Reading Reviews for Starfall
398 Reviews Found

Review #1, by water_lily43175 Daybreak

10th November 2015:
Chapter the last, YEAH. Am I awesome or am I awesome?

(Let's pretend Oblivion doesn't exist yet. Still determined to reach the stage where I can be the first to review the last chapter.)

The fact that Rose has just lost her boyfriend and Selena is sitting in exactly the same boat is just GRIM. I mean, Scorpius isn't dead, so poor Selena's gonna be left on her on again, but at least for now Rose has someone who can say "I know how you feel" without sounding fake about it.

Eeeesh, getting bad vibes from Matt's attempts at comforting Rose. DON'T DO IT MATTHIAS.

Oh, Eva. Oh, ALBUS. She obviously does care, to tell him she didn't give them away. She obviously wants them to find who betrayed them. Which I still think has to be Draco. Who else knew they were in Venice? hmmm... And will Al take not of what Eva's told him once he's less angry with her? Is he ever going to BE less angry with her?

FACE IN THE FIRE WHAT WHO IS THIS. Draco? Astoria? Someone else who knew they were in Venice? And NATHALIE LOCKETT WHAT IS GOING ON HERE?! Since when has she been involved with things? IS she involved with things? Oh god and now I don't know what to think and I was supposed to be going to BED after this and I'm really glad I wasn't reading this at real-time now because WHY?

OH. And Rails has ten more chapters than Starfall, although admittedly about 90K less words, does that count as longer or shorter? I don't know how Rails ever ended up at 64 chapters, either. And now I've just depressed myself because 250K words took me 3 years to write, and you rattled out out 340K in basically a year. Note to self - must do better.

SO. Look at me, finishing Starfall. A most EXCELLENT sequel, except for the part where you pretended Scorpius was dead. Oblivion next. :)

Author's Response: Hey, year late or no, this IS a review of EVERY chapter when I would not have judged you for reviewing 1 in 3. ;) You've got at least a month, I reckon, until Oblivion's Epilogue gets posted. Maybe more if I cross the posting of final Oblivion chapters over with the posting of initial Not Fade Away chapters (I think I will, once Oblivion is basically in its dramatic equivalent of Starfall's 53 and 54, which will be more chapters because there's all that ever after to cover BUT I digress).

Yeah, it's horrible that Selena can support Rose well because... she's been there. Scorpius is super dead, so they really can bond over this mutual loss - but it does mean Selena's equipped.

Matt... isn't going to be exploitative. Maybe dumb. He's good at dumb.

Eva absolutely DOES care about Al. If she didn't, she probably wouldn't have betrayed the Council and basically ruined her life. She likes the Five, but it's Al who's made her change, which will be explored a whole lot more in Oblivion, of course. But right now, Al is in no condition to believe her. It's too SCARY, really, to believe her, and he's in too much pain to want to consider anything but the easy answer.

Draco is a good guess on who told about Venice. And YES, welcome to the Face in the Fire mystery! And the 'why is Nat involved' mystery! It was even worse reading this in real-time because there was about a month between end of Starfall and first chapter of Oblivion.

To be fair to my productivity - or to yours, rather - one would be lying to describe my lifestyle over the last two years as 'busy'. Oblivion has got done as quickly as it has because I was mad keen to finish it before returning to uni, and it got the focus of both NaNo and Camp NaNo. Not Fade Away will have a significantly slower publication rate!

Scorp's dead, bay. Scorp's dead. Thank you for all these reviews, it's rare for Starfall to get new love these days! People find Ignite still, but that's it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by water_lily43175 Wander Forth the Sons

10th November 2015:
I like the backstory about Malfoy Manor and Hermione. But we've discussed this before, we share thoughts on attitudes towards the past, so you know this gets a thumbs up from me.

Something else that gets a thumbs up from me is that you have an alive Lavender. You have NO idea how much it annoys me that everyone assumes she dies in canon because of a questionable camera shot in DH2.

Oh christ, the vision from Ager Sanguinis. GUH, that broke me to read first time round, all those millennia ago, and you make me experience it again and this time it's REAL? I mean, Scorpius OBVIOUSLY isn't dead (because the more I say this, the more true it becomes) but Rose and Albus' grief is just the WORST. Especially Albus' because the poor kid is just going to tear chunks out of himself for the rest of eternity. Or at least until Scorpius miraculously reappears. His talk with Harry and - especially - Ginny gave me all of the feels.

Beautifully written chapter. You should write books for money.

Author's Response: I *do* write books for money. Just... not a lot of money. ;-)

Yeah, the Malfoy Manor is basically me flipping off people who want to disregard the entire history between Draco and the Trio for fluffy Dramione or insensitive Scorose. Here Be Issues.

I'd forgotten I mentioned Lavender. No, screw the movie shot being treated as canon; my take is that if she'd been dead, the books would have mentioned it. And it's important that Hermione SAVES her, I think, not that the sense of brutal futility continues.

Yep, Scorpius' death has been fated since that Ager Sanguinis scene. Well, it's been fated since the conception of the Stygian Trilogy, which lands everything squarely on Al and Rose's - especially Rose's - shoulders. Really, Rose is Oblivion's protagonist. But Albus is absolutely screwed up by losing Scorpius on top of the Eva betrayal. It was good to reconnect him with his parents through this.

 Report Review

Review #3, by water_lily43175 Wrongs Darker Than Death or Night

10th November 2015:

Except I got a little bit sad when Jen said about helping Rose because it reminded me about Nick. Even if he was a tool who was just in the way of Gannifer.

So, need to try to remember what happened here. There's a new plague, well that wasn't a surprise given what Downing said. Scorpius was supposed to be a vessel who survived Lethe and ... was immune to it so would carry on living life happily? Except I can't imagine the Council letting him go free. But they weren't going to kill him because Draco told them not to. So confirmation that Draco is involved with the Council. So he DID give them away as being in Venice.

And then Scorpius died anyway, by accident. And he's taken the Chalice through the Veil ... so much necromantic energy stuff happening.

AND YOU KILLED HIM. I can't believe that. There's no way he's dead. You haven't just killed Scorpius Malfoy. HE LIKES CAKE TOO MUCH FOR YOU TO KILL HIM. Oh man I don't know what to think any more!

I get Lillian's point about processes but she does get on my wick a bit with her total unflexing insistence on stamping her authority. I GET HER POINT but her daughter was just saved by these guys. And if even Hermione is okay with it then Lillian should really chill.


Author's Response: YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW LONG I HAVE WAITED TO TORMENT YOU WITH THIS CHAPTER. Okay, well, all one needs is the post date and I guess you know, but it's been LIKE A YEAR.

Poor Nick. He died too soon and too conveniently traumatically and I'm still not even sorry.

Unhelpfully, Scorpius learnt a LOT right before he died. So the stuff about the plague is guess-able or can be found from other sources, but he's taken Draco's betrayal pretty much through the Veil with him. Scorpius would have likely been immune to Lethe the same way the Five-minus-Matt are immune to Eridanos, but noo, the Council wouldn't have just let their prisoners be on their merry way when they were done.

Scorpius is most definitely dead. Going through the Veil makes you dead. He's SUPER deaded. I'm not even lying here.

Lillian... has her reasons for being the mistress of uptight. They're not necessarily good reasons, but we'll see more of her character in Oblivion. Some of it is fear, some of it is, as Jen highlights, simple pride.


 Report Review

Review #4, by water_lily43175 Ashes, Ashes

10th November 2015:
Oh Albus. Poor, poor Albus.

Is it just me who thinks Scorpius is BEYOND an idiot for agreeing to do what Thane wanted of him without asking what it was? I'm getting bad feelings about this.

And as for Thane ... his motives have suddenly become weird. He's spent all this time being self-serving, giving off the air that he wants to be the man in control, and now he's calling Raskoph "sir" and generally bowing to the Council's whims? Weird. Unless he secretly has his own motives and is just playing along, which wouldn't be at all out of character. Either way, he's got Eva summed up.

And it's so sad to see the Five react to Eva now they know about her. True, she tricked them, but ... well, she hasn't really betrayed them per se. And she's certainly a fairly changed person now. The fact she wants to help them save Scorpius just says it all.


Author's Response: Poor Al. I'm mean to him from here on.

Now I have to re-read my own chapters to recall the nuances of why my guys do things. I probably could have had Thane reiterate his point, but after he Stunned Albus, Scorpius is pretty worried that if he doesn't cooperate, his friends will get hurt. He has half a handle on Thane by now; he knows he likes to PLAY chivalrous, but when the chips are down will turn cruel.

But you're right that there's a definite shift in his behaviour, though. He has his reasons! Which might not make sense until all of Oblivion is over... but yes, at the least, he's MOSTLY got Eva sussed. The one thing he's not figured is that she'll continue to act against him; she's changed so much he can't anticipate her. It would have been alien to the Eva he last met to directly oppose him.

The Five believed Thane when he said Eva's the one who sold them out; considering she was a spy, that was eminently believable. Of course, her offering help kind of muddies the waters.

 Report Review

Review #5, by water_lily43175 In the Pale Moonlight

10th November 2015:
I loved so much of this chapter. Except for the end bit where Thane turns up. WHAT THE HELL. But back to that.

The Matt/Selena conversation was lovely. They're both hurting, they both know they're hurting, and they hope they can help each other through it. Lovely. And I went to the Rialto Bridge, go me!

It's odd to think about Rose and Scorpius going back to Hogwarts. I can imagine they'd almost struggle to adjust to a relationship in a school environment, after what they've been through. So nice to see them just being able to enjoy being in each other's company, finally.

And Eva. Oh, Eva. You've written her arc so wonderfully, to the point that I'm so sad at the thought that she has to run, to change her identity completely, and hide from everyone she's ever known. Would the Ministry, and Albus in particular, forgive her for her role in the Council if she'd decided to go with them? Who knows. Possibly you ... (that's a hint ;) ).

Course, now she's bumped into Thane, she's not going to be able to keep any of it quiet.

Sexy times naw. Poor Albus, kid's gonna end up messed up.

And THANE IN VENICE oh god don't tell me Draco's thrown them under. GUH.

Author's Response: I have two regrets about things I didn't do in Starfall: I didn't have a fight on a train, and I didn't have an awesome, Casino Royale-esque action sequence in Venice. At conception, the gang's capture was going to be way more dynamic, but Eva's plotline took precedence, and Eva's plotline needed a more sinister, less Michael-Bay touch (for the more Michael Bay touch, you want Fire Extinguisher, Ignite's parody).

The Matt/Selena conversation was so HARD to write. Because there's so much left in between the lines on them, it was really difficult to find the perfect balance.

It would, definitely, be super tough for Rose and Scorpius to adapt to school life and a school romance. I mean, it'd be SUPER CUTE, because Scorpius would so intentionally play up the stupid teenaged stuff for his own amusement and to wind her up. But after this level of intimacy, the Hogwarts restrictions would be tough. So while they have a few months yet, they're aware this is a bit of a Last Night.

Eva's arc is one of the favouritest things I've written. :-D tbh, she probably COULD get amnesty right now, if she came clean with the Ministry and gave up the various Council secrets. But her instinct is still to put survival as her priority, and it's too much of a risk.

And here comes Thane to wreck the day! SOMEONE sure as hell threw them under a bus.

 Report Review

Review #6, by water_lily43175 Or Fordoes Me Quite

10th November 2015:
Selena's absolute terror of having to witness somebody else die is just heartbreaking. Whether it's just a fear of losing a friend, or whether it's because Matt is becoming an increasingly special person to her ... you know, I don't. Either way, it's a good thing the Chalice DID bring Matt back because I don't think I could bear to see poor Selena bereft again.

The Scorp/Nat conversation was just so adorable. Yay Nat!

Wondering what Draco's reaction to Scorpius' note will be. Wondering when Eva will be unmasked. Wondering what is to come in Venice. Five chapters to wrap things up? HMM. Remember when I said I wanted to get to Venice before I got to Venice? And I was there nine days ago. So I failed. It were really lovely though.


Author's Response: I don't think even Selena knows what's driving her. Certainly there is A Bond with Matt, and she already drew a comparison between him and Methuselah after the dragon's fall in Tomar. All she could think, really, would be, 'Not again.'

Scorp/Nat have such a lovely relationship.

Five ROLLICKING chapters to go. Venice IS lovely, isn't it?

 Report Review

Review #7, by water_lily43175 That Either Makes Me

10th November 2015:
Okay, so the trial intrigued me a lot. Was it deliberately set up so nobody could pass it? Rose's thought that she was the world's worst Gryffindor did make me chuckle. But Selena turning it all back on the Guardian was amazing, she's incredible when she's being driven by emotion.

Lisa, oh Lisa.

I imagine this was a pretty grim cliffhanger, like, a year ago when you posted this chapter (I really am a terrible person. A year?! How the hell did I not even manage to catch up on stuff last winter?) but given that I read about half an hour ago that the Chalice brings people back to life, and Selena happens to have the Chalice, I'm gonna say Matt lives. Or rather, gets resuscitated. Unless it's another fake Chalice. HOME STRAIGHT.

And then another damn fic.

Author's Response: It's like I write too much. IN MY DEFENCE you're a year behind. ;)

The Trial was supposed to be pass-able. The Templars who left Portugal to go looking for it, the ones who left the Cat Island clue, found it, passed the Trial - and had an 11th hour realisation they were wrong to try to return the Chalice to the world, so joined the guardians. They basically underestimated the power of what they sought until it was too late.

So the guys could have passed it, but the Trial was also kind of douchey. Not rigged so much as loaded against them. The two real 'failures' which have merit are that Albus' courage and sense of decency truly ARE untested - he's never had to face real sacrifice for doing the right thing - and Rose has been wilfully oblivious on occasion. Rose's one is harsher because it's judging her on who she used to be, but there is one very important fact she's choosing to ignore, which is where it's got her.

MORE fake Chalices! No, if that happened, I would not have posted more chapters, because some reader would have rightly hunted me down and kicked my hands off. :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by water_lily43175 Leap of Faith

10th November 2015:

Eva's impulsive kiss there seems to say a lot more to me than perhaps it's meant to - for someone who wanted this kept quiet, who isn't full of sentiment, to go in for a cheeky snog before she takes up guard to protect the others does come across as somewhat of a big move for her.

I love the idea that they have to pass a test before getting to the Chalice! Although I agree with Selena - yet more righteousness from a group of people who thought they were good and pure and in reality were just as corrupted as most of humankind.

Author's Response: Starfall is basically a love letter to nerdy history lore.

There's certainly no calculation in kissing Al right now. It doesn't much help the manipulation (although it probably makes everyone else think their relationship is real), but you're right, she's not much one for sentiment. Shows how high she thinks the stakes are - she knows full well she might die. And yet, she's choosing to risk it!

Selena always has a point when it comes to identifying someone's hypocrisy. ;) But we will get to that.

 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 The Witching Time

10th November 2015:
Many many mixed feelings on Astoria. Was she wrong? Yes. Were her reasons for leaving understandable? Yes. Could she have done more? Yes yes yes. She was definitely acting for her own interests and not thinking about Scorpius, regardless of anything else she says.

Poor Scorp. One parent who is actively horrible to him and one parent who just abandoned him.

I love the Selena/Lisa dynamic. Selena obviously thinks she's got the measure of her, and she's not wrong in knowing there's SOMETHING ... she's just very wrong in what the something IS.


Author's Response: I am GLAD the reaction to Astoria is mixed. I feel mixed about her myself, though intellectually I know I should view her as a victim of Draco just as much as Scorpius is. Draco abused her, and when she ran, she knew he'd use Scorpius to keep getting to her - so she had to cut off. It's one of those ideas which only got more and more horrendous as I explored it.

But Scorpius has some serious attachment issues because of it.

Selena could be a serious threat to Eva's cover - but maybe in a few years, or with an actual clue. And thankfully for Eva, she realised soon enough that she's the one she needs to handle, more even than Al.

 Report Review

Review #10, by water_lily43175 The Darkness and the Light

10th November 2015:
Oh, this Al/EvaLisa stuff is what I've been wanting, and now I'm kinda upset it's all happening, because there's no way Albus is going to come out of this without having his heart broken into a million pieces. Even if Eva IS being genuine in her feelings towards him. And I swear to god, if she DELIBERATELY breaks his heart (other than the part where he finds out who she was before) I'm gonna hate her. So much.

Naw, James being nice big brother. I want to see more of your James when he's being nice to Albus, if that's even a thing with Stygian James. :P

Oh Rose. Good on her for finally coming clean to Scorpius, and she's lucky he understood her completely. Her little speech to Matt was just ... GUH. All of the feels.

Author's Response: Yeah, Al is being set up for the biggest of falls right now. 'tis kind of inevitable, poor guy. Eva's manipulative, and trying to manipulate, but getting romantically involved with Albus is a dangerous move to further her plans. Sure, it makes her more trusted by the unofficial 'leader' of the Five, but it also opens her up to more easily being found out.

James is capable of being nice to his brother! We just... often see him in the worse light in these stories. This is one of the few times he's depicted as either a bit of a brat or a bit of a brat forced to grow up and resenting it. The boy learned how to survive as a Potter!

Scorose have had their problems with insecurities and jealousies. I wanted the conflict over Matt to be showing how they've *grown* - though it kind of helps that Matt's dying so Scorpius can't really be mad at him.

And I have a soft spot for the backstory of Rose and Matt, partly because I wasn't consciously aware of what a tapestry I was laying out for them as far back as Ignite. This is where here side properly, properly comes out. Pre-Phlegethon Rose was a bit of an immature brat, in her way, and only now can she see what she screwed up. Hector was her rebound.

 Report Review

Review #11, by water_lily43175 In the Dead Vast

10th November 2015:
WAH, I thought Matt had gotten away with it and gotten off the island scott-free ... but no. And, I guess, rightly so. It would be too perfect if he'd escaped. Here's hoping he just stays alive now.

"You canít die now. Those canít be your last words." Merlin's 12+ (still, apparently). I tittered.

And Eva. EVA. Oh you beautiful wonderful screwed up mess of a person. The part where she kissed Albus and then had the "oh snap what if he's not interested" thought was just amazing, amongst all this crazy life-and-death stuff. And a remarkably normal, real-life situation for her for once.


*insert incoherent mess*

Author's Response: Matt is one of my number one woobies, tbh. The boy has to suffer for drama's sake. But also I must apparently extract a cost for every victory.

Scorpius would have had the BEST last words if those Inferi had just eaten him.

I adore, as you will see in Oblivion, littering Eva's complicated, messed up, gritty, GRIMDARK life with mundane anxieties such as 'does the boy like me' or 'did I leave the kettle on.' Mostly hilarious awkwardness with her and Al. They are pretty cute.

 Report Review

Review #12, by water_lily43175 Bad Moon Rising

10th November 2015:
Ah, THIS CHAPTER, I am so glad I'm reading this all in sequence cos I think if I was to be reading it chapter by chapter I'd be going nuts needing the next update. See, I had a plan all along.

The whole time reading this I was petrified for Matt as well. DON'T GET PLAGUEIFIED MATTHIAS. It's gonna happen isn't it.

Eridanos is basically gone? Well that's interesting. Energy from the underworld... Oh snap, so if they find the Chalice that's their energy source and this time it won't run out. Well that sounds all rosy. And controlled Inferi. It just gets better and better!

So Downing is stabbed in the back by Eva, quite literally. Eva? Or Lisa? I mean killing Downing seems a lot like a Saida thing to do, but she was also pretty concerned about the welfare of the Five. Layers upon layers and I LOVE it.

I really hope she's gonna revive Harley and he's gonna be all epic!Harley on us. Yay Harley!

Author's Response: I am pretty cruel with my cliffhangers. tbh someone's said certain parts of Oblivion read better all in one go than serialised into chunks, so you might indeed be being wiser!

The Council is dangerous, but the whole world is uniting against it, and it's only got so many dark wizards on its side. It needs super-weapons like the Stygian Plague to be able to keep up. So keeping Eridanos up while they need to defend geographic locations, not easy! But you're right, the Chalice won't run out and can be kept with them.

I don't think even Eva knows if it was Eva or Lisa who killed Downing. 'Both' is probably the right answer, tbh.


 Report Review

Review #13, by water_lily43175 Landfall

10th November 2015:
Oh man, have I really still got SEVENTY THREE chapters to read? Deep breaths.

Ew, creepy Inferi are CREEPY. I'm going to be having nightmares about them now for sure, THANK YOU.

I continue to love Selena, so so much.

Eva's going in? Interesting, very interesting. I can't see how they're going to get themselves out of this one, especially Matt who has no immunity. But then, there are seventy two more chapters to go, so clearly at least SOME of them survive.


Author's Response: Seventy Three? Jeez, I write lots.

Depiction of Inferi in this chapter were based off an experience I had in a horror LARP. Loping white monsters stalking me through the woods at night. IT WAS BAD, YO. So you get to share my pain.

Selena might be the best character I've ever written. :D

Eva's motivations are becoming hazier, as are the lines between her and Lisa. So she does want to save the day. Of course, she might fail, they might all die, then I write seventy-two more chapters of clowns tossing pancakes.


 Report Review

Review #14, by dumbledore_wannabe The Fallen

30th October 2015:
Just recently discovered your fiction through Ignite, which was just brilliant. And now I'm devouring this one, and looking forward to the last in the trilogy. I haven't left a review before but I have to now... cuz you messed with my emotions like crazy! The bit with Tim was difficult and scary - and then you brought in Fred, who I adore, and how wonderful to see him again but then oh, the poignancy of him waiting for George - and then, this absolute HEARTBREAK with Methuselah. It reminded me of dreams I've had where loved ones were present, and the dream was beautiful, and THEN you wake up and feel that loss all over again... but even worse because Selena had to CHOOSE to feel the loss again. Absolutely heartbreaking.

It is surely the mark of wonderful writing, this ability you have to summon such strong emotions in a reader. Gotta recover from this chapter before I can read on.

Author's Response: Yes, so glad you're finding the story! Not that sorry it's been putting you through the wringer; it's what I write for, after all. The Fred scene was pretty tough to tackle - satisfying, but tough - but the Methuselah one was just heartbreaking. Necessary for poor Selena, important for her progress and closure, but I felt rather guilty when it was done, I assure you!

Have a nice cup of tea and then press on. ;-)

Thanks a bunch for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by water_lily43175 Out of a Clear Blue Sky

27th October 2015:
Oh, poor Matt. I guess, on the one hand, at least his feelings are now out in the open, even if nothing is going to come of it. But to be rejected like that is pretty crushing, especially when he knows they had SOMETHING, even if it wasn't the real deal, and they let it end.

But kissing Rose? Not cool.

And Rose's guilt is an interesting one. She certainly shouldn't feel guilty that Matt kissed her, because that was entirely him. But I can understand the guilt over having to tell him she doesn't return his feelings. But deliberately not telling Scorpius it happened ... yeah, that's a difficult one. Because he WOULD be likely to overreact, and there's nothing to react TO - it's not like Rose is ever going to act on Matt's feelings while she feels the way she does about Scorpius. But the moment you choose to keep something from someone, that's when it starts to get dicey. And Rose's "I love you" coming at that point ... possibly not great. HERE'S HOPING nothing comes of this.

Poor Selena, kind of having sort of feelings for someone who still loves his ex.

FIGHTING INFERI. Exciting! Onwards.

Author's Response: This chapter got so woefully under-reviewed and I thought it was super dramatic, so glad you're here. :-D

Matt is being pretty selfish here. Getting his feelings out in the open is more for his benefit than Rose's, but at the same time, you gotta feel pretty sorry for him. Especially as their relationship not being the Real Deal is something we'll assess going forwards. And absolutely NOT COOL to kiss her.

Rose is having a befuddle of a reaction. It's natural if flawed; she is not responsible for Matt's feelings and there's no way one could say she's led him on. She's not been in the slightest way vague about her devotion to Scorpius. But I see why she doesn't tell Scorpius, and certainly not right away, and CERTAINLY not after Scorpius and Matt have already rowed. Stuff will come of it, but I promise her telling Scorpius she loves him under this... stress will not be a HILARIOUS drama of everyone crying. ;)

Just other kinds of dramas.

Selena's pretty busy trying to figure all of this out and she Does Not Like It.

Inferi to come! Cheers! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by water_lily43175 The Gleaming

27th October 2015:
I LOVE the start of this chapter. Especially this: "perhaps there had been some softness in Draco Malfoy if he could love a womanís smile." Beautiful.

Continuing to enjoy all the nerdy history lore.

It's not at all surprising that Rose has had it out with Astoria. After all, Draco has been a terrible father, and if Astoria has kept away from Scorpius for a reason, he deserves to know what that reason is. Poor kid.

So they're all arguing. That's going to help when they go off to a plague-ridden place on a rescue mission. Sort it out, guys!

Author's Response: You make me reread my own chapter so I remember what I wrote. :P And yes, ALWAYS HISTORY NERDY LORE. Still more to come.

Astoria kind of deserves getting it from Rose. Rose twigged a long time ago that she wasn't just the innocent victim Scorpius has chosen to imagine her as, and while she IS a victim, it's still complicated. But more from Astoria and Scorpius soon!

Yeah, these guys can't go five minutes without having a barney, especially in a Crisis Situation.

 Report Review

Review #17, by water_lily43175 Moonlight and Roses

23rd October 2015:
I was thinking I was getting somewhere with this and I've just realised how many chapters of Starfall are left, not to mention Oblivion, and suddenly it feels like I'm climbing Everest.

I still think Albus is my favourite character of yours. Scorbus is definitely my favourite dynamic. Although absolutely any dynamic with Selena is pretty damn amazing. And I hadn't realised that up until this point Scorpius didn't know the true reason why Albus was Sorted into Slytherin...

And new light (in a way) is shed on the Matt/Rose friendship. Cos, well, there WASN'T one. So, the whole time, instead of just having a friendship to fall back to, they've been having to feel out a completely new relationship between them. No wonder poor Matt is struggling.

Ooh Scorose finally did the dirty! Good on em!


Author's Response: My work is like unto Everest. Sorry not sorry.

I love my Albus, and I'd like to think he only gets better. Though down the line I think he might be one of the least sympathetically flawed of the lot of them; he's occasionally weak in a way the others aren't. BUT I digress. Lots to read. And nope, Albus never had reason before now to tell Scorpius; he kept his cards close to his chest.

Matt and Rose have been pretending they've had a prior friendship to fall back on. They really haven't. Poor boy's trying his best, but Rose has been a bit delusional or downright misinformed about how the two of them interact, so that's not made it helpful.

YES the all important teenaged romping.

BOOM, Astoria.

 Report Review

Review #18, by water_lily43175 A Star to Steer Her By

16th October 2015:
And then Lily proceeds to explain exactly WHY James doesn't have a leg to stand on when it comes to telling Albus off. I won't lie, that night out sounds like a riot. Definitely the sort of thing my James would have done, back when he was all irresponsible.

And I continue to adore your Lily as well.

Very interesting chapter in terms of Eva's position. For someone who's supposed to be integrating herself only to betray the group, she's becoming a lot closer to them than she needs to. Helping Selena out with duelling? That's not necessary. That's Eva letting herself become one of the group, more than she ever planned on. And regardless of whether she's doing it as Eva or Lisa, that's still A Big Thing.

As is throwing Prometheus out of the window. INTERESTING. Breaking free of shackles etc etc.

Author's Response: I do love this Lily. She gets the littlest screen time, but totally makes the most of it. And absolutely points out the hypocrisies of James. I'd be lying if I said Rails James hadn't influenced mine (but a kind of Flanderised Worst Traits James).

Eva is kind of slipping. She has no justification for helping Selena, not as an infiltrator. But at the same time, the best infiltration is the most believable, right? And then cutting, or at least delaying ties with Thane. It's an important decision, just unclear yet what that decision IS!


 Report Review

Review #19, by water_lily43175 Mercurial Matters

16th October 2015:
Look I'm reading a Starfall chapter YAY. Whether I manage to leave those long reviews where I pretend to be all insightful or just 5 line reviews is another matter.

I'll confess, I had to read the last chapter over again to remind myself where we were. And then I went back and read the dragon chapters again, because PUNS. But yes, now it's family time.

You know, right the way through this chapter it's possible to completely empathise with the parents. Because there ARE legal, international organisations which are trying to tackle the Council. But these guys have made more ground than the Convocation, they're able to move about with somewhat more secrecy, and they're not infiltrated by Council members (except they are - here's looking at you, Eva). But nobody knows that. All the same, why should it be a bunch of teenagers who goes off and does this?

Except Harry, Ron and Hermione have no leg to stand on when it comes to that argument, as Rose rightly points out.

I continue to adore your Ron.

Guh I got so excited about a James cameo, but his chat with Albus just broke my heart a little bit. The poor dysfunctional Potter family. I like how we've taken totally different stances with them, in Railsverse Harry and Ginny are pretty emotionally healthy (aside from the daddy issues James had) but you give them a very different attitude, and it's just as realistic. I think in this chapter James has more of a point than any of the parents, in some way ... while Albus is off saving the world, James is having to hold it all together at home, and it's understandable why James should think Albus is being selfish by doing what he's doing. But then James has hardly lived a blameless life, so there we go. Everyone is at fault somehow in this universe.


Author's Response: Holy cow a Starfall review! YAY! Even 5 line review is awesome though. You're further ahead than I'd thought. I thought I couldn't complain about Portugal at you. But I HATED writing Portugal, HATED it. Except the puns.

Yeah, it's tough being the parents here. Especially as they tried to make government better so their kids didn't have to do the same as them. Unfortunately, they can't impact the whole world! And by now, they can't really stop them. They're adults, they have a lead, and a proven track record by now.

I love writing Ron. I kind of want to write more Ron. Or more older Trio in general. But NEVER TIME.

90% of the time, Stygian Harry and Ginny ARE fine. Railsverse Harry and Ginny didn't have to contend with thinking Albus was dead. But yeah, under pressure, Harry and Ginny here kind of run to their trauma.

James isn't wrong, but he's being a bit of a hypocrite, because he was absolutely the firebrand rich kid getting in trouble in the press and public mess. Albus might be causing his parents more grief, but it's for a good cause. James caused his parents years of stress for pretty petty reasons!

But yeah. LIFE IS COMPLICATED in Slide-world.


 Report Review

Review #20, by AriesGirl40 Arisen

2nd July 2015:
Never scrap your scraps. Place them in a scrap folder for future look overs, copy and past snippets you liked. my file is called "Quilting" when the file gets too large, place it on a thumb drive. Just an idea i had that worked out to an advantage.

Author's Response: I do keep a lot of what I've written. Oblivion in particular has a whole project sub-folder of canned scenes - mostly ones I only reworked a bit, but I kept the original 'just in case.' In this incident, as I recall, it was a WHOLE chapter pursuing a plot point I canned completely from Starfall. I wanted to put it into Oblivion. Hasn't even made it that far.

Keeping my scraps has yet to make my Dropbox cry, but we'll see. :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by KjMalfoy Daybreak

27th June 2015:
LOVED THIS STORY.! Wonderfully written & can't wait to read the next book! :)

Author's Response: So glad you've enjoyed! The sequel, Oblivion, is indeed up and being worked on as you read this. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by x-rayLady Daybreak

27th April 2015:
Another brilliant story! With a very confusing ending, though... I am actually a bit afraid to start reading Oblivion, lol. But I al sure I will anyway ;-) And I definitely am going to take a look at your books.

Author's Response: The ending's a little harsh, I must confess. Oblivion's a bit of a change of pace, but I hope you enjoy it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by water_lily43175 Back in Black

24th February 2015:
Ah, yes. Now the families of these guys know they're alive, they're going to try their hardest to get them to go home and stay home, aren't they? Yeah, that's not going to happen...

Matt and Selena's relationship becomes yet more fascinating. Whether or not she has romantic feelings for him, she certainly feels differently about him than she does Albus and Scorpius. Actually not sure whether I'm shipping them or not at the mo.

LOVE all the lore, de Sable's had an interesting life...

Author's Response: Okay, so don't try to type 'Sable' with the accent. Lesson learnt.

Most families would want them to go home. We'll be seeing that NEXT chapter. And it is kind of hard to know, to ship or not to ship Mattena (as I have now decided to call them)? At this point I was very much playing it by ear in the writing. They have a Dynamic, it's just hard to quantify.

The history in this chapter was SO MUCH FUN to write.

 Report Review

Review #24, by water_lily43175 The Fall that Kills You

24th February 2015:
ALL OF THE FEELS. Lisa's reaction when the dragon fell. SELENA'S reaction when the dragon fell. The six are no longer dead! Poor Hermione, put through the ringer like that. And where is de Sable?!

Pretty sure I say this every time, but you do write these sorts of action scenes so vividly, I LOVE it. NEXT!

Author's Response: De Sablé's cheesed it. He doesn't want to be picked up by the authorities. Glad you liked the action sequence, I recall this one being a right bugger to write.

And everyone panics when people plummet potentially to their deaths... drama queens...

 Report Review

Review #25, by water_lily43175 Wing It

24th February 2015:
The puns. OH MY GOD THE PUNS. De Sable still living WHUT. Awesome chapter need moar.

Author's Response: I couldn't resist the puns, and apparently, neither could Scorpius or Matt.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>