Reading Reviews for Devilish Delights, Wicked Ends
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Vy XII. Stratagem

11th July 2014:
gaaah can't wait for more

Author's Response: It's never a long wait with this fic, I promise ;) And it's a good one so ~~~ Thanks for stopping by and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #2, by StarlightAsteria I. Luck

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I stumbled on this story by chance, and I'm definitely going to keep reading. First off, I love all your character names, I think they're really well chosen. I also thought Sybil's letter to her mother was very very funny :). Evil Albus! Very interesting concept for a story, And I like how you have lots of Slytherins :) Slytherin is my favourite house :) You also write really rather well, and Albus quoting Machiavelli made me smile. I am really excited to keep reading this story. I would just say that in my opinion, that last line felt slightly stilted. Keep going, though :)

Author's Response: However you came by, I'm so glad you did -- welcome aboard! Hehe my naming has always leaned towards the ridiculous side, so this story is kind of the pinnacle of my terrible taste. This whole first chapter, really, is the pinnacle of how ridiculous I can write, starting with that letter, because Sybil is a ridiculous person when she isn't focused on something, like evil Albus. Being that it is a little ridiculous, I can see that the construction of the line may be a little off. One day, when I edit this for realsies, I'll keep it in mind. I'm a Ravenclaw myself but there's something terrible and aristocratic about Slytherin that makes writing about that House, especially in conjunction with not-so-great Gryffindors, a lot of fun. This fic is long since prewritten, so there should be no major speedbumps on the updating front. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy~

 Report Review

Review #3, by HarrietHopkirk XII. Stratagem

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

STUFF IS GOING TO GO DOWN AND I AM EXCITED! Seriously though, I know I've said it before but I can't really comprehend the level of cool that your characters exist on. It's just unattainable to me.

That scene with Albus and Ophelia - it was nice to finally hear some details about New Year's Eve, to see whether it was an Albus power play or simply drunken lust and the emotions and actions behind it. BUT ALSO POWER DYNAMICS AND ALBUS BEING EEEVIL AND OPHELIA BEING COOL AND EDGY. Just superb dialogue, superb unravelling of backstory and past events... Just ughhh. Everyone's as kings questions and I don't trust the answers. THE TRUTH IS OF NO CONSEQUENCE.

My faves rn are Ophelia and Rose. I'd love to see a little more of Antigone and Scorpius, but I'm sure that'll happen as the story progresses and stuff goes down at the Valentine's party and Damian and/or Sybil carry out her plans. I'm so excited!

I love your characters, I love this story. Can't wait for the next update, Gubby. Truly.

Author's Response: Stuff is always just about to go down, so now we can bring on the stuff! And ugh, the crazy level of ... you call it cool, we've termed it 'glossy evil'... this story exists on... it's so insane. I don't know how I didn't burn myself out trying to do it. But it's done, so huzzah.

I'm trying to remember now whether Ophelia and Albus hooking up on NYE was in the original outline, and I don't think it was. It was a happy accident of plotting that gave the story a really great underlying tension, so that is partly why we didn't hear details about that night before. The other parts being that 1. Ophelia didn't want to relive them and 2. if all that /had/ been some Albus power play, that would have been all kinds of horrid. And Albus is many things, but he's not all kinds of horrid. It was an accident in every sense of the word, and accidents happen in a world of cool glossy evil, so it's great to add some emotional imbalance to the power dynamics and evil Albus and edgy Ophelia somehow. Like I said in an earlier response, that section was my favorite -- best written, some of my favorite character dynamics (though Damian and Sybil are also hiiighly important, so keep an eye on what they do too!).

Antigone and Scorpius, I know, are a little lacking. Scorpius was always going to be, because he is not a pillar character, but Antigone definitely we need to get to know better. And we will, starting with the Valentine's Ball, in fact. I've said this in responses before, but it took me longer to figure out who Antigone was because the plotting necessarily put her at a remove from the heart of the action at first. She really comes into her own in the second half of the story, which is fast approaching.

I love you, I love your reviews, I love your thoughts! The next update is never far away. Thank you so much, darling, truly.


 Report Review

Review #4, by HarrietHopkirk XI. Madness

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hellooo Gubby! I am back, and sorry it has taken me so long to read these latest couple of chapters - but I'm on holiday atm so here I am! And as always, I am in awe of your writing. You really are talented, Gub-Gub.

I love the relationship and dynamics between Sybil and Ophelia. It's so interesting. Obv you've got Potter involved now, so things are way more complicated. I can't help but wonder if Sybil tries to be as ice queen and 'above it all' as Ophelia, but idk. I like them both, obv, and you write them both so well. (And Urquhart is the name of the BBC character that Frank Underwood from House of Cards is based on, so I can't help but draw a slightly Machiavellian comparison).

Also... Love/lust triangle? There's hints but I'm not certain. Probs wrong.

Your female characters are just fab - I love your characterization of Rose. She does what she wants and to hell with the consequences - the insight into her choice/choosing of boys/relationship with Thackeray was inspired. Her inner monologue is beautifully written, and it was great to see things from her perspective.

Just because he hadnít said he would replace her with Sybil Vaisey didnít mean she didnít know he would. And Rose would rather give herself up than give him the chance. I'M SO EXCITED TO SEE THIS ONE PLAY OUT!

And Caspar! A new, darker side to Caspar! So is he only with her for the power?! That's a mad twist, yo. I enjoyed it. Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi Hattie!! So wonderful to see you back, and honestly -- wow, you are such a darling, this makes me so happy :)

Sybil and Ophelia are a very interesting pair. They've done what others in this story with a complicated backstory haven't been able to do: they were enemies when they were young, and now they're not. They've forgiven but neither has entirely forgotten, especially not now that Sybil is becoming a new kind of leader and now that Ophelia has long since turned a new leaf. I wonder what you mean by "if Sybil tries to be as ice queen and 'above it all' as Ophelia," though. What I'll say is that Ophelia is a big unconscious and conscious influence on Sybil, and what she was like as an ice queen may have taught Sybil how to try to be when dealing with similar situations. In their personalities, Sybil is of course more fiery than Ophelia. (I don't watch House of Cards and only picked Urquhart because it was a canon Slytherin surname that wasn't super Death Eater-y and it started with a vowel, which I thought was nice with Ophelia. The Machiavellian influence is an added, unintentional bonus).

Rose... well, she's a nutjob, and I love her for it. But yeah, she has her reasons for everything -- for being this way, and acting the way she does, and picking the people she does for the reasons she does -- so I'm glad I'm doing her some justice! Poor girl. One day I will write a normal Rose. Who doesn't scheme against her family and the rest of the world to get to what she wants. (Though really, what does she want?). And hehe I'm so glad you got to this Caspar part, since you liked him so much in the beginning. I wouldn't say he's with Sybil /only/ for the power but it's a giiiant driving factor. I didn't think it was a ~twist~ but I'll take it.

Thanks so much for a great review :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by evil little devil XII. Stratagem

7th July 2014:
"A surprise, a challenge, a scapegoat" - am I reading into this right that Albus is planning to make Sybil a scapegoat for stealing the NEWTS? Does she realise this, I wonder?
This chapter was crazy hectic! So many things happened.
I love how Sybil's plan developed throughout the chapter - moving from Fred to Damian, to having a specific target time. It was a kind of mini-journey within a larger journey.
As almost always, my favourite parts were the Ophelia parts. I love never knowing to what level the deception is going at any given moment in this story. When Albus asked whether she was there on Sybil's bidding or not, I honestly was not sure, because with these guys you're never completely sure when someone is telling the truth or lying or something in between.
Her triumphant return to the dormitory was fabulous! I could really feel her glee coming of the page, and see it in my mind. We also got to see a lot more of Albus this chapter, and outside Sybil's point of view at that, which casts rather a different light on him. I did not quite realise the extent to which Ophelia despised the triumvirate until this chapter.
I am very excited for the Valentine's Ball! It sounds like it's going to be a blast.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: I don't know if Albus is consciously plotting to frame Sybil in turn for any NEWT shenanigans, but the idea is in his head. Then again, there are lots of ideas in his head, I imagine, so these are just a few of the more... obvious ones.

It was an overall hectic chapter though, wasn't it! The development of a full plan, and without anything going wrong (yet)~ The Ophelia section was also my favorite this time around, not in part because it might be the first time we get to see a significant amount of Albus' own point of view. And also it's the best written section. Something about Albus and Ophelia interactions are really special to me, rare as they are, so seeing both of them without the influence of others was great fun.

Thank you as always for a wonderful review! The Valentine's Ball (a two parter!) is going to be a doozy, I promise.


 Report Review

Review #6, by aurorasoltice XII. Stratagem

5th July 2014:
In all honesty i'm at loss of words when it comes to this story. I find the plot really intriguing, especially when the golden kids are bad ina different amusing way. Seems like the party would be a good camouflage but will sybil's plan work perfectly? It would be amusing to see if she fails (or succeed but not perfectly) to add more thrill.

New reader here! And i've signed up to stalk this story :D

Author's Response: Oh gosh, that's so nice to hear :D Ahh, I'm not even sure there are golden kids in this fic -- not my main characters and not even the kids of the trio -- but as long as it's amusing and entertaining, I'll take it. The party is an incredible opportunity, and Sybil, as we know, is nothing if not opportunistic :) Welcome aboard and so glad to have you here. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy :')

 Report Review

Review #7, by HarrietHopkirk X. Trust

27th June 2014:
OMG THEY ARE BOTH SO COOL I CAN'T

Author's Response: NEITHER CAN I AND SOMEHOW I WROTE A WHOLE NOVEL OF THIS??? Love ya bb

 Report Review

Review #8, by evil little devil XI. Madness

18th June 2014:
Every chapter leaves me with even more questions than I had to begin with! Although this one provided several answers as well, and several points of view. I was very excited to see more of Caspar! I've been wondering about him. I was assuming that there was going to be more to him than meets the eye, because it's you and it's this story. It makes me super happy to see how ambitious he is, and also to see that he's trying to ride Sybil's coattails.
It was nice to see more Antigone as well, because she hasn't really been so prominent thus far. She's another character, like Albus, that I haven't quite figured out yet, so I'm interested in seeing what happens with her. And there was some Rose POV as well! I love the way you make all these ice queens so ice queen like, but also so layered, and emotional, with different motivations and drives.It's a role that can so easily fall into a stereotype, but you have several that are all so different, it's fantastic to see.
And my dear Ophelia! She's definitely my favourite character, I'm not sure why, but I connect to her more so than the others, although they're all fantastic.
This chapter was crazy! So many different perspectives, and so many different characters. I don't know how you do it, but you make a chapter with so little actual action feel like you're reading an action sequence. All the dialogue and manipulations and schemings are so wonderful and engaging.

Author's Response: One day, I promise there will be all the answers that the story needs, but there's so much story left that plenty more questions will arise, cough cough. Since Caspar got so much love in the opening of the story, I was really interested in getting to this section (which, if I remember correctly, was not in the original outline), and I'm happy if you're happy :D Antigone is another one we'll be seeing a little more of soon, now that she's back in the game. Her distance is partly manufactured for plot reasons, and partly because it took me a while to really crack her as well (a problem, I think, with the initial plotting).

And Rose... oh, Rose. I don't know why I always write crazy Roses, but you can never let a crazy Rose just be crazy without exploring her reasons for it. I'm really interested in your descriptions of all these girls as ice queens, though, because the only one who's really anything of an ice queen is Ophelia. Rose, Antigone, and Sybil are all too temperamental to let themselves be called as such. Rose is, as mentioned already, a crazy person; Antigone is just your classic mean bully; Sybil is kind of a flippantly cruel mafia princess wannabe; and even Ophelia is a /former/ ice queen who's mellowed out a little. That's not to say you're wrong, because they're all powerful girls who are prominent in their social circles who can be closed off and manipulative at times, and I'm so happy that the roles they have don't fall into cliches or stereotypes :')

When I read this review I laughed at "you make a chapter with so little actual action feel like you're reading an action sequence" because I 100% know so little /actually/ happens, but I'm so so so happy that it's still engaging! There's so much of this stuff going on that hopefully it won't burn anyone out :3 Thank you again for an insightful review and I hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #9, by Sanne X. Trust

17th June 2014:
Well, Sybil's not doing too well at the moment. I think she only has two trump cards: she is the only one who knows the real identity of the informer; and, Ophelia is still on her side, and presumably her other friends will return to her side later. It's not reallly a lot, but I hope she'll make it work, because I'm really rooting for Sybil. I guess it's an underdog thing.

That being said, I've rarely been more interested in the endig of a story. Luckily, I know you've already finished it, but I'm still on the edge of my seat anytime you post a new chapter.

Author's Response: Nope, no she isn't, but nothing is guaranteed in this story by a long shot! She is the only one who knows the true identity of the informer, but Albus, by nature of spying on Ophelia specifically, /does/ know she is secretly on Sybil's side, which is why it's such a hard blow for Sybil. Even with so little, Sybil the underdog is hard to knock out, I promise.

Bawww thank you so much! The ending does indeed exist, and I tinker with it every now and then but it's mostly done. We're moving steadily on, so thank you for the review and I hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #10, by evil little devil X. Trust

17th June 2014:
I still don't quite know what to make of Albus at this point. I can't quite figure him out yet as a person, which is fun, because mysterious complex characters are fun and so are puzzles. So much of what we see of him is heavily laced with Sybil's preconceptions and prejudices, it's hard to see through that to see what really drives him.
I like that they're both self-proclaimed heartless people, and yet at the same time they're both so incredibly emotional. And they both think they're good at hiding it, and they both look down on the other for being bad at hiding it, and yet don't recognise that the same applies to them.
It is definitely hard to say who has the upper hand here. Though Sybil is flailing a little at the moment, Albus doesn't know (unless he suspects?) that Ophelia's still on her side, and presumably the others will filter back to her as well. That paragraph where Sybil's thinking about how long it would take them to realise what she was up to, I think that really highlighted her manipulative side.
My thoughts are all in a jumble over this chapter! I don't know what to think. Like you said, there are a lot of balls up in the air at the moment, and it will be really interesting to see where they land.

Author's Response: No one does, it would seem! At least not for sure. You're absolutely right that Sybil's preconceptions shape so much of what the reader knows about him, but as we move on, we'll be seeing more sections featuring Albus' pov or at least featuring him without Sybil. Half of the fun of the fic is trying to make sense of Albus, and I promise that very soon there will be a lot more clarity on that front than there may be now. But thaaat point is a very good one -- I don't think it's true that they're entirely heartless, but they are very good at compartmentalizing. It's why Sybil has little qualms about cutting her friends off when she thinks they're not being supportive, and it's why Albus... is Albus; he couldn't have become this near-mythic figure without being able to turn off whatever empathetic side he may have had.

The thing is that Albus /does/ know that Ophelia is still with Sybil -- that's what I was getting at when he said that he was watching her -- which is why it was so devastating for Sybil, but there are other things he doesn't know, like who really took the bounty. So yeah, it's a flaily time for Sybil and our Slytherins, but they'll be prepared to bounce back soon enough.

Thank you again for a great review :') Hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #11, by Allison IX. Message

29th April 2014:
I truly cannot stress how much I love this story. It fits perfectly into the kind of fanfics I'm into at the moment. I love evil-albus'. They are perfect and call for a great understanding of character and plot. I'm excited each chapter and I believe you've done great with this story. Then again who am I to judge. Nonetheless this story is a treat and I hope you get through your most stressful time of your life. I'm a pretty patient reader :)

Author's Response: Oh gosh... thank you, thank you so very much! Evil Albuses (Albii? I don't know that there are enough of them to warrant the plural but I like Albii), and really Evil Anyone-Who-Is-Not-Dark-Wizard-Evil, are so hard to pull off. I know from experience, because this isn't the first time I tried to write this kind of fic lol. But... yeah, it means a lot that you think the idea and moreover the execution of this story is worthwhile; that you're a reader gives you the write to judge what I, the writer, have put up to be judged and enjoyed, so don't ever think you don't have a voice in this exchange, because writing really is a dialogue, especially when it's as direct as it can be here at HPFF. Most of the stress and all of the fun is over now, so we'll see what comes next, but the next chapter is in queue so hopefully the wait after this won't be so long. Thank you again for such a splendid review, and I hope you continue to enjoy :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by evil little devil IX. Message

29th April 2014:
This was a super exciting chapter!
Even more Ophelia! I think my favourite parts of this story are seeing Ophelia's view of Sybil in particular, but also others. I don't think this story would work nearly as well as it does without the multiple points of view, seeing how the characters view each other tells you so much about the characters themselves, and it's so very fascinating to read.
And wow, you totally had me with that surprise. It didn't even occur to me that that fight was anything more than Sybil being a brat. It really should have, because it did seem a bit excessive, even for her XD
That part about Sybil still needing validation from her old tormentor spoke volumes about her character, and her relationship with Ophelia. It had actually slipped my mind that Ophelia had been the school bully, so I'm glad you brought it back in! It is such a fascinating dynamic for a relationship, especially considering that right now, they're probably each the closest friends that they have (aside from Antigone and Ophelia perhaps?).
While the plot is really well laid and fascinating, the characters are the shining stars of this story. I absolutely adore character studies, and the more ambiguous type of characters - perhaps because they tend to be the most complex and well thought out, so this story is like a dream come true. And each chapter you manage to tease out just that little bit more of the characters, leaving me dying to get to know them even better.
I'm pretty tired at the moment, so sorry if this review is a little rambling and incoherent! This was such a fantastic chapter, it felt very dramatic even though there wasn't the hugest amount of action or anything, but quite a few subtle power shifts and realisations which are always fun. See you next chapter!

Author's Response: Most exciting things that happen in this story will be exciting the way I think this was exciting -- machinations, conversations analyzing the machinations, etc -- so I'm glad you enjoyed it! And Ophelia is a prime character to do all of that with, especially for as long as she's paired with Sybil. Their dynamic has a lot of history, so it's not a bad thing that you forgot that, because it's not something they are always conscious of either. The moments when they each remember who the other used to be, and use the old identity to define the present one, I think reveal just as much about them as characters too.

I've tried to do stories that focus on one character's point of view, whether that's because of the POV or because of plot structure, and it rarely works over extended periods of time. Maybe because I have a habit of writing main characters who are less than nice people to spend a lot of time with, mentally/emotionally? Whatever the reason, this story absolutely would never work if it didn't open up quite a bit to include everyone's point of view, and we will see everyone at some point or other.

Character being shining stars is all I have ever wanted :') Plot has never ever been my strong suit, though I'm working on that, so I try to make up for it with the characters who make plot happen. I have my tropes for characters but this is definitely the most successful I've been at carrying out what I envisioned at all, so it means so much more to hear it about this story with these characters -- let alone that it's a dream come true, which is crazy and wonderful and THANK YOU. I promise, by the time we're done, you'll know these dummies almost as well as I do... though I hope they surprise you to the very end, as they did me.

If you think your review was rambling/incoherent, you should reread this response (and you probably will have to, because this makes... no sense). Subtle power shifts and realizations are my favorite things! And there's always, always more on the way. Thank you so much, Sian, darling :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by HarrietHopkirk VIII. Control

4th April 2014:
Oh daaammmnnn - this is exciting stuff! I can now imagining Rose and Thackeray teaming up together as a badass power couple to take down Albus so that he has to turn to Sybil to help him out and get revenge.

I really like Ophelia - she's pretty cool. I also felt pretty bad for Caspar, bless him. I liked him at the beginning but I'm not sure about him now - he seems a bit meek.

Anywayz, well done Gubs. Can't wait for the next one!!

Author's Response: That's the idea, at least! And hehehe, the Rose/Thackeray dynamic is one of the most important ones. I don't know that I'd define them the way you do, Hattie, but they do carry a lot of weight together. And together they may threaten Albus, though perhaps not in the way that you're imagining. (You're on the right track, for what it's worth). I adooore Ophelia, she's the coolest cucumber of the bunch; I'm glad that Caspar is looking slightly less shiny now. Again, I don't know that I'd call him 'meek' exactly but I'm glad that the ~layers~ of the onion that is Caspar Moran are becoming a little more intriguing. (Oh my god I can't believe I just said that I'm going to press submit before I rethink this).

Thanks as always! -squish-


 Report Review

Review #14, by evil little devil VIII. Control

29th March 2014:
As I imagine you can guess, I am so super excited about all the Ophelia. She's my favourite perspective to read, I think both because she's very insightful, and because she's very much a calming force amid all the drama queens. I get the feeling that she's going to be the one to get stuff done, more so than Sybil. Gosh, Sybil was such a brat this chapter! Although I loved her conversation with Albus, I love how condescending and manipulative they both are, it's beautiful to read.
You're very right in saying that this is the beginning of a new phase of the story, it does feel like a new phase, like everything has been shifted and the real antics are about to begin. Up until now it's been a bit of a warm up, getting to know everyone and what makes them tick, but now the die has been cast and we get to see where the story takes them. Which is very exciting! I don't know how you managed to pull off just so many power shifts, and relationship shifts, in such a short amount of time. It makes me very excited to see all the lovely power changes and manipulations we have to look forward to!

Author's Response: Hehe Ophelia is getting to be a popular character and I couldn't be happier about it! My poor baby. I don't know that she is a calming force, exactly -- certainly she's calmER than the others, but as we've seen, she's not above getting sucked into drama. And really, the fun part with having a character as reserved as Ophelia is putting her at the heart of highly emotional yet highly dramatic, politicized machinations, and seeing how she deals with it all.

I don't think anyone in this story /isn't/ a brat on some level, but Sybil is definitely the biggest on an immediate level, which is all the more annoying to everyone else. And it's that brattiness that makes her so much fun to write alongside Albus, who's so self-serious that he can't improvise as fluidly as she can, even if they are (in many ways) equally manipulative. She sees through his posturing and calls him on it /because/ she's a brat and that's how she knows she can cut through all of his nonsense. And, of course, it's why she can create nonsense too.

I wouldn't have thought I'd hear that conversation as being 'beautiful' but I'm deeply flattered :3 It was a real turning point for me and for the story, so thank you. And you're exactly right about the first phase being a warm-up. There's apparently a thing about how when you're writing a novel, the /real/ starting point hits around the 20k word mark and you're supposed to throw away the first 20k. Which I would NEVER do, because in my case they really are crucial, and anyway the way this story is written and divided, it's more around the 30k mark lol, but the basic idea still applies. The first part was table-setting, exposition-sharing, and broad character exploration; now we get to mess with everything already established. And tbh I have to giggle when you say 'in such a short amount of time,' because at the end of the chapter, this story hits 40k words, which itself is longer than my previous longest-completed-story (Off-Kilter, for the record). Anyway, believe me, plenty more power and relationship shifts are not too far away. (There's a big one just next chapter, if I remember correctly).

Thanks again, Sian! You always pick up on the meaty stuff, for which I'm super grateful. Hope you continue to enjoy (because I enjoy seeing you enjoy)!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Alicia VIII. Control

29th March 2014:
Quite eventful chapter, very surprising too! BUT I KNEW THAKERAY AND ROSE WERE A THING. Oh Sybil, why so mean to Antigone and Ophelia? And Caspar too I suppose. I really enjoyed the Ophelia perspective and her insights- she's the only one that knows how to fight? Hmmm, Sybil's to self righteous for this new plan to work? Hm. I guess I'll see the next time you update!! And I can definetly feel the meat of the story picking up! Also, what're your face claims for everyone?

Author's Response: Yes, yes you did! I thought more people would pick up on that just as early, actually, because... well, Rose and Finlay are many things, but subtle is not one of them lol. And Sybil's cruelty in kicking literally everyone to the curb is not undeserved, shall we say, in her mind. And it's not like Albus would be happy if she kept them around. But all the same, it does bring up the question, "is this new plan, and all the things that are apparently required of it, worth it?" And the fact that she did do this does not go away, I promise.

We'll be seeing an increasing amount of Ophelia's perspective, so if you liked this, there's plenty more to come! She's definitely one of the more interesting characters to write, especially when she reflects on Sybil. And, as we'll see, when she reflects on her relationship to everyone else when she gets sucked even deeper into the politics of it all.

Funny you ask about face claims! I am not very good at them, tbh, but someone asked about what Albus' triumvirate looks like on my writing blog a while ago (link on my author's page!), and I answered with a very rough, not super accurate list of face claims for everyone there. The only ones I really stand by are Adelaide Kane for Sybil, Logan Lerman for Albus, and Holland Roden for Ophelia, the rest I am not at all attached to.

Anyway, thank you so much for reviewing and hope, as always, that you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #16, by Dawn VII. Honour

17th March 2014:
I love how intense this is getting! Such darkness and backstabbing-ness.

Damian...ugh. I feel like I kind of should be sorry for him, but at the same time, really? Come one, he has literally no loyalty towards his family. And he has a crush on Ohpelia so he cares if she gets hurt, but not when Sybil did? What even.

This story is so amazing! The whole mafia-ish theme and the characters are so perfect :)

Also, I love how this is actually already done. No ridiculously long waits yay!!!

Author's Response: Hehe the darkness and backstabby-ness is just getting started! There's pleeenty more of all that fun stuff to come, I promise. But I agree, this stuff is pretty legit on its own, and I'm glad you're enjoying it!

As I said in another response, Damian is obviously faaar from the virtuous hero-type he half-imagines himself as, but that doesn't mean he doesn't have a point. The nature and extent of the violence done to Sybil versus that done to Ophelia is VERY different: Thackeray pushed Sybil around a little, and Rose straight-up magically assaulted Ophelia. That does not make Damian's seeming nonchalance about Sybil's ordeal any better, but his point that she's fair game, more or less, for fairly mild intimidation and Ophelia is not fair game for the kind of games Rose plays is an understandable one. At least, that's how I see it, and if you don't, that's 100% your call. But I'm glad it all works together :) And of course I'm glad you're happy that it's done! I am too. (I'll be honest, if I was still writing this after over two years, I would probably kill it out of spite. As it happened, I finished before the 2 year anniversary, so no spite-killing, huzzah!).

Thanks so much for reviewing, and hope you continue to enjoyyy~


 Report Review

Review #17, by HarrietHopkirk VII. Honour

15th March 2014:
OK, so first off I had always questioned how dark this fic was going to get, with regard to the scale of the respective organizations and the lengths they would go to keep, or gain, power. But after Ophelia's attack and now Finlay and Damian's fight and Albus' lurkiness, there's no doubt how eeevil everybody is (as well as who else has the capacity for eeevil).

Is gr9.

Author's Response: I figured that would be a concern, so I'm glad you brought it up in the way you did. I'm not sure the /scale/ of the organizations will bring to mind the depths of ~dark~ness you may now expect -- the Hogwarts underworld is at its core a pretty claustrophobic space so the scale, in sheer numbers, is a little smaller -- but the lengths to which people will go to keep, or gain, (or maintain!) power is a concept that's a lot more immediately relevant to this story. Although lbr, Hattie, I've been describing this as "glossy evil" for ages. Had to live up to it sometime. (And love the 'capacity for eeevil' addendum you have, as that's one of my favorite things to explore!).

-squish-


 Report Review

Review #18, by evil little devil VII. Honour

13th March 2014:
This chapter was an intense one!
Gosh, poor Damian. I'm starting to get a little sympathetic towards the guy (although I'm still a little iffy that he didn't care for Thackeray hurting Sybil, but when it comes to Ophelia . . . priorities, man). He's put himself between a rock and a hard place, and I don't really see him getting out of that any time soon.
And yay for more Ophelia and Antigone! They get more and more interesting each chapter. This was an interesting chapter, in that in centred around Sybil and a discussion of her intentions, but we didn't actually get to see into her mind to find out what her intentions are - which is a very clever strategy, because we were placed in the same situation as Antigone and Ophelia.
Excellent chapter as always! Looking forward to the next one :)

Author's Response: It really was, which is why I'm rather fond of it :3 Damian does deserve a certain modicum of sympathy -- definitely stuck between a rock and a hard place -- but you're right, that does not make him a wholly virtuous kind of guy. I think what he said in this chapter does explain his views about violence to Sybil versus violence to Ophelia; Sybil, as a main aggressor, is more or less fair game for intimidation, which was all Thackeray really did, but Ophelia, as a more innocent party, has done nothing to deserve being /magically assaulted/ by Rose. There's a huge difference between what was done to both girls, and that's something that shouldn't be ignored, but again, it doesn't make Damian's outburst/priorities all that much better.

Ophelia and Antigone are absolutely engines of plot and have ~agency~ and all that good stuff, so there will be plenty of spots where Sybil's importance will be dialed down in favor of one of theirs. (Heads up: lots of Ophelia drama in the not too distant future!). And hehe I did structure that on purpose, and it's a structural tool that is not going away anytime soon, because there's just so much doubt and distrust and confusion! It would not be a fic of mine if there was certainty about anything.

Thank you so much :)) Great review, as usual, and I hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Alicia VII. Honour

11th March 2014:
So I bonded with Ophelia and Antigone this chapter! Antigone and I both wear glasses when stressed! ..Except I don't become super witty and cutting (what I got from standoffish), but really stupid and thick. Also Ophelia understands my dislike of Moron! Moron is a moron. Still shipping Sylbus. Also shipping Finlay/Thakeray and Rose b/c she organically evil laughs and he monotones and fist-wands (yeah-it's a verb). Also b/c of that quote a couple chapters back:"It was soup difficult to believe they all had been BFFLs before founding the Yakuza of Hogwarts" #photogenicmemory #thakose Sounds like wackos. Also Damian is my homeboy and I think he just needs a therapist. I could be that shrink, Dami! Pls let me solve your psychological problems!

Author's Response: I always like seeing characters a little more removed from the general doom and gloom and plotting that goes on for the most of the story, so I'm glad you bonded with them! I also wear glasses no matter what my stress level but I don't get much more temperamental than usual. (I'm usually kind of temperamental).

How did I miss that Moran and Moron are basically the same word? Ugh, so disappointed in myself, but thank you for pointing it out, because it's a very valuable contribution~ Continue shipping Sylbus and... Roselay? Finrose? Frose? Frozen? I give up... to your heart's content! I ship anything and everything, so go for it. And there's plenty of, uh, sailing going on, especially in the next few chapters, so that'll be pretty fun. And oh dear, I can promise you that Damian will need more than a therapist by the time we're through with him. Maybe two therapists. Come to think of it, I can't think of any character who wouldn't benefit from therapy by the end of the story. Which will be /even more fun/.

Your reviews are so entertaining, I love reading and responding to them! Thank you for leaving them and I hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #20, by HarrietHopkirk V. Resurrection

10th March 2014:
Is Damian going to be the Fredo Corleone of this mafia?

Author's Response: I don't know how I made it through writing a novel about mafia warfare without having seen any of the Godfather movies but it's the truth :'( However, having just skimmed the wikipedia page on him, I can promise you that the dynamic between Sybil and Damian is very different than the one between Michael and Fredo. But I see kind of what you're getting at and wish I'd thought of it sooner. (You're the best).

 Report Review

Review #21, by Allison VII. Honour

10th March 2014:
I just ew through what you have uploaded of this story so far and I absolutely love it. Congratulations on finishing this masterpiece. Your characters are beautifully written and concrete. (Ophelia is my fav) I can't wait till you update again.

Author's Response: I'm going to go ahead and assume that 'ew' was meant to be 'flew' or something because otherwise I would be kind of confused -- but really, what a lovely review! I'll say this every opportunity I get, but it's been over 2 years since I started writing this and I can't believe it's actually kind of fit for other eyes, so thank you. I'm really glad Ophelia is your fave because in certain points of the story she overtakes Sybil as my favorite. Next chapter will probably show up nearish the end of the month, but don't quote me on that. Again, thanks for reviewing and hope you continue to enjoy~

 Report Review

Review #22, by Sanne VII. Honour

9th March 2014:
Wow, this is an amazing story. You gave the original Hogwarts a complete twist, without making it into something else. Do you get my meaning?
Also, the story is seriously compelling and I'm very happy you've already finished writing, so I am sure I won't be left hanging.
Can I ask, what is your updating schedule?

Author's Response: Why, thank you, that's so sweet :3 And yes, I do understand. It's pretty easy to make Hogwarts whatever you want it to be for whatever story you want to write, because manipulating how it works is such a great way to develop characters and relationships. It's a petrie dish for ~wizarding society~ and I'm ecstatic this Hogwarts rings kind of true! Or as true as fanfic interpretations of Hogwarts can ring. And of course you won't be left hanging! (For once I can guarantee that lol). I update every two to three weeks, depending on when I remember to send it in, so it's not a terrible wait, I shouldn't think. Anyway, thank you so much for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ravenclaw333 I. Luck

8th March 2014:
A glorious start! I'm already intrigued by the setup you have going on here - kingpin Albus, unapologetic Slytherin royalty, hot chocolates in the Three Broomsticks fraught with mysterious tension - perfect. Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Ohoho, what a glorious compliment! This chapter, and to be fair quite a few of the following ones, are about table-setting, but hopefully they're all to good effect for when the story gets rolling. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Alicia VI. Bounty

3rd March 2014:
Hello!!

I've been reading for a while, just have always been to lazy to review (shame on me, I know). But I kind of love Sybil. And since chapter one, I've kind of been shipping Sybil/Albus. Which may just be because over flow of feels for etc. etc., but seriously Sylbus all the way!! Hmm, what else.am loving Fred and his attempts to save Albus, Scorpius as neutral Headboy is tops and oh so adorable, and Damian!! I feel for the boy. Yet I'm also like dude, why are you a little traitor? And then I remember he's a power hungry Slytherin and am some what placated.

Update quick por favor!! Y es muy bueno!

Oh and the way you write Rose?? And the whole dynamic between Thatcher, Al, and her??? Ugh, so good, I wanted to eat it.


#sylbus #casparneedstodisappear #caspartheghost

Author's Response: I promise I won't shame you re: the not reviewing thing, because I can guarantee that in my fanfic life I've been far worse, but I'm super excited that you started!

Teehee tbh I've been waiting for someone to mention etc etc in conjunction with this story, so, uh, thank you for doing so! There are clear parallels between the two (oh the hazards of writer friends who are interested in similar themes and archetypes!) but there are fundamental differences between Gina's story and mine, and of course between the Clemence/Albus and Sybil/Albus relationships (and trust me, I've spent an amazing amount of time thinking about those parallels and differences so, you know, if you ever need a cure for your insomnia, ask me about them). Also I can't blame you for the Clembus feels either, but I'm a Clickett shipper through and through (AND MORE PEOPLE SHOULD BE).

ANYWAY enough about etc etc... so glad you love Sybil so much! She's obviously kind of important, to say the least, so it's so lovely to see. Nor is it wrong to ship her with Albus, though I wonder if anything is really possible between them. Fred is so sweet and so dumb that I can't help but love him; Scorpius doesn't strike me as more tragicomic or pathetic than adorable because there is no easy way to remain between Sybil and Albus; and lol at Damian. He is... well, he's a piece of work. They all are! Especially Rose, and Thackeray, and Albus, and especially the three of them together. A more messed up triumvirate there could not be. I would not recommend eating it but I'm flattered you'd like to.

I try to update every two-three weeks and it's a system that's been working reasonably well, so never fear, one's always just around the riverbend~

Hehe I suppose there's no good ship name for Sybil/Albus but Sylbus looks like syllabus and it makes me break out just looking at it because of the school relation and... anyway that's my issue. Sylbus it is! If Caspar ever disappears, which, you know, he may never do. Anywayyy thank you for the enthusiastic review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by evil little devil VI. Bounty

19th February 2014:
And the plot thickens! -cue dramatic music-
I am terrible at remembering past chapters, but something I am curious about (there may have been hints in past chapters?) is Damian's motivations for working for Albus and Thackeray. Is he being blackmailed into it? Is he doing it for fun? For power? He doesn't appear to dislike Sybil, and yet he's still working for Thackeray knowing that he shoved her up against a wall (at least I think he knows, he was there for Sybil's recruitment gathering, right?). Consider me intrigued.
And the introduction of Scorpius! He is an intriguing fellow. I absolutely love seeing how people choose to portray the Potter/Weasley kids - the whole kind of nature/nurture aspects to the characterisations, and all that sort of stuff. Your Scorpius is very interesting, and quite refreshing. As much as I absolutely adore all the awkward bumbling Scorpii that exist, it's lovely to be reading a new take on him. From the tone you were setting up there, I have a feeling he's going to struggle to remain neutral, and that his attempts at neutrality may not necessarily go well for him.
And then we have Fred. What I read from that section is that he's trying to save Albus from himself, yes? By helping Sybil to take him down before he attempts his crazy illegal NEWT answer stealing plot, he's trying to stop Albus getting caught and being arrested.
This was a very interesting chapter! There were lots of lovely strands to follow, and new characters. Looking forward to the next one :)

Author's Response: The plot is constantly thickening, never you fear~ Which I like to think is half the fun but yeah, it does get confusing.

As it is, we don't specifically know Damian's motivations, but they really aren't specific: he's always wanted power like his older brothers had, but Sybil shutting down their mob meant that he couldn't do that. So long before Sybil started this whole thing, he aligned himself where there was still power to be had, if you acquitted yourself (and it's important to remember that Sybil, in the past few years, hasn't had very much power, and doesn't have much more now). It's nothing personal against Sybil or even his House. I can imagine that he's not 100% happy that he did choose that option, but this is where he is. Damian sees himself as stuck between a rock and a hard place. It's good that you're asking those questions, though; these are issues that we dive headfirst into next chapter, so yay~

I unabashedly love awkward bumbling Scorpii too (though honestly And Capers Ensue has my favorite Scorpius to date), but I didn't want this Scorpius to be derpy or awkward or even swashbuckingly perfect; he's just a normal guy trying to be as normal as humanly possible. I don't know if he /struggles/ to stay neutral as much as he tries to navigate what neutrality means, especially in terms of his relationship with Antigone and her relationship, in turn, with Sybil and Ophelia and the whole task force mob thing in the first place. Which, all together, doesn't really suggest the best for him, does it? :P

And yes, that is correct! Fred figures that if he feeds Sybil what (admittedly little) he knows, she can stop Albus in his tracks, and therefore stop him not only from jail and expulsion and etc, but also from total moral corruption! He's very sweet but also so, so dumb. Poor guy.

Sorry for this wall of text response! The boys highlighted in this chapter are for the most part supporting characters, but they have a specific place, and I'm glad you're picking up on all this about them all :D Thank you so much for such a great review and I hope you continue to enjoy, as always :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>