Reading Reviews for Starfall
  
362 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverPatronus Daybreak

11th January 2015:
Are we allowed to write HP fanfics on NaNoWriMo?

Author's Response: Well, I did it!

On a more sincere note, yes (there's even a fanfic section on their forums). The point is just to write; considering one doesn't win anything but satisfaction, it doesn't matter a great deal.


 Report Review

Review #2, by RelentlessFire Daybreak

8th January 2015:
You've written an incredible story, I bet you would be proud! Heck I'm proud of myself for being one of your readers. You are so worth all the compliments. I have a feeling that Thane is very much connected to the Malfoy name, and that Scorpius (even if dead) will play a huge part in Oblivion (Chalice+Vail=?) I'm looking forward to read Oblivion.
Congrats again, you deserve it
Giulia

Author's Response: Can't lie, I'm pretty proud. And yes! Be proud too! :D Guess we'll see about anything from Scorpius in the future, but Oblivion marches on.

Thanks a bunch for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Guest Daybreak

7th January 2015:
I will soon leave a more thorough review but for now I will make a prediction.
Lockett, I reckon, is in fact a double agent like Snape was. Of course, you're probably not going to confirm or tell me i'm completely wrong either way- I am very excited to read Oblivian. You're a fantastic writer with a brilliant plot and in depth characters.

Author's Response: Lockett as a double agent is an interesting theory - no, you're right, I'm not saying a thing. Oblivion marches on, so I hope you continue to enjoy! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sisyphus Daybreak

6th January 2015:
It's after the first of the year!
*hits refresh*
Hope you had a good holiday.
*hits refresh*

Author's Response: Hey! It's been a good holiday! I see you've seen my author page! ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by RelentlessFire Or Fordoes Me Quite

4th January 2015:
Oh thank goodness Matt is alive! I can't wait for them to get to Venice! I can't stop reading.
Giulia

Author's Response: Stuff will be fun in Venice! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by RelentlessFire That Either Makes Me

4th January 2015:
I can't believe it, after everything they went through Matt died, there has to be a trick.
This chapter is literally: impossibly good!
Giulia

Author's Response: It was a fun chapter to write. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by RelentlessFire Leap of Faith

4th January 2015:
The whole intricate historical parts fit incredibly well with the story, you're such a great writer!
I'll read the next one
Giulia

Author's Response: I had to make up so little, it was pretty fun to integrate it with the story. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #8, by RelentlessFire The Witching Time

4th January 2015:
I'm reading and it's so satisfying to occupy myself with a story this good, again! I've missed it. I'm so excited about the location of the Chalice, that I'll keep this review short and directly jump to the next chapter!
Giulia

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, and glad you're back and reviewing! Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #9, by RelentlessFire The Darkness and the Light

30th December 2014:
I'm so sorry I haven't read anything in ages! I had the worst end of year at school, I've been really frustrated lately. So good to have this many chapters to enjoy, while at home on break!! I'll get going then, I have a lot to read ;)
Giulia

Author's Response: Ha, no worries, just glad you got to it now, and sorry to hear about your time at school! I hope you find the story a fun diversion on break. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by prettywishes Daybreak

10th December 2014:
After a crazy semester I finally got a chance to sit down and finish this up, and it was all rapped up perfectly. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT LOCKETT was involved with them, but at the same time it's not exactly something that surprised me either. It just makes that whole moment between Scorp and her that much more like.tearjerking? Also really shocked that he died, though I think that it was all done very well. I can't wait to see what happens in the next one, I'll be keeping my eye out for it!

Author's Response: Lockett's always been a mysterious one, in her way. She's got her motivations and her plans, and we'll find out why she's done the things she's done at some point in Oblivion.

Which, speaking of, will be starting early in the new year! Just getting to work on a buffer and post-NaNo editing. :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Endless_Forms Daybreak

3rd December 2014:
You are so mean. Even so, you are a fantastic author and I have greatly enjoyed your works for these two fics. I absolutely loved the intricacies and the myriad references to world history in this. It was truly fascinating and better than most published works I have read. Thank you for your hard work and I look forward to the conclusion!

Author's Response: I am mean, this much is very true. I'm glad it was entertaining, though! I've enjoyed my research for this, even if it's mostly been to the almighty Wikipedia and the odd Google-bash for extra information, so it's been a hijinksy adventure I've had a lot of fun writing.

Thanks a whole bunch for reviewing, and for your kind words. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rani Smith Showdown

1st December 2014:
Normally I commend you for thinking of every possible situation, but here, why couldn't they have simply apparated?

Author's Response: At which point? They couldn't apparate out from inside the 'boundaries' of the Rabbit's Foot (including the courtyard), and once they were outside the boundaries they were in the middle of Muggle Monte Carlo - hence Rose's bluff that Thane wouldn't start a fight in public.

Or do you mean a different point in the chapter? I can't pretend to be flawless, there will be likely logic gaps somewhere in the story. Cheers for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Enantiomeer Daybreak

28th November 2014:
Dear Slide,

I have really enjoyed both the Ignite and Stafall stories. About the death of Scorpius I was wondering about a detail in your story line. This concerns the Chalice of Emrys. Since Scorpius was holding it when he fell through the veil it would be fairly logical to assume that he would still have the chalice in the afterlife. Wouldn't this then enable him to come back to the living world by simply drinking from the chalice? After all, there is enough proof in the Cannon that death in the HP world is not necessarily a permaent condition.

I know this might sound like an overly romantic view. Nevertheless it would make for a great plot wist, especially when introduced at an unexpected point in the next story.

Author's Response: Canon would imply death IS permanent once you ARE dead-dead (I would say Voldemort avoided outright death and got caught in the middle a lot, as did Harry, though as I've had to use the term 'dead-dead' I do concede your point). The Chalice of Emrys thus far has been presented as a power on a par with the Philosopher's Stone (for immortality) and records imply its powers of reviving the dead are pretty short term. Matt's recovery was stretching it, though he was admittedly right as rain within hours of being DEAD.

Scorpius drinking the Chalice would require the capacity to do so in the afterlife (if he moves on, Fred implied heavily that the Beyond is a different, more abstract place), and for the Chalice to work the same on both sides. Remember it isn't just a healing device, it is a bridge between the realms; when in the realm of the living, it makes one more alive. What does it do in the realm of the dead?

But all I'll confirm is that you've got good questions. Certainly I didn't kill Scorpius in this way for no good reason, whatever the consequences of that are. So... wait and see!

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #14, by harrietm Daybreak

26th November 2014:
Congrats on finishing another epic installment of this trilogy! I haven't reviewed many (if any) chapters of Starfall because I've been shamefully lazy, but my goodness reading this novel has been a fantastic ride. Really cannot compliment you enough on your writing style, character development, grammar, and general awesomeness. And I cannot wait for Oblivion - in which I'm sure you'll keep us all guessing until the very end! :)

Author's Response: Very glad you've been enjoying yourself through the story, and thanks for coming along to review! I don't need the reviews but I like 'em nevertheless. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #15, by scorprose Daybreak

25th November 2014:
When the chalice could bring back Matt from the dead, why shouldn't Scorp have a chance. Plus Selena's hinting towards Rose and Matt is just not sitting right. With Lockett (many readers are going to keep their fingers crossed hoping Lockett is with a plan) suspense thrown in the hope for seeing Scorpius back is still going good. I am damn pretty confused and dying to feast my eyes on Oblivion. Wishing these days in between to fly away soon. Anyways exams are going to keep me busy. I often sit daydreaming about Scorpius return from the veil with books in hand. Argghhh. I just love all ur characters (Except Matt maybe - the thick head is pretty much waiting to win back Rose). Good going. All the best with Oblivion.
Happy holidays.

Author's Response: Matt drank from the Chalice, but the Chalice is lost with Scorpius, so... it would have to be used very differently to bring Scorpius back!

Selena is a cynic, and her own worst enemy sometimes - even if she's right about the writing on the wall, this is within weeks of Scorpius' death, and she's pulling away from the two of them? Matt isn't plotting anything, I'll give you that for free, but he's not over Rose, so make of that what you will.

Guess we'll see how it goes down in Oblivion! See you in the new year!


 Report Review

Review #16, by whykay Daybreak

23rd November 2014:
And.. am back. NAT? NAT?!! Okay. This is fishy and awfully interesting. She has been associated with them for the 'past year' includes Phlegethon, but surely she didn't make a hash and cry about it to find the cure for the heck of it (and she was not supposed to find a cure, innit?) - so, since Eridanos and Scorpius? Or is Thane a double agent? What about Cal-bear? Nat has come a LONG way then, since the war. A LONG WAY.

My heart still beats for Scorpius and I trust you - as you ask! You have always killed off the characters I didn't like and I love Scorpius. So I did the math and I will see him alive in Oblivion.

I don't want to comment on Albus and Rose coping except that I don't think Rose will move on so quickly (cuz Scorpius is coming back) and I do certainly hope that if she does, Matt is not Scorpius' rebound in any manner whatsoever and Selena's reading of the 'writing on the wall' is wrong.

I do hope we see more of Eva Saida. And Albus' journey. And you have lit up a cracker of a prologue for Oblivion. And I am waiting... Cheers!!!

You should really consider de-magicking the trilogy once it is done and publishing it as original fiction. I am very serious!!

10/10 always!

Author's Response: Nat HAS changed a lot since the war. What she's doing here will hopefully make sense when the whole story's out, but we've got a long way to go, and a whole lot more secrets to uncover, before we get to that point.

One of these days I had to kill off someone you liked! Maybe he's the exception who proves the rule.

Selena is a keen observer of people, so there's probably some merit to her seeing writing on the wall. On the other hand, she's also her own worst enemy, as evidenced by her ALREADY getting distance from Matt and Rose; talk about leaping to conclusions.

Eva Saida and Albus, whether in the same place or not, will be seen in Oblivion, guaranteed.

I don't think I could de-magic the trilogy! Or, de-Potter it. For starters I'd have to make this actually a hunt for the Holy Grail, and while I've drawn on Grail mythology I've also in places explicitly sought myths which WEREN'T about the Grail.


 Report Review

Review #17, by mossdagane Daybreak

23rd November 2014:
First of all, I did'nt review in a long time and I'm sorry for that. Your chapters, each one, were all amazing. The emotions of each characters were well described, and believable. The evolution of each of them was perfect. But the death of Scorpius let me sort of dumb. I did'nt really realised at first. It seems unbelivable that one of the main characters die. I read the last book of the divergent series and I feel the same way. I had to reread to understand because it seems impossible and unrealistic. I undersood he was dead reading the next chapter and one of your autor's notes. I hope he will come back because he had the chalice with him. I can't believe otherwise.The last scene was very well done, a good introduction for the next book. Who is the mysterious person behind all this? Who was the spy ( Astoria?)And what is doing Natalie Locket in all this? She fought the diseases and seemed to respect Scorpius. I had the feeling her mission has something to see with Scorpius. Anyway, your fic was amazing and I can't wait for the next book. And I trust you, believe me, I know that the tird book will be fantastic, no matter what.

Author's Response: There's a lot more to come of the death of Scorpius. Aftermath and consequences. So it's okay to feel cut off at the pass, or a little misdirected, because the story isn't finished yet, you don't need to make full sense of it yet.

So many questions, though! Astoria is a favourite candidate for our face in the flames, but we'll see more of her, and more of Nat, in Oblivion, for certain.

Thanks for reviewing, and see you in the new year!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Orange Daybreak

23rd November 2014:
Oh my God. What an end :) I hate and love it at the same time. I can't believe Nathalie Lockett is the traitor. And I can't wait to read Oblivion!
Thank you so much for the great book that Starfall is! I really liked this book - you are an amazing writer and I enjoyed reading every chapter!

Author's Response: This is the middle of a trilogy, Stygian's Empire Strikes Back; it was never going to be easy or kind. :D We'll see more from Lockett in the future, and the hows and whys of what she's doing.

Thanks for reviewing, and the kind words!


 Report Review

Review #19, by EarthsTrueGreen Daybreak

23rd November 2014:
I'm so glad your taking this two years into the future. I was thinking that that was what you might do to allow for a cool off period for the characters. As for Lockett was she the one who told where the five were or was that someone else who is working for the Council and they just brought Lockett in to work on this project. Cough cough which I believe is to somehow bring Scorpius back to life because he was part of the ritual for eridanos making him the tool that the council needs and their only option. Because if that's the case yeah I can totally believe that Lockett would sign on to this project considering her and Scorpius relationship. But if she isn't the one to turn them in the I think it was deffinetly Selena's mom who did it. That woman just doesn't sit right with me and I think she was the face in the fireplace. As for the story, good ending I still have hope for Scorpius to cone back, you have put him in an indispensable position with the council so... Also Matt needs to get a life, how crummy would it be to always be the second best. Seriously dude work on your feelings because your not going to compare even if Rose does actually give you the time of day again. Also love your a/n im presuming that's your way of saying you've got it covered. Anyways thank you for the fascinating story I spent many of days checking for updates from you and I can't wait to start reading Oblivion after the new year.

Author's Response: Couldn't comment on what Lockett's up to, either in her own motivations or in what the Council's up to. Lillian Rourke is an interesting guess on the Face in the Fire; nobody's cited her before!

Matt's going to have a tough time always competing with Scorpius' ghost when it comes to Rose. Some day he'll find his own path, maybe, but he's got a long way to go before he gets over the girl, especially now setting himself up to be her rock and shoulder to cry on. Whether Rose ever reciprocates... guess we find out in Oblivion.

A cooldown period between the stories is necessary. How long was up for debate, but it's always been between a year. Technically it's winding up 2 years, 4 months, but the specifics of the duration aren't THAT important. A While Has Passed.

And you bet I got it covered. ;)

Thanks for reviewing, and following the story this far!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Whimsical Diva Daybreak

23rd November 2014:
Oh man! It's over? But ohmigod - that was a brilliant, brilliant, brilliant story, and what a fitting end.

It's funny, I rooted for Matt/Rose all throughout this story, but when it finally looks like a possibility, I'm just going meh. It's also nice that Eva is redeeming herself, after a fashion. It'll also be interesting to know what Albus is planning on doing - surely he's got to be more decisive and assertive in the next book!

I can't quite bring myself to believe Lockett was the spy - but I wouldn't put it past her to work with Thane to bring Scorpius back. Also, while I don't think the face in the flames was Draco, I'm starting to believe it could be Gabriel. It'll also be interesting see how Thane's story ends - while with Eva there's a definite possibility that during the course of the next few years, she might turn against the Council in full earnest instead of staying neutral, with Thane it's harder to predict. I guess he'll just see which direction the wind blows and plot his path accordingly.

Anyway - it's been one hell of a journey - literally. Starfall will always be special to me, simply because it's been a constant source of a much needed distraction and comfort during a chequered year in my life - completion of grad school, unemployment, infidelity, relationship breakdown, employment at a crappy place followed by employment at a really good place. The year's not over yet - it looks to end on a high, but it's been turbulent and there've been times when reading a new chapter made my day immeasurably better, so thank you, thank you, thank you for that. And just thanks you, for writing what's in my opinion the best HP fan fiction. Starfall's going to be a touch act to follow, but I'm sure Oblivion will be every bit as brilliant as this, if not more.

Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Thanks. I mean it. For the praise, for letting me know my writing's had an affect on people - I do try to take it seriously, even my 'silly little fanfiction'; I try to make it solid storytelling. And I want solid storytelling to have an impact. Sometimes that impact's just to entertain, and that's enough, but if it's entertained in tough times then I'm proud. I'm glad you've found decent employment; I feel you on the toughness of life sometimes. 2012-2013 beat me up pretty good.

But with Starfall - you've been one of my sharpest critics and I want to say I appreciate that, genuinely. I've not always agreed with your critique, but I usually have. It's nice to hear when I'm doing good; but knowing when I've missed the mark makes me square up and aim better, even if it'll only do me good for next time. That you've been a sharp critic while still enjoying the story has been pretty much best of both worlds. All the better to work hard for an appreciative audience.

Matt/Rose - Selena might be observant, but Selena is sometimes also her own worst enemy, and does what she has to do to protect herself. Not to mention that Matt and Rose might not be the world's best idea with Rose's grief over Scorpius. Guess we'll see.

Thane always has his own agenda, which we'll get an explanation of in Oblivion. I guess we get an explanation of pretty much everything in Oblivion, and we will certainly be seeing more of Gabe. So... as ever, we'll see. Especially with Albus. In writing Oblivion-Albus, it's clear killing Scorpius is the best thing that's ever happened to make him more interesting.

Anyway, thanks a whole bunch, again. And happy holidays to you, too!


 Report Review

Review #21, by razorlight. Wander Forth the Sons

22nd November 2014:
I literally read both parts of the Stygian Trilogy in the past 3 days, so sorry for my lack of reviews.
I just wanted to let you know that the depth of your characters is quite impresive and i'm looking forward to reading more of your work. Also, the last chapter made me cry. A lot.

XX Tina

Author's Response: Hey, I'll never object if people are main-lining my stories. Reviews are nice but not essential and you're here now! Glad you've enjoyed yourself, and I'm not THAT sorry at making my readers cry. It's kind of what I'm here for. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by kayleefrank Leap of Faith

22nd November 2014:
As much as I love your stories, stop trying to teach me things! I kid of course. You make learning things I'll never remember fun. You should be a teacher. Thanks for the great story!

Author's Response: I will never stop putting topics of my nerdy interests in my stories! I'd be a terrible teacher, I have zero patience, but I like reading and writing about history. Glad it's been entertaining to read! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #23, by yellowpetals Wander Forth the Sons

18th November 2014:
First of all, hello :)! I'm a first time reviewer, but I have been with this trilogy from the very first chapter of Ignite you posted. I'm addicted to it. I generally don't feel like reviewing stories, but I have an itch now, so here it is.
I dare say I took last chapter quite well, there were no tears, no return of the endless sadness that followed methuselah's death. Because I am certain in my heart of hearts that Scorpious will come back because he always does. Because even if I am scared that we might not even see or hear from him during the next book at all( depending on what dead people in the realm of death do in your book), I must believe he will come back.
But this chapter, oh this chapter got to me and got to me hard. Because even if I can choose to deny what happened for now, then poor Albus and Rose can't. Their grief right now is true and as raw as it gets. And who can keep their heart closed and not sympathise with such tragedy.
Ah...
Well, anyway, I wanted to get this off my chest in a hope it will get a bit more bearable. And to say how beautifully I thought you've wrote this story so far. And to tell you that it's appreciated even if not everyone leaves a review to show it. So thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for coming from the ether to write me a review! I appreciate all readers - I'm just glad people are enjoying themselves - but it's good to know what you're enjoying, or just to get a little reminder you're out there. But I know it takes extra time to write these, so I do appreciate it. Reviews don't come naturally to me, either (so apparently I write them huge, which makes me less and less inclined to write them, but that's not the topic here).

There's more to come on the nature of death, death magic, and the bridges between the realms of the living and the dead in the next book, which is all I can say to people's hopes of resurrection. Nothing in this world is easy.

But no, Rose and Albus can't see such a prospect, can't imagine it. It was tough to write, meaty and satisfying but tough. I'm glad it was effective for readers, and thank you very much for your kind words. I do know the silent masses are out there, my read count tells me so, and I appreciate all of you anyway, but thank you a bunch for taking the extra time. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #24, by EarthsTrueGreen Wander Forth the Sons

17th November 2014:
I have never cried over a piece of fanfiction before, but this chapter broke my heart and made me cry twice for your character's heartache. Good update can't wait for the last chapter.

Author's Response: I do put these poor kids through the wringer, don't I? I'm not sorry it hit you in the feels. I hope they were good, cathartic feels, mind. Else I am a bit sorry. Last chapter Incoming. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #25, by kaeliebear Wander Forth the Sons

17th November 2014:
I had a feeling it was the future that they were seeing in Ager Sanguinis, I had just really hoped that I was wrong. He's not dead, he really can't be. it's not possible and I refuse to believe it!

Author's Response: Sirius Black taught us that falling through a Veil was hazardous to your mortality. Scorpius Malfoy has learned that same lesson, I'm afraid. And it was the plan all along from Ager Sanguinis.

All things happen for a reason. Cheers!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>