Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Devilish Delights, Wicked Ends
  
104 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hasane X. Trust

28th June 2017:
Sybil's righteous and prideful sides are coming out to play in this chapter aren't they? Well, there's always a righteous undertone to her every thought and pride comes out because she doesn't want to seem unqualified for the job.
.
.
Albus and Sybil are like cats slinking around each other. They're aware of what the other is trying to do and are actively trying to figure it out. I'm just wondering if it'll get so bloody convoluted that they accidentally destroy themselves instead of the other.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hasane IX. Message

28th June 2017:
God. The more I read about Sybil, the more I become more wary of her. Even in the early stages, I can see that she's becoming more sucked in to herself and unhealthily attentive of Albus' schemes, and becoming rather narrow minded. She's pushing people away, and seems to me that she'd drop her friends at only a second's notice. Wow.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Hasane VIII. Control

27th June 2017:
ALBUS GOD ALBUS WAT ARE U DOING
.
.
Anyways. what the hell is albus doing though, trying to recruit Sybil? It seems counterproductive since it just brings Sybil closer to his plans. What's going through that head of his?
.
.
I totally understand Sybil's friends' reactions to her telling Potter about the bountyówhat gives?

She's kinda flimsy with whatever she's doing, no solid plan in place. At this point she's just saying 'screw it all, let's join.' Of course it's an opportunity for her, I suppose considering that it would get her closer to what she wants.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hasane VII. Honour

23rd February 2017:
Sybil really needs to get herself together! Sheís a really unpredictable person, and itís impossible to know whatís going on inside her head even when we are inside her head!
.
.
Poor Damian. He shouldnít have taken the role of being a spy, itís really taking a toll on him. Like, Finlay I find a little scary to be honest, but how you write him says otherwise (strongman, but otherwise wonít screw with you if youíre not in his way).

Ooh, Damian gets a spine. Heís acting like a Gryffindor(k) now, even when his Slytherin roots to not do so (act on impulses, I mean).
.
.
Albus, to me, is coming off as a tyrant. Mostly one that punishes within the boundaries of law, whatever those may be.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hasane VI. Bounty

18th February 2017:
Apparently, I have largely underestimated the power of the Vaiseysí hold on the population of Hogwarts.
.
.
Damianís crush on Ophelia is understandable, but itís almost laughable because I can just tell that Ophelia would never be his. I loved how wrote his interactions with Ophelia; itís present in every move that he likes this girl more than a friend. Iíve made the mistake of forgetting a characterís feelings for another, and not letting it bleed into their actions and interactions.
.
.
Itís almost scary how determined Sybil is, for putting a bounty on Albus bloody Potter. Itís literally only a test; why get so worked up about it? Iím screaming internally because I honestly would sit back, and let things play out. Iím very passive about these things. I suppose thatís just as badóif not moreóthan not taking action, but once again, I repeat, itís just some answers to a test. Perhaps Iím missing the gravity of the situation through Sybilís eyes.
.
.
Oh, Iím now thinking that Scorpius wonít play too much of role in the plot because of his position between Sybil and Albus. Heíd be a threat wouldnít he? Scorpius was minimally mentioned, but I was already surprised at the slant youíve decided to take on him, and truthfully Iím interested. Iím just not sure weíll get too much of him.
.
.
Ooh Iíd never expect Fred Weasley to respond to the bounty at all. His attitude and actions towards Albus seems almost flippant but his words tell another story. Can we believe them? Fredís muttering of ďjust save himĒ was a bit strange though. How could Sybil save him, when that is clearly not outlined in her intentions?
.
.
ďShe would have paid five Galleons extra just to hear more stories of the real Potter-Weasley family dynamic, beyond what one heard in the rumour mills or the tabloidsÖĒ This is me in the context of the story and the characters. I like them a lot, and would love to get to know them more. Thatís what the rest of the story is for though, no?

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hasane V. Resurrection

17th February 2017:
The first thing I did when I started this chapter was laugh, because of course Sybil would use her bruises and put on a show of them to gain the sympathy she needs for a guilt trip! Antigoneís had enough of her crap of course.

And, ah Damian, your wise cracks are always much needed arenít they?

.

.

Sybilís interactions in this chapter with Caspar here were almost as if she regarded Caspar as an annoying (but endearing) puppy, unless he was there for her.

ďIt was so nice to have people she could count on to put her before themselves when it counted the most,Ē sounds so patronizing, and Iím not really sure of whether Sybil means it or not.

Sybil would of course not know the work and effort she would need to build up a whole empire. Sheís determined, Iíll give her that. ďRoman had warned her of a lot of things during their Hogsmeade meeting, but he forgot to mention something that, eight days after his school pet project was resurrected, preyed like a parasite on Sybilís brain: recreating a criminal organization from the ground up was hard.Ē Case in point.

.

.

Iím now wondering what business Rose has with Ophelia? Do they already know of Sybilís new recruits, and Rose plans on crushing the potential threat before it became dangerous?

Oh, no wait Damian. I forgot about him. Iím kind of an idiot sometimes.

And I was so not expecting Rose to do that! Perhaps the criminal empire she built with Albus meant much more than I had thought? Or perhaps she wants control over it, considering the way she did the attempted recruiting in terms of herself and not in terms of herself, Albus, and Thackeray.

I also wonder why she chose Ophelia. Why her? Whatís special about her? Is it because of her former Ice Queen reputation? Or is it because Antigone is too much of a threat because of her relation with the Head Boy?

.

.

I also now know what to believe of Sybil now. Sheís an optimistic but also selfish, and manipulative too (as with the show of her wrist). Sheís kind of like ďyeah, I decided to burn an empire in my spare time and itís totally gonna happen.Ē She also seems that she would use anyone and anything at her disposal for this sole purpose, maybe even throwing away friends in the process. Who knows?

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hasane IV. Terror

16th February 2017:
Damian is exactly how I would imagine a younger sibling to be. The only reason I know is because I am a younger sibling. I honestly never would have thought he would take the bait to spy on his sister?
.
.
Ahh, Roman and Sybil act as if they donít like each other much, but they must if Roman knew his answer the moment Sybil hugged him. Or perhaps itís more opportunistic than anything, to see where Sybil would take this, whether she would bring it back to its prime, or make it crash and burn like the empire it is. (Funny how you named him Roman and he had an empire thoughÖ The Romans definitely had an empire, and it definitely fell in due time as empires do. Did it come back to life as Sybil intends to do? Oh, wait, it did: the Byzantium Empire, except it didnít really fall as much as it survived.)
.
.
Also, I find super unfair that you can make something as simple as walking to classroom seem interesting. I was eating that up like I was starving, and it wasnít anything significant because it was literally Sybil walking to a freaking classroom.
.
.
Ahaha, Thackerayís getting a little bit too intimate there! But then again, intimacy is just another power play to him, and it doesnít seem like anything of importance to him. Heís not really the loyal henchman that I thought he was, and I am forced to remember that he is a characteróand an important one most likelyóthat you have intentions for and has his own intentions. And we learn that heís competitive and doesnít like to lose. And that he is as strong as he seems.
.
.
This seems like a filler, but there are so many important things going on that I canít keep track of! Iím still liking Sybil, and I canít really get a good read on her character, as of this chapter at least.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hasane III. Arrest

16th February 2017:
Wow, Sybil is cutting it close there, mentioning the N.E.W.T so many times, almost as if she wants them to know that she knows. That's kind of stupid isn't it? Letting them know she's gonna take them down kinda ruins the point because now they can attempt to stop her??? Well, you never claimed Sybil was sane so...
.
.
Now, Sybil isn't even being discrete. I guess she has her own way of dealing with things.
.
.
But somehow the triumvirate already knows!! Oh, they're two steps ahead of her I see.
.
.
First interaction with Rose! Rose is so callous and has no problems with being pushy and shameless. I've loved her so far with how you've decided to characterize her.

And the second interaction with Albus outside of Hogsmeade. He seems sketchy, and there might be good intentions (or morals should I say...) but they're clouded by his moral ambiguity and it's hard to see beyond his criminal empire.

Thackeray so far hasn't seen any real character past his strong force and his henchmen like presence. I assume you'll be elaborating on that.

I absolutely like what I'm reading so far!
.
.
.
(Also, be warned these reviews are being written as the chapters are being read through, so you might get some weird thoughts here, so bear with me on that...)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hasane II. Egress

15th February 2017:
Oh, I wonder what kind of fun Ophelia gets up to? ...I have a couple of ideas.

The interaction between the triumvirate was hierarchical (Iím going to assume that it was intentional), though I'm more interested in the interactions of the two cousins. The way they work together is a little less than familial, more like polite (maybe not even that) business partners. Itís so different from the other authorsí take on it: best friends, closer than siblings, practically stuck at the hip, etc. Although, Roseís playful remarks towards Albus may be hinting at this close friendship between them, albeit not conventionally.

Sybil and Caspar are eye-catching too. Something about them feels forced, although their actions flow smoothly and never miss a beat. It seems something like the forced atmosphere of ďgetting together out of some obligationĒ type.

Also, stealing the N.E.W.T answers are a far stretch. What are the logistics on that?

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hasane I. Luck

15th February 2017:
*sees the whopping two hundred thousand word count*

*narrows eyes*

Challenge accepted.
.
.
.
.
Basically my thought process when I saw this story.

I've started this story with high hopes, which I'm sure this story will reach, and go far beyond. Iíve seen so many people scream about it (including justonemorefic, who has pushed me to read this).

I like your descriptions, and your writing flows fluidly.

The characters you've introduced so far have caught my eye: the almost annoying optimism of Sybil Vaisey, the dark haze around Albus Potter (which by the way whom I have an immense fondness for), and Thackeray's sheer brute force. Sybil almost looks like a tiny harmless insect next to them.

I almost have Downton Abbey feeling about it, and lots and lots of philosophy, from the way Sybil thinks and speaks.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Aderyn XI. Madness

28th July 2016:
I love Rose's assessment of how Albus talks in monologues etc. She's just generally verryyy insightful. Which is not what you would initially expect from someone like her

Also it makes me happy that you use the word "triumvirs"

What strikes me is how good a job Sybil does at just continuing on. She gets hit with the setback that Albus knows everything, and she doesn't give up. Even when her plans are no longer secret she won't stop. And she's equally willing to reconcile with people as she is to break it off with them. That fluidity makes for an interesting flow to the plot, but is also the reason she might succeed.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Aderyn VIII. Control

26th July 2016:
This first part of the review is really about the previous chapter:

I haven't commented much on this before, but Caspar. Sybil treating him like a caught my eye earlier. But this chapter had me even more intrigued. Ophelia seems particularly insightful about him, despite her dislike for him. He's both "extraordinarily needy" and stares at Sybil like "like she were a queen whose head he planned to sever from her shoulders." The tension between those two observations is something I can't wait too see play out.

It's definitely interesting how easily characters in this story resort to physical (or magical) violence. A definite way to up the stakes.

And now to this chapter.

This was huge. Both a lot of character perspectives and a whole lot of plot happened at once. (I definitely had to reread the Albus Sybil interaction because so much of it is dialogue that the actual internal machinations of Sybil in particular are somewhat obscured. I actually somewhat like the affect that has though, because I think it leaves the reader almost as blindsided as Sybil's friends. It's a twist you don't see coming because Sybil is verbally protesting it, and you don't get to see her make the decision in her mind)

It's quite the narrative switch up to have her friends suddenly turn against her. Not that their logic isn't unreasonable -they didn't really all trust this plan in the first place - but their loyalties shift quickly.

Oh and I did not see that last twist of Rose and Thackeray coming! Although it certainly makes the power dynamics in Albus' group more complicated.

This chapter definitely does feel like the real start. Or at least, a big turning point. So I'm interested to see where things go from here.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Aderyn V. Resurrection

26th July 2016:
Hi again!

It's funny that so far, Scorpius hasn't made an actual appearance. I'm wondering what that means for when he does appear.

I'm not sure that I realized it earlier in the story, but I kind of love that Sybil's friends are just as brutal and complicated as her. Yes, they're conflicted about her mission, but they aren't innocent either.

Also the end of this chapter! Chills! Rose is completely ruthless. The description of the ashes was terrifying. And once again, I'm struck by how real and dangerous the stakes feel here. Absolutely no one is playing around.

I've already said this but story does a great job of making the side characters complex. And duplicitous. I'm immensely curious about what Rose means when she says Ophelia doesn't even really like Sybil, and alludes to some past--liaisons?--with Albus.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Aderyn III. Arrest

26th July 2016:
Hi! I couldn't resist reading fic that Gina rec'd so highly, so here I am!

I'm loving the premise: Albus running an illegal smuggling network.

Sybil is so determined! In the span of 3 chapters, so realizes Albus is up to something, spies on him, and then manages to insert herself into the scheme. (The last part is the boldest jump, I think, but I love Ophelia's perspective on how Sybil Just Won't Let It Go).

Also, Rose! Sybil is smart to engage with her at first. But I also just love her characterization (the teeth baring smile!)


And ooohhh, Damian is her brother, right?

Anyways, I don't claim that this review (or any will be more than random thoughts). But on I shall read.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Morpheus EPILOGUE

8th June 2016:
I really can't remember when or where I first found out about this story, but I'm sure as hell glad that I did. It wasn't like anything else I've ever read on HPFF, and believe me, I've read a lot of stuff on this site, and I momentarily fell in love with it!
Mostly because of the writing, which is pretty amazing and just good, but because of the story itself, how it reflects its characters so well. You are really a master of presenting us all sides of each character and their growth through the story.
Not your typical next generation story with Albus/Oc and/or Rose/Scorpius (always those two). I mean, not that those stories are bad (there are a lot of talented writers swimming in those waters as well) but this is definitely different, more powerful. You managed to make a universe of its own, show us another level of human relationships, like the comment above states: this is a real thriller.
I'm really glad that I've read this story, it's in my top 5 definitely! So good that this is my first review ever and I've been reading stories on this site for probably 10 years.

Keep up the good work and I'll continue to read all your other stories, you intrigue me. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Viola V. Resurrection

10th February 2016:
I love how constant you are with all your characters! Like, when there's a scene that involves a group of people, it's very impressive how you manage to include each characters opinions, expressions, and whatever else because, for me at least, it feels like you complete the whole scene that way.

I love how optimistic and over-confident sybil can be, it's actually really funny. Then she's just like 'yeah, starting the whole mob thing up is actually a lot harder than I thought it was gonna be.' You just know she's going to get somewhere with it though and I can't wait to see the results!

The rose-ophelia interaction was very interesting to read, to say the least. Ophelia is definitely my favourite character so far. I think it's the way she reacts to things, I don't know - I haven't quite got my finger on it yet but there's just something about her. Also, how did rose become so evil? She's the product of Ron Weasley and hermione granger lol. I kinda get how albus has the whole mob persona, maybe because I kinda like how albus has the whole mob persona (and think it's very hot) but rose is just malicious. She makes for a very interesting character though.

Can't wait to read more! By the way, do you write original fiction because you definitely have the talent for it!

Another quick side question: do you plan out all of your characters personalities beforehand or does it just come naturally as you write? Maybe a bit of both? They're all just so unique and individual I feel like you literally must have to plan them out in detail for it to be this amazing.

Maybe you're just a goddess haha

Viola x

 Report Review

Review #17, by Gauri Mann XXI. And Fury

1st January 2016:
I belong to the Internet community who like to quietly observe and go unnoticed on this platform so naturally I don't log into my account on various websites quiet oftenand definitely do NOT leave comments and views BUT this story and your ingenious way of writing has made me make an exemption . Though I am no literary pundit and I am not even sure anyone would bother reading my rant here ( just like I don't read other people's rant ) but I have to , I HAVE to say that this book had been life changing ( well not per se but I do have a love of theatrics ) I read you story in the last 9 hours ( I reread all the parts that I REALLY LIKED , I'm quite pathetic that way ) and I must say you have a real talent at writing angst filled mysterious characters who are not sure what they really want . I also must add that I still haven't got closure about the whole Sybil /Albus love -you-love -you- not -quite -enough thing going on but I don't expect you to take precious time out of your day to day meagre (though I am sure important ) jobs to divulge a 17 year old further in fantasy make believe and write what perhaps happens next , but that doesn't mean I can't hope . That being said I can surely say ( again ) that it has been a TREMENDOUS PLEASURE to read such a well written and COMPLETE novel and I have bought various books which are not half as enjoyable as this one has been ( for which I didn't pay a thing ) .Thank you ( for the book and reading this review if you did )


- Gauri Mann

 Report Review

Review #18, by Raylis XXIX. Salvation

24th November 2015:
Everyone wants Sybil to pay for her crimes or whatever, but she hasn't DONE anything. What happened to rose wasn't what she intended. There isn't anything else. She didn't steal the answers, she was given them, she's innocent. There is nothing for her to atone for, what is everyone talking about??? Everyone else has MORE to atone for. No one forced anyone to do anything, they all made their own choices, and Sybil is least guilty of them all

 Report Review

Review #19, by Raylis VIII. Control

22nd November 2015:
so...that was so random. one second she is saying she would never join albus, then the next she joins him? completely random and I'm so confused. no explanation or anything...

Author's Response: Ah, I see how it may be confusing, but the explanation is there, I promise. Not explicit, granted, but it's there. The key to this, I think, is this line: "She'd so wanted to catch him off guard. No matter: there would be plenty of time, and plenty of opportunities." Sybil has seen almost all of her attempts to infiltrate the Gryffindor triumvirate blow up in her face, quite spectacularly. Ophelia had a one-night stand with Albus and has been attacked by Rose, Damian was a double agent the whole time who wasn't even good at being a double agent. The one card she has in her pocket is her bounty, and that's the sticking point with the gang, but otherwise, it's not going well. So if she can't infiltrate the triumvirate from the outside, she figures - as Albus knows she will - that it would be easier to ingratiate herself into it. Joining Albus doesn't mean (in Sybil's own mind) that she's giving up on her plan. She's just changing tactics. That doesn't mean she doesn't think Albus is ridiculous for offering her a place with him, but she will do anything to achieve her ends, including abruptly joining up with her worst enemy in order to best ruin him. Plus, she gets to get rid of her highly skeptical friends. And, let's not forget, she's somewhat attracted to Albus despite herself, and that's an interesting predicament to explore. So from her POV, it's practically a no-brainer. From the POV of Caspar and the gang, it's not even all that horrible an idea, but again, the sticking point is the bounty. It's okay for Sybil to formally/nominally align herself with Albus in the name of catching him red-handed; it's not okay that she would share actual secrets with him that she won't with them.

That's a long explanation, I know, and I know it's not in the story, as such, but the subtext is all there. I hope it's helpful. Thank you for voicing your concern, though; it never occurred to me that it might not be pretty clear why Sybil would join Albus, but I appreciate the question and the review. Thank you so much for stopping by, and I hope you continue to enjoy.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Viola IV. Terror

5th November 2015:
Oh my god it's complete! Okay, this has given me an even bigger incentive (which I didn't think was possible) to continue reading. I have been ridiculously busy recently and I had this story folded away in the back of my brain to get back to and I'm so happy I've finally managed it.

So I tried to explain to my boyfriend that we are going to name our future child ophelia because it was so original and unheard of and he came back at me with 3 significant points: a) we are both 18 and therefore are not having kids, b) even if we do stay together and end up having kids I'm not allowed to approach him with the subject for another 15 years and c) ophelia is the name of someone in a Shakespeare play? So yeah, that left me feeling pretty dumb considering I'm the one that does English (lol!) but whatever, it was all good humour! Still obsessed with the name though idc.

Ah I love roman - another great name - he seems like the perfect older brother figure because they have the banter, the protectiveness, a clear brother/sister bond that I'm amazed you've touched on and brought through for the readers to see. It stuns me how cleverly you write. And I loved seeing an insight into sybil's family, it was very interesting. Probably because of the different dynamics sybil has with her brothers, although I feel slightly bad for Damien because he obviously has those youngest sibling tendencies hidden away in him, plus a bit of immaturity thrown in but I'm interested to see if/how he and his sister's relationship develops.

Um, thackerey? Who do you think you are exactly? Threatening and intimidating sybil? Nah, you're not in my good books mate.

This story is almost too much to handle - I'm sorry if I've been rambling in this review but it's like 1.30am and I need to go to sleep now. Me resisting the temptation to click 'next chapter' is a true testament to the inner strength I didn't know I had... but I will read it soon!

And an enormous, gigantic, humongous well done to you for finishing this, I can't imagine the journey you've been on i just know that I can't wait to continue on my own one with this fic!

Author's Response: It's complete, it's complete!!! I'm still surprised that I don't have to check back in and update anything... but now it's all here, waiting for you whenever you get a spare moment. Thanks for stopping by!

LOL oh god, that's an amazing little story. Yes, as I mentioned elsewhere, I believe, Ophelia is the name of a character in Hamlet. She does not have a happy ending, poor thing, which is why it's hilarious that she has such a name. (Antigone also is a tragic character in a Greek play). I've been obsessed with the name since I was a little fanfic writing whippersnapper, but this is the first time I've actually used the name and completed the story. I'm so glad you like it too! (And READ HAMLET if you haven't yet. It's such a foundational text!)

Hehe I like Roman too. I don't have brothers myself, but I do have a clear idea of the relationships between the Vaisey children, even though we never meet Julian and see Roman just this once. Damian is... lol. Just lol. He's very much the baby of the family, who is treated as such, but he's very eager to prove that he ISN'T the baby, which is kind of the basis of his arc as we go forward, and the crux of his relationship with Sybil. Thackeray is kind of a bully, but who isn't, in this story?

But eee :3 thank you for staying up to read and review and rant! I'm really glad you came back and so delighted to hear what you have to say. I hope you reach the finishing line for your work WAY sooner than I did, but I promise, it'll be worth it when you get there. Again, thank you so much, and I hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #21, by justonemorefic EPILOGUE

4th November 2015:
YOU DID IT YOU DID IT YOU DID IT

This is so your magnum opus. Diya and I were freaking out over it in a car ride a month back. I was telling her what it was like during that looong year of your grudgingly writing this, and all I really wanted was you to finish this, no matter what came out of it. You had to get this story out for sanity's sake, to get the twisty Hogwarts ensemble story out of your system, and I was afraid if you didn't finish this, you might not finish something for a very long time.

Reading it bit by bit, in the pieces you sent me, I never had much of a grasp of the story or characters, and it hadn't mattered. But what's fascinating how much the very same writing worked in context. I mean, of course it would, but for me, reading having read a scattered chunks of the fic already, it was very impressive, and a testament to how complex and entwined all the threads are. After the initial setup, it's very very impressive that it's not confusing at all to follow the threads. The writing is verbose, but it works. There's a purpose to the madness, and it would not be the same slowly unwinding tragedy without it, where we get to spend so much time living in each character's story. There's a inevitability, a promise that everything will resolve in a way, however messy, and you show us so much of it, but still manage to keep cards close when it matters. My non-fandom friend who's reading this loves how dramatic everything is, and the more I think about it, I do, too. Because in retrospect it may all seem silly, as it kind of does as Sybil reflects in the epilogue, but in the momen it'd feel exactly as dramatic as the story seems, with the characters living every moment like they'll be ostracized in the next.

And god, the characters. We love our terrible characters but we want them to tiptoe along the line of goodness really; that spark of humanity that makes everything hurt, because otherwise it'd just be a game. And it seems like such an essential thing--because it is never just a game, and therefore it must always hurt for someone, somewhere--but it's rarely done right. The greatest surprise when I finished this is how much of this story is Antigone, Ophelia, Damian, Findlay, and the others, and depending on how one chooses to read it, it is their story; they are certainly the heroes. The story does not glorify the actions of Sybil and Albus at all. It is a petty struggle and it only leaves casualties and I love that we get to spend so much time amongst the fallout.

Sybil and Albus, I love the commitment to their madness. I remember their first confrontations, the dialogue was so self-absorbed and special snowflake, and it was perfect. I always believed that great, powerful people get there by being kind of well, crazy. One doesn't get to a god-like position without being the first believer. It's easy to ask why everyone jumps through hoops for these two, but they hold a special kind of charisma--that crazy kind of confidence and faith--and I never doubted their power or their ability to wield it. Though I identify with Sybil, I wasn't invested in her changing for herself as much as her changing for the sake of her friends. On her own, she isn't a tragedy; she's a pity. But with her friends beside her, she can be something human; she can hurt. They see her fully in ways she's can't--a different kind of faith--and they are the ones I want to believe.

There's a lot of things I haven't said because we've said it so many times before, but you know how much characters like Sybil and the gang mean to me. This story is a million things I normally don't like, but maybe it's just a sign that they're never written right, definitely never one with characters I identify with so much. It may be chock full of our guilty pleasures, but this is a plainly amazing political-thriller-drama in its own right, just set and casted in unorthodox ways, and I flail into the night because this is a story that should be published or adapted onscreen but it is not.

I think if you ever lack faith in writing, to look at DDWE again and admire it. Just scroll through the words and admire it all, because it's so wonderful. AND COMPLETE. And it took a long time, but you did it.

YOU DID IT ♥

 Report Review

Review #22, by Meghna XXXIV. Perfidy

22nd October 2015:
GUBBY THIS IS MEGHNA

UMM, HI YOU SCHEMING DEVIL YOU

I was just thinking of doing some light fanfic reading on my day off and honestly?? I feel like I have been bludgeoned in the best possible way by some of the best writing I have read in aeons. Your writing style is my favourite style, your characters are my favourite characters, your ships are my favourite ships. There is so much I want to say but because of how much I loved this (be very proud of yourself, you have done what most writers only dream of accomplishing) in totality, I find the specifics merging into one big amorous declaration of uninhibited love. I am as of this moment incapable of falling asleep, having (without any regret) devoted the last 7(?) hours to this delightful landscape you've created with the most real characters I've read in fanfic ever, and with the perfect balance of acidic, snarky, existential crises and smexy time - all of my faves. At th beginning I found the prospect of reading 34 chapters daunting, impossible, and generally unwise because I have an exam in 48 hours, but I got so absorbed I honestly didn't realize it was midnight till just now. And I think that's the real sign of truly skilled story telling. You completely forget where you are, and for the entire duration that I was reading this VERY COMPLETE NOVEL (be very proud of yourself, girl), I truly felt like I was at Hogwarts, with Sybil, Antigone and Ophelia (if I have daughters, they must be exactly like these three), and I honestly haven't felt that way since the last time I read the Harry Potter books.

I could rant for ages, and I will probably come back to unload my love on these chapters individually, but I will stop now before my typing is reduced to keysmash and caps lock. You are a wonderful, wonderful, wonderful, /wonderful/ writer, and I can tell I'm going to cherish this story for the rest of my life. And also I'm going to bother you about it endlessly on tumblr. :D

- Meghna

PS: sorry for the anonymous, stalker-type review, I'm too lazy to sign in lol (it's midnight and I'm still reeling from the last chapter leave me be!)

Author's Response: Oh God, Meghna, I DON'T KNOW HOW TO RESPOND TO THIS EVEN??? I am not used to effusive praise like this anymore so please bear with me:

LOL only you would think taking on a 200k novel would be light fanfic reading. No wonder you were bludgeoned :P Seriously, I have no idea what made you click this title but I'm so so so glad you did. I don't think even I have sat down and read through this whole thing in one go. I could not ask you for any specific opinions because this - just - IS SO MUCH, I don't know how you did it but... ack. I am just so pleased, utterly tickled pink, so PROUD (yes, of course I'm proud! A little shell shocked even now but certainly proud), that you liked this so much, and liked seemingly everything about it! Goodness gracious, it is just too much. Thank you so much. You are the absolute best and never doubt it. A rare reader and a rarer friend. This whole review is so mindblogging and I can never thank you enough for it. I hope you continue to enjoy (just an epilogue left ahh).

PS. If I have daughters like Sybil, Antigone, and Ophelia, I would go insane. Writing them is hard enough, raising them would 100% kill me.

-squishes you to death-


 Report Review

Review #23, by justonemorefic XXX. Monster

26th September 2015:
I'm leaving a review for this bc it's patently unfair that ther aren't any yet but I'm on mobile and its 3am so bear with me. BUT I REMEMBER READING THIS CHAPTER WAY BACK WHEN AND IT IS EVEN MORE AMAZING THAN I REMEMBER?? God the monologues, I usually complain about them but these were perf. I can see the scenarios playing out, I can see them playing out for me if I were just a little different, a little less lucky, a little less imaginative. you should always know that you are the best at recognizing that dark heart and putting it into words, treading into fears that people don't understand bc they are too afraid to even recognize that fear, let alone seek it and make it something tangible.



Author's Response: Context probably helps?? Writing this chapter was just so emotionally exhausting, as you may remember, and it came out in an awful torrent and I was just scared of it. I still am a little, even now that it's been out in the world for some time. You know I love to monologue (I'm a supervillain in very thick glasses and giant cocktail rings) and every one took something out of me that I don't know that I could write now, and it scares me to know that I did. But thank you, thank you, thank you, a chorus of thank yous, stretching out into the sunset... love you.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Viola III. Arrest

22nd July 2015:
This is gonna have to be a quick review because I have been mad busy this week but one thing I wanted to say about this chapter is that I love how you have made every character relevant to the story. I can't tell you how many times I've read a fic with about 40 characters involved and it turns out 80% of them have nothing to do with the actual plot. Don't get me wrong, it's easily done but I'm so pleased you have given each person distinctive characteristics and their own potential back stories.

This is quickly becoming my favourite story on this site, I'm so glad you wrote it haha.

Viola x

Author's Response: I love having giant casts, but it's so hard for me to tackle having multiple characters that don't immediately intersect into the actual plot! Some will get short shrift at certain points, because that's kind of inevitable, but everyone is definitely relevant, even the ones you may think aren't yet. I'm SO happy to hear that, and immensely grateful :) Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Viola II. Egress

15th July 2015:
Firstly, you have come up with the best names ever for your characters, seriously, I wanna name my future kid Ophelia now lol but where do you get these names from? So original.

Oh that makes sense! So Albus is like the ring leader of some kind of alcohol smuggling contriband (along with many other things I'm sure). I really like him though, he's very ambiguous to say the least, but I'm sure there will be some unravelling of his character in upcoming chapters.

Caspar is just the cutest little thing, I kind of get the feeling Sybil takes advantage of him though, or at least takes him for granted. Obviously I get the whole relationship banter and whatnot seeing as I'm just the same with my bf but yeah, I don't know if these two are completely compatible (as lovely as they are individually.)

Well, I say Sybil's lovely but I doubt that's what many of the other characters would describe her as.

Also, how on earth is Albus going to steal exam answers?? This is all so intrueging I can't handle it. I'm off to read the next chapter now x

Author's Response: So nice, you reviewed twice :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>