8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Chazzie Rock-a-Bye Baby

3rd March 2014:
Hey there!
Aw, that was so cute! I'll definitely read the Gravel on the Ground when I have some spare time. It was certainly believable, especially Jenny's reluctance to leave her little brother. She seems really forward and outspoken, especially at times when others wouldn't be. And the quote at the start fits perfectly with the rest of it.
Chazzie (Review 8/10 for the Slytherin/Gryffindor Blackout)

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for the review!

I'm glad you liked this little story, even though you didn't realize it was part of a bigger set of stories when you started. And I'd be very honored if you came back and read the rest when you have the time. :)

I had fun creating the character of Jenny to be James' older sister. There was so much freedom to play with how to do things.

Thanks again for reading.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Rumpelstiltskin Rock-a-Bye Baby

2nd March 2014:
I'm here for Blackout Bingo!

This was fantastically adorable!

I loved the beginning, where Jenny is questioning her parents as to why they would want another baby. :D They should have asked her first...that was hysterical but really realistic for a little girl.

It was a very sweet mental image of Jenny holding her little brother. Again, you nailed the child-like quality of little Jenny when she believes that her brother winked at her.

Oh my...the scene where Jenny is refusing to get on the Hogwarts Express because she's afraid that James will forget her... d'aww! That settles it, I'm having all sorts of happy feels! She wants to take him with her ;).

Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! I'm very glad you liked this story! I'm also a little curious about what make you pick it. It's not exactly my most popular story, or my most stand-out-ish one.

This story is the prologue to a whole series of stories. I updated it when I need to give information out. So Jenny Potter is Harry Potter's aunt, and I created her to set up a whole chain of events.

I'm really glad you thought she was believable and in character for her age. I've never read James Potter as a baby, so I didn't have anything to go off of. LOL.

Thanks again for such a great review! It made my day to see this story getting some love.


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Rock-a-Bye Baby

31st December 2013:
!!! Farmgirl! You have a prologue to From the Ashes?! Yay! How is it that I'm just finding out about it now? (ok well I guess the answer to that is a fortuitous moment of author page creeping. But anyway. Aah! I'm so excited to find a "new" chapter because I really missed reading about Sadie! :D

This is an adorable introductory chapter to Jenny. She acted like such an 11-year old with the comment about "why do you want another kid, what about me?" So, I think you did really well writing her very true to her age, and exactly how an eleven year old would react upon finding out they have to share their Mummy and Daddy with a sibling ;)

The age gap is good, too. It makes sense because Jenny isn't mentioned at all by James' friends later on - they wouldn't have known her that well if she was that much older. Also, I understand James' parents were not young when they had him, so the fact that he has a sister eleven years older than him fits perfectly into that.

Jenny was adorable at the end of this too, when she doesn't want to leave because she's afraid James will forget her! She got very attached in a short time :)

I really loved this look into the backgrounds of these characters, it's so much fun to get to know them, and adds a whole new level to Sadie's story. Great job!

Author's Response: LOL! Yeah. I kinda sneaked this one in didn't I. And I haven't added to it in ages, but it's here, waiting for more background when I feel like putting it up. And sorry you are just finding out about it. It's hard to advertise the prologue to a story that isn't that popular anyway. hehehehe. But, feel free to creep away at my author page! Makes me feel kinda honored! And I'm sorry you've been missing reading about Sadie. I have the next chapter almost ready to go, I just can't post it until I catch up on review responses.

So, you really liked the introduction to Sadie's mother? Yes! I was worried people would be like "HEY, you can't give James a sister! That's blasphemous!" hehehehe. And it's double fun that you thought I made her age appropriate! I work with 11 year olds, but that doesn't mean that I understand their confusing brains.

The age gap was important if I was going to pull this off. I needed a reason why James could have a sister that was never mentioned and not have it be weird. I didn't want her to be "lost" or "disowned" or anything like that. Just not really in HIS story. And yes, I was totally playing with the rumor that James' parents were much older when they had him.

Aw, thanks! It was fun writing for someone else again. And I wanted to show that Jenny did love her brother very much.

Thanks so much for sleuthing out this fic! It was so fun to get another surprise review from you. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gaius Scipio Rock-a-Bye Baby

17th September 2013:
So saw you're review on missesweasleys story "Her Only Choice", liked what you wrote so decided to see if you had posted anything and voilà here I am.

I really enjoyed this very sweet, funny with some absolutely adorable moments. Looking forward to reading more.

Gaius

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's always nice when someone seeks out your stuff on their own!

Thank you for the great compliment and I hope you do keep reading.

Also, there is a companion story to this I'm currently posting as well, called From the Ashes, if you are ever interested.

Again, thanks so much for the surprise review.

- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Rock-a-Bye Baby

16th September 2013:
Hello! I'm actually really glad you requested this because I wanted to read it when I saw you'd posted it, but I've been busier than I expected in the last few days.

It's such a great idea to let us see the companion events that we're not going to get in the main story, and I always like getting a better background to stories. You've started in a place that I didn't expect, but once I read it suddenly it seemed the perfect place to begin a collection like this.

Jenny was brilliant. The age that she was made it more believable that she could be James Potter's older sister, and I thought you wrote her reactions to the news that she was going to get a younger brother or sister really well. The things she said - particularly the bit that her parents should have asked her about it first - fit really well with her age. There's a hint of jealousy almost, wonder at why she isn't enough for her parents, and I think that would definitely be the way someone who's been an only child for eleven years would feel at the news.

This was such a cute chapter as well, especially the fact that Jenny got attached to her little brother so quickly. The idea of her carrying him round to lessons in her bag is just adorable!

You have a real talent for capturing characters and emotions and relationships and presenting them in fiction in a way that seems so real, and it's a pleasure to read. I don't have any CC at all for you here, but I want to say that this is a lovely story!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey! Sorry I'm tardy with the review response once again! I really, really love your reviews and hate that I'm sometimes a slacker getting them responded to. :(

But I was so happy to see you read this! (And I totally understand the super busy thing.)

"Sadie Fic" as I affectionately call it, is this massive file on my computer, and it covers way to much time than any normal fic should. I had all these scenes and moments that I had written that went way farther back than Sadie's actual story did but that I used to help me get my backstory straight. I couldn't figure out what to do with them though. Finally decided to make a sort of prequel to the main story. Glad you enjoyed it and like the idea.

I started in a place you didn't expect...(way too far back, right, LOL?) I'm curious where you thought I would start, actually. You'll have to PM me and tell me.

I made Jenny purposefully much older than James, so she would be out of school by the time James entered. I figured that would be the best way to keep it as canon as possible and not have to explain why she was absent from all the Marauders stuff. And I'm really, really happy you thought I captured her emotions and actions for an 11 year old all right.

Awww.now I'm blushing again. Thanks so much. Your compliments mean so much to me.

I'm hoping to update this one soon, as we've passed a point I can put a bit more up, but I actually have to write a few scenes first.

Thanks again! I love your reviews. I look forward to them so much whenever I put up a new chapter.



 Report Review

Review #6, by MissesWeasley123 Rock-a-Bye Baby

13th September 2013:
Hello again! This was so sweet I almost died. But that would suck so I didn't die. But got very close :D Wait, happy face? What... okay, now I'm getting off topic. (Also, this ones not for the exchange)

I just think this was so short and sweet and can't wait for you to keep on adding onto this.

I'm the youngest in my family, so I've never had the whole, "You're getting another sibling!" But I always wanted one and I just found the whole chapter so heart warming (and made me feel a bit bad because I don't have a baby sibling...) I loved the whole "wink" thing, it was so cool, and Sadies mum just seems so cool too :) I can't wait for more background on when they grow up!

All in all, what a great start! I look forward to updates of this and Ashes :)
-Nadia

Author's Response: Hey!

Please don't die! I would feel immense guilt if you were to die because of my story! And yes, that would be quiet inconvenient for you as well.

And it's so sweet that you read one for the exchange AND this one. *hugs*

Ah, I'm the oldest, so I got that moment twice. But I was so excited both times. I think deep down, Jenny was excited as well, but after being an only child for 11 years it would be a bit unexpected.

Glad you liked Sadie's mum! I'll let you know when more of this goes up.

Thanks again! You are so awesome!


 Report Review

Review #7, by MC_HK Rock-a-Bye Baby

11th September 2013:
The minute you told me about this I had to come check it out!

It didn't disappoint. It is every bit as heartwarming as the main story line, and I love Jenny's connection to her baby brother! Oh, all the feelings! I especially love the opening! So cute and sooo funny. I like the relationship you give Jenny and James. I think it's great you didn't have this kind of hate an older child has for the new baby. I'm so happy that she loves him, and I'm excited to see what the future looks like for them.

Keep it up! I'm enjoying this! I'll follow both stories to the end and back (because more than likely I'll want to re-read)!

-Monica

Author's Response: Wow! That was fast! Thanks so much!

Only two people have discovered this story yet. I'm kind of curious to see how many people reading the other find it. I don't want to confuse people by requesting reviews for two different story, so for now I'm just going to let this sit here.

So glad you liked the beginning of Jenny's story here. I started these little background scenes for my own selfish reasons - to try and help me get my backstory straight, make sure everything was fitting together, and help me find the "personalities" of some of the OC's I'd invented. But, then I realized if I needed all of that information and I'm the author, perhaps readers might like it too. So, I decided to post.

YEAH! You thought Jenny being James' sister was believable. And it gave you feelings? Cool. It never crossed my mind to make Jenny and James not get along. Glad you're exited to read about their future!

Follow both stories to the end and back? WOW! *shy* I hope I can live up to this amazing praise.

Thanks again! These were so much fun!

More of the first story on Sunday.

- Farmgirl


 Report Review

Review #8, by CambAngst Rock-a-Bye Baby

10th September 2013:
Hi!

I thought this was really sweet, and quite useful at the same time. You set a tone for Jenny's relationship with James and you helped to define the age difference between the two of them. I thought Jenny was just about perfect for an 11-year-old. The things that concern her, the way that she reacts to the news that she'll be having a younger sibling and finally her anxiety at leaving to go to Hogwarts all fit the picture nicely. I love how she managed to get so attached to little James in a relatively short amount of time. The idea that she would carry him around Hogwarts in her bag was hilarious!

Jenny nodded, still staring at them with huge eyes. "What do you want a baby for?" she finally blurted. -- This! The perfect 11-year-old reaction to the news. "Aren't I enough for you?" You can almost hear the thought behind the question.

The scene on the train platform was one of those things that, as a parent, was sweet and funny and a little bit heart-breaking. My kids had their first day of kindergarten a few weeks ago. Thankfully, the teachers met us in the school lobby and sort of whisked the kids away to their classrooms before anyone -- child or parent -- really knew what was happening.

There's really not much more to say. Nice job and I look forward to seeing more glimpses into the events leading up to your awesome new story!

Author's Response: Hi! You found this! Cool. You're the only one so far. :)

I'm glad you thought it was sweet and useful and not sappy and corny. I just have a whole bunch of these scenes written, that are just kind of like snapshots, that give background to Sadie's story. But I don't want to post them and spoil surprises. So this was my solution.

Writing Jenny was fun. I figured I couldn't just GIVE James Potter a sister and not at least provide readers with a little insight into her. And I thought it was much more believable that he would have a sister much older than him than one very close in age. It changed less canon things that way.

:) That was my favorite line writing this part, so glad you enjoyed it!

Kids grow up, don't they. Aren't you glad you didn't have to put yours on a train to go to boarding school? (Or, maybe you secretly wish you could, hehehehe.)

You think my story is awesome? Wow. Thanks! And thanks so much for reading this little one as well. Keep an eye on it. I'll update it once info becomes...for lack of a better term, declassified. hehehe


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login