Reading Reviews for Devilish Delights, Wicked Ends
  
60 Reviews Found

Review #1, by monster next door XIX. Revenge

24th November 2014:
It's Antigone. omg. Who would have thought? Not me. Should have guessed since "Antigone is another one we'll be seeing a little more of soon, now that she's back in the game" ._. but nah. naah.

But Antigone omg eeep /hearts in my eyes/

Amazing update as always, can't wait for the next update! xoxo

Author's Response: I thought I wrote that in an author's note, so I scoured all the author's notes from the last ~12 chapters, then I thought it was in a response... and I said that in June. Heh. Having taken so long to bring her to the forefront, though, I promise you, Antigone isn't going anywhere. We'll see if the hearts remain in your eyes though. Thank you so much and I hope you continue to enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne XIX. Revenge

23rd November 2014:
Yes! Finally Antigone is getting some action. I love that I'm always surprised, every chapter, by the new ways you manage to twist the plot. Most cases, I barely see it coming! Things are getting really nasty now and I can hardly wait to read more.
Awesome chapter :)

Author's Response: Yes, you'd think she deserves it after all this time... but after taking a backseat for a while, I promise Antigone comes very much to the forefront of the action. And hehe I'm so happy this story still keeps you on your toes :D It wouldn't be half as fun if it didn't. Thank you so much for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by StarlightAsteria XVII. Story

20th October 2014:
Hi!

Gosh, there's so much good stuff in this chapter. It's so mind-glowingly clever... HOW? I AM IN AWE! I'm starting to think Rose is even more dangerous than Albus. Are we going to see Albus and Sybil team up to take Rose down at some point? I don't imagine Albus is the kind of guy to take the threat Rose gives him at the end of the chapter lightly.

Please, update quickly?

Celi xxx

Author's Response: I realize that the mind-glowing is probably a typo, but it's such a pretty image that I love this review all the more! I always like giving the impression of being clever, though in reality it takes a lot of work to keep up the illusion, so thank you :3 Heh is Rose only now seeming dangerous? It's true, she is a little nutcase, no matter who is the object of her wrath. That would be waaay interesting to see, I gladly admit, but Rose is not quite the Big Bad you may imagine her to be, at least not in the way you imagine her to be. And the threat she represents to Albus is not as clear-cut as we may initially suspect.

You know me by now, I update every 2-3 weeks, so do check back every now and then and you'll hopefully find a few thousand more words waiting for you :) Thank you for the review and I hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #4, by Cappuccino XVI. Victory

23rd September 2014:
I think you're a brilliant writer. Everything is so planned out and fits into place so perfectly. I have been waiting for this chapter ever since I started reading Devilish delights, wicked ends and I can safely say, it was worth the wait.
I haven't written all too many reviews but your writing makes me want to take time and write nice things in this box. Great chapter!
-
vee

Author's Response: Oh, gosh, thank you so much! The /only/ reason this story is even slightly cohesive is because I plotted it for so long and wrote it for even longer, because this is so far outside my usual structure it's kind of stunning. I had been waiting to write this chapter since I dashed off a haphazard plot outline, and wanting to share it since I started posting the story, so again -- thank you /so much/. I'm so glad it lived up to the wait; I know too well what it's like to wait for moments like these in fics.

I am hardly one to judge another for not reviewing a lot, but firstly, you should if you have the time, it truly means the world to any author, but secondly, since I am hardly one to judge, I know what it means to actually review. I'm so flattered and delighted, so thank you very, very much, again! I hope you continue to enjoy the story :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by M XVI. Victory

19th September 2014:
YES YES YES YES no time for better review.just started story.looking forward to update

Author's Response: Hehe all I wanted was some all-caps celebrating, so this is the greatest review I could get. Welcome to the story, and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #6, by escala XVI. Victory

19th September 2014:
Oh my god!!
I don't even know what else to say. Your writing is magnificent, as always, and the part of me that wants Sybil and Albus together has grown exponentially larger.Now I'm so curious to see what happens next!
When will their attraction to each other beat their struggle for power? Will Sybil bring him to the light? Will he forget his newt plans for her? Turn against rose?
Part of me doubts it, part of me yearns for it!
So great, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: A doubly wonderful review :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by escala XVI. Victory

19th September 2014:
Oh my god!!
I don't even know what else to say. Your writing is magnificent, as always, and the part of me that wants Sybil and Albus together has grown exponentially larger.Now I'm so curious to see what happens next!
When will their attraction to each other beat their struggle for power? Will Sybil bring him to the light? Will he forget his newt plans for her? Turn against rose?
Part of me doubts it, part of me yearns for it!
So great, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Oh gosh, thank you so much! I think I said how much I kind of love this chapter, so to see this is just... delightful :D Especially if it means your shipper heart has grown a size or two, because that's kind of exactly what I was after. Those are the greatest questions of our age!!!1! Or at least of this story. They're all very good ones, and will be answered, in typically twisted, hopefully unexpected ways.

Thank you again so much for such a great review! :) I hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #8, by evil little devil XIV. And Circuses

6th August 2014:
Did you just make me like Thackeray? Now that I did not see coming :P
Wow. This chapter was intense. I'm pretty tired at the moment, so I feel like I probably missed some of the nuances in here, and I should probably re-read later, but even so. Wow.
Starting with the Ophelia and Albus part, to be honest I did not ever really consider his intentions going down that path, but I really like it. I look forward to watching Sybil delve further into his motivations.
And Rose! I like her more and more with every chapter. I am not at all surprised to find out that she was the instigator of the triumvirate takeover. That metaphor you used, with Albus being the brain, and her being the heart, that was beautiful, and perfect. I really loved that whole section with her character, because she's super fascinating, and it was really well written.
You had me so worried that something bad would happen to Ophelia. Quick sidenote - you write drunk people very well. Ophelia's drunken rambling was beautiful. And Caspar! I knew he was darker than he appeared, but if Ophelia's right, he could end up being the real villian here.
And I'm just going to end on the same note I started on. Did you just make me like Thackeray? Just a tentative, little bit?
Great chapter! I hope you have a lovely vacation, and I look forward to more devilish schemings on your return :)

Author's Response: I didn't know you disliked Thackeray so much! I wouldn't blame you if I had known, because he's kind of a non-12+ noun, but I'm doubly glad you came to like him a little more with this chapter. Which was /definitely/ intense -- one of the crowning chapters of the whole story, I think. A little of everything. A lot of stuff going down.

Most important to me was the Sybil and Albus stuff -- I don't think I'd ever put in the original outlining that Albus had any kind of ~higher moralistic goals~ for himself (quoting from the original outline: /Albus and Sybil are trashy attractive and stuff/), so it came kind of out of nowhere when I was writing this chapter. But I'm so glad it happened because now the story has an emotional/even moral backbone and a momentum it didn't before.

Teehee I'm very proud of the brain/heart/body metaphor, and I wasn't sure if it was original enough or not, but yay! I loved that section when I wrote it, then took it out because I was still trying to make the V-Day Ball fit as one chapter and it was too long, but then put it back when I split the chapter. That section had some of the more descriptive language, which isn't always around in this fic, and I've never been good at 'killing your darlings' or whatever edit guides tell you to do.

I went over Ophelia's drunk rambling for /months/. Every time I would reread it, I would tinker with it, and I think I was doing that in the submit box here at HPFF too, so /thank you so much omg/. Ophelia's been as clear as it's possible for her to be that she doesn't like Caspar, which is why I was always amused at the positive reaction he got at the start. I hope we'll all be more skeptical of him... but not too skeptical? Maybe? Ahem. And lol, Thackeray has nice moments too! We'll see them, perhaps, even more as we build on this section.

My vacation was great and now that I'm home, I can't wait to share the devilish schemings that are just over the horizon. Love ya Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Allison XIV. And Circuses

4th August 2014:
You honestly have me so scared for Ophelia right now. During this chapter it finally clicked in my head how she is a parallel to Hamlet's Ophelia. And she dies! So you have me convinced that something similar is going to happen. Every cause needs a martyr, right? Rose probably would've loved to be a martyr after what's been revealed about her in this chapter. And I think that further stresses the tensions the two redheads already have. Ugh. I don't want Ophelia dead though. But she's beginning to seem like a tragic character, one I love very much.

Author's Response: I wish I could tell you to not worry about Ophelia, that everything will turn up with flowers and smiles and rainbows, but -- well, I can't. However, I can promise you no one literally loses their life. As Dumbledore tells us, there are things worse than death, but I promise that there is no literal death in this story. And as it is, you don't need to die to be a tragic character, so ~~~

I've actually always wanted to use the name Ophelia but hesitated because of the Hamlet connection; I feared it would happen with this story too, but somehow I didn't think it would underline itself in this chapter! You may be reading a little more than I'd have thought into the Shakespearean influence, but the martyrdom thing is a veeery interesting suggestion. Not that I think Rose would like to be a /martyr/ precisely, because she doesn't actually want to leave Albus or Finlay to their devices. She wants to save them, but I wonder if she'd sacrifice so much to do it. Whatever happens, you're absolutely right that the Ophelia-Rose tension is going to go way, way up.

Thank you so much for a great review! It's always great to see others' point of view of a story that's been stuck in your head for so long, so thank you for the insight. I hope you continue to enjoy :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by evil little devil XIII. Bread

21st July 2014:
I'm really glad that my housemates are used to my spontaneous laughing, because that mobsters-in-law line had me in hysterics! Oh dear Ophelia.
Drunk Ophelia (although how drunk is she really? is she putting it on for the plan, I do wonder), brooding Caspar, crazy-as-usual Rose, this chapter was great fun! It was also really exciting to see more of Antigone and Scorpius, I am really intrigued to get to know them better. It's so much fun to slowly peel back their personalities and motivations and all that stuff. It really keeps me hanging on for more.
I think this is the first chapter we've had so many of the characters smushed into one place, so there are a few new dynamics and interactions. I am pretty excited for the next chapter. Will Damian succeed? What is Ophelia up to? Will Rose unleash violence? Will Caspar's brooding increase in intensity?

Author's Response: Hehehe it is pretty much the line of the story. There aren't many one-liners to be found here, but that is one of the simplest and best so :D Ahh, I didn't even think that Ophelia could be faking! That would have been great! However, she is... not faking. As I think the Antigone and Scorpius section was trying to show, the entourage's only job was to pretend they didn't have jobs, in order to not draw attention to what Sybil is doing with Albus or to what Damian will be doing with this Gryffindor Tower plan; lure them into complacency, kind of, though it would take waaay more than this to make Rose Weasley complacent. And in not having 'real' assignments, they're free to act almost as they wish, as long as it disturbs the Gryffindors, which Ophelia's rants certainly do.

It's true that this is the first time everyone has been in the same space doing something ~important~, and those kinds of structures make for some of the best interactions between characters, so I'm glad you're seeing all of that! And oh dear, let me promise you, EVERYTHING increases in intensity after next chapter. Perhaps not in the way you're thinking now, but... well, you'll see very soon.

Thanks as always Sian for reviewing! The next chapter is not far away and... some?... questions will be answered :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Vy XII. Stratagem

11th July 2014:
gaaah can't wait for more

Author's Response: It's never a long wait with this fic, I promise ;) And it's a good one so ~~~ Thanks for stopping by and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #12, by StarlightAsteria I. Luck

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I stumbled on this story by chance, and I'm definitely going to keep reading. First off, I love all your character names, I think they're really well chosen. I also thought Sybil's letter to her mother was very very funny :). Evil Albus! Very interesting concept for a story, And I like how you have lots of Slytherins :) Slytherin is my favourite house :) You also write really rather well, and Albus quoting Machiavelli made me smile. I am really excited to keep reading this story. I would just say that in my opinion, that last line felt slightly stilted. Keep going, though :)

Author's Response: However you came by, I'm so glad you did -- welcome aboard! Hehe my naming has always leaned towards the ridiculous side, so this story is kind of the pinnacle of my terrible taste. This whole first chapter, really, is the pinnacle of how ridiculous I can write, starting with that letter, because Sybil is a ridiculous person when she isn't focused on something, like evil Albus. Being that it is a little ridiculous, I can see that the construction of the line may be a little off. One day, when I edit this for realsies, I'll keep it in mind. I'm a Ravenclaw myself but there's something terrible and aristocratic about Slytherin that makes writing about that House, especially in conjunction with not-so-great Gryffindors, a lot of fun. This fic is long since prewritten, so there should be no major speedbumps on the updating front. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy~

 Report Review

Review #13, by HarrietHopkirk XII. Stratagem

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

STUFF IS GOING TO GO DOWN AND I AM EXCITED! Seriously though, I know I've said it before but I can't really comprehend the level of cool that your characters exist on. It's just unattainable to me.

That scene with Albus and Ophelia - it was nice to finally hear some details about New Year's Eve, to see whether it was an Albus power play or simply drunken lust and the emotions and actions behind it. BUT ALSO POWER DYNAMICS AND ALBUS BEING EEEVIL AND OPHELIA BEING COOL AND EDGY. Just superb dialogue, superb unravelling of backstory and past events... Just ughhh. Everyone's as kings questions and I don't trust the answers. THE TRUTH IS OF NO CONSEQUENCE.

My faves rn are Ophelia and Rose. I'd love to see a little more of Antigone and Scorpius, but I'm sure that'll happen as the story progresses and stuff goes down at the Valentine's party and Damian and/or Sybil carry out her plans. I'm so excited!

I love your characters, I love this story. Can't wait for the next update, Gubby. Truly.

Author's Response: Stuff is always just about to go down, so now we can bring on the stuff! And ugh, the crazy level of ... you call it cool, we've termed it 'glossy evil'... this story exists on... it's so insane. I don't know how I didn't burn myself out trying to do it. But it's done, so huzzah.

I'm trying to remember now whether Ophelia and Albus hooking up on NYE was in the original outline, and I don't think it was. It was a happy accident of plotting that gave the story a really great underlying tension, so that is partly why we didn't hear details about that night before. The other parts being that 1. Ophelia didn't want to relive them and 2. if all that /had/ been some Albus power play, that would have been all kinds of horrid. And Albus is many things, but he's not all kinds of horrid. It was an accident in every sense of the word, and accidents happen in a world of cool glossy evil, so it's great to add some emotional imbalance to the power dynamics and evil Albus and edgy Ophelia somehow. Like I said in an earlier response, that section was my favorite -- best written, some of my favorite character dynamics (though Damian and Sybil are also hiiighly important, so keep an eye on what they do too!).

Antigone and Scorpius, I know, are a little lacking. Scorpius was always going to be, because he is not a pillar character, but Antigone definitely we need to get to know better. And we will, starting with the Valentine's Ball, in fact. I've said this in responses before, but it took me longer to figure out who Antigone was because the plotting necessarily put her at a remove from the heart of the action at first. She really comes into her own in the second half of the story, which is fast approaching.

I love you, I love your reviews, I love your thoughts! The next update is never far away. Thank you so much, darling, truly.


 Report Review

Review #14, by HarrietHopkirk XI. Madness

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hellooo Gubby! I am back, and sorry it has taken me so long to read these latest couple of chapters - but I'm on holiday atm so here I am! And as always, I am in awe of your writing. You really are talented, Gub-Gub.

I love the relationship and dynamics between Sybil and Ophelia. It's so interesting. Obv you've got Potter involved now, so things are way more complicated. I can't help but wonder if Sybil tries to be as ice queen and 'above it all' as Ophelia, but idk. I like them both, obv, and you write them both so well. (And Urquhart is the name of the BBC character that Frank Underwood from House of Cards is based on, so I can't help but draw a slightly Machiavellian comparison).

Also... Love/lust triangle? There's hints but I'm not certain. Probs wrong.

Your female characters are just fab - I love your characterization of Rose. She does what she wants and to hell with the consequences - the insight into her choice/choosing of boys/relationship with Thackeray was inspired. Her inner monologue is beautifully written, and it was great to see things from her perspective.

Just because he hadnít said he would replace her with Sybil Vaisey didnít mean she didnít know he would. And Rose would rather give herself up than give him the chance. I'M SO EXCITED TO SEE THIS ONE PLAY OUT!

And Caspar! A new, darker side to Caspar! So is he only with her for the power?! That's a mad twist, yo. I enjoyed it. Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi Hattie!! So wonderful to see you back, and honestly -- wow, you are such a darling, this makes me so happy :)

Sybil and Ophelia are a very interesting pair. They've done what others in this story with a complicated backstory haven't been able to do: they were enemies when they were young, and now they're not. They've forgiven but neither has entirely forgotten, especially not now that Sybil is becoming a new kind of leader and now that Ophelia has long since turned a new leaf. I wonder what you mean by "if Sybil tries to be as ice queen and 'above it all' as Ophelia," though. What I'll say is that Ophelia is a big unconscious and conscious influence on Sybil, and what she was like as an ice queen may have taught Sybil how to try to be when dealing with similar situations. In their personalities, Sybil is of course more fiery than Ophelia. (I don't watch House of Cards and only picked Urquhart because it was a canon Slytherin surname that wasn't super Death Eater-y and it started with a vowel, which I thought was nice with Ophelia. The Machiavellian influence is an added, unintentional bonus).

Rose... well, she's a nutjob, and I love her for it. But yeah, she has her reasons for everything -- for being this way, and acting the way she does, and picking the people she does for the reasons she does -- so I'm glad I'm doing her some justice! Poor girl. One day I will write a normal Rose. Who doesn't scheme against her family and the rest of the world to get to what she wants. (Though really, what does she want?). And hehe I'm so glad you got to this Caspar part, since you liked him so much in the beginning. I wouldn't say he's with Sybil /only/ for the power but it's a giiiant driving factor. I didn't think it was a ~twist~ but I'll take it.

Thanks so much for a great review :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by evil little devil XII. Stratagem

7th July 2014:
"A surprise, a challenge, a scapegoat" - am I reading into this right that Albus is planning to make Sybil a scapegoat for stealing the NEWTS? Does she realise this, I wonder?
This chapter was crazy hectic! So many things happened.
I love how Sybil's plan developed throughout the chapter - moving from Fred to Damian, to having a specific target time. It was a kind of mini-journey within a larger journey.
As almost always, my favourite parts were the Ophelia parts. I love never knowing to what level the deception is going at any given moment in this story. When Albus asked whether she was there on Sybil's bidding or not, I honestly was not sure, because with these guys you're never completely sure when someone is telling the truth or lying or something in between.
Her triumphant return to the dormitory was fabulous! I could really feel her glee coming of the page, and see it in my mind. We also got to see a lot more of Albus this chapter, and outside Sybil's point of view at that, which casts rather a different light on him. I did not quite realise the extent to which Ophelia despised the triumvirate until this chapter.
I am very excited for the Valentine's Ball! It sounds like it's going to be a blast.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: I don't know if Albus is consciously plotting to frame Sybil in turn for any NEWT shenanigans, but the idea is in his head. Then again, there are lots of ideas in his head, I imagine, so these are just a few of the more... obvious ones.

It was an overall hectic chapter though, wasn't it! The development of a full plan, and without anything going wrong (yet)~ The Ophelia section was also my favorite this time around, not in part because it might be the first time we get to see a significant amount of Albus' own point of view. And also it's the best written section. Something about Albus and Ophelia interactions are really special to me, rare as they are, so seeing both of them without the influence of others was great fun.

Thank you as always for a wonderful review! The Valentine's Ball (a two parter!) is going to be a doozy, I promise.


 Report Review

Review #16, by aurorasoltice XII. Stratagem

5th July 2014:
In all honesty i'm at loss of words when it comes to this story. I find the plot really intriguing, especially when the golden kids are bad ina different amusing way. Seems like the party would be a good camouflage but will sybil's plan work perfectly? It would be amusing to see if she fails (or succeed but not perfectly) to add more thrill.

New reader here! And i've signed up to stalk this story :D

Author's Response: Oh gosh, that's so nice to hear :D Ahh, I'm not even sure there are golden kids in this fic -- not my main characters and not even the kids of the trio -- but as long as it's amusing and entertaining, I'll take it. The party is an incredible opportunity, and Sybil, as we know, is nothing if not opportunistic :) Welcome aboard and so glad to have you here. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy :')

 Report Review

Review #17, by HarrietHopkirk X. Trust

27th June 2014:
OMG THEY ARE BOTH SO COOL I CAN'T

Author's Response: NEITHER CAN I AND SOMEHOW I WROTE A WHOLE NOVEL OF THIS??? Love ya bb

 Report Review

Review #18, by evil little devil XI. Madness

18th June 2014:
Every chapter leaves me with even more questions than I had to begin with! Although this one provided several answers as well, and several points of view. I was very excited to see more of Caspar! I've been wondering about him. I was assuming that there was going to be more to him than meets the eye, because it's you and it's this story. It makes me super happy to see how ambitious he is, and also to see that he's trying to ride Sybil's coattails.
It was nice to see more Antigone as well, because she hasn't really been so prominent thus far. She's another character, like Albus, that I haven't quite figured out yet, so I'm interested in seeing what happens with her. And there was some Rose POV as well! I love the way you make all these ice queens so ice queen like, but also so layered, and emotional, with different motivations and drives.It's a role that can so easily fall into a stereotype, but you have several that are all so different, it's fantastic to see.
And my dear Ophelia! She's definitely my favourite character, I'm not sure why, but I connect to her more so than the others, although they're all fantastic.
This chapter was crazy! So many different perspectives, and so many different characters. I don't know how you do it, but you make a chapter with so little actual action feel like you're reading an action sequence. All the dialogue and manipulations and schemings are so wonderful and engaging.

Author's Response: One day, I promise there will be all the answers that the story needs, but there's so much story left that plenty more questions will arise, cough cough. Since Caspar got so much love in the opening of the story, I was really interested in getting to this section (which, if I remember correctly, was not in the original outline), and I'm happy if you're happy :D Antigone is another one we'll be seeing a little more of soon, now that she's back in the game. Her distance is partly manufactured for plot reasons, and partly because it took me a while to really crack her as well (a problem, I think, with the initial plotting).

And Rose... oh, Rose. I don't know why I always write crazy Roses, but you can never let a crazy Rose just be crazy without exploring her reasons for it. I'm really interested in your descriptions of all these girls as ice queens, though, because the only one who's really anything of an ice queen is Ophelia. Rose, Antigone, and Sybil are all too temperamental to let themselves be called as such. Rose is, as mentioned already, a crazy person; Antigone is just your classic mean bully; Sybil is kind of a flippantly cruel mafia princess wannabe; and even Ophelia is a /former/ ice queen who's mellowed out a little. That's not to say you're wrong, because they're all powerful girls who are prominent in their social circles who can be closed off and manipulative at times, and I'm so happy that the roles they have don't fall into cliches or stereotypes :')

When I read this review I laughed at "you make a chapter with so little actual action feel like you're reading an action sequence" because I 100% know so little /actually/ happens, but I'm so so so happy that it's still engaging! There's so much of this stuff going on that hopefully it won't burn anyone out :3 Thank you again for an insightful review and I hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #19, by Sanne X. Trust

17th June 2014:
Well, Sybil's not doing too well at the moment. I think she only has two trump cards: she is the only one who knows the real identity of the informer; and, Ophelia is still on her side, and presumably her other friends will return to her side later. It's not reallly a lot, but I hope she'll make it work, because I'm really rooting for Sybil. I guess it's an underdog thing.

That being said, I've rarely been more interested in the endig of a story. Luckily, I know you've already finished it, but I'm still on the edge of my seat anytime you post a new chapter.

Author's Response: Nope, no she isn't, but nothing is guaranteed in this story by a long shot! She is the only one who knows the true identity of the informer, but Albus, by nature of spying on Ophelia specifically, /does/ know she is secretly on Sybil's side, which is why it's such a hard blow for Sybil. Even with so little, Sybil the underdog is hard to knock out, I promise.

Bawww thank you so much! The ending does indeed exist, and I tinker with it every now and then but it's mostly done. We're moving steadily on, so thank you for the review and I hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #20, by evil little devil X. Trust

17th June 2014:
I still don't quite know what to make of Albus at this point. I can't quite figure him out yet as a person, which is fun, because mysterious complex characters are fun and so are puzzles. So much of what we see of him is heavily laced with Sybil's preconceptions and prejudices, it's hard to see through that to see what really drives him.
I like that they're both self-proclaimed heartless people, and yet at the same time they're both so incredibly emotional. And they both think they're good at hiding it, and they both look down on the other for being bad at hiding it, and yet don't recognise that the same applies to them.
It is definitely hard to say who has the upper hand here. Though Sybil is flailing a little at the moment, Albus doesn't know (unless he suspects?) that Ophelia's still on her side, and presumably the others will filter back to her as well. That paragraph where Sybil's thinking about how long it would take them to realise what she was up to, I think that really highlighted her manipulative side.
My thoughts are all in a jumble over this chapter! I don't know what to think. Like you said, there are a lot of balls up in the air at the moment, and it will be really interesting to see where they land.

Author's Response: No one does, it would seem! At least not for sure. You're absolutely right that Sybil's preconceptions shape so much of what the reader knows about him, but as we move on, we'll be seeing more sections featuring Albus' pov or at least featuring him without Sybil. Half of the fun of the fic is trying to make sense of Albus, and I promise that very soon there will be a lot more clarity on that front than there may be now. But thaaat point is a very good one -- I don't think it's true that they're entirely heartless, but they are very good at compartmentalizing. It's why Sybil has little qualms about cutting her friends off when she thinks they're not being supportive, and it's why Albus... is Albus; he couldn't have become this near-mythic figure without being able to turn off whatever empathetic side he may have had.

The thing is that Albus /does/ know that Ophelia is still with Sybil -- that's what I was getting at when he said that he was watching her -- which is why it was so devastating for Sybil, but there are other things he doesn't know, like who really took the bounty. So yeah, it's a flaily time for Sybil and our Slytherins, but they'll be prepared to bounce back soon enough.

Thank you again for a great review :') Hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #21, by Allison IX. Message

29th April 2014:
I truly cannot stress how much I love this story. It fits perfectly into the kind of fanfics I'm into at the moment. I love evil-albus'. They are perfect and call for a great understanding of character and plot. I'm excited each chapter and I believe you've done great with this story. Then again who am I to judge. Nonetheless this story is a treat and I hope you get through your most stressful time of your life. I'm a pretty patient reader :)

Author's Response: Oh gosh... thank you, thank you so very much! Evil Albuses (Albii? I don't know that there are enough of them to warrant the plural but I like Albii), and really Evil Anyone-Who-Is-Not-Dark-Wizard-Evil, are so hard to pull off. I know from experience, because this isn't the first time I tried to write this kind of fic lol. But... yeah, it means a lot that you think the idea and moreover the execution of this story is worthwhile; that you're a reader gives you the write to judge what I, the writer, have put up to be judged and enjoyed, so don't ever think you don't have a voice in this exchange, because writing really is a dialogue, especially when it's as direct as it can be here at HPFF. Most of the stress and all of the fun is over now, so we'll see what comes next, but the next chapter is in queue so hopefully the wait after this won't be so long. Thank you again for such a splendid review, and I hope you continue to enjoy :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by evil little devil IX. Message

29th April 2014:
This was a super exciting chapter!
Even more Ophelia! I think my favourite parts of this story are seeing Ophelia's view of Sybil in particular, but also others. I don't think this story would work nearly as well as it does without the multiple points of view, seeing how the characters view each other tells you so much about the characters themselves, and it's so very fascinating to read.
And wow, you totally had me with that surprise. It didn't even occur to me that that fight was anything more than Sybil being a brat. It really should have, because it did seem a bit excessive, even for her XD
That part about Sybil still needing validation from her old tormentor spoke volumes about her character, and her relationship with Ophelia. It had actually slipped my mind that Ophelia had been the school bully, so I'm glad you brought it back in! It is such a fascinating dynamic for a relationship, especially considering that right now, they're probably each the closest friends that they have (aside from Antigone and Ophelia perhaps?).
While the plot is really well laid and fascinating, the characters are the shining stars of this story. I absolutely adore character studies, and the more ambiguous type of characters - perhaps because they tend to be the most complex and well thought out, so this story is like a dream come true. And each chapter you manage to tease out just that little bit more of the characters, leaving me dying to get to know them even better.
I'm pretty tired at the moment, so sorry if this review is a little rambling and incoherent! This was such a fantastic chapter, it felt very dramatic even though there wasn't the hugest amount of action or anything, but quite a few subtle power shifts and realisations which are always fun. See you next chapter!

Author's Response: Most exciting things that happen in this story will be exciting the way I think this was exciting -- machinations, conversations analyzing the machinations, etc -- so I'm glad you enjoyed it! And Ophelia is a prime character to do all of that with, especially for as long as she's paired with Sybil. Their dynamic has a lot of history, so it's not a bad thing that you forgot that, because it's not something they are always conscious of either. The moments when they each remember who the other used to be, and use the old identity to define the present one, I think reveal just as much about them as characters too.

I've tried to do stories that focus on one character's point of view, whether that's because of the POV or because of plot structure, and it rarely works over extended periods of time. Maybe because I have a habit of writing main characters who are less than nice people to spend a lot of time with, mentally/emotionally? Whatever the reason, this story absolutely would never work if it didn't open up quite a bit to include everyone's point of view, and we will see everyone at some point or other.

Character being shining stars is all I have ever wanted :') Plot has never ever been my strong suit, though I'm working on that, so I try to make up for it with the characters who make plot happen. I have my tropes for characters but this is definitely the most successful I've been at carrying out what I envisioned at all, so it means so much more to hear it about this story with these characters -- let alone that it's a dream come true, which is crazy and wonderful and THANK YOU. I promise, by the time we're done, you'll know these dummies almost as well as I do... though I hope they surprise you to the very end, as they did me.

If you think your review was rambling/incoherent, you should reread this response (and you probably will have to, because this makes... no sense). Subtle power shifts and realizations are my favorite things! And there's always, always more on the way. Thank you so much, Sian, darling :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by HarrietHopkirk VIII. Control

4th April 2014:
Oh daaammmnnn - this is exciting stuff! I can now imagining Rose and Thackeray teaming up together as a badass power couple to take down Albus so that he has to turn to Sybil to help him out and get revenge.

I really like Ophelia - she's pretty cool. I also felt pretty bad for Caspar, bless him. I liked him at the beginning but I'm not sure about him now - he seems a bit meek.

Anywayz, well done Gubs. Can't wait for the next one!!

Author's Response: That's the idea, at least! And hehehe, the Rose/Thackeray dynamic is one of the most important ones. I don't know that I'd define them the way you do, Hattie, but they do carry a lot of weight together. And together they may threaten Albus, though perhaps not in the way that you're imagining. (You're on the right track, for what it's worth). I adooore Ophelia, she's the coolest cucumber of the bunch; I'm glad that Caspar is looking slightly less shiny now. Again, I don't know that I'd call him 'meek' exactly but I'm glad that the ~layers~ of the onion that is Caspar Moran are becoming a little more intriguing. (Oh my god I can't believe I just said that I'm going to press submit before I rethink this).

Thanks as always! -squish-


 Report Review

Review #24, by evil little devil VIII. Control

29th March 2014:
As I imagine you can guess, I am so super excited about all the Ophelia. She's my favourite perspective to read, I think both because she's very insightful, and because she's very much a calming force amid all the drama queens. I get the feeling that she's going to be the one to get stuff done, more so than Sybil. Gosh, Sybil was such a brat this chapter! Although I loved her conversation with Albus, I love how condescending and manipulative they both are, it's beautiful to read.
You're very right in saying that this is the beginning of a new phase of the story, it does feel like a new phase, like everything has been shifted and the real antics are about to begin. Up until now it's been a bit of a warm up, getting to know everyone and what makes them tick, but now the die has been cast and we get to see where the story takes them. Which is very exciting! I don't know how you managed to pull off just so many power shifts, and relationship shifts, in such a short amount of time. It makes me very excited to see all the lovely power changes and manipulations we have to look forward to!

Author's Response: Hehe Ophelia is getting to be a popular character and I couldn't be happier about it! My poor baby. I don't know that she is a calming force, exactly -- certainly she's calmER than the others, but as we've seen, she's not above getting sucked into drama. And really, the fun part with having a character as reserved as Ophelia is putting her at the heart of highly emotional yet highly dramatic, politicized machinations, and seeing how she deals with it all.

I don't think anyone in this story /isn't/ a brat on some level, but Sybil is definitely the biggest on an immediate level, which is all the more annoying to everyone else. And it's that brattiness that makes her so much fun to write alongside Albus, who's so self-serious that he can't improvise as fluidly as she can, even if they are (in many ways) equally manipulative. She sees through his posturing and calls him on it /because/ she's a brat and that's how she knows she can cut through all of his nonsense. And, of course, it's why she can create nonsense too.

I wouldn't have thought I'd hear that conversation as being 'beautiful' but I'm deeply flattered :3 It was a real turning point for me and for the story, so thank you. And you're exactly right about the first phase being a warm-up. There's apparently a thing about how when you're writing a novel, the /real/ starting point hits around the 20k word mark and you're supposed to throw away the first 20k. Which I would NEVER do, because in my case they really are crucial, and anyway the way this story is written and divided, it's more around the 30k mark lol, but the basic idea still applies. The first part was table-setting, exposition-sharing, and broad character exploration; now we get to mess with everything already established. And tbh I have to giggle when you say 'in such a short amount of time,' because at the end of the chapter, this story hits 40k words, which itself is longer than my previous longest-completed-story (Off-Kilter, for the record). Anyway, believe me, plenty more power and relationship shifts are not too far away. (There's a big one just next chapter, if I remember correctly).

Thanks again, Sian! You always pick up on the meaty stuff, for which I'm super grateful. Hope you continue to enjoy (because I enjoy seeing you enjoy)!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Alicia VIII. Control

29th March 2014:
Quite eventful chapter, very surprising too! BUT I KNEW THAKERAY AND ROSE WERE A THING. Oh Sybil, why so mean to Antigone and Ophelia? And Caspar too I suppose. I really enjoyed the Ophelia perspective and her insights- she's the only one that knows how to fight? Hmmm, Sybil's to self righteous for this new plan to work? Hm. I guess I'll see the next time you update!! And I can definetly feel the meat of the story picking up! Also, what're your face claims for everyone?

Author's Response: Yes, yes you did! I thought more people would pick up on that just as early, actually, because... well, Rose and Finlay are many things, but subtle is not one of them lol. And Sybil's cruelty in kicking literally everyone to the curb is not undeserved, shall we say, in her mind. And it's not like Albus would be happy if she kept them around. But all the same, it does bring up the question, "is this new plan, and all the things that are apparently required of it, worth it?" And the fact that she did do this does not go away, I promise.

We'll be seeing an increasing amount of Ophelia's perspective, so if you liked this, there's plenty more to come! She's definitely one of the more interesting characters to write, especially when she reflects on Sybil. And, as we'll see, when she reflects on her relationship to everyone else when she gets sucked even deeper into the politics of it all.

Funny you ask about face claims! I am not very good at them, tbh, but someone asked about what Albus' triumvirate looks like on my writing blog a while ago (link on my author's page!), and I answered with a very rough, not super accurate list of face claims for everyone there. The only ones I really stand by are Adelaide Kane for Sybil, Logan Lerman for Albus, and Holland Roden for Ophelia, the rest I am not at all attached to.

Anyway, thank you so much for reviewing and hope, as always, that you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>