Reading Reviews for Starfall
  
376 Reviews Found

Review #1, by water_lily43175 Back in Black

24th February 2015:
Ah, yes. Now the families of these guys know they're alive, they're going to try their hardest to get them to go home and stay home, aren't they? Yeah, that's not going to happen...

Matt and Selena's relationship becomes yet more fascinating. Whether or not she has romantic feelings for him, she certainly feels differently about him than she does Albus and Scorpius. Actually not sure whether I'm shipping them or not at the mo.

LOVE all the lore, de Sable's had an interesting life...

Author's Response: Okay, so don't try to type 'Sable' with the accent. Lesson learnt.

Most families would want them to go home. We'll be seeing that NEXT chapter. And it is kind of hard to know, to ship or not to ship Mattena (as I have now decided to call them)? At this point I was very much playing it by ear in the writing. They have a Dynamic, it's just hard to quantify.

The history in this chapter was SO MUCH FUN to write.


 Report Review

Review #2, by water_lily43175 The Fall that Kills You

24th February 2015:
ALL OF THE FEELS. Lisa's reaction when the dragon fell. SELENA'S reaction when the dragon fell. The six are no longer dead! Poor Hermione, put through the ringer like that. And where is de Sable?!

Pretty sure I say this every time, but you do write these sorts of action scenes so vividly, I LOVE it. NEXT!

Author's Response: De Sablé's cheesed it. He doesn't want to be picked up by the authorities. Glad you liked the action sequence, I recall this one being a right bugger to write.

And everyone panics when people plummet potentially to their deaths... drama queens...


 Report Review

Review #3, by water_lily43175 Wing It

24th February 2015:
The puns. OH MY GOD THE PUNS. De Sable still living WHUT. Awesome chapter need moar.

Author's Response: I couldn't resist the puns, and apparently, neither could Scorpius or Matt.

 Report Review

Review #4, by water_lily43175 Like a Stone

24th February 2015:
HA, Weasley-Malfoy-hair-fumble-fear, I love Selena.

'saying "you can leave the man you love and become a crazy cat lady" is, like, the worst argument ever. Just so you know.' Lies. LIES. Still standing by the crazy cat lady option in life. I do love Rose and Selena's friendship, they definitely need each other on this venture.

DRAGON BRIDGE? STONE DRAGON STONE DRAGON IT'S COMING.

Rose hoping Albus' principles will stay strong enough to stop her going too far. Oh the feels.

Matt has issues. Poor boy.

Oh man. Raskoph. Ritual. DRAGON.

Author's Response: Rose's hair isn't quite her mother's, but Scorpius' is thick and rumpled. There would be SO MUCH HAIR.

Rose and Selena are such an odd couple, but they do each other good. They ground one another in the ways they need to be grounded.

YEP. Dragon. You knew it was coming.


 Report Review

Review #5, by water_lily43175 Whistle in the Dark

24th February 2015:
LOOK AT ME I AM READING AND REVIEWING A CHAPTER YAY.

I am so far behind BOO. So many chapters. So many reviews. Here goes.

(Incidentally I'm sickened that I stopped reading this pre-Portugal, because I remember getting excited about reading the Portugal stuff at the same time as being there, and that was SEVEN MONTHS AGO. I could have had a baby in that time. Almost.)

Anyway, on with the chapter!

Yay Greek! I'm gonna learn Greek properly, I've decided. I'll be like Matt, only less... nerdy. Bless him.

I love love love that point that it's harder to Confound a Muggle now because of all of the computers and whatnot. I think this a lot when I'm pondering over Derailed - what with the internet and globalisation and all, it must be very hard for the wizarding world to remain hidden these days.

So much to say about Eva in this chapter. Her reaction to Rose using Legilimency just says it all, really - she's lucky that Rose didn't stumble upon anything that gave her away, although I can't help but wonder if that was luck or just a well-organised mind. And the fact that she just shrugs it off, that she APPROVES of Rose rooting through her memories ... oh Eva.

Probably should have more to say on this/better words to say it with, but I'm tired and I haven't read this for a while and I'm still trying to catch up and get my head round where we'd gotten to. Anyway. ONWARDS.

Author's Response: Ugh the PORTUGAL BIT. I mean it wound up fine, but you never got here so I never bellyached at you about all the plotting I struggled with. And scrapped. Gone FOREVER. I'm reusing some elements but the really squiffy bloody action sequence I basically story-boarded ended up GOING - anyway. Portugal was Not Good for Writer.

Matt is SUCH a nerd. And yeah, the Statute has to be hell in the modern age to keep. Youtube and Instagram must be the devil to Obliviators. I can only assume that magic has developed to keep up with the internet.

Eva would have to be an accomplished Occlumens to do what she does, and I can't imagine Occlumency is only something you do consciously; it's certainly implied in canon that it can be done without the target's knowledge (Rose just isn't good enough to do that), and so it has to be a form of subconscious training. So even if Rose plunders her dreams, she comes up against her mental discipline. And of course Eva expects it! She's still not used to the gang not doing things the way SHE'D do them.

Yaaay all the reviews...


 Report Review

Review #6, by Peter Wander Forth the Sons

18th February 2015:
I still don't think he's dead. Unless you wrote a third instalment without Scorpius, which is just a good way to get killed.

Author's Response: I would probably get lynched, yeah. You make a compelling point!

 Report Review

Review #7, by EmmaGM To the Occasion

11th February 2015:
Rose and Albus truly are their parents' children, aren't they. And Scorpius is anything but. Great chapter.

Author's Response: They both have the best and worst of their parents, in their way. Scorpius does have some of his father in him; his arrogance, his temper, and even his capacity for cruelty, but there's that streak of goodness. Maybe it comes from his mother.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by EmmaGM Into Darkness

11th February 2015:
That was an amazing chapter! The scene between Selena and Scorpius at the end was terrific. Beautifully written and heart-wrenching. You are a very talented writer!

Author's Response: Selena was due having someone get upset with her for what she's done, but she was also due the explosion, and of course, it's Scorpius who puts his foot in it. I did love writing that Selena scene. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #9, by EmmaGM The Bigger They Are

11th February 2015:
Indeed, humanity does not need magic to do terrible things to each other. Just watching the news is enough to see what horrible things are still happening to this day.

On a more cheerful note, I loved the chapter. Scorpius saving Doyle's life was a strike of genius.

Author's Response: Yeah, it's hard to inter-weave real life events and history with fictional wizards, especially the great horrors of the past. Nazi occultism is a cool, fun trope, but it can also make out like it wasn't normal, everyday people who did horrible things. So! Delicate tightrope-walking for me.

Glad you enjoyed the chapter! Smug Scorpius is fun.


 Report Review

Review #10, by EmmaGM Fly-By-Night

11th February 2015:
Selena turning up at the last moment and persuading the others to go to a place where the Council of Thorns resides seems a little too much of a coincidence. I hope she is being impersonated though. I'd hate it if she actually changed sides.

Great chapter. I loved it. Your writing is, as always, amazing.

Author's Response: Traitor? Impersonated? Something more sinister? It would all be a bit of a problem. There are certainly ulterior motives to what's going on.

Really glad you're enjoying the story! Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by EmmaGM Hitch Your Wagon

10th February 2015:
Great chapter. I'm glad Selena decided to join them after all, but the timing seems a bit strange. The fact that she changed the destinaton seems rather odd too. It seems possible that she is being impersonated. Or maybe I just read too much stories :)

Author's Response: Selena has her ways. Being impersonated? Great theory! Love it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by EmmaGM Many Moons

10th February 2015:
Great chapter. I loved the part at the end. I don't think they would be able to get anything past Harry, Ron and Hermione, considering everything they got up to themselves.

It's a shame Selena won't be joining the others. I'm sure she is having a much harder time coping with Jones' death than she lets on. I hope she'll still play some part in the story.

Author's Response: Harry, Ron and Hermione basically expect their kids to be doing the same disastrous stuff they did. For once, they're wrong!

We'll see more of Selena, and her grief, in times to come.


 Report Review

Review #13, by EmmaGM Dream On

10th February 2015:
Well, of course there's going to be trouble. Why write a story if there's not?

I hope Selena agrees to join them on the trip. I really liked her in the first story. On the other hand, new characters are always interesting. Great chapter!

Author's Response: We'll see more Selena; I wouldn't cut her out of the story for good! But there will be new characters, at least! And, of course, there must be trouble.

 Report Review

Review #14, by EmmaGM Prologue

10th February 2015:
Interesting start to the new story. The new character seems promising!

Author's Response: We'll see an awful lot of Saida from here. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by SilverPatronus Daybreak

11th January 2015:
Are we allowed to write HP fanfics on NaNoWriMo?

Author's Response: Well, I did it!

On a more sincere note, yes (there's even a fanfic section on their forums). The point is just to write; considering one doesn't win anything but satisfaction, it doesn't matter a great deal.


 Report Review

Review #16, by RelentlessFire Daybreak

8th January 2015:
You've written an incredible story, I bet you would be proud! Heck I'm proud of myself for being one of your readers. You are so worth all the compliments. I have a feeling that Thane is very much connected to the Malfoy name, and that Scorpius (even if dead) will play a huge part in Oblivion (Chalice+Vail=?) I'm looking forward to read Oblivion.
Congrats again, you deserve it
Giulia

Author's Response: Can't lie, I'm pretty proud. And yes! Be proud too! :D Guess we'll see about anything from Scorpius in the future, but Oblivion marches on.

Thanks a bunch for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Guest Daybreak

7th January 2015:
I will soon leave a more thorough review but for now I will make a prediction.
Lockett, I reckon, is in fact a double agent like Snape was. Of course, you're probably not going to confirm or tell me i'm completely wrong either way- I am very excited to read Oblivian. You're a fantastic writer with a brilliant plot and in depth characters.

Author's Response: Lockett as a double agent is an interesting theory - no, you're right, I'm not saying a thing. Oblivion marches on, so I hope you continue to enjoy! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Sisyphus Daybreak

6th January 2015:
It's after the first of the year!
*hits refresh*
Hope you had a good holiday.
*hits refresh*

Author's Response: Hey! It's been a good holiday! I see you've seen my author page! ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by RelentlessFire Or Fordoes Me Quite

4th January 2015:
Oh thank goodness Matt is alive! I can't wait for them to get to Venice! I can't stop reading.
Giulia

Author's Response: Stuff will be fun in Venice! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by RelentlessFire That Either Makes Me

4th January 2015:
I can't believe it, after everything they went through Matt died, there has to be a trick.
This chapter is literally: impossibly good!
Giulia

Author's Response: It was a fun chapter to write. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by RelentlessFire Leap of Faith

4th January 2015:
The whole intricate historical parts fit incredibly well with the story, you're such a great writer!
I'll read the next one
Giulia

Author's Response: I had to make up so little, it was pretty fun to integrate it with the story. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #22, by RelentlessFire The Witching Time

4th January 2015:
I'm reading and it's so satisfying to occupy myself with a story this good, again! I've missed it. I'm so excited about the location of the Chalice, that I'll keep this review short and directly jump to the next chapter!
Giulia

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, and glad you're back and reviewing! Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #23, by RelentlessFire The Darkness and the Light

30th December 2014:
I'm so sorry I haven't read anything in ages! I had the worst end of year at school, I've been really frustrated lately. So good to have this many chapters to enjoy, while at home on break!! I'll get going then, I have a lot to read ;)
Giulia

Author's Response: Ha, no worries, just glad you got to it now, and sorry to hear about your time at school! I hope you find the story a fun diversion on break. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by prettywishes Daybreak

10th December 2014:
After a crazy semester I finally got a chance to sit down and finish this up, and it was all rapped up perfectly. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT LOCKETT was involved with them, but at the same time it's not exactly something that surprised me either. It just makes that whole moment between Scorp and her that much more like.tearjerking? Also really shocked that he died, though I think that it was all done very well. I can't wait to see what happens in the next one, I'll be keeping my eye out for it!

Author's Response: Lockett's always been a mysterious one, in her way. She's got her motivations and her plans, and we'll find out why she's done the things she's done at some point in Oblivion.

Which, speaking of, will be starting early in the new year! Just getting to work on a buffer and post-NaNo editing. :) Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Endless_Forms Daybreak

3rd December 2014:
You are so mean. Even so, you are a fantastic author and I have greatly enjoyed your works for these two fics. I absolutely loved the intricacies and the myriad references to world history in this. It was truly fascinating and better than most published works I have read. Thank you for your hard work and I look forward to the conclusion!

Author's Response: I am mean, this much is very true. I'm glad it was entertaining, though! I've enjoyed my research for this, even if it's mostly been to the almighty Wikipedia and the odd Google-bash for extra information, so it's been a hijinksy adventure I've had a lot of fun writing.

Thanks a whole bunch for reviewing, and for your kind words. Cheers!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>