689 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sophie Grace Besieged: Rose POV

11th February 2016:
Still not sure I like Samara but that Stannous person in a jerk and I don't like him. My heart breaks for Rose and Scorpius. They both need a hug. I love the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sophie Grace Better: Rose POV

11th February 2016:
It maybe short but it was too the point. A great way to move the story to where it needs to go.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sophie Grace Bitter: Scorpius POV

11th February 2016:
I highly enjoyed reading this chapter. I could get feel the tension between Harry and Albus. Oh how I loved their interaction and Albus's thirst to prove himself to Harry. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sophie Grace Besotted: Rose POV

11th February 2016:
In the chapter I love how you hint that there is something that happened to Rose. We know something that happened to her. When just don't know what. Now we know what Crucio flagrate but we just don't know when or how. It's was keeps me reading and I love it so much. I also what Malfoy in this chapter. He was really great and keeps us the readers guessing if they are together. Can you say sexual tension. I love it! You're such a great writer.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sophie Grace Bereft: Scorpius POV

11th February 2016:
Okay this chapter I kinda love and hate at the same time. Few points I didn't quite believe. The first a "kitchen accident," aren't the Malfoy's pure-bloods? So wouldn't they have a house elf? So wouldn't the house elf have detected the gas leak and fixed it with their magic? Also being as their pure-blood wouldn't they been eating in there dining room not the kitchen? Secondly is Scorpius's mother's family pure-bloods as well so wouldn't they have pushed her to marry a pure-blood wizard since she's Slytherin and all. Or are you going for them being blood-traitors and letting their kids follow there hearts not matter where it leads?

Now for what I loved about this chapter. I loved Harry and Ron roll in this part. I mean it showed off Ron's hot temper and how Harry has to rein him in from time to time. I really enjoyed Rose being how she was able to school her Dad when he misread the situation.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Sophie Grace Blown Away: Scorpius POV

11th February 2016:
I love this flash back it gives us some incite as to how you're going to portray Scorpius. It's very enlightening. I really loved it. Though I was a little sad that his parents ended up dying. I just wanted to hug him after reading this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Sophie Grace Bent: Rose POV

11th February 2016:
Okay I love how the story starts to pick up here. Most stories I read here or hell even some books try give a drawn out introduction and it takes a while to get into them. Not this story. I love how you jump in with the action and by that I mean fighting LOL. It really got me hooked and wanting to read more.
Oh and Samara not sure how I feel about her yet. I don't know when I read stories and books I get really into the characters. Sometimes I know right away I love the characters and others I know right off the bat I hate them. Then their are some I can't really tell until I learn more about them.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Sophie Grace Broken: Rose POV

11th February 2016:
Okay this is the second time I read this story and I decide to make a review on every chapter. So here it goes. I love how this story starts off. It grabs your attention. Stead of starting a her abduction is and working it's way forward it starts with the aftermath so to speak. Rose has to talk her way threw it. Though I think it would be cool if we could read about the abduction and not in a flash back at some point.

 Report Review

Review #9, by dreamgazer220 Blown Away: Scorpius POV

8th February 2016:
Hi there!

So I saw this on the staff recs homepage, and the fact that it won a Dobby for Most Addicting Story - I can totally see why! I've been getting into next gen lately, and I'm so glad I stumbled across your story :) It seems like you've put a lot of work and effort into this, and it really shows.

The writing is wonderful, and I love that we get to see from both Rose and Scorpius' POV so that we can get to know them better. I really like their relationship, just the bits that we've seen from the first two chapters; it seems so normal, but it's clear that they've been through a lot together. I also love that you let Rose joke around even though I can tell she's been through some kind of trauma - that's so important.

I also wanted to applaud you on your writing. The story is already so captivating and addicting, and I love the way you're describing Rose's anxiety, with her mantra and routines and panic attacks. It's so realistically well done.

This is such a great start! I can't wait to see where the story goes!!

~Jill

 Report Review

Review #10, by Felpata Lupin Bent: Rose POV

7th February 2016:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, BETH!!!

Wow! What a chapter!
Your writing is so smooth, the emotions so intense, the images so clear and vivid! I'm sure I already said you before, but you're such a great writer!!!

Poor Rose. What a awful moment. Who was that man? What did he want? How did he escape?

I'm glad that she could find at least a bit of peace in Scorpius. And maybe something more than peace... The closing was so sweet and delicate and made me smile. :)

I really loved everything about this chapter. Your detailed descriptions, the funny moments, and above all the way you show us Rose's thoughts and emotions, so honestly, so precisely, so believably and authentically, so beautifully.

Absolutely stunning job! Just perfect! Wish my narrative was half as good...

Happy birthday again! Hope you'll have a great day, my dear!
Tons of hugs and love!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #11, by Lorna Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

27th January 2016:
Your story really is amazing. You've brought the characters to life in such a way that you feel like you're right there with them. I love the relationship between Rose and Scorpious! And I hope Albus eventually finds someone else. I can't wait for the next chapter! This is definitely my favourite fanfic that I've ever read!!

Author's Response: Hi there Lorna,

Thanks so much! I'm so happy you like my Rose/Scorpius story. Yeah, I feel really terrible about Al too. Maybe he'll find someone SOME day, but he's got a lot to get through right now.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by Tonks1247 Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

21st January 2016:
Hiya Beth!

Imma start by assuring you this chapter did nothing but break my heart almost as much as the last one did. Not quite as much, but like…this chapter really pulled at my heart because Selenia is truly gone and poor Albus is not taking it well and I can’t blame his heartbreak and Rose finding that gift from Selenia in the desk, and how Scorp was given it by her (which I had to jump back a few chapters to refresh my memory)…I’m so heartbroken. It makes me so sad to just imagine how drastically their lives changed due to the shock of losing someone that no one ever expected to be attacked….

I did have to smile just a little bit at how Rose realized the baby was moving and how Albus was the first one to feel the movement. It’s honestly just what needed to happen to help pull Albus out of himself. I like his instant freak out and asking what he should do and how he can help before he even knows what’s going on. That was so Albus. And it only continued as Rose was able to reach out to him and get him to agree to do something other than lie in bed. It makes me happy that he’s up, and I can only laugh at the thought of Scorpius finding out that Albus felt the baby move first and how he isn’t the first Rose goes to…I can just imagine the look on his face…

The only other things I have about this chapter are the two things that were touched on but not really focused on. And that’s Samara with her weird behaviour and that final assignment case study thing. Those two things have been bothering me for quite a number of chapters and I feel like they’re significant, as they keep coming up, and just…I’m curious and anxious to see where they come in. That final assignment is just weird…there’s something about those pictures and how they tie in with other things mentioned in this story…honest to goodness pulls at my mind every time they’re brought up. And Samara? Well…I’m suspicious, but I don’t know why. Her character just has certain behaviours and attitudes and I can’t say I trust her all that much…

Overall though, as much as this chapter was sad, I quite enjoyed it. I’ve missed reading these characters and was quite happy to come home and finally get time to read and review another chapter. Can’t wait for more!

-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela,

Eeep! This review is so lovely and I can't get over how KIND and THOUGHTFUL you are to me. Thank you so much.

This chapter was difficult to write on one level because it was just so sad - but I couldn't just skip over their grief, so I'm glad you felt I did a good job with it. I'd always planned the part with Albus feeling the baby. In fact, I think I've had that down for nearly 3 years now! Kind of a "circle of life" thing - haha!

I don't want to comment too much about those two things you've noticed that keep popping up, except to say that you are very observant :)

Gah! I don't know if there's any higher praise for an author than "I missed reading these characters!" You have no idea how much that made my day!

Thanks again, Makaela - I'm so grateful for your support for this story.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by ginny4ever Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

18th January 2016:
I just hate to see everyone so upset... But I firmly believe that Al and everyone else will get through this. At least Rose's baby brings a ray of hope in everybody's lives.

I'm still shocked how Selenia died so suddenly... She was so kind and loving and such a good person. But for everyone grieving over her, I just want to remind of Albus Dumbledore's words: "To the well organised mind death is but the next great adventure."

Thanks for the chapter, loved reading it again (: Please keep posting, I just can't get enough of this story!!!

Emily

Author's Response: Hi there Emily,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I really appreciate knowing how the readers feel about the story.

I'm so sad over Selenia's death too. I know, I know... I'm the AUTHOR and I KILLED her off, but it really is an important part of the story. I'm working on the next chapter now and these lovely reviews keep me going! And I love that quote from Dumbledore!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by HPfanfromLondon Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

17th January 2016:
this story is absolutely amazing! Read all 39 chapters I 2 days (fell asleep reading).

The story, the characters, the tone of voice and the writing style. Just perfect. This story is the perfect extension to the Harry Potter books. When you think of the themes between the philosophers stone and the deadly hallows, you see that they grow darker and more mature. This story perfectly continues that development from where the deadly hallows left and introduces more mature themes.

What I like most about the story is that while it focuses more on the relationships between characters, it also has the same kind of problem solving, tension, intense feelings and complex plot developments as the original books.

It is perfect for someone like me who has grown with the series!



When will chapter 40 come?

Author's Response: Hello HPfanfromLondon,

Eeep! I don't even know what to do with this review! Thank you SOOO much. You read it ALL in 2 days?! That's amazing - considering I've been writing it for nearly THREE YEARS now and I'm still not done - haha!

I'm just so blown away that you feel this is an extension of the books - because that's really what I set out to write. I wanted the next gen characters to have their own voices and personalities and demons to overcome - but within the realm of their parents still being around. So thank you SO MUCH for that comment :)

And I feel like you really understand my story so well. I can't even tell you how much I appreciate this review.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by oldershouldknowbetter Back to the Beginning: Rose POV

11th January 2016:
We are just tag-teaming each other now are we not. Once more drawn in to review for the BvB.

Rose wakes up alone and upset and it is disheartening to think that this is just normal for her. She beats herself up over it too. *sigh*

But is she alone? This morning also brings with it the presence of Scorpius she soon finds. He didn't expect it to be at wand point though. Once the adrenaline wears off though she's back to the nausea and shakes. What this poor girl has been through ...

Scorpius recriminates himself too. These two ... well at least *spoilers* they get some measure of closure next chapter.

It is funny but Scorpius's diatribe of self loathing is what steadies Rose and brings her back to herself. But then he shocks her with his knowledge of her scars. She tries to run, tries to submerge herself in her usual routine - as we first saw she does, way back when this whole sorry tale started. But no, Scorpius is having none of it. What you have given us is so raw with emotions but once again you don't stray from what is believable. One of the great things is that it is finally, finally cathartic for Rose. Really well done and very necessary for her character. Oh and lovely kissing too. ;)

'... and gently put his hand over mine for the second time that day. I noticed that this was all the contact he was willing to make.' When I read stuff like this it just makes me sigh deeply and sadly, "oh Rose."

I really like how you have Scorpius telling Rose that she has to tell her uncle. It is very logical - I hadn't thought of how it would be to their careers, but it makes a lot of sense. Not just that of course, it also fits into how you have established how the pair of them view Harry: Rose as a bit more than just an uncle; Scorpius basically as his surrogate father. Good stuff.

I nodded, understanding that his was too much for him. I was too much for him.
*sigh* Oh, Rose.

She keeps thinking that she is not brave, but she bravely marches (almost runs) to reveal all to her uncle. But her courage does fail her slightly, as it would anyone, when the crunch actually comes.

Sometimes you have the most subtle and perfect bits of characterisations in the littlest of things. When you have the confidence in Albus's voice comforting Rose and putting some strength into her is so perfectly judged. It really shows exactly how Rose is: she takes her strength from those around her, from her friends, her family, complete strangers even. She lives for what she can do for others. It's why the attack upon her was so debilitating to her - had it happened to someone else then she would have been stronger for them and helped them far more than she has been able to do for herself.

Rose steels herself and all of the truth comes tumbling out. Harry is horrified, of course, but reacts intelligently and quickly: just as we all want him to be the older Harry is competent and holds to what we hoped that his younger self would become.

The move into Grimauld place wmill be a logical step, but it also allows for some good movements in the plot too.

'... probably wants to be here for you, Rose.” I wasn’t so sure about that last part, but nodded anyway.'
*double sigh* Oh Rose.

Harry is such the elder statesman. When Rose tells him that her father must never know, his reply is so well done. He states what we know about Rose, it reminds your readers that it has been true for Harry too. As Dumbledore said, Harry was/is a remarkably selfless person. So too is this Rose.

"Scorpius’s hand still holding on to mine. I knew he was just trying to be nice because I was so upset.'
Oh come on Rose, please please, I know you can't, dare not think that he has any other reasons for holding your hand than some sort of platonic comforting, but come on!

It's a beautiful moment right at the end, a mutual joining of two very alike souls comforting one another.

Well another great chapter and it leads into an outstanding one that I have already reviewed in that funny two-for-one review that I did a while back. It is a watershed in terms of the story and this chapter leads up to it very nicely. Actually this chapter is also a turning point in one way to - for a different strand of the plot: that of the scaring (both physically and mentally) of Rose by Stannous. It is now out there, and by sharing with her family she has lessened her pain considerably. She can now heal fully and not mark time as she has been by repressing it and keeping it to herself.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #16, by lhod23 Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

10th January 2016:
Oh I'm so happy to see an update! I am very impressed with how you described the grief felt by the different characters.. it was very realistic. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Gah! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I really appreciate it. I'm glad you like this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by oldershouldknowbetter Bombarda Maxima: Scorpius POV

8th January 2016:
I simply cannot believe it, I have a moment to review for the BvB and pop onto the thread only to find that once again I have the pleasure of reviewing your wonderful story once again.

Firstly, a big phew. Rose wasn't taken by Stannous in the last chapter, instead she was claimed by the arms of Morpheus. That's why we didn't know what happened to her, she had lapsed into unconsciousness from her ordeal. It is great that Scorpius is there, right on hand to aid her.

But he's not much help, Rose is in a very nasty way. From Selenia's administrations, we find out that there is nothing really physically wrong with her. It really brings it home to your readers the torture that Stannous must have put her through - to have his presence and only an attempt to try to spirit her away cause such emotional turmoil, enough to manifest itself so physically it has left such raw emotional scars upon the poor girl.

Soon enough though the others find that there are more than merely physical scars left upon her body. As her shirt rides up, it reveals the scars from the Crucio Flagrante. No one has seen them before. This is the very point that concerned me with your re-write, that surely somebody would have seen the scars before now, but that is the whole point. Rose has obviously been so withdrawn into herself, keeping herself from anyone due to the shame she perceives her scaring to be. It's really tragic, because she has also cut herself off from the comfort that she would receive from her friends and family.

Within all this emotional mess, there is a lovely little bit of characterisation for Scorpius. It's always a trap that an author falls into with characters that they love of making them too perfect. Here you give Scorpius a very understandable and logical flaw. We have seen him act with presence of mind in the heat of the moment and - a bit of a spoiler here - we shall she him do so again and again in the chapters to come. But he admits to us here that after the adrenaline has calmed down, he is not so good. The calm methodicalness that is required for a healer in these circumstances is not his to have. It also shows us how well the pair of Rose and Scorpius will compliment each other.

There is one positive thing out of the whole mess though, Scorpius realises the true depths of his feelings and love for Rose. He has thought so before, but now he knows how irrevocably he has fallen for her.

Scorpius too wonders just how Stannous has managed to breach the wards on the flat, time and time again. There must be more to this and knowing your skills as an author, the nature of it will be revealed in the exactly appropriate time and manner.

Some of the truth is finally revealed to her closest friends - Stannous didn't touch her except for the casting on her of his twisted version of the Cruciatus curse.

Scorpius almost looses it, and is prevented from seeing Rose by Dom. I can understand it, at the moment she needs her female friends and calm. She might be too upset by seeing Scorpius at this moment because he is the one whom she would be the most anxious about what his reaction to the scars might be. It is understandable, but so is Scorpius' reaction.

Luckily for him we have that caring friend in Albus by his side. Albus drags him away and Scorpius has enough prepossession to allow himself to be led. They apperate to the Forest of Dean, a good pull from the books, by the way. And what ensues is a scene filled with too much emotion (and wanton tree destruction) that I can say little about except that it is deftly handled by the author who never allows it to fall into the ludicrous.

We are treated though to a display of just how powerful Albus is as a wizard. The fight with his father was just the tip of his capabilities we have to now realise.

Scorpius berates himself as much as he hates Stannous: he should have known; he should have been there for her; he will always be there for her from now on. And just after is a beautiful little bonding moment with the two boys who are almost like brothers.

When they come back to the flat, there is also a tender moment between Scorpius and Selenia, that shows how close the two of them are as well. Nothing more to it than they are both in love with people that the other person loves too. We can see in them that mutual camaraderie.

Dom leaves Scorpius with Rose, leaving behind a few choice words too. Ones that I don't think that Scorpius fully deserves, but he - who is ever the harshest upon himself - thinks that he does.

He settles down near to Rose and enters a fitful sleep.

You say in your Author's note that you worked long and hard on this chapter and it shows. At any stage the rawness of the emotions at finally having the evidence of Rose's torture revealed to her friends could have dipped into the maudlin or the other way into the frankly risible, but you avoid either trap and steer a path fraught with emotional context. It is a powerful chapter.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter

 Report Review

Review #18, by TearsIMustConceal Befuddled: Rose AND Scorpius POV

6th January 2016:
Hey Beth, here for the BvB review battle!

Oh my, I have missed this story so, so much! The minute I started reading I just wanted to carry on but I can't because I have work but my god, this was amazing as per usual and you are just amazing and yeah, onto the review! (I have so many chapters to read, this makes me happy!)

Let me say, first off, "Skurmis hi yow narken?" favourite line of all time. I literally snorted at this, which was very unattractive but also very necessary because it's hilarious and it really does kind of sum up the pair of them – they're so awkward around each other, most of the time they can't get words out unless they're talking about something serious so this line just embodies them so, so well!

THEY FINALLY GOT TOGETHER!! This makes me extremely happy! Although their awkwardness and shy looks and everything was adorable, I am super happy finally talked about it! I was screaming at Rose in my head that she was so obviously wrong and that Scorpius still wanted her, she was just acting a little crazy! I also loved how you made Scorpius feel like he was a pervert every time he spoke to her – that made me laugh too – the pair of them are a match made in heaven because neither of them are the best with words when it comes to each other! But yay for it finally happening!

Awww, Scorpius healing Rose was so cute! “However, it only works in certain… situations” - I'm intrigued, does this mean it only works if you love the other person? Or something entirely different? This little detail really stuck out to me and I want to know what it means – Scorpius seemed really coy about it so i'm thinking it's to do with loving a person, maybe?

I also loved Rose believing that, when Scorpius touched her scars and she froze, that it wasn't her fault – I feel like that's such a significant point here, that she's finally becoming stronger and realising she wasn't to blame for anything that happened to her!

Anyway, this chapter was amazing and I can't wait to read the next! I've missed this story so much!!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Vicki!

Wow. This review was so sweet and kind and detailed and just... THANK YOU!

I really, REALLY enjoyed writing this chapter. I get SUPER frustrated with the awkward stories about two lovers who are obviously meant for each other and how they go back and forth with the misunderstandings and I DIDN'T want to do that here - but then this chapter happened. ;) I guess I can justify it by the fact that it didn't drag on...

Haha - I really like that line too.

Yes! Hold on to your thoughts on the "certain situations" where Scorpius's magic can work. That will come back. And it was really fun to have Scorpius think he was a pervert and Rose think he wasn't interested in her - I still chuckle at that.

Thank you again - SO much. You have no idea what your reviews mean to me.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by Slytherdor18 Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

5th January 2016:
Hi Beth!

I just wanted to say that this was yet another great chapter! Idk if you remember me, but I was here yesterday. I reviewed only once (chapter 25 or 26 I think) and I'm sorry...but the reason why is because I've just flown through this story in a matter of less than 48 hours and I didn't wanna take the time to review because you had a few cliffhangers and I couldn't stop reading!

First things first: I CANNOT believe you killed off Selenia, she was the best and kindest character...how could you?! SHE DIDNT DESERVE IT! But then again, that's what makes a good writer: getting the reader emotionally attached. But then again I did see it coming, right when Rose's wand went off about the auror call. I knew it had to do with Selenia because she borrowed Rose's traveling cloak. Although I wasn't expecting death, I knew some kind of something would happen. In a way, it was a right move to do something as kill her off since this story is supposed to be a somewhat realistic world with dark magic and bad wizards. As realistic as a world with magic can get anyway.
Also, making all these characters cry has made me cry as well. I get too attached to things and I empathize almost too much.

I think you portrayed everyone - especially Al's - grief very well and accurate. It seems very practical. The fact that Rose isn't like Al also makes sense because she feels the need to take care of him and her soon to be child. i like how you have everyone grieving in a certain way.

I also totally remember the green package and I was hoping Rose would open it! Very cute, and I love how she chose gender-neutral colors because no one knows the gender yet.

Since you said you have figured out an outline of the rest of this story, you've got to know what gender you want the baby to be right? Ugh I kinda hope it's a boy but something is telling me it might be a girl...was the pregnancy potion that Rose took a foreshadowing to the gender reveal? I remember the silvery potion turned pink, but it was never explained if the pink had to do with the gender or just of the confirmation that she's pregnant.

Ugh I got so many questions!!! I want to know when Rose's memory gets jogged from when she fell (or was pushed) down the stairs. I also really want to know about the baby name! I've thought about constellations and stars and kind of like your thoughts of pheonix. I also like Orion and Rigel...there are so many obviously, whatever you choose will be a great one!

So...yeah. Please keep writing and updating, I love this story so much! You're a great author and seem so nice and kind. Everything seems like it has been well-thought out and great quality, thanks to crestwood. Being a punctuation/grammar freak who likes to edit everything like myself, I have seen one a few flaws but nothing to the point of where I can't understand anything. The writing and plot and fluff is just amazing! I love the concept of a new prophecy. I'm glad Scorpious doesn't feel as if he's evil anymore. Hopefully he won't be too worked up when he finds out Al got to feel the baby kick first haha ;D

That's about it for me, I'll see you in the next chapter (which will hopefully be soon!!) :)

Have a happy start of 2016!
-Morgan

Author's Response: Hi there Morgan!

Thanks AGAIN for stopping by to leave a review. This one was SO SWEET! (And yes - I totally remembered you :) ).

Wow. The whole story in less that 48 hours - that is impressive.

I really struggled with the decision to kill off Selenia. Originally it was going to be another character (I'm not ready to say who just yet) - but Selenia dying fit much better into the rest of the plot line. I know it's REALLY weird, but I miss her. She was awesome.

Ha! I'm so happy you remembered the little package. It was SO many chapters ago and I was nervous that readers would be like, "What the heck is going on?!" -so thanks for the vote of confidence on that.

I don't like giving away too much in my review responses, so I'm not going to comment on the gender of the baby - other than to say that I already know what it is AND I've got the name all sorted out as well. ;)

I'm glad you have questions - and I truly hope you stick with the story. It's reviews like this one that keep me going. Aww, thanks for the compliments - crestwood has been a great help to me.

Happy 2016 to you too!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by Slytherdor18 Bone Tired: Scorpius POV

4th January 2016:
You writing is seriously so good! I am engrossed in this story. I just started this morning and now it's 8pm. I like how you switch up the POVs and also do well with trying to follow canon with the original characters (not next gen ones)! The plot is super good, I do love my fluff, but having things with a real thought-out plot is so great. You are really creative and talented!!
Another thing I would add that I noticed in this particular chapter is that you wrote about Al mentioning the prophecy to Scorp, Dom, and Selenia when they were all talking about Rose. I usually don't point out small flaws, but because you had a whole segment on how Harry told Dom and Al to Obliviate their significant others about the propehcy, I wanted to mention it. Al was like "is the prophecy too much to handle" or something along those lines...Selenia was apart of that convo when she wasn't supposed to know about it anymore.
Just thought I'd mention it, not trying to be negative or nitpicky!
Overall...Keep writing, you have really got me in deep with this story! I've even shed a good amount tears at the beginning with the mixed emotions of Rose and Scorpious, I really can't handle angst that well haha.
Love it! I will definitely be reading more of anything you write! :)
-Morgan

Author's Response: Hi there Morgan,

Gah! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I love getting feedback and I'm so sorry for taking so long to reply to this.

I just read through the chapter again to check out the plot error you mentioned and OMG - YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!! Thank you for pointing that out - I'll definitely rework the wording to fix that mistake. I think (iirc), I added this chapter in after writing through most of the story - so in "my head," I'd already revealed the prophecy to Selenia.

Haha - sorry I made you shed tears, but I do love that you're really into the story!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by oldershouldknowbetter Besieged: Rose POV

3rd January 2016:
Well how about this, my first review of the new year, the first for the new BvB and one of my old favourites again. It's all so good, let me dive in.

Well of course your readers are going to like the first paragraph. Snogging *sigh* and yay!

What to do about the press and public opinion of the Weasley/Potter people must be a concern for every writer of a Next Gen story. From my memory you haven't touched upon it much, but here you have a reference to it in the background and it has a logical position in your world. It is a presence in their lives and one which they must tread around carefully.

They still have not labelled their relationship, oh how them that is. Even when James pointedly refers to it, she still doesn't want to define what it is - especially not to Scorpius. Heaven forbid that they actually talk about their feelings towards each other to each other.

Her father's name is mentioned which causes Rose some consternation. Ron is always a force majeure in these sort of stories - whether he is a force for good or ill, and from what we've seen before he is not going to be that approving.

And then ...

You just cannot leave us happy, can you? No the drama just has to raise it's ugly head, though in your case the way I imagine him is far from ugly - I picture him as looking maturely handsome in a slightly evil and unsettling way.

Stannous is in her flat and it brings all of the panic that she has always felt. Her wand is not with her, blast (also, but of course it isn't).

She flashes back and we realise that the abduction by Stannous is so much worse because it was also a betrayal. It makes it so much worse that she really liked him, and in no schoolgirl-crush sort of way, but he was to her exactly what an older mentor should have been. She loved his lessons because they stimulated her mind and abilities. To have him be the one to hurt her would simply have to taint all of her memories of all of the things she'd learnt from him.

Oh, we are going to delve into what happened now. The shock of seeing him again has propelled her right back into the thick of it. I have jumped around this story so much that I cannot remember if this is the first time that we have learnt what really happened. If it is (and I think it is) it is a good place in the story to finally reveal the events.

Or as we shall see, what she remembers of the events, because she wasn't exactly compos mentis for the entirety of the ordeal. We are spared the gruesome details of exactly what went on and all we are informed of is that it was the worse torture she had ever known.

And here he is in her flat, urbanely sitting there and addressing her politely like nothing was amiss. She has been caught flat footed, but her brain at least is still working. She thinks about all of the protection spells upon her flat. There really cannot be much wrong with them or much of a gap in the protection that they bring. No it really has to be something else. It could be just that Stannous has a powerful and as yet unrecorded magic which allows him to breach her defences, but, from a little bit of a memory of what is to come, there is a tickle to me of what one of the causes of their breach could be. For anyone who actually reads these reviews as reviews, there is about to be a spoiler. But could the gap in their defences be an inside man, actually I mean, an inside woman?

And he reveals that he is still keeping an eye on her. It's just so creepy, but she cannot think about it now, she has to concentrate upon surviving and escaping him.

Reinforcement comes in the form of Dom, but that just summons more reinforcements for Stannous. One of them is the oily git from the party the other night. He grabs Rose and it is good to see that though her magic might desert her in these situations sometimes, her basic moxie hasn't. She lands a good solid hit on her assailant which allows her to break free. She is always struggling to overcome the repression of her abilities that the attack upon her in the past engendered.

The end of the chapter is so full of drama, it's beautifully done. She escapes one, to be jerked back into Stannous' clutches. Selenia tries to intercept her, but Stannous grasps her. Her friends try their best but more reinforcements arrive for Stannous, but they aren't for him, it's Scorpius and Al. Stannous' cronies desert him and he tries to apparate away with Rose and she manages to struggle free. Or does she?

The way you leave us, she could have gone with him or she might have stayed with her friends (please, please be more than just might, please be the one to be true). You know that I have read on, that I have read more than up to just this chapter, but the way you leave it I cannot remember exactly what happens next. Has she been abducted once again? I will really have to read on and find out.

As per usual, a great chapter with an amazing mix of both romance and drama. As of writing this review, I know that you have a new chapter out, but having just completed this review, I realise that I have forgotten a lot of the details inbetween. So I shall just have to re-read everything again instead of skipping to the latest chapter. *sigh* What a chore having to re-read all of this excellent story, I don't think.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #22, by grednforge217 Broken: Rose POV

3rd January 2016:
This is one of the best fics I've ever read, and I've been reading fic for a decade. I can't believe that this is your first fic, it is so well done! I already have such affection for these characters, and as somebody that suffers from anxiety, your description of panic attacks were so on point that they almost hurt. Thank you so much for writing this, I cannot wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Gah!

I just happened to be online and this amazing review popped up. Thanks so much! I'm so relieved that my portrayal of anxiety came across as realistic - I wanted to be very careful and respectful in dealing with that as part of the story.

I'm grinning so wide right now - I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by Tildis Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

3rd January 2016:
I love how this is not an ordinary love story were all problems come in form of bickering. This goes deeper than that. It's not Scorp vs Rose but Rose AND Scorp (And the rest of the potters/Weasleys) vs Stannous and Co.

Also while i thought Selinia was wonderful and actually brought something to the story I understand why you had to kill her of. Right in the feels on that one! Though I feel like a small moment from Albus point of view when he found her or how he feels right now whould probably bring even further emotions.(Maybe something for a chapter to come?). I am not complaining though, i looove this story and you are doing a great job writing it! Both the dialogs and way of writing feels natrual.

A great way to bring Albus bacck, btw!

I look forward to next chapter
//Tilde

Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm so sorry that it's taken me this long to reply to this amazing review. And I feel like you REALLY understand these characters. I was reading this like, "YES! THAT IS WHAT I'VE BEEN TRYING TO DO!!" Most of the Rose/Scorpius stories I've read were exactly as you described - a fighting match between the two of them. Some of them are fabulous stories, but I really wanted to tell mine a little differently.

That's a really good idea to put in Albus's POV. I've tried really hard to stay with Rose and Scorp so far, and I'm not entirely sure I want to go into the sort of grief he must be feeling - it's just TOO sad :(

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review - I really appreciate it!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

2nd January 2016:
OMG THERE'S A NEW CHAPTER I JUST CAN'T EVEN *flails*

Although maybe I shouldn't have been so eager to come back and have my heart broken...

I know I'm not even a character in this story, but even I can't believe she's gone, it's so sad, and you did an excellent job of conveying the absence and sense of loss they all feel - I mean you even made me feel it. Your portrayal of their grief was very, very real.

I'm glad to know that Sels' parents aren't holding a grudge against the wizarding world, that's very important and I'm glad you brought it up. And I'm also glad that, after taking their time to grieve, Harry and Scorpius and Dom are back on the case - I'm glad there's still someone out there working to find Stannous and I hope they find him soon! He definitely IS getting desperate and that doesn't bode well for Rose! And I'm glad she doesn't take issue with the 'no public places' thing anymore! It's for her own good, even moreso now than before!

Speaking of Rose, she's almost in her 3rd trimester!! EEK! I'm getting So excited for the baby... but also really, really nervous. I mean you just KNOW there's going to be one more big showdown with Stannous and I really, really hope it ends well for everyone involved... I don't think my poor heart could take losing another one of these characters you've made us fall in love with!

Seriously, I can't express to you how much I love this story, or how incredibly talented you are! I'll be eagerly waiting for the next chapter! Well done, as always!

-Jayde

Author's Response: Jayde,

I absolutely love your reviews.

I've gotta say it again. I LOVE YOUR REVIEWS! They are just so sweet and heartfelt and you make me FEEL every emotion that you went through when reading the chapter and it just... Gah! Thank you so much.

It really means a lot that you feel I did a good job with the grief. I try to balance getting deep enough into their feelings and going overboard to the absurd. But I can't imagine too many worse things than losing someone you loved so much at such an early age.

Haha - I'm pretty excited for the baby too. And you're spot on about a big showdown coming up - but I can't say anymore than that. I've got a bunch of things that need to happen before that. There's a ton more ups and downs ;)

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by AutumnRed Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

2nd January 2016:
SO happy you're back!!! I've missed reading this story, so I'm ecstatic you've updated.

xoxo,
AutumnRed

Author's Response: Hey there!

Oh - THANKS so much! I feel like we're really getting to the good part of the story and I'm so happy you took the time to leave a review.

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>