Reading Reviews for Through The Darkest
  
94 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BitterSweetFlames A Case Worth Waiting For

22nd November 2014:
Hi Ashwini! :) Carla (SkitsandBits on the forums) here for our review swap. :)

First off, that first scene! WOW, was it intriguing or what? Seriously, I enjoyed it (in a creepy way). But, really, it was shrouded in mystery and you just made me keep on writing and demanding an answer about what is happening! :O Also, your description was perfect. I could really imagine being there, seeing everything you describe. So well done!

When you jump to 5 years later and an introduction of a new character I think it was very well done. You managed to make us know who the character was AND introduce that something had happened to Ginny. Instead of making it seem hurried, the fact that you wrote it in such a way underscores the fact that even great mysteries have a mundane side to them. This fact actually makes it seem like a bigger deal. Because, you want to know what happened. You want things to start moving.

"But Cress was unaware of what destiny had planned." Okay, you've intrigued me. So now I have to go and read the rest of this lovely story. ;)

So, yes, off to read more. Thanks for the swap, dearie.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey there Carla! :D Nice to see you!

Aww, thank you so much! I wrote the first scene just to intrigue the readers and make the first chapter a little mysterious. This chapter was supposed to start from the part where Cress is waiting for Hermione, but the first scene was a last minute addition and seems like it worked out well. I've been receiving lovely feedback for it. So glad that you like it too. :)

I was a little afraid that the five years leap would turn out to be pretty boring, so it makes me feel good that you liked it and thought it was well written. I never give away much about my characters in the first chapter itself, but I have introduced more information about Cress's family life in the third chapter. :)

Haha, I know I do this all the time! Nearly all the chapters (okay, all the chapters) of this story have a cliffhanger like that in the end.

I do hope you continue reading this! I'll look forward to you. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! You literally made my day! Let me know if you want to swap again.

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #2, by wolfgirl17 A Case Worth Waiting For

18th November 2014:
Hi Ashwini,

This is a good first chapter. You've laid some foundations for the story really well.

I'm a little confused about why it's taken five years to have someone trying to find Ginny, and about where she's gone. You've definitely hooked me there.

You've got a few, I wouldn't call them typos, but a few mistakes based on words choice. Like when you write that you're hoping Harry and Hermione will be frank and honest with Cress you write:
"hope they will be open before her"

I think it would make more sense to write:

"Hope they will be open with her."

It just improves the flow a little bit. I'd like to see a little more characterization of Cress, as thus far we've got more on the case she's been given than who she is and why she became a detective. Hopefully that will come later.

Anyway, I'm definitely intrigued about where Ginny is and why she just bailed on them all. I can't ever imagine her actually leaving Harry willingly.

Keep up the good work!

xx-Wolfgirl

Author's Response: Hello! It was great to see you here! :)

I'm so glad you liked the first chapter! The first one is always the most important chapter of a mystery novel according to me. It has to be well written so that the reader would just have to come back to know more. I have tried my best to create as much suspense as I can, so it feels nice to read such lovely compliments. Thank you, really! :D

That's the point. The Aurors couldn't find any clue about Ginny in five years, and that's why the case has been transferred to the Detectives. It would have been transferred sooner if it was any ordinary case, but Harry, who is an auror along with Hermione, is very weird about Ginny's disappearance. I believe that he wanted to find his wife himself but then the others forced him to hand the case over to Cress after waiting for long five years. You'll find out more as the story proceeds!

Thanks for pointing that out! These things are quite difficult to pick out, especially to me. I'm not a native English speaker, so I often get confused with word usage. It's good that I have reviewers like you, isn't it? :)

More about Cress will be revealed in chapter three. I know I've given very scanty information about her in this chapter, but I wanted to create a mysterious aura around everything, even my protagonist. I hope it isn't too bad!

I can't say much about what happened to Ginny just right now. I hope you come back to know more!

Thanks for the wonderful review! You really made my day with it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cannons A Case Worth Waiting For

28th October 2014:
Hi, I promised you a review so here I am!

Firstly can I just say that chapter image is amazing.

The first section was defiantly intriguing, a dodgy deal in the moonlight. Immediately I am wondering who this woman is and what the substance is, so you did a good job of pulling me in at the start which is hard to do sometimes.

The second part was well written as well and I am wondering if it was Ginny that made the deal in the middle of the night? If I was in charge of the case I would be heading down to the manor and reminding the rusty gates what there job is!

I am unsure about Cress as a character at the moment, it is way to early to tell. She seems professional and excited to be in charge of the case. Also she believes the case wasn't a hard one? It hasn't been solved for five years and she thinks that she can solve it quickly. HMMM.

Anyway you really, seriously, pulled me in to the story! There are so many unanswered questions which I can't wait to find the answers too.

THANKS FOR AN AWESOME FIRST CHAPTER!

Author's Response: Hi there! :)

I know you may think I'm a terrible person and I might be one, but I really don't remember you promising me a review. :( Did we decide to swap? If we did so, or if I've forgotten to leave you a review or something please please let me know!

Yeah, pulling the reader in instantly is quite a challenge. Especially when you write a mystery. I had to think a lot about how to do it before I came up with the idea of that deal. I'm happy you liked it! :)

I won't reveal much right now, but there will be more snippets from that woman's PoV in the story.

More about Cress will be revealed in chapter 3. I know it's too early for you to say anything, but be sure that she's a nice person and there's a story behind her distant behavior. :)

Haha, I'm glad you think this is intriguing and I hope you decide to come back for more!

Thanks for the lovely review and please let me know about the review! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #4, by AdinaPuff Picking Up The Pieces

25th October 2014:
Hi, here for our review swap!

This was incredibly intriguing. Adding Teddy into the mix was somewhat unexpected, in my opinion. How old is he in this? His reflection on his life so far was somewhat sad, but at the same time happy. Him being so close to James, and Harry and Ginny giving him light in his life. It's a bittersweet story of his.

Now Gabrielle is a very interesting factor in this. I wonder if whoever took Ginny had anything to do with Gabrielle's sudden mental illness. It's very sad, though. I wanted to cry. She's a very interesting character in this though, and I'm sure we'll hear more about her in the future.

I wonder who is at the door? It could be the detective, but it may not be. I just want to know all the answers. Such an interesting mystery. Very well written. I love it so much!

Can't wait to read more :)

-Leigh

Author's Response: Great to see you back, Leigh! :)

I'll be sure to add a line informing you about Teddy's age next time I edit this. A lot of reviewers asked me this question. Teddy is 23 here. :)

Adding Teddy to the story was somewhat inevitable for me. I always imagined him being like his father and loving Harry and his family by heart... So I just HAD to write a chapter about his feelings only. Also, someone close to Ginny should help Cress, right?

More about Gabrielle will be reveal in the coming chapters. I loved to know what you think about her though!

No, it's just Cress at the door! ;)

I'm extremely happy that you liked this! I really hope you continue! I'd be happy to do more swaps with you too. Just let me know if you are interested! :)

Thanks for another amazing review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #5, by AdinaPuff A Case Worth Waiting For

24th October 2014:
Hi! I just want to apologize for the wait on this review--life abruptly got in the way. :)

You are amazing at writing mysteries. You had me hooked immediately. I was asking so many questions. Who were these people? What are they trading? Why enough for two people? So many questions bouncing in my mind. Great job with the suspense.

And then jumping to Cress. It immediately makes me assume that it was Cress who set this up, though I could be wrong. It's too early to tell. You wrote Hermione well, just to add a little compliment. :)

Thanks for the swap, sorry again for the wait.

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hi there! Late reviews are no problem to me. I'm really bad at leaving reviews on time too! :P I'm just happy to DID leave a review. :)

Aww, thanks! Probably that's because I've spent my entire childhood and almost teenage reading mystery stories. This was my first attempt at writing one. You will definitely know more about the hooded woman and Aenor as you read on. But beware! This wasn't the only cliffhanger! ;)

Yeah, I haven't given much away about Cress yet. You will get to know her better in chapter 3 and 4 and also through the rest of the chapters. I'm glad you liked my Hermione! I love her and know her by heart I think!

Thanks for the lovely review! I totally appreciate it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 Conversations and Revelations

23rd October 2014:
Hi there Ashwini!

I'm here for our review swap. Ok. How did I miss this? Awesome chapter, by the way. So much is falling into place. I knew there was some sort of a connection between Alison's sister and Ginny. I also feel like Gabrielle Delcour is in the mix somehow, but I can't quite work out how they all fit together. Hmmm...

I'm totally shipping Teddy and Cress right now and that is a really big deal for me because I usually like to follow canon relationships! But I feel like those two really understand each other. I don't think victoire is completely awful, but she seems a bit wrapped up in herself and lacks a certain amount of empathy.

I'm also trying to wrap my head around the complicated relationship between Cress and her mother and sister. If Cress's mother really is pushing Cress away because her father is Aenor Garrett, then that is just awful. She shouldn't have to pay for his wrongdoings.

I found a typo here:

She had never accepted how much she wanted to find out about her father to anyone before.

I think you mean "admitted" not "accepted."

Also, I think you missed a break (horizontal line) right where the scene with Victoire and Alison starts.

Things are building up and I really hope you continue this story. I want to know about Ginny and Teddy and Cress's father and Joanne! Write more, please!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth! It was absolutely lovely to see you back again! :)

Haha, I know it's sort of obvious that Ginny and Alison's sister have some kind of connection. But I thought the story already has enough twists and cliffhangers. :P Anyways, I won't say much about anything just yet or I'll surely end up spilling beans. I loved to know what your theories are though!

I like to follow canon relationships too! This is probably the first time I'm writing a pairing that isn't canon and I wasn't entirely sure about it at first. But now I think Teddy and Cress sort of fit with each other. I'm so glad I gave the pairing a go now that the readers are liking them together too! :D

Victoire is like so many beautiful girls around us. Girls blessed with good looks are mostly full of themselves. Anyways I don't think Victoire would ever be able to help Teddy through a difficult situation because she's never been into one herself. Teddy and Cress will help each other, it won't be any one's responsibility.

I think you really missed a clue here. I'd suggest you go back and read the "five years ago" part from the first chapter. ;) If you do find the clue, please let me know!!

Oh, I never noticed that one! Thanks for pointing it out. :)

I'll try my best to update as soon as I can, though I'm not sure if NaNo will let me breathe. Thanks for the wonderful review as always Beth! You're too sweet!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #7, by Midnight spark Conversations and Revelations

26th September 2014:
I see what you are trying to do Ashwini! You are trying to just make me go so mad that I can't sleep tonight!

There's this chant going around my head; I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT, I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT.

Author's Response: See? I told you I can't resist cliffhangers! :P Don't worry yourself though, I WILL be posting the next chapter ASAP. I just got some exams coming on 10th October... I have diwali vacations right after them so maybe I will write a couple of chapters during them. :)

Thanks for the wonderful review! I hope you come back for more!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #8, by Midnight spark So She Is Back

26th September 2014:
I just had to come back and read this!

WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME???

GINNY CAN'T KILL CRESS!! WHAT A TWIST!!

Lovely chapter dear!

Author's Response: Hi again!! I'm so glad you came back for more!!

I know I can't resist putting a cliffhanger at the end... You'll just have to get used to that. ;) Because your desperation to know more keeps me inspired and is usually the muse for my next update to this story. :)

Not a bad guess, but let's keep in mind that I haven't officially declared that the mysterious woman is Ginny.

Thank you so much!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #9, by Midnight spark More Than a Clue

26th September 2014:
ASHWINI!! I'M FINALLY HERE!

MY DEAREST GIRL THIS CHAPTER LITERALLY MADE ME BIT MY NAILS (AND I HATE DOING THAT)!

I just have to get over the fact that Albus Potter is not born yet. :(

They found Ginny??? God, what a cruel cliffhanger you have here!

When Teddy says those emotional words... Merlin, I'm crying.

I have no idea how to review such a great chapter, this story is going to be great!

Sana

Author's Response: HELLO SANA!! I'm so glad you're here!! :D

Haha, I'm so so happy that you found my story so interesting that I can't put it into words! Just let me say that your reviews were the sweetest surprise I've got for a long time. :)

Albus Potter isn't born yet, and I'm not gonna tell you when he will be or whether he will be born during the story... But you're the first person who asked about him! ;)

Well, I'd say 'she turned up' instead of 'they found her'!

Thank you so much for the lovelies you left for me!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #10, by mymischiefmanaged A Case Worth Waiting For

19th September 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our swap :)

Okay, first off, your summary is FANTASTIC. I can't believe I've not come across this story before! As soon as I read the summary I knew I'd love it so congrats for getting that spot on.

The opening is fab - just the right balance of mysterious and descriptive. I WANT TO KNOW WHO THE WOMAN IS!! And I bet you won't reveal it for ages.

More importantly, what's the invention? I feel it can't be anything good if it has to be procured in such strange circumstances. Ohhh I like the mystery and it works really well but I so badly want to know all the answers already.

Is Cress Jones a relation of Hestia's? I hope so. I'm unsure about her as a character. I liked her at the start of the chapter but she seems a bit too distant. I understood her telling Hermione she needed the details to understand the case, but she seems to have a very detached attitude to her work which is a bit strange. I don't know. It just felt like she didn't care much about the people she was considering, which is an aspect of her character I'm a bit mistrustful of.

Hermione was lovely. It must be awful of her to have lost Ginny.

And WHERE IS GINNY? She's been missing for FIVE YEARS?!? That whole description of the photograph of Ginny and Harry was beautiful, and you've really added to the mystery of Ginny's disappearance. Of course she wouldn't just walk out on somebody she loved so much.

I'm intrigued by why the case is being worked on five years later though. Has it been reopened? Or have they never stopped investigating it? I guess we'll find out. You've raised so many questions here.

Finally, it was great seeing that snapshot of Cress's home life. Her mother definitely doesn't seem to understand her job, but I can see why she worries.

This was a brilliant first chapter. Thanks so much for the swap! Feel free to PM me if you ever want to swap again :)

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hello Emma! :D

Thanks! I literally spent my whole weekend to come up with just the right summary. So it makes me feel fantastic to hear that you liked it. I think banner, summary and title are too important so I always want to have them right. :)

Well... Don't throw stuff at me... But the identity of the woman will be revealed in the last few chapters of the story. :P Unless you guess it right of course! There will be more parts from the woman's pov so that you can be curious and come up with theories. :)

Wow, I just realized about Hestia Jones! :P I haven't really planned anything about Cress being her relative, but I like the idea. :) In my mind, Cress is not related to any canon character. And yeah, she is a bit indifferent because this is just another case for her. That's what she does every day. But she is going to be more involved in Ginny's story, I promise!

It looks like you really ARE intrigued about the whereabouts of Ginny! ;) You'll have to read on to know what happens to her! The updates are usually slow, but I'm pretty determined to finish this story. :)

The Aurors couldn't find a single clue about Ginny's disappearance. But as soon as Cress takes the case in her hands, something MAJOR happens coincidentally and that is the biggest clue ever. Keep reading to find out what that is! And Cress's family life will be explained in detail soon too. :)

Thanks for the fantastic review! You really made my day with it! I loved your story too so I'd like to have another review swap. :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #11, by Midnight spark Picking Up The Pieces

13th September 2014:
YAY IT'S TEDDY!!! I just love Teddy, so I'm having a bit of a fangirl moment in here, you know, the profusely blushing and jumping up and down.

Right. Ahem.

God, this is such an emotional chapter. My throat is all thick and all you know.

I love the display of Teddy's affection for Ginny, Harry and for James (god, JAMES: Cue another fangirl moment).

And HOW DARE DID VICTOIRE BREAK UP WITH HIM?

I AM IN LOVE WITH YOUR WRITING!!
~Sana

Author's Response: Haha, I love Teddy too!! That's partly why I chose to have him in the story. He seems like such an adorable character even though we don't know much about him from the books, doesn't he? I'm very happy that you like him. I really hope to make him as happy as possible without changing some of the plot!:(

Yeah, this chapter was pretty emotional when you compare it to the first one. Cress didn't know much about the case so it was like just another mystery to solve for her. But this chapter is to let you know how much this is important for Teddy as well as Harry and James.

Thanks for the compliments and the wonderful review! You're too sweet! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charm A Case Worth Waiting For

13th September 2014:
Hey Ashwini!

Oooh I loved the first section as it was so full of mystery and darkness and exciting things it really tied into the title and set the story up so well! This is a really random note but I loved your choice of names, because they seemed to have a spooky element about them which just added so much to the story. The people in it seemed to be such a motley crew of them I wonder how they’re all connected together.

One thing to be careful is your dialogue punctuation as I noticed several instances where it was off such as here ‘“Enough for two, if you please,” it was almost an order.’ And here ‘“Sure, madam.” He muttered under his breath. He was very suspicious.’ With the first, it was almost an order isn’t a dialogue tag, so the speech should be followed by a full stop and it should be capitalised. For the second, it is a dialogue tag, so there needs to be a comma after madam and he should be lowercase. I’m sorry I haven’t explained it very well but there are some great tutorials on the forums which should make it clearer!

Cress seems cool! I really liked her character as she seemed really intriguing and someone I could easily get along with. Her interaction with Hermione was especially interesting as it was strange to see that Cress was the one giving the help as you would expect it to be the other way round. I can’t help but wonder what on earth has happened to Ginny though and whether that’s connected to the first section or not.

Oooh wait a sec it does seem as if it’s connected which makes it even more exciting. I really liked the omniscient voice at the end of it though with the way destiny has planned out everything for her as I can’t wait to see what on earth destiny has in store for her!

Great chapter!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello Kiana! It was great to see you! :)

The first section was just to make the beginning a little dark and interesting. I'm so glad you thought it worked! Haha and I won't deny that I chose the names on purpose! :P I wanted the names to have a mysterious kind of aura around them, and Aenor sounds like such an interesting name!

Thanks for pointing that out! English is not my native language, so sometimes it's a little hard to be accurate about the grammar and punctuation. I think I'm lucky you people are around to help me! :D

Cress is one of my most favorite OCs. :) She's inspired from various detectives I've read about so maybe she sounds like a nice combination of all of them. :)

Hermione was very close to Ginny and as we have seen in the books, that girl can be extremely emotional at times. She is tired of worrying about Ginny and it's like they are just searching and searching but nothing happens. That's why Cress had to comfort her, I think.

Yes, the first section is definitely linked to Ginny and her disappearance! Destiny has quite a plan on her mind... I hope you'll want to come back for more!

Thanks for the lovely review! I really appreciate it! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #13, by Midnight spark A Case Worth Waiting For

11th September 2014:
Hey Ashwini! Here for our review swap!

First: Sorry it took so long!

Now on to your story! I loved the beginning. It had this air of mystery which made the reader want to read on and on. I really loved that about this story. And how you suddenly changed the scene- very well done! I love Cress' personality! Reminds me a bit of myself, I can say!

Beautiful chapter! I hope you liked 'Reincarnation'.

Thanks for the swap
Sanaa

Author's Response: Hello Sanaa! :D

I'm so glad you liked the beginning! I haven't spoiled much of the plot here as it's just the first chapter, but more will be revealed in the next one. :)

Thanks for the compliments and the adorable review! IT was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #14, by milominderbinder A Case Worth Waiting For

8th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our review swap!

Wow, this was SUCH an interesting start to this story! So much seemed to happen in these three scenes, but you wrote it really well so it wasn't overwhelming at all - it was as if three totally separate facets of the story were all portrayed here, if that makes sense, which means that we already have a rounded and relatable impression of Cress, as we've seen her in different settings. That's a really nice way to start a story.

Of course, though it seemed like there was a lot happening here, so much of it is still mysterious!! I was so shocked when you revealed it was Ginny who had gone missing - I assumed Hermione's 'best friend and family member' would be an OC, but this is so much more interesting. You really did an amazing job of creating suspense and intrigue by introducing the fact that it's Ginny who's missing, but then not going into much detail about it, so the whole thing is so mysterious!

I really like Cress. For starters, her name is great XD Also she already seems like a great character - she feels relatable, and something about her seems very practical and down-to-earth which is always a great aspect of a character and can make it seem much more realistic. I like how she made Hermione open up about Ginny, she is clearly good at her job and she knows what will help her on the case.

The very first scene was even more mysterious than the rest of it, of course, and I think that worked really well to add to the mystery of it all. I really want to know if that mysterious woman had something to do with Ginny's disappearance - I'm assuming she did!

Overall this was a super interesting first chapter, well done! I hope you like 'bloom' as much as I liked this! :D

~Maia

Author's Response: Hey, Maia! :D

I'm so happy you thought this was an intriguing start! I've read tons of mysteries since childhood, so I kind of knew that the first chapter has to have enough to intrigue the reader but not too much so that the mystery gets spoiled. I tried to do the same with this story and I feel like it's worked. Thanks! :)

Haha, yes, it's Ginny who is missing! ;) The second chapter explains much more about when and how she exactly went missing. It's from Teddy's pov who will be Cress's partner in investigation.

Cress is my favorite OC too! She's inspired from Nancy Drew, as Nancy's the best female detective I've read about. :D

The first scene is written to a mysterious aura to the whole story. The story is peppered with more of such scenes in italics from the pov of this mysterious woman.

Thanks for the wonderful review! I really enjoyed reading 'bloom' and it was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #15, by Unicorn_Charm A Case Worth Waiting For

4th September 2014:
Hiya! Here for our swap! :)

Ooh I really liked the beginning of this! It was really creepy and definitely brought me in right away. What did the mysterious woman buy? And who was she? Lots of questions with this first chapter. I will most certainly have to read on to find out!

I think it's really interesting that you have Detectives who work separately from the Aurors. That is such an different concept. I like it!

I feel like it was really in Hermione's character to try to remain private and professional even with this case being so close and personal to her. It was good to see her actually break down and behave like a normal woman who had lost her best friend.

Cress must be the best of the best if she had been handed the case of a missing Ginny Potter. And speaking of Ginny, where is she?! I'm assuming it has something to do with the hooded woman in the beginning of the story. The big questions are: Was the Ginny? Or was does the woman have something to do with Ginny's disappearance?

This was a good opening chapter. It gave enough information to really understand what was going on, and it raised enough questions to have you needing to read more. I enjoyed this quite a bit! :) I will have to come back and continue reading.

Well done on this! Thanks for doing the swap!! XD

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hello Meg! :D

I'm so glad you found the beginning intriguing! The novel is peppered with such parts in italics from the pov of the mysterious 'woman' to keep you wondering who she is. :)

Well, sometimes I just don't get how Aurors could do all the work. Looking for the criminal, the clues, solving murder and missing cases along with fighting the dark arts? That sounds impossible. That's why I imagined a secret department of the Detectives which very few people know of. :)

Cress is the Head Detective. SO she has to be the best. :D She is going to do her best to find out what happened to Ginny. You must keep reading to know the answers of all the questions bothering you!

Thanks for the compliments and the lovely review! You made my day! :D

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #16, by Infinityx The Case Complicates

10th August 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our swap!

Poor Harry! I love how you've taken the time to focus on his thoughts and his feelings for Ginny. The way the imposter behaves is just sickening, and I really hope Harry decides to tell the others soon. I always felt that he loved Ginny to the extent that he would never stop looking for her. And even if he did get her (or someone who looked like her) back, and had some doubts, he would keep searching because like you described, she's "his" Ginny. And this imposter isn't his Ginny. But then again, for someone like that to be content with even an imposter...well, that just shows how messed up he really is with the whole situation. I feel like just hugging him and telling him not to give up because his Ginny is still out there. I don't know whether to feel frustrated that he's this way, or sad. Gah, you just give me so many feels!

I don't even know how to respond to Teddy's reaction when they reach the Weasleys'. I get how he feels though, to be starved of love and that familial comfort. First his own parents, then Ginny and Harry. What more can the poor guy go through? Why do you do this, Ashwini? :(

Whoa, Alison. OK, this is just getting more and more intriguing and complex. I hope a few things get revealed soon! I have no theories about this at all at the moment!

So, the "She" is the Ginny imposter and she's going to meet Ginny. (I think I'm right) If so, why is Ginny associating herself with someone like that?! From the earlier of description of how fake Ginny behaved, she doesn't seem like someone Ginny could be friends with or even get along with. What on earth is happening here? :o

Update soon! (once the queue opens, of course) And do let me know when you do! This was another great chapter but it was too short because I just keep wanting more!

~Erin

Author's Response: Hi Erin! Sorry it took so long to me to respond to this amazing review... But I'm quite busy with college at the moment and I'm hardly ever active for more than fifteen minutes over at the forums. :( Hope you understand! :)

Thanks! I intended to write this part since like the third chapter, but I kept postponing it because it seemed so tricky... But I'm glad I did, as I'm getting really nice feedback about that part. :)

I know! I feel bad for that poor guy too! :( I will do my best to give him happiness in the story though I can't promise anything. ;)

Alison is going to reveal some shocking information in the eighth or ninth chapter so stay tuned! There will be a major clue revealed. :D

Theories! :D Though I love them a lot, I won't say much right now. :)

I will definitely post the next chapter in queue by Monday. I'm planning to devote my weekend to the next chapter. The first few paragraphs are already done. Stay tuned!

Thanks for the awesome review Erin!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #17, by Meleessuhh A Case Worth Waiting For

8th August 2014:
Hello there! This is Melissa for our review swap :)

First of all you have a beautiful introduction; the way your words flow is flawless, and I am very jealous haha. I like the opening scene very much because it is not clear what the mystery potion is. I thought it could've been Veritaserum because of the color, but I'm pretty sure I'm wrong.

I like your description of Hermione. She's a little older, mature and confident but still human. I like your OC as well and her interaction with her mother, she's very likable and I'm excited to see her develop.

The biggest mystery is, why would Ginny leave? It sounds like she's hiding a big secret, and after the first chapter I really want to know the truth! Haha. Really good read, amazing job :)

-Melissa

Author's Response: Hi there Melissa! It was really fun swapping with you! :D

Thanks! I used to be really bad at description stuff, but then I put on a little hard work on it and now it feels lovely when I get such compliments. :) Don't be jealous! Anyone can do it. :)

I absolutely love to hear theories! Veritaserum was a nice guess, by the way. ;) But I can't say much about that right now as I don't want to spoil the mystery.

I'm so glad you liked both of them! Hermione is my most favorite character from the series and Cress is the best OC I've written about too.

Keep reading to know more! You have six more chapters to go. :D

Thanks for the lovely review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #18, by ReeBee The Case Complicates

21st June 2014:
Another creepily awesome chapter! :D Dude, it is so not fair how amazingly you write these things! Every single one is so consistent in how awesome it is! :D

Characterisation: I loved the insight into Harry's mind! And it makes such perfect sense. It's really beautiful; that he can see that something isn't right, but he doesn't want to admit because he's glad that his 'wife' is back. And I can almost imagine that scene and Harry's thought were so gorgeously portrayed and eurgh. You make my feelings go through hell. Honestly :P Like gah. And I cant wait to see more Teddy/Cress action though I'm pretty sure you're taking the romance slow? :) just more more more, of this story and all my wishes will be fulfilled!

Description: gorgeous as usual! Like I said previously, that one scene with Harry is just so beautiful! I can imagine it! And I just cant, k? You give me too much Harry/Ginny feels. Honestly. Not fair :P

Plot: Dude the secrets to your brain should be like broadcasted to the whole hpff network! Its so creative! like everything is stunning! And Im still like this :O At the plot and the complexity and the character development and just everything! AND THE END! WHAT WAS THAT! PERFECTION IS THE RIGHT ANSWER. Not fair, hon! Its too mysterious! Like honestly, who was that?! Omg! You'll just have to write more so I don't like die from TTD deprivation. Honestly ;)

Kk, bye bye now! And girl, keep informing me of your updates! :D

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Another lovely and totally awesome review from Curie!! :D

Aww, I'm so sorry for constantly planting cliffhangers around the story! I just can't resist them. ;)

Writing Harry is never easy, even after reading seven books and hundred fanfictions about him. I'm so glad you liked him here! Probably that's why I was avoiding Harry for the previous five chapters. But I couldn't keep him away anymore. :P

Yes, I'm taking Teddy/Cress romance a little slow. Teddy is still busy with the case and he hasn't moved on yet. He still feels something for Victoire. But I'll try not to make it boring!

Oh, thank you so much! That scene is my favorite too. It turned out to be even better than I wanted it to be. :)

Hahaha, you will never find the way to my brain unless I let you in! ;) Just keep checking for my PMs asking you for another review swap. :P

I think some updates will help heal your TTD deprivation? If so, I'll storm off to write the next chapter! :D

Thanks for the lovely lovely lovely review! Love you, girl!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #19, by The Otter The Case Complicates

18th June 2014:
If the mysterious 'She' mentioned in the last part is the one living with Harry, then I'm pretty sure Ginny is alive! :D And that gives me a hope and looks like I can believe that Ginny can be rescued and returned home safely with the terrific imposter sent to Azkaban. Keep updating! This is a very intriguing story indeed. Great job!

Author's Response: Welcome back! ;) It was absoulutely lovely to read some more of your theories. I cannot say much right now, but you've definitely got something right here. ;)

Thanks for the review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #20, by Margaret The Case Complicates

17th June 2014:
OMG, this is SO GOOD! You are an amazing storyteller, and the plot itself is extremely creative! I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so happy you are enjoying my story so far. I will try to update as soon as I can. :)

Thanks for the compliments and the review!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #21, by Veritaserum27 The Case Complicates

16th June 2014:
Hello Ashwini!

I was so excited to see an update to this! I'm even more excited that I get to be the first to review the new chapter!

Poor, poor Harry. He is so desperate for his sweet Ginny to be back that he is overlooking the most obvious personality changes! I am very suspicions of this new Ginny. I know that people can change, especially people who have been through an ordeal, but Ginny was such a strong girl that never cared about how a house was decorated. That was my first clue. I love how you gave us little hints that Harry is doubting that the woman is Ginny, but still were able to show us how much he loves her and wants her to be back.

Teddy seems so in love with the Weasley's life. H really wants to have what Ron and Hermione have with someone, doesn't he? He thought he would have it with Victoire, but that didn't seem to work out. You've made him a really complex character as well, because I can see him getting all caught up in a case and obsessing over it to the point where he doesn't have a life to share with anyone anymore.

And... Alison is back. You mentioned that she would show up later in the story. Maybe she will tell Cress what is going on with her own family. This story is very intriguing!

So, I have a prediction. I hope you don't mind... I think that the weird potion that the woman in the first chapter got from the old wizard is some strange form of dark polyjuice that makes you look like another person for much longer than polyjuice potion does. I think that is what the woman took and this is not really Ginny.

Great chapter, as usual. You've given me much to think about! I can't wait for the next update!

Beth

Author's Response: Hello Beth! It was lovely to receive another long and nice review from you! :D

So sorry this update took so long! I couldn't write this chapter for weeks, it was kind of a major writer's block. :( But I hope it's good enough to make up for the late!

Well, Harry is acting like himself right now. ;) He never accepted the truth right away, did he? That's why he's acting like that here. And also, he loves her too much to believe she's gone. I won't say much about Ginny right now, but you should keep this in mind- an awful experiance can change someone to this extent. I'm glad you liked the scene overall!

I'm so so happy you pointed this out! EXACTLY. That's why he loves spending time with both of them. He's always been fascinated by true love and wants to find his own love. Also, he's kind of lonely. His life is very very tough at the moment and we'll have to see if Cress is going to help.

You will surely get to know Alison's complete story in the next chapter- I promise!

Aww, I love theories!! :D As I said, I can neither confirm nor deny your theory just right now, but it's a great one. :)

Thanks for the review and your continued support for TTD!! Love you!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #22, by Vk The Unexpected Guest

3rd June 2014:
Wow, great chapter! But why isn't another chapter up? I need one! :( Please please please update soon? Also the guest was very very expected for me. :D

Author's Response: I know the updates are VERY slow! :( But the next chapter is almost written and hopefully will be up by this weekend. :) And yeah, the guest was pretty obvious!

Thanks for your continued support to the story Vk!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #23, by lumos_knox The Unexpected Guest

26th May 2014:
Hello, I'm here for another review swap!
If for some reason you've already given me a review don't bother to return one.

Well, some Teddy/Cress action! Yay! It's great to see a canon character with an OC, really fresh and fantastic. As for the Unexpected Guest, I just KNEW that it HAD to be Teddy. You've dropped little hints along the way and something just told me that it would be Teddy.

I feel so sorry for Cress, what with her relationships with her family. Quite sad to see sisters that were once friends drifting apart. As for Cress' mum, she is a different story. Even a little white lie like the one she told might mean she could be up to something...

Alison's problem... something to do with Ginny... hm, I'm not sure what's going to happen yet.

And, the cliffhanger at the end! Very clever, you really do get me interested. Who could it be if it's not Ginny? I can't wait for the next chapter to see what's going to happen to poor old Harry and Teddy, as well as Ginny and the rest of the family.

Great chapter! Sorry it's rather short, this review.

Anyhow, good job on this one!
-lumos_knox

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry for not responding for so long, but RL was hectic and I had literally no time for hpff. :(

Yay for Teddy/Cress! :D That's the only bit of romance I can add to this story so it makes me happy that people are liking the ship. :) Hehe, I knew the guest was pretty much expected. ;) However let's say Cress didn't know she was getting paired with Teddy by me. :D

Yeah, her situation is too bad for Cress. :( But they have the tiniest connection with the case and also I thought she needs to have her own life apart from the case... so I decided to give her a little sad background...

You'll get to see a bit of Alison and her case in the seventh chapter! :)

Thanks...! I', literally addicted to cliffhangers now so brace yourself for more. ;)

Thanks for the awesome review dear! Length never matters! :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #24, by UnluckyStar57 The Unexpected Guest

19th May 2014:
Hello! It has been WAY too long (almost a month, zoinks!) and maybe you don't remember me, but you requested a review, so here it is! :D

Seeing Cress' mother and sister in this context was... enlightening, to say the least! I think that maybe Cress has been a bit hard on them both--after all, time changes people, and while her family may have become more distant, she helped widen the distance between herself and them. Veronica definitely seems like a girl who has been yelled at by her sister one too many times, and I'm willing to bet that it wasn't always her fault.

Oooh, high drama at the doorstep! Cress' mother is being a bit rude by not letting Teddy inside, but the explosive fight that ensued was much more than the door fiasco should have warranted. No, there's definitely something else there--something that's been brewing under the surface for too long--and Cress and her mother are going to need to talk about it sometime soon!

Teddy!!! You know, because of all the Ted/Vic fics out there, I'm pretty stuck on that, though I have enjoyed reading Ted/Dom and Ted/Rose. However, I've never read a Ted/OC, but I think I will really like Teddy/Cress! It's an extremely interesting dynamic, and I can't wait to read more!

His very startling revelation, while unfortunate for the Weasleys and Potters, is VERY fortunate for the story! Ginny isn't actually Ginny?! Whatever shall we do?! I guess Cress has to come out of holiday and put her nose back to the pavement in search of clues! (Okay, weird metaphor there, but you know what I mean...) Where will the case take us next? I don't know, so I sure hope you do!

One little grammatical thing:

"She was sort of scared of Cress when it came to etiquettes, though Cress no more tried to give her lessons of them."

"Etiquette" is actually just a singular noun. It's kind of overarching to apply to all forms of being polite/prim/proper/snobby. So the sentence might be better written as: "She was sort of scared of Cress when it came to etiquette, though Cress no longer tried to give her lessons in manners."

The second part of the sentence, with the "no more" part, reads better with "no longer," I think. (Don't change it if you disagree with me--this is just a suggestion!!) And I changed "of them" to "in manners" because "etiquette" is no longer plural. But that's just another suggestion.

Rest assured, that was the only sentence that stuck out to me. I won't try to butcher any more of your writing, I promise! :)

Oh, and when Cress is moping around in her room, she reminds me of Sherlock Holmes. I like the comparison of those two. :D

'Til next time! (And again, I'm so sorry that it took me forever to review this chapter.)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm so sorry for the wait... I was getting busier every day and had little time for HPFF. :(

Haha, how can I forget you??? Your reviews are always so helpful and lovely to read...!! :D And also they are long and perfectly phrased. :)

Yeah, I agree with you. Cress's reactions made things worse, but I think we can't really blame her. She doesn't even know why her mother changed and that's what makes her furious. :/

Exactly! There has been something brewing under the surface. And for really long. There MIGHT be more such explosions, be warned, but they will inform you more of Cress's backstory surely. :)

I myself love Teddy/Vic! But I wanted to add a little romance to this story or it would've been way too dark, but couldn't really decide on the pairing. There wasn't any option than Teddy/Cress actually, so I just went with it in the end. I'm so glad you think that sort of works! I can't wait to write more about them too. :D

Don't worry, I have the whole thing carefully planned out! ;) Surely a happy Cress will continue with the investigation right from the next chapter and you'll learn more about the reasons behind Teddy's suspicion.

Okay, will correct the errors once I get a little time. :) Thanks for pointing them out! I don't like having typos at all.

Cress? SHERLOCK HOLMES??? Wow, he's like the best detective I've ever read! Thank you thank you! You're too sweet. You make me blush. :)

Thanks for another lovely review dear! You really made my day!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #25, by Infinityx The Unexpected Guest

8th May 2014:
WHOO. CLIFFHANGER. See. This is why you deserve that diadem!
(I hope this extra review makes up for being late with you request. Not that I'm reviewing this only because of that reason. I was going to review this anyway. Okay, I'm going to shut up now and continue with the review.)

I love how the main focus of this chapter is on Cress and her family. (What happened to her father though? I'm sorry if you've mentioned it earlier and I've just forgotten. Sorry!) I keep getting sidetracked. Anyway... I love the central concept of this chapter. You've done an incredible job of fitting in each of the elements in such a seamless manner, and shifting the focus from the mystery to Cress' personal life.

Her mother and sister don't seem very nice. But then again, the line expecting her to leave any moment and not returning until dinner indicates that they just don't like how her job cuts into family time. Maybe they just miss her and don't know how exactly to convey it. But I can't help but feel sympathetic for Cress.

Hmm, I wonder what problem Alison is in. You've kind of confirmed my suspicions about it being related to Ginny with you A/N. :D This plot just keeps getting more and more intricate!

Veronica. I don't really know what to make of her. Why does she disapprove of Cress' job? I mean, I kind of get that her mom doesn't like it for some reason. But her sister, who was once so close. Even her? But she wants help and goes around telling her friends about Cress' profession. That's really weird. I can't wait for your coming chapters to get to know some more about Cress' backstory.

Oooh, Teddy/Cress is beginning! He's such a sensible and sensitive guy. He'd be good for her. OHMYGOSH. Teddy's mother wants to kill his future love interest. Oh wow. That is twisted. I can't wait to read further!!

Why did Cress' mom do that though? Teddy's reasoning about her disapproval of Cress' job makes sense. But why would she lie to Cress? Why? AGH. SO MANY QUESTIONS.

THAT GINNY IS AN IMPOSTOR. Even though I suspected it, that final line made a huge impact anyway! Why do you end on such a cliffhanger and then not have another chapter up? :( I can't wait to know what happens next!

I love this story. Update soon! And please do tell me when you put the next chapter up!

~Erin

Author's Response: Aah another lovely review from Erin!!! :O I just can't deal with this. I can't! This review is so beautiful... :'( Thank you thank you!!

Haha I just can't resist a cliffhanger! ;) I'm sure you're going to come across many others in the future chapters. I'm just glad you are enjoying the endless cliffies at least until chapter five!

Yeah, I thought Cress's problems do deserve more than just a mention. And also they might also be connected with the case! You can never tell. ;) No, I haven't said anything about her father before. She doesn't know anything about him right now.

I promise more will be revealed about her mother and sister in the next few chapters! Alison is a part of the mystery as I've already said. Her problem is planned to be explained in the seventh chapter. :)

Veronica is a complicated character. She doesn't even know why she is taking her mother's side than her sister's. She has her own reasoning which will soon be revealed, but she's definitely not a 'bad person'.

I'm so happy you think they would be good together! :D I was a little worried about that as people seem to be liking Teddy/Victoire. But Teddy/Cress is my favorite non- canon ship. ;)

Aww I'm so sorry for doing that to you dear! I've planned the whole story but I just don't have time to write an update! That's pretty annoying. :(

Anyways, I promise I'll have a chapter up soonish if I have enough time this weekend. The next chapter will be focused on why Teddy, Ron and Hermione think Ginny is an imposter other than Cress's family. I'll let you know when it gets validated!

Thanks for the totally unexpected, kind and beautiful review! You made my day twice! ;)

Ashwini


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>