Reading Reviews for Hourglass
  
85 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MuggleMaybe 3 years, 23 days

6th April 2016:
GINA!

I can't believe I haven't already read and reviewed this chapter!! The first scene in this chapter does a nice job of building character, especially the side characters like Rose and Louis. Not to mention, the discussion about Sophie was telling. He's trying, he wants to be head over heels for her. But he's not. He's just not. And Sophie is wonderful. She deserves someone who IS head over heels for her.

So, with that stage set, the locker room scene between them feels very natural. Sophie's backstory with her family is really interesting.

Oh, and this line:
“It’s okay, Soph, you can still be in Hufflepuff if you call your friend an idiot.”
--> AMAZING

BUT THEN WHAT THE HECK WAS THE GHOST FREAKING OUT ABOUT OMG. You know who else isn't gonna sleep very well tonight? (just kidding)

As engrossing as ever.
You are marvelous! ♥

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #2, by princesslily_36 3 years, 23 days

18th March 2016:
Ahhh, you've blown me away yet again!!! How is your Albus so adorable..? The way he is reluctant to talk about Sophie, but still wants to talk about her...

The conversation with the cousins was soo good, it flowed so well, and I liked how close they were. I'd expect them to be so, especially since the parents must have been so close after the war and all.. Rose is kinda cute, the way she shoves the wand in Louis' face!

Sophie is so sweet! Honestly, I really really like her... sometimes I wonder if she's too nice, you know... but I realized we are seeing her from Albus' PoV and he thinks she is kind of perfect doesn't he...

I love that insight into Sophie's family not being so perfect, and the brother with bipolar is so touching. I am quite interested in knowing how you are going to tackle this further. I have a special interest in working with/for psychiatric disorders which increases my interest in this storyline! I am beginning to think Sophie's extremely nice personality is probably overdone to mask the darker shades of her life.

Ahh the near kiss - omg, I could just see it in slow motion... if only it was real. But the anticipation of it is more exciting than the actual kiss isn;t it... so you are keeping us waiting, which is good :D Is this Albus' first kiss? Or has he kissed girls before? I love how you have captured his frustration...

That climax scene - was quite creepy. I read that in broad daylight and even I felt a chill down my spine. I can quite imagine why Albus couldn't sleep. I mean, it had to take a lot to spook a ghost!

Now I can't wait two weeks to read the next chapter. Nope. You're going to have to send it by sooner than that. Yes you are!

Love~
Ysh!

 Report Review

Review #3, by StarFeather 3 years 40 days

6th March 2016:
Hi,Gina! I came here to cheer you up from the forum event, Review-a-Thon hosted by TreacleTart.

As I continue reading this story, I felt like reading J.K.Rowling's one. Your description is super. I enjoyed the dialogues, too. I guess your defense will go better next time. Because this story is so amazing and your thesis must be wonderful. Positive vib X 1000.

Now, I'll write how amazing this chapter is. (Sorry my poor English, I'm not sure how I can tell you that.)

The description about the surrounding of Albus,is perfect. The building of Hogwarts, the Black Lake and the students.

Then the dialogues followed, we naturally can jump in the conversation between Albus and Scorp plus Louis.

Tne next, I was thrilled to read Al's future plan, helping his father with his job, 'Auror things', you know my obsession...(I strongly expect here that you'll write about his future plan more, like entering the training or something.)

Hmm, nobody could reveal who D.L.Z. was. It will be mystery. Then how will the girl named Tracy get involved with him in the next chapters?

I like the scene where Rose cared Albus asking questions or tossing the pillows in the boy's dorm.

I'll come back here again.

Kenny

 Report Review

Review #4, by Owlpost68 3 years 40 days

5th March 2016:
Hi Gina, sorry it took me so long to come back for another review, but I thought with the Review-a-thon going on, it'd be a good time :)

This was a great chapter, it really highlighted their characters and personalities. I loved how you used the simile to describe Scorpius' head blocking the sun, that was so well written! Also how you described Albus' urgency and getting hit with the book drew me right in. Also loved the description of the grass staining the pants because it brought an element of touch into the story which is really hard to do.

Trust me, I'm really trying to find something to crtique... I think the few things I have questions about are just things that I'm sure will be answered in later chapters, like why he's So obsessed and introspective, is that just his character? Did something in particular happen to make him that way? Things like that. It's still the beginning of the story though, so we'll just see what happens :)

Great job!

This review was written for the Review-a-thon

 Report Review

Review #5, by MuggleMaybe 3 years, 30 days

27th February 2016:
CHAPTER 8 CANNOT COME SOON ENOUGH.

And, HA! I knew there had to be more to Dee's story that a stupid dare with a friend. She obliviated all those students, and Albus, too! I really, reeeally hope he can still remember the Hogsmeade trip! Speaking of which, yay! Sophie was the date and he *saw* her and it was sweet and lovely and... why do I suspect you're going to throw them into turmoil the next time I read this story? Alas, nothing can be as easy as that, I suppose.

I am really dying to know where that scar came from, more than ever!

You've built things up brilliantly. There's Harry's visit, and the first Quidditch match, and his friendships and romances, and the scar and DLZ and everything hanging on the horizon. I hope chapter 8 brings an answer or two, and perhaps a bit more mystery as well.

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #6, by MuggleMaybe 3 years 31 days, part two

27th February 2016:
Review number 6!

First of all, I completely understand Lily and Albus's dread of their dad coming to Hogwarts. When I started elementary school, my dad was the school principal. Sometimes it was great. Other times... I'm just thankful it wasn't high school! :P

Anyway, back to the story.

Nopity nope nope - that simply can't be the whole story of DLZ. I don't buy it. I just don't. I know there's time travel in this story at some point and I refuse to accept that DLZ isn't involved. Although, I admit, I didn't find Deborah very likable. I agree with Lily - she seems a bit full of herself.

This chapter provided such a sense of relief. I felt like I finally got to see Albus being his normal self. I needed that. I think it brought the story into greater focus to have an idea of what normalcy looks like for Al.

This is the last of your prize reviews, but I'm definitely sticking with this story. I'm really enjoying it! Congrts on your much deserved win, and thanks for writing this fab story for me to review! :D

Much love!
Renee

 Report Review

Review #7, by MuggleMaybe 3 years 31 days

27th February 2016:
Oh, oh, OH, this chapter was SO GOOD!

I adore Sophie. I want to be Hufflepuff besties with her. She's a sweetheart, and Al is a fool.

Well, he's not. I can tell he's intelligent. But he is a bit out of it, isn't he? You've done a great job conveying the oddness of everything, not just in this chapter but throughout the story. He feels just a bit off - except when he's with his friends. They bring him back to center, somehow.

Al and Lily's interaction was very sweet - you can tell he cares about his little sis. ;,)

Moaning Myrtle's bathroom - that is promising! I can't wait to say what Myrtle has to say about all this :P

More to the point: Did Joel and Vanessa legit give that girl Amortentia? WHAT IS GOING ON? Girl, you can certainly write a suspenseful chapter!

On to chapter 6 because I'm weak andI can't wait another moment!
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #8, by MuggleMaybe 3 years 32 days

26th February 2016:
Review #4 :)

Why Al thinks Joel had anything to do with the person in the woods is beyond me, but I suppose we all have a tendency to explain away the mysterious at times.

More importantly: I AM EXCITED ABOUT THE DATE. Oh, and I really enjoyed Vanessa. You have a great knack for giving interesting, telling details about your minor characters. But back to the date. Is the girl Sophie? I hope it is! Obviously it can't be Rose, so it's either Sophie, DLZ (doubtful), Tracy Hopkins, or someone we haven't met yet. (Unless I'm forgetting someone. But I don't think so.) I can't wait to read that part, regardless!

Reading after Quidditch practice. Huh. Albus is rather an odd duck, isn't he? (she said affectionately.) The way you write him is so marvelously original. I really appreciate that.

Al's interest in his namesake was a nice touch.

I hope you won't mind if this review is a bit short - I'm a little over eager to read the next chapter!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #9, by MuggleMaybe 3 years 35 days

26th February 2016:
Hello lovely! I'm here with your third challenge prize review. (I know, I know, I'm the slowest ever. I'm so sorry! Please forgive me?)

I really enjoyed this chapter, and I felt the characterization did indeed get stronger as a result of more time spent watching Al with his besties. Joel has a fascinating backstory, and your characterization of Rose is brilliant, not to mention a perfect contrast to the solemn Albus. (Also, whoever you used for the ci is a perfect Rose!)

I a becoming increasingly excited about the moment when I get to learn more about the mysterious story of DLZ, the dream, and the scar. I don't believe for a moment that the scar is "a forgotten Quidditch injury." And Al doesn't either. Thank you for not making your protagonist an idiot. ;)

I found the dialogue in this chapter was really strong. I especially liked Joel's rant that Jen's BF is useless for not knowing about magical sports. It was such a perfectly ridiculous thing for someone to say while feeling stressed - so much irony! I *actually* laughed out loud.

As you implied in the A/N, there is a lot of characterization here, but not as much in the way of plot. I enjoyed getting to know Al better, and as a result of this chapter I feel more invested in the eventual outcome of the story, so I think your edits were successful.

When Al throws out the word "Mudbloods" just like it's nothing, I admit I sort of gasped in my head, but it completely makes sense! I mean, blood prejudice and the war are history, not reality for these characters. I suppose it's like calling someone a "commie" now - it just doesn't have the same weight it would've had 30 years ago. Really interesting choice on your part with that.

On to chapter 4! Yipee!
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #10, by princesslily_36 3 years, 30 days

11th February 2016:
Finally snuck in some time to drop in :D

I'm definitely going to be gushing about this chapter because Albus and Sophie - Aw!!

That speech when Albus defends Sophie to Joel without knowing it himself - cuteness overloaded!

You know, I was always a James person, but you're making me fall begrudgingly in love with your Albus. Like Frankie said, he's so huggable!

I love your little additions in this chapter :D Like Vanessa being so repentant about PDA - awesome touch, and Albus being uncomfortable because he's Albus *hug*

I hate that Deborah! She just creeps me out!

My favorite lines/phrases/dialogues:

1. wind stealing their breath at each step—

2. 'There she was' - wow. Just wow. That paragraph that preceeded this line, I almost saw the whole thing happening in slow-mo. It was like watching a romcom - with those lines as a voiceover while the incredibly-cute hero gazing so adoringly at the unsuspecting love of his life. *sigh*

3. "You don’t like Hufflepuffs,” Albus said. “It’s your fatal flaw.”

4. "From one Albus to another, thank you,”

I forgot to mention, I love Joel's dry humor. There's something about it which adds a punch!

Aww Gina! Your A/N *hugs* You're the sweetest, really!! So special! Made my day!!

Love, Hugs, Kisses,
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #11, by Owlpost68 3 years 47 days

5th February 2016:
Hi, it's Heather, I'll take a crack at this chapter for you. I know the feeling about rewriting a chapter over and over, and it definitely felt like you went over every last detail.

Fittingly, this is where my attention to detail comes in:

Literally, there were details galore here, which, in most ways, really made the chapter interesting, in just a couple of ways, it was a little too much. Like the beginning where you said that Al felt like his bed had moved a little bit to the right. I've never heard of anyone noticing that kind of detail, but even if he did, I wouldn't have put it in the beginning of a chapter. It didn't grab me in to the story.

That being said, it didn't make me turn away from the rest of the story, which was really interesting. I never thought of Al as a person to read biographies with that amount of interest. I think because we always hear about Rose being bookish we don't think of the Potters that way. And then speaking of Rose, you immediately likened her with Ron, not being a morning person, and with Hermione, being nosy and reading his mysterious note. Well done.

I also loved how you incorporated the Room of Requirement as his refuge. I did want to point out, that part of the RoR is that you can think of something you need/want and it appears, so I don't know if he really needed to sneak certain items there, but then again, he doesn't know all its secrets does he? I imagine he's figured out quite a bit though considering he's been there since 1st year.

Then of course, this mystery person, who he's fallen in love with before, but doesn't know yet... I feel like this is the start of where the details of this mystery begins. I will keep it in mind.

Very interesting, it's been a long time since I've read a next gen story that's kept my interest. Ones that have, sadly were not completed. So, I have high hopes for this one!
-Heather

 Report Review

Review #12, by princesslily_36 3 years 31 days, part two

5th February 2016:
DLZ!! Finally!!

Zeller. Do I remember a Rose Zeller being sorted sometime during Hogwarts Era?

That whole exchange was so cryptic. I mean, if I hadn't read the previous chapters I would have thought Albus was over reacting, but Zeller, she kinda creeped me out a little bit too. I can't say exactly why, but I do side with Albus on this!

My favorite parts:

1. how he thought of Myrtle then realized she had no breaths! Those small details really give you an edge!

2. The exchange between Lily and Albus - everything about this was amazing. Albus felt like he was his old self again - this showed why I didn't understand Albus before, because he wasn't himself - he is so free and happy around Lily.

3. Harry as an embarrassing dad rotflol!

4. James being the awesome eldest son! I'm sure Harry wouldn't play favorites, but I can see his children thinking he does!

5. The little descriptions that companies the dialogues, bringing greater life to the scenes.

Overall, this is the best chapter I've read so far! Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #13, by princesslily_36 3 years 31 days

5th February 2016:
Is it just me or is Albus particularly dreamy for a 17 year old? Does this nature of his have anything significant to do with the mystery that's going to unfold? - I got my answer in the later half! Memory lapses!!! Brilliant. I love how you're building this up.

"Tears pressed against his eyes" - this line threw me off to me honest. I can see how he would be shocked, but I don't see what would make him cry?

I like how he's not a stereotypical teenage boy! The beginning kind of reminded me of Luna Lovegood - adorable and preoccupied!

Harry's tone of letter - so adorable! I'm reusing adjectives because I'm really fond of the Albus Harry relationship here. As the middle child, Albus would tend to gravitate towards Harry (that's become my headcanon now).

Lily. I adore her. A total little-sister-big-brother interaction there. *sigh* the potter-weasley clan rocks!

The ending. Ohhh we're getting closer to the DLZ! Oh no! What's going on with the scar? And Amorentia? This just keeps getting thicker

 Report Review

Review #14, by princesslily_36 3 years 32 days

5th February 2016:
You know I really did agree with Joel when he said Albus was constantly dwelling on the bad. I got those feels as well.

Albus' letter to his dad showed exactly how close they were, how comfortable he was opening up to him. Also, that part about him idolizing the person he was named after, awesome!

I wonder a few things here - why did Albus think he was wrong for gryffindor? Coming from a family of them, especially as he didn't want to be a Slytherin, wouldn't he have welcomed Gryffindor?

Also, when you said family regarding Albus and Nora, did u mean the cousins only (which makes sense they would care about teenage gossip). It makes sense that Albus cared so much about what his family thought... Given his apprehension about being a Slytherin!

I also like that you're not making him a quintessential Gryffindor. He has his own nervousness and insecurities, and isn't brave in the conventional sense. I'm getting a part-Neville vibe from him :D that's a good thing because Neville showed us that there is a Gryffindor in us in so many other ways.

The description of the Quidditch scene was wonderful! I like how you're building the mystery up in small steps. It doesn't dive right into it, giving us glimpses of it while keeping the usual school life going is quite good. I'm still intrigue by the scar!

I'm betting that figure wasn't Joel. This is an awesome chapter!

 Report Review

Review #15, by princesslily_36 3 years 35 days

4th February 2016:
Poor thing! Albus having nightmares :( ohh what was that scar all about? The whole nightmares and scar twinging was very Harry Potter ish. Is this the hidden script of cursed child by any chance :D because it's just so wonderfully written. The suspense being intermixed with their friendships and normal teenage angst.

And Rose, I like Rose! I think she's my favorite in this story :D she's a perfect mix of Ron and Hermione! And I love how she and Albus are so close. Not just because they're cousins but because she's just so good for him, you know! She's so cheery and upbeat, and Albus is just so... Serious! He definitely needs her around :D

Joel's inner turmoil - so brilliant, so natural. His bitterness and envy. Ive actually wondered if Lily Evans often felt like that - like if she ever truly belonged anywhere. Joel's feelings bring a wonderful dimension to a Muggleborn that we haven't seen. Harry, for all practical purposes was brought up by muggles, but he didn't identify himself with them enough to feel this way. Leaving behind a twin, that's got to be hard!

I am a bit confused about Albus, though. I can't really make him out you know. I understand that's probably the plot, but I can't seem to get the feel of his character. Joel, I get now. Scorpius too, the little we have seen of him seem to be bang on. Rose is an enigma, but that's what I love best about her - she seems to be very mature and sweet at times but Albus' thoughts on her seem to suggest quite the opposite!

I guess we will see more in the next chapter 😁

XOXO
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #16, by princesslily_36 3 years 40 days

4th February 2016:
Ohh we see more Scorpius this time!

It always feels like the whole Potter-Weasley next gen clan monopolize the school, doesn't it? There's just so many of them!

Ohhh I could see a bit of Draco in Scor in that convo between Louis, Albus and Scorpius! That was so subtle and really well done!

Albus starting to fixate on the note... You know a part of me thought the girl would be the mysterious DLZ too, but then I caught myself thinking she wouldn't have been so forthright if she was. I mean, people write notes only when they're scared to confront! Okay, I'm rambling now :D

Over to the next chapter!

PS: Peeves! Oh Peeves is awesome! I wonder if he had ever tried that on Madam Pince!

 Report Review

Review #17, by princesslily_36 3 years 47 days

4th February 2016:
Hello Gina!

I know I'm a little late, got caught up gossiping with some friends at work :D

First off the year days thing was super intriguing! And time travel, always fascinating! I wondered what this whole story about!

Ah! I love the way you described Albus feeling his book in real life. I mean, don't we all do it? Dwell in our pages despite coming out of them! I especially loved that part.

Also, I love your descriptions! The words you use, you describe so well - both feelings and events!

Also, the idea of Albus finding his sanctuary was brilliant. I can totally see him as a person who would need that!

This thing about your Albus is - he's not entirely like Harry. Most people seem to make him so. I love that he has his individuality :D

I'm quite curious about this DLZ! Over to the next chapter now!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MuggleMaybe 3 years 40 days

3rd February 2016:
Hi Gina!

I know I am so horrifically slow, but I'm here with your 2nd prize review!

I'm sort of struck on reading this by how distinctive a voice your writing has. There's something really unique about it that I love, although I am not very helpful because I can't quite put my finger on what it is. But I really love it!

Also: I WANT TO KNOW WHO DLZ IS! I know, I know, I have to keep reading and that is a Big Question that you can't reveal in chapter 2. But I am dying to know! I would be just like Al about it too, obsessing and distracted by it all the time.

Perhaps your originality is in the details? You've got some really killer ones, without overdoing it. I'm partial to the twirling blade of grass. (Well, I'm partial to Scorpius in general.) ;)

I'm intrigued by the boys' conversation about careers. Does Al actually want to be an Auror? He didn't seem super excited by the idea, but he did seem dedicated to it.

You successfully faked me out with Tracy Hopkins. I was so sure we'd meet DLZ and then NOPE! :P Well done!

Really, your version of ALbus is so unique. I can't wait to read more!

xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #19, by StarFeather 3 years 47 days

30th January 2016:
Hi, Gina. I came here from the Gryffindor Review Battle thread, Team Red!

I respect your description, Gina. I have to learn lots from you. I've just started to write about Next Gen.
I like the scene Albus talked to the parchment, and I felt humor in this, " Albus gave it a pat and nodded. “Breakfast it is.” I smiled at the description, "the whole Gryffindor-Slytherin dichotomy will probably throw the entire Great Hall into a black hole".

His imagination about the cold prison cell reminded me of your other work, "Them". I wondered his darkness started from here.
Hmm, you set a kind of complicated frinedship between Albus and Scorpius, which is interesting. I've never encountered this situation before.

Scorpius got more letters than Albus, it's quite understandable.

The parchment soaked in the sea of syrup reminded me of Curious George, but it turned to be more interesting, it's a love letter? I'm completely hooked. Who sent it to Albus? Who is D.L.Z.?

The idea of "his room" is brilliant! I remembered I played with my friend at our secret base near the small mountain. I pushed the favorite button now.

Kenny

 Report Review

Review #20, by alicia and anne 3 years 47 days

10th January 2016:
Hahah I love that Albus is checking his extremities (I don't think I spelt that right) to see if any of them were missing, or had run off in the night.

Oooo he notices his bed being slightly out of place, and he has parchment with pros and cons. I wonder why?

He seems to have a really active imagination, being up all night reading and being lost in the world of the words he's read. He's just like us! :D I also love how he and Scorpius have an accidental friendship haha.

Hahaha always suspect Rose is brilliant advice, I will now always suspect her!

Oooo! I wonder who sent it if it wasn't Rose! :O That's a weird note though, who is he not meant to fall in love with? And again?! Sounds like there's scandal afoot and I'm eager to find out who it's about and why Albus is so frustrated by it!

I can't wait to find out more and I am really excited about finding out who this mysterious person is! :D A fabulously written beginning, I love how you've written Albus and the way he interacts with Scorpius, annoyed by him but still hanging around with him. :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by MuggleMaybe 3 years 47 days

5th January 2016:
Hello Gina! Congratulations of winning FIRST PLACE in the (Super) Microfiction Challenge! I'm here with the first of your prize reviews. :)

After reading the version of Albus you wrote in Them, I was a little nervous when I saw this story is also about him. As in, I was afraid he was going to hurt someone. But this seems to be a different Albus, so I am safe! ;)

Anyway...
This works really well as a first chapter. At the end, I didn't want to stop and leave a review because I just wanted to go on to chapter two! You've painted an interesting picture of Albus. To me, he comes across as self-conscious, intelligent, pensive, and something of an outsider. I don't know if that's what you had in mind, but for me that's how he came across, and I thought it was very effective. I can't wait to find out who DLZ is!!

I'm not sure if you've edited this chapter yet. If you haven't, there were two thing I might suggest considering for revision -

at the start of the chapter, when he accounts for his fingers and toes, I actually thought he was a baby or a toddler until I got to the part about the parchment. Maybe that's just me being silly.

I also thought this was a Scorpius/Albus ship for a while. I think explaining why Al is meeting him for breakfast, and why/if that's unusual would help to clarify their relationship (assuming you want to - it could be vague on purpose, of course).

I loved the bit about Al's secret classroom. Hogwarts is full of secrets, and it's amazing how few fics take advantage of that to create new amazing parts of the castle. I'm glad you've done that!

looking forward to chapter 2
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #22, by GabbysCrossing 3 years 31 days, part two

27th December 2015:
I absolutely love the feeling of the story - your writing captures a lot of the emotion that as a reader, I didn't expect to actually...I dunno, feel alongside with the characters!

Keep up the great work! :*

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! So glad you're enjoying the ride so far. I should have the next chapter up in a couple weeks. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by krazyboutharryginny 3 years 31 days, part two

20th June 2015:
Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

So... the mystery of D.L.Z.'s identity has been revealed. Al seems satisfied, but I'm definitely not. There's more to it than that. Something's obviously been going on with Albus, and I NEED TO KNOW WHAT IT IS!
It's good that he's feeling better, but I can't imagine that it will last. He's spent a good chunk of this story so far getting more and more out of it, and now he's just fine? After meeting D.L.Z.? I don't think that I buy it!
Oh no, Harry's coming to Hogwarts! You've made the Potter's such a believable family - they care very deeply for each other, but Lily and Albus still don't want their dad to embarrass them!
I have to admit that I don't quite understand what happened with that girl? Did Joel give her Armontentia? I have to be honest - if that's what happened, my respect for Joel just plummeted :/ I'm sure that there are loads of girls in Hogwarts who would love to date Al without being given a coercive potion.
But overall I am still really enjoying this story, and I hope there's a new chapter soon.

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #24, by krazyboutharryginny 3 years 31 days

20th June 2015:
Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

I'm starting to get very worried about Albus. His behaviour is really concerning. Does it have something to do with D.L.Z. or is it something else entirely? I hope he's okay...
I feel really bad for Sophie. I would be upset too if my friend ran out on me like that. At the same time, though, I understand why Albus did it.
I absolutely love the way you've written the Potter family. They're so loving and it's really clear how deeply they care about each other. It makes me really happy that Lily is so caring towards her brother and worried about her brother. I'm hoping we'll hear from James soon?
WHO is this girl? OMG! I have the feeling that she's not Al's blind date, contrary to what he seems to believe. Also what happened with his scar?! Things are getting more and more alarming and intriguing! I can't wait to read on.
I really am alarmed by Albus' behaviour, though, especially the memory issues. I hope that everything starts to become clear soon!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #25, by krazyboutharryginny 3 years 32 days

20th June 2015:
Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor

I'm really glad that Al wrote to his dad. It's so wonderful that they have a good enough relationship that Albus is comfortable writing to him about his worries.
The idea of Joel and Vanessa being the designated "Cutest Couple in Gryffindor", as decided by a poll, is completely hilarious to me. Al's discomfort is definitely understandable, though.
I have a feeling that a blind date won't go the way everyone is hoping it will. It seems to me like Al is probably right and it will cause even more problems. It also makes me feel bad for Sophie :(
Albus reading biographies of Dumbledore is a really cool detail. I also love that you made sure to say that Rita Skeeter's had been discredited!
Oooh! Is the mysterious figure D.L.Z.?! I'M SO INTRIGUED.
The only thing I didn't like was the idea of Al's family calling a meeting to discuss his relationship. If my family did that to me I'd be so unbelievably irritated.
Overall I really enjoyed this chapter and I'm excited to read the next one.
-Kayla

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>