551 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ravenclaw_princess Besieged: Rose POV

25th August 2015:
Wow...everything was going along all nice and fluffy like and then...Bham.total change of pace. My head is still reeling from it all...not quite comprehending.must go back and re-read.

Ok, the shock has passed and I'm a bit more coherent now...so ahem

Hi, here for a BvB review :)

The start had me thinking I'd missed a very crucial moment, as in, Scoprius and Rose getting together. I have even gone back just to make sure I hadn't forgotten about it in break I've had between chapters. I can understand not wanting to dwell on those first dates, but as a reader, things suddenly felt disjointed, like there was a chapter missing or something. Even just a small snippet of info here about what happened since the auror office to this moment would help to transition between the chapters. I also do hope to hear about how they got together sometime in the future, pretty pretty please :)

That aside, I did love the chemistry of them together. They don't really know what is happening between them, only that it is so natural and overwhelming that all they can think about is each other. I like how it was 'announced' to their friends, but they all knew it was inevitable anyway.

So, pajama's really need to be made with a wand sleeve :P

The introduction of Stannous was completely shocking and I never saw it coming. I mean, in her house, of all places. The whole scene was well written, it had a frantic pacing which matched in with the pace of the action. It was also quite crazy which went in with Rose's mind.

Stannous is one dark character. I can't wait to see where you take him. It was nice to get some back story here into what happened to Rose.

I really felt for Rose. She was so happy at the start of the chapter, then in an instant, all that fear and anxiety returned to her. He paralyses her, which is why all she can say is 'No', as her mind shuts down in fear. I think you've done a great job at bring all off Rose's emotional trauma right back up to the surface.

Awesome job on this chapter.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thanks so much for picking this story for BvB! I'm so glad you're really into the characters.

You're not the first reviewer to comment on the sort of 'skip over' Rose and Scorpius's initial dates. I'll probably go back and take a look at that, but I wanted to explain a little of the reason why I did it. I really wanted everything to "seem" like it was going great for the pair. The first dates and really starting to fall for each other and all the romance and such. But Rose isn't being completely honest with Scorpius, here. She hasn't told him the truth about her torture and I kind of wanted to show that in order for them to move forward, he needs to know about her past.

Enter Stannous. (mwah, mwah, mwah!!)

Thanks so much for your comments about the scene! Writing action and fast paced wizard fights is a challenge, and I'm never sure if I get it right, so I really appreciate your vote of confidence.

Thanks again! I can't wait to find out what you think about the other chapters.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #2, by Frankie05 Broken: Rose POV

24th August 2015:
I decided to give this a try because I'm doing this new thing where I read Next- Gen fics and I thought- I like Beths style so I'll try one of her stories ONLY TO BE THROTTLED INTO PAIN. Poor Rose. Whatever happened to her that makes her have such anxiety and panic attacks? And why does she feel so sad and alone? It truly breaks my heart. At first I thought it was Scoprius who did something to her but then you said Stannous held her captive for six days. Okay? My curiousity is peaked.
I also like the intro into her past- knowing her friend and their relationship with the Wotter clan, and the whole sorting thing. I thought it was done quite well. Im so glad people are writing them(the Wotter children) in many different houses. It makes it so realistic and Gryffindor would have been over run by Weasleys and I'm just so glad you broke that mold. I'm interested to see where this story is going :)

Well done Beth and *hug*

Author's Response: Hi there Frankie!

Oh thank you, thank you for picking my novel. I've worked so hard on it and I really appreciate it when someone takes the time to leave a review!

Oh no! I didn't mean to throttle anyone into pain, but I *did* want to convey a lot of emotion on this one. And I'm really, really happy that I've got you interested in the story. That was my main goal.

I did make a certain effort to put the group into Ravenclaw. I remember that Hermione was almost put there and that Albus thought he might be between Slytherin or Gryffindor, but what if?! - something completely different.

Thanks again - and I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of the story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by ravenclaw_princess Better: Rose POV

24th August 2015:
Hi. Here for BvB

This was a short little chapter but a very sweet one. I liked the insight into the relationship between Harry and Rose. They sure are a close knit family. But more than that, they're also friends.

I love how Rose commanded Al to come back so she could heal him. You could show both her strong, no nonsense attitude as well as her very caring nature. She's also quite observant, nothing slips under her radar.

Everyone knows that Scorp and Rose like each other. They know it too. They rely on their friendship so much though that I imagine both of them are slightly fearful that if it doesn't work out, they will lose what the currently have.

Author's Response: Oh! Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you came back to this story. This chapter was a bit of reprieve from all the craziness that's been going on.

Haha - yes! Scorp and Rose's feelings for each other are obvious to everyone - they need to get over themselves already!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Claire Evergreen Bereft: Scorpius POV

24th August 2015:
Hey, Beth! Here for our swap!

So it's been a while since I've read this story, but I still remember everything that happened and that's definitely a testament to your fantastic writing. It feels like I never took a break!

I really like how you split the flashback up into two chapters. I think it would have been a lot to process all together, but splitting it up like this made it easier to focus on everything. I love seeing more into Scorpius's past and it most definitely changed what I assumed about him before. All of his reactions were extremely realistic and I could completely understand why he reacted the way he did.

I'm not gonna lie, I was trying so hard not to laugh at Mr. Miller's reactions to Harry and Ron. Seeing two full grown wizards (and Aurors at that), one of which was extremely angry at the time, storming through your house must have been more than a bit terrifying, so I can't blame him for freaking out.

Ugh, Rose. She is so wonderful in this! I just love your Rose so much, both in the present day and the flashbacks. She's just such a well-rounded and dynamic character, I love reading about her. The way that she is so determined to comfort Scorpius and let him know that she is there for him is such a contrast to the Rose in the first two chapters and it really drives home how awful whatever happened between her and her friends was. For her to go from this Rose-standing up to her father while sitting half-dressed in the bed of a boy-to the one who had to constantly remind herself that she needed to get dressed really makes me want to continue on and figure out what the heck happened.

This is so amazing, you're killing me with all of the suspense and mystery!! I definitely will not be able to wait as long before coming back again.

Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire!

Yay! You picked my novel - thanks so much. I know it has a bunch of reviews, but I really don't get tired of people choosing this story because I've put so, so much time into it -so thank you!

Gah!! You're too kind - I'm so glad you remembered what was going on.

I originally put the flashback scene all into one chapter and it seemed a bit long to have all together, so I'm glad you like it split up. And I had such a blast writing Uncle Phil, the Muggle. I think I would act similarly to him if two Wizard Aurors showed up at my house - haha!

Yes! You *totally* get Rose - I'm doing a happy dance right now. She is all of those things you said - and she's got to fight her way back to her real self.

Thanks again Claire - let me know if you ever want to do a swap again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by madness Blitz and Building: Rose and Scorpus POV

22nd August 2015:
Whoot whoot! Love it

Author's Response: Oh - thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Anie Blitz and Building: Rose and Scorpus POV

20th August 2015:
Lord have mercy.

I am so glad you didn't abandon this story (I was getting a bit nervous there)!

As always your writing is intriguing, and incredibly well balanced. I so look forward to your updates.

I hope you're well and void of writers block!

Author's Response: Hi Anie!

Nope - I've no intention of abandoning this story - hee hee. Thanks so much for stopping by again! The summer has been a bit busier than I expected, but I'm working hard to keep up with my updates.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by TreacleTart Breakthrough: Scorpius POV

17th August 2015:
Hi Beth!

I'm here for our review swap!

It's been entirely too long since I read the last chapter and I'm really sorry I haven't gotten back sooner. Life has been crazy with House Cup and work and what not.

Anyway, I'm glad to see that everyone is taking this kidnapping business so serious and trying to do the right thing this time around. I know it's really difficult for Albus, Scorpius, and Dom to hypothesize about what happened to their cousin, but it's true that if they want to figure out what's going on they need to be objective. They really have to look at this exactly like she's just another case.

Poor Scorp. He seems like he's having a really hard time too and it makes me nervous that he's not being honest about how he's feeling. I know he's trying to hold it all in so that he can do his job, but holding it in too much can be self destructive. He really needs to open up and talk to someone.

I'm glad that there wasn't any crazy heartbreak in this story. After the last chapters I don't know if I could've handled it. I'm glad everyone is getting at least one chapters worth of peace. *hugs Rose and Scorpius protectively*

Good job Beth!

I hope to be back for another chapter much sooner this time.

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi Kaitlin!

I love your reviews! Thanks for doing a swap. This chapter is the first of a series that start with "Break-" and it's kind of chapter arc of the story where it all takes place in one day - but it's a doozie of a day - haha. I can't wait to find out what you think of the rest of them.

Yeah, the group is having a rough time with it. Overall, they are a bit too close to the situation. Al is so full of passion that he forgets himself sometimes and Dom is usually fairly stoic, but you know it's got to be eating her. Scorpius tries is best to be even keel, but you can't really blame the guy.

Haha - I think we needed a chapter of calmness (that might be the cue for you to hold on to your hats for the next one - eeep!)

And I *always* hug Rose and Scorpius protectively ;)

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by WhiteFeather Blitz and Building: Rose and Scorpus POV

17th August 2015:
Thank you for the update! This story is fantastic.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much! And thanks for leaving a review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by kaeliebear Blitz and Building: Rose and Scorpus POV

17th August 2015:
Great job! I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm working on the next chapter :D

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tonks1247 Blitz and Building: Rose and Scorpus POV

17th August 2015:
Hiya Beth!

I was just doing my final chapter check of the night (glancing at my currently reading stories to see if anyone had updated their stories), and I noticed this story had a new chapter. And while I should technically be going to bed, I couldn’t not read the chapter and then decided that I should also review it right away as I will have limited (if any) wifi until Friday.

Also, before jumping in here, I have to thank you for writing such an intense story, one that’s easy to fall into and binge read in one night. Like, I absolutely love what you have set up here and I love your characters and how they interact. I loved it the night I binge read it and I have been trying really hard to review EVERYTHING I read. I’m just happy I was able to stay focused and get all caught up on the chapters. I enjoy the read and leaving my melodramatic reactions afterwards. xD

With that said. On with the review.

This chapter was amazing. I love the attack and how Scorpius managed to hold his own with the thought of Rose in mind. I was feeling pretty nervous after he took that spell and then realized that there were Auror’s, but they were on the far side of the Death Eaters. I wasn’t sure what was going to happen and was praying that Rose wouldn’t get hurt and then Harry and Ron showed up and I about died of relief. I knew they were okay from that point.

As for what transpires after that? I loved the detail. I love how Scorpius has to explain what he knew and what he did. I will admit, for a teeny tiny second after I finished the last chapter, I was thinking this was some sort of drill for his S.N.A.K.E.s exam (surprise exams aren’t that out there….), but then realized how cruel that would be to him. And that the exam probably is in a more secure and structures location. And that I was being ridiculous. BUT. The fact that this did end up counting for his S.N.A.K.E.s is amazing though! It really does help take some of the pressure off him!

I also love how Harry and Healer Lawrence talk and work out the best healer position for Rose. I was thinking she was going to have to push off the decision, but the fact that everything she wants is combined into one position for her? Like, I can’t even put words to how I feel about it! I know what it’s like to have to choose (Darn Nursing School) so getting the best of all of it (well, best in terms of what she wants to do…not the injuries or anything…) really is amazing. I love that she gets the opportunity!

The only down side? She keeps putting off a piece of information to tell Harry. Or trying to remember what it is. Or anything about her case trial thing. It makes me just a little ball of anxiety. That, and this chapter ended pretty peacefully. Everyone is chatting and happy and thinking about the future. I’m concerned. Like, it’s really bad, but I know something bad is going to occur and just…I don’t know what. It makes me anxious!

This was a really, really excellent chapter. There were two small things I noticed:

“We’ll be able interrogate and prosecute the eight you caught.” –there should be a ‘to’ between able and ‘interrogate’
“Although in hospital, I slept better than I had in weeks, with Scorpius at my side.” –I think there should be a ‘the’ between ‘in’ and ‘hospital’

Besides those though, this chapter was great! It was a good read and gave a good combination of happy/relaxed and anxious/scary. Great job!

-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #11, by Tonks1247 Bated Breath: Scorpius POV

14th August 2015:
Hiya!

Back for the FINAL chapter to finally get myself caught up! I also have finally passed my 300th review on the forums somewhere in this last spell of review dropping….quite the accomplishment I think! And as exciting as it all is, I’m also putting this in for BvB review fest!

So. I loved this chapter. And I know I’ve said it about other chapters, but I love this chapter in a different way than the others. This chapter was a moment in which we not only saw the strength of the love between Rose and Scorpius but Selenia just spoke out against one of her superiors and she really took charge of the situation. She was able to put her personal feelings and thoughts aside to focus on Rose as a patient. She refuted Healer Lawrence’s call about the potion, advocating for the sake of the baby, and then got Scorp to speak to her and calm her down. She then kicks everyone out of the room after Rose has woken up in order to give her time to rest. Like, dang. She really stepped up, outside of how even tempered and go with the flow that she is, and took charge of the situation. It was a good thing for her character and I really loved it.

Rose and Scorpius were really good in this chapter too. I like how Scorpius has kind of figured out that him and Rose need each other. Distancing himself did nothing but hurt the both of them, and that he really doesn’t want to be without her. I mean, it’s unfortunate that it took an event like this for him to realize he was looking at things all wrong, but I’m glad he’s finally figured it out. And that he’s by Rose’s side. I was beginning to miss the two of them xD

There is one small thing with this chapter, though. This sentence:

“But we may have to weigh the risks versus the rewards of administering it early.”

I am going to suggest, instead of using rewards, to use benefits. It may be the nursing part of my brain speaking, but I think it’s a better word to use as it’s generally used in the healthcare field and rewards just…I don’t know. It doesn’t sound quite as good in terms of using a potion.

Overall though, I really loved this chapter. It gave rise to some other character development and, of course, Scorp is going to be by Rose’s side now (Hopefully). It was a really lovely chapter and I’ll leave off with a line that I quite enjoyed:

Even though she’d been the one in mortal peril today, somehow it felt like I was the one that’d been saved.

Can’t wait for new chapters! :D
-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #12, by Tonks1247 Beating Heart: Scorpius POV

14th August 2015:
Hiya! Back for another chapter! Putting it in for BvB as well.

AH! WHY DOES THE INTENSITY DO THIS TO ME! I’m such a mess from this chapter because I understand what it’s like to be in a hospital and anxious about things going on and fearing the worst and then you have Ron stepping forward, along with all the Weasley’s really, to comfort Scorpius and help bring him through despite how things look with Rose. Seriously. You have me an emotional mess right now and I’m not quite sure I know how to react to the emotions spinning through my head.

You’ve done so, so much justice to Ron’s character here. Like, he admits how he has a problem with Malfoy’s and he blames Draco for Hermione’s torture just as much as Bellatrix’s, but like…it’s not the same with Scorpius. He isn’t his father and just…Ron’s whole speech seriously made me want to cry. He was so honest and he said exactly what Scorpius needed to hear. It was really touching and it was obvious that Ron struggled to get the words out through what you wrote and it was really very lovely.

With Rose’s condition….this high heart rate thing is giving me anxiety. Like, it’s obviously not good for either of them and this potion they are giving isn’t good in high doses to the baby and it’s just…it’s not a good situation. It’s making me super anxious especially because I’m pretty sure this is strictly related to WHY she fell and is related to Stannous. I know Scorpius has that thought in his head and he better not let it fade away because something fishy is going on with the whole situation and it’s just not cool.

Also, the fact that you can extend happy/fluffy feelings over a couple chapters to then turn around and put anxiety all over the place in the next few is cruel. Like, I really love your writing style and how you can work a plot like this, but at the same time…like, I don’t know how to function with this back and forth! I’m way too attached to these character for my own good…. (But it’s totally fine cause I totally love it, no matter how melodramatic I am!)

And, because I can’t help it, I’m leaving three quotes that I quite enjoyed for one reason or another. You had a lot of good lines here and just…great, great job dear!

I couldn’t remember the hallways being so long before. There must’ve been some sort of magical enchantment on them to make them longer when you needed to get through them as fast as possible

Perhaps she shouldn’t be so rude to upset fiancés.

“Scorpius, we are not our parents. I’ll never forgive your father, but you can’t beat yourself up for something that you had absolutely no control over.”


-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #13, by Tonks1247 Blackout: Rose and Scorpius POV

14th August 2015:
Hiya! Back for another chapter! Putting it in for BvB as well.

WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY? THIS IS NOT COOL! THIS IS WHY I HAVE PROBLEMS KEEPING MY COOL FOR REVIEWS! Things are fine, and then they’re not and then there’s a cliff hanger that’s gonna push me further to losing my chill. AH!

Okay. That’s outta my system. Now. To this chapter.

I don’t even know where to begin. There are so many little things that I noticed that I feel the need to mention, mostly because I think it could be significant, but there are a ton of other things I could mention and be dramatic about because this was such a cruel end to a chapter.

Imma start with Rose and her school stuff. Scorp ignoring her or I guess avoiding her is on all my wrong nerves during this part. I get why he’s doing it, but she’s so miserable and stressed without him and just…the pair of them make me sad cause they’re both so miserable. But. School. Rose’s assignments with these cases and the opportunity to put together the pieces to solve them is awesome. I think it’s one of those things I would quite enjoy doing. I also laugh that the first couple were pretty easy for her to figure out.

As for that last case? Well. I’m not liking any little bit of it. It’s really creepy, and the fact that it’s sticking with Rose and not seeming right…there is definitely something fishy going on. Especially as I started looking at facts and seeing things written here that seem mentioned previously. So. The parts that get me:

For a moment I got lost in the depths of that steel-gray eye. It emphasized the tuft of white hair speckled with ash….However, I would know that lightning bolt anywhere.

“And the fact that it was made to look like an accident…”


Like. What? White hair? Things LOOKING like an accident? Scorpius’ parents dead. Some kitchen explosion ACCIDENT. Like. Maybe I’m just putting things together because I’m reading too far into it (As a ‘Claw and nursing student, I’m a pro at reading into things that shouldn’t be) but like…somethings sideways. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE NEXT MORNING COMES!

Rose leaves the baby picture and the ribbon he appreciated so much with him only to lose it on the stairs? Like. I could see it happening. The slipping. But some ‘force’ being there helping her along? I’m seeing. ESPECIALLY WITH THIS LINE:

As I was desperately flailing my arms to grab on to something, I caught a glimpse of a fuzzy figure in a dark robes with light hair stood on the top step.

WHAT!?! Why, Beth, why? It’s not cool for all these suspicious things to be going on and causing all sorts of anxiety! Because the fact that Al shows up and tells Scorp that his whole world is trying to fall apart…It makes me so sad and anxious for him! (Though, you know how I said something bad had to happen before Scorp figured out how unimportant being the ‘evil’ part of the prophecy is? Yeah.)

But seriously. This chapter was absolutely amazing. I loved the suspense (and the fact that this cliff hanger is the cruellest thing ever (which I love but hate at the same time, ya know?) and pushes me to go on to more chapters) and the time you took to put in these small details I noted (important or not) and just…everything. It’s all given me theories and made me think (which is a dangerous thing, I hope you know), and it’s just really, really lovely!

Before I go, I do need to share this. Because I’m one of those people (due to nursing school) who can talk about the grossest things over lunch and not even think twice about it. XD

I found it amazing that apparating downstairs could make me so queasy I would lose lunch everywhere, but looking at these photos didn’t even give me butterflies in my stomach.

-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #14, by Tonks1247 Betrothed: Rose POV

14th August 2015:
Hiya! Back for another chapter! Putting it in for BvB as well.

Why does Scorp need to be so overdramatic? I mean, I totally can see where he’s coming from. I get that this prophecy and making him the father and the ‘evil’ side of things is bad, and I know why it hurts him. He doesn’t want to be a bad influence and he wants for Rose and the baby to be good and to be okay, but he’s making me sad. His life has been so difficult, with losing his parents and being labelled as a Malfoy, and for this prophecy to hit him so hard….it’s just not cool! Feel so bad for him!

As for Rose? Well. She’s had time to adjust to the prophecy. It didn’t really say anything about her she didn’t know or rejected for most of her life. She took time to accept it and now she’s gotta do the same for Scorp and I know it’s killing her. It’s like the fact that they both loved each other for so long but wouldn’t make a single move to do something about it or tell each other. It’s such a slow process and I’m sure Scorp is going to do exactly what he shouldn’t do and continue to avoid her until something dramatic happens and he realizes that maybe it’s not as big of a deal as he thinks it is….

Also in this chapter, I love how James comes home just for Rose’s announcement. I love how excited she got for him. I also may have laughed a lot at Fred’s congratulations to Rose and Scorpius about the baby. More than I should have, yet besides.

I also love how Hermione was able to plan such a big party so fast and have food and everything else prepared in a matter of hours. It really doesn’t surprise me much, but it was funny how Rose pointed that out so obviously as well.

Another lovely chapter!
-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #15, by Tonks1247 Bound by Fate: Scorpius POV

13th August 2015:
Hiya Beth! Back for another chapter! Putting it in for BvB as well.

AH! OH MY FREAKING GOSH I KNEW THIS WAS COMING AND I REMEMBER READING THIS CHAPTER THE FIRST TIME AND I’VE BEEN WANTING THEM TO REALIZE IT FOR THE LAST COUPLE OF CHAPTERS BUT NOW THAT IT’S HERE I WANNA TAKE IT BACK!

Okay. Give me a minute to calm myself down. Because this chapter hit a little harder than expected (or that I remembered) and it’s just so not cool.

So. The prophecy is speaking of a child between Rose and Scorpius. I know Rose kind of figured it out before her mum said it and Scorp wasn’t far behind but I know his reaction to this is going to bad. Not only because I’ve read all the chapters, but because, historically, Scorpius doesn’t handle bomb droppings very well. This, I know, is no exception.

Also, like, Rose is not going to handle Scorpius’ reaction well because she never handles his reactions well and just…they were such happy and fluffy people and Rose was being giggly and just adorable and now there’s this bomb and things are going to explode. Like, I love it, but Beth…you couldn’t just let it be? (Don’t answer that. I know. It was necessary. I know!)

Okay. Now that the initial freak out and rant is through. Other things in this chapter.

I love Rose and Scorpius. Scorp is so excited about this baby and I’m sure, given the opportunity, he would stare at the picture from the healer all day. And the fact that all he can do is watch her and just smile is just…it’s really sweet. It really shows how much they love each other, rather than everyone just saying ‘oh they love each other.’ It is really good to see that as it packs so much more emotion into it! Especially with Rose and Scorpius having these silly little conversations. Like, it almost hurts, how cute they are.

I also quite adored Scorpius after getting to Harry’s office to find Ron and Hermione there (what a great thing, for all the important people to be in the same place. Convenient xD). The way he made his little speech to Ron and sort of threatened him with his wand…well, it was just as excellent as Ron’s reaction to that little speech. I was honestly laughing so hard at that point, cause I could just see it in my head…it was pretty great! Also doesn’t help that after reading this line, all I could think was how it was a question Ron really didn’t want an answer to:

“I thought you were going to propose! H-how does… this happen be-before one proposes, Malfoy?!”

-coughs- I’m alright…

Another thing I liked, because apparently I’m really into Ron/Hermione, is how Ron encouraged Hermione to just saw what she had discovered. Their interactions are honestly some of the greatest things ever and I really may have to stop by that other story you have going to check it out. Because I really do love these two. And how Rose and Scorpius kinda mirror them as well…

Overall, this was a brilliant chapter. I know I went totally overdramatic for this review, but like…I couldn’t help it….Great job!

-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #16, by Tonks1247 Bound by Hope: Rose POV

13th August 2015:
Hiya Beth! Back for another chapter! Putting it in for BvB as well.

FLUFFY CHAPTERS WITH ROSE AND SCORPIUS ARE MY FAVOURITEST THINGS EVER! Not even kidding you. These last couple of chapters have been so sweet and have made me fall in love with these characters even more. Their relationship and situations seem so real and I love how I can feel things with them through the writing. It is really rather lovely and one of the many reasons I find myself coming back for another chapter.

There were many parts that made me giggle quite a bit. Pregnant Rose sass has to be one of my favourite things. Her POV is so much more entertaining when she’s ranting and raving and being irritation, to a point. These two lines are two that really stuck out this chapter:

Of course, he was being absolutely rotten about it. He was so completely understanding and compassionate; it was aggravating me all the more.

“…But if you spin me around like that right after I just threw up ever, ever again, I will make sure that the next vomit session ends up on you. In fact, I can almost guarantee it.”


The fact that she wants to get reaction out of him and for him to stop being so perfect just adds on to the entertainment. Having just completed all of my obstetrics rounds for nursing school also adds to the entertainment because there are always fun stories when hormones come in and we also talk about how the expectant mother is always right…

The only other thing from this chapter I’m going to question…October 31 as the due date. Didn’t really set anything off the first time reading it, but the second time…is it just the date that it happens to fall on or is there a specific plot point to it? Or is it better if you say nothing at all? Hmmm….

Great chapter!
-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #17, by Tonks1247 Bound by Honor: Rose and Scorpius POV

13th August 2015:
Hiya Beth! Back for another chapter! Putting it in for BvB as well.

I honest to goodness forgot how much I adored some of these chapters in here. Like, the fact that they’re adjusting to the news of being pregnant and in that happy phase and are engaged and just ready for the world…it’s really great. It’s so fluffy and it’s definitely a good break from the constant drama with these two. I know it can’t last, but like…they’re both really great right here.

I think I could probably go on and on about how great Scorpius is, as he knows Rose so well and loves her so obviously. He knew she’d have a break down and he’s just able to be the support she needs. The fact that he lets his doubts gets in the way is probably going to end badly, but the fact that he’s putting in a lot of effort and wanting to be the best he can for Rose and the baby is great!

With Rose…I think she’s actually adjusting quite well to the role. It’s super early, of course, but the fact that she tells Scorp the baby can’t hear her but then turns around to tell the baby all of these things…it’s really sweet. I love this side of Rose and how comfortable and happy she is, despite the prophecy weighing her down (Scorp had a perfect comeback for that BUT WHY DO THEY NOT PUT IT TOGETHER?! Gosh darn them being in love… xD)

I also have to share a little love with Selenia this chapter. She was amazing in the last chapter, with working out what was going on with Rose while not setting Albus off to it, but she was also really good at keeping Scorp calm. The fact that Scorp does feel good and comfortable talking with her is good and she’s just really brilliant when it comes to sharing information. She really does fit the picture of healer in my head, and I can’t wait to see more from her character.

Also, there was this line in this chapter that just…it made me giggle and it was pretty great. So I thought I’d share it:

But at this moment, in this bathroom at our unplottable house in the middle of Muggle London, I could make her feel a little more normal.

Really lovely chapter!
-Mikaela

 Report Review

Review #18, by Tonks1247 Bound by Blood: Rose and Scorpius POV

13th August 2015:
Heya!

AH! This was such a sweet chapter! I mean, I know that Scorp is a little slow on the pick-up about Rose being pregnant and the prophecy (Not that Rose seems to remember the thought pattern), but like…the fact that Scorpius doesn’t want her worrying about anything but hearing the baby’s heartbeat…it’s such a big moment for them! Especially after getting engaged just before that! Like, big chapter with big changes and I absolutely adore what you’ve constructed here! It really is just perfect!

I also love how Scorpius was able to keep Albus in the dark. It made me giggle to think of Scorp raising his wand against Albus and then to let Selenia in on the secret without Albus finding out. Like, poor Al and his poorly observation skills…though I know if Scorp would have let him in on the secret…well, this would have been a pretty interesting chapter.

Overall though, I feel you did quite well with this chapter! Every time something happens, it’s always one thing followed by a ton of things. I love it, as it makes the story hard to predict, and it really pulls me in. So really, excellent job with this! I am going to share one of my favourite lines from this chapter, just cause I love Scorpius a little bit…

I think it may have been the first time in his life where he realized what Rose actually meant to me and how far I was willing to go to protect her.

Lovely chapter!
-Mikeala

(Also putting this in for BvB review fest! :D )

 Report Review

Review #19, by Tonks1247 Bound by Love: Rose and Scorpius POV

13th August 2015:
Heya!

I think tonight may be the night I can get through my remaining reviews to be all caught up with this story…or at least that’s going to be my attempt tonight. We’ll see how it goes. And these reviews will be included in the BvB review fest as well!

I will not comment about how much I love Scorpius. I won’t talk about the way I can’t help but smile when he calls Rose ‘Ro’, or how he wakes her up early, gently and is just so incredibly sweet, or about how he has this big thing planned and how he takes her to the Cannon’s pitch and then uses the ring as a decoy snitch and how he worries about Rose when she gets ill right after his proposal and how he panics that it’s the worst as he only wants the best for her. I won’t say it, but like, I kinda absolutely love Scorpius and I really do adore him. As long as I’m not talking about him.

Also. It was just before this chapter I figured out what was going on with Rose when I read things through the first time. I just sorta knew what was going on (Nursing school always helps) cause I noticed the patterns in what was going on with her but then when I read this chapter there was a whole new level of freak out. Because there’s a freaking prophecy that’s about a child of hers and no one has sat down and thought about it long enough to realize that Scorpius fits just as well as Stannous and just, like…crap. Things are getting real and then you end this chapter and just kinda leave that piece of information out there and I really just want to keep reading. Because Rose is usually more accepting of things than Scorpius and I know Scorp is going to throw this whole fit about this news and stop talking to Rose and I’m going to be highly upset at his stupidity. Only worse yet that he’s the greatest thing ever. xD

Anyways. There was one thing with this chapter that Imma be nitpicky about:

“Scorpius had to hold me up – the apparating made me dizzy, as usual and I lost my footing, as usual.” Should be a comma between the ‘usual’ and the ‘and’

This was a really lovely chapter and I’m happy to have time to move on to more! :D

-Mikaela

Author's Response: Okay, time to reveal my deepest and darkest. I'm sorta in love with Scorpius too - haha. At some point in the story I was just like - forget this - I'm going to write about the guy I've always *thought* he should be to deserve Rose. And yeah, I love that he calls her "Ro" too. It's different than what her family calls her, but still special and unique to the two of them.

Haha - I tried to be more subtle with my patterns, but I was having a difficult time striking the balance between adding in a few clues here and there and making sure they weren't leading the reader totally astray. I don't think I could've hoped to fool a nursing student - haha!

Yes, Rose is much more willing to accept what's handed to her than Scorpius (*does happy dance that Mikaela knows my characters so well*), and that will definitely play out, but at the same time - this is what Scorpius has always dreamed about. He's a lot like Harry in that respect - and this is his dream, even if it comes along in a package that he didn't envision.

I'll fix that comma right now!

Thanks!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by Tonks1247 Bone Tired: Scorpius POV

13th August 2015:
Hiya Beth!

I made the decision to forgo sleeping and get at least one more review written. That and I really like this chapter and when I realized this was the next one to review, I couldn’t help it and decided to go for it! This’ll go in for BvB as well!

This chapter was another kind of slow down chapter. I mean, it’s back to Scorpius’ POV and I love all the things he notices. He’s so different from Rose and I really like the difference in their perspectives and how they see each other and their relationships with others. Like, it’s really lovely how these characters are so distinct but even when the POV switches, it’s still obvious which character is which. It’s really good to see that extend through numerous chapters.

Back to the original thought. While Rose takes the death of Ruth hard, things kind of slowdown in chapter. Everyone is busy with school (how much of a slowdown that is? Well, I’m not on the edge of my seat, which is good…) and just getting through the days. Having Selenia, Albus and Dom come to Scorpius and point out that Rose is acting different is good. It gives a fault to Scorpius, gives him doubts. And, I mean, he’s good at coming up with them himself, but it makes him a much more real character to have all these doubts about missing things. That and the way that they all ask him to talk to her and Albus with his little hypocritical complaints...it was just a good chapter!

Also love the little things—some of which I actually caught the first time around and others that I didn’t get until this last read through. Rose’s….actions, I guess, are a little more put together and first time around, I was catching on that something was a little sideways with her and something wasn’t right. I was actually thinking it had something to do with Stannous and the curse. Not too far off from the lovely prophecy, but you know… Also, Scorpius with his plotting. That was totally lost on me the first time around. I don’t know how I missed it, but I’m definitely appreciating it the second time around.

Overall, this chapter was just as great as the others! I love coming through this story a second time and picking up on things that help with theories about future events. Gives me more questions (oh, the dreaded questions that always crop up while reading this story…) and more theories as to what will happen, which is great! I’m loving it!

Until next time,
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hey there Mikaela!

I don't know if I can accurately portray how happy I am that you've noticed a difference in the POV of Rose vs. Scorpius. I've worried about that from the start. I definitely *feel* different when I write for each of them, and I also really make an effort to do some sort of reveal in the first sentence or two as to who is the narrator at that time, but it really, really means a lot when a reader lets me know that they can definitely sense a different tone between the two. I feel it, but it's nice to know it's coming through in the writing. :)

About the slowdown - this chapter was definitely an add on to the original story, but I felt I needed a bridge to build up to what was about to happen. There had to be a reason, that Scorpius felt compelled to make his move =)

Gah! Thanks so much! I can't ever tell you how much it means that you let me know what you pick up on the second time through - that's a view that most authors don't get to see very often and I feel really, really blessed that you're letting me in on your thought process - for BOTH the first and second time around.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by Tonks1247 Baffled: Scorpius and Rose POV

13th August 2015:
Hiya Beth!

I’m back for another Chapter (which will be included in BvB)! I think this may be my last chapter for the night, though I may go on to one more due to the end of this chapter. Dang cliff hangers….

OH MY GOSH THIS IS WHAT I WAS WAITING FOR AND THIS IS WHY I SEEMED TO HAVE SUCH AN ISSUE WITH RUTH! THIS IS WHAT DID IT!

Okay, so, I kept being suspicious of Ruth. And I wasn’t quite sure how to explain why her character just didn’t sit right with me. I mean, I know it’s good to have a therapist, someone on the outside to talk to, but with Rose’s situation…that’s a problem. For her to have someone that she puts so much of herself in with the PTSD…I mean, Rose may not have said much to Ruth and Ruth may not have said anything in Bulgaria, but for her to be killed with the spell Stannous used on Rose…well, this is why Ruth’s character didn’t sit well with me. Because it was just another outside source where information moved. And it bothered me because there was this nasty feeling that something was going to go wrong and here it is, rounding out with Ruth’s death. This is why I had an issue with Ruth. (I know you didn’t want her to be suspicious, but I didn’t mean it in a bad context as in she was plotting against Rose or anything. I just had this gut feeling something wasn’t going to go well with that whole situation and this would be why. xD)

Okay. Chilling out my explosion there. I really liked how Rose got this opportunity to ask some questions and actually hear the prophecy. I was hoping that the prophecy would be shared directly (Kudos for such a well written one! Those things are hard to write!) because I really wanted to see it and I know Hermione is thinking a little bit past Stannous and Bellatrix. I can’t wait for her to share her train of thought there… But I also love how Harry knows Rose has more questions that she doesn’t want to ask in front of anyone. Like, seriously. The relationships Rose has with people are so nice and just…I really adore her family!

The other thing I wanted to mention, on my second read through, is all the stuff I caught the second time through—again. Rose with her feeling nauseous, and not hungry, and tired and Scorpious being totally fine with leaving Rose with Harry in a hurry…Hah, it’s good knowing things and then coming back to read them. You notice a lot more and put pieces together…

There was one small thing in this chapter:

“I pulled hand out of Dad’s grasp to rub my head.” –I’m thinking this sentence is missing a word and will then make sense in that paragraph, but then again, I was a bit confused with the paragraph anyways. So maybe take a peek at it?

Great job on this chapter! I absolutely adore this story and hope I can get through at least one more chapter before bed tonight….

-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hiya Mikaela,

I see your point about Ruth - and it totally makes sense. I never intended her to be any direct threat to Rose, but you're completely right. She had a LOT of information that would be very valuable to Stannous. I guess time will tell ;)

Gah! Thank you so much for your comment about the prophecy! I was really, really worried that it sounded amateur-ish. I worked on it for quite while and I was finally like "okay - this is as good as it's gonna get." when I posted it.

I've made an effort NOT to have huge dramatic confrontations within the family. I've read (and thoroughly enjoyed) a bunch of stories that use the family for the main source of plot, but I really wanted to write something different - where the next-gen kids had their own "bad guy" to get rid of. It's just the icing on the cake that the original crew is around to help out.

And I can't tell you how much I LOVE that you found additional details when you re-read the story. I've tried so, so hard not to be too obvious or too vague about the little things I put in here and there - and I think that the fact that you knew something was off the first time around, but found everything the second time lets me know that I've hit it just right - Eeep!!

Thanks so very much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by Tonks1247 Broomsticks and Breathing: Scorpius and Rose POV

13th August 2015:
Hiya Beth!

I’m back for another Chapter (which will be included in BvB)!

So. I really loved this chapter. And I adore how you slowed everything down after the intense situation in the previous chapters! It was a good and needed break. And it gave a good look at Rose and Selenia’s friendship and at Albus and Scorpius’ friendship. And Albus and Rose’s. Like, seriously. This chapter was a good step back for all of them, giving them time to calm down and be ready to get back together and not be so sideways. It was nice.

I also love how the POV switched back and forth. It did take me a minute to figure out when the switches occurred, but I think it was a good thing to see what was happening to all the characters in the same weekend. And it was transitioned well. I liked the set up and it made it easy to go about writing.

What else do I have about this chapter…I adored Scorp’s slow realization that Rose was Rose. He was totally shocked with her haircut and everything and it was a good reaction. Made me laugh a little that they played the name question game. Seriously, I giggled and it was really bad.

Ron was also super fun in this chapter. I love his inability to sneak around and being spotted by Rose so much. Also love how he tried to tag along with Rose only for Rose to pick to go into a particular store. And then for Selenia and Rose to come out to Ron and Harry. Like, I was laughing so hard. The poor guys…

There were also TONS of little things I noticed reading this through the second time. Like Rose being nauseous at all kinds of weird times, and Scorp wanting Albus to go to Diagon Alley with him and the whole conversation after flying. Like, seriously, how slow can I be? (Then again, first time through I was so distracted by everything else going on, so missing that stuff was bound to happen…).

There was one small thing I noticed:

“…it was perfect to wear during the rainy London spring - and the all as well” –for all I think you meant fall

Past that, this chapter was quite lovely. I apologize that my review is such a mess to admitting it’s good and I quite adored it, but I got all my thoughts out so I can’t complain too much…

And before I go on, I have a favourite discussion and then a line that should be a tagline to this story—no joke.

“We really are pathetic, you know.” // “Don’t you mean whipped?” // “Tomato, tomahto.”

I just couldn’t shake the feeling that something bad was about to happen.


Always something… xD Great chapter!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hi Mikaela!

I'm still working through all your amazing reviews! Thanks for all your comments on this chapter.

Yeah, I agree - everyone needed some down time at this point in the story and I had SO MUCH fun writing this one.

I was a little nervous for all the POV switches, but I think it needed to be done to go back and forth between what was happening with both groups.

And a note on Ron: although he comes across as a little clueless here, he's being seen from Rose's POV and that's kind of always how she sees her dad. In reality, he's just DARING anyone to come near his daughter. He's flexing his serious Auror muscles here and doesn't care who knows. Rose just doesn't see it that way :)

Ooo - thanks for noticing that typo - I'll fix it right up.

Wow - you're right - I really do like that tagline for the story. I'm seriously considering changing it.

Thanks again and again and again =)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by Tonks1247 Baleful: Rose POV

13th August 2015:
Heya Beth!

Another chapter for tonight! For BvB fest as well!

I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS CHAPTER FOR SO MANY REASONS AND NOW I DON’T KNOW WHICH POINTS TO HIT ON FIRST CAUSE I DIDN’T REALIZE ALL THE THINGS I’VE BEEN WAITING TO SAY COME IN DURING THE SAME CHAPTER! WHY IS EVERYTHING ALWAYS LIKE THIS! AHHH!

Okay. I’m okay. Really. I am. Melodramatic means I’m okay. XD

I guess I’ll start with the most irrelevant(ish) commentary: Ron and Hermione are adorable. Like, almost to the point where I can’t handle how adorable they are. That whole moment when Ron realized how hard this prophecy struck her and how he went to her…like, I’m apparently a huge Ron/Hermione shipper because that moment got me so much as Ron wanted nothing more than Hermione to be okay and not freak out. It was super sweet.

Next thing: The prophecy. Like. What? The fact that Rose learns about it and the fact that everyone instantly moves to Stannous and like…what? He’s such a freaking creep and for him to think that he could be the father of this baby in this prophecy? And Scorpius also believing this? Like, I’m sorry, but right hand man of Voldemort puts me to Lucius, although I guess I could see where Bellatrix could come in. But like, c’mon. Scorp knew about this prophecy and suddenly he throws a fit and goes all quiet and needing space right when Rose finds out! So frustrating! (On a side note here, I regularly check for review responses and I just wanted to say adore their relationship! I know I’m super melodramatic, but this on again off again thing is just something that fits with these characters too well! Like, the way you have it written fits so well with Rose and Scorpius’ characters and as much as I go off about how ridiculous they both are (which they really are), I love every moment of it. Despite me being melodramatic. And yeah.)

And yet again another big thing I wanted to discuss: having to use obliviate on Selenia and Jax. I mean, Dom seems to take it pretty well with her I have to go obliviate my boyfriend now comment, but Albus…like him having to use obliviate on Selenia and the fact that he only did it for the mention of the prophecy…I just want to cry. He let her keep the memory to be mad at him and just…Albus is so sweet and remorseful of being rude to her and just…it was a really hard scene to read because Albus’ feelings are so well known and I really, really loved it.

What else was there for commentary…well, Rose having more freedoms is good. I mean, I’m surprised she lasted as long as she did with being locked in the house. I woulda lost it long before her, which is saying something as I spend a lot of time on my own when I am at home (not that I’m home much, admittedly), but she made it quite a while before being done with the whole situation. Hopefully the freedom works for her well and things don’t go crazy again (Yeah, I know the likelihood of that one…).

Overall, this was an intense chapter. I absolutely loved it!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Haha!

Melodramatic means I'm okay.

This is MY favorite line of YOURS! I'm so excited right now.

I'm also a huge Ron/Hermione shipper! And writing them in this has prompted me to write a back story for the two of them.

Haha - I guess I didn't cleverly hide the fact that Scorpius is likely to be the father in the prophecy as well. I think I've mentioned this before, but this was my first attempt at writing ANYTHING and part of the growing pains with that is that I simply don't know what I'm doing. I stress over little details that I put in, hoping that they aren't too vague or too obvious. I'm also worried about WHEN I reveal something and if it's the right time or not. Oh well, I guess I'll figure it out - but your reviews are super helpful!

Dom is definitely the most practical member of the group. It's even a miracle that she *has* a boyfriend. Albus is all passion and impulse, but he loves Selenia so dearly that he's willing to let her be angry with him for his transgressions because it would be wrong for him to obliviate any more than what was absolutely necessary.

Haha - yeah, I don't think I would've been able to last as long as Rose has with all those restrictions - especially with no end in sight!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by Tonks1247 Bedlam: Scorpius and Rose POV

13th August 2015:
Heya Beth!

I have some spare time and so I’m thinking about reviewing a couple more chapters in an attempt to catch myself up to where I’ve read. We’ll see how many I can manage tonight before I need a break. And I’m including this in BvB. So. Here we go! :D

…you know, for having read this chapter already, you’d figure I’d be more prepared for cliff hanger. You’d figure they wouldn’t be so frustrating if I’d already known they were coming and knew what was coming next. Yet I sit here in suspense, waiting to go onto the next chapter. It’s so not cool, but such a cool tool in writing. Like, you really have a knack for cliff hangers. And I’m happy to see them (as much as I hate them.).

Onto the stuff before the cliff hanger-ish ending. I was right and Rose did go to Harry. Which I shockingly knew going through this the first time. Like, I guess I remember a bunch of random and miscellaneous facts about Rose and her mannerisms and stuff because I knew Harry would be her first place to go, and honestly it only made sense that she wouldn’t go out on her own somewhere. She’s not completely ridiculous about that.

But I do like the drama you’ve got going on otherwise. With Selenia on Rose’s side and rejecting Albus. And everyone yelling at one another. It’s a good dynamic and you’ve made me feel overwhelmed and anxious at the situation, which is really good cause I’m sure that’s how I would feel if I were there. It also is no surprise that Harry is the peacemaker of the situation, as he always seems to have to be. I’m looking forward the discussion that’s to come as well…

And I know that was a complete mess of a review. But this was a lovely chapter, albeit short, and I really enjoyed the cliff hanger and all. It was really fantastic. And I hope my next couple reviews aren’t as messy…

Anddd favourite line from Rose this chapter:

At least he’s not stupid.

Great job!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela!

I don't know how I'm ever going to thank you for all these awesome reviews. It's not like you simply leave a few lines for each chapter. These are so awesome and in depth and I LOVE it when you tell my your favorite lines - hee hee.

Gah! I feel like you know Rose so, SO well. She isn't crazy and impulsive like some of her family, but in this chapter she was at her wits' end and needed a break from her "imprisonment." I wanted to show that she was growing and was finally able to stand up for herself - a little bit. We see more of this in the next couple of chapters.

As for the cliffhanger. I actually didn't intend to write so many of them into my story. Actually, I wrote the whole story straight through (at least until about the current posted chapter), but I didn't put ANY chapters or divisions into it, except when the POV changed between Rose and Scorpius. When I began posting it, I had the first few chapters broken up, but it wasn't until about Chapter 9 that I had to go through and figure out what constituted a good break for each section. I still don't know if I've got it right, but I went with my gut for the most part.

Haha - this review was entirely lovely, thanks so much for it - and ALL of the reviews you've been giving me.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by UnluckyStar57 Breakout: Rose POV

12th August 2015:
Beth! Here for our swap, and also the BvB Review Fest. :D

Shame on me for not reviewing this for SEVEN MONTHS, seriously, what is my deal...?

Ooh, okay, so here I was thinking that this chapter was going to be sort of fun and lighthearted, going to the pub, having good times...I should've been smarter, because when the commotion happened, I was completely unprepared. How much are you going to torture these characters?!

Haha, just kidding. It's part of what makes the story great, right? Yes.

So, the fun part first: I was pretty sure that it wasn't a great idea for Rose to "go out," but once she and Scorpius were at the pub, it did seem like it was going to be okay. She had a bit of an episode, but she managed to talk herself down from it, which is tremendous. I think it's super sad that she hasn't gone out in awhile because of all the bad, bad things that have happened to her. If she didn't already have an anxiety disorder, the stuff that happened with Stannous was definitely enough to trigger episodes of anxiety. And dare I forget that she was at a party in the beginning, when that guy tried to kidnap her...? So coming out to The Quaffle was a really big step for her.

I really like the closer look that we get of everyone and their significant others and things. It sort of gives me an idea of what to imagine for each character! There was definitely a bit more description of clothes than I've seen in other chapters of this story, but I think it was necessary and not at all out of place. You described Selenia and Samara's outfits without getting all caught up in specifics, like the brands they were wearing or something (which might've been overkill). So great job with that! :D

(Haha, I have this funny feeling that when Rose says she's "making up for lost time," she's talking about a little more than just Firewhiskey.)

A few things here: In one paragraph, which begins with "I was startled by a crushing force," and ends with Rose's line of dialogue, it needs to be split up. Albus speaks before Rose during that paragraph, so her speech needs to be in a separate paragraph. (That's just a formatting thing.)

And then during the commotion caused by the Death Eaters, Rose says "Studdify." I was thinking that it was a mistake and it was supposed to be "Stupefy," but I saw at the end how she garbled "Expelliarmus" too. Was the "Studdify" a mistake? Or was it because she was slurring due to Firewhiskey? I was just a little confused there.

Anyway, now on to the part that I don't like to think about: The Death Eater invasion.

I think that if your characters were able to talk to you, they would shake their fists and yell, "Can you just let me LIVE?!" because they--especially Rose--go through so much from chapter to chapter, haha. It makes for stressful nailbiting episodes for me, because I'm always lulled into this false sense of security--especially since you prefaced the invasion with a nice party atmosphere! Tricky, tricky.

Ah, yes, rereading the last bit, I can see that Rose was quite drunk by the time the Death Eaters showed up, which explains her mispronunciation of "Stupefy" and her confusion at why it doesn't work. Basically, none of these poor babies are completely equipped to deal with baddies in their drunken or half-drunken states, and just >:{ why do Death Eaters ruin EVERYTHING?! It's very telling of her character that she's concerned about Lily, about Dom, about everyone before herself, even though she's really really in danger, since the guys were specifically targeting her. God, I hope that she doesn't Splinch herself or Lily while she's Disapparating...

This totally took a turn from a cute little pub gathering to a Death Eater-infused nightmare! And while I'm not okay with that on MANY levels, I am also in awe of your ability to have these contrasting situations within the same chapter. As always, I am super attached to your characters and IF SOMETHING BAD HAPPENS TO THE ONES THAT STAYED BEHIND TO FIGHT I WILL BE SO UPSET.

{sorry for yelling.}

Hopefully I shall be back sooner (rather than later) to see what happens next! :O

♥Mallory

Author's Response: Hi Mallory,

Thanks so much for doing a swap! I absolutely LOVE getting your reviews. You've helped me SO much to make this story more polished and you always pick up on things that no one else notices - ♥ ♥

So a little bit of a confession, here. I really, REALLY didn't want to make this story overly dramatic - with tons of cliffhangers and the on-again, off-again relationship between the two main characters. But... it sorta happened without me realizing it and part of me wants to punch myself for being so cliche and the other part feels like I followed the story in its natural course so I should just let that go and... yeah... that's pretty much the internal conversation I have with myself over it all the time ;)

One thing I have tried really hard to pace is Rose's recovery. I really didn't want it to seem like everything would go POOF and be all better once she and Scorpius got together, but more like she had to take baby steps and learn to lean on people a *little* bit while discovering that she's got a lot of her own strength to draw from: Enter the mini panic attack as she and Scorpius first arrive at the Quaffle and the comforting 'corner' with all her friends and relatives.

Hee hee - Yes. Rose is definitely referring to more than just making up for lost time with her friends ;)

I fixed the dialogue in that paragraph that you mentioned and moved Rose's line to a new paragraph - thanks for pointing that out!!

"Studdify" is Rose simply messing up the spell. She does not do well in battle situations (as you saw at the end of the chapter). I'm sure the Firewhiskey didn't help, but the real reason she messed it up is because she panicked. This gets addressed in the next chapter (I think) and it comes up later in the story too.

Haha - it's OK to yell. I'm glad I invoke such emotion :D

Thanks again Mallory!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>