad about losing her job than I had thought she would be (it's weird how these characters act on their own!) and someone had to comfort her! But I'm glad you liked it and didn't think it was too soon or something like that. :D

I know they are way too cute! I don't really like that much fluff, but it was kind of important or the story would be too dark, right? This was for some romantic relief.

Thank you! I did try my best to make the scene as deep and passionate as I could. I still plan to edit it a little. :) But I'm happy you liked it anyways! It was really good to know. :D

I'm currently editing the previous chapters and I still don't have a chapter image for this one. But I've posted a request and once I'm done with the editing, I'll start writing the next chapter definitely. And of course we will swap!

Thank you for the lovely review and for the sweet status update! Love u!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #12, by The Otter Conversations and Revelations

9th January 2015:
This was a great twist! I was hoping to see more of Harry but Alison was pretty interesting too. I think that Joanne knew the identity of the mysterious "she" and that's why she got killed. But that's still a theory! I can't wait to know more. Will be back for the next chapter soon!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you thought the twist was great! As I have said before, Harry isn't the main focus in this story but I promise you will see more of him soon. :)
Thanks for the lovely review! Hope to hear from you again soon!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #13, by ReeBee Conversations and Revelations

9th January 2015:
OKOKOK. I MISSED THIS D: BUT IM BACK AND BEHIND ON A CHAPTER WHICH MAKES ME VERY HAPPY XD ANYWAY.

OMG. ASHWINI!!! Your ability to tie all the ends together astounds me!!! I'm going to deviate from my usual review structure because well, just because :P oh and i had to go back and read the ends of all the chapters and can i just say the beginning of chapter 6 and the end of chapter 5 gave me shivers! anyway.

I honestly don't know what to think of Victoire and Alison… Victoire seems to not have any major preformed judgements on Alison. And I am a teddy/vic shipper so I do like that she didnt move on that quickly but I also felt pretty cold towards her because CRESS/TEDDY. AND OMG. THAT SCENE WHERE THEY LOOK FOR CRESS' FATHER WAS AMAZING. I CAN IMAGINE THT HAPPENING AND I AM IN LOVE.

And like i said about loose ends, i love how Veronica mentions alison and her mystery before and now we know why. and that sounds horrible! 'how brutally they smashed her face in'! it sounds really really mysterious too. girl I'm so jealous at your ability to create that mysterious atmosphere. it is amazing. i am stunned.

and oh, father discoveries!!! i wonder what you're going to do with that! seriously… I'm so curious!! and the way the name was written at the end makes me feel like its so very important but i don't know why and i cant wait to know why!!

as for revelations or theories… i have one! maybe Joanne knew something related to like a plan that they were kidnapping Ginny so maybe they kidnapped her?? OR maybe they both found out something so maybe they killed Joanne but couldn't catch Ginny until later but when they do go to kill her maybe realize that theres something valuable that Ginny can provide- after all wife of harry potter, so they didnt kill her. but why keep her for so long…

anyway, some random stuff thats probably way off point but eh, felt like guessing :P anyway, ill get on to the next chapter soon! :D cant wait!

-Curie :)

Author's Response: CURIE!! I MISSED YOU AND THOSE PERFECT REVIEWS OF YOURS TOO!! Aah, I'm so glad you're back! :D

Yeah, it all gets a little confusing when you return to a story after a long time. I've been there too. But I'm just relieved and happy that you liked it still and mentioned it here!

That's like one of the best compliments I have received for this story so far! If a Teddy/Vic shipper likes Teddy/Cress and feels cold towards Victoire, I think I have done a decent job writing Teddy/Cress. I'm always nervous about this pairing as there aren't many Teddy/OC fics around that I have seen people actually liking. This made my day! Seriously!

Yeah, what happened to Joanne was pretty horrible. You will be a lot more sad when you discover more about it actually! The tying of loose ends that you mention is the hardest thing ever and I have to plan everything like crazy. But these reviews are literally worth doing it all. :) Thank you!

The name was kind of a clue which sounds like you missed. :P I won't say anything more than that or about your theories though! ;) I have to keep you in suspense!

Thanks for the amazing review, dear! You are the best!

Ashwini :D



 Report Review

Review #14, by BitterSweetFlames A Case Worth Waiting For

22nd November 2014:
Hi Ashwini! :) Carla (SkitsandBits on the forums) here for our review swap. :)

First off, that first scene! WOW, was it intriguing or what? Seriously, I enjoyed it (in a creepy way). But, really, it was shrouded in mystery and you just made me keep on writing and demanding an answer about what is happening! :O Also, your description was perfect. I could really imagine being there, seeing everything you describe. So well done!

When you jump to 5 years later and an introduction of a new character I think it was very well done. You managed to make us know who the character was AND introduce that something had happened to Ginny. Instead of making it seem hurried, the fact that you wrote it in such a way underscores the fact that even great mysteries have a mundane side to them. This fact actually makes it seem like a bigger deal. Because, you want to know what happened. You want things to start moving.

"But Cress was unaware of what destiny had planned." Okay, you've intrigued me. So now I have to go and read the rest of this lovely story. ;)

So, yes, off to read more. Thanks for the swap, dearie.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey there Carla! :D Nice to see you!

Aww, thank you so much! I wrote the first scene just to intrigue the readers and make the first chapter a little mysterious. This chapter was supposed to start from the part where Cress is waiting for Hermione, but the first scene was a last minute addition and seems like it worked out well. I've been receiving lovely feedback for it. So glad that you like it too. :)

I was a little afraid that the five years leap would turn out to be pretty boring, so it makes me feel good that you liked it and thought it was well written. I never give away much about my characters in the first chapter itself, but I have introduced more information about Cress's family life in the third chapter. :)

Haha, I know I do this all the time! Nearly all the chapters (okay, all the chapters) of this story have a cliffhanger like that in the end.

I do hope you continue reading this! I'll look forward to you. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! You literally made my day! Let me know if you want to swap again.

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #15, by wolfgirl17 A Case Worth Waiting For

18th November 2014:
Hi Ashwini,

This is a good first chapter. You've laid some foundations for the story really well.

I'm a little confused about why it's taken five years to have someone trying to find Ginny, and about where she's gone. You've definitely hooked me there.

You've got a few, I wouldn't call them typos, but a few mistakes based on words choice. Like when you write that you're hoping Harry and Hermione will be frank and honest with Cress you write:
"hope they will be open before her"

I think it would make more sense to write:

"Hope they will be open with her."

It just improves the flow a little bit. I'd like to see a little more characterization of Cress, as thus far we've got more on the case she's been given than who she is and why she became a detective. Hopefully that will come later.

Anyway, I'm definitely intrigued about where Ginny is and why she just bailed on them all. I can't ever imagine her actually leaving Harry willingly.

Keep up the good work!

xx-Wolfgirl

Author's Response: Hello! It was great to see you here! :)

I'm so glad you liked the first chapter! The first one is always the most important chapter of a mystery novel according to me. It has to be well written so that the reader would just have to come back to know more. I have tried my best to create as much suspense as I can, so it feels nice to read such lovely compliments. Thank you, really! :D

That's the point. The Aurors couldn't find any clue about Ginny in five years, and that's why the case has been transferred to the Detectives. It would have been transferred sooner if it was any ordinary case, but Harry, who is an auror along with Hermione, is very weird about Ginny's disappearance. I believe that he wanted to find his wife himself but then the others forced him to hand the case over to Cress after waiting for long five years. You'll find out more as the story proceeds!

Thanks for pointing that out! These things are quite difficult to pick out, especially to me. I'm not a native English speaker, so I often get confused with word usage. It's good that I have reviewers like you, isn't it? :)

More about Cress will be revealed in chapter three. I know I've given very scanty information about her in this chapter, but I wanted to create a mysterious aura around everything, even my protagonist. I hope it isn't too bad!

I can't say much about what happened to Ginny just right now. I hope you come back to know more!

Thanks for the wonderful review! You really made my day with it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #16, by Cannons A Case Worth Waiting For

28th October 2014:
Hi, I promised you a review so here I am!

Firstly can I just say that chapter image is amazing.

The first section was defiantly intriguing, a dodgy deal in the moonlight. Immediately I am wondering who this woman is and what the substance is, so you did a good job of pulling me in at the start which is hard to do sometimes.

The second part was well written as well and I am wondering if it was Ginny that made the deal in the middle of the night? If I was in charge of the case I would be heading down to the manor and reminding the rusty gates what there job is!

I am unsure about Cress as a character at the moment, it is way to early to tell. She seems professional and excited to be in charge of the case. Also she believes the case wasn't a hard one? It hasn't been solved for five years and she thinks that she can solve it quickly. HMMM.

Anyway you really, seriously, pulled me in to the story! There are so many unanswered questions which I can't wait to find the answers too.

THANKS FOR AN AWESOME FIRST CHAPTER!

Author's Response: Hi there! :)

I know you may think I'm a terrible person and I might be one, but I really don't remember you promising me a review. :( Did we decide to swap? If we did so, or if I've forgotten to leave you a review or something please please let me know!

Yeah, pulling the reader in instantly is quite a challenge. Especially when you write a mystery. I had to think a lot about how to do it before I came up with the idea of that deal. I'm happy you liked it! :)

I won't reveal much right now, but there will be more snippets from that woman's PoV in the story.

More about Cress will be revealed in chapter 3. I know it's too early for you to say anything, but be sure that she's a nice person and there's a story behind her distant behavior. :)

Haha, I'm glad you think this is intriguing and I hope you decide to come back for more!

Thanks for the lovely review and please let me know about the review! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #17, by AdinaPuff Picking Up The Pieces

25th October 2014:
Hi, here for our review swap!

This was incredibly intriguing. Adding Teddy into the mix was somewhat unexpected, in my opinion. How old is he in this? His reflection on his life so far was somewhat sad, but at the same time happy. Him being so close to James, and Harry and Ginny giving him light in his life. It's a bittersweet story of his.

Now Gabrielle is a very interesting factor in this. I wonder if whoever took Ginny had anything to do with Gabrielle's sudden mental illness. It's very sad, though. I wanted to cry. She's a very interesting character in this though, and I'm sure we'll hear more about her in the future.

I wonder who is at the door? It could be the detective, but it may not be. I just want to know all the answers. Such an interesting mystery. Very well written. I love it so much!

Can't wait to read more :)

-Leigh

Author's Response: Great to see you back, Leigh! :)

I'll be sure to add a line informing you about Teddy's age next time I edit this. A lot of reviewers asked me this question. Teddy is 23 here. :)

Adding Teddy to the story was somewhat inevitable for me. I always imagined him being like his father and loving Harry and his family by heart... So I just HAD to write a chapter about his feelings only. Also, someone close to Ginny should help Cress, right?

More about Gabrielle will be reveal in the coming chapters. I loved to know what you think about her though!

No, it's just Cress at the door! ;)

I'm extremely happy that you liked this! I really hope you continue! I'd be happy to do more swaps with you too. Just let me know if you are interested! :)

Thanks for another amazing review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #18, by AdinaPuff A Case Worth Waiting For

24th October 2014:
Hi! I just want to apologize for the wait on this review--life abruptly got in the way. :)

You are amazing at writing mysteries. You had me hooked immediately. I was asking so many questions. Who were these people? What are they trading? Why enough for two people? So many questions bouncing in my mind. Great job with the suspense.

And then jumping to Cress. It immediately makes me assume that it was Cress who set this up, though I could be wrong. It's too early to tell. You wrote Hermione well, just to add a little compliment. :)

Thanks for the swap, sorry again for the wait.

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hi there! Late reviews are no problem to me. I'm really bad at leaving reviews on time too! :P I'm just happy to DID leave a review. :)

Aww, thanks! Probably that's because I've spent my entire childhood and almost teenage reading mystery stories. This was my first attempt at writing one. You will definitely know more about the hooded woman and Aenor as you read on. But beware! This wasn't the only cliffhanger! ;)

Yeah, I haven't given much away about Cress yet. You will get to know her better in chapter 3 and 4 and also through the rest of the chapters. I'm glad you liked my Hermione! I love her and know her by heart I think!

Thanks for the lovely review! I totally appreciate it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #19, by Veritaserum27 Conversations and Revelations

23rd October 2014:
Hi there Ashwini!

I'm here for our review swap. Ok. How did I miss this? Awesome chapter, by the way. So much is falling into place. I knew there was some sort of a connection between Alison's sister and Ginny. I also feel like Gabrielle Delcour is in the mix somehow, but I can't quite work out how they all fit together. Hmmm...

I'm totally shipping Teddy and Cress right now and that is a really big deal for me because I usually like to follow canon relationships! But I feel like those two really understand each other. I don't think victoire is completely awful, but she seems a bit wrapped up in herself and lacks a certain amount of empathy.

I'm also trying to wrap my head around the complicated relationship between Cress and her mother and sister. If Cress's mother really is pushing Cress away because her father is Aenor Garrett, then that is just awful. She shouldn't have to pay for his wrongdoings.

I found a typo here:

She had never accepted how much she wanted to find out about her father to anyone before.

I think you mean "admitted" not "accepted."

Also, I think you missed a break (horizontal line) right where the scene with Victoire and Alison starts.

Things are building up and I really hope you continue this story. I want to know about Ginny and Teddy and Cress's father and Joanne! Write more, please!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth! It was absolutely lovely to see you back again! :)

Haha, I know it's sort of obvious that Ginny and Alison's sister have some kind of connection. But I thought the story already has enough twists and cliffhangers. :P Anyways, I won't say much about anything just yet or I'll surely end up spilling beans. I loved to know what your theories are though!

I like to follow canon relationships too! This is probably the first time I'm writing a pairing that isn't canon and I wasn't entirely sure about it at first. But now I think Teddy and Cress sort of fit with each other. I'm so glad I gave the pairing a go now that the readers are liking them together too! :D

Victoire is like so many beautiful girls around us. Girls blessed with good looks are mostly full of themselves. Anyways I don't think Victoire would ever be able to help Teddy through a difficult situation because she's never been into one herself. Teddy and Cress will help each other, it won't be any one's responsibility.

I think you really missed a clue here. I'd suggest you go back and read the "five years ago" part from the first chapter. ;) If you do find the clue, please let me know!!

Oh, I never noticed that one! Thanks for pointing it out. :)

I'll try my best to update as soon as I can, though I'm not sure if NaNo will let me breathe. Thanks for the wonderful review as always Beth! You're too sweet!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #20, by Midnight spark Conversations and Revelations

26th September 2014:
I see what you are trying to do Ashwini! You are trying to just make me go so mad that I can't sleep tonight!

There's this chant going around my head; I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT, I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT.

Author's Response: See? I told you I can't resist cliffhangers! :P Don't worry yourself though, I WILL be posting the next chapter ASAP. I just got some exams coming on 10th October... I have diwali vacations right after them so maybe I will write a couple of chapters during them. :)

Thanks for the wonderful review! I hope you come back for more!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #21, by Midnight spark So She Is Back

26th September 2014:
I just had to come back and read this!

WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME???

GINNY CAN'T KILL CRESS!! WHAT A TWIST!!

Lovely chapter dear!

Author's Response: Hi again!! I'm so glad you came back for more!!

I know I can't resist putting a cliffhanger at the end... You'll just have to get used to that. ;) Because your desperation to know more keeps me inspired and is usually the muse for my next update to this story. :)

Not a bad guess, but let's keep in mind that I haven't officially declared that the mysterious woman is Ginny.

Thank you so much!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #22, by Midnight spark More Than a Clue

26th September 2014:
ASHWINI!! I'M FINALLY HERE!

MY DEAREST GIRL THIS CHAPTER LITERALLY MADE ME BIT MY NAILS (AND I HATE DOING THAT)!

I just have to get over the fact that Albus Potter is not born yet. :(

They found Ginny??? God, what a cruel cliffhanger you have here!

When Teddy says those emotional words... Merlin, I'm crying.

I have no idea how to review such a great chapter, this story is going to be great!

Sana

Author's Response: HELLO SANA!! I'm so glad you're here!! :D

Haha, I'm so so happy that you found my story so interesting that I can't put it into words! Just let me say that your reviews were the sweetest surprise I've got for a long time. :)

Albus Potter isn't born yet, and I'm not gonna tell you when he will be or whether he will be born during the story... But you're the first person who asked about him! ;)

Well, I'd say 'she turned up' instead of 'they found her'!

Thank you so much for the lovelies you left for me!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #23, by mymischiefmanaged A Case Worth Waiting For

19th September 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our swap :)

Okay, first off, your summary is FANTASTIC. I can't believe I've not come across this story before! As soon as I read the summary I knew I'd love it so congrats for getting that spot on.

The opening is fab - just the right balance of mysterious and descriptive. I WANT TO KNOW WHO THE WOMAN IS!! And I bet you won't reveal it for ages.

More importantly, what's the invention? I feel it can't be anything good if it has to be procured in such strange circumstances. Ohhh I like the mystery and it works really well but I so badly want to know all the answers already.

Is Cress Jones a relation of Hestia's? I hope so. I'm unsure about her as a character. I liked her at the start of the chapter but she seems a bit too distant. I understood her telling Hermione she needed the details to understand the case, but she seems to have a very detached attitude to her work which is a bit strange. I don't know. It just felt like she didn't care much about the people she was considering, which is an aspect of her character I'm a bit mistrustful of.

Hermione was lovely. It must be awful of her to have lost Ginny.

And WHERE IS GINNY? She's been missing for FIVE YEARS?!? That whole description of the photograph of Ginny and Harry was beautiful, and you've really added to the mystery of Ginny's disappearance. Of course she wouldn't just walk out on somebody she loved so much.

I'm intrigued by why the case is being worked on five years later though. Has it been reopened? Or have they never stopped investigating it? I guess we'll find out. You've raised so many questions here.

Finally, it was great seeing that snapshot of Cress's home life. Her mother definitely doesn't seem to understand her job, but I can see why she worries.

This was a brilliant first chapter. Thanks so much for the swap! Feel free to PM me if you ever want to swap again :)

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hello Emma! :D

Thanks! I literally spent my whole weekend to come up with just the right summary. So it makes me feel fantastic to hear that you liked it. I think banner, summary and title are too important so I always want to have them right. :)

Well... Don't throw stuff at me... But the identity of the woman will be revealed in the last few chapters of the story. :P Unless you guess it right of course! There will be more parts from the woman's pov so that you can be curious and come up with theories. :)

Wow, I just realized about Hestia Jones! :P I haven't really planned anything about Cress being her relative, but I like the idea. :) In my mind, Cress is not related to any canon character. And yeah, she is a bit indifferent because this is just another case for her. That's what she does every day. But she is going to be more involved in Ginny's story, I promise!

It looks like you really ARE intrigued about the whereabouts of Ginny! ;) You'll have to read on to know what happens to her! The updates are usually slow, but I'm pretty determined to finish this story. :)

The Aurors couldn't find a single clue about Ginny's disappearance. But as soon as Cress takes the case in her hands, something MAJOR happens coincidentally and that is the biggest clue ever. Keep reading to find out what that is! And Cress's family life will be explained in detail soon too. :)

Thanks for the fantastic review! You really made my day with it! I loved your story too so I'd like to have another review swap. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #24, by Midnight spark Picking Up The Pieces

13th September 2014:
YAY IT'S TEDDY!!! I just love Teddy, so I'm having a bit of a fangirl moment in here, you know, the profusely blushing and jumping up and down.

Right. Ahem.

God, this is such an emotional chapter. My throat is all thick and all you know.

I love the display of Teddy's affection for Ginny, Harry and for James (god, JAMES: Cue another fangirl moment).

And HOW DARE DID VICTOIRE BREAK UP WITH HIM?

I AM IN LOVE WITH YOUR WRITING!!
~Sana

Author's Response: Haha, I love Teddy too!! That's partly why I chose to have him in the story. He seems like such an adorable character even though we don't know much about him from the books, doesn't he? I'm very happy that you like him. I really hope to make him as happy as possible without changing some of the plot!:(

Yeah, this chapter was pretty emotional when you compare it to the first one. Cress didn't know much about the case so it was like just another mystery to solve for her. But this chapter is to let you know how much this is important for Teddy as well as Harry and James.

Thanks for the compliments and the wonderful review! You're too sweet! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #25, by patronus_charm A Case Worth Waiting For

13th September 2014:
Hey Ashwini!

Oooh I loved the first section as it was so full of mystery and darkness and exciting things it really tied into the title and set the story up so well! This is a really random note but I loved your choice of names, because they seemed to have a spooky element about them which just added so much to the story. The people in it seemed to be such a motley crew of them I wonder how they’re all connected together.

One thing to be careful is your dialogue punctuation as I noticed several instances where it was off such as here ‘“Enough for two, if you please,” it was almost an order.’ And here ‘“Sure, madam.” He muttered under his breath. He was very suspicious.’ With the first, it was almost an order isn’t a dialogue tag, so the speech should be followed by a full stop and it should be capitalised. For the second, it is a dialogue tag, so there needs to be a comma after madam and he should be lowercase. I’m sorry I haven’t explained it very well but there are some great tutorials on the forums which should make it clearer!

Cress seems cool! I really liked her character as she seemed really intriguing and someone I could easily get along with. Her interaction with Hermione was especially interesting as it was strange to see that Cress was the one giving the help as you would expect it to be the other way round. I can’t help but wonder what on earth has happened to Ginny though and whether that’s connected to the first section or not.

Oooh wait a sec it does seem as if it’s connected which makes it even more exciting. I really liked the omniscient voice at the end of it though with the way destiny has planned out everything for her as I can’t wait to see what on earth destiny has in store for her!

Great chapter!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello Kiana! It was great to see you! :)

The first section was just to make the beginning a little dark and interesting. I'm so glad you thought it worked! Haha and I won't deny that I chose the names on purpose! :P I wanted the names to have a mysterious kind of aura around them, and Aenor sounds like such an interesting name!

Thanks for pointing that out! English is not my native language, so sometimes it's a little hard to be accurate about the grammar and punctuation. I think I'm lucky you people are around to help me! :D

Cress is one of my most favorite OCs. :) She's inspired from various detectives I've read about so maybe she sounds like a nice combination of all of them. :)

Hermione was very close to Ginny and as we have seen in the books, that girl can be extremely emotional at times. She is tired of worrying about Ginny and it's like they are just searching and searching but nothing happens. That's why Cress had to comfort her, I think.

Yes, the first section is definitely linked to Ginny and her disappearance! Destiny has quite a plan on her mind... I hope you'll want to come back for more!

Thanks for the lovely review! I really appreciate it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>