Reading Reviews for The Founders Four
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ReeBee Prologue

28th February 2014:
Hi there! :) You requested a review from me AGES AGO! Like more than a month! Im so so sorry, hun! :D Before I start, I read this chapter at least five times! I could not find ONE thing to give CC on! Onto the review now?

I love the description! OMG seriously, it was perfect! I loved the end. So sad so so sad but really amazing! Just the statements here and there! So so gorgeous. Really. It was perfect.

And the Saxon King! Such a bad villain! :P I cant come up with anything else, your description has made me speechless. Seriously though, it was amazing.

And the plot! Godric gryffindor! Wow! And the king and the woman! How she didnt even get the chance to beg for mercy! So sad! I really did love that! That whole scene was just so so cruel and cold! I don't even know what to say! It was amazing.

Im sorry for the super short review! Especially since it was requested, but I really don't have anything to say! It is amazing! :D

Great job!

-ReeBee :)

Author's Response: Oh don't worry hun, thanks for reviewing! Yes, the Saxon King is a villain (obviously) and I love to hate him :D . I am so happy you liked the plot, it took me a while to finalize this very short chapter: there was the problem of not giving too much away, and at the same time keeping the reader guessing without being too vague. I'm glad you liked the descriptions, I paid special attention to them :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lululuna Prologue

19th February 2014:
Hello! :) A zillion years ago (well, around a month really) you requested a review from me, and I'm so sorry for taking this long to get to your very intriguing story! :(

I really like your writing style here, first of all. It fits very well with the period and does a good job of conveying the anxiety and chaos of the moment. I felt like the scene was so vivid: the bodies littering the ground, the stench of death, the woman's fear as she was captured. I really liked this line:

Garbed in skins and leather, they looked more beasts than men. It was a really cool way to describe the men and create an image of the horror of battle.

Aw, I like it, but am still sad how you introduced us to the woman at the beginning but then killed her. It was a very strong way to begin the story and set the tone, however, and I felt it did invoke a sense of curiosity and pathos in the village and the woman whom the character at the beginning was covering for. The scene of her death, which approached without her knowing, was so quick and tragic as well.

I'm very curious about the Saxon king. He seems a very intruiging and darkly frightening character, who is both weak yet wields a sense of authority. I found it especially interesting how he resents beauty, and kills this woman without sparing her a merciful thought, yet feels jealous at the idea that the woman who had a baby might have been with another man. Gah, I'm really curious about him and how he might be involved in the story of the Founders. The younger man, who seems to be some sort of sorcerer, was interesting as well, and I'm curious to see his powers tie into the magical HP world.

Oh wow, the second woman, Godric's mother, is just amazing. Her courage and her determination to prolong her life for the sake of saving her child is really incredible, but also believable in a way. I love how this chapter raises so many questions, but also gives enough tantalizing hints and answers to make the reader feel comfortable with the story and want to read on.

One little thing I noticed (just to make this review a little more useful instead of just amazed gushing at your beautiful writing :P):Torn at the edges and rugged, it was already a frozen ice. Maybe I'm reading it wrong, but this sentence felt like it was missing something. "...frozen like ice," maybe? "...frozen as ice" ?

Oh and also, to be super nitpicky: Robbed off the imaginary fire... I think this should be "of" not "off." Again I am a little tired at the moment so this might be wrong. :)

the young woman was covered in a crimson snowy cape, darkened thus by the blood of her own womb. Minor thing but I'm not sure this sentence needs the "thus" which I think usually means something like "therefore." I LOVED the sentence, it was beautiful however. Also the phrase "crimson snowy cape" confused me a little and I had to go back and re-read it and figure out that the cape was made of snow. That might just be my slowness but maybe "cape of crimson snow..." or "crimson cape of snow" would be clearer? Up to you though, I'm just trying to be helpful instead of gushing. :P

The last lines of both sections were absolutely chilling. This is such an original take on the Founders era and I'm really curious to see what you do with it. I really liked this and regardless of whether you re-request I'm sure I'll be back at some point. Great job! :D

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! I will definitely look over the things you pointed out, they must have escaped me while writing (and re-reading). I am so happy you thought this was good, I am always glad to hear a reader likes what I have written.

I'm glad you commented on the Saxon King. Although he is not going to show up for a while, I have spent a lot of time figuring him out, and reading what you thought of him really makes me think like I've done him justice :)

The same applies for the man the shadows, which you rightfully guessed is a wizard. It is really fun to read comments about him, because I would like to think I've made him an intriguing character, and see how readers respond to those few sentences about him :)

Again, thanks for the amazing review, and I will be sure to re-request :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by LightLeviosa5443 Chapter two

4th February 2014:
I'm so sorry for replying to this so late! I feel so bad!

I really enjoyed this chapter. I like the way you characterized Rowena's father. I really wanted to punch him in the face the entire time he was in the story. I loved the way that Lady Slytherin fought back with the Earl, and was offended by him. I was, however, shocked when she said she wanted nothing to do with the girl. I surely would have expected her to want everything to do with Rowena.

It was so sweet of the boys to go into her room and take an interest in her. It was so extremely realistic as well. For a fic set so far back in time, I really liked having that one believable relatable trait that is timeless. Curiosity.

I really enjoyed this chapter. You've done such a marvelous job with characterization and captivating the readers' attention. I just want to keep on reading, and I'm definitely hooked on this story!!

I hope you re-request so I'll be reminded to read more of this gem!

So sorry again that I took so long!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: No worries, hun! And thank you for the lovely review! Yup, the Earl... people should want to punch him in the face, I don't like him either :)

I am actually glad you commented on the bit with Lady Slytherin not wanting to have anything to do with Rowena, as her reasons will be revealed, hopefully soon :)

She is after all, quite a strange character, having grown up in a, basically, fairyland, having herself ripped apart from that home and given to a man she despised, and then having a child taken from her; she is not exactly the most stable person, so to speak :)

I am glad you liked the interaction between the children, I was hoping to get their voices and traits across.

Will be sure to re-request :)

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan  Chapter One

25th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here with your requested review!

So, you mainly asked about characterisation. In general, I think it's very good. Rosalind in particular is very well written, and I love this air of mystery she has around her. Especially the way Morgaine seems to be narrating from a much later time, it really adds to the effect as there are all sorts of clues dropped as she considers her past.

Morgaine is a great character. I love the idea that Slyherin had an older sister, particularly one as important as she is! And the fact that she was so close to both Godric and Salazar is really cool. The one thing that didn''t have much continuity with her character was that in the beginning she views Godric as a squealing brat, and then immediately after, she wants to be his mentor. It seemed a little abrupt for someone who previously had no patience for a toddler. What made her change her mind? I think that could use a bit more of a transition.

Other than that though, I liked the way you wrote her. She seemed a bit grown up for her age but I think that makes a lot of sense given that this is some future version of her narrating and thnking about the past. I'm really excited to see what happens to her after she leaves, and how she'll continue to play into the story of Salazar and Godric.

By the way, that was a clever way of having those two become the best friends we know they were!

Excellent work on this chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for a great review! I am glad you think Rosalind is well characterised - I wasn't sure if I'd made her, say, too enigmatic, but I also didn't want to give too much away.

I did reread the chapter to see about the mentioned sudden transition with Morgaine's character regarding Godric, and you are right! I had completely missed that bit, because I see the story the way I've imagined with bits and pieces that have not been mentioned in the chapter for length purposes, so it did not seem abrupt to me lol. I will go back and revise that bit, so thank you for pointing it out :)

Yes, as for her sounding older, I am quite aware, but there was no way around it - I didn't want her to be too much older than Godric and Salazar. Basically she is one of my favourite characters in this story :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by The Empress Prologue

19th January 2014:
Good chapter! I was totally in the moment and felt as if I could feel the bite of the cold and hear the king's harsh voice. I am usually skeptical when it comes to Founder's stories but you've completely pulled me in! I'm excited to read on and see what comes next.

Your imagery was great. I especially liked the description of the dying mother. Very sad and you wrote it so well.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it. Yeah, people often skip a Founders story, I guess it's not everyone cup of tea, but I'm glad you think this was good :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Chapter two

19th January 2014:
Hello :)

Laurenzo7321 here with your requested review. So first of all this is the very first founders fic I've ever read and I'm really enjoying it.

I think the fact that you've started it when the children are really young is quite interesting, I never imagined the founders fics to be like this. I also love how you've brought them together so far and I'm quite excited to see how Helga get's brought into the story now!

I really love the characterisation of all your OCs so far. Lord and Lady Slytherin in particular are really good, although I didn't really like the Earl, but I got the feeling I wasn't supposed to? How horrible he is to Rowena, poor girl. The end of the chapter definitely left me with an excited feeling of where the story was going to go next though.

Also! Is the Slythrin castle going to become Hogwarts? You mentioned the great hall at one point and it suddenly clicked. I hope so as that will be really cool!

So for your areas of concern... The flow of the story I thought was good, although in that last section it kind of feels like the end of another prologue because you're skipping time on again. That's not necessarily a bad thing, as you've said you need to move the story on and from my point of view it did make me excited to read more. I think maybe the wand giving is something you could have made a bigger deal about though if you do want to extend it. Otherwise, I think it's fine.

This is a really good story so far though, you've got some really great ideas and you've actually got me wanting to read more founder stuff! Your descriptions are good and there's some interesting characterisation!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Thank you for such an amazing review!

Yup, Lady and Lord Slytherin are one of the main characters, and I am glad that you thought that their characterisation is good. And while the Earl is not necessarily a bad character (in terms of a villain), he is most certainly not someone I like. He is basically a power-hungry politician, not particularly bright, but at his position with the King for a lack of a better option, and very narrow-minded.

Um... for Slytherin Castle becoming Hogwarts ... maybe :D

As for the rushed bits, including Rowena getting her wand, I did think so too myself, but as you said - I needed to rush the introduction, since I don't want, like, a dozen chapter being all about introduction. I didn't feel that it was necessary to the plot.

Again, thank you for the detailed review, it really means a lot to me, especially from someone who is reading a Founders Era for the first time (YAY!) :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by luciusobsessed Prologue

17th January 2014:
This is so exciting! I've never read a founders fic before and I can picture this one perfectly in my head. I love how we don't really know the characters and yet we already have an idea of what's going on between some of them. I love how you ended it with Godric Gryffindor being found by a Slytherin. I'm excited to see where this goes. Keep it up xoxo luciusobsessed

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I am thrilled that you like it (especially since this is your first founders fic - oh the PRESSURE! :D ) Hope you keep on reading, there is more to come :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by LightLeviosa5443  Chapter One

15th January 2014:
I really enjoyed this chapter, I like how you've characterized Morgaine and written her voice. I think it's a very unique approach, and it read very differently from other fics I've read. I really liked that about it.

You said you were worried about dialogue and relations, and honestly, you shouldn't be. I can see clearly that Morgaine loves her brothers, I understood her feelings towards Godric, and Godrics to Salazar, and I felt those feelings. You did a fantastic job of conveying them.

I felt like the Aunt was mystical, in a way. She was kind of unknown in a way, and I really liked how you ended the chapter, because I think that of all things really described how Morgaine felt about her Aunt. I think the most interesting relationship you introduced this chapter was definitely Morgaine's Mom and her Aunt. I think that it was a very different relationship, and it was interesting to read. Part of me kept reading in hopes of better understanding that relationship. I kind of wanted to observe them and pick apart their relationship to know them both better. Because to Morgaine, she focused more on the boys than she did on her mother and aunt. It was just different, I really enjoyed it.

I think you did a really fantastic job with this chapter, and I can't wait to read what else you have in store. I hope this review was helpful! I -hope you re-request!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: That's a relief! I struggled with the interaction between Rosalind (Morgaine's Aunt) and Elena (Morgaine's mother), because they are both strong characters, and really at odds with each other. But despite their differences, they are still sisters. Hopefully I've managed to show just enough of their relationship not to give too much away, but not make it sound like a completely disconnected babble.

I love your reviews! They are so clear as to what a reader is feeling reading this, which is so helpful :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan Prologue

14th January 2014:
Here with your requested review!

I love love love Founders Era. It's definitely much less common to find in fanfiction, so it's always exciting to see Founders stories!

Your description and the way you've set the tone for this story is really excellent. Your detail is very specific - like the things you choose to describe really set the tone. This line The dying red flames cast their last feeble dance against the Kingís stiff face. -- really good. Not only is it easy to visualise but also highlights the dark things - the very stern king, and a fire, it just brings out the sense of death and futility that pervades the whole chapter. Really neat how you did that. :)

Good job with the historical setting too, mentioning invasions of the Saxons. I can tell you did your research! ;)

I liked the end, how Gryffindor ends up on the doorstep of Slytherin as it hints at why the two of them became such good friends! The description in this section was good too - it was easy to visualise the woman walking in the snow and feel the cold.

As for characterisation - well, there's not much to work with. The king sounds like someone not to be messed with, and it sounds like his companion is a Seer, possibly. Other than that, this prologue mainly just raised a lot of questions. What is so important about Gryffindor's mother? Who is the king and what does he want with her? What on earth is going on in the beginning? But that's a good thing - prologues are really supposed to raise questions, just enough to intrigue you and then they get you to keep reading! So, I would say that yes, the story is definitely engaging enough.

I don't know how helpful my review is - there's not much CC I can give as prologues are generally less straightforward and often meant to be mysterious! I suppose it'd be nice to have an idea of who the woman was in the beginning, just to have a starting point as the reader, but it's not necessary. This is a great start t your story though - feel free to re-request!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I wrote and re-wrote the Prologue a few times, because I wasn't sure which part of the story I wanted to show first. Do I start at the end and go back? Do I start in the middle, and work my way back and then forward? So, in the end I decided for the simple solution: to start at the very beginning and go from there. I know it is short, but was supposed to be the idea.

I am incredibly happy that you liked it, especially the fact that you said that it raised questions, but in a good way. That was basically what I was going for: short and not precise :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by LightLeviosa5443 Prologue

12th January 2014:
Hi! I'm here with your requested review!

I won't lie, I've never ever read a Founders fic, and I thought that this was fantastic. I felt like it was something you would see in one of those captivatingly wonderful television shows that are set in the past. I really enjoyed the way you used dialogue and description to set the tone for the entire chapter, and carried it through.

The king was so chilling, yet I don't think he could've been any other way, and it was so fitting that I almost believed that this king was real. I was inherently curious about the man in the shadows when the woman was, and I really enjoyed the feeling of being completely immersed in the story. I felt a relation to the characters, especially the woman running away with the baby in her arms. I could imagine the fear that she felt with the idea that her baby might not be alive. The cold, and then the warmth she felt, and how in her state, it seemed like a blessing. Even though it was a curse. Brilliant job!

My favourite part of that entire chapter was definitely the ending when Lady Slytherin found the baby and picked him up and named him. I'm really intrigued to see how you play this out, and what happens next.

I found no spelling or grammar mistakes, and have no critiques to share. Just keep it up and I hope you re-request!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Thank you for the amazing review! You know, you are the first one to comment on the 'man in the shadows', and I am so glad that you did because he is very important character, although shown briefly in just the Prologue.

Your first Founders story? I already feel the pressure :D I hope you like this though, I would hate to leave a bad impression on what is basically my favourite bit of the HP world.

I am incredibly happy that I got you interested, and will definitely re-request :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by BookDinosaur Prologue

11th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here with your requested reviews from the forums. :)

I really loved how you dumped us straight into the action of the story, I enjoyed reading about how you gradually gave us more clues and let us know what was going on. The town burned was a really nice start to the story, sudden and mysterious and making me want to read on. Sometimes when an author tries to do that I end up being really confused and not knowing what's happening, but that didn't happen here, so major kudos to you!

I really enjoyed the touches of mystery you added in here as well, I understood what was happening but there were things I didn't understand either, and I think you did a fantastic job with that as well, letting us know enough but not too much. That really helped pull me into the story and want to read on.

Ah, the attackers were so brutal, it made me want to squash them! The way they just callously killed that old lady was so sad, I wonder what they wanted with Gryffindorís mother? Great job with the suspense and mystery here.

I really liked that hint at the end when Lady Slytherin opened the door and saw little Godric that he and Slytherin would grow up together, as foster brothers. Itís a really interesting idea and it would give them that really close friendship that keeps being mentioned in the series, so well done to you there!

Your imagery throughout this chapter was absolutely lovely, even though this was actually quite short you painted a really vivid picture here with your words and I could see everything that happened throughout this chapter in my mind. Your description was lovely, I liked this in particular: One hollow cry pierced through the subdued whisper of the fire. It really helped us to get the sombre mood of this chapter from the very beginning.

All in all this was a really good chapter which sucked me in and made me want to read more, I loved reading it!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review!

I tried to make the Prologue as short as possible, with giving just enough information, but not giving too much away, and I am so happy that you liked it.

The idea that Godric and Salazar had been foster-brothers has been in my head for a while, actually, and basically I just went from there story-wise. That is actually the foundation of the whole plot :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by kenpo Chapter two

8th January 2014:
Here with the third review!
Okay, I'm going to try to make this one a tad more... more.

You said that you're sorry for the late update (which obviously didn't affect me), but... sorry for the late review! My goal is to post "all slots open" in my thread before I go to bed tonight!

Have I mentioned that the chapter images are great? I don't think I have. The chapter images are great.

Yaaay, Rowena!

The description of the castle is really fantastic. The imagery of the mist engulfing the castle... brilliant.

I get the feeling that the Earl will not get along with Lady Slytherin.

I like your tie-in to the goblin rebellion. I've always wondered about those!

Lady Slytherin's got some opinions! I love her interaction with the Earl! You go, Girl!

Haha, ignorant coot. Hah. Can I start using that insult, please? I'll credit you (in my running internal monologue. Not verbally, that'd be weird.)

The Lady is awesome! She's so protective of her sons and of Avalon (which I'm now very curious about...)

Whoa what's wrong with her? Is there some more history between Lady Slytherin and the Earl that we don't know about? Huh. That was a sudden change in mood.

I feel bad for Rowena :(

Her interaction with the boys was cute. I want Helga!

Haha, this was a really well written chapter. I've said it before, but your writing style is just fantastic! I wish I could write prose like you.

Sorry this was so late. And I said it'd be a better review, didn't I? Well, oops. You'll have to do with this one. We could all use a little ego-stroke, right?

You're amazing. This is fantastic. Feel free to re-request when you update.

The only thing is that it's really confusing that Chapter 2 is actually Chapter 3 etc etc. I see why it's like that, though.

Overall, fantastic. I have nothing useful to say.

Author's Response: Hahaha your reviews make me smile :D I like them! Yes, Lady Slytherin is protective of Avalon, as are most people who have grown up there. The way I see it, it is a place which never leaves you, more like the idea of it, of peace and tranquility.

Yup, Rowena has had a difficult childhood, but that will all serve a purpose :). As for Helga, she has yet to appear, but don't worry, her role is big and very important: I am sort of building up the tension hahaha (as she is probably my favourite Founder)


 Report Review

Review #13, by slytherinchica08 Prologue

7th January 2014:
Characterization: There really isn't much to go on from this chapter for characterization other than a few small snippets here and there. But, from what I could see of it, I think that you have a pretty good grasp on it. Each person acted of their own ideas and thoughts and I thought that the women in the first half was portrayed particularly well. She acted on her not wanting to die and stuck through with it until the very end even though she ended up getting killed. As for the second half, I wasn't completely pulled into this women as much. She still had good characterization but I think adding a bit more to this section would add to my connection with her and helped me to feel exactly what she was feeling.

Flow/Feel of the story: This chapter flowed really well, even with the chapter break, I never felt like I was really reading two different things so great job with that. The way you have this whole story set up is done rather well. The sentence structure is great and I really can't find any faults in the flow of this first chapter at all.

Language: You did a wonderful job with this. I felt like your word choice was great and well placed. I felt like I was in this era and to me it reminded me of the small bit I have read of The Game of Thrones series what with the winter and war and such. There's really not much I can say about this other than saying that you did a great job with this as well.

Other: I did find a couple of small mistakes. The first was just a matter of leaving out the word like and that was here: "Garbed in skins and leather, they looked more beasts than men." It should have the word like after more. The second is here: "She dared not look of fear of recognising them." The first of should actually be for and there should be a "z" in recognizing. That was all I could find for errors/typos so great job!

Overall thoughts: I think you did a wonderful job with the opening of this story. It really brings me back to times like this where things were less conquered and there was more wild areas to come across. I've already got questions popping up trying to figure out how Slytherin is going to come into play with all of this and why the King is trying to find the mother of his son and his son for that matter. The only thing that I could really say is that I would have liked to see a little more of the mother and maybe get into her head to get a better understanding of whats going on and just how urgent it is that she get to this castle. Also if she had been walking right after giving birth it wouldn't have taken that long to start bleeding so she probably would have left a trail of blood behind her leading to her location. Other than that though, it was a great beginning. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Thank you for your detailed review! You have no idea how much I appreciate it (especially since the first chapter is one of the most important ones, setting the mood and the plot)

I am so happy you think it flowed well, as I was quite concerned about that break from the Saxon King to his wife. Same with language; I've read quite a few books set in medieval times, and they are my major inspiration for this, especially The Mists of Avalon, and I hope that I can, at least, get the tone and language right. And I'm happy to hear that people like it :)

As for the Saxon King's wife - she is an important character, albeit shown briefly. I don't know if you caught it, but when the wizard was speaking to the Saxon King, he said that the wife is hidden from him. She had been a witch, see. I'd like to think that she could have used magic on herself to stop the bleeding, at least for a while. Later she does start bleeding, and bleeds to death.

As I said, she is a really important character, even though she is shown briefly :) Again, thank you for your amazing review! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by UnluckyStar57 Prologue

6th January 2014:
Hi! For the Eleventh Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing, I'm reviewing mystery stories. :)

I love Founders Era--it's so unexplored! You can really do anything with it, and this beginning seems to be the start of something really amazing. The burning of the village, the Saxon warriors, the runaway woman with the newborn child... It's all showing me the pieces of a puzzle that I can't quite put together yet. I figured that the child was Godric Gryffindor, but what was his mother's relationship with the Slytherins? Why did the Saxon king (Gryffindor's father) ask for news of his wife and then kill the woman who told him what she knew? What was his problem?

I am very intrigued by this story. I'm guessing that Salazar and Godric are going to grow up together, which is cool! That'll really put their relationship in a different perspective for me! I'm going to come back and read more of this story later on, most definitely!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: There are hints on who is Godric's mother in Chapter two, so I don't want to give out bits here, but all I can say is - read on! (and hope! haha)

As for the Saxon King, his pride is wounded - his wife had just left him, taking his firstborn son along, I can imagine him being hurt and in quite a murderous mood. He's not exactly my favourite character, let me tell you... :D

Salazar and Godric? Yes, growing up together. Their friendship had often been described as brotherly, so I figured - why not make them foster brothers? :D

Thank you for reviewing! Hope you like this and keep on reading :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by kenpo  Chapter One

5th January 2014:
Here for review number 2! I loved the prologue, so I'm really excited about this.

Squealing Brat. Right from the start, we've got a clear tone of the narration.

I'm really curious to see how Morgaine and Godric's relationship will evolve. And where Salazar comes into the picture.

This writing is really fantastic.

Thaaat's where Salazar comes in. Wow. Really intriguing.

Okay. Wow. This is fantastic. This review is so lame, but there's really not much for me to say. At times, it was a little confusing to me, but I tend to be very easily confused, so I'm not much help there. I also don't really mind confusion, as long as the story is still enjoyable and man, this one is.

I said it before, the writing style is absolutely amazing. It fits with the time period without feeling forced... Really, this is fantastic.

The plot is already picking up, and it seems like you've really thought it all the way through (or at least, you're great at giving that illusion). The writing as direction and focus and it's really just amazing.

Author's Response: Yup, I have actually thought out most of the story. I know the major points, what is lacking is just how to get from A to B, but I'm working through that :)

I am really happy you like the story, not very many people read Marauder Era stories on this site, which I think is a real shame, because I've found that that Era is a real writing boost :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by kenpo Prologue

4th January 2014:
Hey, here with your requested review! I'm in the mood to do a rolling review (is that what they call them? When I just write as I read it?) Hopefully you're okay with that, because all three might be like that :)

I was excited when I saw this because it's an awesome Era to write it.

The village burned.
Wow, what a powerful start.

Your use of the word slaughter reminds me of the way Augustus described the assassination of Julius Caesar. I'd be surprised if that was intentional... but... yeah.

Hollow cry... subdued whisper... amazing.

Ooo. What baby is this? You've got me hooked. This is so good.

OUCH. Killed her. Ouch.

THIS WAS SO GOOD. This review isn't terribly useful... but holy moley, this story was good.

Your writing style was entirely appropriate for the Era. This was a really quick chapter, but I think it fit really well.

Really, just wow. This was an amazing first chapter. I loved the end.
I'll be back for your other two reviews:)

Author's Response: Hahaha your review made me laugh! I love it :D Why haven't I ever left rolling reviews?! That has to change.

Anyway, I am glad you like the setting, and the writing style. I've found that my style is more suitable for this type of stories. I mean, imagine writing a, say, Scorpius/Rose and going like "For our love is doomed, cursed... Alas, we cannot be together." Yeah. It kinda sucks lol

And no, the word "slaughter" wasn't intentional in that sense, although it had been a real and proper slaughter the way the warriors had killed the villagers.

Thanks for reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by Rumbleroar goes roar Chapter two

28th December 2013:
I'm so glad you're back and hope you are feeling well!
I know I've said it before but I already love this story. The first part was so interesting. I especially loved the interaction between the Earl and Lady Slytherin, for they really rubbed each other the wrong way.
Rowena I already adore and cannot wait to hear more about her! :) I love the interactions between Rowena, Godric and Salazar. Lovely story. I'll wait patiently for more :)

Author's Response: Feeling much better thanks! :D

I am so happy that you like this chapter, as this one and the one previously are just setting the story. I do wish I can make this whole introduction shorter (and I've already cut so much!) so that I can move on to the fun bits, but these chapters seem necessary :/

I have some changes in mind for the next chapter, but I hope it can be up soon (maybe updating every week is a too ambitious step :) )

Thank you for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by ElegantSufficiency  Chapter One

27th October 2013:
Absolutely fantastic! You have a beautiful way with words.
Also, have you read the Mists of Avalon? I've just started reading it (funnily enough) and thought this sort of echoed it. Especially as Morgaine is shown as a person who's complex and flawed rather than an evil woman like most Avalon stories.

Author's Response: Yes, The Mists of Avalon is my favourite book, and the idea of Avalon as such in this story is based off of that in The Mists. Also, this story sort of merges the Founders with the Arthurian legend ;)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Rumbleroar goes roar  Chapter One

23rd September 2013:
Hello again! So excited to see an update!
Oh, by the way, did you make the chapter image? It's so pretty! :)
I absolutely adore your writing style. It flows so well and there is always a mystery hidden in your words. It works perfectly for this type of story. I really get dragged into your world when I read!
I love the relationship between Morgaine and Godric. It seems really sweet. And wow, the relationship between Gryffindor and Slytherin has suddenly got so much more interesting. All the characters have their own strong voices already and I feel connected to them, Morgaine especially.
I'm so, so loving this story! :D I can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Yes, I made the chapter image, as well as the current banner - I was really struggling to make something that fit lol

Yes, Morgaine has a role, and not only as story-driven narrator. You'll see ;)I am really happy you like it :D

Keep reading! Update is next Saturday :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Irol LePuff  Chapter One

21st September 2013:
This is already becoming a deep and complex story that you have clearly thought about and planned out in great detail. It is beyond captivating.

The description in your writing is really amazing, I can not commend it enough. And the dialogue too! The exchange between the two sisters was believable, as well as being incredibly mysterious, it hinted at so much and left me wanting more.

I am really excited to see how this story unfolds, keep at it.

Author's Response: I am really glad you liked the exchange between the sisters. I was quite unsure whether I was too enigmatic, but I am glad that you thought it was good :)

Yes, I have the story planned out, and I had already decided that unless I was going to know everything and be sure to finish it, I would not write it, since I have long since stopped writing fanfiction :) It's just that this story kept wanting to be written lol

Thanks for reviewing :)
Next chapter should be up next Saturday :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Rumbleroar goes roar Prologue

17th September 2013:
A very interesting start! I really felt pulled into the story.
I've always found the story of the four founders to be so interesting... it's a shame their story isn't written about very often! So I'm very excited to see this continued :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You literally made my day. I just got out of surgery, and to find this written is just amazing.

As I mentioned in other responses, I have the next few chapters written down, so I'm planning on posting a new chapter every new Saturday :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Irol LePuff Prologue

14th September 2013:
Wow. This is amazing! I was just browsing the recently added stories, and was immediately drawn in by your story summary. Wow.

The imagery of your work is brilliant, truly. And the characterisation is really really good, I already hate the King!

I especially love the way you describe everything with these long, beautiful sentences, and then all of the sudden, cut through it all with short sentences that hold so much weight.

It's definitely a prologue that leaves me wanting so much more, and I'll be eagerly waiting for it!

Author's Response: OMG thank you so much! I've been meaning to write this story for a long while now, writing and re-writing, wondering if there should be a prologue at all.

Yes, the Saxon King is someone we hate :D But he did just lose his wife and child, so that's something to consider as well ;)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Leonore Prologue

14th September 2013:
Good start - I look forward to reading the rest

Author's Response: Thanks :)

I have the next few chapters already written, so it shouldn't be long before the update :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login