Reading Reviews for When A Siren Calls
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 11 - Confusing Presents and Diagon Alley: Part 2

11th December 2014:
I'll be honest, I kind of wanted Kataryna to be touched by water so she wouldn't need to keep her secret from the Marauders. As for the necklace Lily gives her, is the tune the one she sang as a Siren? And the presents her friends got her are so fun! I don't know if Hogwarts students can just head down to Diagon Alley, but the instance was so much fun to read I don't care.

--Georgina

Author's Response: I know, it would be so much easier if they found out just then but still, the story wouldn't progress to where it was now :) And the school didn't let the boys go to Diagon Alley, they snuck out of the castle.

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 10 - Diagon Alley

11th December 2014:
I realize it's just filler, but I still love this chapter! Actually, I think I mostly love the presents bought. They really seem to fit the different characters, that's something I really like to read about.

--Georgina

Author's Response: I enjoyed writing about the presents they got each other as well, they really did suit each person individually :D

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 9 - Fabulous News

11th December 2014:
Can't seem to get rid of me, can you? ;)
Ooh, more story line! I really like how cautious her mum is about the suitor, she's really being considerate to Kataryna in that way. Goodness, thy have a big house! I seriously laughed at Marlene's excitement throughout the chapter.

This was really cute!
--Georgina

Author's Response: You'd think that Marlene wouldn't be that excited at her having a large house because she has a massive house too but the excitement is just too cute! And I think most Mothers would be exactly like Kataryna's, being cautious about a new man in her life if her kids don't like him :D

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 8 - Nightmares, Christmas Holidays and Private Sketches

11th December 2014:
Kataryna's mother sounds a lot like one of my friends' mothers. Not that that means anything, just something interesting. The nightmare was very realistic, though, I liked this a lot batter than the last chapter. I also really liked Sirius' reaction to what his brother did, it seemed very canon.

--Georgina

Author's Response: I loved writing Kataryna's mother in this chapter, she's so lovely :)

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 7 - A Mum's Letter and Reckless Bravery

11th December 2014:
Huh, well that piece of spell work was uncalled for. Why doesn't Kataryna put up some of a fight, if she could almost do human transfiguration surly she could at least be a minor force. Oh, well. Still interesting enough to entertain me.

--Georgina

Author's Response: Kataryna (in my mind set) was still too much of an introvert at this point to stick up for herself. She's more likely to stand there and take it instead of saying anything or deflecting the spells. That's why they were confident enough to cast the curse on her, because they knew she wouldn't respond.

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 6 - Concussions, Apologies and The Halloween Ball

11th December 2014:
I know this story may make you cringe since it was your first, but I'm not here to judge any quality of writing; I'm here for the story! And yours is an incredibly interesting one let me say. Not too much romance to make it ridiculous, not so rough to make it not entertaining, not so fluffy and easy to make it boring. Just enough of everything.

I don't know if you would agree with it, but that's what I think (at least at this point)
--Georgina

Author's Response: Thanks, it's alright if you want to read it but there are some points later on (and I think from other reviews) that make me cringe when I see someone's reviewed it :) If you like it, then carry on! I'm more than happy with that!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 4 - Confrontations, Comfort Eating and a Marauder

11th December 2014:
Hm, do I see some Reamus/Kataryna here? I love how you make the characters a mix of goodness and darkness and very human. I love Kataryna diving into the chocolate ice cream, anyone would need it at that point.

This is one of my favorite chapters thus far.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Haha, a lot of people were saying how they could see a Remus/Kataryna in this story :) but I had a bit of a Sirius/OC fascination (read; obsession) when I wrote this story :L

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 3 - The Longest You've Talked Without Mumbling

11th December 2014:
Aw, Lily is so kind! I can tell her genuine care for others, especially those who need it. As for Sirius, he really deserved that. If I were Kataryna's friend, I'd tell her to calm down and breathe a little. Your characters are so fun and enjoyable and believable.

I really like this story. Continuing on.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I can't believe you're actually reading this story, it makes me cringe, haha!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #9, by Freda_and_Georgina Chapter 2 - Great Hall Complications and Lustful Creatures

10th December 2014:
Goodness, that girl's got a rough life. She is incredible real and tangible and Sirius is just so sweet to her! But, at the same time you are seriously tugging on those pity heartstrings. The poor girl! At least Lily is not too overly nice; she's real but at the same time nice. I really like how you have Lily, I know I would vow to myself to at least learn more about this girl if she were in my class if not befriend her.

Really like it! I'll be continuing on.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Yeah, I think I have really pulled the pity heartstrings... maybe a bit more than is normal. But hey, it was my first story on here. Still makes me cringe like mad though, haha!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ina Chapter 33 - Epilogue

25th April 2014:
Hi there.
I've just finished your story and have a few small criticisms. I was wondering why Kataryna did not change when in the shower? And I think you could get the story edited and maybe make a more dramatic ending. I hope you find this constructive and I'm not coming off as a b*tch. :) I really loved your idea with this story.

Author's Response: Hello :)
No, you're not coming off as a b*tch at all! Trust me! Thank you for reviewing and the only reason that I didn't write anything about Kataryna changing in the shower is that I thought it was obvious that anytime she touched water that she'd change so I didn't think it was all that important but to include it really but I'll make sure to clear that up when I have finished my other story and start editing in the future :D And as to the ending, I didn't want a dramatic ending to the story if I'm honest because I had an idea of a sequel but I didn't want to leave this story on a massive cliffhanger just in case I abandoned the idea of writing a sequel in the end :D
~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Rowan Chapter 29 - Is That It?

23rd April 2014:
This whole thing keeps bothering me, why doesn't she ever run away to the other mermaids in the black lake. just go to them when you're running away from everyone else! But other than that, its a lovely story.

Author's Response: She's still not comfortable with the whole mermaid thing so she's not all that ready to run to the mermaids in the Black Lake because that would mean that she'd have to turn into a mermaid. She' still quite scared of it, no matter what she says otherwise. Thank you for a lovely review and I hope that clears things up :D
~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rowling82 Chapter 33 - Epilogue

22nd April 2014:
Dearest Aimee,

Thank you so much for writing this story! I also feel empty without it, but it happens to all good stories! I started this yesterday and read like 25 chapters yesterday. It was THAT good. I hope you wrote a sequel. This is brilliant! Especially for your first fan-fiction! I bet others can't write that good for their first fan-fiction! You also gave me a whole new perspective on Sirius! When he died in mrs.Rowling's fith book, I got over it in like 2 minutes. Now I feel really bad on how much I thought of Sirius once he died. And don't go around apologizing for it! I want to thank you for it! Thank you for giving me a new perspective on Sirius. I bet nobody could do it better than you, so thank you again!
Thanks for everything!

Love from
Callista G.
xxx

P.S. I am going to but you as favourite author (if I can figure out how to!)

Author's Response: Callista G,
You are very much welcome! I'm glad that you really enjoyed my story so much, I've been feeling a little on the fence about it lately if I'm honest but it's reviews like this that make me want to keep the story up.
Thank you very much, I was a little worried that it would appear really cheesy and messy given that it is my first fan-fiction and the Marauder Era was really hard to write about because of the fact that it was quite a sombre time :)
Sirius has to be my all time favourite character that JK Rowling wrote because of his past and how well he treats Harry and I was so upset by his death in the fifth book that I just had to write about him! I'm glad that my story has changed your perspective on him :D
All my love and adoration for such a lovely review
Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #13, by a_me Chapter 24 - It'll Be The Longest Year of My Life

23rd March 2014:
your storyline is ridiculous... this was the last chapter I'll read

Author's Response: good for you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pbe Chapter 33 - Epilogue

26th February 2014:
couldn't stop reading this! it was amazing! please please please write a sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) I'm still undecided at the moment so I don't know when I'll actually write my idea down but people are wanting a sequel so I'm being a little swayed :D xxx

 Report Review

Review #15, by pennydrop Chapter 33 - Epilogue

22nd February 2014:
I loved this story from start to finish :-) I had kinda hoped she would end up with Remus, but she works well with Sirius! I also whole heartedly support the sequal idea (hint hint), I know I would read it and leave you reviews. Well done!!
Pennydrop :-) x

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy that you liked the story! And thanks I'm really starting to like the idea of a sequel as well ;) Thank you so much for a lovely review! xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by Neha Chapter 33 - Epilogue

21st February 2014:
but what in Ry's life after that.i mean did they live together. plz write a sequel. WRITE IT NOW...PLEASE.

Author's Response: I think I might, I mean I have an idea but I'm not entirely sure about it yet :D I'm taking it as you liked the story then? haha :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Damian Riendeau Chapter 29 - Is That It?

5th February 2014:
Please keep writing before I die

Author's Response: Please don't die! haha:L Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by isiriuslylovesirius Chapter 29 - Is That It?

5th February 2014:
I really love the idea and the plot line for this! Ive read the whole thing so far and ive always been wanting a mermaid sirius/oc story! I just wish Ry wouldnt result to yelling in all her arguements cause it makes her look childish lol. Overall, good job so far!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You are like the first person who actually commented on the childish-ness, I kind of wanted her to be portrayed like that :) xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by AussieLottie Chapter 22 - The After-Effects of a Night with Firewhiskey

17th January 2014:
OOPS... IGNORE MY PREVIOUS REVIEW

I just gave wrong information, I confused myself.
Go to your "Account" then go to "Edit Personal Information" and then it gives you the option to allow anonymous reviews!

Hope this helps.
~AussieLottie

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #20, by AussieLottie Chapter 23 - You Are Definitely Mine

17th January 2014:
Another good chapter! :)
Maybe not the most 'in character' thing for Sirius Black to say... But it is fanfic after all...

Concerning your anonymous comment question... If you go to your account and go to the manage stories section, you can edit the story and then there will be the option for who can comment.

Hope this helps!
~AussieLottie

Author's Response: Thanks :) xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by bridget02 Chapter 22 - The After-Effects of a Night with Firewhiskey

15th January 2014:
I'm dying this is so perf

Author's Response: Please don't die! Haha:L Thank you!
xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by a_me Chapter 21 - Extreme Truth or Dare

14th January 2014:
ur story is getting rushed and sloppy i hope it's better with the next chapter or i might have to stop reading

Author's Response: Cheers for being honest on the speed but I've already written the rest of it but thanks for actually commenting on the speed for me.

 Report Review

Review #23, by AussieLottie Chapter 19 - Hogsmeade: The Date

12th January 2014:
Oh goodness... You need to update now, ASAP! I've been reading this all evening and am feeling so happy inside! It's a really novel idea and I'm just loving Sirius and Ryn. :)
The date was absolutely perfect! You portray Sirius' cheekiness wonderfully while still showing that he likes Ryn too! I'm very pleased James and Lily are together now!! But it is high time Sirius and Ryn get together!

Just a tip for reviews... Maybe change the setting so that anybody can leave a comment, regardless of having an account as that can be annoying for people who are too lazy to log in... ;)

Once again, I love how you're writing this story so far!!! Update soon! I'll be adding this story to my favorites and hoping for an update.

~AussieLottie (10/10)

P.S. You have been using "seen" in your story in the wrong way. I think you mean seeing. That was the only Teeny tiny thing I have to complain about. :D

Author's Response: Thank you!! I was a bit worried that it was all going too fast! Would you know how to change the settings? I'm still trying to figure things out at the moment, would be extremely helpful if you could explain it? Thank you! Ooh, I'll go back and read it, I think I'm too excited about uploading that I miss things :L Thank you for reviewing and loving my story! :D
Aimee xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hufflepuff1997 Chapter 1 - Introductions

31st December 2013:
Hey! I'm love love loving this story!!! The character you've created is really interesting and I love the unique backstory you've given her :) Keep it up!!
HP97 X

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you so much!! I read so many stories where the heroine is a werewolf but then I thought it would be interesting for her to be a Siren :D xxx

 Report Review

Review #25, by JMarie_MischiefManaged Chapter 13 - Flying With Sirius

19th December 2013:
Hey there! kudos on the great story, haven't seen one quite like it before. I'm really loving Ry's character and how you write the marauders. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you're enjoying it! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>