272 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Anie Broomsticks and Breathing: Scorpius and Rose POV

26th November 2014:
I check this website periodically for updates on this story and this story only. Keep up the great work (and don't keep me waiting long please)!! haha

Author's Response: OMG! I just saw this and you totally made my week! Thank you SO much for taking the time to write a review. I promise there is much more to come!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst Broomsticks and Breathing: Scorpius and Rose POV

25th November 2014:
Hi, Beth!

After a few very intense chapters, I can honestly say that I don't mind a little fluff. It was a nice change of pace and it gave all characters involved -- especially Rose and Scorpius -- a chance to settle down and ruminate on everything that's happened. The time apart seems to have done our two lovers a world of good. They realized that they missed one another. They're adorable!

The couple needs a break from one another, so the guy gets drunk and plays sports while the girl goes shopping and gets a makeover. I'd say your thought process was on very solid ground there. ;)

Even though I knew the answer before I'd asked, I'd tried to pull the Hogsmeade duty for this weekend. -- Ha! In your dreams, lover boy. I definitely agree with Harry here. I don't think Scorpius had any idea how badly his head had gotten messed up over this. Props to Albus for doing such a good job of getting Scorpius's mind off of things in this chapter. Not that it was unpleasant work, but I'm sure that he would have rather been making up with Selenia.

James was standing up on one of the tables, singing some quidditch fight song with one of his teammates, their arms draped around each other. - Now that's a funny image.

Rose came off as a much more balanced character in this chapter. She's enjoying her freedom, having her fun, but she can't completely shake the responsible side of herself.

Choosing a specialty was another ordeal I wasn't looking forward to. I truly enjoyed every course I'd taken. I had no idea how to narrow it down. -- I feel echoes of a certain individual who borrowed a time-turner so they could take all of the electives.

Ha! Poor Ron. If you're a Weasley, and you're trying to operate undercover, wouldn't you start by changing your hair color? He's hopeless!

My lungs filled themselves with air that didn't smell like a hospital or a three hundred year old dingy house. -- This. The perfect encapsulation of Rose's situation and why it must have meant so much to her to find this freedom.

Ha! I love the image of poor Ron and Harry running into Rose and Selenia outside the lingerie shop. Talk about a splash of cold water in the face. Their little girls and boys aren't so little anymore.

The end of the chapter was paced really nicely. It felt like things were touch-and-go there for a second. Scorpius didn't seem like he was sure what to do and Rose wasn't quite sure how to take that. But their feelings draw them back together, and suddenly everything is right in paradise.

I saw one lonely little typo while I was reading:

She loved flying and I bet missed our days of Quidditch at Hogwarts just as much as Al and me. -- I bet she missed

I loved this chapter! As much as I enjoy the plot of this story and all of the mystery and intrigue and guessing that comes along with it, I can't get enough of your Rose-Scorpius love! Looking forward to the next!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Paddlewaddle Broomsticks and Breathing: Scorpius and Rose POV

25th November 2014:
This was a less eventful chapter than the other two - and welcome change as well given how intense the other two chapters had been. It's nice to know that our characters can take some time to themselves to relax and think about their other half and just have a bit of time away from what is going on. And the fluff. GOD THE FLUFF. I LOVE ROSE AND SCORPIUS AND I CANNOT SAY THIS ENOUGH - especially the last scene - very different from their other scenes. Its much more passionate than raw and there is this sense of no inhibitions and an incessant need to just feel each other. Surprised they even made it to the bedroom, I was betting the furthest to be the stairs ;)

Can't wait for your next chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Paddlewaddle Baleful: Rose POV

25th November 2014:
I can feel Scorpius' hurt so much right now. That he can't stand to not be there to protect her - that he almost thinks that she needs to protect herself because he isn't enough. Or at least that is what I'm getting when he speaks to Rose and thinks she doesn't need him. It makes me feel all broken up about them and the way he reacted when she came up stairs to see him? my heart is going all over the place!!

And the truth comes out now about the prophecy. I feel so sick that Stannous tried to torture Rose and I realise now that your original storyline would have made the prophecy much more gruesome than it is now if you went through with it but the original storyline would have also made much more sense in light of this prophecy. So it begs the question why Stannous would think so simply torture her for 5 days, and not try more if he thinks the prophecy is about him What does he get out of it coming true? What will the child do to his stature? So many questions!! I absolutely love where this is going, however dark it may seem. And I absolutely love the family feels in there - you just see the support and how much they all love each other. Absolute love!

On other thoughts, the entire time I was thinking that this prophecy was about Scorpius and Rose... Did no one from the family even remember Scorpius was a Malfoy? (which I love cause it just speaks so much about how part of the family Scorpius really is that they don't particularly remember his lineage).

 Report Review

Review #5, by MargaretLane Broomsticks and Breathing: Scorpius and Rose POV

23rd November 2014:
Love the name of the pub.

And I like the references to James' job and how he doesn't have to get up early.

Aw, poor Scorpius. He's feeling guilty. I think he should owl Rose and apologise. She's probably feeling pretty bad, thinking he's still mad at her too. And she's been through a lot.

And poor Rose. She's clearly missing Scorpius too. And she's being so girly. Shopping and makeovers. *laughs* I feel like saying, "boring".

And I really like the way she gets stuff for Scorpius, even though he wasn't very nice to her when she really needed him.

I think even if she HADN'T forgiven him, she'd rather more reason to be annoyed with him than Selenia had with Albus.

I really like Rose's sensitivity - that she realises Selenia doesn't want to continue the conversation, so she doesn't even bother to defend herself by saying she has forgiven Scorpius.

And I'm really glad to see her feeling carefree. Gosh, does she deserve it after everything she's been through.

And I'm amused by the way she keeps doubting her father's ability as an Auror. That too shows how much better she's feeling, that she's able to see the humour in an Auror being unable to hide from his own daughter and being surprised by her changing her hairstyle.

I am very impressed with the way you can change from one character to the other, in first person, and have it immediately apparent you've done so. That can be difficult.

There should be a full stop, not a comma, before "I was still laughing, but she knew I was half serious".

I'm not sure that's exactly a compliment - to say he hardly recognised her and that she looked really good. But at least she knew what he meant.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BellaLestrange87 Baleful: Rose POV

22nd November 2014:
I'm so far behind on NaNo that I've given up on catching up. Instead, I'm going to read this like I should've ages ago.

L'erge Stannous is actually Unos Lestrange. That's another play on words, and very clever. I remember after reading a review on one of the earlier chapters and finding out that the spell Scorpius used on Rose's scars was a play on words. Very clever. *rereads to find out what else she missed*

I was extremely frustrated with Ron here. Yes, his intentions may have been good, but as Rose said, she is an adult and deserves to know everything, especially since the prophecy is about her. The very nature of this scene reminded me of Harry's conversation with Dumbledore in his office after Sirius's death in the fifth book when Dumbledore explained everything, saying he regretted not telling Harry the information earlier. It seems to me like Harry remembered the pain of not knowing vital information and resolved to not let family feel that.

I think this has already been pointed out but you missed a punctuation mark here - "Harry! Dad's alarmed voice broke the deafening silence and I jumped.

NO SCORPIUS DON'T DISTANCE YOURSELF FROM ROSE NOT NOW. Although it does seem fitting that the entire Weasley-Potter family is sitting down and he's in the corner. It sets him apart from everyone else, during a chapter when he seems set apart from them. On another note, why don't they realize that his grandfather is Lucius Malfoy? He's descended from a Death Eater family too. Honestly, I would much rather have this child of Rose's (has that happened yet?) be Scorpius's instead of Stannous/Lestrange's. Scorpius would act as a proper father, while Stannous would probably use them as a way to get at Rose. I guess we'll find out.

I think the Ron in Rose is coming out here, and that was exremely well done. She definitely doesn't want to just sit tight and wait while others put themselves in danger for her, she wants to go out and fight herself. It reminds me of the scene during Malfoy Manor. Also, the flippant remarks - "Does it say 'Rose Weasley will be attacked' or something like that" - definitely something Ron would say.

There was just the right amount of tension in the atmosphere, both at the beginning and then later, at 12 Grimmauld Place. I think it shows a lot about Al's character that he refused to Obliviate Selenia's memories of him being a jerk towards her, and only performed the bare necessities.

Overall, I enjoyed this chapter a lot. It definitely ties in a few things, like Rose's (I believe it was Rose) explanation in an earlier chapter of the fact that Stannous had forged his resume and notes in order to get accepted to Hogwarts. If he had changed his name, presumably to avoid the anti-Death Eater mindset that was probably occurring after Voldemort's death, he would need new documents. Especially if he was applying to Hogwarts solely to get at Rose. I doubt "I want to stalk Ron Weasley's daughter" would look good on a resume.
~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #7, by LightLeviosa5443 Baleful: Rose POV

17th November 2014:
BETH YOU REVEALED IT AND IT WAS WONDERFUL.

Wow there was so much going on in this chapter and silly Sarah was so enthralled she didn't review as she went. Let's see how much I can remember!

I'm totally incredibly impressed with the way you handled so many people and all of their different reactions. You balanced everyone out well, and held true to characterization, and it was impressive that you managed to do so without it feeling like it was too much. It was just right!

Also, I really liked the way that you had Harry agree with Rose. I like that he has the ability to see so clearly and acknowledge when he can't fight the fight anymore. I wish that everyone had realized that Scorpius could also be from the death eater line, though. I mean, wouldn't Ron or Harry of all people remember how close Lucius was? Please tell me that's where you're going with this. (I really need to consult that outline you sent me)

What worries me about this chapter is how distant Scorpius got again. I really don't want the relationship that just started to blossom again to fall apart over this. Especially since Rose is going to need everyone. I'm also REALLY worried about this trip to Hogsmeade. I get the feeling it might not end well, and with Albus and Scorpius away they're just going to beat themselves up.

I absolutely cannot wait for the next chapter! I hope there's update soon! I'm so in love with this story and this magnificently spot on chapter just reaffirmed my love for it all over again!!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hey there again!

I was really, truly taken aback by all these reviews. I get so nervous when someone I really respect and care about reviews my story and I get so elated when they like it! I know it sounds weird, but I know that you will tell me if something seems off.

Harry was wrong. The entire Auror department was wrong to keep this from Rose. They let their overprotective nature and love of her cloud their judgement. And she called them on it. Go Rose!

Yeah, I know Scorpius is an obvious choice. But the Aurors are focusing on finding Stannous and it *might* end up with someone who has a REALLY big brain to figure all of this out. Again, the Aurors are a bit clouded.

Scorpius doesn't have the best coping mechanism. It comes up again and again that he alienates himself when time get tough. He just doesn't know how to deal with the fact that he could possibly lose Rose.

Next chapter is up! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by LightLeviosa5443 Bedlam: Scorpius and Rose POV

17th November 2014:
This chapter has so much emotion and it's so great. I love how I can feel it with every sentence I read and it's believable and well-done. I feel like I'm watching this in my head, not reading it!

I can't imagine what it's like for Scorpius to have to go to Ron and Hermione's not even sure if their daughter is there. Especially since part of why she left is that she was mad at him. Well, everyone, but he is part of everyone. I'm glad that nobody overreacted, though my heart dropped a little for Hermione. Poor thing. Poor Scorpius. I just want to hug everyone, right now.

HAH I CALLED IT IT WAS GINNY. I'm so glad that Ron knew. I like that he knew his daughter enough to know where she would go. You handled that scene really well and it was nice to see the sort of camaraderie between Ron and Scorpius. Even the fact that at the beginning Scorpius wanted to be delicate with the matter because of how he had begun a sort of neutrality with Ron.

I want to just hug Rose. I love how understanding Harry and Ginny are. I wish I had some Harry and Ginny's in my life. Well, you're kind of like Ginny for me ♥ so that works out! I love how Rose just sits on the couch and is mad. There's no shaking her mad. I think the whole thing works so well with the dynamic you have going. Scorpius is unsure and mad at himself, Albus is just mad. Ginny and Hermione and Selenia are protective. Rose is mad, others are confused. They all interact and build with each other and that bombshell you dropped at the end is just perfect.

Like you ended this chapter so marvelously.

I'm sorry that this review was so non-sensical.
It was an incredible chapter.

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Sarah! I'm tearing up! You can't say things like "I'm your Ginny" and not expect me to tear up!!!

Ok. This review was just so awesome and wonderful.

Yeah, Scorpius had to put his Big-Boy pants on for this one. His concern for Rose will always win out over his trepidation of Ron. I don't think Ron is ready to walk Rose down the aisle toward a Malfoy or anything, but I think they have started on some more solid ground here.

Ron *does* know his daughter. Even though he doesn't always know how best to handle her, he knows Rose and also realizes her relationship with her godparents.

I'm so glad that the story played out clearly. It is tough to manage all of the characters, both for this chapter and the next. I even played around with the idea that the three mentees would also be summoned to help (Caesar, Colleen and Kali), but there was NO WAY I could add more people to this scene - haha!

Yee! The cliffhanger worked. The original version had both of these chapters as one and it was just too much until it finally hit me - I need to end with the bombshell.

So, so happy you like this story. There's so much more to come (you already know more than half of it!)

Thanks again sweetie!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by LightLeviosa5443 Boredom: Rose and Scorpius POV

17th November 2014:
Hi Honey! I'm here for our review swap!

I really liked this chapter. The first part of it was filled with a lot of frustration and I honestly could feel that as I read the story. I really liked the way Rose seemed to compartmentalize her thoughts. What she was doing, what she had to do, what she didn't like about her living situation, what she did, the current setting she was in. It was really nice to read and an interesting look into her head. It's definitely got me intrigued for how she's going to handle this oncoming situation. Also, Poor Selenia having to remake that potion again. :P

Oh. Well, that wasn't the solution I was expecting. I don't like the way that Albus is so... Rude. I do like that this part of the chapter is in Scorpius POV. It works really well, because he doesn't have a more logical view of the situation than Rose, but he does have more information than she does, so he's got a very different view on it because of that. And because of his feelings. As mad as I am at how rude Albus is being, I can see their point in not wanting to teach the others some defense tricks. I think there needs to be some middle ground. Rose does need to learn better defense, but she also needs some form of protection.

Um, she just left? Where did she go? Oh god, she's throwing up in some random place. Who is that? Who is the voice? Okay. I've been sitting here for like twenty minutes trying to figure out who the voice is. I can't think of anyone. My first guess is Ginny but then she would be found fast, and she doesn't want to be found, I don't think. But who would she go to?

This was a fantastic chapter, darling! I absolutely loved it! I'm going to have to keep reading because I can't walk away now!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Sarah!

You completely amazing, wonderful, super, special, loving, awesome person! Aaah! I'm still reeling over all of these reviews that warmed my ♥ right up!

I love how you write your reviews and I get an immediate reaction to every part that you read! It's like I can feel your emotions. You have a great intuition with Ginny. Rose isn't completely careless, but she did need to get her point across :)

The boys - Albus especially were really not being very sensitive. I like your word - RUDE. C'mon Albus - let's have a little compassion here!

Thanks again for all these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Elyssia Broken: Rose POV

16th November 2014:
Review Swap!

I have to say, FANTASTIC idea for a story. It's not the usual next-gen story which is very appealing, in my opinion.

I'm not normally a fan of 1st person narrative, but I think it works well with Rose's PTSD from the abduction.

The description of the panic attacks I think are very well done, not many people get them right.

I like how Rose wasn't sorted into Griffindor like the rest of the Weasley clan, and I love everyone's reaction to the sorting hat.

I can't wait to see what happens with her kidnapping, and what happens next in the story. I'm definitely adding this one to my list of stories to read :)

Author's Response: Hello Elyssia!

I'm so glad you like this story! I've got so much more planned for it. Let me know what you think!

That's funny that you mention the POV. I actually alternate first person POV between Rose and Scorpius. I tried writing this story from just her POV and I even tried to write it third person - but it just wouldn't work.

I'm really happy you like the description of the panic attacks. I didn't want them to come off as unrealistic. To me, Rose was always going to be a Ravenclaw. I just wanted her to have that closeness with Albus and Scorpius. The lot of them are really a tight knit group.

Thanks again for this review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by BitterSweetFlames Broken: Rose POV

16th November 2014:
Hi Beth! Doing this for the Ravenclaw BvB battle for November.

I decided to do this chapter because I officially love this story and wanted to let you know. I promise that I will get to reviewing more but for now here I am.

I mentioned it in my review of a later chapter but I love "Get up, wash, get dressed, class, rounds, study." It just speaks to the psyche of someone who's been abused or been through a genuinely traumatic event that even just living day to day becomes such a chore.

Your fic is strong for getting that across. Rose is bruised, she is hurt but she is also doing what a lot of victims do -- she's keeping it to herself. You feel sorry for her and you want to help her and you know how hard it's going to be to help her.

And you find yourself rooting so heavily for Rose. She's a Ravenclaw and I'm so happy you did her that way. I mean, Hermione was almost a Claw (like us) so it's obvious why Rose was there.

I love that you wrote Severus and Albus as Claws (and no, I am not biased at all!). It puts a whole 'nother dimension to their characters. You instantly make them unique and likable (ok, I am obvs biased!) But, yes, I love the anecdotes during sorting. McGonagall falling over? PRECIOUS.

Anyway, this is a really well-written fic. I love the touches of humor laced with the heart-breaking. It lends a realism to the whole thing that makes it wonderful to just read.

That's it, love! Much loves.

--Carla

Author's Response: Carla,

I can't even express how happy I am that you love this story. I would love to hear what you think of the rest of it!

Rose IS bruised. That is a great "b" word by the way. I've been having a bit of trouble coming up with chapter titles and "bruised" would be great! I will credit you if I end up using it!

Yeah, my head canon is that Rose is a Ravenclaw. I felt like making Albus and Scorpius Ravenclaws would solidify the friendship between the three. They all felt a little bit "different" from their famous parents and the rest of their families - it bonded them.

Thanks again Carla - your reviews are awesome!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by BitterSweetFlames Befuddled: Rose AND Scorpius POV

15th November 2014:
Hiya Beth! Carla (SkitsandBits from the forums) here for our review swap. Sorry it took so long... If I am honest (and I am), I got caught up in reading and kept clicking >> that I forgot to review. I promise I'll review more when NaNo isn't eating my time but I thought this was a good place to leave a review.

So.. "Skurmis hi yow narken?" -- That was my most favorite line. Because it sort of sums up the way the two feel about each other. Tongue-tied, tense, walking on egg shells. I love this story because you manage to perfectly characterize Scorpius and Rose (and just everybody!) that they feel closer to me; like they're my friends, my family and I know them and they know me too. (I sound creepy, don't mind me)

I also especially love this chapter because they're together finally! Poor doves, they deserve one another and I'm so glad they can finally get some peace and love and, well, you know.. -raised eyebrows-. lol

This story fascinates me because the plot is so interesting. A new dark wizard, really? That's horrifying. I mean, what happened to him? How is he going to end?

Also, what Rose went through was terrifying. The way you wrote her reactions to it was spot on. Her keeping it to herself, I think, is the perfect reaction because most victims tend to go inward rather than outward. Her mantra at the start, Get up, get dressed, rounds, study (I might be getting it wrong since I'm typing from memory) but it's the sort of thing anyone in a bad situation has done. Drag their feet in doing something and pray the day would just end. You made me totally empathize for the first line and that's the power of your words.

Anyway, I will continue reading (when I get the time!) and will definitely leave you more reviews soon.

--Carla

Author's Response: CARLA!

OMG! Your reviews are so completely and utterly amazing! I just didn't know how to respond to this - sorry I took so long! I'm just squeeing and jumping around that you like my story. Thanks ♥

I had so much fun writing the jibberish lines for Rose - haha.

That is NOT creepy at all - it is so heartwarming to hear that you feel so close to my characters. Whee!

I agree - they really DO deserve one another! I think it's more than that - they NEED one another.

Haha - yeah, it was high time for some *raised eyebrows*

Stannous is pretty dark and his is pure evil. I hope the plot keeps you guessing!

Thanks for the compliment about Rose's dealing with her trauma. That was really important to me. I didn't want it to seem fake or contrived at all.

I'm still just grinning all over the place form this review. I think we should do more swaps!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan Bent: Rose POV

14th November 2014:
I read the first chapter of this a while ago and am super glad this review swap reminded me to come back!

Hmm, this chapter gives no further indication than the previous one about what mysterious event happened in Rose's past. I had thought it was something that happened to Scorpius but seeing he is perfectly fine and apparently not suffering any panic attacks as Rose does, I'm stumped. And something tells me that there will be quite a few chapters of mystery before it's all revealed :p

I love the relationship between Scorpius and Rose and how they really seem to understand one another. They're cute. The conversation they were imagining between Molly II and Wolfram was quite funny, it really seemed that Rose was managing very well despite being in a loud, overstimulating place that makes her uncomfortable. When she left to get drinks I had a bad feeling about it and then that creep showed up! Who is he! How did he get in? ugghh. Poor Rose, it must have been so awful for her :(

the scene where she and Scorpius are both changing their shirts and then Albus comes in (also shirtless) was so hilarious because it just felt like such an out of place scene and so ridiculous, and I love how Rose thought the same (why don't we just invite Nana Molly and call it Christmas? - brilliant XD)

I am really curious about what happened and whether the man that attacked Rose at the party is in some way connected to the events of two years ago.

Your narrative voice is wonderful and I'm really enjoying this story! Thanks for the swap :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Review swaps are awesome for coming back to stories, aren't they? We should do more of them!

The only information at this point in the story about Rose is that she was kidnapped and tortured for six days at her Hogwarts graduation. But that's it.

Scorpius... well, that's another story. His trauma is revealed in the next chapter (I hope you'll be back for more at some point :)

Yay - you picked up on the Rose/Scorpius connection. They don't see it as clearly as everyone else does - haha! Scorpius calms her down - even when she is in an uncomfortable situation. Like you said, they've got a connection. Yeah, that guy was a serious creep, wasn't he? Hmmm... suspicious huh?

Sorry if that scene seemed a bit too out of place, but I thought we needed a bit of comic relief after the jerk showed up. I also wanted to show how much clearer Rose can think around Scorpius.

Squee! I'm smiling from ear to ear. I apologize for taking so long to respond. It really was a very lovely review. :)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by CambAngst Baleful: Rose POV

12th November 2014:
Hi, Beth! I read this chapter as soon as it was posted and, well, you know how the process of making time goes. Better late than never. :)

First off, I have a big picture reaction. I'm sure a lot of readers come to this story because of the genres and main pairing and they're expecting more of a traditional Rose-Scorpius love story. I absolutely love the fact that you've taken things in a different direction. I love that you're not afraid to put the love story on the back burner for a few chapters and allow this very deep, complicated plot surrounding Stannous and the prophecy to develop. Whatever ultimately happens between Scorpius and Rose -- I have my strong suspicions, but I shall remain open-minded ;) -- will be so much more meaningful because of the powerful elements of mystery and danger. Bravo!

The first time I read through this, something was bugging me about Hermione's reaction to the prophecy and I couldn't quite put my finger on it. On a second reading, I think what it's missing is a brief dose of skepticism. Hermione was never the sort to accept Divination at face value. But she also knows from first-hand experience that prophecies -- real ones -- are powerful things. I think Hermione's reaction was a great way to bring home the gravity of the prophecy if she had been a little more reluctant to accept it as genuine. Once Harry and Ron are able to convince her that it's real, I like the way that it leaves her shaken.

The prophecy itself was awesome. I was speculating that it had something to do with Rose and the Lestranges, but you made it so much deeper. For one thing, it is somewhat ambiguous. I could see this going different ways. It was definitely ambiguous enough to give Stannous a very different interpretation from what I'm thinking. For another, it's about Rose's child, so it's like you have a built-in sequel. Yay!

The scene where Rose finds her determination not to let Stannous win was really well done. It had a few bumps, a few near setbacks, but in the end those only made her stronger. It was great to see the family rally around a new cause. I enjoyed the role that each character played, including James with his little bits of comic relief. Rose was simply awesome at the end, when she picks him to duel with. Scorpius's reaction also made perfect sense to me. He's too close to the situation and too emotional to be able to get a grip so quickly. I hope he comes around soon enough, like the others seem convinced that he will. I wouldn't want to go too long without coming back to the love story. ;)

I thought the scene back at Grimmauld Place had a really good balance to it. It was too early to throw Rose and Scorpius back into each other's arms and you gave them one, brief moment just to show that they're still able to communicate a bit and left it at that. It will do for now. Everyone is obviously upset with everyone else. You added some real depth to Albus's character in this chapter. The blow-out with Selenia and the fact he had to take her memories really hurt him. Not that I want to see him hurt, mind you, it was just very well written.

Ooh, the cloak! I wonder what sort of trouble Rose is going to get into with that? Or out of? Actually, I'd prefer out of to into.

I think I saw one lonely little typo in this chapter:

"Harry! Dad's alarmed voice broke the deafening silence and I jumped. -- You missed your closing quotation marks after "Harry!".

Great job!

Author's Response: Hiya Dan,

Just getting around to answering this - so sorry, but, as you said - the whole making "time" thing is a bit tricky.

*Breathes a sigh of relief* I'm so glad you liked this chapter. It is the crux of the story. I really wanted this story to be more than just a ScoRose (yeah, I said it) love story. I feel like the best stories have more than just a love story to guide it. I really wanted to show that Scorpius and Rose were connected on a deeper, magical level. But that can't happen without some other, deeper stuff going on!

So - I agree that something was off about the chapter. I read through it so many times and I ran through a bunch of scenarios. I was focused on Albus - I was'nt sure if his reaction was realistic. I also thought he might try to run home to Selenia the first chance he got. I settled on the way it was originally written because I thought he would stay for Rose's sake and be there for her, until he felt she was alright with everything. But I think you're on to something with Hermione. I'll have to look at it again. Hermione usually goes for skeptical first, but she was just informed that her daughter was missing...

Eeep! So glad you like the prophecy. Sequel? I actually hadn't thought of that. I'm still trying to muddle through this one!

Yay! Rose is standing up for herself - as she should. Harry and Ron really were treating her differently than their other cases. She is right on this one. She is of age, and has the right to make her own decisions.

Yeah - Scorp can't take this. Rose is his everything. And she knows that and understands enough to give him the space he needs, but is *finally* fighting for what she needs.

Albus is the epitome of Weasley passion first, ask questions later. Selenia is his true other half, but everyone crosses the line at some point. She can't let this go - yet.

Yeah the cloak - put that in your back pocket. It comes out later on :)

Off to fix my typo! Thanks so much for this awesome review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by UnluckyStar57 Befuddled: Rose AND Scorpius POV

9th November 2014:
Ahah! You've responded to all my reviews, so here's another one. :D

This is also for the November BvB Review Battle, and because I'm procrastinating on homework (as usual). So here we go!

Whoohoo! Okay, so I was glad to read about Albus and Harry's conversation, especially since Albus is taking some more responsibility for his actions and Harry isn't being quite as hard on him. Great development there!

The five of them living at Grimmauld Place is pretty interesting. It's super stupid of Ron to resist Scorpius and Rose living together, because Scorpius is good for Rose and vice versa, but what can you do about silly parents? It is very honorable of Scorpius to sleep in the same room as Rose without trying to wrangle the situation to his advantage--even though the tension between them is ever-increasing and oh-so-wonderful. Even though you didn't give a whole lot of background on their developing relationship in previous chapters, this chapter totally made up for it--you were right! I really loved this one. :)

Having two different PoVs in one chapter was pretty cool, too. This way, I got to see both Rose and Scorpius in their most volatile moments. And man, were there EVER some misconceptions! They better make good on that promise to "never not talk," because all that ridiculous "He doesn't love me anymore" stuff is just NOT OKAY! D:

Ooooh, I see what you did there! I see it! I'm fond of reading things backwards, after all. So that was quite a clever spell, and I'm glad that Scorpius would do something like that for Rose. :)

Another great chapter! Sorry the review isn't quite up-to-snuff, but I should seriously stop procrastinating... (Haha, that probably won't happen.)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi, hi, hi!

I didn't want so much time to go by to respond to this - like before :( - so here I am!

Al and Harry are working through it. I think it is *really* hard to be Harry's son and an auror - even if he doesn't call you out or have a different set of expectations. They'll get there, they just have to keep working on it.

Ron can *not* get past his prejudices of the Malfoys. A lot of it stems from the fact that Hermione was brutally tortured with Draco as a witness. The aftermath that ensued from that was too much for Ron to bear.

Actually, there are six living at Grimmauld Place - sorry if that was confusing: James, Scorpius, Albus, Rose, Dom and Selenia. But I think it's going to be fun - I know *I* would love to live with that lot!

At this point, Scorpius is still unsure of how to deal with Rose. He wants to be there for her, and he is doing that the only way he knows how - by standing idly by and waiting for her to let him know she is ready to resume their relationship. Unfortunately, Rose sees that as him not being interested anymore - and then we have a giant misunderstanding that snowballs.

So happy you liked this chapter!! :)

At first, I really didn't want to do the two POV thing. I felt like I was breaking from my one POV per chapter, but it really worked here, especially since we needed to see how they were *both* misinterpreting the other's actions!

The "never not talking again" thing is a great concept - unfortunately, it's not something they are going to get past right away - you'll see ;)

OMG! I'm running around the room and sqeeing and yay, yay, YAY! You are the first person to notice what I did with the spell! Woot! GOLD STAR FOR MALLORY!!! Seriously, this chapter first posted nearly six months ago and has eight reviews and you are the first! The fact that the spell worked at all reveals a lot about the connection between Rose and Scorpius. ♥

What are you saying? This review is awesome! Thanks so much! I really look forward to each one that you leave, because I want to know what you think about the story!

Thanks again,

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #16, by MargaretLane Baleful: Rose POV

6th November 2014:
Yikes, this is one long chapter. But hopefully we'll get some answers. This whole thing is intriguing.

I can DEFINITELY see why Rose is freaked out by Hermione's response. It's not like Hermione to show her concern so visibly and with her being Rose's MOTHER, she's bound to find it even weirder, as we tend to see our parents as invincible.

I'm with Harry on this one. Rose can't really fully protect herself if she doesn't know what it is she needs protection from. Besides which, I feel she has a moral right to know.

I think that moment when Rose is relived to know she is the one in danger and not Lily says a lot about her. It kind of amuses me actually, because it is EXACTLY the way my Rose would be likely to react.

I think it's fairly clear SCORPIUS will be the father of the child. Lucius Malfoy was at Voldemort's right hand and Scorpius is Rose's boyfriend. I'm sort of surprised none of the characters have considered this possibility. Or maybe they have and just don't want to say it to Rose, in case it puts too much pressure on her and Scorpius. Like "we are destined to be together, so we can't break up even if things don't work out" or "the only way to make Stannous lose interest is for us to have a child RIGHT NOW, even if we're not ready to be parents yet."

What I don't understand is if Stannous wants to ensure he and Rose have a child together, why use a spell that should have killed her?

And I agree with Rose that they were wrong to keep this from her. And Harry in particular should have known better. I think Dumbledore was justified in keeping the prophecy from Harry until he was 15, because I think telling an 11 year old about a prophecy like that would give them little choice about walking away. But there is a difference between keeping something from somebody until they are 15 and keeping it from a young adult. And even keeping it from Harry that long contributed to Sirius's death.

I really like the way you show Rose again having a mini-panic attack. Even though she has greatly recovered from where she was at the beginning of the story, she's not going to recover overnight and the kind of pressure she's under now - between the fight with Scorpius, finding out about the prophecy and the constant threat from Stannous - is bound to add to her problems.

She is a very strong person though. She has an awful lot to deal with and she's coping pretty well all in all.

Oh, one thing I noticed is that you've written none of Dominique's "boyfriend's had ever last long." There shouldn't be an apostrophe before the "s" in "boyfriends".

And *laughs at her casually mentioning she has to obliviate her boyfriend* Poor Dom.

I'm glad Al only obliviated the part about the prophecy. I think obliviating the fact she was annoyed with him would be kind of creepy. Especially if it made her change her mind about sleeping in her own room. Actually, obliviate could be used in some really creepy ways, like somebody obliviating their boyfriend or girlfriend's knowledge that they cheated on them.

OH, I'd forgotten the Invisibility Cloak. YES, that is PERFECT.

OK, I REALLY didn't expect the revelations that came out here. I don't know what I was expecting, but I thought it would relate more to something Rose herself was destined to do, that Stannous wanted to STOP her from doing.

This is really surprising and really original. I've never read anything like it.

Author's Response: Hello!

I love, love, love getting you reviews because you always find all the little things that I put into the story. Plus, you always notice the characters' motivations and where they are coming from. I always read through what you've written and I breathe a heavy sigh and say - okay - I did alright. I know that sounds weird, but I really like getting feedback to know how I'm doing. I don't have any formal training with writing - except the required courses in high school, so I really rely on any sort of comment or recommendation. I guess, I'm really just saying "THANK YOU!!"

Yes - we do see our parents as invincible and Rose is no exception. Added to the fact that until very recently, Hermione didn't ever reveal anything about her own experiences to Rose.

I also agree about keeping it from Rose. She has every right to be demanding about this - and also a right to know about it. That was a serious error in judgement on the part of the Aurors - Harry included. At least he is willing to do the right thing now.

I agree about how Rose reacts to hearing that it isn't Lily. She really *is* brave and shows it here. She would rather take on the burden herself than see another person hurt.

Ok. So Stannous kidnapped her to confirm that Rose was indeed the mother in the prophecy. He let her go because he needed time to build up his "empire." He's been working on that since Hogwarts. Since he is Bellatix's son, he is certain that he is the father and now needs to get to Rose - for obvious reasons.

Haha - hold on to your thoughts on Scorpius ;)

Thanks for finding that - I'll fix the error.

I've always though obliviating would be misused by many, many witches and wizards. I also think that even if you were using it for the right reasons (like Al and Dom), it would be really tempting to take advantage.

Yay! I'm so glad you like the invisibility cloak idea - she's gonna need it!

Thanks so much! I really wanted to write a story that was different from the other's I'd read - so thanks again! ♥

Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by UnluckyStar57 Back to the Beginning: Rose POV

5th November 2014:
Hi Beth! I'm here for the November BvB Review Battle, as usual! :D

Wow, this WAS a long chapter, but that's okay! It was totally worth reading, and I think that it ended exactly where it needed to end. :)

Okay, so the million-dollar question here is: WHY was Stannous able to break the security spells on Rose's flat?! Does he have some sort of residual connection with her from his kidnapping of her? Ugh, I hope not...

This chapter was really loaded as far as the horror and angst goes, and there was some TOTALLY OBVIOUS tension between Harry and Al (which is always interesting to read--usually it's James who has daddy issues). I hate it for Rose that she had to listen to the recapitulation of the events AND show Harry her scars on top of that. She obviously just wants things to go "back to normal," as evidenced by the repetition of her little mantra from chapter one (I totally recognized that, by the way, and I think the chapter title is completely perfect!). Still, I'm glad that Scorpius was able to convince her to tell Harry about it.

Speaking of Scorpius and Rose... D'aw! They had some really great moments in this chapter, angst notwithstanding. It just goes to show that they are a couple that is meant to last, even though they have some serious problems to work through first (namely, Stannous). It's going to be really interesting to see how their relationship develops as they live in 12 Grimmauld Place together.

As always, I love your writing! This story keeps getting more intense as the chapters go on, and I am in awe of your ability to write about a complicated matter without sacrificing the sweet moments of everyday life (speaking of, I forgot to mention how awesome Harry and Rose's embrace was. Pure amazingnes). Thanks for being awesome! :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm all warm and fuzzy inside from this review - thank you so much!

That *is* the million-dollar question, isn't it. Ooo - I like your idea that they have a connection because of the kidnapping (sorry, that isn't it - I'm not nearly that clever).

Harry and Al are sorting through their stuff. That can't be fixed over night, but I don't think Harry could overlook Al being downright irresponsible when the most wanted wizard shows up and attempts another kidnapping. And Al does think he knows best - even when he doesn't.

Yes - Rose and Scorp are meant to last ♥

And Rose did the right thing - telling Harry. She's in obvious danger at this point. I look forward to all your reviews and I can NOT wait to hear what you think of the next chapter.

Thank you so, so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by lindslo2012 Breakout: Rose POV

28th October 2014:
Hey Beth,

I am back for more!!! :)

So, I am glad that Rose is 'back'. It is so cool how the two of them were just really good friends and then suddenly they realized, holy crap, they really like and might even love each other.
Sometimes I forget about what happened to Scorpius, of course he isn't very happy, his parents died!

The two of them are so perfect for each other. I like also how you don't always make it all about them though, too. Like how you mention Albus and his girlfriend, and then James and his, and also how you mention what else is going on with the family and not always just talking about the two of them. If I'm writing a love story I am pretty bad at just talking about the two people it revolves around. But I am trying to get better at talking about others.

Well dang, the death eaters are back... and they are after... Rose?
I didn't see this coming! What a twist! They were all just having a good time and all of a sudden they barge in. Well darn, I bet Rose feels this is why she doesn't go out, lol.

Great job!
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi there Lindsey!

Gah - thanks so much for this review! I completely agree about Rose and Scorpius. They didn't totally see what everyone else did - that they are made for each other. Geez, it took them long enough to figure it out - haha!

I have all of the relationships worked out in my head. Not just the romantic ones, but the friend and family ones as well. I'm glad to see that it all plays out because sometimes I'm not sure if I'm getting the right balance in my words as it is in my head.

Yeah - bad news is coming. Rose appears to be a target. I can't wait to hear what you think about the next few chapters!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by Paddlewaddle Bedlam: Scorpius and Rose POV

27th October 2014:
I feel a little embarrassed to be thanked - I should be thanking you for giving us such a wonderful story. Exam period is soon so the distraction is very welcome and I'm sorry for reviewing so late!

So Rose actually floo-ed to Harry's house. I totally did not think of that either considering how close she and Harry are as well - Rose must feel a it betrayed and hurt that things are being kept from her and Harry is in such a difficult position trying to treat this case as any other while sticking to protocol. I feel for the boys, I really do because they are torn between duty/loyalty to their job and keeping Rose safe, and their families. I'm saddened to see Albus and Selenia's relationship brought to a grinding halt and I hope there are no lasting repercussions for them cause they are the cutest couple here even though we only hear from them in a third person view. And a new prophecy? double bombshell oh my gawd D:

I can't wait to see the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

Sorry for the late response. Aww, you're too cute, but I wanted you to know that I look forward to each of your reviews - it is so exciting to hear that someone is enjoying my story!

Yeah - Rose went to Harry's. She feels a bit closer to him than Ron and I think doesn't feel like she is running to "Mummy and Daddy" but can still get away. Besides, Harry is a bit more understanding than Ron.

It really is a sticky situation, but Rose should be treated like an adult - she has the right to make her own decisions. As for Al and Selenia - well... they have a little bit to work through (and I agree, they are TOTALLY adorable :))

More about the prophecy in the next chapter.

Thanks again for ALL your reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by diversrock Bedlam: Scorpius and Rose POV

26th October 2014:
Looking forward to the rest! Loving it so far...

Author's Response: Thanks!

It was awesome to log in and see this review! The next chapter is going into the queue this week! Let me know what you think!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by BellaLestrange87 Besotted: Rose POV

25th October 2014:
Beth, this isn't so much a review as an analysis of this chapter. Be warned.

This Stannous guy sounds like a monster that would be right at home alongside Bellatrix Lestrange and Voldemort himself. It's not like the normal Cruciatus Curse is bad enough, he has to use the updated version. Just imagine the fun Bellatrix would've had with that. I'm also wondering what he wanted with Rose. Either Stannous hurt her like that to get back at her parents for something or she made a very determined enemy during her time at Hogwarts or shortly after she left it. I could be wrong, but he sounds like he's older, around Harry and Ron's age.

It saddens me to see Rose letting those scars rule her life. I think that if Stannous wanted to kill her, he would've, but he didn't. It sounds lik he was trying to send a message, or deliver one right to her. Rose doesn't mention if she did anything to make anyone mad at her, so it probably wasn't revenge for something she did. Also, if Stannous was trying to let her die from the effects of the curse, he wouldn't have left those healing herbs and potions in the room when he was done.

I think the Hermione in Rose is coming out here as well. Rose doesn't mention what Bellatrix did to Hermione in Malfoy Manor, so I'm going to guess she doesn't know, but it sounds eerily similar, and I think they both pulled through. Admittedly, we didn't find out if Bellatrix left any marks from her curses on Hermione (we know about the word "Mudblood" that she carved into Hermione's arm, but that's it). Also, having to clean up after parties hosted by James and all his friends/relatives sounds a lot like Hermione pushing Harry and Ron to do their homework and basically making sure they passed.

Rose shouldn't be blaming herself for forgetting about the anniversary of the death of Scorpius's parents. As she herself points out, she had a lot of other things on her mind from the guy (Stannous? Although she probably would've recognised him) who tried to kidnap her the night before to her scars. I wonder if that's how Scorpius deals with his parents' deaths: drinking to excess or if it's just remains from the party from last night. Either way, he should definitely not have so much next time. Anyways, he's definitely channelling a lot of residual hatred against his dad. What did Draco possibly do to make Scorpius that mad at him, five years after he died?

I'd say that the way Rose realized she actually like Scorpius is cute, but it's not. Admittedly, I think that Albus shouldn't have been as mad as he was, since Rose and Scorpius weren't dating at that time (although, since Rose has admitted she likes Scorpius and Scorpius basically just admitted he likes Rose, they're probably going to at some point in this novel).

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi there Olivia!

Haha - thanks for the warning :)

Stannous is a monster. Yup. Pretty bad dude. I really like your thoughts on him - and you're right. He didn't kill Rose for a reason. He could've.

Keep reading for more about Hermione and Rose. I doesn't happen for a while and, at this point in the story, Rose does NOT know about what her mother went through. I though about this a bit when I was writing this story and, while I don't think the trio would intentionally hide large parts about the war from their kids, I don't think they would be discussing it regularly, either.

The guy from the part wasn't Stannous - but, I like your thinking. He is definitely suspicious.

Yeah, I think deep down, Scorpius blames his dad for a lot of things. Draco was distant with Scorpius, and Scorp never knew why. Then he died and there is some residual grief and hatred and just disappointment and it all becomes too much for the poor guy.

Yeah, Albus needs to keep his temper in check. He is best friends with Scorpius, but SUPER protective of Rose - above everything else.

Keep reading to find out more about Rose and Scorp. And thank you so, so much for this (and all) review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by BellaLestrange87 Bereft: Scorpius POV

25th October 2014:
Review tag!

I was going to review this chapter anyway since I felt kind of guilty after not reviewing Chapter 3, so I was really excited to see you'd been the last to post in the Review Tag thread.

I find it really hard to believe that Draco and Astoria were killed from a kitchen accident, and the way you wrote it makes it seem like Scorpius doesn't believe it either. Personally, I think they were murdered, maybe or maybe not by the same person that tried to grab Rose in Chapter 2, who may or may not be the same person who caused her PTSD.

You wrote Scorpius's reaction to his parents death really well. The fact that he's blaming himself for something that wasn't his fault and punishing himself for having his last words to him parents being argumentative are entirely realistic. He sounds dulled and shocked, and since he's just lost both of his parents (rather suddenly too) he no doubt would be.

I like how Rose and Albus are the first ones outside the Greengrass family to visit Scorpius after the "accident" (because I still don't believe it was one). If they were as close to him as the first and second chapters imply, then they would be. From the previous chapter, we know Scorpius likes Rose, and we know that Rose likes Scorpius, although she might not want to admit it. If Rose been feeling really bad for Scorpius then she would rush him like that and let everything pour out.

Since I've lost a few people I've been close to (thankfully only a few), I know how it feels to try and hold yourself together and go through daily life. Then someone caring (Rose) comes along and breaks the wall you (Scorpius) have built by showing concern. This is amazingly written.

It definitely does look like something is going on between Rose and Scorpius, or at least that's how an overprotective father would see it. At least they're wearing clothes. (Or half-wearing, in Rose's case.)

That line, about the toilet, sounds like something that Harry or Ron would say. *laughs* I also can't think of any CC to come up with.

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi there Olivia!

Thanks so much for all of these reviews. I love them and I love hearing your predictions and thoughts on the story.

I don't want to give too much away, but I like your thinking on Scorpius's parents. It does seem a little too convenient to be a kitchen accident - doesn't it :) Although, I will say that Scorpius kind of just accepts this - he is too busy dealing with his grief to think about much else.

SO EXCITED YOU LIKE THE LINE ABOUT THE TOILET!!! I laughed SO hard when I wrote that and you are the first one to mention it! I thought that it would be just the perfect amount of snippiness from Rose to her father after his accusations. Although, you are correct, Ron should be a little concerned. It didn't look like a very innocent scene - haha!

Thanks for the comment about writing Scorpius's grief realistically. I've also lost some loved ones and I was pretty much writing from experience, so it felt good to hear that was conveyed in this story.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by UnluckyStar57 Bombarda Maxima: Scorpius POV

21st October 2014:
Holy... wow. More loaded chapter-ness!

Good gosh, this is review 250 for this story. I'd better make this a good one!

So... There was so much aggression, so much anger from Al and Scorpius, and through their awful rage, I could really see how their own pasts were impacting the feelings of guilt that they were having about Rose and Stannous. Scorpius has had a pretty messed up life, and Albus has a few daddy issues to worry about. They love Rose, but they were too wrapped up in themselves to really question the damage that Stannous did to her in the past. This chapter is the unveiling, the revelation of that particular mystery, and now that their eyes are opened, they feel terrible. I loved how united they were in those moments, vowing to protect Rose and seek out Stannous and his gang in order to exact revenge for Rose's suffering.

Ugh, the encounter with Stannous had a bigger impact on Rose than you let on in the previous chapter! Convulsions, vomiting, blacking out, et cetera--that's something that sounds truly terrible to experience, and even though she didn't feel any pain after she blacked out, it must have been scary. I don't blame Dom for telling Scorpius and Al to back off! After all, they have no idea what to do to help Rose. Destroying the Forest of Dean is pretty much their only way to release their frustrations!

Over all, this was a really awesome chapter. There were so many raw emotions there, especially with Al and Scorpius in the forest. One thing that I would recommend to you is that you maybe put a little more description into Rose's whole convulsion/fainting scene. It feels a little bit sparse compared to the massive picture that you paint during the boys' scene. Playing up the drama is never a bad thing (usually)! Also, just be sure to check your verb tenses and spelling whenever you edit. There was nothing major, but as always, it's nice to go back and catch the little things that you miss when first posting a chapter. :)

Brilliant work! I will continue reviewing this story whenever I find the time and/or get a chance to catch you in the Review Battle! :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Yay!

250 reviews - thank you so much! *dances around the room*

Yeah - this chapter is a giant ball of emotion. It was actually the first thing I wrote for the story and most of it stayed intact.

Good point about their pasts affecting their reactions. They are feeling so much guilt and rage that it just had to come out. They both love Rose so much - and the fact that they didn't know the whole truth about her kidnapping is haunting them.

Dom and Selenia were pretty much the same, although they chose to deal with it differently. They needed Rose to feel safe and calm. Knowing the temper that Al has and the way Scorp feels so connected to Rose, they just wanted to let them deal with it first before they could be effective at helping her. You'll see in the next chapter that the boys are still a little lost as to how best to do that...

Thanks for the tips - I'll give it a look over with the edits you suggested. And I can't wait to see what you think as the story unfolds!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by UnluckyStar57 Besieged: Rose POV

21st October 2014:
Oh my... Loaded chapter alert! D:

I'm finally coming back to give you two more reviews--that 250 mark is looming closer for this story! :D And I'm so glad that I helped you catch that chapter mix-up last night--it was just a bit confusing for me when I read it the first time. :P

Okay, so things are starting to happen to Rose, and I'm really starting to see the reason for her various neuroses throughout the first few chapters. Stannous was obviously a creep and a pedophile of some sort, and that is NOT okay. Of course, he was probably more than just a pedophile--I can picture him having the goal of world domination in mind--but for some reason, he zeroed in on Rose as a target for his sadistic fantasies. Like, ew. That is some twisted stuff, but it adds so much intrigue to the storyline! How did you come up with this sinister baddie, and how do you write him torturing Rose with a clear conscience?! (Just kidding--every good story needs an antagonist. Yours just happens to be SUPER creepy.) :)

Well, at least Rose and Scorpius's relationship is going swimmingly. :) I'm so glad that they finally admitted their long-lasting feelings for each other and that they're able to establish some sort of closeness, despite all of the emotional/mental baggage that they both have. The description of Rose's happiness at seeing Scorpius is really cute, and I'm so glad that they get to have a few moments of fun and lurve before Stannous steps in to complicate matters...

However, I found myself wanting more Rose/Scorpius interaction after the last chapter. Because of Scorpius's arranged meeting with Rose, I expected to see that arranged meeting and the exact situation that came from it. By starting this chapter several days later, I feel like I missed a little bit of the story. But that's just kind of a personal preference for me, I think. I mean, I get the idea that they would've been like, "I lurve you so much," but I kind of wanted to see it happen. Ah well, what you've written is enough--romance sort of has to take a backseat to action, anyway.

A few notes on semantics:

Parts of this chapter are in present tense, which doesn't seem to make sense within the context of the past tense narration that encompasses the majority of the story. Perhaps that's something to look over when you get a chance to edit. :)

Also, a few of the spells were not spelled (lol, a pun) correctly, and that's not a huge deal, but I thought I should point it out. (I'm a big fan of spelling, sorry.) Maybe check out the Lexicon when you edit, just to make sure you get the spelling right.

Other than that, I have no complaints about this chapter. It really furthered the action along, and it made me want to read more! (Which is what I will be doing as soon as I finish typing this review.) I can't wait to see what will be done about the whole Stannous situation, especially if he's been stalking Rose like a total weirdo.

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hiya!

I'm so excited that you wanted to give be the 250th review and thank you so much for catching the error - I think I did that by accident one day on the ipad - it's so easy to accidentally click the up or down arrow. Anyway, I'm eternally grateful for the catch!

Haha - I think I came up with him because I wanted the next gen to have their own version of Voldemort. In my mind, the story doesn't end with Harry and Voldy. I like your thoughts on world domination - keep that in the back of your mind :)

Haha - I know how you feel about wanting the Scorose interaction - and I totally agree. But, as I mentioned in my last response I was trying to show that their relationship at this point is still superficial because Rose hasn't been as open with Scorpius as she should be. Not really her fault, but she needs to give him a bit more credit.

Also (as I mentioned before) I hope that I don't disappoint with the Scorose interactions that happen later on in the story. I seriously can't wait until you get to those parts! Eeep!

I'm going to look at editing it right now. I love all your suggestions and I know that sometimes I get messed up with the tenses. Thanks so much, because I really want the story to be the best it can be :)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by UnluckyStar57 Better: Rose POV

20th October 2014:
Hi Beth! I noticed that ASLTW is only 3 reviews away from 250, so I'm pretty set on giving you that 250th review. And I'm just procrastinating again, so here we go! :D

Okay, so the first part of this chapter involved so much "D'aw"-ing from me. My roommate is sitting in the living room with me, and she was really confused. But I had to "D'aww" because THE ROSE AND HARRY DYNAMIC IS SO CUTE!!! It absolutely never occurred to me to think about what sort of relationship they might have, and this is totally headcanon for me now. Like, in most Next Gen fanfic, you don't see a lot of the Next Gen gang relating to their elders in a way that isn't bad/sad/angsty, so I'm incredibly surprised and pleased to see such an adorable relationship between Rose and Harry. Sad to say, though, it seems as though Harry gets along better with her than he gets along with Albus. :P Ah well...

And I must admit, I was a little bit disappointed that you didn't write about the weekend that Rose and Scorpius spent together, but maybe they're going to talk about it in the next chapter? I don't know... But when you started this chapter out with Rose and then connected it to the action from the last chapter, I was like, "DANG, THAT SEGWAY THOUGH!" (Yes, it is necessary to use shouty capitals.) I was just incredibly impressed with how you connected Rose's PoV to Scorpius's PoV. So tell me, how do you do that? Do you write several chapters from Rose's PoV and then go back and fill in Scorpius's part (or vice versa)? Do you just write in alternating PoVs? Impart knowledge unto me, o wise one! :D

...Maybe it's too late for me to be writing reviews... Oh well.

Anyways, super cute and marvelously fab chapter. I can't wait to read about Rose and Scorpius's meeting!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi there!

*I'm* the one totally "D'aw"-ing over all these reviews! Thank you so much! I'm just so excited that you like my story and I really, really appreciate all of your notes!

I thought a lot about the relationship between the parents and next gen kids when writing this story. I intentionally set it after they graduated from Hogwarts, because I wanted them to have some interactions.

I also thought that Ron would be really awkward with his daughter - especially as she got older. He would probably just not know how to deal with her. Harry, on the other hand, is a little more removed from being Rose's parent and can have a different relationship with her.

Sorry about the lack of the cute weekend - I *promise* there is some serious Scorose scenes coming up - haha! first of all, I really wanted to move the story along and secondly - I wanted it to seem like their relationship was going a little *too* easily. Rose hasn't been forthcoming with Scorpius about her past and you can't really commit wholly to someone without being honest - especially about something this big. At least that's the message I wanted to send - haha!

Umm... I'm not sure how I do it... I think that I just sort of put myself in their place when I'm writing. And I've been really, really worried that Scorpius's voice sounds too much like Rose's. So I really, really *really* appreciate the vote of confidence on that. I actually tried to write the story form her POV only, but it just wouldn't work. So - I guess the story sort of demanded the two POVs.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>