Reading Reviews for Always Gold
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hermione013 Arthur

14th November 2014:
wow!!! this is too good! i was about to stop reading when molly was sitting alone at the hospital...then i thought...it is just 3 chapters...i'll get over with it...and it was worth it. such a beautiful story...i was crying through the last part!!! i have always found it difficult to console someone who has lost a loved one. but this story has changed my view to life. way to go!! i hope i knew you in real life...we would be awesome friends :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much. I'm so glad you kept reading and so, so happy that you liked it so much. Honestly, I don't know how to thank you fr those kind words.. Changed your view to life? Far out. That's just unbelievable, haha. I'm sure we'd be great friends! hey, let's say we ARE friends, eh? :D

xxx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Shilpa Arthur

10th March 2014:
Beautiful is the only word I can think of. Thank you so much for this story and thank you for reminding me of the inevitability that's part of life. P.s. Waiting for the next update on 19 years. Loads of love.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Honestly, that is such an amazing comment to get. I'm so happy you liked this. And I promise I'm updating 19 years as often as I can. Loads of love back to you x

 Report Review

Review #3, by pomplemoose21 Arthur

21st January 2014:
Hi there :)

I just wanted to say how wonderfully sad this story was. It was an easy read with a lot of imagery which I love because the Burrow is one of my favourite Harry Potter landmarks!

I have read similar stories before, but I must say this is one of my favourites :) you captured the emotions beautifully and the empathy you created for the characters was overwhelming.

Thank you for sharing this with us!
Hannah x

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Wow, thank you so much, it makes me so happy. I love the Burrow too :)

I wish I could tell you how much it means to me that you liked this so much! I don't think I can thank you enough for those kind words...


 Report Review

Review #4, by BookDinosaur The things we lose

1st January 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Sixth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing over at the forums. :)

Ah, I really love the premise of this story! It's so true that old age affects so many families, and it's so tragic and heartbreaking to read about Arthur Weasley, who was so enthusiastic about Muggles and who fought so bravely, reduced to this because of old age. :( But it's realistic as well, and I think that a lot of stories gloss over this aspect of old age.

I loved the way that you opened this story with some lovely description of Ottery St. Catchpole and The Burrow, it all felt very serene and calm and peaceful, but with perhaps something else underlying the calm, and it set the scene beautifully for the actual story. Your imagery and description was just fantastic, you painted the scene so vividly I couldn't help but see it in my mind. One quote I absolutely love was loved: yellow fields that could easily be mistaken for golden in the morning light. It was just so beautiful to think of, and tied in so well with the title.

I also liked how you portrayed the busy family. Let's face it, we don't always have time for everything, and the sad thing was that the Weasleys put their affairs in front of seeing Arthur, and while that's both understandable and forgiveable, it's sad. How people were always so busy was definitely something I could relate to, but it was so difficult to read about how they couldn't find the time to visit Arthur.

I loved Molly's attitude, how she's too stubborn to move out of the Burrow and how she refuses to get glasses - As hard as it may be to believe, your mother doesnít know everything. made me chuckle.

Arthur was so heartbreaking! It was so sad too see how he'd forgotten everyone, everything, and how he didn't recognise his wife. :( The memories you share are so important to husband and wife, and feeling Molly's loss broke my heart all over again.

This was a wonderful first chapter, well done on writing somehing so sad. :P

Author's Response: Hi! It makes me so happy to hear that you liked this. Old age is very tragic indeed, and the golden years may not always be that golden. It's easy to look over, especially in stories, which is why I wanted to write this.

I am so glad that you liked the descriptions in the beginning! I could see the place before my eyes, dusted and much too quiet, and so I'm thrilled to hear that you thought it came to life for you as the reader as well! Thank you so much for telling me that, and for pointing out that quote - I love to hear what lines stand out to the reader :)

I agree with you. No matter how much people love each other, they don't always make time for each other. It's very sad when you think of it, but that's the way it is :(

I'm so glad to hear that! I think Ginny inherited that stubborn side from Molly :)

Losing one's memories is so tragic. It's one thing I really hope won't happen to me when I'm older, and I wouldn't want to be in Molly's shoes either. It's just too sad. I'm glad to hear that it seems to have come across.

Thank you so, so much for such a lovely review! It was absolutely amazing to receive, you've been so very kind and I don't really know how to thank you enough!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Harrysavesme Arthur

20th November 2013:
This was wonderful in a sad way. You perfectly captured how hard it is to have a family member with Alzheimer's or dementia. I had to try not to cry reading this it was beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. These comments have made me feel so happy. I'm so glad that you liked it. Thank you for reading, and for leaving this review :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by killjoy The things we lose

18th November 2013:
God you've made me so depressed now and wondering if I went and visited my grandmother enough before she died. Sad chapter

Author's Response: I'm sorry. I realize that it is a sad subject :( but I'm sure your grandmother appreciated the time she got with you!! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by WalnutQuill Arthur

8th November 2013:
That's right, just go ahead and destroy the rest of my feels... ;_; It's not like I needed them...
Where do I even begin with this story? You are a phenomenal writer! Every story of yours that I've written matches the style of Jo Rowling's perfectly! And your topics, plot twists, descriptions... all amazing! I'm really glad to have stumbled across this! I really loved the Luna quote at the beginning, too! (Basically I loved this whole fanfic)

Author's Response: Sorry about that... ;) But honestly, I think the question here is where I should begin in my thanking you for this review. It has truly made my day; I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you liked this story and my writing - those are some incredibly kind words and I don't know how to explain how happy they've made me. Thank you so, so much for reading and for leaving this lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Julah Arthur

4th November 2013:
It's bittersweet! Well done!

Author's Response: Yes, it really is. Thank you so much!! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Scottieclark Arthur

1st November 2013:
This was absolutely amazing. I don't think I could compliment you enough. Fanatic job. Amazing. Keep it up:)!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! Those compliments are more than enough, I am so happy to hear that you liked this so much. thank you!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by aditi Arthur

26th October 2013:
it was very touching and one true of emotion for it was a humans heart which wrote it not a writers pen.

Author's Response: What a beautiful way to put it. This story was very special to me and I am so, so happy that you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Oh dear. The things we lose

25th October 2013:
A good start to a story about the long goodbye that families can have. I'm not sure if it's better, or worse, or the same deal. Just a different agony.

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that you liked it. I agree with you in that I don't know what would be better - a sudden goodbye or a stretched out one. Both are of course very difficult. thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by HPFAN Arthur

25th October 2013:
That was a fantastic culmination to a story that, in the end, brought a tear to my eye. A tear brought on not because of the sadness of the topic, but the beauty in which you captured such a moment in a families life. A moment that anyone can relate to if they have ever lost someone dear. I truly enjoyed reading this short story and thank you for writing it. I must say that your descriptive writing, paired with your story telling ability provide a perfect combination needed by an author. Please continue writing, talent like yours should never be wasted. Thank you again.

P.S. I hope you are feeling better.

Author's Response: I'm feeling much better, thanks!

And thank you so much for this wonderful review. I honestly don't really know how to respond to it - it's the kind of review that I'll go back and read whenever I need some cheering up. I'm so happy that you liked this story so much, and that the emotions really came through. This was a special story for me to write and it means the world to me that you liked it. Thank you so much for your kind words!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by HufflePuff_Blitz Coming back

20th October 2013:
that was so sad! poor molly. Great story! Reading this at first I didn't realize how old everyone was. Ron and Hermione in their 60's! wow. I guess wizards do live longer. Keep it up!!

Author's Response: It is sad, yes.. :( I'm very happy to hear that you like the story, though! I did think about wizards living longer and besides, Muggles can live until they're 90-100 too (which is what Molly and Arthur would be at this stage :) Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this! (the final chapter is now in the queue)

 Report Review

Review #14, by HPFAN Coming back

15th October 2013:
Yet another spectacular installment to this story. I find it difficult to type praise when the focal point of this story is so emotional, however you do deserve it. Reading the transition Arthur goes through in this installment shows more depth to your writing than I have ever seen (I have read all of your work). Your ability to seamlessly transition into the final connection between Molly and Arthur speaks volumes to your writing credentials. I feel like this piece is a great way for you to write on a serious topic that may seem out of place in your other current story. Thank you again for your writing and this story.

P.S. I think there may have been a typo : "remember if she had every got to making that pie,"? Poss meant ever?

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for this review! It has honestly made my day. I don't think I can thank you enough for those kind words - obviously it's something that's quite difficult to write and get your head into, so it means the world to me that you like it. You're definitely right, this is a lot different from '19 years' (I assume that's the one you need), and that's probably the reason I enjoy writing this so much. Thank you so much for a lovely review, and for pointing out that typo. I'll go back and change it - it should definitely be ever! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by DracosGirl012 The things we lose

10th October 2013:
this was quite good, and rather sad, in fact :( I liked it, though! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad that you liked it! I have to agree with you, it is very sad. Thank you so much for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by lindslo2012 The things we lose

7th October 2013:
This almost brought a tear to my eye it was so SWEET! What a good idea to write about.. :)

Author's Response: I'm so happy that you liked this idea!! :) thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by HPFAN The things we lose

6th October 2013:
This is a very interesting take on how the family has grown older. Once again your writing style shines through to make what is a very sad subject, a very pleasurable read. I'm interested to see where to take the story. As always, great writing. Keep it up.

Author's Response: I'm very happy to hear that you thought so. Yes, the subject is indeed sad, but I'm so happy that you could still enjoy it. I hope you'll like the rest of this story too (there will be two more chapters). Again, I'm so happy that you liked this, and thank you so much for reading and for being my first reviewer for this story!! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login