Reading Reviews for Starfall
  
272 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Anonymous Landfall

28th August 2014:
This is amazing? Like, everything? I've spent 2 days reading this series and it's so good, IT'S SO GOOD. This is probably the most interesting characterization for Albus Potter I've ever read and everyone is just as perfect and flawed and I love everything. I CAN'T WAIT FOR MORE.

 Report Review

Review #2, by blu Landfall

27th August 2014:
one word: amaaazzing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Whimsical Diva Landfall

26th August 2014:
Sorry, I haven't been reviewing lately. Was a tad busy. Nothing much to say here - just a brilliant chapter. I can guess what might happen... Matt being the only one who isn't immune to the plague... Pooy guy.

Please update ASAP. I've enjoyed this journey of Starfall more than any of your other novels, and I'm certain the denouement will be utterly captivating.

 Report Review

Review #4, by whykay Landfall

26th August 2014:
Exciting! Null magic is a wonderful concept that calls for extreme creativity - a writer like Slide and extreme intelligence - a Ravenclaw like Nat! :) Am simply AMAZED! These things you come up with - well they sound so logical (and never a quick fix solution) for something.. well.. that really doesn't exist (I know we can never know)! :) :D

Rose is safe. She must have lured them into a farm and set them on fire. Thing is - how will she get into the watch tower? Can she apparate in?

Lisa is risking outing herself. But I do not foresee her betrayal now - that has gotto be the climax. Does the sword help in combating Inferi? Maybe yes. Eridanos? Doubtful. Hmm. Will she take benefit of immunity against Eridanos from the sword (if any)?

 Report Review

Review #5, by couldyoureallyknow Landfall

25th August 2014:
Your writing style is so superb. The depth of the characters is impeccable. Amazing! Amazing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by whykay Out of a Clear Blue Sky

11th August 2014:
*I will wait for you*. Oh, that evoked such sadness. You've portrayed Matt's angst beautifully. Its soulful, heartfelt, ripping and poignant.

Rose's guilt is definitely more than just letting Matt kiss her - maybe its because he is a good guy and she ran away from getting in too deep with him.. maybe its only now that she also truly knows it is over and that it can never be... until Matt went *I will wait for you*. oh.. that gives me goosebumps.

Rose didn't tell Scorpius, I don't like lies AND Scorpius is not a sodding idiot.. And I shudder to think what will happen when he does learn of it, as the thing that happened just before Rose Iloveyou'd him. Did it prompt her? Was it guilt? Did she mean to tell him if not for this? Did she mean it? The signs don't look so good. And I have a feeling this will come out, if not in this book, then in the next. (I rem the Tanith-Nick vision of Gabe and its aftermath in the next book)

I do know Rose not telling Scorpius may save Matt from a potential beating, but I also think that it is messing up Rose more. And I don't think it is particularly a good idea to get into an Inferi and other dark creatures infested area with such torturous thoughts in the mind. They tend to distract and oh, maybe provide fodder?

And I got a hint of a grim satisfaction from Selena after her cross-examination of Rose - may be I am wrong, may be it is wishful- but was she glad/ waiting for Matt to get over Rose before anything could possibly happen?

Good going and as always, a great job! And btw, what's a queue break??

Author's Response: Matt's very romantically melodramatic and angsty in this chapter, isn't he? Well, he is a seventeen year-old boy in love. He's also his father's son, and thus prone to being loquacious when his emotions get the better of him.

Rose's guilt is... complicated. A little bit of it is feeling guilty for stuff that's NOT her fault, like Matt's feelings and his actions. It's not unusual for her to feel some sense of responsibility, even if it's unwarranted. And while I let my writing speak for itself often, I would stress that in this case, I think that the only person who's responsible for Matt's actions is Matt (and kissing someone when you know they don't want to be kissed, which he really does know deep down, is Not Okay). Rose will realise this.

But yes, some of it is because, well, she is genuinely fond of Matt, was once pretty crazy over him, and he just gave her an ardent declaration of love. That'll spin anyone's head.

There are pros and cons to her not telling Scorpius. Whether or not it's right, I bow out. Certainly Scorpius has the capacity to be VERY hurt if he finds this out, and especially if he finds out she hid it from him. And especially if he realises this came immediately before her dropping The L Word on him. If/when this is tackled... we'll see.

If anyone came to Selena and told her they were interested in Matt, she'd warn them he's not over Rose. She's smart enough to see that, and smart enough to know that ANYONE seeking to be involved with him should wait. Does that advice extend to herself? I can't really say. But she does have her own non-romantic problems to work out with Matt.

Queue break is me misusing words. Validators on HPFF are on a break for a week or so. Thus, no new updates from me in all that time! I shall see you when it's over.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by RelentlessFire The Gleaming

7th August 2014:
Great chapters as usual!!! Can't wait to read more :)
Update soon
Giulia

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jaz The Gleaming

4th August 2014:
I love this story! It is absolutely amazing in every way and I cannot wait to read what happens next!!! Rose and Scorpius interactions make me giddy and you portray them magnificently =D

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying! Thank you for the kind words and for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by whykay The Gleaming

4th August 2014:
!!! Oodles of tension. I do think that this is the gang being their worst at each other, after having gone through so much. And funny, Lisa being guarded about Astoria, for the gang and her, breaking up the impending fist fight. And oh, Selena definitely needs to sort herself out, and rather quickly, at least for Matt. And Astoria herself, with sunny smiles and icy glares - though I don't think it had much to do with guarded secrets than being defensive in the face of Rose. But, two questions - 1. Did Scorpius always know of her location, so much that the Al and Rose knew of it as well? 2. Wassup, Astoria?


Hmm.. Are they really immune from all forms of Phlegethon? Because I remember you stating in your response to one of the reviews that they may or may not.

So they are going after Nat, except Lisa and Matt, who will, I suppose stay back with Astoria or the ship. And.. wonder how Astoria will react to this!

I hope you feel better now. And (as an added bonus, of course) meet your writing targets! :D :D

Author's Response: Yeah, this is the gang really feeling the cabin fever, the combination of now being so close and yet there are a few too many different formative experiences, like Lisa and Matt not having been part of Phlegethon. Lisa is... adapting. Even she's not sure where she stands right now, though we'll see as we go on.

Astoria was certainly defensive at Rose, yes. Who wouldn't be? Whether it was indicative of anything deeper, alas, I can't say. Scorpius knew where she was - Al and Rose did not KNOW, but they suspected from the way Scorpius was acting, and I think they had a general ballpark of 'somewhere exotic' in terms of where Astoria was. Still, so many questions.

I was ambiguous in the past reviews. I'm often ambiguous! Seems Nat Lockett's been doing okay with Eridanos based off her Phlegethon immunity. We'll see.

I'm not quite as better as I thought - I promptly had another physiotherapy session which has given me all-new, painful exercises - but between my buffer and the pending queue hiatus, I imagine it shouldn't make much of a difference. I do want to get back to writing almost as much as I want to be running around. :D

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by pfapsm Moonlight and Roses

2nd August 2014:
Hello!!

Thank you for the chapter, it was amazing and I had to forcefully keep my mouth shut to prevent myself from smiling too hard (because Scorpius and Albus, and Scorpius and Rose). I am DESPERATELY waiting for Rose to tell him she loves him.

(Is it wrong to be crushing on a fictional character?)

I really like how you wove Astoria into the plot!! I do have a sneaking suspicion that something terrible is about to happen, but... well, that's fanfiction. (My internal chant: pleasedontdiepleasedontdiepleasedontdie.) You're an amazing writer, and your story really gives me new perspectives on what happened after the war, and on the personalities of the characters and their house traits.

Canon Albus has always been a Slytherin to me - I also just read something on literary alchemy which makes it almost certain that he would be one, and also his initials are ASP, like the serpent, an Asp. Maybe some subtle foreshadowing?

In any case, I am loving the story. Feel better soon!!

Author's Response: I crush on fictional characters all the time. I'm not sure it's right to crush on MY fictional characters, but if you find them to your taste, who am I to stop you!

Astoria always had her place in the story, and while it's small for now, we'll see more of her in the future. I don't consider the Stygian Trilogy outright a 'could happen' - I would like to think the Trio got a Happily Ever After, not another war in 25 years - but I'm glad this entertains, and I'm of course rather fond of these characters.

There are some indicators either way on Albus being a Slytherin or not. I think we don't have enough evidence to say either way, alas. But he works as a Slytherin in this one!

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Solana Moonlight and Roses

1st August 2014:
Slide, are you ok? I hope you are no matter what. I guess we're so used to getting updates at least once a week that, when one doesn't come, it's time to hope you're ok even if you can't be with us for some time.

Take care of yourself. Still a great story! :-)

Author's Response: I am okay, and a chapter is in the queue at present! I went away over the weekend and my physio rehab with my leg has been consuming a lot of my time and mental energy. I was a bit optimistic and thought I'd be out and about and writing this week, and then tried it and exhausted myself, but I still have a backlog, I'm very NEARLY okay, and the next chapter will be with you soon.

And imminently I'll be back to my old tricks and finishing this story! But thank you for your concern. I'm okay, I'm just sorting out my health and my habits.


 Report Review

Review #12, by BellaLestrange87 Hitch Your Wagon

24th July 2014:
This was great. I like the conflict between Scorpius and Draco, and later Draco and Hermione. I loved the reference to Draco being turned into a ferret - apparently being humiliated by a fellow Death Eater (well not then, I suppose) was enough to stick with him for over 20 years.

Selena is up to something. I know there isn't much point asking when I have so many more chapters to read to catch up, but... A good novel needs conflict, so something bad is going to happen, I just know it.

Amazing job! I can't find anything to write CC about (this is better writing than my own), so... 10/10

Author's Response: I would think that something used by his enemies, like the ferret incident, would stick with Draco for a good, long time. While Draco in this story is nastier than I think he necessarily would be, I still dislike the idea of him being friendly with the Trio, even with the respectful nod in the Epilogue - Hermione is not Harry.

Selena IS, indeed, up to something. Guess we'll see what! Glad you enjoyed, thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lipa Moonlight and Roses

24th July 2014:
So now that Scorpius and Rose did "it" are they going to fight less? Haha

And what's up with Astoria? Did Scorpius always knew where she was or he just found out and decided to make a visit? ( I guess I'm going to have to wait for the next chapter, right?) :)

Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Ha! A likely story. They might have a brief 'honeymoon' period but they will no doubt bicker a-plenty.

Scorpius knew where she was - I've been desperately trying to check I've not forgotten my own continuity, but I don't THINK he ever said he didn't KNOW where she was, just that he hadn't heard from her in a while. Though more details will be forthcoming.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Solana Moonlight and Roses

24th July 2014:
OMG, OMG, OMG ... Wow! I was about to come on to apologize profusely for not reviewing for so long when I read ... this! After a truly satisfying chapter -- I mean, all of them have been satisfying given your gift for telling a story. But this just threw me for a loop!

We've been waiting for Astoria for the longest time and now that she's appeared, you as the author must know we have a zillion questions. I mean, you know you've left probably the greatest cliffhanger for a group of readers of fanfic in forever!

We've got several choices here: Astoria is innocent of wrongdoing and there's some really WEIRD reason she has not tried to contact her son in so long, if she does care about him. Trouble is, right now what Scorpius is left with is a mother who has not contacted him that he seems happy to see, and a father he wants nothing to do with who has done little else but try to contact him.

Another possibility is she wanted to contact him but couldn't. She's being kept prisoner by Thane's group. Hm ... don't know if that one's feasible, depends on how you build her as a character.

And then there's the one where she's totally in cahoots with Thane and wanted Scorpius kept alive to try to talk him into joining them or something even more sinister.

So she then finally contacts him, fools him into believing she does love him, but then what's with the "shock" you say she expresses at seeing all of them?

I love all of it! I can't say it enough. I loved Scorp and Rose finally consummating their love. We knew that would happen eventually, and it did beautifully. Matt? He never liked hearing about them and is still a bit on Rose. Guess he's going to have to move on, truly move on. Maybe to ... Selena?

And I loved seeing more Albus-Scorp. Those 2 are brothers in spirit and always will be, I feel. And I love that Al admitted, finally, having chosen Slytherin and I'm feeling he's perfectly ok with that. As he should be. He's got Slytherin attributes that will help him grow, he knows it, and he's ok with that, too. As for where he would be in canon ... I'm honestly not sure. Perhaps. But right now we're in this story and it all feels ... right.

Please, please, please put the next chapter in queue so we know it's coming! And ... keep taking care of yourself! :-)

Author's Response: I feel like a long review deserves a long answer but all I can do is giggle with glee at your rampant theorising. I promised we'd see Astoria before Starfall's end, didn't I! So here we are!

There will be fallout from Scorose, with Matt still struggling with everything, poor boy. He's going to have to choose if he gets over her or... not. And 'not' is a terrible choice. But right now, Selena isn't there to give him any support.

It was about time we got the chapter from Scorbus. The two haven't talked in a while, and haven't outright talked about Scorose before, so they were due. They're good mates and can be honest with each other, so that works out well.

Next chapter is at last out. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Whimsical Diva Moonlight and Roses

23rd July 2014:
I just read your response to my previous review, and just so you know, JK did mention that at some point Ron did go back to work as an Auror, after a few years in the joke shop. So it's quite canon that in 2024, Ron might be an Auror.

You know, your explanation in this chapter as to why Albus chose Slytherin ... I think it comes closest to the most probable canon explanation. I think there are some pretty strong hints from JK that he might be in Slytherin, and I honestly can't think of any other probable reason, other than, well, his meeting and Liking Scorpius(the only one not to have fawned all over him?) before the Sorting. Let's not forget, one of the main reasons Harry chose Gryffindor over Slytherin was because of Ron's opinions on Slytherin on the train. You're on pretty solid ground there.

Poor Rose. If Lisa betrays this lot, then all the guilt would've been for nothing. In fact, I'm really waiting for Lisa's secret to come out in the wash now.

Can't also wait to find out more about Astoria. Always thought she isn't as pure as driven snow as Scorpius seems to think she is... Will be cool if SHE's the one Thane is insinuating about.

Author's Response: Hm, did she? I never caught in which order he was with the Aurors, then the joke shop. The story put him there in 2014, and it would seem odd if, in his 30s, he then went back to the Aurors. Unless he went to the joke shop when he and Hermione had the kids, as she would work a busy career, and then went back to the Aurors once they were both in Hogwarts... yes. I will headcanon that. Victory!

I agree there are some insinuations from JK of him being Slytherin, and as you say above is about the only way I see it working with what we can predict. It's still an enormous lunge for Albus, who (unlike Harry) would have a lot more baggage of pro-Gryffindor, and family already there.

Rose understands her guilt is partly about abusing privacy horribly. So I think she's more likely to be guilty that she abused Lisa's privacy and didn't even find the answer - like, if you're going to do bad, at least do bad right, you know? We'll see.

You're not alone in being suspicious of Astoria. Certainly some of the characters are, too. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by missdagane Moonlight and Roses

23rd July 2014:
Sorry that I didn't review in a while. Your fic is fantastic and the last chapters were amazing: never too short, never too long, when I read I can feel everything, if that makes sense for you. The final part of this chapter came as a big surprise: how and when has Scorpius known about Astoria? I hope he won't be disapointed. Can't wait for the next chapter! PS: hope you feel better.

Author's Response: The chapters are creeping longer and longer, and yet somehow they don't FEEL, when I write them, that much longer than Ignite's. It's weird. Though they're generally pretty jam-packed, which is a problem. Questions will be answered soon! Thanks for reviewing, and the kind words.

 Report Review

Review #17, by whykay Moonlight and Roses

23rd July 2014:
What the hell! OMG - please please put the next chapter in queue. Like right NOW.

HOW did he find out? And WHEN? Did Albus and Rose know? How??? Is that what they talked about in the previous chapter- Iknow-youknow-heknows bit?? What is she doing here? Why didn't she call EVER? Is she the puppeteer? Is she a mask / trap / mole? Is she merely an innocent bystander? I hope Scorpius won't be disappointed though.

This dampened even the OMGTHEYFINALLYDIDIT. Really. Downplayed well. And oh, Rose played dirty - very dirty. She IS discovering the unpleasant sides to herself and that couldn't have been smooth at all. Poor girl.

Poor Albus. He has certainly been very level headed with Scorpius and Rose bickering, hooking up, bickering and all. Plus he has to deal with the mysterious Lisa and the breach of trust (past and impending - though he doesn't know it). And the aftermath of James' cruel words ..

Poor poor Matt. He is so stuck between a rock and a hard place. I feel for him. He doesn't deserve to be lashed out at by Selena ('cuz she can't figure out where they stand - frankly it sounds like she used him), indirectly by Rose ('cuz she told them where they stand and why), obliviously by Scorpius ('cuz Scorose is rocking and is rubbed in his face) and well, ignored by Albus and Lisa (who are caught up with their own guilt, rights and wrongs of their worlds). To top that, he is nerdy. I feel for the boy.

Okay. So, in short, in this chapter and the immediate events leading upto it, I don't feel sorry for Selena. :P :P. Currently. I am sure I will be rooting for her soon. :D

But seriously, you GOTTO put the next chapter in queue NOW. This is what being on tenterhooks mean. . Not nice. AT ALL..

AARRGHH.

Author's Response: Apologies for the tardiness. It's out now!

Scorpius has never explicitly said he doesn't know where she is, just that he never hears from her. Albus and Rose have known enough to SUSPECT, as there were only so many people Scorpius could be taking them to. The other questions... I guess we'll see down the line!

In some ways, those unpleasant parts of Rose have always been there - remember what she was like at the beginning of Ignite. Her own feelings came first, whatever she had to do to fob people off. This is more her regressing, and also combining her newly-honed empathy with her selfishness. So it's a little bit old Rose, rather than just new Rose, and she doesn't like it.

I realised only this chapter that Al and Scorp haven't *really* talked about Scorose, or how Al feels about it, or what he thinks about it. It was about time.

Matt is getting rotten treatment across the board, mostly from people who don't mean to be cruel, and then there's Selena - who doesn't WANT to hurt him, but she's being selfish. And he is a pretty adorable nerd, which doesn't help his case.

Selena's being cruel. Rooting for her right now would be tough. Though it'll be a while before we see more from her.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Hats For House Elves Moonlight and Roses

22nd July 2014:
A beautifully written chapter. Every time I come back to this story it is so easy to return to your world. These versions of the next generation characters are so brilliant as a part of the Harry Potter Universe but in their own world, like a pocket universe. Ultimate favourite fanfiction.

Keep writing and i'll come back everytime.

Couldn't resist. So not sorry.

Hats.

Author's Response: I'm not sorry either. Glad you're enjoying the story, glad you find it easy to drift back into it! This chapter's one of my favourites, though would you know it wasn't even planned? It all came about from the offhand reference to Rose being awkward around Scorpius when talking about Legilimency. The next thing I know I was writing a scene between them which became an argument and I had a whole chapter.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by mymischiefmanaged A Star to Steer Her By

17th July 2014:
Feeling guilty for not reviewing before now. I've loved this story so far (and ignite before it). Your characters are brilliantly written, the old trio is more mature but still in character and although I always want Draco to have more of a soft side your portrayal of him is completely believable. Can't wait for your next update (and it's a bit hopeless romantic of me but quite want to see something happen between Albus/Lisa or Matt/Selena)

Author's Response: No need to be guilty! Though I do like reviews. Draco is what Draco needs to be for this story; though I don't buy him being fully redeemed and lovely, I believe canonically he probably wouldn't turn out how he does here. But there are reasons why he is the way he is here!

More romance, you say? Well, Matt/Selena aren't necessarily a romantic pairing, but there's got to be SOME sort of angst brewing for Albus and Lisa, really, doesn't there... all in good time! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #20, by RelentlessFire A Star to Steer Her By

15th July 2014:
I'm so sorry! I hope you'll soon get better! As for the story, usually great, I've really enjoyed this chapter, I think Lisa is slowly starting to trust them and drift to their side.
Update soon
Giulia

Author's Response: No worries, I AM getting better all the time, this just doesn't help my creativity. I endure! Lisa is having something of a soul-searching, we'll see where she ends up.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Nicole Swift A Star to Steer Her By

15th July 2014:
Oh Lisa, who will you betray in the end?

It nice, I get caught up in other things and when I come back to read I get to binge on six chapters.

I know it was last chapter but Scorpios did a fine job taking his dad down a few pegs. Good for him. He did not need someone else to tell why he should be worth something with him this time. I think he is learning his own worth as a person and starting to believe it.

Author's Response: Good question.

It's fun when you get a binge like that! See, I find it interesting people are having different reactions to Scorpius of last chapter; some think he was unreasonable to so much as hear Draco out, some like you think Draco had it coming. But yes, he is starting to really find his value in himself, rather than what he's been made to believe by people like his father!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Whimsical Diva A Star to Steer Her By

15th July 2014:
I've been reading JK's new writing about the 2014 Quidditch World Cup - and I think in one of the posts, she mentions that Hugo inherited his mother's bushy locks whereas Rose her father's 'unfortunate' hair. She didn't mention if Hugo was a ginger or not, but I'm leaning towards his having got his mum's brown hair. However, I'm guessing that Albus being sorted into Slytherin can now be considered to be canon - he was the only Potter wearing green and supporting Brazil, whilst his father, brother and sister were apparently decked in red. The writing is from Rita Skeeter's POV, and she wonders whether this is a public display of father-son rivalry, but she's then told by Ginny that Albus is only wearing green because he's a fan of the Brazilian chaser. However, I think this, along with the Epilogue of Book 7, does seem to lend more credence to the theory of his being a Slytherin. Or maybe I'm reading too much into this - Ron, Rose and Hugo were also in green, supporting Brazil against Bulgaria (Krum was playing Seeker - Ha!), and I think it's highly unlikely that Rose and Hugo will be SLytherins. Maybe Al was just wearing green to support the same team as Rose? I mean, I still think it's unlikely that he'll be a Slythein - he was terrified of the prospect, and only seemed to be assuaged when his father told him he'd have the choice to choose Gryffindor. For him to actually choose Slytherin over Gryffindor in a matter of a couple of hours after that conversation - I still find it unlikely. Unless, of course, something transpired during that train journey - like his befriending Scorpius where his father rebuffed Draco, or his just wanting not to be in the same house as his brother for the rest of his student life. Probably we're going to have to wait until the next world cup to find out the answers.

I mean, I'm bringing up this whole topic because, like I've mentioned once before, Albus being a Slytherin gets justified when he acts like a Slytherin. A Slytherin in all likelihood won't ever agonise over underhanded tactics. Albus seems too decent to be one in Starfall. Not that I object to that - he's really quite lovely, enough to even have wrought a change in Eva - but I guess at some point he's going to have to walk the tightrope between idealism and pragmatism. His default instinct appears to be to do the decent thing - but I think he'll change to be the guy who'll come to subscribe to the belief that the end justifies the means, and it'll be interesting to see how that pans out. Maybe uncovering Eva's identity will be the tipping point. I don't think she'll betray him after having come so far - not least because the Council comprises of an unhinged faction - but she can definitely get rumbled, and I somehow think Albus isn't going to be forgiving then.

Also, does the title of the chapter refer to Albus? There are a couple of chapters with this sort of titles - Lodestar, Guiding Star etc. Do these have any significance? And not to mention, the title of the story itself?

Author's Response: I kind of sit on the fence with 'Death of the Author' pertaining to JK's later canon updates. I've tried to roll with most of the immediately-post DH interviews but as time has gone on and the content increased, I find myself picking and choosing. Hugo's hair I'd go back and edit; Ron's job I'm not going to edit. I highly dislike the idea that he went into the business his brothers started; while in the Aurors he'd run the risk of being in Harry's shadow, I think the man needs to stand on his own two feet, not just take, well, another hand-me-down.

I think the status of Albus in Slytherin is hard to answer from the quotes. Rita could be completely making up father-son tension, and the Ron wing of the Weasleys being in green is another fair argument. Actually, wait a minute, this is before the Epilogue, Albus couldn't have been Sorted yet. Unless it's weird Foreshadowing from JK. Either way, I don't put this Albus in Slytherin because I think it's canon (just like I don't think, in canon, Draco would be this abusive and unpleasant). It serves the story and it serves THIS character. I reckon canon Albus would be a Gryffindor.

He's not All Slytherin. Just as Hermione would have made a fine Ravenclaw, he would have made a fine Gryffindor or Hufflepuff. Some of it is he's not the same as he was when he was eleven, and being friends with Scorpius in some ways made him MORE responsible. However, as will be addressed, courage is only true when it's tested by loss. Albus has not experienced true loss. Will he be such a stand-up guy when he experiences, REALLY experiences, the consequences of losing? Will the Slytherin side come out?

Then again, in this case he's saying he doesn't want to abuse someone's privacy and have their mind looted out of sheer convenience. I've written several Slytherins who are very definitely Slytherins who would balk at mind-looting. I suppose, in conclusion, he's not the most obvious Slytherin, but he isn't just a Slytherin so he could be mates with Scorpius.

The chapter title was honestly just taken from the poetry quote, in which the 'her' is the ship. However, I should be clever and pretend it was an entirely intentional double-meaning about Eva and Albus, shouldn't I? I try to keep the chapter titles thematic to the chapter itself as well as to 'Starfall'; hence why most titles are about night or dark. As for the story title... Eridanos was a reference, as cited in one of my Author's Notes ages ago. There are two more, but they have not yet come up.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Nicole Swift The Fall that Kills You

15th July 2014:
Thane going to get his but kicked if he keeps threatening Albus to Scorpius. They are one tightly woven pair. The bond they have when either thinks of the other is deeply felt.

Matt just kicked that dragons flying butt! I wounder if he will get his sword back from the Aurors?

I nice that they don't have to play dead any more. That was just an emotional drain on those left at home.

Author's Response: Certainly threatening Albus has inspired Scorpius to action like never before! Once freed and cleared by the Aurors, the gang should get their stuff back - and yeah, being presumed dead was just WAY too hard on everyone back home. Unsurprisingly! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Nicole Swift Wing It

14th July 2014:
So much danger! Flying stone dragons, dead/not dead old guys, Thane, and dreaded puns. I love it!

Author's Response: Scorpius is the kind of guy who'd learn geology just to make these puns. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Lipa A Star to Steer Her By

14th July 2014:
Lily is pretty funny, isn't she? I love her already! :D

A new adventure begins and now they are literally in the same boat (sorry I didn't resist haha)!

I really liked Eva's POV, it seems to me that she is changing for the better already, even if she is kind of in denial about it. I mean, it's pretty difficult to be indifferent to Albus' kindness, even a person like Eva or maybe especially a person like her is affected by it.

Wishing all the best for your recovery! And keep updating fast, please! ;)

Author's Response: I have a soft spot for Lily and Hugo. We don't see them much, but they're well-entrenched in my head as a terrible twosome in their own right.

Eva is starting to seriously question herself. She's not thinking it through fully, because she doesn't dare consider what the END of doubting is. But it's starting to gnaw away within her, and it's mostly down to Albus.

Hopefully my updating speed should be much as it's been lately - roughly one a week, assuming my planning and the queue cooperate. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>