Reading Reviews for Misconceptions
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarlightAsteria Protective

18th April 2015:
Hi!

I really like your whole story, actually. You've made Severus witty, human, and I don't think I've ever read a Hogwarts-era about Harry from Severus's perspective, and I think it's a really original idea that's very well handled. His struggle to control his opinion of Harry is actually really touching, and I can completely see the canon Severus thinking those things. I did find it funny how you implied that he's a better head of house than McGonagal, and the same goes for every Severus-Lockhart interaction.

I really successful story, I think, so well done!

Celi xxx

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16 Adversative

16th April 2015:
Hello again. I'm here for my second review!

I love how Snape is so outraged by the mistreatment of Harry, and furious at Dumbledore for allowing him to continue to live with the Dursleys when he seems to have known how bad it can be. I love how Molly cuts in about the cupboard. I can't imagine how Snape would have reacted if he'd found Harry locked in the cupboard... And Minerva's comment to Molly cracked me up about her having enough children under her roof, as if one more will really make that big of a difference. And Harry has his own money anyway so she doesn't have to worry about affording his books or anything.

I very much enjoyed the conversation between Snape and Dumbledore where they both call each other out on their failures, Dumbledore for not looking more closely into Harry's home life, and Snape for bullying and allowing his own students to bully Harry. And I think it was awesome how Dumbledore basically gave Snape an ultimatum about how he will treat Harry from now on.

I am so glad Snape gave the Dursleys a piece of his mind, and even attempted to teach Vernon a lesson by locking him in that tiny cupboard. Maybe now he'll see it's not so fun. At least none of them received pigtails from this encounter, they should be grateful for that.

i'm so happy that clearly Snape has decided to put aside his ill will toward Harry and start seeing him as not just James' double, but also Lily's son. I think that's what really changed his mind most of all, when he realized he wasn't honoring Lily by his own mistreatment of her son.

I really enjoyed Snape's reaction, and surprising approval, of the Burrow. Although he's clearly right in thinking that it would be a good place for Harry to grow up. But I still wonder what that "other option" might be. Would Snape ever consider taking Harry in himself? That would be weird, but a very interesting read. It's very nice to see him caring for the boy though, makes me want to cry a little bit cause it makes me so happy. Although I love his cracks at the twins, and how he doesn't want Harry being influenced by their delinquent ways, that's just hilarious!

Great second chapter, hun! I wish I could read more, but I will definitely be back eventually to continue this.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16 Unresponsive

16th April 2015:
Hi! Sorry I'm late, but I'm here to give you some Hot Seat Reviews!

First of all, I thought this was a really great intro. I thought you kept Snape, McGonagall, and Dumbledore very in character, especially Snape in his attitude towards Harry.

I like how you begin with a familiar scene, the scene where Dobby visits Harry and gets him into trouble with the Dursleys by causing a lot of ruckus for them all. Although I thought it was Mrs. Mason who was covered in pudding, not Harry himself. And I can't believe they did nothing when he broke his arm, I'm just assuming that's what happened, and only continued to lock him up instead of getting him proper treatment.

I love the section with McGonagall and Snape in Dumbledore's office. I think it would have been hilarious to see McGonagall fetch Harry. She didn't like the Dursleys from the beginning and I can just imagine her reprimanding the Dursleys until they see just how stupid and cruel they've been all these years, but of course that's not what this story is about.

I love Snape's reaction to the truth though, and the insight he gives into his past encounters with Lily and Petunia. And his shock when he finds out how Harry's really been treated the first eleven years of his life and how he's been locked in the room for who knows how long, unable to leave except to go the loo twice a day. Although I'm really glad he decides to take matters into his own hands and remove him from those terrible circumstances. I'm very curious to see what he does decide to do with Harry after he gets his arm fixed up.

Again, I'm so sorry I'm late on these, I've just been pressed for time. I hope to at least get one more review in tonight. And hopefully soon I can come back to see where this story leads.

Great first chapter though!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hogwarts27 Protective

22nd February 2015:
Hi, thanks for posting another great chapter. It was a thoroughly enjoyable read.

First, I'll point out one minor thing in case it happened during the editing you mentioned in your author's note. At the start of this chapter you describe Snape and Riddle well enough, but when you first mention Harry, there's no description of what he's doing or where he's located in the chamber in relation to the basilisk. Adding that little detail would help orient the reader better to the action at the start of the chapter, instead of relying on the reader to know how the scene goes from the books. I'll also say the part where Riddle disappears when the diary was destroyed felt a little rushed. I think you were just trying to get past the part of the story readers know from the books, but I think another sentence or two to describe Riddle's demise would be good there. And perhaps a sentence or two to show Riddle's rage after the basilisk is killed.

I enjoyed the way Snape interacted with Riddle though, and refused to be intimidated by him. And I always enjoy the masterful way you manage to take the reader into Snape's thoughts, as you did with the scenes that followed. I always enjoy a good Snape-Dumbledore scene. Those two just play off of one another really well, and you portray them both well. It sounds like we'll be treated to another Snape visit to the Dursleys soon, which I'll be looking forward to that, along with whatever else you've got in store for us. I am thoroughly enjoying this marvelous story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lady Asphodel Protective

12th February 2015:
Hey! A new version! :D

This one is definitely much better. :D I enjoyed it a lot more! I love how Severus' protectiveness over Harry is growing, and I can imagine how relieved Harry felt that Severus didn't really abandoned him. I never grow tired of their care for each other blossom and then grows to its full potential.

One thing I just wanted to point out, you misspelled Ginny's name in the fourth paragraph - third line.Other than that - again, it was an enjoyable read! I look forward to your update! Always!


Oh - and thanks so much for the shout-out! ^_^




- Asphodel

Author's Response: Yea!! I'm glad you like it! I so like this version much better!! Didn't notice the Ginny thing...must have been sleepy when I was typing! LOL!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hogwarts27 Deductive

9th January 2015:
Terrific interation between Harry and Snape. Snape's dialogue was nicely kept in character. You have a real knack for writing him. And I really enjoyed Snape being drawn into the chamber escapade. Very fun read!

Author's Response: Aww thanks! Lots more to come! Keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hogwarts27 Presumptive

9th January 2015:
Lovely chapter as usual. I very much enjoyed the journey into Snape's thoughts, and the interaction between Snape and Dumbledore. A very enjoyable read!

Author's Response: Thanks! I love the relationship between Snape and Dumbledore and wish JKR would have been able to show more of that in her books.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lady Asphodel Deductive

9th January 2015:
Interesting! :D


As we both know, Harry has a hero-complex to not do anything to save Ginny. ^_^


It's great how Harry had Myrtle reach Severus for help, even though he continued on into the chambers anyway. :D


I can't wait to see how you will write the sequence with Harry battling the Snake with fawkes!



Again, very happy of your return! Update soon please! ;D




- Asphodel

Author's Response: Heh...Harry just has a complex. Period. LOL!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lady Asphodel Presumptive

9th January 2015:
You don't know how happy I am to see you're back and updating again! :D I missed you!

And now that you returned with two chapters (I read both of them over at ff net) I enjoyed them both immensely! I just love how Harry is starting to rely on Severus and that Severus and letting his guard down bit-by-bit. (I could never get enough of that! :P)

I see you're about to draw to close this story... I feel it the way how you're speeding through canon in the second book. I mean it's not a bad thing. I gotta say, you stayed pretty-well paced through this story!


Now... I maybe wrong... but are you going to continue on after the school year for them is over?

If you don't, I still love this story very much! And I hope to see updates from "Out of the Ruins."


Thanks so much for writing this! I'm glad to see your stories appear first in my faves! ^_^





- Asphodel

Author's Response: Heh! Sorry about the long break. I got myself a job that took WAY too much of my time. But I am starting a new one Monday that will fix all that! So keep expecting more from this and "Out of the Ruins".

I am definitely not stopping this at the end of COS. I already have lots of ideas for some POA!


 Report Review

Review #10, by StarFeather Presumptive

7th January 2015:
Please write next chapter ASAP. Your AU story is really amazing!

Author's Response: Aww thank you!! I have much more planned! I hope you keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #11, by StarFeather Perceptive

7th January 2015:
This is the best AU story I have ever read so far! I really enjoyed confusion of Snape between ignoring affection for Harry in his mind and a sudden impulse to protect him.

Author's Response: Best. Review. Ever. You make me smile!! I have coming very soon!! Keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #12, by TidalDragon Adversative

7th March 2014:
Hello again!

I'm glad to see that Harry got placed with the Weasleys as opposed to some other arrangement. I think that result seems more natural than other potential options, despite the focus of the story.
I also like that you had Dumbledore challenge Snape's behavior toward Harry, which I have always found unjustifiable, as well as making the catalyst (I think) behind Snape's possible changed attitude going forward the fact that he may start to see Harry as "Lily's son" as opposed to a copy of James (not that I think James was a bad person, quite the contrary, just that I think this makes it more believable from Snape's perspective).

I found the dynamic between Snape and Mrs. Weasley interesting. They seem to be polite to one another and even cordial, which seemed a bit odd to me given Snape's past as a practitioner of the Dark Arts and a reformed Death Eater.

Aside from that I just noticed that occasionally there is some non-standard speech slipped into dialogue by adult characters, examples being "Soo" at the beginning of the chapter and "pretty much" somewhere else by Snape. Just be careful of those when you're writing because they seem like either typos or OOC for an adult character under the circumstances.

Hope you keep going with this as the story idea has good potential!

Author's Response: Thanks for the read & review!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TidalDragon Unresponsive

7th March 2014:
Howdy!

I am a fan of AU fics and this one intrigued me. I'm trying to push myself to read more out of my "comfort zone" and Snape turning out to be decent to Harry would be big for me because I've never come around to liking him partly because he remained so cruel to Harry for no legitimate reason.

At any rate, I was glad to see that despite the premise of the story you did not immediately cut through Snape's negative feelings toward Harry and the disdain he felt toward having to help him. I think that part was helped on by the way you tried to carefully portray Dumbledore in the scene where Snape is tasked to search for him. It was also a bold move just to write Dumbledore in my book. He is such a unique character with unique language and mannerisms, so I am impressed you're taking a shot at him (personally I always avoid him because I think he'd be incredibly difficult to get right).

I do hope that Snape's concern at Harry's condition does not morph too quickly into the positive, mentoring relationship you mention in the summary as I think that might be a little rushed. Still, it's good to see a glimpse of a more human side of Snape this early in the story (since its AU before 2nd year). I'm interested to see how that relationship evolves and how Snape overcomes the misconceptions that are the inspiration for the title of the tale.

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I hope you keep reading and continue to love what you see!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lady Asphodel Secretive

2nd March 2014:
With every progressing chapter, I just keep falling more and more in love with this story! You do such a fantastic job with getting into Severus' head - you should like write an encyclopedia about him. :P


Anyways, it's always cool to see other people's point of views on certain events (in this case, Snape) and I can't wait to see where else you'll take with it. :)


Glad to see you updated by the way, and hope that everything is alright with you!


I am eager to read your future chapters! :D





- Asphodel

Author's Response: Yea!! Lots more to come!

 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyEPotter Unresponsive

1st March 2014:
Hi!

Poor Harry. He doesn't ever seem to have an easy time at the Dursleys and this time it wasn't anything that he had done! Poor Hedwig in being locked up in her cage. I can see her not wanting to eat what he had given her until she realized that was all he could give her.

Ouch! I really don't understand why the Dursleys can't be even a little bit nicer towards him and the isolation that he's feeling is heart-breaking.

I can just see Snape's face when Albus suggests that he check on Harry because he isn't writing to his friends. It's interesting to see Snape's viewpoint of Harry change as he learns just how unlike James he is in many ways and how Harry is treated by his relatives.

Why didn't the Ministry send another owl about Harry doing magic when Snape was there? Did Dumbledore send a note to them stating that one of the professors was going to check on him?

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 3 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thanks for the read and review!! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by anythingcouldhappen Unresponsive

1st March 2014:
Hi! I'm reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

Right off the bat, the summary for this story got me really interested. Such an interesting concept to write about! Of course Snape is so complex that any story he's in (as long as he's well written) gets more interesting.

And I think you did a good job of writing Snape so kudos to you! He's just the right amount of nasty Snape we know, while still clearly getting upset about Harry's situation with the Dursleys.

Your writing flows very well, and is quite easy to read. There were just two parts I think you could improve :)

"So Harry had been locked away in his room, a cat flap, in order to pass meager food rations through" The sentence here is kind of confusing. At first it sounds like Harry's room is a cat flap.So maybe either split the sentence into two, or re-word to make it a bit clearer.

"heavy rod iron bars" Here I don't think you need "rod". It does't add anything to the description of the iron bars.

Overall, great job! This is so interesting. It's always fun to see one of the many what if's :) Hope this helped!

Sam

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!! I hope you continue reading and enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hogwarts27 Secretive

21st February 2014:
A great chapter. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I liked the writing from Snape's POV. It was completely in cannon character. And it was a nice touch to invent a few ailments that could happen from the ingredients missing from Snape's potion supplies. I look forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the read & review! I'm glad you are liking it. I hope you keep reading!!

 Report Review

Review #18, by theblacksisters Unresponsive

8th January 2014:
I'm quite interested already in this story, but it distracts me if unusual abbreviations (sp?) or the '&' symbol instead of the word 'and' are used.

Author's Response: I'm sorry that confuses you. The "&" sign is actually a pretty commonly used symbol.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Lady Asphodel Afflictive

8th January 2014:
This was absolutely perfect! umph! :wub:


I so love your writing and your Severus... and your Harry!


I love the subtle change in Severus and his growing care for our Harry! Please do hurry and continue! I want to read more now! :D


- Asphodel

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch!!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Hogwarts27 Afflictive

7th January 2014:
Hi. I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter. It's on my 'currently reading' list. I spotted it as it was coming through the queue, and opened it right away. Your writing is great. And I enjoyed Snape very much in this. I also like how you described the Slytherins as opportunists and explained why. That makes so much sense! I'd never thought of it that way.

I also enjoyed reading your review responses. They were such fun. I loved the one about your 8-year-old explaining Snape and Death Eaters to you! Maybe she'll take quill in hand and be writing fanfic herself here in not too long! Too cute!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so glad you are liking this. I have lots more awesomeness planned so keep your eyes peeled! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hogwarts27 Perceptive

24th December 2013:
This was another nice chapter, perhaps my favorite so far. I liked the conversations of the staff, and it was nice to simply have a pleasant relaxed re-telling of the quidditch game from Book 2. I liked your decision to have Snape decide he'll have nothing to do with Harry, so that he'll have to fight his growing sympathy for him. It's fitting for him to struggle with those emerging feelings rather than just automatically give in to them and have a change of heart so easily. That was one of the things I was going to point out in my earlier reviews but didn't - that I thought Snape was transitioning too quickly and easily into liking Harry. To have Snape firmly resist the transition feels much more realistic and in keeping with Canon Snape.

Author's Response: Yea!! Thanks!! I promise that the struggles and conflict with continue! I hope you continue to read and review! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hogwarts27 Disruptive

24th December 2013:
Hi, I'm still enjoying this story, even though you're writing Snape a bit softer than I like to see him, even for one of these AU stories. Still, you're doing a better job of keeping some reserve and gruffness to his character than a lot of other authors I've come across who attempt a story like this, and I do commend you for that.

My favorite part of this chapter was when you explored Snape's thoughts about Lucius, Draco, and the quidditch brooms. The logic you used was really good, it fit well with Canon, and it was an interesting read.

And the way you described Snape in the last paragraph was absolutely perfect for a story like this - where he thinks of children as little demons but on the other hand feels strangely lonely. I could absolutely see that as Canon Snape. Just lovely and wonderfully bittersweet.

Author's Response: I really had trouble writing this chapter as I pondered how to do this chapter so I am glad the Lucius/Quidditch situation worked out for ya! I actually talked it over with my 8 year-old who actually told me that rich people did stuff like all the time and if Snape had said no then he wouldn't be thought of as a Death Eater anymore. LOL! (I may be giving away too many of my secrets here...but yes...I bounce ideas off my kid! Tee Hee!)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Hogwarts27 Adversative

24th December 2013:
Hi again. This chapter was a very enjoyable read. I especially liked the part with Snape at the Dursleys where he could be his usual edgy self. And locking Vernon in the cupboard was a hoot! What a fun scene. I didn't notice any flaws with your writing. It feels pretty polished. The descriptions feel just right, not too much and not too little. And the sentences all flow nicely. The dialogue feels pretty authentic and believable too, though Snape is out of Canon character in the places where he's being AU and concerned about Harry. But I think you're doing a commendable job trying to strike a balance between an edgy cold Canon Snape and an AU Harry-protecting Snape. Personally I don't like to see much softness in Snape at all, even in one of these AU stories where he's Harry-friendly, but that's just my own taste, and everyone has different ideas about where to draw the line with that. Overall you've done a great job with this story so far, and I look forward to reading more of it.

Author's Response: Aww thanks. I have really been struggling in trying to keep Snape in Cannon as much as possible since that has always been my biggest pet peeve with other stories that I have read. It is rather difficult since we normally only see him in the ways that he treats Harry and that is where he changes the most in this story, but I will do what I can! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lady Asphodel Perceptive

11th December 2013:
WWOHHH hehe!!! Awesome! :D

Update soon!


- Lady Asphodel

Author's Response: Hee Hee!! I have some challenges to get to, but am working on this & "Out of The Ruins" when I get stuck on the challenges! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Lady Asphodel Disruptive

30th November 2013:
Oh... my... gosh... XD


I am sorry, I can't seem to start off a review without saying 'OMG.' :P


Such an excellent delivery - this chapter here! :D You know, what I should have done a long time ago... was suggest this story not only just on the forums, but on a couple of other fanfiction sites that I know loves some HP and Severus/Harry fics at that! XP


I am loving how Severus conscious for Harry is developing, and vise versa for Harry with Severus.


Awaiting with your next chapter! ^_^


P.s. you had one error, look below.


"I'm am" - the part where Harry stayed to apologize to Professor Snape... and when he told Severus about seeking for Hermione for help with his potions homework... you'll see when you read it. ;)



Again - love this story! :)



- Asphodel

Author's Response: Dang typos! LOL! My mind definitely works faster than my fingers! Ha Ha!!

Definitely feel free to recommend away! I love readers!! (Especially if they are all as great as you!!)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>