Reading Reviews for Through The Darkest
  
101 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Infinityx Pain and Soothing

31st January 2015:
I AM BACK.

YAY THEY KISSED. YES. FINALLY. :D

That was such an amazing, passionate moment and I love how you've described it! The emotions, the heat, the longing...they were all described so wonderfully! I have been waiting for this to happen for so long now and YAY! :D

Okay, so the imposter isn't Joanne. The way she was murdered was so brutal and horrifying and the fact that she'd been identified means that that theory of mine is completely useless. However, if Ginny's imposter is able to pose as her so perfectly in terms of physical features and identifying factors, it's possible that the person identified as Joanne wasn't really her and Joanne is still alive and posing as Ginny. That seems like a long shot though. But I still think they're both interrelated in some way, and I can't wait to find out how!

I love the way you've described Cress' feelings for Teddy in the beginning! It was so warm and cute and I melted inside. That plus all the angst about her losing her job and the whole dead end with Joanne's case made this such an emotion packed chapter!

I'm still a bit skeptical of Harry's behaviour though. It's just my opinion but it seems a bit out of character for him to be this way because family was always most important to him and neglecting James, shutting himself off, pretending he got Ginny back...it's all really extreme. Although, it is possible that the trauma did that to him. I'm on the fence about that though.

But other than that, I LOVED this chapter! And I'm still in suspense about Cress' father and how everything is tied up so please please update soon before my brain crumbles from thinking too much!

You're so fab.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Infinityx Conversations and Revelations

31st January 2015:
I'm finally here, I'm so so sorry! I'm reviewing on my phone so I apologise beforehand for any weird typos.

Aah, you've put up two new chapters! I can't believe I missed the update!

Ooh, some Teddy and Cress bonding! I really think they make such a cute couple! And they understand each other so well because of their similar familial situations. And she's finally looking for her father. This should be interesting.

Hmm, I wonder what happened between Teddy and Victoire. He still seems to be really hung up on her.
Aand my question is answered. It's not what I expected though. Vic seems really selfish and stubborn when it comes to understanding what Teddy's going through. It's weird though, considering her profession. I wonder if there's more to it...

Oh wow, they've finally figured out that connection between Ginny and Joanne. I have goosebumps. Could Joanne be the imposter? :o what on earth is happening here!? The suspense is eating me up!

And omg as if that wasn't enough, you go ahead and break another bombshell! Aenor Garrott, seriously? Is this why Ginny is against Cress? But didn't she get the vial in the first chapter from Aenor? Hmm... Maybe he betrayed her or something. But it's so serious that she had to have someone else pose as her, go missing for five years, and have hateful thoughts against Cress! I'm really boggled here.

You've developed such an intricate plot here, Ashwini, and I really don't have any guesses here. It's so confusing and so exciting and I'm just so intrigued by this that I really NEED to know the reason behind the whole scheme!

The only bit of CC I have is that there could be something that denotes a separation between the Teddy-Cress scene in the beginning and the Vic-Ali scene after it.

I loved this chapter and I most certainly did not expect two huge bombshells to be dropped here! I'm so glad the next chapter is up. I don't think I could bear the suspense for much longer!

 Report Review

Review #3, by mymischiefmanaged Picking Up The Pieces

27th January 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap (sorry about the delay - I only just saw your reply to my post).

I think I reviewed chapter one for a swap a while back. I'm glad to get back to this story.

I really like the way you've focussed on Teddy here. Cress was a lovely character in the first chapter but was obviously viewing the case from a distance. It's interesting to get a more personal take on the same story from Teddy.

The depiction of Teddy's childhood with the Potters is just lovely. Of course Harry would see it as his duty to protect Teddy from the things he went through. You've shown a lovely glimpse into Harry's life with Ginny and the kids, and it's very believable.

And then after having seen that, James having to live with his grandparents seems so much more terrible. It's a clear demonstration of just how much Harry is hurting that he's let this happen.

The story about Gabrielle is incredibly sad. I wonder whether she has relevance to the greater plot about Ginny? I feel like she must if you've made such a point of bringing her up here, and I look forward to finding out more.

This is a really good story. You've got the level of mystery just right and your characterisation so far has been really strong. It's an original idea and you've handled some difficult topics with a lot of tact.

The only thing I would say is that there are quite a few grammatical errors here that I noticed - it might be worth getting somebody to beta or doing some more proofreading before uploading? It's not a big deal but it's something worth thinking about because it breaks up the flow a bit. Apart from that this is a fantastic chapter though!

Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by TwilightPrincess A Case Worth Waiting For

11th January 2015:
Hi! Ilia here for our swap! Thanks for swapping!

This is definitely an interesting start to what seems like an intricately planned story. Your summary drew me in immediately. Also the Harry/Ginny situation seems interesting.

I love that you are taking this Post-Hogwarts world to a dark place. I like that Ginny is missing or presumed dead (not in a morbid way... in a writing way, I promise! =P) because it shows me as the reader that you have thought deeply about where you want this story to go and what you want it to be about, and that you're not afraid to take risks. I appreciate that from a writer. When a writer is not afraid to take risks, it means they trust the reader, which is great.

I like the character of Cress right now and it will be interesting to see where she goes. The bit at the end where she is interacting with her mother and sister is quite telling of her feeling jaded and misunderstood. That was a great scene. Even though it was rather short, it showed a lot about her character.

I think you did an excellent job of setting up the story. Where you ended it was very smart too: you told us that she is currently on her way to go speak with Teddy Lupin about what happened to Ginny, which is a great cliffhanger.

That scene at the beginning has me baffled but intrigued. I am very curious to see who that woman was and what she was doing and why she was doing it. You made it clear that it was a peculiar request and perhaps a dangerous one, so I assume it has quite a bit to do with the plot.

This is a great chapter! Good luck continuing the story. Thank you for the swap!

Ilia

Author's Response: Hello there! :)

This story does need to be planned very carefully! I always kind of have to make sure I'm not missing anything before I start writing a new chapter and I also need to write and rewrite again and again. But all these lovely reviews (just like yours!) are definitely worth doing it all. :)

Yeah, this is quite darker than the actual epilogue that we have at the end of the series. But the plot requires everything to be as dark as possible to make it all seem mysterious and intriguing I guess. It is indeed a risk, but I have received good feedback until now so I don't worry about this risk now. :)

You will be able to know more about Cress in the future I promise! I just didn't feel like revealing too much about her in the very first chapter that's all.

Thank you! As I said, I have spent quite a lot of time planning the plot and spreading the clues and cliffhangers throughout the chapters. So it makes me feel all happy to hear your compliments. That's just too sweet of you!

I'm so glad you liked the opening scene! I can't say much about it right now, but the request was indeed peculiar and is very important to the plot.

Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope you feel like coming back for more! We can even swap again. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #5, by ReeBee Pain and Soothing

9th January 2015:
here for our review swap again! And ASHWINI YES. THANK YOU. THEY KISED!! BEEN WAITING FOR EVER YAY.

*anyway*

umumumumumumumum so cute. I mean o. M. G. Like adorable. I love how passionate the moment is I mean :OOO seriously!!! No words. ASHWINI. No words. And how she can't help but notice his pshyique XD Like lolol XD and he's so comforting it's actually adorable. It kills!!! So cute.

Dude and your description is perfect. Like serious. I could almost feel the passion! And believe me I am in the opposite of a passionate environmen- so boring but AH. I could see the scene playing out. It was awesome

As for the mystery I really hope Joanne's murder has something to do with the imposter! I think it should and it would be awesome to see alison all happy that the murderer would be caught.

Anyway please please please update soon and pm me so we can swap like usual ;) hurry! Update! We're waiting expectantly XD

Ilys girl,
Curie

Author's Response: OMG YES THEY KISSED!! ISN'T THAT PERFECTLY AMAZING?? :D

I still cannot believe I made them kiss, really! I hadn't planned to let that happen until the last chapter actually, but Cress a LOT more sad about losing her job than I had thought she would be (it's weird how these characters act on their own!) and someone had to comfort her! But I'm glad you liked it and didn't think it was too soon or something like that. :D

I know they are way too cute! I don't really like that much fluff, but it was kind of important or the story would be too dark, right? This was for some romantic relief.

Thank you! I did try my best to make the scene as deep and passionate as I could. I still plan to edit it a little. :) But I'm happy you liked it anyways! It was really good to know. :D

I'm currently editing the previous chapters and I still don't have a chapter image for this one. But I've posted a request and once I'm done with the editing, I'll start writing the next chapter definitely. And of course we will swap!

Thank you for the lovely review and for the sweet status update! Love u!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #6, by The Otter Conversations and Revelations

9th January 2015:
This was a great twist! I was hoping to see more of Harry but Alison was pretty interesting too. I think that Joanne knew the identity of the mysterious "she" and that's why she got killed. But that's still a theory! I can't wait to know more. Will be back for the next chapter soon!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you thought the twist was great! As I have said before, Harry isn't the main focus in this story but I promise you will see more of him soon. :)
Thanks for the lovely review! Hope to hear from you again soon!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #7, by ReeBee Conversations and Revelations

9th January 2015:
OKOKOK. I MISSED THIS D: BUT IM BACK AND BEHIND ON A CHAPTER WHICH MAKES ME VERY HAPPY XD ANYWAY.

OMG. ASHWINI!!! Your ability to tie all the ends together astounds me!!! I'm going to deviate from my usual review structure because well, just because :P oh and i had to go back and read the ends of all the chapters and can i just say the beginning of chapter 6 and the end of chapter 5 gave me shivers! anyway.

I honestly don't know what to think of Victoire and Alison… Victoire seems to not have any major preformed judgements on Alison. And I am a teddy/vic shipper so I do like that she didnt move on that quickly but I also felt pretty cold towards her because CRESS/TEDDY. AND OMG. THAT SCENE WHERE THEY LOOK FOR CRESS' FATHER WAS AMAZING. I CAN IMAGINE THT HAPPENING AND I AM IN LOVE.

And like i said about loose ends, i love how Veronica mentions alison and her mystery before and now we know why. and that sounds horrible! 'how brutally they smashed her face in'! it sounds really really mysterious too. girl I'm so jealous at your ability to create that mysterious atmosphere. it is amazing. i am stunned.

and oh, father discoveries!!! i wonder what you're going to do with that! seriously… I'm so curious!! and the way the name was written at the end makes me feel like its so very important but i don't know why and i cant wait to know why!!

as for revelations or theories… i have one! maybe Joanne knew something related to like a plan that they were kidnapping Ginny so maybe they kidnapped her?? OR maybe they both found out something so maybe they killed Joanne but couldn't catch Ginny until later but when they do go to kill her maybe realize that theres something valuable that Ginny can provide- after all wife of harry potter, so they didnt kill her. but why keep her for so long…

anyway, some random stuff thats probably way off point but eh, felt like guessing :P anyway, ill get on to the next chapter soon! :D cant wait!

-Curie :)

Author's Response: CURIE!! I MISSED YOU AND THOSE PERFECT REVIEWS OF YOURS TOO!! Aah, I'm so glad you're back! :D

Yeah, it all gets a little confusing when you return to a story after a long time. I've been there too. But I'm just relieved and happy that you liked it still and mentioned it here!

That's like one of the best compliments I have received for this story so far! If a Teddy/Vic shipper likes Teddy/Cress and feels cold towards Victoire, I think I have done a decent job writing Teddy/Cress. I'm always nervous about this pairing as there aren't many Teddy/OC fics around that I have seen people actually liking. This made my day! Seriously!

Yeah, what happened to Joanne was pretty horrible. You will be a lot more sad when you discover more about it actually! The tying of loose ends that you mention is the hardest thing ever and I have to plan everything like crazy. But these reviews are literally worth doing it all. :) Thank you!

The name was kind of a clue which sounds like you missed. :P I won't say anything more than that or about your theories though! ;) I have to keep you in suspense!

Thanks for the amazing review, dear! You are the best!

Ashwini :D



 Report Review

Review #8, by BitterSweetFlames A Case Worth Waiting For

22nd November 2014:
Hi Ashwini! :) Carla (SkitsandBits on the forums) here for our review swap. :)

First off, that first scene! WOW, was it intriguing or what? Seriously, I enjoyed it (in a creepy way). But, really, it was shrouded in mystery and you just made me keep on writing and demanding an answer about what is happening! :O Also, your description was perfect. I could really imagine being there, seeing everything you describe. So well done!

When you jump to 5 years later and an introduction of a new character I think it was very well done. You managed to make us know who the character was AND introduce that something had happened to Ginny. Instead of making it seem hurried, the fact that you wrote it in such a way underscores the fact that even great mysteries have a mundane side to them. This fact actually makes it seem like a bigger deal. Because, you want to know what happened. You want things to start moving.

"But Cress was unaware of what destiny had planned." Okay, you've intrigued me. So now I have to go and read the rest of this lovely story. ;)

So, yes, off to read more. Thanks for the swap, dearie.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey there Carla! :D Nice to see you!

Aww, thank you so much! I wrote the first scene just to intrigue the readers and make the first chapter a little mysterious. This chapter was supposed to start from the part where Cress is waiting for Hermione, but the first scene was a last minute addition and seems like it worked out well. I've been receiving lovely feedback for it. So glad that you like it too. :)

I was a little afraid that the five years leap would turn out to be pretty boring, so it makes me feel good that you liked it and thought it was well written. I never give away much about my characters in the first chapter itself, but I have introduced more information about Cress's family life in the third chapter. :)

Haha, I know I do this all the time! Nearly all the chapters (okay, all the chapters) of this story have a cliffhanger like that in the end.

I do hope you continue reading this! I'll look forward to you. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! You literally made my day! Let me know if you want to swap again.

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #9, by wolfgirl17 A Case Worth Waiting For

18th November 2014:
Hi Ashwini,

This is a good first chapter. You've laid some foundations for the story really well.

I'm a little confused about why it's taken five years to have someone trying to find Ginny, and about where she's gone. You've definitely hooked me there.

You've got a few, I wouldn't call them typos, but a few mistakes based on words choice. Like when you write that you're hoping Harry and Hermione will be frank and honest with Cress you write:
"hope they will be open before her"

I think it would make more sense to write:

"Hope they will be open with her."

It just improves the flow a little bit. I'd like to see a little more characterization of Cress, as thus far we've got more on the case she's been given than who she is and why she became a detective. Hopefully that will come later.

Anyway, I'm definitely intrigued about where Ginny is and why she just bailed on them all. I can't ever imagine her actually leaving Harry willingly.

Keep up the good work!

xx-Wolfgirl

Author's Response: Hello! It was great to see you here! :)

I'm so glad you liked the first chapter! The first one is always the most important chapter of a mystery novel according to me. It has to be well written so that the reader would just have to come back to know more. I have tried my best to create as much suspense as I can, so it feels nice to read such lovely compliments. Thank you, really! :D

That's the point. The Aurors couldn't find any clue about Ginny in five years, and that's why the case has been transferred to the Detectives. It would have been transferred sooner if it was any ordinary case, but Harry, who is an auror along with Hermione, is very weird about Ginny's disappearance. I believe that he wanted to find his wife himself but then the others forced him to hand the case over to Cress after waiting for long five years. You'll find out more as the story proceeds!

Thanks for pointing that out! These things are quite difficult to pick out, especially to me. I'm not a native English speaker, so I often get confused with word usage. It's good that I have reviewers like you, isn't it? :)

More about Cress will be revealed in chapter three. I know I've given very scanty information about her in this chapter, but I wanted to create a mysterious aura around everything, even my protagonist. I hope it isn't too bad!

I can't say much about what happened to Ginny just right now. I hope you come back to know more!

Thanks for the wonderful review! You really made my day with it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #10, by Cannons A Case Worth Waiting For

28th October 2014:
Hi, I promised you a review so here I am!

Firstly can I just say that chapter image is amazing.

The first section was defiantly intriguing, a dodgy deal in the moonlight. Immediately I am wondering who this woman is and what the substance is, so you did a good job of pulling me in at the start which is hard to do sometimes.

The second part was well written as well and I am wondering if it was Ginny that made the deal in the middle of the night? If I was in charge of the case I would be heading down to the manor and reminding the rusty gates what there job is!

I am unsure about Cress as a character at the moment, it is way to early to tell. She seems professional and excited to be in charge of the case. Also she believes the case wasn't a hard one? It hasn't been solved for five years and she thinks that she can solve it quickly. HMMM.

Anyway you really, seriously, pulled me in to the story! There are so many unanswered questions which I can't wait to find the answers too.

THANKS FOR AN AWESOME FIRST CHAPTER!

Author's Response: Hi there! :)

I know you may think I'm a terrible person and I might be one, but I really don't remember you promising me a review. :( Did we decide to swap? If we did so, or if I've forgotten to leave you a review or something please please let me know!

Yeah, pulling the reader in instantly is quite a challenge. Especially when you write a mystery. I had to think a lot about how to do it before I came up with the idea of that deal. I'm happy you liked it! :)

I won't reveal much right now, but there will be more snippets from that woman's PoV in the story.

More about Cress will be revealed in chapter 3. I know it's too early for you to say anything, but be sure that she's a nice person and there's a story behind her distant behavior. :)

Haha, I'm glad you think this is intriguing and I hope you decide to come back for more!

Thanks for the lovely review and please let me know about the review! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #11, by AdinaPuff Picking Up The Pieces

25th October 2014:
Hi, here for our review swap!

This was incredibly intriguing. Adding Teddy into the mix was somewhat unexpected, in my opinion. How old is he in this? His reflection on his life so far was somewhat sad, but at the same time happy. Him being so close to James, and Harry and Ginny giving him light in his life. It's a bittersweet story of his.

Now Gabrielle is a very interesting factor in this. I wonder if whoever took Ginny had anything to do with Gabrielle's sudden mental illness. It's very sad, though. I wanted to cry. She's a very interesting character in this though, and I'm sure we'll hear more about her in the future.

I wonder who is at the door? It could be the detective, but it may not be. I just want to know all the answers. Such an interesting mystery. Very well written. I love it so much!

Can't wait to read more :)

-Leigh

Author's Response: Great to see you back, Leigh! :)

I'll be sure to add a line informing you about Teddy's age next time I edit this. A lot of reviewers asked me this question. Teddy is 23 here. :)

Adding Teddy to the story was somewhat inevitable for me. I always imagined him being like his father and loving Harry and his family by heart... So I just HAD to write a chapter about his feelings only. Also, someone close to Ginny should help Cress, right?

More about Gabrielle will be reveal in the coming chapters. I loved to know what you think about her though!

No, it's just Cress at the door! ;)

I'm extremely happy that you liked this! I really hope you continue! I'd be happy to do more swaps with you too. Just let me know if you are interested! :)

Thanks for another amazing review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #12, by AdinaPuff A Case Worth Waiting For

24th October 2014:
Hi! I just want to apologize for the wait on this review--life abruptly got in the way. :)

You are amazing at writing mysteries. You had me hooked immediately. I was asking so many questions. Who were these people? What are they trading? Why enough for two people? So many questions bouncing in my mind. Great job with the suspense.

And then jumping to Cress. It immediately makes me assume that it was Cress who set this up, though I could be wrong. It's too early to tell. You wrote Hermione well, just to add a little compliment. :)

Thanks for the swap, sorry again for the wait.

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hi there! Late reviews are no problem to me. I'm really bad at leaving reviews on time too! :P I'm just happy to DID leave a review. :)

Aww, thanks! Probably that's because I've spent my entire childhood and almost teenage reading mystery stories. This was my first attempt at writing one. You will definitely know more about the hooded woman and Aenor as you read on. But beware! This wasn't the only cliffhanger! ;)

Yeah, I haven't given much away about Cress yet. You will get to know her better in chapter 3 and 4 and also through the rest of the chapters. I'm glad you liked my Hermione! I love her and know her by heart I think!

Thanks for the lovely review! I totally appreciate it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #13, by Veritaserum27 Conversations and Revelations

23rd October 2014:
Hi there Ashwini!

I'm here for our review swap. Ok. How did I miss this? Awesome chapter, by the way. So much is falling into place. I knew there was some sort of a connection between Alison's sister and Ginny. I also feel like Gabrielle Delcour is in the mix somehow, but I can't quite work out how they all fit together. Hmmm...

I'm totally shipping Teddy and Cress right now and that is a really big deal for me because I usually like to follow canon relationships! But I feel like those two really understand each other. I don't think victoire is completely awful, but she seems a bit wrapped up in herself and lacks a certain amount of empathy.

I'm also trying to wrap my head around the complicated relationship between Cress and her mother and sister. If Cress's mother really is pushing Cress away because her father is Aenor Garrett, then that is just awful. She shouldn't have to pay for his wrongdoings.

I found a typo here:

She had never accepted how much she wanted to find out about her father to anyone before.

I think you mean "admitted" not "accepted."

Also, I think you missed a break (horizontal line) right where the scene with Victoire and Alison starts.

Things are building up and I really hope you continue this story. I want to know about Ginny and Teddy and Cress's father and Joanne! Write more, please!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth! It was absolutely lovely to see you back again! :)

Haha, I know it's sort of obvious that Ginny and Alison's sister have some kind of connection. But I thought the story already has enough twists and cliffhangers. :P Anyways, I won't say much about anything just yet or I'll surely end up spilling beans. I loved to know what your theories are though!

I like to follow canon relationships too! This is probably the first time I'm writing a pairing that isn't canon and I wasn't entirely sure about it at first. But now I think Teddy and Cress sort of fit with each other. I'm so glad I gave the pairing a go now that the readers are liking them together too! :D

Victoire is like so many beautiful girls around us. Girls blessed with good looks are mostly full of themselves. Anyways I don't think Victoire would ever be able to help Teddy through a difficult situation because she's never been into one herself. Teddy and Cress will help each other, it won't be any one's responsibility.

I think you really missed a clue here. I'd suggest you go back and read the "five years ago" part from the first chapter. ;) If you do find the clue, please let me know!!

Oh, I never noticed that one! Thanks for pointing it out. :)

I'll try my best to update as soon as I can, though I'm not sure if NaNo will let me breathe. Thanks for the wonderful review as always Beth! You're too sweet!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #14, by Midnight spark Conversations and Revelations

26th September 2014:
I see what you are trying to do Ashwini! You are trying to just make me go so mad that I can't sleep tonight!

There's this chant going around my head; I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT, I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT.

Author's Response: See? I told you I can't resist cliffhangers! :P Don't worry yourself though, I WILL be posting the next chapter ASAP. I just got some exams coming on 10th October... I have diwali vacations right after them so maybe I will write a couple of chapters during them. :)

Thanks for the wonderful review! I hope you come back for more!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #15, by Midnight spark So She Is Back

26th September 2014:
I just had to come back and read this!

WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME???

GINNY CAN'T KILL CRESS!! WHAT A TWIST!!

Lovely chapter dear!

Author's Response: Hi again!! I'm so glad you came back for more!!

I know I can't resist putting a cliffhanger at the end... You'll just have to get used to that. ;) Because your desperation to know more keeps me inspired and is usually the muse for my next update to this story. :)

Not a bad guess, but let's keep in mind that I haven't officially declared that the mysterious woman is Ginny.

Thank you so much!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #16, by Midnight spark More Than a Clue

26th September 2014:
ASHWINI!! I'M FINALLY HERE!

MY DEAREST GIRL THIS CHAPTER LITERALLY MADE ME BIT MY NAILS (AND I HATE DOING THAT)!

I just have to get over the fact that Albus Potter is not born yet. :(

They found Ginny??? God, what a cruel cliffhanger you have here!

When Teddy says those emotional words... Merlin, I'm crying.

I have no idea how to review such a great chapter, this story is going to be great!

Sana

Author's Response: HELLO SANA!! I'm so glad you're here!! :D

Haha, I'm so so happy that you found my story so interesting that I can't put it into words! Just let me say that your reviews were the sweetest surprise I've got for a long time. :)

Albus Potter isn't born yet, and I'm not gonna tell you when he will be or whether he will be born during the story... But you're the first person who asked about him! ;)

Well, I'd say 'she turned up' instead of 'they found her'!

Thank you so much for the lovelies you left for me!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #17, by mymischiefmanaged A Case Worth Waiting For

19th September 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our swap :)

Okay, first off, your summary is FANTASTIC. I can't believe I've not come across this story before! As soon as I read the summary I knew I'd love it so congrats for getting that spot on.

The opening is fab - just the right balance of mysterious and descriptive. I WANT TO KNOW WHO THE WOMAN IS!! And I bet you won't reveal it for ages.

More importantly, what's the invention? I feel it can't be anything good if it has to be procured in such strange circumstances. Ohhh I like the mystery and it works really well but I so badly want to know all the answers already.

Is Cress Jones a relation of Hestia's? I hope so. I'm unsure about her as a character. I liked her at the start of the chapter but she seems a bit too distant. I understood her telling Hermione she needed the details to understand the case, but she seems to have a very detached attitude to her work which is a bit strange. I don't know. It just felt like she didn't care much about the people she was considering, which is an aspect of her character I'm a bit mistrustful of.

Hermione was lovely. It must be awful of her to have lost Ginny.

And WHERE IS GINNY? She's been missing for FIVE YEARS?!? That whole description of the photograph of Ginny and Harry was beautiful, and you've really added to the mystery of Ginny's disappearance. Of course she wouldn't just walk out on somebody she loved so much.

I'm intrigued by why the case is being worked on five years later though. Has it been reopened? Or have they never stopped investigating it? I guess we'll find out. You've raised so many questions here.

Finally, it was great seeing that snapshot of Cress's home life. Her mother definitely doesn't seem to understand her job, but I can see why she worries.

This was a brilliant first chapter. Thanks so much for the swap! Feel free to PM me if you ever want to swap again :)

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hello Emma! :D

Thanks! I literally spent my whole weekend to come up with just the right summary. So it makes me feel fantastic to hear that you liked it. I think banner, summary and title are too important so I always want to have them right. :)

Well... Don't throw stuff at me... But the identity of the woman will be revealed in the last few chapters of the story. :P Unless you guess it right of course! There will be more parts from the woman's pov so that you can be curious and come up with theories. :)

Wow, I just realized about Hestia Jones! :P I haven't really planned anything about Cress being her relative, but I like the idea. :) In my mind, Cress is not related to any canon character. And yeah, she is a bit indifferent because this is just another case for her. That's what she does every day. But she is going to be more involved in Ginny's story, I promise!

It looks like you really ARE intrigued about the whereabouts of Ginny! ;) You'll have to read on to know what happens to her! The updates are usually slow, but I'm pretty determined to finish this story. :)

The Aurors couldn't find a single clue about Ginny's disappearance. But as soon as Cress takes the case in her hands, something MAJOR happens coincidentally and that is the biggest clue ever. Keep reading to find out what that is! And Cress's family life will be explained in detail soon too. :)

Thanks for the fantastic review! You really made my day with it! I loved your story too so I'd like to have another review swap. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #18, by Midnight spark Picking Up The Pieces

13th September 2014:
YAY IT'S TEDDY!!! I just love Teddy, so I'm having a bit of a fangirl moment in here, you know, the profusely blushing and jumping up and down.

Right. Ahem.

God, this is such an emotional chapter. My throat is all thick and all you know.

I love the display of Teddy's affection for Ginny, Harry and for James (god, JAMES: Cue another fangirl moment).

And HOW DARE DID VICTOIRE BREAK UP WITH HIM?

I AM IN LOVE WITH YOUR WRITING!!
~Sana

Author's Response: Haha, I love Teddy too!! That's partly why I chose to have him in the story. He seems like such an adorable character even though we don't know much about him from the books, doesn't he? I'm very happy that you like him. I really hope to make him as happy as possible without changing some of the plot!:(

Yeah, this chapter was pretty emotional when you compare it to the first one. Cress didn't know much about the case so it was like just another mystery to solve for her. But this chapter is to let you know how much this is important for Teddy as well as Harry and James.

Thanks for the compliments and the wonderful review! You're too sweet! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #19, by patronus_charm A Case Worth Waiting For

13th September 2014:
Hey Ashwini!

Oooh I loved the first section as it was so full of mystery and darkness and exciting things it really tied into the title and set the story up so well! This is a really random note but I loved your choice of names, because they seemed to have a spooky element about them which just added so much to the story. The people in it seemed to be such a motley crew of them I wonder how they’re all connected together.

One thing to be careful is your dialogue punctuation as I noticed several instances where it was off such as here ‘“Enough for two, if you please,” it was almost an order.’ And here ‘“Sure, madam.” He muttered under his breath. He was very suspicious.’ With the first, it was almost an order isn’t a dialogue tag, so the speech should be followed by a full stop and it should be capitalised. For the second, it is a dialogue tag, so there needs to be a comma after madam and he should be lowercase. I’m sorry I haven’t explained it very well but there are some great tutorials on the forums which should make it clearer!

Cress seems cool! I really liked her character as she seemed really intriguing and someone I could easily get along with. Her interaction with Hermione was especially interesting as it was strange to see that Cress was the one giving the help as you would expect it to be the other way round. I can’t help but wonder what on earth has happened to Ginny though and whether that’s connected to the first section or not.

Oooh wait a sec it does seem as if it’s connected which makes it even more exciting. I really liked the omniscient voice at the end of it though with the way destiny has planned out everything for her as I can’t wait to see what on earth destiny has in store for her!

Great chapter!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello Kiana! It was great to see you! :)

The first section was just to make the beginning a little dark and interesting. I'm so glad you thought it worked! Haha and I won't deny that I chose the names on purpose! :P I wanted the names to have a mysterious kind of aura around them, and Aenor sounds like such an interesting name!

Thanks for pointing that out! English is not my native language, so sometimes it's a little hard to be accurate about the grammar and punctuation. I think I'm lucky you people are around to help me! :D

Cress is one of my most favorite OCs. :) She's inspired from various detectives I've read about so maybe she sounds like a nice combination of all of them. :)

Hermione was very close to Ginny and as we have seen in the books, that girl can be extremely emotional at times. She is tired of worrying about Ginny and it's like they are just searching and searching but nothing happens. That's why Cress had to comfort her, I think.

Yes, the first section is definitely linked to Ginny and her disappearance! Destiny has quite a plan on her mind... I hope you'll want to come back for more!

Thanks for the lovely review! I really appreciate it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #20, by Midnight spark A Case Worth Waiting For

11th September 2014:
Hey Ashwini! Here for our review swap!

First: Sorry it took so long!

Now on to your story! I loved the beginning. It had this air of mystery which made the reader want to read on and on. I really loved that about this story. And how you suddenly changed the scene- very well done! I love Cress' personality! Reminds me a bit of myself, I can say!

Beautiful chapter! I hope you liked 'Reincarnation'.

Thanks for the swap
Sanaa

Author's Response: Hello Sanaa! :D

I'm so glad you liked the beginning! I haven't spoiled much of the plot here as it's just the first chapter, but more will be revealed in the next one. :)

Thanks for the compliments and the adorable review! IT was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #21, by milominderbinder A Case Worth Waiting For

8th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our review swap!

Wow, this was SUCH an interesting start to this story! So much seemed to happen in these three scenes, but you wrote it really well so it wasn't overwhelming at all - it was as if three totally separate facets of the story were all portrayed here, if that makes sense, which means that we already have a rounded and relatable impression of Cress, as we've seen her in different settings. That's a really nice way to start a story.

Of course, though it seemed like there was a lot happening here, so much of it is still mysterious!! I was so shocked when you revealed it was Ginny who had gone missing - I assumed Hermione's 'best friend and family member' would be an OC, but this is so much more interesting. You really did an amazing job of creating suspense and intrigue by introducing the fact that it's Ginny who's missing, but then not going into much detail about it, so the whole thing is so mysterious!

I really like Cress. For starters, her name is great XD Also she already seems like a great character - she feels relatable, and something about her seems very practical and down-to-earth which is always a great aspect of a character and can make it seem much more realistic. I like how she made Hermione open up about Ginny, she is clearly good at her job and she knows what will help her on the case.

The very first scene was even more mysterious than the rest of it, of course, and I think that worked really well to add to the mystery of it all. I really want to know if that mysterious woman had something to do with Ginny's disappearance - I'm assuming she did!

Overall this was a super interesting first chapter, well done! I hope you like 'bloom' as much as I liked this! :D

~Maia

Author's Response: Hey, Maia! :D

I'm so happy you thought this was an intriguing start! I've read tons of mysteries since childhood, so I kind of knew that the first chapter has to have enough to intrigue the reader but not too much so that the mystery gets spoiled. I tried to do the same with this story and I feel like it's worked. Thanks! :)

Haha, yes, it's Ginny who is missing! ;) The second chapter explains much more about when and how she exactly went missing. It's from Teddy's pov who will be Cress's partner in investigation.

Cress is my favorite OC too! She's inspired from Nancy Drew, as Nancy's the best female detective I've read about. :D

The first scene is written to a mysterious aura to the whole story. The story is peppered with more of such scenes in italics from the pov of this mysterious woman.

Thanks for the wonderful review! I really enjoyed reading 'bloom' and it was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #22, by Unicorn_Charm A Case Worth Waiting For

4th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our swap! :)

Ooh I really liked the beginning of this! It was really creepy and definitely brought me in right away. What did the mysterious woman buy? And who was she? Lots of questions with this first chapter. I will most certainly have to read on to find out!

I think it's really interesting that you have Detectives who work separately from the Aurors. That is such an different concept. I like it!

I feel like it was really in Hermione's character to try to remain private and professional even with this case being so close and personal to her. It was good to see her actually break down and behave like a normal woman who had lost her best friend.

Cress must be the best of the best if she had been handed the case of a missing Ginny Potter. And speaking of Ginny, where is she?! I'm assuming it has something to do with the hooded woman in the beginning of the story. The big questions are: Was the Ginny? Or was does the woman have something to do with Ginny's disappearance?

This was a good opening chapter. It gave enough information to really understand what was going on, and it raised enough questions to have you needing to read more. I enjoyed this quite a bit! :) I will have to come back and continue reading.

Well done on this! Thanks for doing the swap!! XD

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hello Meg! :D

I'm so glad you found the beginning intriguing! The novel is peppered with such parts in italics from the pov of the mysterious 'woman' to keep you wondering who she is. :)

Well, sometimes I just don't get how Aurors could do all the work. Looking for the criminal, the clues, solving murder and missing cases along with fighting the dark arts? That sounds impossible. That's why I imagined a secret department of the Detectives which very few people know of. :)

Cress is the Head Detective. SO she has to be the best. :D She is going to do her best to find out what happened to Ginny. You must keep reading to know the answers of all the questions bothering you!

Thanks for the compliments and the lovely review! You made my day! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #23, by Infinityx The Case Complicates

10th August 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our swap!

Poor Harry! I love how you've taken the time to focus on his thoughts and his feelings for Ginny. The way the imposter behaves is just sickening, and I really hope Harry decides to tell the others soon. I always felt that he loved Ginny to the extent that he would never stop looking for her. And even if he did get her (or someone who looked like her) back, and had some doubts, he would keep searching because like you described, she's "his" Ginny. And this imposter isn't his Ginny. But then again, for someone like that to be content with even an imposter...well, that just shows how messed up he really is with the whole situation. I feel like just hugging him and telling him not to give up because his Ginny is still out there. I don't know whether to feel frustrated that he's this way, or sad. Gah, you just give me so many feels!

I don't even know how to respond to Teddy's reaction when they reach the Weasleys'. I get how he feels though, to be starved of love and that familial comfort. First his own parents, then Ginny and Harry. What more can the poor guy go through? Why do you do this, Ashwini? :(

Whoa, Alison. OK, this is just getting more and more intriguing and complex. I hope a few things get revealed soon! I have no theories about this at all at the moment!

So, the "She" is the Ginny imposter and she's going to meet Ginny. (I think I'm right) If so, why is Ginny associating herself with someone like that?! From the earlier of description of how fake Ginny behaved, she doesn't seem like someone Ginny could be friends with or even get along with. What on earth is happening here? :o

Update soon! (once the queue opens, of course) And do let me know when you do! This was another great chapter but it was too short because I just keep wanting more!

~Erin

Author's Response: Hi Erin! Sorry it took so long to me to respond to this amazing review... But I'm quite busy with college at the moment and I'm hardly ever active for more than fifteen minutes over at the forums. :( Hope you understand! :)

Thanks! I intended to write this part since like the third chapter, but I kept postponing it because it seemed so tricky... But I'm glad I did, as I'm getting really nice feedback about that part. :)

I know! I feel bad for that poor guy too! :( I will do my best to give him happiness in the story though I can't promise anything. ;)

Alison is going to reveal some shocking information in the eighth or ninth chapter so stay tuned! There will be a major clue revealed. :D

Theories! :D Though I love them a lot, I won't say much right now. :)

I will definitely post the next chapter in queue by Monday. I'm planning to devote my weekend to the next chapter. The first few paragraphs are already done. Stay tuned!

Thanks for the awesome review Erin!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #24, by Meleessuhh A Case Worth Waiting For

8th August 2014:
Hello there! This is Melissa for our review swap :)

First of all you have a beautiful introduction; the way your words flow is flawless, and I am very jealous haha. I like the opening scene very much because it is not clear what the mystery potion is. I thought it could've been Veritaserum because of the color, but I'm pretty sure I'm wrong.

I like your description of Hermione. She's a little older, mature and confident but still human. I like your OC as well and her interaction with her mother, she's very likable and I'm excited to see her develop.

The biggest mystery is, why would Ginny leave? It sounds like she's hiding a big secret, and after the first chapter I really want to know the truth! Haha. Really good read, amazing job :)

-Melissa

Author's Response: Hi there Melissa! It was really fun swapping with you! :D

Thanks! I used to be really bad at description stuff, but then I put on a little hard work on it and now it feels lovely when I get such compliments. :) Don't be jealous! Anyone can do it. :)

I absolutely love to hear theories! Veritaserum was a nice guess, by the way. ;) But I can't say much about that right now as I don't want to spoil the mystery.

I'm so glad you liked both of them! Hermione is my most favorite character from the series and Cress is the best OC I've written about too.

Keep reading to know more! You have six more chapters to go. :D

Thanks for the lovely review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #25, by ReeBee The Case Complicates

21st June 2014:
Another creepily awesome chapter! :D Dude, it is so not fair how amazingly you write these things! Every single one is so consistent in how awesome it is! :D

Characterisation: I loved the insight into Harry's mind! And it makes such perfect sense. It's really beautiful; that he can see that something isn't right, but he doesn't want to admit because he's glad that his 'wife' is back. And I can almost imagine that scene and Harry's thought were so gorgeously portrayed and eurgh. You make my feelings go through hell. Honestly :P Like gah. And I cant wait to see more Teddy/Cress action though I'm pretty sure you're taking the romance slow? :) just more more more, of this story and all my wishes will be fulfilled!

Description: gorgeous as usual! Like I said previously, that one scene with Harry is just so beautiful! I can imagine it! And I just cant, k? You give me too much Harry/Ginny feels. Honestly. Not fair :P

Plot: Dude the secrets to your brain should be like broadcasted to the whole hpff network! Its so creative! like everything is stunning! And Im still like this :O At the plot and the complexity and the character development and just everything! AND THE END! WHAT WAS THAT! PERFECTION IS THE RIGHT ANSWER. Not fair, hon! Its too mysterious! Like honestly, who was that?! Omg! You'll just have to write more so I don't like die from TTD deprivation. Honestly ;)

Kk, bye bye now! And girl, keep informing me of your updates! :D

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Another lovely and totally awesome review from Curie!! :D

Aww, I'm so sorry for constantly planting cliffhangers around the story! I just can't resist them. ;)

Writing Harry is never easy, even after reading seven books and hundred fanfictions about him. I'm so glad you liked him here! Probably that's why I was avoiding Harry for the previous five chapters. But I couldn't keep him away anymore. :P

Yes, I'm taking Teddy/Cress romance a little slow. Teddy is still busy with the case and he hasn't moved on yet. He still feels something for Victoire. But I'll try not to make it boring!

Oh, thank you so much! That scene is my favorite too. It turned out to be even better than I wanted it to be. :)

Hahaha, you will never find the way to my brain unless I let you in! ;) Just keep checking for my PMs asking you for another review swap. :P

I think some updates will help heal your TTD deprivation? If so, I'll storm off to write the next chapter! :D

Thanks for the lovely lovely lovely review! Love you, girl!!

Ashwini


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>