Reading Reviews for Through The Darkest
123 Reviews Found

Review #1, by princesslily_36 The Unexpected Guest

17th July 2016:
Hey Ashwini,

I'm just dropping in to tell you that I haven't forgotten about our review swap, but I'm really caught up with all the packing and moving!

Just wanted to drop a line that this has by far been my most favorite chapter in the series. I will be back with a lengthier review from my laptop but I'm not able to type with my phone properly.

Loads of Love

Author's Response: Hi Ysh! I hope moving is not too hectic and wish you good luck for everything! :D

I just edited this chapter and caught a lot of grammar mistakes, typos and other stuff like that. I think that's why you said this was your favourite chapter so far. :) It's a compliment actually, because it means my writing has improved. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by princesslily_36 So She Is Back

24th June 2016:
Hey Ashwini...

I was out of town myself, and then my laptop broke. A whole story. I miss the forums myself. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Madurai. Wish we could talk on twitter, if you're there, find me as PrincessYsh.

So I did read this chapter on my journey and had taken notes on my cell phone.

While I did love this chapter, I do feel that your descriptions tends to fall flat at certain places. I mean, it's well done, and I get what you're trying to say, but I feel there's a little scope for improvement there. A few redundancies, and a lot of things are stated unnecessarily: For instance, when you introduced Bill - the part about him being a curse breaker could have been an internal monologue or not done at all. It broke the flow, a bit. Apart from that I honestly have nothing to CC about here.

I like how you constantly keep drawing parallels between Cress' family and the Potter-Weasley clan - her wistfulness and the drastic contrast explains a lot about her.

Haha, Ron still hates Corner! I like that detail you incorporated!

Ooh, don't worry about thelast part. It comes across quite well. Not as chilling as chapter 1 though. It was really good, and OMG I thought that potion lady was Ginny, now I'm not so sure!

Can't wait for the next chapter! Great Job Ashwini!


Author's Response: Hi Ysh! It's too bad that your laptop broke. Is it fixed now? I hope it is! Madurai was amazing. Such a lovely place to visit. :D Thanks for asking!

Well, I must frankly admit that chapter four and five of this story is not my best work! :P I'm not saying that your review implied this though. I was reading through the story early this month and I realised that these two chapters fall flat a little bit. I still have to find the time to edit them. But I'm planning to work on them as soon as I have time. :)

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story! :D Thank you so much for the lovely reviews!


PS- I do have a twitter account but I haven't used that in ages. Maybe I'll log in some time this week and look for you there. :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by princesslily_36 More Than a Clue

6th June 2016:

I typed this review out yesterday, since I had some time but got so distracted without posting it. I hope we can connect on twitter or something too :( Feels lost without the forums :( (I just got my admit btw)

Oohh.. I LOVE Teddy Lupin, and he's such a dear! (half werewolf, metamorphmagus, part Black, Hufflepuff - what's not to love!!)

I loved the way you metaphorically compared Ginny to the light that was missing in the house, and the way Teddy just looked up and said he should have just opened the curtains. That scene just tugged at me.

The interrogation was a good way to cover what all had been happening so far... sometimes with narration alone it could get boring so I like that you added in this scene :)

Although here, Cress came off as unprepared - forgetting they were talking about Ginny Weasley, and not reading that letter that Hermione had given. I suppose it is all her nervousness at being asked to handle something so big?

OMG A Cliffhanger!! I'm going right over to the next chapter :D

Regarding your descriptions - they're really good when it comes to the comparisions you make and the words you use, I did find a few tense mix ups ('can' where it should be 'could') but nothing a re-read wouldn't be able to spot :)

Over to the next one now!


Author's Response: Ysh! You got your admit! Is it about the further studies you wanted to do abroad? That's huge! :D

There is no person who cannot love Teddy Lupin! Aah, that boy! ;) Don't we all dream of dating or even knowing someone so cool? You know all the reasons...!

Aww, thank you so much! I love reading your reviews because they seem so honest. No fake praising and you can always point out flaws in a good way. :) I would look for typos and try to fix everything. :) Thanks!

Yeah I'm sort of addicted to cliffhangers :P I'm so sorry! But that's what makes TTD more exciting don't you think so? ;)

On to responding the next review! Thanks! I love you so much!


 Report Review

Review #4, by princesslily_36 Picking Up The Pieces

22nd May 2016:
Back for Chapter 2

Oohh Teddy Lupin - My favorite Next-Gen character (who wouldn't love a part-wereworlf, part-black, part-tonks metamorphmagus Hufflepuff Head Boy possible-quidditch-player?) Oh well, I digress.

I love how you've brought out that Teddy and Harry were close, and how Teddy understood Harry - seeing that both of them lost their parents while very young. I love how you told the story so far.

Ahh there's the explaination to the Head auror question in the previous chapter. Never mind now :)

Oh no, it breaks my heart to see James Sirius Potter all sad. TBH I didn't picture him to be that way. Wait. A thought strikes me. If James is 10, and heading off to Hogwarts in a year, it means Cress is going to find Ginny before that happens. If you're regarding the epilogue, isn't it?

I like the insight into Teddy Lupin. There are striking similarities into Remus' personality - the self-doubt, the situation induced melancholy, the pragmatism mixed with strength of character - it's all really well done.

It is the medico in me talking - you kinda can't die from mental illness. You are driven to suicide or unintentional drug overdose due to certain mental health issues, but you can't die because of the condition per say. Sorry about being super nit-picky, but I've worked in psychiatry and I'm just a nerd like that. Ooh unless she was cursed! That would explain a lot!

Oohh more intrigue! And YAY for Teddy as the main Character. I LOVE TEDDY LUPIN (which I'm sure going to say a lot in the forthcoming chapters!)

Another lovely chapter from you, Ashwini!

Moving on to the next!

Author's Response: I LOVE TEDDY LUPIN TOO. Seriously who wouldn't love that guy? And you explained all the reasons in a brilliant way. ;)

Well, I'm not entirely sure if I will be able to go completely canon with the story. Since Ginny has been missing for five years, Albus wasn't born and the question of whether she will ever return or if she will be in a good condition when she does is still unanswered (for you I mean!). So I can't promise to be canon compliant!

Yeah, I wanted Teddy to be a lot more like Remus. :) In most of the stories that I need, Teddy is portrayed like Tonks- cool and quirky- but in my head he is just like his father. I'm glad you liked that bit!

No, that wasn't nitpicky at all! :) I can understand why this bothers you, but Teddy does not have any medical knowledge so he assumes like most of the people do that she died of mental illness. The details about how Gabrielle died will be revealed in the future chapters. :)

Thank you so much for the reviews! :D Keep the loveliness coming!


 Report Review

Review #5, by princesslily_36 A Case Worth Waiting For

22nd May 2016:
Hello Ashwini!

I am so so so sorry this took so long to come to.

Your summary and chapter image have already drawn me to the story :D Also, I review as I read, so that could explain sudden jumps :P

Whoo.. the opening paragraph was just so.. intriguing, and the picture it painted, so chilling. Your descriptions are amazing - choice of words are just so exact and precise that you tell it so well with just a few words.

So at first I thought the woman was the OC, but now I'm wondering if it was Ginny.

It usually takes me a chapter or two to get warmed up to OCs but I already like the feel of Cress. Again, I believe I have your descriptions to credit for that. It is so easy to picture her both physically as well as get the idea of who she is.

Oohh Hermione becomes Head Auror.. is that because Harry steps down after his wife disappears? Or is this your headcanon for Hermione?

PS: Just being a little nitpicky - but Hermione the eternal feminist chose to call herself Granger-Weasley :), and not just Weasley after marriage!

While Cress was being so confident while talking to Hermione, it was a really nice touch to show her nervousness at the prospect of talking to Harry. It makes her seem all the more real. I like the character you've made her out to be.

Ohhh her issues on the family front. Wonder what's going to happen next :)

Going on to the next chapter now!


Author's Response: Ysh! *hugs* It's so great to see you here! :D

Thank you! The forest and the manor and everything in the first scene was inspired from a really chilling painting I saw in an art gallery in Chicago a couple of years ago. I guess having the clear image in my mind must have helped me a lot with writing the descriptions...! I used to struggle a lot with this so I'm extremely happy to know that you liked my descriptions so much! :D

Keep guessing about who the woman was! It's awesome to hear about readers' theories. :)

Why Hermione is the Head Auror is explained later in the story... I believe it's in the very next chapter.

How did I miss that! You're totally right. Hermione should be refered to as Mrs Granger-Weasley. Thanks for pointing that out! :D

I'm glad you like Cress! I didn't want her to be a mere detective but a fully developed character who is extremely important for the plot. I added some family problems to make her seem more human and her issues are complexly tangled in Ginny's case. You'll find out more about her connection in the further chapters. :)

Such a lovely review! Thank you so much! You totally made my day! I hope to be able to read and respond to your other review as soon as I can. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by The Otter A Day Spent Well

5th May 2016:
This chapter was so cool!! Literally packed with new information and lots of revelations! Aenor!! Eep!! Please update soon :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for keeping up with my story for so long! This really means a lot! I'm glad you liked it. :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella Hunter A Case Worth Waiting For

21st April 2016:

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for the lovely review you left me for Sanctuary. It was so nice to see after a rough day!

So, I'm immediately curious about this. I think that your summary has got my mind going in all sorts of directions and I'm not sure where this story i going to go. I love that though because I sense that there are going to be a lot of twists and turns as we go on, judging from the first half.

I wonder what Ginny is up to and why she left? Has she gotten involved with the wrong people? I'm really curious about this because her running away like this seems so out of character. I suspect darker things at work here and I'm really eager to find out what's going on, if there was a person or situation that snatched her away. :3

I think you did a good introduction for your main character too. I feel like Cress is a determined sort of person and can see through a lot but at the same time, I wonder how she got involved with the case and what she's already solved. Does she have a good reputation? I do wonder about that and on a different note, I think it's really interesting that you have Hermione being a focal point in this first chapter.

I was for sure that you were going to have Cress talking to Harry first. Hmmm. I'm curious to see how their meeting will go now!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,


Author's Response: Hello Gabbie! Thanks for stopping by! I really loved Sanctuary and it makes me smile to know that I managed to make you feel good with that little review. :)

I'm so glad you found the summary intriguing! I was getting worried a few days ago that maybe it wasn't captivating enough so it's good to know that it made you curious about the plot!

That's the mystery! I hope you decide to come back to find out all the answers. :D

Cress is currently the favourite character I am writing. Her responsible nature and how she keeps her emotional side hidden from everyone is what I love the most to write about, I'm happy you liked her too!

Teddy is the other protagonist of the story and future romantic interest of Cress. :) Also in this story, Harry is in denial and emotionally shattered after Ginny left so I couldn't make Cress meet him first.

Thanks a lot for leaving the review! It really made my day!

Ashwini :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by StarFeather More Than a Clue

20th April 2016:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap!

'She couldn’t believe Harry Potter; someone she had admired from her childhood lived in such a gloomy house. She had always imagined him as a bright and cheerful man, judging from the things she heard from Ministry seniors and some of their common friends.'
- I have a soft spot for Harry. I'm glad you described him as a bright and cheerful man. I hope he'll be back soon to real Harry as you described above^.

Talking of your plot about Ginny, it's quite understandable. She suffered Voldemort's curse in the past, she is likely to be involved with the dark world. Not a few authors write happy ever after stories, but yours is new at the point, the dark side of Ginny.

"“No, I don’t.” he shrugged and his face fell. “We’ve been trying to figure out whose handwriting it might be; me and Uncle Harry. But we had never seen it before. We don’t know. We tried to match everyone’s handwriting to it, but it’s different. It has resemblance with none’s but Dumbledore’s.”
- These tell us mystery you set. It's very intriguing. Why did the culprits use Dumbledore's writing? What for?

"a badly bruised witch on the roads of Hogsmeade and I am quite sure she is none other than Ginny.
" - Oh, it's definitely dark side of her. I hope Harry will get back his courage to face the incident with his godson Teddy with Cress' help.

Let's do review swap again.


Author's Response: Hey Kenny! It was great to see you here! :)

Well, the story isn't really involved with Ginny's past with Tom Riddle's diary or anything but that was definitely an inspiration. I don't believe in happily ever after because life doesn't work that way and as Harry, Ron, Hermione, Ginny etc have spent their teen years fighting the dark arts it is very likely that they migh have had to face the same things at some point in their lives. I'm glad you liked that I've kept the focus on the dark side of hers. :)

I'd love to do a review swap again! Drop me a PM if you're interested. :D

Thank you so much for all the compliments and for taking time to read and review! Hope to see you back for more!


 Report Review

Review #9, by fwoopersong8 A Name That Connects It All

19th April 2016:
Hey Ashwini! Here for the review swap :)

So I went through and read all the other chapters because I can't properly do this without context, and I must say, you have a gripping story here. What happened to Ginny? Who is this other woman? What is this potion? Who is Aenor Garrot and why is he related to everything? Is Ginny alive? Can Harry get over this? I'm glad I'm doing this review swap because I usually don't read stories about one or more of the trio being dead or missing -- they make me really sad -- but your story is engaging and moves the plot along without dwelling too long on the sadness of it all.

As for technical CC, I took some notes. Near the beginning of the chapter, Ron said "You're quite, love" -- I think you meant "quiet." He later said "who you think I am?" where I think you meant "who DO you think I am?" And later, you said he looked "bedazzled" where I think you should have said "bewildered." "Bedazzled" means greatly impressed, and while I guess it is impressive to him that Harry is finally coming to terms with this, I associate bedazzled more with magic tricks or impressive stunts than with something like this. Bewildered fits Ron's previous reactions better.

I love how Ron embarrasses Hermione with his announcement as Harry walks in. He's lost most of his awkwardness in this fic, which makes sense, since he's an adult, but I can definitely see the playful Weasley in him. Hermione is in character as well.

I hope Cress doesn't lose her job! Would it make any difference to Harry to know that his actions and denial could cost someone their livelihood? Also, is Kingsley still Minister? It seems out of character for him to threaten someone like Cress like that. Is he even Cress's boss? (I mean, I guess he's technically everybody's boss. But still.) Speaking of Cress's job, though, she strikes me as a little forgetful and emotional for a detective. I especially noticed this in an earlier chapter where she forgot she was talking about Ginny. I mean, come on, Cress. You're a detective. This is a super important case. Get with it. She also lets her family life and emotions interfere with her work, which seems kind of unprofessional. However, my only experience with detectives is BBC Sherlock -- the exact opposite of emotional -- so I don't have a very good reference frame. As a whole, I really like her character and I don't mean to criticize her extensively.

By the way, I totally ship Teddy/Cress. Victoire seems like a jerk.

Anyway, good job! This story is engaging and doesn't leave the reader down in the dumps even though Ginny is missing. I hope Harry is able to recover! I hope the real Ginny is okay! :(

Thanks for swapping with me!


Author's Response: Hello Songs! :D (btw your name is quite amazing!)

Haha, lots of questions right? But the future chapters are more focused on solving the mystery step by step instead of raising more questions and thickening the mystery. :) I hope the story was intriguing enough to make you read further!

Yeah, I know what you mean. I am not a big fan of writing AU stories like this too. Especially I do not like to trouble the trio a lot, but the plot here seemed challenging as well as interesting and I decided to get out of my comfort zone a little bit. It has worked quite well with me til now. I guess torturing the trio a little bit isn't such a bad thing after all! ;)

I'll go back and fix the errors as soon as I can. Thanks for pointing them out! These kind of typos tend to get missed even if you edit the chapter a tons of times. You were a great help! :)

I'm happy you liked the Romione bit! They are the most awesome couple and I simply had to write something about them here!

Whoa, the Kingsley thing had escaped my notice. Thanks for pointing that out! It's kind of necessary that Cress loses her job so maybe I'll go back and put some other name as the minister. Kingsley firing Cress is completely out of character. You're right...!

I ship Teddy/Cress too! I never particularly liked Teddy/Victoire somehow.

Thank you so much for taking time to read all the nine chapters in a row and writing this helpful review! :) I can't say anything about the safety of the characters but I hope you come back to find out. :) The next chapter is already written and is currently being edited.

Thanks again! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by blackzero A Name That Connects It All

15th April 2016:
I just read all the chapters at once.It is an outstanding mystery that keeps you hooked up.Cannot wait for next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for giving my story so much love! It makes me happier than over to know that you read all chapters at once. The tenth chapter is ready and I'll post it here in a couple of days once I do some minor editing. :D

Thanks again for stopping by!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Alexxx A Name That Connects It All

10th April 2016:
Ooh isn't Aenor the name of that creepy guy who lives alone?? So intrigued!!! Loved the Romione bit♥ Update soon!

Author's Response: Yes, you guessed that right...! I'm glad you liked the Romione bit and the story overall. Thank you so much...! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotter A Case Worth Waiting For

10th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a really great first chapter! I really enjoyed it, and I think it sets up your story really well. You do a nice job of introducing your main character without getting bogged down in too much description. It's weaved in throughout the chapter, so we can focus on the plot while also getting information about Cress.
I thought the opening of this chapter was really great. It was mysterious and left me with questions, so I want to keep reading to get some answers. I'm assuming the woman was Ginny, but what potion was she getting, what does it do, and why did she need it? Is that the reason she went missing? Did she want to disappear, or did she know she was going somewhere that might me dangerous when she left a note saying she might not come home? You've definitely got me curious!
I like Cress as a main character. Her choice of a career shows that she's tough, and can handle difficult situations, but her conversation with Hermione also shows that she's compassionate, and remembers that she's dealing with really people who are going through something really sad.
Oh, she's going to talk to Teddy! I bet that will be interesting.
You've definitely piqued my interest with this story! Your opening chapter is great, and I really enjoyed it! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie! Thanks for stopping by! :)

I'm so glad you liked the first chapter. :) I really tried to do the best that I can with keeping the descriptions minimal but still capture the mysterious feel.

It was fun to read your theories but I guess you'll have to read further to know the answers. :D Keep guessing though!

Thank you so much for leaving a review! I really hope you'll come back for more! :)

Ashwini :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by StarFeather Picking Up The Pieces

5th September 2015:
Wow,I should've read this earlier. I've put your story in my reading list but I started reading properly now. Perhaps RL and so many events at the forums prevented me from reading this, I'm sorry.

I like your style from Teddy's POV, he observes Harry, and he felt how he loved Ginny. It's quite new and I've never encoutnered this type of romance before. I'll post it at Dobby's best romance. I'm a Harry/Ginny shipper.

It's heartbreaking to imagine how little James felt when he lost his mother and had to spend with Arthur and Molly. The saddest description here is "Uncle Harry locked himself in his room the minute he returned home. Teddy would left a plateful of dinner at his door and found it half finished the next morning. Each day he washed the plate with shaky hands screaming for Aunt Ginny in his mind. He couldn't see the person he love the most like this."

The episode how Gabrielle died is shocking, too. Besides, something mysterious things are going on, I'll catch up soon.


Author's Response: Hi Kenny! First of all I am terribly sorry for not responding to such a lovely and kind review for so long. I was very busy with real life issues and did not have much time left for this site. Sorry!

Through the Darkest is a very special story for me so I'm really glad that you have started reading it. I hope you continue because I haven't abandoned this story, I have already started working on the next chapter. :)

Yay! Another Hinny shipper! Aren't they cute together? :D

Yeah, poor James suffered unnecessarily in all this. :( But I think this brings a lot more intensity to the case and makes it more than just a plain missing person case.

Thanks for stopping by! Your review really made me happy! I hope you come back soon to catch up!


 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard So She Is Back

28th April 2015:
Ok so here I am for our review swap.

As this really isn't my kind of genre, I'm probably going to stop reading right here.

I like how you write. The structure is good and you've added some detail. Flow is nice and smooth as well.

I hope you're not mad at me when I suggest this: get yourself a Beta. There are so many typos, grammar mistakes (TENSES!!) in this chapter alone. I think it would really help if you had someone else read it before publishing.

I'm very particular about canon things, which one of the reasons I won't continue here. This has nothing to do with the quality of your story, it's only personal preference. I just don't like that Harry is unhappy, and that Teddy is far too old compared to James. Harry and Ginny should have had Albus and Lily by now (according to canon - of course you can distance yourself and your story from that, it's just something I prefer not to do)

I still think this is very well-written and makes some interesting reading. Keep going. I might check out some of your other stories.


Author's Response: Hi there!

I totally understand that reading a new genre is kind of hard but I'll just say you can come back when you need a bit of change. :)

Thanks for the suggestion! Well, I have considered getting a beta, but I actually don't have the time to revise my chapters again and again. It's already too hard to write and update the stories on my page. So I'll just go through this chapter again and try to correct my mistakes.

I know this isn't totally canon... But I had to make some changes according to the plot. I had to do it all to keep this suspenseful and a little dark. As Ginny goes missing in this story and also because of a few other plot reasons I had to do this all. Just try to understand you cannot always go by the books. :)

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by merlins beard More Than a Clue

28th April 2015:
Hi. I'm doing the real review for our swap later on, i want to keep reading for now.

There is one thing that REALLY REALLY irritates me about this chapter, that's why i'm reviewing here.

Fleur's sister's name is GABRIELLE! (not Gabriel, which is a boy's name in german, which is probably why it irritates me so much.


Author's Response: Hello Anja!

I really appreciate your review but I think you should have been a little more polite with pointing out that mistake. If you look at the last chapter, I have spelled the name correctly and I accidentally spelled it as Gabriel in this chapter and that too only once, :/ And also not everyone is German and aware of that fact.

Thanks for leaving the review and pointing out my mistake but just make sure you be a little more polite next time. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Shadowkat A Case Worth Waiting For

28th April 2015:
Here for your review swap.

Wow, this looks extremely interesting. The writing was good quality, and I didn't see many mistakes. I'll have to put this on my ever growing reading list, it looks like it's a good start to a great story. :)

Author's Response: Hello there! :)

Thank you so much for your kind words! I hope you come back for more soon and I'm glad you enjoyed my story. :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by alicia and anne A Case Worth Waiting For

13th March 2015:
ooo I am so close to having reviewed everything you've ever written :D For that I'm going to review all of these chapters so that I can say that I have reviewed everything you've written! :D

I am so glad that I'm reading this story! That summary has got me hooked! As has that first paragraph, you need to stop being so amazing at beautiful descriptions!... I lie of course, you should never stop! This way I can bask in the brilliance of it and keep reading the perfectness that is your writing! :D It's such a pleasure reading your work!

Oooo who is visiting Aenor? What have they gotten from him? So many questions!

What happened to Ginny? Why is she missing? What did Cress see in the photograph!? SO MANY QUESTIONS!!

AHHH I CAN'T WAIT TO READ MORE! You've left me hanging so badly and I need all of the answers!! I can't wait to get back to this! And I am so coming back to this! Gahhh!!! So much need right now!

You're such a fabulous writer for getting me so hooked on your beautiful work! I absolutely love your stories! So very much!

Author's Response: Yes you are!! And I really hope you decide to continue with this. I absolutely love you and your reviews! :D

Thanks! I wrote and rewrote the first part so many times that I was kind of exhausted when I finally came up with just the right descriptions. I'm so happy you like my writing so much! I just don't know how to respond. *blushes* I'm not good at taking compliments.

Yes, so many questions! ;) But I'm sure they will get answered so I hope you continue reading!



 Report Review

Review #18, by milominderbinder Picking Up The Pieces

8th March 2015:
hiya! here for our review swap! i reviewed chapter one for a review swap a while back, i remember, so it was cool to get to read chapter two! i don't have much time for keeping up with WIPs these days but this is definitely an intriguing one.

reading about Teddy's early life kind of broke my heart, but in the best way. i love your take on it. i've actually never seen an interpretation where he grew up with Harry but I've always thought it would be interesting, and i loved how you explained it all here! he sure has had a lot of tragedy in his life, poor lil bean.

i really can't say enough just how INTRIGUING the mystery of ginny's disappearance is so far! that note is what really sold it for me. i'm dying to know who wrote it - i guess i'll have to read on at some point ;) the fact that the writer is sure she'll recognise the writing but nobody else does is interesting to say the least. it hints at her having some big secret or something. my first thought was that it was tom riddle's writing, like from the diary, but i guess harry would have recognised that :")

well, i'm sure there's a lot more mystery to go, anyway, but you've done an awesome job with the setup of it all! well done!


Author's Response: Hello Maia! So sorry for responding late! Exams are eating my HPFF time. :(

Writing this was kind of hard for me too. I have a soft spot for Teddy Lupin ever since he lost Remus and Tonks, but no one suited this story better than him. And I am going to try and make him a little more happy through this story. The plot needed him to grow up with Ginny so she could be like his mother so I decided to do that. ;)

Thank you so much! I have every chapter planned out and I know where the story is going so I absolutely love reading the questions and theories of you guys. :D

Ooh, the handwriting could be Tom Riddle's! :O I love your theory! That hadn't crossed my mind though! So you're gonna need to come up with some other theories. ;)

Thank you so much for the awesome review! It was fun swapping with you!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Wistful So She Is Back

26th February 2015:

This is Wisty, here for our review swap. So the summary of this one immediately captured me, and I was definitely excited to check out something like this. I honestly don't see too many stories with Harry and the lot that isn't more focused on the next generation. And of course Teddy Lupin is eVERYTHING TO ME (i need him like i need air) so unf unf unf it looked good.

And it was good! It was easy to read, and I love your straight forward writing style and how you write your characters. Each of them have such a decisive voice. I like how you write Ron the best honestly. Like even if you didn't give him his name and just said he, I could tell it was him from a mile away. This was really just so good.

And you're creating suspense just so well! I was curious as I reached this chapter to what was going on with Ginny and how you were going to continue the story if Ginny was already found, but then the last line oh my god. Way to twist the plot.

I'm so excited to read on and to see what you do with this!

-- Wisty x

Author's Response: Hi there Wisty! :D

I'm so glad you think the summary is intriguing. That's something I constantly worry about. I'm not really good at coming up with titles and summaries! :P

Aaah I love that boy too! I know we don't know much about him, but he seems so cute and Remus and Tonks's death has created a soft spot for him in my heart. ;) I love him too! That's why I decided to include him in this one. A next gen story written by me without any Teddy in it? Not possible!

Thank you! I haven't purposefully kept this simple. It's probably because I'm still learning to write in English as it's not my native language. That's why I generally use simple words so that I don't make any weird word usage! ;)

I'm so glad you liked Ron! I love him so much that I wanted to put a bit of him in every chapter possible. :D

I LOVE ending my chapters with cliffhangers! You'll just have to get used to that. ;) Haha I hope you don't mind!

Thank you so much for being so nice and leaving this lovely review! I hope you come back for more soon!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Carrie The Case Complicates

25th February 2015:
THIS WAS AMAZING. I love this story so much! I know I have two more chapters to catch up but I wanted to know that this was really great. I enjoyed reading this. :D

Author's Response: NO YOU ARE AMAZING! :D You literally made me smile like crazy with this one! :) I'm so glad you enjoyed TTD so far and I hope you like the next too chapters as well! Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by CP The Case Complicates

7th February 2015:
I'm really loving this story! I read five chapters in a row but now I have tosleep. So I'll come back for more later for sure! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming back to this story even after a long time! I remember you leaving a review a while ago. :) I'm happy I entertained you and I hope you have a good sleep! Good night! ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by 800 words of heaven A Case Worth Waiting For

5th February 2015:
REVIEW SWAP. Sorry for being a little late :)

So this is a super interesting start. A (possible) murder mystery involving Ginny Weasley. How exciting! I'm very intrigued about where the story is going to head - and how Teddy plays into it all, since he wasn't mentioned in this chapter, but was in the summary.

I love the amount of description. I'm terrible at it, so I always pay attention to it in other people's work, and I think you've done a lovely job. It creates an image in my head of the setting and characters, and so their actions are given some context. Well done!

I also like the way you opened this with a flashback scene from an unknown person's perspective. It has the feeling of the books themselves, as often, the first chapter wouldn't be from Harry's point of view at all.

I enjoyed the different sections as well. I think it's a good way to keep the pacing fast and quite clearly separates one section from another for the reader. There were places where the endings were a little abrupt for me, but that was a minor thing.

Overall, this is a fantastic start. I really enjoyed this. Thanks for the swap :)

Author's Response: Hello there! I'm so sorry for responding so late! I was kind of busy with college for the last few days. :(

I won't say this is a murder mystery even though it is concerned with murders and other criminal stuff. :) Ginny is just missing and this story is about what happened during these five years. This was mostly an introductory chapter, so nothing much is revealed here, but I'm sure things will get clearer in the next. The next chapter is centered at Teddy.

I personally don't think you are terrible at descriptions ;) but thanks for the compliment! I have put a lot of work into descriptions lately, so it makes me feel extra good to know that you liked them. :) Imagery is very hard and compliments about it make me super happy. :D

Actually the whole story will be told through switched point of views even though Cress is the protagonist. :) There are more flashback scenes in random chapters too.

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving this awesome review! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by Infinityx Pain and Soothing

31st January 2015:


That was such an amazing, passionate moment and I love how you've described it! The emotions, the heat, the longing...they were all described so wonderfully! I have been waiting for this to happen for so long now and YAY! :D

Okay, so the imposter isn't Joanne. The way she was murdered was so brutal and horrifying and the fact that she'd been identified means that that theory of mine is completely useless. However, if Ginny's imposter is able to pose as her so perfectly in terms of physical features and identifying factors, it's possible that the person identified as Joanne wasn't really her and Joanne is still alive and posing as Ginny. That seems like a long shot though. But I still think they're both interrelated in some way, and I can't wait to find out how!

I love the way you've described Cress' feelings for Teddy in the beginning! It was so warm and cute and I melted inside. That plus all the angst about her losing her job and the whole dead end with Joanne's case made this such an emotion packed chapter!

I'm still a bit skeptical of Harry's behaviour though. It's just my opinion but it seems a bit out of character for him to be this way because family was always most important to him and neglecting James, shutting himself off, pretending he got Ginny's all really extreme. Although, it is possible that the trauma did that to him. I'm on the fence about that though.

But other than that, I LOVED this chapter! And I'm still in suspense about Cress' father and how everything is tied up so please please update soon before my brain crumbles from thinking too much!

You're so fab.

Author's Response: OH YEAH THEY KISSED. :D I've been waiting to write this chapter for so long! I'm so excited you liked it too!

Thank you! I LOVE passionate kisses. I never really liked the happy ending sort of first kiss. I love this kind of moments and I'm glad you liked it too. :)

It was fun to read your theories! Don't mark any of your theories useless just yet. Anything might be coming your way. ;)

Aah, they make me want to melt too sometimes. :) They're extremely cute. I don't go much for fluff, but Teddy and Cress make it so much fun and it's also easier with them. :)

Yeah, this was a pretty intense chapter. Cress is going through a lot at the moment so I thought she deserved a complete chapter dedicated to her inner storm and feelings. :( Poor girl! But I promise the story will bring something nice to her at the end. :)

Thank you so much for being awesome and writing this review! You didn't make my day. You made my WEEK! :D ;)


PS- No. YOU are fab. :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by Infinityx Conversations and Revelations

31st January 2015:
I'm finally here, I'm so so sorry! I'm reviewing on my phone so I apologise beforehand for any weird typos.

Aah, you've put up two new chapters! I can't believe I missed the update!

Ooh, some Teddy and Cress bonding! I really think they make such a cute couple! And they understand each other so well because of their similar familial situations. And she's finally looking for her father. This should be interesting.

Hmm, I wonder what happened between Teddy and Victoire. He still seems to be really hung up on her.
Aand my question is answered. It's not what I expected though. Vic seems really selfish and stubborn when it comes to understanding what Teddy's going through. It's weird though, considering her profession. I wonder if there's more to it...

Oh wow, they've finally figured out that connection between Ginny and Joanne. I have goosebumps. Could Joanne be the imposter? :o what on earth is happening here!? The suspense is eating me up!

And omg as if that wasn't enough, you go ahead and break another bombshell! Aenor Garrott, seriously? Is this why Ginny is against Cress? But didn't she get the vial in the first chapter from Aenor? Hmm... Maybe he betrayed her or something. But it's so serious that she had to have someone else pose as her, go missing for five years, and have hateful thoughts against Cress! I'm really boggled here.

You've developed such an intricate plot here, Ashwini, and I really don't have any guesses here. It's so confusing and so exciting and I'm just so intrigued by this that I really NEED to know the reason behind the whole scheme!

The only bit of CC I have is that there could be something that denotes a separation between the Teddy-Cress scene in the beginning and the Vic-Ali scene after it.

I loved this chapter and I most certainly did not expect two huge bombshells to be dropped here! I'm so glad the next chapter is up. I don't think I could bear the suspense for much longer!

Author's Response: ERIN!! It makes me all happyyy to see you here! :D And who cares about typos while reading such a sweet review?

I know right! I always keep including small Teddy/Cress moments here and there just to be able to write something about them being together. :P I kind of love them myself and I'm really happy that you like them too. :) I wanted their grief to bring them together just to show that you can always find something happy and bright even when you are going through a bad phase in life. No matter what happens to Teddy, Cress or their families in this story, they will always have each other as a reason to be happy. Hope it makes sense!

There's some Teddy/Victoire history coming up in chapter ten! You'll get your answers then, I promise!

You're right. The mysterious 'She' did take something from an old man named Aenor in the first chapter. There's a lot more to the connection between Aenor and Cress which I won't reveal right now of course. I hope you're intrigued enough to keep reading like you always have! :)

Aww, thank you so much! It makes me so happy to know that you want to know what happened so badly! :') I have just posted chapter nine in queue and I'll let you know when it gets validated. :)

Yeah, I forgot to put a line to break the two scenes. I'll make sure I edit that out asap.

Thank you for being such a wonderful person and leaving awesome reviews for me! You really made my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by mymischiefmanaged Picking Up The Pieces

27th January 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap (sorry about the delay - I only just saw your reply to my post).

I think I reviewed chapter one for a swap a while back. I'm glad to get back to this story.

I really like the way you've focussed on Teddy here. Cress was a lovely character in the first chapter but was obviously viewing the case from a distance. It's interesting to get a more personal take on the same story from Teddy.

The depiction of Teddy's childhood with the Potters is just lovely. Of course Harry would see it as his duty to protect Teddy from the things he went through. You've shown a lovely glimpse into Harry's life with Ginny and the kids, and it's very believable.

And then after having seen that, James having to live with his grandparents seems so much more terrible. It's a clear demonstration of just how much Harry is hurting that he's let this happen.

The story about Gabrielle is incredibly sad. I wonder whether she has relevance to the greater plot about Ginny? I feel like she must if you've made such a point of bringing her up here, and I look forward to finding out more.

This is a really good story. You've got the level of mystery just right and your characterisation so far has been really strong. It's an original idea and you've handled some difficult topics with a lot of tact.

The only thing I would say is that there are quite a few grammatical errors here that I noticed - it might be worth getting somebody to beta or doing some more proofreading before uploading? It's not a big deal but it's something worth thinking about because it breaks up the flow a bit. Apart from that this is a fantastic chapter though!

Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hello Emma! It was nice to see you here! :D

That's exactly why I decided to include Teddy into the story. I wanted the readers to see the case from personal view too. I thought it would have seemed too plain from Cress's point of view, for she is not much of an emotional person.

Thank you! That's how I have imagined Harry to raise Teddy. I'm happy you found it believable. :)

Poor Gabrielle! What happened to her was kind of terrible. It may or may not have any relation to Ginny's case. I'm not going to spoil anything! ;)

I'm so glad you liked this! I did revise this chapter long time ago but if you still spotted some errors I'll try to look at it again. Thanks for pointing that out. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was fun swapping with you! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>