Reading Reviews for Helping Hands
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pheonix Potioneer Chapter 2

29th January 2014:
Brushing your hair with an apple. *laughs* I admit, i haven't seen that before.

Wow, Draco genuinely likes doing this charity stuff! So surprising, I didn't think he would.

Poor Astoria! She is using all her money to help these kids! She really ought to get donations from somewhere. It doesn't necessarily have to be door-to-door.

Astoria does like what she does though. I think that it doesn't matter that they have financial struggles; Astoria still loves it. That is wonderful, sacrificing almost everything for the kids.

I love this story so far. It's just wonderful and sweet and makes you feel all bubbly and happy inside.

Author's Response: hahahaha I mainly did that to have a sly dig at Drapple :p

Draco REALLY wants to become a better person, so he realises that this is the perfect opportunity for him!

Thanks for another sweet review! You're too kind! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Pheonix Potioneer Chapter 1

29th January 2014:
Hmm, so Draco has a crush on Daphne. Not Astoria, at least not yet. Interesting.

I like how Draco is trying to improve, but a trace of his old self still remains. Like how he feels disgust when he hears "muggles" but tries to stop himself. An improving Draco.

Their conversation was very nice. Astoria must be very outgoing, to hardly talk to Draco at school but then suddenly invite him to help her out.

I wonder what Draco will do. Will he actually carry through with his promise to help out, or not? Part of me thinks yes, and another part of me thinks no. I guess I'll have to read on! :)

Great chapter! It's lovely and sweet. :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Yeah, in my head canon, Astoria has always been really outgoing and not afraid to get what she wants - hence why she would still be in Slytherin :p

Thanks for the lovely review! Glad you enjoyed it!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Inthenextlife Chapter 3

3rd January 2014:
I'm glad Draco's finding some redemption :) Your characterization of Lucius is interesting- I like that you showed his vulnerable side. Lucius also was just too bad of a character to have a good life after the war, so I like it.

I also enjoy their fun sporty, summery activities, it seems like a fun day camp or something. I am however, a little considered that Draco is becoming something of a sugar daddy for Astoria ;)

My only thing with this chapter, is that I think you need to let Draco change throughout the story-- if he likes Astoria so much already, and is already cool with the orphans (the children of his war enemies) then his character doesn't really have anywhere to go from there, and there isn't a real basis for conflict between the two main characters.

Of course I haven't read the whole thing yet, so I'll have to see the last chapters before I can even be sure about that!

Overall, this was a really adorbs, heart-warmy chapter :)

-Madeline (handknittedsweaters)

Author's Response: Yeah, I think everyone agrees that Lucius shouldn't have a good life after the war. It's better that way.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH I havent laughed that hard in a long time! Sugar Daddy Draco ;) hahahahahahahahahaha but no, don't worry. He's not a sugar daddy for Astoria!

I wanted this story to be pure fluff and sweetness with not much conflict. I know that it doesn't make much sense but I wanted to write something very delicate and sweet and happy-ish because at the time I was sick of writing conflict so much. :p

Thanks for the review and the tips! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by handknittedsweaters Chapter 2

3rd January 2014:
D'awww! Little kids, they sound super adorable! I forgot to mention in the review on the first chapter, that I really like the idea of helping little kids out, its a plot idea I haven't read before and that's super refreshing!

I was a little confused about the part when you mention Daphne? Did he have a thing with her before? Is he secretly in love with Daphne? Maybe clarify that a little bit more, and if we're suppose to be wondering about that, then I feel like a small carrot to lead us to a conclusion would be very satisfying!

Rebekah
(Handknittedsweaters)

Author's Response: I always thought about the poor children who were orphaned and I'd never read about it so I thought I'd write it! Glad to know that you like it! :D

Nah, he was just really fancied her - kind of like a less obsessive Snape. I thought I'd made that clear but clearly not! I'll have to work on it for future projects and when I eventually edit this thing!

Thank you so much for the review and the tips!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Inthenextlife Chapter 1

3rd January 2014:
Hey! This is a really nice start to your story, it makes me wonder what Malfoy's life has deteriorated into if he's so eager to turn attention off himself and that his only plans are to sit around staring at people (in the Leaky Cauldron..? somewhere else?).

For clarification, he thought Astoria was Daphne? Does he have a romantic history with her? My only criticism with that is it seems to me if Draco was really into Daphne, he'd be able to recognize her. It would make sense if you set the scene a little more extensively, just because I don't know where they are, or far Draco is sitting from her, who that guy she was talking to was, and if he was staring at her why didn't he notice that he was walking in her direction, and try harder not to walk into her?

Astoria's career sounds really interesting :) It also sounds like an occupation that would really be needed in the post-war world. I'm glad your story shows the fall-out of such a big conflict- it makes the story already seem more realistic and interesting :)
-Madeline

Author's Response: Hello!

Nah, Draco doesn't have a romantic history with Daphne - he just has a strange obsession with her. He's more in love with the IDEA of Daphne than the actual person. I also believe that after the war he became quite withdrawn and scared. Also, I just made this to be in a cafe/pub-style thing.

Thanks for the feedback and sorry for the delay in the response!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by handknittedsweaters Chapter 1

3rd January 2014:
hello!

I'm sorry it took us so long to get back to you but we finally got here! Right off the bat, you love detail in your descriptions which makes things really interesting and makes me really feel the characters; one thing that stood out to me was the use of the word 'gulped' I just thought it was a little to strong of a word, I think swallowed would actually work just fine here. And one other thing, I was also confused about where Draco was, I like the element of mystery you create by using pronouns, but not knowing where they were was a little distracting. But great start :)

Rebekah,
(Handknittedsweaters)

Author's Response: Hello! It's okay! Sorry it's taken me two weeks to respond!

I purposely used the word gulped because it's more obvious when someone gulps than swallows, and I felt that Draco wasn't being that subtle. But thanks for giving me your opinion!

Thank you so much for your tips and the review! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Chapter 2

2nd January 2014:
Hey Kayla! Back again for the 12 days of reviewing and because this story is so cute!

Gah, Astoria brushed her hair with an apple, I love her! Sheís just so awesome because of that and sheís so down to earth too and I canít stop laughing whenever she does something. Itís not even because itís that funny itís just because sheís the polar opposite to Draco so seeing that theyíre together is just a little too weird really :P

I really liked learning more about the charity and seeing it in action because it just shows how awesome Astoria is for doing it out of her own money and giving up time to do it. Then Draco offered her money and I was just like ♥ Ooh, maybe heíll start doing arts and crafts or something and theyíll be cute together and yeah.

Oscar was so cute especially with the whole Mr Draco thing and I think I was just gushing throughout that happening. Then the way Draco is warming to kids, I want him to be doing arts and crafts with them now because it would just be so surreal but at the same time perfect because it will be so sweet to see that Astoria caused that change.

Gah, this is so cute and a lovely chapter! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello again!

hahaha, I purposely picked an apple because of the strange Drapple thing that goes in the fandom :p I'm glad you like Astoria, though. I actually loved writing her!

Thank you so much for another lovely review, Kiana! You're too sweet! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm Chapter 1

1st January 2014:
Hey Kayla! Here for the 12 days of reviewing challenge over on the forums and as I saw this was Draco/Astoria I couldnít resist reading it :D

Ah, I really loved this opening chapter it was so cute! You started off really well with leaving them all nameless, because even though I knew it was Draco and Astoria I sort of could build up my own image of them without being judgemental with their names. I also liked Dracoís thoughts at the beginning too because they were all so measured, and it really fitted with his personality.

Haha, Draco thought she was Daphne. That made me laugh way too much!

Aw, Astoria was so cute. She had this lovely, bright personality about her and she was one of those people you just want to hug for their cuteness. I really liked how you made her a fan of Muggle ways such as doing Muggle cooking and then knowing about PTSD, because it was an unusual quirk and it will be interesting to see how it affects Draco and his views on Muggles. I also really liked the idea of her organisation because I never really thought about the orphans of the war, but itís such an interesting issue to highlight so kudos for that!

I liked how you still kept Draco Draco with the way he felt sick about doing it the Muggle way and the way he turned to alcohol because he doesnít seem like the type to have too good coping strategies so it made sense for him to be like that :P

Iím going to finish the challenge and then come back and read some more as this is so cute!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey, Kiana!

Thank you so much for all your lovely compliments! They really put a smile on my face! :D

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for the review! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by BookDinosaur Chapter 1

1st January 2014:
Hello Kayla! I'm here for the Sixth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing Challenge! :) And also because I wanted to read your story.

I really liked reading this! I have a sort of not-so-hard spot for Draco and Astoria so I'm looking forward to reading this. I really like how Draco is still enamoured with Daphne, although I can't see how she didn't notice his staring, it sounded quite intense. :P It makes sense that he would like one of his fellow pure blood Slytherins, and I think she was in the same year as him as well.

Astoria sounds like such a lovely person! I mean, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't invite the almost-stranger who just bumped into to for a lunch, but then, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't set up an organisation for kids who'd been hurt by the war either, so she's just better than I am. :P The little group she's running sounds really nice as well, and it's so sad to think about young kids who might have developed disorders like PTSD from the war. :( But it's realistic as well, and undoubtedly there would have been hurt people around after the war.

Draco sounds like he's going through a tough time as well. People can't really be friendly to him, seeing the part the Malfoys played in the war, and be sounds really lonely, but at the same time it sounds like he's trying to fix himself and his views about Muggles and muggleborns, and I respect him so much for that. And the way he kept mentioning his date with the Firewhiskey made me laugh. ;)

I think that maybe Astoria and her society for children would be the way for Draco to heal himself, and I wouldn't mind some Draco/Astoria along the way!

I really enjoyed reading this Kayla, you did a great job. Well done! :)

Author's Response: Hey, Emily!

To be honest, I think she did notice it but in my head canon Daphne is a bit cruel so she deliberately ignored him, ahahaha :p

To Astoria, Draco isn't a stranger technically and yeah, she's extraordinarily friendly so that probably does affect it a bit, ahaha :p

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, Emily! They really made me smile! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Harry and Ginny Epilogue

19th December 2013:
loved this fic but I'm sad to see it finished! maybe you can write more fics about them, or maybe a next-gen fic? can't wait to read more fics from you! please let me know if you write more!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I don't know if I'll write more about them but I do have many next gen fics on my author's page already - however, they do not discuss Draco/Astoria or Scorpius much. But if I ever do write any more, I will let you know!

Thank you so much for all your lovely reviews! You really made my day every time I read your reviews! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Harry and Ginny Chapter 4

19th December 2013:
loved this chapter! sorry I took so long to review but better late than never, right? anyway, I'm going to read the next chapter and thank you so much for the dedication!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: No, that's more than okay! You're welcome for the dedication! But thank you for reviewing all the chapters! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heaven Epilogue

17th December 2013:
OMG A HAPPY ENDING YIPPEE! Okay, I didn't really expect like a sad ending, but you could have pulled something like one of them visiting the other's grave when they're like, one hundred or something - that might have been a little sad.

I like how you gave an explanation for why Scorpius is an only child. You'd set it up as if they wanted an entire legion of kids, but because of a difficult pregnancy that might not really be possible. Very nice touch!

And OMG when they agreed that Scorpius Hyperion was a perfect name for someone, I just laughed. You can't take out all of that pureblood mentality, especially on the crazy naming scheme!

This was such a wonderful read and now I am in an incredibly happy mood! Thanks for such a lovely story!

Author's Response: OF COURSE THERE'S A HAPPY ENDING! :p

I always thought that Draco and Astoria would have wanted more than one child so I thought I'd put an explanation in. And I wanted to show that although people can be good, sad things do happen to them, sadly. :/

I know, as I wrote that scene I laughed SO much! I tried to get in the mindframe of a Pureblood but it just sounded so ridiculous, hahahaha!

Thank you so much for all your amazing reviews! They really made my day reading them and I'm so sorry for the delay in responding to them!

- Kayla ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heaven Chapter 4

17th December 2013:
ONLY THE EPILOGUE? I sincerely hope that it's a happy epilogue!

Draco is such a light-weight if he felt like it was maybe the champagne talking when he told Astoria that she was beautiful only after like, two sips! Wowee! He must be dancing on the tables by the end of his first glass!

Aww! He finally acknowledged his feelings (called it in like, the summary, but whatever), confronted his past affections for Daphne, talked about his parents, AND asked her to be his girlfriend, all in one chapter? AND SHE SAID YES? Boy, these two move fast when they feel motivated!

Author's Response: I don't know... I'm not a lightweight but champagne REALLY gets to me straight away. I have one sip and I can feel it in my head straight away! :p (Yet I have three glasses of vodka mixes and I don't feel anything! .-.)

Yes, it was a big chapter, wasn't it? :p

I'm glad you like it though!

Thanks for another lovely review! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heaven Chapter 3

17th December 2013:
Aww! I felt so bad reading about the effect the war had on Narcissa and Lucius - well, less bad about Lucius than Narcissa. But poor things. I now understand why Draco still lives at home - and maybe a little bit about why he wants to help these kids. It must be nice to feel as if you've achieved something by making a few people's lives better if you can't get that same feeling from the people about whom you care deeply.

Astoria's enthusiasm is infectious - and that kiss! Ooh la la! Is that wedding bells I hear ringing in the distance? (Don't mind me - just getting carried away again!)

Author's Response: Yeah, I wanted Lucius to feel bad so I'm glad I'm not the only one ahahaha

I've always perceived Astoria to be really enthusiastic and happy to bring Draco out of his shell :p And yes those ARE wedding bells in the distance! ;)

Thanks for another lovely review!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heaven Chapter 2

17th December 2013:
Back again!

Aww! Draco was so sweet here! And do I sense the emergence of strange feelings inside, hmm. *wink, wink, nudge, nudge*

I was wondering though why Draco is doing this. I get that he wants to be a better person and that charity is a pretty good way to start, and that he wants to forget Daphne (or not - perhaps he really likes the excruciating pain of unrequited love), but volunteering his time with "the love of his life's" sister is. To the way I'd go about it. Or maybe he just got caught up in the whirlwind that is Astoria.

Speaking of Astoria, I would not have thought that she would work the night shift at a Muggle gym - doesn't seem like something her pure blood parents would allow her to do. It didn't seem that Daphne is in the same boat. Is Astoria trying to find herself or something? Does she feel the need to break the mould?

I guess one way to find out the answer to all my burning characterisation questions is to read on, I suppose. I do enjoy a bit of speculation, though!

Author's Response: Hello again!

Personally, I feel like Draco just got too caught up with the whirlwind of Astoria (by the way, LOVE that phrase!) and couldn't refuse her so he thought should just go with it.

I thought about that actually but I feel like she just needed a part-time job and since the war was over she wanted to prove herself to others and her parents that things will change. But in my head canon, Daphne isn't in the same boat. She's happy to still be a Pureblood girl. I know I didn't portray that much but as it's a short story I really only wanted to discuss Draco/Astoria, hahaha

Thanks for another lovely review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heaven Chapter 1

17th December 2013:
Hello! I have a HUGE soft spot for Draco/Astoria so I couldn't resist dropping in and having a peak!

This seems like such a lovely start! It's nice to see that Draco is trying to change the way he thinks about Muggles - I think that's a really nice way to show that the war seriously affected him, and that he feels that his prejudices should be addressed. It takes a brave man to admit all of that to himself - even if it is subconsciously.

From the little that I have seen of Astoria, she seems like a very sweet girl. I hope the fact that her future husband and father of her as-yet-unborn baby (please leave me to my Draco/Astoria delusions - it is an incredibly happy place) is still in love with her elder sister and mistakes (in an incredibly hopeful way) her for Daphne comes up - AND CAUSES MAJOR CONFLICT IN THEIR BUDDING ROMANCE WHICH THEY WILL NEED TO OVERCOME IN ORDER TO LIVE OUT THEIR HAPPILY EVER AFTER.

You must excuse me - I get incredibly excited and involved in the lives of fictional characters. Anyway, a very nice start!

Author's Response: hahahaha don't worry, I get excited and far too involved in fictional characters' lives too! I think there should be a secret group, haha!

Thank you for this lovely review! You're very sweet! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Harry and Ginny Chapter 3

28th November 2013:
another great chapter! it's amazing how much Draco is changing and proving that he can change and dedicate himself to a worthy cause! can't wait to read more!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! The next chapter should be out soon-ish. It's all written but I have other things that need to get validated first! :)

Thank you so much for the review and your continued support; it really means a lot to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by Harry and Ginny Chapter 2

15th November 2013:
great chapter this one! I'm loving how you are writing the relationship of Draco and Astoria so far! it's sweet that he's doing this and seeing a different side of things... can't wait to read more!!!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you're enjoying it! :D The next chapter will be in the queue as soon as a different story's chapter gets validated :)

Thanks for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Harry and Ginny Chapter 1

6th November 2013:
great first chapter! it's interesting to see a different perspective from Draco and Astoria's relationship and I can't wait to read more!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

The next chapter will be up very soon, I have it all written out but I currently have something in the queue already so I just have to wait for it to be validated.

Thanks for the review! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login