20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jessicalorewrites Loony

2nd May 2014:
Hey, I'm here because you requested a review on my topic! First off I'm going to answer each of your areas of concern and then add in my own little thoughts about different things that I like :)

1. Does the lack of plot take away from the story?
Absolutely not! I really like how creative this is in the sense that it doesn't necessarily have a plot, but the characterisation and overall arc is both interesting to read and very well done.

2. Do you like the portrayal of Luna in first person?
I'm going to be honest and say that at first I was a little apprehensive because I often find that first person Luna fics are too over-bearing for me. A lot of authors make her weirdness cringey. I'm glad to say that you don't! I LOVE YOUR LUNA SO MUCH! If J.K. Rowling was to write a Luna POV it would be exactly like this. The way you make her odd and unusual but not so weird its unreadable is commendable. I also find the way you make Luna very self-deprecating quite interesting to read because, again, this is not usually done well - but you make it work! I particularly love that she still has her innocent and naive ways despite the war.

3. Any Americanisms?
Nope! This was a seamless read in a British POV.

I'd just like to add that I really like the opening lines because I think it is very relatable for me and also for a lot of your other readership. Many people of Luna's age don't know quite what they want to do after school so it's reassuring - for me, anyway - to see that even someone as awesome as Luna can share the same concerns.

I added this story to my favourites because I love it! Thank you so much.

- Jess xo

Author's Response: Hi, thank you! Haha, I'm glad the plot-lessness wasn't bad. I never saw Luna as the type to tell a story with a clear, straight plot so I'm glad that worked haha.

Ooh wow thanks! I was initially apprehensive about writing her, too - so that is SO wonderful to hear, and saying it's like JKR would write? omg thank you. She is a very particular balance between perceptive and living in her own world, it makes for odd writing! :P

I'm glad you liked the opening lines and that you could relate to them! And wow thank you I'm so honored by the favorite. Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by 1917farmgirl Loony

24th March 2014:
I LOVE THIS STORY!!!

YES, THAT MUCH! YES, I'M SHOUTING!!

This was THE best Luna story I've ever read! I want to just hug you! I love Luna, but writing her can be so hard, and so many people botch it, but I usually just don't bother reading about her anymore. This was incredible!

I loved the clouds in the sky, and how she was so concerned about the little duckling cloud that she walked into someone.

I loved her thoughts about Harry. They were so true, which is the beauty of Luna. She believes in the fantastical but is still pure truth.

I love Luna's umbrella! A little bit of sunshine in the rain!

And the old lady from Roswell. GAH! laughing really hard!

The fact that Luna worked in the menagerie was perfect for her! Such well thought out plans!

And I LOVED Mortimer! You created a wonderful character. And how Luna interacted with him, and how insightful she was.

BRILLIANT GIRL! I will be back for more of your amazing stuff soon!

- Farmgirl

Author's Response: HOW DO I EVEN RESPOND TO THIS AMAZING REVIEW

Seriously, I kept coming back and just reading it over and over - it has me grinning from ear to ear. Thank you so much! I'm so flattered it's the best Luna story you've read! Eeep ♥

Luna always seemed like someone who would have her head in the clouds a bit. I mean, that's what she focused on at the one Quidditch game where she was commentating :D

But yes, aside from the airiness, I think she really is quite perceptive, and honest. Belief in the fantastical, but still pure truth - a great way to phrase it, I like that.

I'm glad you liked the umbrella hehe. I want an umbrella like that!

Aw! I'm so glad you liked Mortimer! I loved writing their interactions since the two of them are pretty much opposites - but a little similar in their eccentricity.

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the story and my portrayal of Luna. Thank you so so much for this review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #3, by SkyEcho Loony

23rd December 2013:
Hi Kristin!

This is my first Luna story - and I absolutely loved it!! I've always liked Luna, so when I saw you had written a story with her, I just had to check it out. And I'm so happy I did :) You did an exceptional job with her characterization. Everything she thought and did just seemed so "Luna." Your story takes something seemingly ordinary, like starting a new job, and turns it into a string of thoughtful, interesting, funny moments. My favourite line is from your OC, "You are correct, I dislike weird things. Among the weird things I dislike are rabbits, adventure sports, and hippies." I thought you portrayed him very well and it was so interesting to see these two different characters interact.
Wonderful story!!

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Hi Kristen with an E! ♥ :p

What a lovely surprise review! Luna is one of my favourite characters in the series, so it's wonderful to hear that I did the characterisation well, thank you! I do think Luna sees ordinary things in an extraordinary way - it was an interesting experience to write her POV.

Haha, I'm glad you liked that line! He does say very silly things even if he's trying not to be weird. And I'm so happy to hear that you liked Mortimer and enjoyed seeing him interact with Luna! I had a blast writing it as they're complete opposites.

Thank you so much for this review! Merry Christmas to you too :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by magnolia_magic Loony

19th December 2013:
Hi Kristin! I'm here from Hufflepuff review tag!

Okay. I LOVED this. Like, really REALLY loved it! I can never pass up a Luna story, so I knew I had to give this one a try, and I'm so glad I did! I'm not at all surprised that you won your challenge with this piece...it's adorable and quirky, just like Luna, and you did an absolutely awesome job creating an OC that's just as weird (and sweet) as Luna is.

First, I have to commend the way you wrote Luna's dialogue and inner voice. Both of these elements were just perfectly done; you captured the essence of Luna so well. She's whimsical, sure, but you also brought out her thoughtfulness (when she takes the time to ask Mortimer about his life, and lends him her umbrella) and her perceptiveness. I just can't stop praising her! Wonderful job!

And Mortimer. Oh Mortimer. What an absolute sweetheart. He really is weird in his own way, isn't he? Even though he claims not to like strangeness, he just oozes strange from the moment we meet him. Mortimer is seriously one of my favorite OCs I've read in a really long time. I just want to hug him! And I have to say, I knew he was from the wizarding world the moment he appeared in the story, despite Luna saying that he must be a Muggle. He's just got that air about him.

The only CC I have is very minor. I was a tad confused at the beginning about the logistics of it all. Was Luna already at Diagon Alley when she met Mortimer? If so, why would she think he was a Muggle? That might just be me not being a very good reader, but I was distracted trying to figure that all out.

Wonderful job, Kristin! I'm so glad to have found such a great portrayal of Luna and such an adorable OC. Fantastic work! :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Maggie!!! ♥

Aw, thank you - this review just put the biggest smile on my face :) I'm so glad you liked my portrayal of Luna. I was initially quite nervous to write her because I never thought I could capture the balance of weird and perceptive and caring that she has in the books. I try really hard to adhere to canon personalities so it's absolutely wonderful to get a compliment like this.

I'm so happy you liked Mortimer too - one of your favourite OC's? :O EEEP THANK YOU ♥ I'm so flattered! Haha, I'm not sure if he is the type to like getting hugs, I feel like he'd be all stiff and awkward about hugs. Kind of a hilarious mental image though :p Ha, you're absolutely right, people familiar with the magical world do seem to have "that" air.

I'm sorry that was confusing! She was on her way to the Leaky Cauldron through Muggle London (so not yet in Diagon Alley. Actually I'm not really sure why she was there in the first place, because now that I think about it, what would she be doing in Muggle London? Dur. Thanks for pointing that out haha.)

Thanks for such a wonderful review, Maggie - it absolutely brightened my day ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heaven Loony

5th December 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

I love Luna, but I don't often read stories with her in it, so I was delighted to get the chance to read this. This was such an adorable read.

I think you really captured the spirit of Luna. She's quite perceptive, and notices things about people rather quickly and very astutely. I was thinking that Mortimer was weird, about two lines before Luna declares it to him (it was a beautiful moment where one of my favourite characters and I were on the same wavelength, so thank you for that). She has a way of seeing things about ourselves that we would otherwise ignore or discard. It was wonderful to see that aspect of her here.

Mortimer was also rather interesting. I loved how his love for things that are stereotypically associated with being boring and ordinary made him rather extraordinary. Being a neat freak and having an unhealthy love of cheese can do that to a person!

This was just such a wonderful read, because the weather here today has been rather similar to the way it was described here, and so just like Luna's umbrella, this story brought a little sunshine into my day! Thanks for the gorgeous read!

Author's Response: Hi!! I'm so glad you thought this captured the spirit of Luna. She's one of my favourite characters and I was initially a bit terrified to write her :p

Haha, that's awesome that you and Luna were on the same wavelength! I agree though, she's very perceptive and sees things that other people often won't - I'm glad that came across in this.

I'm happy to hear that you liked Mortimer as well! Yeah, he's so normal that he's weird :p

Thank you so much for reading, and I'm glad it brought a little sunshine to a rainy day - your review did that to me too! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyLou Loony

4th December 2013:
Review Swap!

What an adorable story! It honestly was so cute. I'm in love with Mortimer Vespasian-Marlowe if I do say so myself. You wrote Luna so well, about how she thought Mortimer was odd, but he refused to believe so.

Seriously though, this undoubtedly deserved first place in the Luna Lovegood Originality Challenge, for you wrote her perfectly.

Well done, I glad I read it!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi, thank you! Haha, I'm glad you like Mortimer! I think someone like Luna would be able to spot the weirdness in anyone, even someone as allergic-to-weird as Mortimer is. :p

Aw, thank you - I'm so thrilled you liked the portrayal of Luna, that is absolutely wonderful to hear that I wrote her well - she's a tricky one! Thanks so much for the review swap!! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by maraudertimes Loony

24th November 2013:
Hi!

This was such a lovely one-shot. I found Luna's portrayal to be amazingly well-written and her ramblings both as she spoke and as she thought seemed very Luna-esque.

I loved how she was thinking about her friends from Hogwarts, since I find Luna to be very friend-oriented. Friends matter a great deal to her, in my mind.

Mortimer was also quite funny as he did seem extremely organized, almost to the point of unbelieveability, but you explained why and it all made sense (even if he does seem to be touched with a little OCD). Although, his socks were a fresh blast of air and made me giggle.

And Luna was very right, Mortimer is a little strange, and that *is* a compliment. I think that this could be the start of a wonderful friendship, since they both seem to balance each other out very well.

Also, Mortimer's just so kind by not being surly about Luna bumping into him. He seems like a very nice fellow!

Yes, so I really liked this and it was super sweet and I kind of wish it wasn't a one-shot because it would be cool to see how these two go from there!

Amazing job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Thank you!! Oh, I'm so glad you liked my portrayal of Luna, both in the rambling thoughts and in the things she said. That really means a lot as one of the things I worried about when I was writing it was whether it would be Luna-ish enough!

I agree with you, I think Luna valued friends a lot and certainly never took them for granted. I imagine she'd think about them a lot even after they've all gone their separate ways.

I'm so happy that you liked Mortimer and his yellow socks :D Yeah he does seem a little OCD, haha. I'm glad you think he and Luna balance each other out! He was written to be essentially an opposite to her so it's wonderful to hear that it came across as a good friendship! :)

Aw, thanks. I'm sorry that's all there is of the story - I'd like to think they meet again too. There is story potential there, so who knows, maybe some day I'll write more about him haha. Thanks for this wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by GingeredTea Loony

17th November 2013:
First of all, you have hit Luna's voice perfectly. The way you phrase things just seems so perfectly Luna! Some of my favorite lines have been:


Harry generally does the right thing, even though sometimes I dont think he plans out how to do it.

Youre very strange yourself, you know, I tell him. His eyebrows knit closer together, a little crease in between them; clearly hes not pleased. Its a compliment.

Youre very strange yourself, you know, I tell him. His eyebrows knit closer together, a little crease in between them; clearly hes not pleased. Its a compliment.

The greatest part of this story is simply how clearly you have been able to write Luna. Love! Thank you so much for the great read. It brought a smile to my face.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much, it's really wonderful to hear that I wrote Luna's voice well! I had to try to think like Luna in order to write her POV and make her as canon as possible, which was a little challenging haha. So I'm really glad you thought I did her justice.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! Thank you for reading and for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Courtney Dark Loony

16th November 2013:
Hey there!

This was such a great, humourous one-shot, I really, really enjoyed it.

To be honest, I think you wrote Luna's character absolutely perfectly. I could absolutely, utterly picture Luna as I was reading it, walking down the street in that absent minded way of hers, wearing dirigible plums in her ears with gurdyroots shoved into her bag (that bit made me laugh, and seemed especially Luna-ish.)

I think you wrote Luna's personal voice really, really well, and the best part is that you didn't make her too ridiculous, which I think is a trap many fall into. I also love how you remembered so many bits from canon - such as the army of Heliopaths and Luna's comment to Harry about him becoming an Auror.

I also liked Mortimer, in a weird sort of way and is 'no-nonsense, no-weirdness' attitude. I wonder if he had OCD or something? Oh, and I think the ending, with Mortimer's yellow socks, was just perfect!

This was a really great one-shot, I enjoyed it!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you were able to picture Luna like that and that you thought her voice and personality matched canon Luna. Those particular canon things that I added in there are some of my favourite Luna-isms from the books, I love the way she always stuck random thoughts about weird things into normal conversations with Harry so I figured she'd think about things like that in everyday life as well.

Haha, yes, I think Mortimer is a little OCD. I'm glad you liked his character though - you're right he has a very no-nonsense attitude, but can't adhere to it as much as he thinks he can. And I'm so happy you liked the ending too!

This was such a nice review! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing ♥

Kristin


 Report Review

Review #10, by patronus_charm Loony

15th November 2013:
Yay another one of your great humour one-shots!

This was just brilliant! ♥ Every line of it had me chuckling away about the silliness of what Luna was daring to say and her thoughts were so spot on and so her. Im just so happy to find a characterisation of Luna which doesnt drive me up the wall due to missing out the complete airiness and madness of her. I seriously do think your Luna may be my favourite so far.

The inclusion of all the things from canon such as the way Aurors used gum disease and the inclusion and mentions towards canon characters while incorporating new and original things was really great and was the thing which made it for me if Im honest. Just the general mixture of madness had me chuckling away, and a little sad if Im honest as Luna is still no closer to her Crumpled Horned Snorkacks.

Mortimer = ♥ I just have such a vivid image of him in my mind as you described him so well and he just sounds great. I think the fact that hes a muggle geography teacher combined with the fact that he bumps into Luna is the best thing. He was just so normal, even his name, and then for him to meet her and not get too freaked out by Dirigible Plums had me in hysterics. Then hes a squib who wears yellow socks, what could be more amazing?

I loved the fact that Luna had a job at Magical Menagerie too because it leads perfectly to her future career of being an explorer as she might get some sort of research opportunity there. That was a really great one-shot Kristin and I really hope that you write more humour things as you have a real talent for it!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Aw, Kiana, you are too sweet ♥

Thank you so much! I'm so glad you thought my portrayal stayed true to the Luna from the books. She's one of my favourite characters so I was initially nervous to write her because I didn't want to get it all wrong! Eee - your favourite so far?! ...Excuse me while I roll around on the floor and flail my arms excitedly. :p

I'm glad you liked the mix of canon and original things and Luna's perspective of them, and the idea of her working at the Magical Menagerie. It was the most logical place I could think of for Luna's first job after Hogwarts (in the challenge I wrote this for, I had to focus on Luna's first day at work).

I'm so glad you liked Mortimer too. He tries very hard to be normal, but yeah he's weird in a different way. And it's wonderful to hear that you thought I described him well! I had been wondering how that would turn out since I could only write the things Luna would notice, haha.

I'm so flattered you like my humour stories :) And I have indeed written other ones, maybe I'll toss one in your review thread sometime. Anyway, thanks so much for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Cannons Loony

15th October 2013:
Here from the review tag so HI! :)

I picked this to read because I saw it had won a challenge so I just had to come and read it. Luna is one of my favourite characters and I think you did an amazing job in writing her. You didn't make her over the top at all, or like weird in a way that isn't Luna. The way you've written her is just exactly as I imagine Luna. So calm in every situation, doesn't care what others think.

People just don't understand that she really is quite smart, (I mean she is in Ravenclaw) and very perceptive which you show brilliantly.

You've done a great job btw with the contrast in characters, and still showing that you can be weird in a different way. That was clever.

Does Mortimer have OCD? haha because he was way to organised. It's brilliant that he's trying so hard not to be weird, that he just makes himself weird.

My favourite bit was when Luna forgot the umbrella, typical Luna.

I really enjoyed this, you've done Luna justice I think. Maybe start 'the adventures of Mortimer' ? ;)

Author's Response: Hello there! Luna is one of my favourite characters too, so I was super afraid to write her, haha! I'm so glad to hear that she's just how you imagined Luna to be - thank you so much!

I agree, I think Luna is very perceptive, albeit a bit detached. (Even if she does things like leave her umbrella behind :p ) It was a really weird combination to write actually, trying to convey Luna's thoughts but have it still be clear what is going on outside her head!

There are definitely lots of ways to be weird - in Mortimer's case, weird by trying not to be weird. Haha, he is a little OCD isn't he?

I'm so thrilled to hear that I've done Luna justice - thank you so much! As for the Adventures of Mortimer Vespasian-Marlowe... well, I think it'd be a lot of opera, cheese tastings, and organisation of file drawers!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by APerkins Loony

9th October 2013:
!!! I love this story! I think you did Luna quite well, she is so hard to get inside the head of! She is just enough quirky to be believable without being cringe worthy or fake.

And honestly, I don't think you left it in an odd place at all. That seemed like a really good place to end it, and appropriate to Luna as well.
I really liked the way you portrayed mortimer - he is sooo awkward! I really like that Luna held no judgement to him in his weirdness, she jsut kinda accepted who and what he was.

Now I find the idea of Luna behind a cash register terrifying, and as we never saw her in Care of Magical creatures, I had always assumed that she would NOT be very good with real animals (as opposed to fake.imaginary ones), despite the fact that she does go onto become a naturalist. I can only imagine how long she will keep her job!

Well done!

Author's Response: Eeep, thanks! I'm so glad you think I did Luna justice - that means a lot to me because, you're right, she is so hard to write! (That rhymed!)

Haha, it is a kind of scary idea, isn't it? :P I would imagine she didn't stay long at the cash register! She'd probably be good with the animals though - she was great with Thestrals, after all.

Thanks for your review! ♥♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by milominderbinder Loony

6th October 2013:
Hi, Maia here from review tag!

So - eek, this was amazing! You definitely deserved the win in this challenge and congratulations on it. I honestly just loved your characterisation of Luna. She is one of the hardest characters to write and I don't read a lot of fic with her because of that - people often fall into the trap of trying to make her TOO wacky in a way that has no logic or reason behind it. But I thought you captured her perfectly here - she's quirky, and different, but there's elements of logic to her thoughts, and you really got inside her head in a way that was great to read. Your OC was also amazing. I have actually read a few of the other entries to this challenge and, while they were all great, I can see why yours stood out, because you really explored this whole other side of eccentricity and originality. Mortimer was SO neat and organised that he surpassed normality and veered into eccentricity without realising it, and that was awesome to read. My favourite few lines were by far:

As he walks out the door, the hem of his trouser leg is wrinkled and I notice that he is wearing bright yellow socks. That makes me smile. Then I turn back to the desk, where the Streeler is yellow as well.

Again, I thought this was an amazingly interesting thing to portray about Mortimer. It really brushed on the idea that everyone has things you wouldn't expect about them, everyone's a little strange beneath the surface. But I also like how you didn't leave it on a 'bombshell' line, like if you'd ended it after mentioning his socks. You linked it back into the story, and also showed Luna's small reaction to it, and also kind of softened it with the really casual last line so that it fit really well into the rest of the story. Okay, I'm not sure if I'm making sense anymore, I just really loved this!

Thanks for a wonderful read, and congrats on the challenge < 3

~Maia

Author's Response: Aaa! Thank you so much - I know it's going to be a good day when someone says my writing is amazing ;)

I'm glad you liked my characterisation of Luna! I agree she's really difficult to write, and especially doing this in first person I kind of wondered about it the whole time I was writing. And in trying to get inside her head I figured that in a way, she's not really that wacky, she just sees things differently. And of course she wouldn't see her own actions as weird, from her POV!

That's exactly what I was going for with Mortimer, I think you summed him up pretty well! I'm so glad you liked reading about him!

You did make sense, I get what you're saying. I'd never really thought about how the last lines fit to the rest of the story - I just wrote how I thought Luna might have ended a story she was telling. So I really appreciate what you said there - I'm glad that ending worked!

Thank you for such an amazing and thoughtful review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Nasim6413 Loony

5th October 2013:
I loved this :) I found it very amusing and original. Good job!

Author's Response: Oh, it's so lovely to hear that my work is original, it means a lot to me. (That was the point of the challenge I wrote it for, haha!) Thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by quixotic Loony

4th October 2013:
Hey, I'm here with my second review for you!

Wonderful job on the story. I love how you use simple sentences and meandering thoughts to portray Luna's character. It's like we're taking a look into Luna's brain and all the crazy thoughts that goes on in there.
Luna sounds so sweet and innocent. When she said 'I want to find a Crumple-Horned Snorkack, but no one will fund any more expeditions to find them' I felt like yelling "I'll fund your expedition! Even if I'm a minor who doesn't earn money!" I loved how she describes the world around her, relating it to some random memory from ages ago.

Mortimer is equally crazy and a character I wouldn't mind seeing more of. I was really surprised when he walked into the shop and delighted when you revealed that he was a squib. As I've always said, squibs are underrated these days. I love how he's so anal retentive and allergic to weird but wears bright yellow socks and randomly talks about opera and cheese. I like how he's trying his best not to be weird when all his efforts just make him weirder.

This is a great story and I really really hope that you decide to make a sequel to it. I want to know what happens to the two of them, whether they will meet again, or...yeah I'm way too involved in this, aren't I?

Author's Response: Thank you!!

It's nice to hear that you liked the way Luna described the world around her. She's such a difficult character to write, and I hoped I did her justice! I figured she's very perceptive about the world around her, even though she makes odd comments about it.

I'm really glad you liked Mortimer as well! You're right, squibs are underrated - there certainly aren't many stories about them. Yeah, he definitely tries not to be weird, but I think everyone's a little strange, just as Luna says in the story! :p

Haha, I love that you feel involved in it, that means I must have done my job as a writer. :) Thanks so much for your reviews today!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Druna_Romione Loony

2nd October 2013:
I really like that story especially as.i love Luna lovegood she is such a great character

i am sooo glad that story won a competition and i hope you write loads more stories cos the are really cool

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I love Luna too, she is one of my favourites from the books! And yes I have actually written a few more stories, feel free to check them out on my author page if you want. Thanks so much for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Josette_Phoenix Loony

24th September 2013:
You did an absoultely marvellous job on Luna - just how JKR would write her!! I can't wait to see how the rest of the story pans out! I LOVE Mortimer already - and his yellow socks. Bravo, and good luck in the challenge! Xo

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!! I am so flattered that you compared my writing of Luna to JKR's - that's about the best compliment there is to a HP fanfic writer :p Unfortunately this is a one-shot so there's no more of the story, but I'm glad you liked it that much! Thanks so much for your review ♥♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lululuna Loony

24th September 2013:
Review tag! :)

I think you've accomplished what I've always personally thought was impossible: perfectly capturing the voice and spirit of our odd, beloved Luna. Really, I'm amazed at how you captivated her voice and brought her to life in this little gem of a story. From the first sentence: the airy, but kind-hearted thoughts, her convictions in these strange animals and conspiracies, and her gentle thoughts and ideas about people and the world, you embodied Luna and I could honestly hear her voice (or her voice from the movies, anyway) talking in my head. :) It reminds me of your Lockhart story, where Gildy was captured just right: you clearly have a talent for writing minor and difficult characters, my dear!

I love how this story is so simple: two strangers meeting on a walk to work- yet feels so complete and whole. I also loved the ending, and didn't think it bizarre, or any more bizarre than all the other strange comments Luna makes. Noticing and appreciating yellow socks is such a Luna move, as is the nonchalance with which she returns to her task.

Mortimer was just hilarious, and one of the funniest matches for a random person for Luna to meet. I loved how "ordinary" he was, so ordinary that he became strange and appreciated by Luna. I especially loved when he said he disliked hippies, and when he starts talking about the opera. And when he organizes the rat tonics by size! Ha! On a side note, I love how the characters really interact with the setting of the pet shop, it really brought it to life.

An interesting thing about your writing from Luna's perspective is how she doesn't truly realize how strange people think she is: instead, the reader has to judge and decipher people's reactions to her through her observations of their movements and dialogue. But you pulled that off brilliantly as well.

I'm so glad I got the chance to read and review this wonderful little story! :D

Author's Response: aksdjfkjsldk this review has turned me into a melty puddle, so I will try my best to respond to it coherently!

I was so worried about writing Luna - as you say, I had always thought it would be impossible too! So the fact that you think her spirit was perfectly captured and that you could hear her voice in this... I'm so flattered, that is absolutely wonderful to hear. Thank you so much!!

I think Luna sees simplicity in situations when others don't, and appreciates the simple things in life, so I thought it seemed like a story Luna could tell, despite that it doesn't have much of a plot! :p

Haha, I'm so glad that you liked Mortimer too. It was actually quite hard to write Mortimer from Luna's POV, because I had such a clear image of what type of person he was, but that wasn't how Luna would have seen him - she focuses on different things about people. By the way, I really appreciate your comment about how the reader has to decipher people's reactions to her - that's really true, and I was hoping it would come across in the story so I'm glad it did.

Thank you so much for your review - and by the way, in case I haven't said so before, you are a wonderful reviewer! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Illuminate Loony

22nd September 2013:
Hi! Review Tag!

This is a really nice oneshot! You have Luna's characterisation down perfectly. I don't think I've quite seen such a good portrayal of her in fanfiction xD She has such the right mix of whimsy and frankness, which I love.

I also really like Mortimer! Since we all know Luna ends up with Rolf Scamander nobody really bothers to write her with anyone else, especially not OC's. Mortimer is nicely opposite to her in that he doesn't like anything 'weird,' which I suspect to be because he's a Squib and was denied the chance to be 'weird,' but he's also rather eccentric himself in a way that suits Luna very well. It's neat characterisation :)

Your prose was very good, I liked how Luna's mind often wandered and she consistantly had that dreamy outlook. It made for a very pleasant read, and I wouldn't mind at all if you decided to continue this xD

Great job!

Author's Response: Eeep! Thank you! This was the first time I ever dared to write Luna - and I was worried because it's quite difficult to get the balance of dreamy and direct, especially getting inside her head and writing 1st person - so I'm really flattered that you liked my portrayal of her so much.

This story was written for a challenge in which Luna meets an OC (which was fun because you're totally right - I haven't seen much other stuff focusing on Luna meeting OC's) so I decided to make him as opposite to Luna as possible, and really pretentious, but still secretly eccentric like she is. I'm so happy you liked him!

Thanks so much for your compliments, this was such a kind review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by BookDinosaur Loony

19th September 2013:
Hello Kristin! Be proud of me-I'm leaving a review! I was browsing the recently updated section and saw the title and thought 'that sounds like exactly the kind of title Kristin would think of' and then I looked at the author and guess what? It was you! :P

I really loved reading this, I think you captured Luna really well here. Some authors go over the top and just make her plain weird in an attempt to capture her quirkiness, but I think you did really well writing her, so well done there! Hercharacterisation was all in order and I love how you kept telling us about the clouds. Memories from Hogwarts. :)And I loved Luna's umbrella, it was a really nice touch.

I liked Mortimer Vespasian-Marlowe, you charactrised him well. I love how you pointed out to us that he's willing to go beyond the magic he dislikes and accept a person by getting Luna to make him admit he would have been sad if his sister stayed at Hogwarts for the holidays. And if you were able to understand that incredible convoluted sentence I congratulate you.

There's just one plot hole I picked up - at first you stated that the Streeler changes colour every hour, but the Streeler by the desk change colour three times throughout the course of the story. Unless you mean to say that Mortimer Vespasian-Marlowe stayed at the shop for two hours? In that case, ignore this. :)

I think the flow of the story was pretty good, although there were a couple of places where it slowed down a bit, it didn't detract from my enjoyment of the story at all.

All in all, this was a wonderful one-shot Kristin, I really enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness - was not expecting THREE reviews from you today! You really went to town on my AP, haha. Thanks so much! ♥

Haha, I love how you found the story. I didn't know my titles were that distinctive! :p

That's so wonderful to hear that you liked the way I wrote Luna. I had never written her at all before, so I had no idea how it would turn out. The way I see her, she's very perceptive, but not always about the things people usually focus on - hence her preoccupation with clouds!

I'm glad you liked Mortimer too. I do understand what you're trying to say! He is supposed to be just a really pretentious person who's the opposite of Luna, but still has some weird tendencies after all - we all do! And I think Luna makes people think more, so she made him see that about himself.

With the Streeler, I meant that it had changed colour when Luna was just waiting around in the shop - if I remember, the second time it changed was before Mortimer even walked in. Maybe I should go back and check that though - thanks :p

Thanks so much for reading, and for your lovely reviews today!!! You're the best!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login