Reading Reviews for murmur.
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 one.

29th September 2014:
Hi Maia!

I'm here from the Common Room for Story Search Round 2! I realized that we are both February birthdays - so of course I had to pick one of your stories to review! Ooo! Your stories are so good. You have such a way with words that the reader is dragged along for the ride. I actually felt like I was going crazy while reading this! Poor, poor Rose - it's almost like she can sense her descent, can't stop it, but finally accepts it because she has no choice. Gah! This was so powerful and it's even more impressive that it was done in only 500 words! As it is with all your stories, I want to know what happens next!

PS: I did find one word with the letter "p" in it - "speak" - it is in the last longer paragraph. :)

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi love! High five for February birthdays!

I'm so glad you liked this! ♥ writing something in 500 words was so hard - I really like to ramble - not to mention that it was my first foray into dark/horror, so I'm so glad you think I pulled off the creep factor!

Oh swearwords, i swear i checked the whole thing for Ps! Darn, thanks for pointing it out ahaha, I will change it at some point... (or just leave it and hope nobody else notices? hehe) well done on being very observant! :P

Thanks for the review!! ♥

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #2, by Roisin one.

19th August 2014:
Review Tag!

ooh! This was so-so creepy! I'm really impressed that you managed this without using the letter P. The voice possession thingy reminded me a bit of a thing from Doctor Who (first it mimics, then it catches up, then it steals the voice).

I've heard, though, that schizophrenics hear voices sort of in the room, rather than inside their heads. But then again, this is magic not schizophrenia, so the specifics of the idea you totally invented are definitely up to you.

Anyway, it was a wonderful, wonderful idea, and I loved how open ended the story was! People rarely go *dark* with nextgen, so this was really fun to read!

Author's Response: Hiya! I'm happy I could creep you out, since that was the point of the story, ahaha. I actually love that ep of doctor who, so while this idea was from a prompt, I think some of that creature's influence definitely snuck in here!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Midnight spark one.

18th August 2014:
It's me from the forums!

Okay... my eyes just got really wide and everything and I'm staring at the screen, not knowing what just happened. I chose this story because it's summary captured my attention. It had the right amount of mystery, the kind which leaves the reader wanting more even though there isn't anymore.

Just curious, what is the secret of the necklace?

Loved it!

Author's Response: Hiya! I'm so glad you liked it!

I've kind of left the secret of the necklace up to the reader to decide. In my mind, it's possessed some ancient, unknown thing which takes over people's minds and eventually assumes their identity, and then their consciousness becomes trapped in the necklace instead, waiting to take over the next person who wears it.

Thanks for the review :P


 Report Review

Review #4, by zealousVisionary one.

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

It's definitely not Halloween, but I decided to check this story out, and I'm glad I did! There was so much I loved about it, it's going to be hard for me to not turn this review into incoherent babbling.

This story's writing was simply wonderful- great for a creepy fic like this, and it just added to this its awesomness. I think it's nice that the main character is Rose- I don't read much of her, to be honest. The way she reacts to the voice in her head is so creepy- I love it.

My favorite part of this story was the ending- it was just so mysterious and open ended, and it gave me the shivers!

Anyways, I don't have a single critique for this fic- great job!

Author's Response: It doesn't have to be halloween to read a spooky story! Haha. I'm so glad you liked it - this was the first 'creepy' story I ever tried to write so I was super unsure if it worked, so thankyou! I read and write Rose relatively often but I like playing around with her characterisation so it was fun to put her in a horror role like this :)

Thanks for the review!

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 one.

7th July 2014:
Hi There.

Wow. This was different from anything I've ever read. It was creepy and dark, and I definitely loved it.

I liked that the main character was Rose, because I usually see her in love stories with Scorpius. It was great to see her in something completely different. And I loved seeing her just going more or more crazy. And you can really feel her worry over losing her sanity- thinking she's crazy when she's in fact possessed by something (cause she is possessed, right?).

It was really great, and I loved how you repeated the same sentences over and over again. And then in the end of the story, the answer is different. It just adds to the creepiness - because you just see the voice/the possession becoming stronger, taking over her.

I actually think the possession is quite similar to The Host by Stephanie Meyer, where the humans became trapped in their minds while the "aliens" controls their body. I feel like Rose becomes trapped in her own mind, trapped in her thoughts. And by the time she notices what's happening, it's too late.

But anyways. As you may have realized by now, I loved it!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for this awesome review! This was my first foray into writing horror and it was a lot of fun! I'm also used to seeing Rose mostly in fluffy love stories so it was really fun and interesting to explore a characterisation of her in a dark fic that didn't centre around romance, even if it was a tiny as this one, haha.

I've totally left it up to the reader to decide what's happening to her, to be honest. In my mind, it's kind of possession, yeah, but not quite... it's more like a creature has moved into her brain along side her, but eventually they take over and she becomes the voice in the back of their head, instead...

I've never read the host - I avoid Stephanie Meyer at all costs tbh - but that sounds similar to what I was going for here, yeah!

Thanks so much for the review x

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore one.

6th July 2014:
Hi there! This is a great chance to read some of your lovely writing again, I've been missing this! And for such a short story this was incredibly powerful and also quite chilling and creepy!

Rose really isn't a character that I've often read about in a situation like this - normally she's paired with Scorpius or it's in fluff or humour, so reading something this dark was a real change, and I found it quite refreshing! The italics you used for the voice worked really well and it was very creepy!

The possession (I'm assuming it was possession?) reminded me of the way that Ginny was taken over by Tom Riddle, and it made me wonder how on earth Rose found herself in a situation where a stranger gave her this necklace. The fact that it can see inside her and seems to be taking over her is really disturbing and I felt so sorry for her. She can sense that something's happening but doesn't know how to stop it. So, so powerful and I loved reading this!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hiya :D aww, you're so sweet, I'm glad you liked it! I had so much trouble keeping this so short but also making it spooky...

It was incredibly interesting for me to write Rose in a dark story without a romance element, like you say I usually hardly ever see her in a story where she isn't doing something fluffy or funny or romantic, so this was a really interesting challenge for me.

I was aiming for something like a possession, yeah, but I think it's up to the reader to really decide what happened. I have to admit I creeped myself out while writing this! The idea of losing control of your mind is so scary to me...

Thanks for reviewing!

~Maia :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Aphoride one.

5th February 2014:
Hey there! Stopping by for the Review Battle in the common room ;) You know, it's strange - I remember reading this for the QTR Halloween Competition, I think, but I never reviewed... so, here I am again!

I have to say that having read this before, it's no less creepy than it was before. I don't get scared by things I read, but this really is creepy and weird and I could imagine someone making a really, brilliantly terrifying horror film out of this you know? Psychological horror... always the worst! ;)

Anyway, I really love this. I love how you've used Rose for your character, as she's such a common character but not commonly used in things like this - not that there is anything quite like this, but horror/dark as opposed to romance. I really like how you've portrayed her as not knowing what the voice is, not making any connection or necessarily trying to work out what it is, not noticing it at first... they're all such wonderful little insights into her character! The little pieces of information the voice tells her about herself as well, are so brilliant and so creepy. I like how, again, they really flesh out her character, but it's creepier than anything when you remember that it's the voice telling her. As though she doesn't know or something.

I don't know what's going on, but the whole thing with the voice and the necklace - potential link? - reminds me a lot of what happened to Ginny when she was possessed, only Rose isn't being possessed as such, it's more of a leech than anything else.

Okay, I'm successfully creeping myself out just by talking about this... well done you for making it so impossibly creepy that that happens! :P

I'm so impressed you wrote this all without the letter 'p' as well. It's one of those letters you don't think you use very often, but then you find out you use it more than you think.

So yes, I loved this. It's wonderfully creepy, really, really well-written, and so impressively done.

You've got to stop impressing me. Seriously. Or, rather, just write more ;)

Aph xx

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it :D I have never tried to write anything creepy before this story so I'm really glad it's actually creeping people out, as mean as that sounds!

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lostmyheart one.

31st January 2014:
Hi milominderbinder!

I wanted to go check your stories, since one of them are feautured on the frontpage (and also because you've made like 60% of all my banners).

This story really blows my mind! I mean... what was that?
The curiosity is killing me. It really is.
It was an excellent story and amazing how much you managed to squeeze it to only 500 words!

I'm going to check your other stories too! Though I hope they won't end so mysteriously like this one. I won't be able to handle it :b

Great job!

Author's Response: Hiya! Haha yeah I'm a bit addicted to TDA, hope you like all the banners I made you ;)

Wow I'm really glad you liked it! I normally waffle on so much so I have no idea how I managed to fit this in 500 words.

Haha, no, most of my stories don't end QUITE this mysteriously (though most of them aren't exactly cheerful either, so be warned).

Thanks so much for reviewing!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan one.

14th December 2013:
Hola!

I thought I'd check this out in December instead of October because apparently I'm cool like that.

I thought this was interesting, I've never read a story that had anyone going crazy let alone Rose in it so this was a first for me.

I'm not sure how I feel about the voice in her head though. It doesn't like it's going to harm her or hurt her in any way at all but at the same time I don't get a good feeling from it at all. I feel like just as it's telling her the truth, it could just as easily tell Rose lies and things that could cause her to do bad things.

I wonder why the man gave her the necklace, it doesn't seem like it does much besides make Rose hear a voice in her head (besides her thoughts). Now that I think about it, you could turn this into a story about what the necklace does to whoever wears it, that would be pretty interesting to read.

I like how Rose isn't scared of the voice, she sounds almost indifferent to it, like she doesn't care that it's there at all. In fact, to me, it sounded like she was interested in what it was doing in her head and how it got there and what the effects of it will be on her.

But anyway, I did enjoy this and good job on it!

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm glad you liked it :) I had never written a story with someone going crazy, so we're both new to this! Haha.

I think the true creepiness of the voice is the fact that it takes her over, so by the she's basically nothing more than a voice in her own head.

Because this was such a short amount of words I liked the ambiguity of it all, especially with the necklace. It's up to you whether you even think that's what made her go crazy! (Though I think it was).

Thanks for the review :P

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #10, by darcy. S one.

14th December 2013:
this is incredible! in only 500 words!!! wow you have blown me away you are definitely a talented writer, i have chills on my spine!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing :)

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney Dark one.

30th November 2013:
Tag!

Wow, this was a great one-shot! I am seriously impressed. I don't see how you have managed to write something that is exactly 500 words (I'm sure that would be an impossible task for me) and also doesn't use the letter P. That is amazing!

Anyway, I loved the concept of this. Because it was a very short piece, we only got a short glimpse into Rose's life but I loved what you showed us, and I think you wrote the whole 'going crazy' thing really well!

I cannot wait to read more of your stuff! I would especially love to see something longer from you - a short story or a novel - because your work is just so amazing and I always want more!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Writing something 500 words long was SUPER hard, haha, that's usually like the opening paragraph to most of my fics so it was definitely a challenge!

I've never really tried writing something scary before so I'm glad you think it worked :D

I'm actually writing a short story at the moment! Which should be posted in a couple of weeks. It's gonna be quite different to my usual writing though, an attempt at a humour fic, so we'll see how it goes haha.

Thanks for the review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #12, by MissesWeasley123 one.

26th November 2013:
WHOA MAIA OH MY GOD.

WHAT IS THIS SORCERY AHHH.

This piece was this mass of brilliant sorcery and omg go home. Nobody likes you.

OR SHARE YOUR TALENT WITH THE LESS FORTUNATE UGH.

Firstly, um, what the heck, only 500 words? Why so cruel. I demand more.

Actually, no I don't. I think the size of this piece was perfect and so well done. I really enjoyed it. It was just enough to keep me hot on my toes the whole way, and I really, really liked it.

It was creepy, the plot. Absolutely creepy and really really twisted. But then so good also. HOW??

The necklace's voice was chilling and left my mind blown. This piece was so dark, but so well written also.

Great work Maia!

Author's Response: NADIA SHUSH YOU'RE THE SWEETEST.

I really liked writing something this short and I'm glad you think the length worked, I do too! It was for the Ravenclaw Halloween challenge on the forums which had a 500 word limit, otherwise I never would have written something this short - I like long rambly descriptions too much :P - but I'm glad I got out of my comfort zone and tried it because it was super fun to write!

I figured the only way I could make it really creepy in 500 words was to make it super ambiguous and leave a lot of it up to the imagination, because unknown, psychological horror always seems the scariest to me. I've written depressing stuff before but never anything outright dark or horror, and I don't really read horror either, so I was nervous about posting this since I basically had nothing to go on when I was writing it. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheGirlWithTheLaughingFace one.

24th November 2013:
Review Tag :D

Ok first of let me state that I'm really really mad that this is only a one shot and I think you did that on purpose to drive us readers crazy trying to figure out what happened next. You are very evil for doing that :p

Second even though it's short you added just enough description to it that the reader can imagine exactly what's going on. I personally find it very hard to be descriptive without writing like four pages worth so I commend you on being able to do it with how little words you used.

I honestly can't think of anything to change about this story it's well written with just enough description to show us how Rose is feeling the only thing I wish is that you would write a sequel. Maybe if I beg you will :D

Good Job -Crystal

Author's Response: Ahaha, I'm so glad you like it! I promise I'm not intentionally trying to drive you all mad with cliffhangers (she lies, cackling evilly).

I usually struggle with adding excessive amounts of description too so writing something this short was a REAL challenge, I am really glad you thought it worked! I was worried that some parts had way too much description and other parts had not nearly enough, but I guess it's actually kind of hard to get a huge imbalance in only 500 words!

I might think about writing a sequel... This was super fun to write, so maybe I should write another 500 word sequel that just ends on another cliffhanger ;) Haha no, I think I kind of like that it's so short and vague, truth be told I don't really even know myself what the necklace was or what happened to Rose, so I like that the readers get that air of mystery too! It's up to you to decide what happens to Rose :D

Thanks for the lovely review.

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #14, by GingeredTea one.

24th November 2013:
This was really cool for how short it was. I assume it was a cursed necklace?
Awesome job. I liked the way you introduced the idea of going crazy and the way you turned the mantra at the beginning around at the end. Bravo.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it :) I made it deliberately ambiguous so you can decide if you thought it was a cursed necklace or not!

Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Nasim6413 one.

4th November 2013:
I'm going to be honest- the story creeped me out. But not in a way that 'I-never-want-to-see-this-ever-again-it's-so-scary' but in a way that I want to know more, I want to know what's going on. And I really loved it. I don't see anything that I don't like.

The story is amazing. I wonder why Rose would accept a necklace from a stranger, though. Wouldn't she know better? At the end, I could barely tell who was saying what, and in my opinion it was good because it makes you really confused. That's what I dig about the story. The confusion.

I loved the story :D Keep writing.

~ Rose Weasley

WAIT WAIT NO NO NO. SORRY. THE NECKLACE BRAINWASHED ME NOW!

~ Nasim XD

Author's Response: Heya! I'm glad you liked the story, haha, even though it was creepy :D

To be honest, I haven't even decided a lot of those things myself. I love the vagueness I was writing with here because it leaves it so up to interpretation! So you can decide why you think she'd take a necklace from a stranger :P

Resist the brainwashing!!

Thanks for reviewing :)

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #16, by Haronione one.

3rd November 2013:
Hiya!! Here for the Ravenclaw review battle :)

How could I not review this Halloween challenge story after the review you left on mine?! This was a great little one-shot. I love that you have taken a different spin on the 'scary' theme, it was so chillingly scary and creepy.

The gradual change of the intensity of the voices in her head and that the voice slowly turned to sounding like her own so she couldn't differentiate the voice from her own thoughts was great and made it even more chilling. I absolutely loved how you repeated the opening section at the end but reversed it and ended it with them becoming one voice. This really rounded off the story and added to the creepiness of it all.

This must have been terrifying for Rose. Hearing voices is never good! It feels like the voice is lulling her in with the things it is saying to her here, that this is just the start of it all. Especially given that the voice has continued after taking off the necklace!

Some of my favourite lines are: 'It's not what I thought going crazy would be like' I find it quite scary that she realises she is going crazy but seems quite blase about it; 'The voice knows, and it tries to tell me, but I don't know how to listen anymore.' This is particularly chilling, poor Rose!

This was a fantastic, eerie one-shot and a great entry for the Halloween challenge :)

Haronione ♥

Author's Response: Hiya! Oh, I'm so glad you liked it! I've never tried to write something scary before which is why I leant towards a creepy, psychological style instead, I thought it would be easier to write haha.

Yeah, some of the creepiest things I could think of were all to do with hearing voices, going crazy, not knowing your own mind... so I decided to put them all into this story! I'm a big big fan of repetition and circular writing *English student nerdiness* so I was really happy with how the repeated beginning and end worked out. I'm glad you picked up on the change of voices so that the necklace has actually become her, I wasn't sure I had made it obvious enough!

I'm glad you liked the story :) Thanks for the amazing review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #17, by patronus_charm one.

3rd November 2013:
Hi, here from the review tag! Iím glad that I caught you as this is an entrant to the QTR Halloween challenge :D

Wow, this piece was really fantastic and fitted the bill of it being scary brilliantly! I think the most chilling thing about it was how Rose managed to remain rational throughout and there was this voice which gradually become interspersed more and more as the story went on, and the voice itself become more and more chilling with the way it began to possess her name and that idea was really fantastic.

I think the balance of the story was really good too, with the ratio of narration between Rose and the voice being very balanced so we got to learn about their separate identities really well. I also liked how you provided just the right level of backstory to Rose through both her own thoughts and the voiceís so we got a sense of who she is and, thus, was more relatable so you were willing her on to recover even more.

The necklace reminded me of Slytherinís locket with the way is possessed people and then a mixture of the one Katie Bell touched as it horrifying consequences. Iím so intrigued about how on earth she got the locket and why she suddenly felt the urge to take it off. I know obviously this had to be 500 words, but if you ever decided to explore those areas even more in a separate piece it would be really interesting. Perhaps this another Death Eater thing as theyíre trying to kill off the Golden Trioís children?

Then the closing lines! They were just fantastic! ♥ So, so chilling and so poignant too, because you leave the reader on the perfect cliff-hanger wondering what on earth will happen to Rose now. Will she dies? Will she recover? I reckon sheíll become like Ginny when she was possessed. Ooh all this speculation, itís great!

An amazing piece of work!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Heya! Wow, thanks for this amazing review!

I'm really glad you thought it was scary - I've never tried to write anything creepy or horror style before, so I was honestly going in blind and had no idea if this would work at all. I always find psychological thrillers scariest and I thought the most terrifying thing I could think of is losing yourself inside your own mind, so that's where the inspiration for this came from!

I still haven't decided what I think the necklace is. I agree it has some elements like the locket and the cursed necklace, also some aspects of Tom Riddle's diary. Really I wanted to make it as ambiguous as possible because I think that's how it's scariest - so the tiny word limit was actually a blessing in disguise, I really think it made this even scarier! If I did decide to write more of this I wouldn't even know where to start because I haven't figured out any of those details, haha!

Ooh, I'm glad you liked the end. I know I made it pretty subtle so I wasn't sure if everyone would pick up on the reversal of the voices at the end, and the fact that the voice has actually become her. I'm glad you liked the ambiguous ending :)

Thanks for reviewing!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #18, by Red_headed_juliet one.

27th October 2013:
Very nice! The Lack a Letter Challenge is difficult enough without the 500 word count limitation. Brilliantly done. I like how you accomplished so much, even though several lines repeat themselves, every word really does count. I'm the other entry in the Lack a Letter Challenge, and I won't be offended at all if this beats my little one shot. Very beautifully done. I also find it kinda funny that you just made a banner for my Ginny story! X) (and thanks again for the banner.)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! The short word count was definitely just as big a challenge as missing the letter P, haha, but it was kinda fun trying to write something with so many limitations. I really debated about using all that repetition because like you say in a fic this short every word has to count, but in the end I decided to put it in, because it's really what makes the story spooky at all, so I'm glad you thought that worked!

Haha, I'm sure your entry is awesome :D And I had loads of fun making your Ginny banner so you're welcome!

Thanks for the review :D

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #19, by academica one.

27th October 2013:
Hello, fellow 'Claw! Here from review tag!

This is so interesting! I love how you interpreted the prompt for the Halloween competition. It was creepy to see the voice in Rose's head change over the course of the story from speaking to her to seemingly speaking from within her. I also liked how benign what it was saying was, because it was like there was something not quite right even though on the surface it seemed fairly "harmless."

I definitely wonder what's up with this strange necklace--it reminds me of Slytherin's locket, which would make the person wearing it become more irritable and sort of lose their personality temporarily. I kind of wish you had been able to write more so we could find out who gave her the necklace and what happens to Rose, but I know you were constrained by the teeny tiny word limit, and you did a great job with those 500 words :)

Nice work!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Yay Ravenclaw! :P Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked the story :D

Ooh, I'm glad you picked up on the change of the voice from talking to her to talking as her. I think you're the first person who's mentioned that in a review! I definitely felt like that was scary when I was writing it, hence why it was perfect for the Halloween challenge! The things I always find scariest are when mundane things turn terrifying, which is why I made the voice rattle off such useless small-talk facts.

The 500 words was definitely a challenge since I'm usually the rambly-est writer ever, but I actually kind of like that you don't really know what's up with the necklace or who gave it to her or anything like that - it would almost ruin the story to know too much about it? Maybe that's just because I never quite decided any of those things anyway myself, haha.

Thanks for the great review!

~Maia



 Report Review

Review #20, by Illuminate one.

26th October 2013:
Hi! Review Tag!

This is a very well written and creepy story xD It's very disturbing, and I think it's a good idea for the reason she was affected to be magically-based, when she said that a stranger had given her a necklace it was very chilling. Adding the detail that she got a T in Charms was illuminative too, shows that she may not have even thought that the necklace could be dangerous.

You write it in such a way that I care about Rose too, I really want her to get help, even 500 words into the story. That shows the mark of the care you took in writing this.

Great job!

Author's Response: Ooh, I'm glad you liked it! Writing a story so short was a big challenge but I actually think it ended up making it scarier, I'm not sure it would have been this creepy if there'd been more detail, so I'm glad you thought it worked :D I'm glad you thought I got Rose's character across too, I tried to show her as much as I could without having the whole 500 words just be explaining her backstory!

Thanks for the review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #21, by 800 words of heaven one.

25th October 2013:
REVIEW TAGI!

OMGOMGOMGOMG!!!

So I've seen this story around the tag for a bit, so I thought I'd give it a go. Horror isn't really my thing (Monsters Inc gave me nightmares), but I love a good 500 word story. They're super difficult to write, so I love seeing people writing them and excelling at them - like you have.

I love the way you've written this. It doesn't feel 500 words long. It's written as if it is a much longer piece, and I don't know how you've done it, but it's not cut short or anything. There's a little bit of everything in here: emotion, drama, creepy strangers, enchanted jewelllery...

The scariest part of this story, for me at least, is that the "baddie" for lack of a better word, is Rose's own mind. Psychological thrillers are the best, simply because the idea that your own mind can turn on you is terrifying. You can fight the monsters, but how do you fight yourself?

Another thing that made this so awesome was that it reminded me of the Doctor Who episode "Midnight". I'm not sure if you're a fan of DW, or not, but it's the scariest episode ever, and you should definitely watch it (if you haven't already). There were so many aspects from that episode that I felt echoed in here, and it was really awesome!

Such a lovely read! Stupendous work!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked it! Even if you're not a fan of horror - which, neither am I, which made this super difficult to write, so I'm glad you thought it came out well :D

I always think psychological thrillers are way more scary than outright horror, so I'm glad you agree. There's something about the idea of having your own mind turn against you or losing control of your thoughts that's just absolutely chilling, right? That's why I thought the easiest way to make this scary in only 500 words would be to write it as a psychological danger and make it really really vague...

I am a super big Doctor Who fan, omg, and that episode is SO SCARY. This fic wasn't consciously inspired by it but now you've said that I can totally see what you mean. oooh, that just made this even spookier.

Thanks for the review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #22, by bellatrixlestrange123 one.

25th October 2013:
I saw you write about this on the forums so I decided to have a look.

Oh my, I was latched onto every. single. word. So hauntingly beautiful with slight humor and overall, it's brilliant.

Your writing style is so easy to get used to and every sentence flows smoothly into a paragraph and together forms a very captivating story!

Bella :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I'm glad it hooked you, I struggled so much with keeping it short so I'm glad it was still effective even though it's only 500 words!

Thanks for reviewing :D

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #23, by randomwriter one.

25th October 2013:
Hi Maia! :)

First of all, I take my hat off to you! I saw the 'Lack a Letter Challenge' on the forums, but I couldn't bring myself to sign up. I mean, how did you write an entire story without using a letter.

I realize that the letter is 'P'. Well, I'm impressed :P And on top off that, you also attempted the 'Every Word Counts' challenge. (Or did you?...This fits the bill!) Another of those challenges that scare me. I've always wanted to try it, but I'm not sure how I'll manage to write a story using exactly and only 500 words.

This was brilliant. The way you started off completely drew me in. It was like you were trying to brainwash the reader in the manner that the necklace was attempting to brainwash Rose. I love how you've written this, especially since it's also for a Horror challenge too. Wow! Talk about challenging yourself on so many levels in just one story! I think you've done a great job. The feeling that this leaves you with (dazed and brainwashed) goes along the theme of horror.

Great job, Maia! I'm off to read your other story in a few minutes! I love your writing so much. I'm glad your page has a couple more from the last time I checked. (I re-read Soaring then :P) ...and meh. I don't care if it's creepy. You're a great writer!

Excellent story.
Love Adi :)

Author's Response: Aww, you're the sweetest! I've entered quite a few challenges recently so there'll definitely be more from me in the next few months, though this was definitely the most challenges I'll be combining into one story! I think the only way I managed to avoid a letter was because it was only 500 words, haha, otherwise a P word would have eventually been unavoidable!

I'm glad you thought the spookiness worked well :) I've never tried to write anything outright scary before so that definitely added yet another challenge to it for me! Thankfully I got inspired by a terrifying prompt or I don't think I would have been able to write something scary! Still, I adore Halloween, so it was worth getting out of my comfort zone for the spirit of the holiday ;)

I'm glad you liked it! And if you haven't read "winter, cry" yet, wow, prepare yourself for a very long and depressing oneshot! Hope you like it haha :)

~Maia < 3


 Report Review

Review #24, by toomanycurls one.

24th October 2013:
I've never gone crazy but I think you capture it quite well here. :D The intonation Rose says sounds like what I'd imagine a therapist to say or what kind of self-talk I'd do if I were trying to keep my sanity.

You weave in so many beautiful details about Rose's life that the voice tells her. I am struggling a bit to coherently identify why this is awesome. I mean, it's like seeing a painting that is clearly masterfully done but needing to look at it for several hours to appreciate the artistry and skill it took to look so flawless and simple.

I'm really in awe of how well this flows - it sounds like it's supposed to be read in one smooth go. It feels very soulful.

I've just decided that everything you write is pretty awesome.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you like it! It was really fun to write because I had to do it in so few words that it really seemed like every one counted...

Ah, my writing is definitely no master painting! But wow, thanks for saying that < 3

I've just decided that YOU'RE pretty awesome :P

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #25, by Lady Asphodel one.

24th October 2013:
Really nice haunting piece here. :) You really have the Halloween spirit going and I enjoyed going insane for a moment myself... almost believing that I am Rose Weasley. :P


Keep it up!

- From the review thread. ^_^



-- Asphodel

Author's Response: Haha, glad I got you in the crazy halloween spirit :P

Thanks for reviewing!

~Maia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>