438 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Aphoride Broken: Rose POV

20th May 2015:
Hey Beth! :) Stopping by for our review pairing!

You know, it's weird how I've been by your page so many times, but never onto this (it's coz it's so long and all, partly; I think I could never catch up :P), when it's so famous, really, and so good. Anyway, I'm here now! :)

I love the way you opened this - the mystery and uncertainty immediately at the beginning, with the panic attack where we don't know who the character is or what's quite going on, is so so powerful, and a brilliant hook! It's like, I already feel sorry for her from the beginning, you know, and want her to get better and feel better about herself - and to know what happened in the cabin which started all of this! And who Stannous is... pretty sure I'm not going to like him already :P

Also, I gotta say quickly - I saw the chapter list and the line of B words made me very happy :P It's the little things...

I love Rose's character, too. I love how she's so clever, but considers herself lacking in some things - in common sense, perhaps, in quick-thinking, improvisation and quick temper, and how she picks up on things which other people wouldn't necessarily consider flaws which she does: like compassion and trust. It's a really clever way of showing us what she's like while giving us insights into herself further, and little glimpses at what perhaps the 'old Rose' was like, before everything. Also, the 'I'm not good enough' kind of rhetoric Rose uses here when she's thinking about herself is so indicative of people who've been through difficult things, like Rose has, and it's so sad, but so true to life to see, you know?

Gah, you're already making me want to hug her and tell her that she's wonderful and everything will be okay (but then, she does remind me of my sisters - long, very personal story there!).

The repetition with the 'get up. dressed. wash. rounds. study.' section was so, so good. Again, so indicative of her condition and how she is, but so effective in the narrative, too! :)

I love the little glimpses of other characters in this, too - Dom and Al and Scorp and Selenia, even James, too - and how good they were, with the little indications of what they'll be like in later chapters, when we see more of them. All of them are so good, they already feel like real people (but then, I already knew your characterisation was good from previous things, so... :P).

I love your writing - but again, you should know that by now too :P - it's so so good, and here you've just got the tone perfectly. Rose's voice in this is so so strong and real that it allows everything to come through, and it really makes the story hers, if you know what I mean, which makes the first person shine so beautifully.

The little details in this were so good, too - I loved the little dash of humour with James and the story about why they all got sorted unexpectedly, and the details about the reactions at the sorting ceremony were just so so perfect.

So yeah, I love this, and I'll definitely be back! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by cherry_pop94 Bereft: Scorpius POV

16th May 2015:
Ahh a good old fashioned accident. I forget that those still happen in the high stakes world of fanfiction.

This was a very good chapter. It was interesting to have more background on the Malfoy family, especially about Daphne, who doesn't often make any appearances in next gen fics.

I really liked that Rose and Al came to see their friend (as they should). And it definitely made sense to me that Harry told them to give him space. Though, wouldn't they have been at the funeral? I also thought it was quite rude of Ron to burst in like that shouting. I mean, the poor kid just lost his parents. I think Ron would be more understanding and sensitive of that. Even though Ron is known for being insensitive and a little brash, he does know what it feels like to have lost family.

Still, really good chapter and I'm excited to see what's next!

-Stefi

 Report Review

Review #3, by cherry_pop94 Blown Away: Scorpius POV

16th May 2015:
Oh my god. I'm just so shocked by what's happened here!! Are Scorpius's parents dead? Does this have anything to do with Rose's kidnapping?? He said that the anniversary was tomorrow and earlier you said that Hogwarts graduation just happened and Rose was kidnapped on graduation. Oh my god. I'm just so confused and intrigued.

Well, suffice to say you've definitely got my attention.

-Stefi

 Report Review

Review #4, by cherry_pop94 Broken: Rose POV

16th May 2015:
Hi so I figured I should read this since it's up for a Diadem. And let just say, so far, it is definitely deserving of that!!

I really like how Rose uses the repetition to get through her panic attacks. It's very realistic and of course also makes for excellent writing. Her panic feels very realistic to me and definitely relatable.

Am I correct in assuming that Rose was kidnapped? You've done a really good job there with sort of building suspense. I'm definitely curious to know who Stannous is and why he held Rose captive for six days. Maybe a former Death Eater or someone who holds some deep resentment against the trio?

I also really loved your bit about Albus's sorting. I like seeing him in Ravenclaw and it definitely fits. With the way he was thinking so much about his sorting in the epilogue just made him seem like a little Ravenclaw! I may have squealed a little thinking about a tiny little boy so shocked by his sorting that an older student had to lead him away. Seriously, an adorable mental image!

Anyway, I love this story so far! Can't wait to read the rest :)

-Stefi

 Report Review

Review #5, by TearsIMustConceal Besotted: Rose POV

15th May 2015:
Hey Beth! Iím back again because I just couldnít stay away! And because you also asked me very nicely :)

So once again, this chapter was absolutely amazing! Youíre seriously giving Rose a hard time though! Her thoughts and feelings about her scars are heart-breaking Ė that everyone would be as repulsed as she was by them even though that is obviously not case and I hope she finally realises that! I canít even begin to imagine what she must have been through.

And Stannous Ė he is seriously evil, I didnít realise how evil until I realised he made his own torture curse up Ė that is a seriously unhinged, crazy thing to do. Will he be as evil as Voldemort? I feel as though heís going to be the big bad for the Next Gen so Iím guessing he will be appearing sometime soon?
But I love that now, she finally has the courage to look at the scars herself Ė it just shows you how far she has come and the influence Scorpius really has on her, which, thank god, she has finally realised!

Scorpius missing him Mum Ė Beth, what are you doing to me? Iím really upset now because heís just so cute and vulnerable and I want to hug him and make him feel better! His comparisons of Rose and his Mum Ė there so sweet and genuine Ė you can tell right there that he pretty much loves her so hopefully they admit it to each other soon! And then him comparing himself to his Dad Ė I still want to hug him Beth! Even though admittedly, he clearly was a bit of an idiot, heís hating himself and he doesnít deserve that, not really. He was just a teen going through a rough time, which Rose does understand.

And then we see a glimpse of Al and his protectiveness of Rose. I love Al and in his position, I would have done the same thing! I love how heís so close to Rose Ė I love strong family bonds!

And that little moment when sheís happy he told her that there hadnít been anyone else Ė my heart soared because itís so clear that they are destined to be together!!

But they didnít kiss! Do you know how much I wanted that kiss to happen? Please tell me it happens soon? Pretty please?

Oh Beth, this chapter was just amazingly cute and heart-breaking and inspiring because your writing is just brilliant! I canít wait to read the next chapter!!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #6, by Flower n Prongs Blown Away: Scorpius POV

13th May 2015:
Hi Beth. I'm here for the BvB review battle.

I was excited to get to read Scorpius's POV for the first time, since he was only in the last chapter and he could be hard to read at times. I was not expecting this though. I was thinking "okay, we will move on from the party and maybe see what happens after that with hints about the past." Seeing this flashback was... wow.

It is clear that Scorpius's parents have something on their minds in this flashback, since his mother was acting out of the ordinary and his father seemed very concerned with keeping Scorpius with him. Like Scorpius, I wondered if it was just Draco's old feelings coming back into play. Astoria's reaction seemed a bit off and I wondered what was coming. I would never have guessed what actually happened though.

And how do I even formulate a 12+ response to the ending? Holy bleep is probably the best I can do haha. That all this happened while Scorpius was spending time with a Muggle kid he didn't even like to annoy his father was a brilliant choice that will certainly affect present-day Scorpius.

The comment about owling Mason was great, because his reaction really showed how slow he was (perhaps why he has a lack of friends). I loved the comment about Granddad Weasley still coming over, curious about Muggle artifacts. =) One question: who is cousin Wolfram? Or is that something that will be revealed later.

Again, that ending... wow. I see why people talk about this story a lot! =)

- Rhaenyra

 Report Review

Review #7, by CambAngst Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

12th May 2015:
Beth, you sly, sly devil, you! It was probably too much to expect you to give up your secrets so soon. I have a lot of idea about why Rose fell, but you're not going to tell me. Not yet, anyway. The blond haired mystery attacker, the elevated heart rate... I have a strong feeling that this attack wasn't simply a matter of falling down the stairs. There's some dark magic involved here, I'm sure of it!

Wow. Sounds like James was a complete mess. He's become one of the more oddly sympathetic characters in this story. At times he acts like a big lunk, but other times I get the sense that he's more tuned in than he lets on.

"I didn't even hear her fall. She had all these photos and documents around her. I figured she'd tripped, but I swear Ė I didn't hear her. Sh - shouldn't I have heard it?" -- Maybe, maybe not. I'm suspicious that some of those photos and documents will be missing when Rose wakes up.

"I could've deflected it just into the wall next to her, but instead, I made sure it hit her square in the chest. Perhaps she shouldn't be so rude to upset fiancťs." -- Or Auror trainees. Definitely not so rude to upset fiancťs who are training to become Aurors.

I loved the family moment with Hermione and Ron and Scorpius. I wasn't sure where you were going to go with that one, and it was nice to see Hermione pull her family together.

"The heart rate didn't increase until after she'd been here for a bit." -- Peculiar, indeed. Cursed? Poisoned? Maybe those pictures had some sort of spell on them.

Again, it was heart-warming to see the extended Weasley clan supporting Scorpius. I'm sure that took him completely by surprise. He's been so disconnected from Rose since the party.

He steeled a look at us for a moment until his eyes met with Harry. -- Yeah, best not to go picking fights with the Head Auror.

You did a good job with the conversation between Ron and Scorpius. It didn't feel like it was easy for either one of them, which was certainly the right tone. Maybe I would have kept Ron's sentences shorter and a little less formal. It's hard to say how the characters age and everyone sees it a little differently. The subject matter was perfect, though. I feel like Scorpius needed to hear all of that and he needed to hear it from somebody who -- as he correctly surmised -- wasn't Harry.

Overall, an awesome chapter! I can't wait to see what happens when Rose wakes up!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MargaretLane Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

10th May 2015:
Hmm, that part about James not hearing anything sounds a little mysterious.

That receptionist is REALLY sympathetic! I'm sure the last thing visitors need is that kind of attitude when they are worried about somebody.

She's probably right to be a little suspicious about somebody who wants to visit the daughter of two war heroes in hospital though. Especially since I'm getting the impression more and more that Ireland's "we give people their privacy" might not be ENTIRELY just self-congratulatory nonsense and that being the child of well-known parents might put people under more scrutiny in other countries.

YIKES, this sounds way more serious than I'd imagined. I mean, obviously falling when pregnant is going to be serious, but I didn't think Rose would be unconscious this long or that there'd be this much panic. I never considered anything like Rose going into cardiac arrest. I really hope she and the baby will be OK. I'd imagine they will be.

Yikes, I really don't think Rose could handle losing the baby on top of everything else. Or Scorpius either. How would he feel if anything happened to the baby or Rose after the way he'd been avoiding them?

Hmm, that's really strange. I'm not sure what's going on here. Could she have been poisoned or something and the effects of the poison caused her fall? I don't see HOW though. Or perhaps somebody in the hospital is in league with Stannous and took a chance to do something with her while they had her under their control. Scary thought.

The Weasley family are so kind to think of Scorpius like that. I mean, obviously, he's one of the people it's worst for as he could lose his child, but so could Ron and Hermione, although that is probably rather less likely. I could easily imagine everybody being so caught up in their own worry and trying to support family members that he'd get overlooked.

And it IS good Selenia is with her.

I really don't think Draco could have helped Hermione at that point without getting himself and possibly his parents killed. He really DIDN'T have much choice.

I think it is understandable though, that Ron would never forgive him, not just for that, but also for the way he nearly killed Ron in an attempt to murder Dumbledore and for his involvement with the Death Eaters in the first place.

I think Scorpius is putting too much emphasis on backgrounds, with his thoughts about how he and Rose can't be the same because their families are different. As Ron said, they are not their parents and just because their parents were different doesn't mean they are.

At least Scorpius has copped on a bit. Now, we just have to hope it isn't too late, but I don't think it will be.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Claire Evergreen Blown Away: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Hey Beth! Here for the swap!

Ah, I'm so excited that we get a peek into Scorpius's mind (which, you know, I should have guessed by the chapter titles, but we'll ignore that haha). It's going to be so cool seeing multiple sides of the story as it progresses.

Alright, so I'm going to hold off on assuming some of the things that I said in my last review because we definitely get a different idea of Scorpius here. Even in the flashback, there's still that little but if a temper that gives me a weird feeling about what happened between him and Rose, but he seems much more vulnerable here. I have no idea if I'm correct or not, but I'm 99% sure that Scorpius is not exactly the good guy in this, but it was really nice to look into his mind.

Oh my goodness! That whole thing with his parents was absolutely awful! Now I want to know why that happened and why it seemed like his mother knew about it beforehand.

I can see why everyone loves this story so much! I'm hooked! Thanks for agreeing to do the swap with me!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #10, by Anie Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this story. I truly look forward to it and look for this banner specifically.

This chapter made me feel all sorts of feels. The exchange between Ron and Scorpius was perfect and I think very well done.

I certainly hope someone realizes (or Rose remembers) how she was injured! Ugh!

I hope you're well!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dianainga Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
It makes me so happy that the entire Potter/Weasley clan rallies around Scorpius and loves him. He needs it so badly. I am still very worried about the future. I know that Rose still is in danger and that frightens me. Cannot wait to see how this develops. Thank you for the update!

 Report Review

Review #12, by TearsIMustConceal Bereft: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Hi again Beth, Iím back. I just canít stay away.

Hm, straight away I am not believing it was a simple kitchen accident Ė whether this is because Iím suspicious naturally or not, it just doesnít feel right at all, especially when in the last chapter Astoria is about to tell Scorpius that it isnít safe, but she isnít able to finish it. Something fishy is going on but I know you wonít tell us anytime soon because youíre evil (youíre not really, youíre amazing) but Iíll be waiting impatiently to find out whatís going on because even if Scorpius is down for accepting it, I am not!

I love how youíve shown Daphne as marrying a muggle. Itís very rare that Daphne isnít portrayed as the evil sister so itís a lovely change. But it makes me sad that sheís his only family left Ė I kinda wished Narcissa was around but then this chapter wouldnít have played out the way it did so Iíll forgive you for that.

Awww poor Scorpius, I canít even imagine what he must have been feeling Ė the guilt must be killing him inside - but I understand the not being able to talk about it and not crying Ė Iím like that, I never talk about my problems and itís only when someone eventually asks me if Iím okay or hugs me, that I break.

Which leads me onto Al and Rose coming to the rescue!

I adore that Rose just knows instinctively what to do and what to say and when not to say anything Ė thatís a real, deep connection right there! And Al, oh Al, heís the guy who just pats you on the back awkwardly but I can relate to that so much! But it doesnít matter because heís there and thatís all Scorpius needed. This part is just so perfectly written Ė you never fail to amaze me Beth!!

I loved Ron and I love that this scene breaks up the atmosphere a little and we have a little comic relief from Rose in the form of ĎNow, if you would excuse me, I have to use the loo - unless, of course, you want to follow me in there and accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet.Ē I absolutely loved that part! I felt that a little laugh was much needed! And also Scorpiusí muggle uncle Ė his scenes where heís on the phone to Daphne Ė I loved them too! It was all perfectly done!

I love that we see more of Daphne here and that we learn that she wasnít just ignoring Scorpius, she just didnít know how to deal with him. Sheís so far removed from that world anymore and her sisterís family, I feel as though she thinks she is a little helpless in trying to help her nephew - a nephew she really didnít know. I love how she let Scorpius decide where he wanted to go Ė I feel like he really needed that control over his life to start to overcome and pull through everything!

That end scene with Scorpius and Rose Ė oh the feels! Theyíre so perfect for each other and I need them to see that desperately! Theyíre something just so easy about them - they just fit!

Once again, I loved everything about this and it was just wonderful, even if Iím feeling a ton of emotion right now! Youíre writing is just beautiful Beth!

I might need a bit of time to recover but Iíll definitely come back soon for the next chapter.

But who am I kidding? Iím pretty sure Iíll moving onto it straight away!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #13, by merlins beard Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Hey Beth!

I absolutely love that Ron is the one to talk some sense into Scorpius. He really needed it to come from Ron.

I'm so worried about Rose and the baby, that's just so horrible. I hope she'll be ok. I'm afraid that no one realizes that she didn't just trip, and that something like this will happen again because they all haven't realized the danger the baby is in.

It's so sweet that everyone shows Scorpius that he is truly a part of the family. First Hermione and Ron, then Harry and Ginny stepping in for Scorpius' parents and then the whole weasley clan (there's so many of them - they could fill a whole country with only weasleys I think)

I'm so glad Scorpius went in to see Rose. That seems to be symbolic, he shows that he'll stay with them no matter what.

You write so well, I'm almost jealous (but I get to read it, so that's ok)

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Hi Anja,

I thought of you as soon as I posted this chapter and I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Although Rose and the baby still hang in the balance and things are very uncertain as yet, there is still progress with Scorpius. He knows how much the Weasley's accept him - and his interactions with Ron were especially important - for *both* of them.

Ah! I love, love, LOVE that you totally get the characters in this story! I agree - it had to come from Ron, because his acceptance means so much to Scorpius.

And Ginny and Harry have always treated Scorpius as a member of the family, but Scorpius didn't always see it, being too wrapped up in his emotions and crises.

Yeah - Scorpius really *wants* to see Rose, he just needed a little push. Now he's ready to be the husband and father that Rose needs.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by TearsIMustConceal Blown Away: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Oh Beth, what are you doing to me? I was not emotionally ready for this chapter!!

It all seemed to innocent to start and then you did THAT to me!

But anyway, onto the chapterÖ.

Awww, look at Scorpius with his very cute and obvious crush on Rose. Of course, she seems completely oblivious of his feelings, which is far enough seeing as she has plenty going on in her life. But she has feeling of her own Ė is it wrong to want them together already? I want ScoRose now!!!

His memories of that t-shirt he gave her Ė itís nice to see that itís him that holds onto the memories of it rather than Rose, but then again, she might not remember it that much after everything she has gone through. But the fact she doesnít particularly recognise it Ė even if Scorpius doesnít know that, I still want to hug him and tell him she will eventually!

THAT FLASHBACK! Oh the feels but letís start from the beginningÖ

I always imagined that Astoria would be the reasonable parent, the peace keeper between Draco and Scorpius with soft words and Draco as the more stern, stubborn parent who is stuck in his ways. I feel as though Draco is the colder of the two but thatís how I imagine him and itís not surprising seeing as his father was the same way. I also like how you havenít completely changed Dracoís character Ė as much Harry may have saved his life in the room of requirement and won the war, freeing him and his mother from the clutches of Voldemort, I still donít see them as ever being friends, merely acquaintances Ė itís really realistic!

Scorpius walking out on his parents Ė I want to yell at him to go back and say goodbye and that he loves them Ė Beth, youíve killed my emotions. Plus, was Astoria about to say it wasnít safe? Was that a general warning or was she seriously afraid something was going to happen? I need to know!

Befriending the muggle boy, Mason Ė you can just feel that Scorpius is only there, tolerating the annoying boy just to spite his father Ė that must haunt him all the time.

And then the scene that caused serious heartbreak! You did it so well Ė it was beautifully written and I could feel every emotion Scorpius was feeling and I could picture every moment vividly! His inability to move and comprehend whatís happened to his family in that moment, not being able to accept that his mother was lying dead on the floor and not being able to step foot in the room Ė his denial is so realistic and honest.

Beth, how could you do this? To me, to everyone? I am now knee deep in emotion and feels. Iím scared now this is only going to get worse and youíre going to continue to break my heart, bit my bit until there is nothing left!

But ignoring my emotional state, this chapter was absolutely amazing and youíre writing never fails to draw me in. You really are a fantastic writer Beth!

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #15, by Claire Evergreen Bent: Rose POV

9th May 2015:
Hey, Beth! Finally here for our swap!

I love the way that you introduce characters. You never have to outright say "oh, he likes to party" or "she is really outspoken." Everything is shown and nothing is straight out told to us. Like, we get the idea that Fred is more than likely a womanizer and Dom is extremely outspoken and can be over the top. I love reading stories that allow us to get to know the characters as we read instead of an info dump at the beginning.

Speaking of characterization, Scorpius kinda creeps the daylights out of me. Originally, I thought it was kind of sweet how he went over to Rose and they started to talk, but when I went back, it seemed like she was kind of on edge around him until she had a few drinks. Don't get me wrong, he seemed to at least care about her a little bit, but it seemed extremely protective and the line He was often angry. definitely does not have a very positive connotation. It also makes me wonder if there was a connection between that and when Rose was attacked...

With the attack, you also did a wonderful job conveying her helplessness both during and after, I think it was interesting to note how much she hated feeling helpless, which led me to believe that she wasn't always like that. I mean, obviously she has changed after whatever happened to her, but her reactions definitely made it seem like she didn't like who she has become.

I love this story so far! I can't wait to read some more!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #16, by CambAngst Blackout: Rose and Scorpius POV

8th May 2015:
Beth! You left me hanging by a thread at the end of the last chapter. And then it was a total head fake and Scorpius was fine at the start of this chapter. Well, not fine fine, but at least not dead or injured or taken prisoner by Stannous. Whew, what a relief. And then you leave me hanging by a thread again!!! Are you trying to shorten my lifespan here? :p

When I finally crawled up to our room in Number Twelve, Scorpius wasn't there. Al and Selenia, who'd escorted me home, found him sleeping in his original room on the top floor of Number Twelve - Regulusís room. In fact, over the days following the engagement party, he basically moved himself up there. -- I guess I'll start by stating the obvious: This isn't how most expectant fathers deal with a problem they're having with their fiancee. Of course, I think we're well beyond the point of trying to understand anything Scorpius does in relation to how "normal" guys act. He's pretty far from normal.

It's still a little strange to me that Rose gives Scorpius so much time and space before she takes a small step toward forcing the issue. Whether or not he's admitting it, he is obviously in desperate need of her help. He needs her to tell him over and over again that his family's past doesn't matter to her, until he finally gets it through that 6-inches of depleted uranium armor he calls a skull.

Ah, I figured that you would have to bring Selenia into the fold at some point. It seems like Scorpius's problems are putting nearly as much strain on Al and Selenia's relationship as his own. Although this could also be drawing Al and Selenia together in a way. Common purpose and all that. At any rate, it's certainly cutting into their together time.

Then there's the unsolved case that's handed to Rose. I have a creepy, creepy feeling that the victims could be Draco and Astoria. That wouldn't be consistent with Scorpius's earlier recollections, but stranger things have already happened in this story.

Ooh! I have another theory that I've come up with. One that would explain a number of things. I'm almost afraid to go there, because the implications are all kinds of bad, but here goes. Is Scorpius actually Stannous? It doesn't seem likely, since Stannous was teaching when Scorpius and Rose were both in school. If there's some connection between Scorpius and Stannous, it would explain a lot of things, though. Like how Stannous managed to get through the wards surrounding the apartment. Your story gives me a bad case of Crazy Plot Theories.

At any rate, I loved the way you wrote the clues in the pictures. The way you described the spell damage and how Rose and Selenia were able to theorize based on it was great.

As I was desperately flailing my arms to grab on to something, I caught a glimpse of a fuzzy figure in a dark robes with light hair stood on the top step. Then everything went black. -- Again, you're feeding my Scorpius-is-Stannous theory. Or maybe it's my Stannous-is-controlling-Scorpius theory. Augh, too many theories!

Fly and forget became my mantra. -- For the record, I think this is a bad mantra. Very bad.

Scorpius is having a huge Remus Lupin moment in this chapter. Where is Harry -- or perhaps Al as his stand-in -- to knock some sense into the guy?

Not my whole world. -- Wow, is he confused. One minute he's making plans to skeedaddle, the next minute Rose and the baby are his whole world. Make up your mind, boy!

I'm really curious to see what sort of surprises you spring on us in the next chapter. I'm sure it will spawn even more theories inside my poor, overloaded brain. Til next time!

 Report Review

Review #17, by merlins beard Blackout: Rose and Scorpius POV

7th May 2015:
Hi Beth.

Remember the rollercoaster thing? I have adrenaline rushing through my body at one moment only to feel my heart ache for Scorpius the next.

The discovery Rose and Selenia make is probably very important to the plot somewhere. I find it amazing that she notices such a small detail. Rose really is a great diagnostic healer.

I think they should go to Harry with that as well.

Scorpius is WRONG. Rose needs him. He could NEVER be a bad influence. It's all so incredibly sad.

Who pushed Rose down the stairs? I'm really, really worried about her. could it be Samara? I don't really trust her all that much...

I hope Rose and the Baby are ok. I'm really worried about them.

This is the last chapter for now, and that is making me sad. I'm in this so deep, I really need to know what happens now.

This has been one of the best stories I have ever read (including the books of many published authors) and I'm really glad I took the time to read it all.

I really can't wait for you to update so I can see if Rose is ok.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Anja,

Your reviews have made me tear up and I don't know the proper way to thank you. But I want you to know how much they really mean to me.

At the same time, I'm sorry (or maybe a little excited) for the roller coaster ride - haha - I'm so glad my writing moved you in that way. ♥

Yeah, Harry should probably know about this new discovery of Rose's. However, she is reluctant to go to him first because of the tenuous relationship between St. Mungo's and the Auror department. Healer Lawrence (from an earlier chapter) doesn't like the Aurors stepping in to run security at his hospital. And Rose doesn't want to upset him because he's her boss, so to speak.

"This has been one of the best stories I have ever read (including the books of many published authors) and I'm really glad I took the time to read it all."

I don't have words for this. And like I said before, I'm genuinely tearing up over this comment. Thank you so much.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins beard Betrothed: Rose POV

7th May 2015:
Oh my, this does hit him hard. I understand his reaction and I'm glad Albus explains it to Rose, but I completely agree with her. He doesn't even know what being evil is like.

Maybe it would help him if Harry told him how Narcissa saved him and how Draco couldn't kill Dumbledore. It might upset him even more at first, but I think he needs to know that his dad wasn't actually the bad guy all the time.

I'm so sorry that Rose doesn't get to enjoy this moment with him. In a perfect world, they would be together, never letting go of each other, always smiling with Scorpius' hand resting on Rose's stomach.

I'm glad that everyone is happy for them. This is a happy occation.

HOW AND WHY DOES NO ONE REALIZE THE DANGER TO THE BABY? If it is such a powerful wizard and I were Stannous, I'd try to get to the child to take it with me and raise it to be the next Dark Lord.

I hope Harry doesn't cease to protect Rose, she really still needs to be watched, even more than before. She would agree to anything if it would be for the baby. it has to be kept safe.

~Anja

Author's Response: Anja!

Gah - I don't know how to thank you for these reviews. I'm so touched and it's just amazing to me that people like my story enough to leave a review on every chapter. I know I've said it before, but THANK YOU!!

I'm relieved that Scorpius's anxiety makes sense to you. Most people have said that they couldn't understand what was up with him until Albus explained it. But he really feels like his family blood is going to "damage" the baby in some way - and since he felt like he almost had "it all," well, he's just devastated.

And we *all* know he isn't evil - not one bit, but convincing him is another story.

Haha - yes, I think they're likely to realize the danger that the baby is in relatively soon (*insert evil grin here*), but for right now, everyone is adjusting to the news of the pregnancy (and engagement).

thanks again - you're the best!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard Bound by Fate: Scorpius POV

7th May 2015:
Finally! It took them quite a while to figure that out. It must have been such a shock to hermione to learn of Rose's baby right after she figures out what the prophecy says.

I'm going to make this really, really short because I'm really anxious to see what Scorpius' reaction is.

Ron's reaction was really great, too. Totally plausible. I love the little speech Scorpius gives him,vit proves again how much he loves rose.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Hi!

So my original version of this had a different reaction from Ron and a reviewer pointed out how out of character he was - so I changed it and I'm much, much happier with this one. It allows me to have the slow progression of Ron accepting the relationship between Rose and Scorpius. Glad you liked it!

And Hermione is always the level-headed one - so she's going to be a little more accepting of it.

Thanks again - SO much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins beard Bound by Hope: Rose POV

7th May 2015:
I'm one of those people who love the fluff.
I need a good mixture of plot and stuff that's fluffy and happy and making me feel like singing out loud :D

This is so incredibly sweet.
You have a way to make me experience everything the characters feel so intensely, I haven't had that with a story or book in a while.

I'm glad everything is ok with the baby and I can't wait for them to go tell everyone.

I'm so happy about the chance Selenia gets here. Sh really does do amazing work and it's good to see that the efforts are paying off.

I'm off to the next chapter now.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Hi!

*whew* So glad you like the fluff! I do like writing it, but sometimes I worry if I go overboard here - sometimes I can't help myself - these two are just sooo cute!

Yes! Selenia really deserves this opportunity. She's an amazing Healer. Unfortunately, she's always been in Rose's shadow because Rose is a genius, but Selenia has never once felt any animosity toward her best friend. Haha - it's funny to me how well I know my characters - even stuff I don't put into the story :D

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by merlins beard Bound by Honor: Rose and Scorpius POV

7th May 2015:
Hello again!
This chapter was so POWERFUL! I couldn't quite make my mind up between giggling uncontrollably or crying from happiness, so I just did both.

It's going to be really hard for any story I read in the next few weeks, because they are all going to have to compete with this.

The way Scorpius talks about the baby, and then to the baby, is great. He loves this little bunch of cells so much already. It's almost a desperate love, tainted by the fear of what's going to happen next, motivated by the need to protect Rose and the baby at all costs.

When Rose talks to the baby in the shower, I'm glad that Scorpius joins her in the bathroom. She said some things he really needed to hear.

Selenia is right, they really are made for each other.

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Anja,

Gah! Each one of these reviews just gets better and better. Yeah, Rose really needs Scorp to bring her back down to reality here. They have each other, and that's what matters - for now.

I couldn't resist the conversations with the little Malfoy bean. They were too cute and I know a little bit fluffy for this story, but like I said, I couldn't resist ;)

And EVERYONE can see that they're made for each other - maybe now they see it too!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by merlins beard Bound by Blood: Rose and Scorpius POV

7th May 2015:
Hi Beth!
I have to admit that your authors notes always make me edgy... "they deserve some fluff - for now." Seriously?

I LOVE THIS CHAPTER! I love all the fluff and romance, and it fits perfectly into the plot so far. Scorpius is just so wonderful (remember the mail order thing?)

He's really HAPPY about having a baby. I get why Rose is scared, but they'll work it out. Of course there still is the prophecy thing. Still a big target pinned to the baby's back.

They'll have to increase the protection Rose is under again. Harry needs to know. Especially Hermione needs to know. I bet she figures out right away that that's the child the prophecy is referring to.

Selenia is so sweet and professional about everything. It's really good that Scorpius called her right away.
The way she keeps Albus out of the way is perfect.

Albus, however, shows that he is related to Ron Weasley in this chapter. This is exactly the level of helplessness I would expect of Ron in that kind of situation.

~Anja

Author's Response: Hiya!

Yes, a bit of fluff was definitely in order, here. These two deserve it! I wanted to give them a little bit of time, to wrap their heads around this major life change and just enjoy it between themselves. But you're right, they should let the Auror department know - for everyone's safety.

Haha! I love the comparison of Albus and Ron - yep, he's a bit more passion than reason in intense situations.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins beard Bound by Love: Rose and Scorpius POV

7th May 2015:
Oh my god, I was right! :D

The proposal was so incredibly sweet. I love the description of the ring. This isn't the perfect moment for Rose to get sick or figure out that she might be pregnant, but it's better this way than the other way around. With all her insecurities, I wouldn't put it past Rose to think Scorpius only wants to marry her because she is pregnant if he proposed after they found out.

As it is now, she will probably freak out anyway and tell him he doesn't have to marry her, that this is too much.
So the child from the prophecy enters the story here. And, right from the start it has a huge target painted on its back in bright neom colours. The powerful child. As soon as everyone realizes, they won't be after Rose anymore, they'll be after her baby.

I have mixed feelings right now. I'm so happy that all that is happening to them, but I'm so scared for the baby.

~Anja

Author's Response: Hi there Anja!

Eeep! I love how much emotion you put into your reviews. I'm sorry for putting you through such a roller coaster ride, but I really enjoy your reactions. This chapter was a biggie in terms of how much the story moved along. And you already have an inkling of where it's going next.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by merlins beard Bone Tired: Scorpius POV

7th May 2015:
I hope you're not getting sick of me yet.

I'm glad they all noticed Rose's changes and sent Scorpius to talk to her about it... there was less talking involved than I expected, but I guess it's what they both needed.

Something came to mind in this chapter, but it can't be true... Can Rose maybe actually be pregnant already?
It all ads up. The "panic attacs" that are much less violent (morning sickness?), sleeping all the time, forgetting basic stuff...

I can't wait to find out

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Of course I'm not getting sick of you - quite the contrary! I'm so over the moon with these reviews.

Hmmm... that is an interesting thought about Rose. And I also thought this chapter slowed the story down a bit - we had some pretty intense information/emotions right before this.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by merlins beard Baffled: Scorpius and Rose POV

7th May 2015:
Hi there!
Wow this is quite a shock. I had almost forgotten about the therapist. Now Stannous could have some really important imformation on Rose and everyone surrounding her.

I love the words of the prophecy. I couldn't help but notice the part with the "connection of HEARTS"... It makes me believe even more strongly that the peophecy is actually about scorpius as well. I bet Hermione realized that and wants to go check something. It's like back in their second year at hogwarts where she figures out the monster is a basilisk. She knows for certain, yet she runs off to check the facts again.

Of course Rose's child won't be evil. How could it ever be?

~Anja

Author's Response: Hey there, Anja!

I like how you're thinking about the prophecy. There *is* a bit more to it - but I don't want to say too much right now. And yes - Hermione loves her research. She doesn't want to alarm people needlessly.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>