170 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Paddlewaddle Beloved: Scorpius POV

31st July 2014:
I have so many thoughts about this I just can't pin point. I like where this is going and the development of the characters. I really really like how this chapter developed into something that was earth shattering for Scorpius to find out what had happened and the guilt he felt for being with Rose after what his family did. The best part though, was Rose's reassurance that she did love him despite knowing everything and that just reaffirms their unconditional emotional support for each other. I can't wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pretense Of Perfection Blown Away: Scorpius POV

30th July 2014:
Hello again!!

Just stopping by for the last requested review. Please feel free to re-request, as this story is a delight to read, and really has me intrigued so far.

I might have to bite me tongue in something I left on my last review...this chapter almost seems to imply that Rose and Scorpius did have some sort of romantic relationship at some point, which would of course explain their comfort level with one another being half naked. My apologies if this is the case, and I just didn't catch on earlier.

I loved reading things from Scorpius' POV, and the flashback to his parents murder kept me wanting to read more. I can only imagine how terrible be must've felt, having fought with his parents right before this. Poor Scorpius!

I think you did a wonderful job keeping him in character, and what really did it for me was how he felt about Mason. His thoughts about the boy were almost cruel, and the fact that he only wanted to hang out with him to irritate his father is just like a Malfoy, lol! The only thing that was a bit off, in my opinion at least, was when he referred to Mason as a "lad." Being part of the younger generation, it seems more likely to me he'd refer to him as a bloke, but that could just be my own opinion.

I really liked the fact that he was allowed to spend time at the Potter's house, and how you acknowledge the animosity between the families without making it the prominent focus of the chapter. As we saw from the DH epilogue, Harry and Draco have both grown and matured after having children, and are at least tolerant of one another.

I'm absolutely dying to know what happened to Draco and Astoria, and how their deaths fit in with the rest of the plot. Please feel free to re-request another set of reviews, but overall I've enjoyed reading these first few chapters very much!!

-- Fae

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Bent: Rose POV

30th July 2014:
Hi again!!

Just stopping by to leave you another review.

I think you set the scene and tone of the story quite well in the beginning. Their traditional Friday night plans are cute, and something I can totally picture all of them doing. The wild party was an interesting touch, and added just enough drama.

You did a wonderful job with Rose's character, and I think it's very realistic that she would feel sort of nervous and apprehensive about being in such a large crowd, even though she knows a good amount of people there. I totally see her staying the absolutely minimum amount of time that is socially acceptable, and then going home.

I like how we got to see more of the other characters in this chapter, especially Scorpius. It's so sweet how protective he is over her. My only CC about their relationship is that I imagine it might feel slightly more awkward between them when they are both changing...even some romantic couples that have been together for a while feel nervous about stuff like this sometimes, and given that they are not yet together, I imagine it might be a bit of butterflies in the stomach type of feeling.

I love how fierce and intense Dom seems, flirting like crazy and just enjoying her life and doing her own thing. It provides a good balance between her and Rose's more shy, withdrawn sort of personality.

As far as I remember you kept everything in the same tense throughout this chapter, being mostly the past and some past progressive. I can see the improvement in your writing from just the last chapter, which is remarkable.

I love that you just sort of vaguelly skimmed over Rose's possible romantic feelings for Scorpius, and didn't make it some huge, drawn out deal this early on.

The plot and pacing are both perfect to far. The story moves fast enough to keep your readers interested, but not so quickly that they can't keep up. I love the air of mystery about who the drunk guy is that tried to manhandle Rose is, and cannot wait to find out more about him.

Another awesome chapter!!

-- Fae

 Report Review

Review #4, by Pretense Of Perfection Broken: Rose POV

30th July 2014:
Hi there!!

This is Fae (Pretense of Perfection) from the forums, here to leave your requested reviews.

I think you get off to a really strong start here, and use great detail about Rose's panic attack. It almost made me feel like I could have been having a panic attack, and while definitely not a desirable feeling, it's always amazing when an author can make their readers feel something so powerful.

I'm not sure if anyone else has pointed it out yet, but I think you started off in the present tense, and then after her internal thoughts and reflections on the past you switched to using the past tense. I think some of the later flashbacks sort of float between past tense and past progressive, but it's a very common mistake. Nothing major, and it took me a while to notice it, but I just wanted to point that out.

I really like the comparison of the photo on her bedside table to a virtual portkey. It's a very powerful phrase, and relates well to the magical world.

While the only character we've really gotten to know so far is Rose, I think you've done a pretty good job with her. She remains true to the history and information you've given us about her, and I can definitely see her trying to suppress her emotions about being abducted. I also find myself very curious to know what happened to her and why, and who Stannous is, which is definitely a good thing!

I did notice a few typos toward the end of this chapter, I won't point every single one out, but here is an example
"Her long, straight black hair and made her look very serious..."
I'm assuming the "and" was either added in by accident or should be "had," but just wanted to point it out.

Anytime I notice an author doesn't have a beta that's always one of the first things I recommend. It's wonderful to have someone familiar with your story, that can help out with small stuff like grammar and spelling, and even bigger stuff like plot holes and flow. There's some wonderful betas on the forums, if you plan on looking (:

I like how she has to keep reminding herself to get up, get dressed, etc. I think it really stays in line with how a victim might act after being abducted, and feels very realistic to me. I think it might be a bit unrealistic that the early morning is the only time she dwells on what happened to her, though. I'd guess she's pretty busy most of the day, and doesn't really have time to think about it too much, but I also imagine, as is usual for many victims, that certain things (smells, sounds, people, etc.) might trigger a panic attack. Late at night when she's trying to sleep I imagine it might cross her mind as well, but that's just my opinion.

I like the back-story about her Hogwarts years and house. It shows her close connection to her family and friends, and lay the groundwork for building character growth and development over time. I'm excited to meet some of the other characters and see what you've done with them.

Overall I think this is a lovely first chapter, and considering it's your first ever fic, I think you've done a marvelous job. Keep up the good work!!

-- Fae

 Report Review

Review #5, by CambAngst Beloved: Scorpius POV

30th July 2014:
Hi, Beth!

This review will be a bit shorter than my usual because I'm writing it on my phone. Challenging. But don't think for a moment that I enjoyed the chapter any less!

I could see Rose and Al not wanting to wake Scorpius up after the horrible day he had before, but come on, people! Leave a note or something! I can't imagine the gut-wrenching anxiety that caused. I liked that he retreated into cooking as a coping mechanism. You drew out such amazing contrasts between different aspects of Scorpius's family in this chapter. The mother who taught him to cook like a muggle. The father who was cold and withdrawn because he wanted to protect his son from the shame and horrors of his past. The grandparents who died in disgrace for their crimes. And lastly the insane aunt who nearly destroyed his beloved's mother. No wonder he went kind of bonkers. It's a lot to get your head around.

I felt really badly for Rose. I know that's not how she wanted that conversation to go, but I admire her courage in having the conversation in the first place. She couldn't have realized how it would affect Scorpius, and I really hope that she doesn't end up taking his reaction too badly. I could definitely see how she might.

I feel like you redeemed Ron completely in this chapter. It came through loud and clear that he wants -- demands, really -- what's best for Rose. It's not a personal thing between him and Scorpius. His willingness to honestly confront what happened at Malfoy Manor was also pretty big of him. I was also impressed with Scorpius, the way he opened up about his feelings for Rose. I just hope that he can actually get those words out to her sometime soon. Ron's parting wisdom was sage. Scorpius should definitely listen to him.

Awesome chapter! Now I'm on the edge of my seat to see how Rose and Scorpius mend this.

 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore Broken: Rose POV

28th July 2014:
Hi, I'm here for our review swap!

I think this is a great opening chapter for your story, especially when you say that it's your first fanfiction (I really wish my first story had been this good!)

I think the way that you started this story with the routine that Rose has to get her prepared for everything that's going to happen in the day was really interesting. At first I thought it was just someone who was extremely organised and going through their checklist, but then you developed that into someone who's experiencing panic attacks and using this routine mantra as a way to keep calm. The way that you repeated that throughout the chapter was great too, because it's making me really intrigued about what it actually was that caused this. Rose keeps referring to an event that happened in her past and I'm really curious about what it is now!

One thing I really enjoyed was the way that you managed to intersperse some of the background into the present so that we got to learn more about Rose and her history, but not so much that we were overwhelmed, and still enough to keep us interested for future chapters. I think it's quite difficult to do that but you did a great job! I like the fact that even though Rose is struggling, she's still the top of her class at Healing School just like she was at Hogwarts. That was only a small detail but it gave us an insight into her character; so far, she seems like the sort of person who looks calm on the surface, but is paddling away like mad underneath.

I really liked the way that you introduced the other characters in this as well. Dom seems really fun and a nice balance to Rose's character, and I liked the juxtaposition you used when it came to writing about Dom, with her personality and looks seeming to contrast each other.

The flashback to the sorting was very intriguing! I haven't seen both Rose, Al and Scorpius in Ravenclaw before and I can already see how Rose fits in that house, but I'm looking forward to seeing why the other characters were in there. James's reaction made me laugh, as well!

Since so far in this chapter, you've mentioned Selenia and Albus in the present, I'm guessing that the incident that happened in the past is something to do with Scorpius... Hmm, really interesting! This was a great first chapter and I enjoyed reading it - thanks for our swap!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by crestwood Bereft: Scorpius POV

27th July 2014:
Well, I can hardly believe their deaths were a kitchen accident. Actually, I downright don't believe that's what happened. I feel as though we'll revisit that at some point later on in the story.

Aunt Daphne seems like a nice enough person, but she's completely right about her not being the right person for Scorpius right now. I did like the fact that she was paying attention to his sleep and eating habits, because at least she cared one way or another.

I thought Albus and Rose's visit was really sincere, although they couldn't have assumed they wouldn't get caught as soon as anyone realized they were gone. Still a nice gesture. I thought Scorpius' uncle was absolutely hilarious with his reaction to Ron angrily bursting into his home.

Ron and Harry were perfectly characterized as well. I wish I could say that canon Ron would never try to hex Scorpius, but he totally would haha. I'm glad that Scorpius was offered to live at the Potter's, I think it'll do him good.

Until the end of this chapter, I had almost forgotten that I've been reading flashbacks and not the present day. I was a bit absorbed into Scorpius' backstory here. Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Hi crestwood,

Yeah - a kitchen accident seems a bid dodgy, eh? Well, we shall see.

Aunt Daphne means well, but she just isn't part of the magical world anymore. Being that Albus and Scorpius were such good friends, I think that Harry didn't want Scorpius to have to grow up the way he did; in a house where magic was rebuffed and your relatives really didn't want you.

Writing Ron and Uncle Phil was really a lot of fun. Phil means well, he's just afraid of magic and has absolutely no clue what to do with a teenage orphan. Scorpius staying with Harry was the best scenario for everyone.

Rose and Albus didn't EXACTLY think through their plan very well, but that is a pair of fifteen year-olds for you. Rose had only one mission - to see Scorpius. She didn't really think much past getting there - or the repercussions of the trip. Actually, I think they got off quite easy considering they basically scared the magic out of their parents with that little stunt.

Oops - sorry it wasn't obvious about it was still the flashback. Perhaps I should add a note at the beginning of the chapter. That was one of my concerns when I split this in two. I kept the text in italics, but if the reader takes a bit of time between chapters, they probably won't remember that fact.

Thank you again - for ALL of your reviews. I am so excited that you like this story!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dianainga Breakages: Scorpius POV

27th July 2014:
I am confused...what happened at the end of Ron's POV? Is it Dom? Surely, they had some better way of contacting Ron especially with him being a Sr. Auror. Love the story..but was confused by this.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for the review! I think you are the second person to comment on the confusion with Ron. I am going to edit that - still thinking of how I want to do it. It isn't Dom, the other three are just going to finally tell Ron about Rose's torture during her abduction. She had told Harry a few months back, who confided in Ginny and then Hermione found out about it earlier that night. The reason they didn't contact him was because it wasn't a true emergency and - ya know Ron - he needs a bit of time to cool off.

Thanks again - I appreciate the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #9, by crestwood Blown Away: Scorpius POV

26th July 2014:
I'm getting through this so incredibly slowly, I'm sorry! But, I really do plan on reading and reviewing the whole thing. I'm much too interested in these characters to even think about not telling you my opinion on each chapter.

Wow, Beth you are doing something incredible here. At first, I thought the flashback was simply a anecdote about Scorpius' emotionally distant father and their disagreements over Draco's prejudices. BUT you've taken this is such an unexpected direction.

It was a bit tragic, as well as eerie the way he sort of sensed that something was amiss before his eyes confirming the suspicion. It must be terrible to find both of your parents' dead bodies like that at age 15, but even worse knowing that the last time you saw them was not on good terms. You captured the shock of that course of events really well. The moment the chapter shifted in tone was really evident.

I'm left with so many questions about what happened and how he'll react down the line, how it'll affect him, what he'll do now that he's orphaned so suddenly, etc. I trust that you'll address all of my questions in future chapters though, so I wont bother hounding you for answers. I'm pretty busy today, but I'm making time to continue reading this very soon. Awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Hi hi!

So sorry to have taken so long to respond. I had quite a few reviews from the House Cup, and I am STILL working through those, but I didn't want you to think that I'm not incredibly grateful for every one of your reviews. Thank you so much!

I'm glad that you found the chapter unexpected. I like to surprise the reader and that is one area that I'm insecure about. Although no one has commented that my story is predictable, I FEEL like it is. That may only be because I already know everything that is going to happen, but since this is my first attempt, I'm a bit unsure of how many clues to leave and if they are too big or too small.

I don't know if Scorpius really could 'sense' something was wrong. My idea was that it was just TOO quiet. There are normal, everyday sounds he should be hearing (the sound of his Mum in the kitchen, for example). I guess I was trying to portray the fact that something seemed off and he couldn't figure out what it was...

This chapter and the next were originally combined as one and, but I really like them separate. I'm actually excited that you have questions! I won't give away any of the plot of the story, but please feel free to ask for any clarifications.

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by MargaretLane Breakout: Rose POV

26th July 2014:
I like the way Scorpius immediately recognises that Rose is finding things a little difficult.

"Professor" should have a capital "P" when it's used as a title, so it should be "Professor Longbottom," not "professor Longbottom."

Yikes, Rose doesn't exactly hold back, does she? Commenting like that on Albus and his girlfriend's relationship. And yikes, Dom is even more direct. They don't exactly maintain privacy, do they? *laughs*

Just a random fact: "Colleen" is actually the Anglicisation of the Irish word for "girl", which is spelled "cailín," but pronounced the same.

Love the relationship you've created between Albus and Rose, where they confide in each other like that. And his comment that they've been worried about her for a long time.

YIKES! Death Eaters, still! More than twenty years after the war. At this stage it must be about 28. I guess it's not entirely surprising, but I REALLY hadn't expected it, especially not after such a relaxed pub scene. I wonder what's going on now. *is intrigued*

"Potters'" should have the apostrophe after the "s" as there is more than one of them.

And I think Scorpius is right to send Rose to go and get Lily. For one thing, somebody probably should. A sixteen year old shouldn't be involved in something like that. Despite what Harry and his friends got involved in at younger ages, it's not exactly ideal. And Rose isn't an Auror or in any way trained in battle, apart from her Defence Against the Dark Arts lessons, so when there are Aurors there, there's no need for her to be involved, especially when she already has trauma from a previous attack and doesn't need it reinforced. AND when they still don't know what that guy's intentions were and he COULD well be involved with the Death Eaters for all they know.

Now, admittedly, part of the reason I'M thinking that is because I assume you must have some reason for bringing them in and your characters don't have the same reason to suspect his involvement, but I still don't think it's a good idea for her to be fighting unknown Dark Wizards when they know there's at least one that seems to have some particular interest in her.

And of course, the last part does seem to imply that yes, it is Rose they are after. I really wonder why.

This does seem to fit with the possibility of revenge, but even if that's true, why specifically on Rose? You'd think they'd be more concerned with Harry's kids, if anything.

Unless of course, it's somebody Hermione or Ron played a specific part in defeating. I can't exactly remember who they dueled in each book now. I tend to skim over the duels and just wait for Dumbledore's explanations as to what's going on anyway. Hmm.

 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane Breakdown: Rose POV

26th July 2014:
OK, I'm FINALLY getting back to this. As this is such a long chapter, and it's such a gorgeous day, it's likely I'll only get one chapter read now, but I WILL catch up. I promise.

Hmm, now I'm intrigued about the type of magic Scorpius used. Ruth seems to be implying there's something mysterious about it, but not in a bad way.

I'd be inclined to put the inverted comma before the word "curse" when you wrote about the "let's not talk about it" curse.

It must be particularly hard for Rose to speak to a therapist when she's training to be a medical professional herself. Obviously, medical professionals do need to attend medical practitioners just as anybody else does, but I'd imagine it would be easy to feel embarrassed about receiving help when you're usually the one who gives it.

Poor, poor Rose. Losing a patient, particularly for the first time, must be traumatic enough and particularly when she's so anxious to prove herself, let along having it happen after everything else she's been through. I hope it doesn't set back her recovery.

Yeah, it's down to Rose that so many people were saved, but I imagine the whole event was still pretty traumatic.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cake Breakages: Scorpius POV

23rd July 2014:
Sorry, I realized that I needed to clarify something
My previous review was of the story as a whole. I binge-read it and was too excited to post a review on every chapter.
I wish I was eloquent enough to tell you everything I think about your writing, but I agree with almost everything in the other reviews I have read.
Grammar and spelling are really important, and you did a great job with the editing. People often don't realize how distracting and disillusioning editing mistakes can be.

Author's Response: Hello again!

Two reviews - wow and thanks! I think you're doing a fine job of telling me what you think! I do work fairly hard on the editing part, because I agree with you about grammar and spelling - a story can have a great plot, but if you are always coming across glaring errors, it takes something away from it.

For right now, I am updating fairly regularly, so you shouldn't have to wait too long for the next chapter. Thanks again for stopping by!

~Beth (Veritaserum27)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Cake Breakages: Scorpius POV

22nd July 2014:
The only specific praise that I have is that I really enjoyed the last few chapters where Harry, Ron, and Hermione's experiences were brought in. Those instances connect this story with the original series, which helps me connect with the characters you're developing. Also, the adult aspects make it more realistic and relatable, and I'm impressed by your subtle innuendo and classy restraint.
I eagerly read through this in one sitting and was really disappointed when I didn't find a "Next Chapter" button on this page.
I felt like it would be wrong of me to enjoy your writing so much without telling you. I am desperate for the Harry Potter universe to continue expanding, and you do a very nice job holding true to the characters and story line.

Author's Response: Hi!

Sorry for not responding to this sooner. Thank you, thank you, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

"I eagerly read through this in one sitting and was really disappointed when I didn't find a "Next Chapter" button on this page."

That is one of the nicest compliments I've ever received! I've done that with other stories and I never really imagined that someone would be so drawn in by mine that they would read it all at once!

I'm glad you noticed the little pieces of the books that I've put into the story! No one has mentioned that yet!

Thanks again!

P.S. I LOVE your username! Is it in homage to the band - or do you just really enjoy eating cake??


 Report Review

Review #14, by amelia_rose_pond Breakages: Scorpius POV

22nd July 2014:
Ah!!! Such a fantastically written scene! I can't wait for the next update!!

Author's Response: Thanks for another review and the kind words.

I hope to have another update soon!


 Report Review

Review #15, by CambAngst Breakages: Scorpius POV

22nd July 2014:
Hi, Beth! It's always a nice surprise when I check in with this story and there's a new chapter posted.

I didn't really think about the timeline until I was reading your author's note at the end, but now that I think about it, Rose must have been running on fumes throughout this chapter. She made it through the aftermath of the mass-splinching, she got it on with Scorpius, she went out to a bar, she survived a death eater attack, she had that huge emotional moment with her mother... Wow. She literally must have been on the verge of collapse.

I feel like some readers might not agree or approve, but I have to say that I thought you got Ron exactly right in this chapter. He doesn't deal with change well, nor does he deal well with adversity when it's personal. He tends to get angry, look for scapegoats (Hermione in the early part of Sorceror's Stone, Harry in Goblet of Fire and again in Deathly Hallows) and say nasty things that he regrets later. The fact that everyone is telling him that he's wrong would only tend to make him angrier.

With Rose, I thought you hit a pretty good balance. She was very immersed in her work, which gave her the confidence to challenge her uncle. "Harry spoke first, since everyone else was pretty much tongue tied, in awe of her... well..." Yeah, that. ;) At the same time, you didn't overdo it. She still can't quite bring herself to tell her father off. She's hurt by his cruel words and lack of understanding. Instead, you gave her small shows of defiance, like holding Scorpius's hand or tucking into his embrace.

Scorpius's emotions made perfect sense to me throughout. He's worried about Rose and angry at the mistreatment she's suffering from her father. At the same time, he knows he's on thin ice, job-wise. And I think he had faith that Harry wasn't going to let Ron go too far, which probably helped.

The way you wrote Harry in this chapter was, for me, a big improvement over the chapter where Rose finally tells him about Stannous. I could feel a bit of fire and emotion there, tempered by the fact that he was presiding over a meeting full of people who work for him. I did feel like it was a little too late and a little too formal when he finally told Ron off. Given how well he knows Ron, I would have expected him to try to slow the Ron Train down a bit earlier and a bit less administratively. Then again, maybe he just knows a lost cause when he sees one.

I think the character I was most confused by in this chapter was Albus. Up to this point, you've painted him as something of a hothead who's viciously protective of Rose. Here, he watches her absorb a mountain of abuse from her father and he really only steps in to try to defend Scorpius.

I really liked the PoV changes in this chapter and I thought that every scene added something. Ron's scene added some very necessary color and depth to his anger. Without that, I think Ron would have come off a bit caricatured. Instead, you made his feelings seem natural and believable. For a moment, I was tempted to believe that you were dropping a cliffhanger on us, but I think they're just going to tell Ron the truth about what Stannous did to Rose. The final scene from Rose's PoV added a little closure and certainty to her feelings at the end of this very long, very hard day.

I didn't see a single typo or misplaced word in this chapter. Great editing, and overall great job!

 Report Review

Review #16, by amelia_rose_pond Bombarda Maxima: Scorpius POV

21st July 2014:
I really enjoyed the intensity and accuracy of this chapter! You captured the raw emotion and uncontrollable anger that comes from pain so well! I found myself getting angry with scorpius and albus. So good job, you did a fantastic job!!

Author's Response: Hello!

So nice of you to drop by for this wonderful review. Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad that you found the emotion and pain to feel real. I worked hard to get the emotion just right.

Thanks again!

P.S. Love your username and quote - Matt Smith is MY Doctor!

Beth (Veritaserum27)


 Report Review

Review #17, by crestwood Bent: Rose POV

21st July 2014:
It's been awhile, but I'm back to give you another review! Kind of coming from the review tag, but mostly just reading for pleasure at this point.

I like that Scorpius has a house with not only Al, but James. No one ever envisions him as friendly with James as well, but I like it.

Rose reacts to parties and crowds kind of similarly to me and trust me, this is an accurate portrayal of a person suffering from panic attacks. Hers may be a bit more crippling due to her kidnapping, of course, but regardless, very realistic take.

Scorpius coming to keep her company is really awesome, although I was wondering what the reason for his mood at first was! I wonder what's got him that way in the midst of a party.

The scene with the man at the party was very well written. I felt terrible about the way she blamed herself and kind of saw it as an overreaction though. I think she's perfectly justified in freaking out about some random drunk man grabbing her, even if she was never kidnapped at all. I hope she begins to understand that it isn't all her fault, eventually.

I'm glad you gave Rose and Scorpius a tender moment without it having to be overly romantic. I like a nice moment between friends just as much and I think they are unfortunately underused on this site.

This was an awesome chapter. Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Hi Crestwood - so sorry I didn't respond to this right away (I've been a little tied up in The House Cup!) But I didn't want you to think I wasn't totally THRILLED to see you came back for another chapter! Woot!

Panic attacks are nasty things, aren't they. I'm glad you found it believable. I think the worst part is that you are swallowed up by the situation and don't even REALIZE it is an attack until it is too late.

Rose SHOULD be justified in freaking out, but she doesn't see it yet. Her world has been a mound of covering up her attacks and hiding the truth about her abduction to the point that she can't even feel it when it is normal to react to something like that.

Scorpius - at this point - is pretty angry and bitter all the time. He doesn't exactly know why, but it might have something to do with just plain loneliness. That and frustration that he *knows* something is up with Rose, but can't put his finger on it. He's got it bad for her...

I'm glad you like the pacing of their relationship. It wouldn't be believable for them to fall right into each other and I definitely DON'T like to do the whole together one chapter, breakup the next cycle.

You will learn a LOT more about Scorpius in the next two chapters. It sort of sheds a light onto his character and what's going on with him.

Thanks SO much for this lovely, lovely review! I can't tell you how much it means to me!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by dracodarlingxx Breakable: Rose POV

18th July 2014:
oh dear god that was riveting. so frikking dramatic.
you just seem to know the right reactions for each character, like when Rose goes down to the basement and starts practising all her spells, so angry at herself like a Gryffindor, yet learning the spells like a Ravenclaw.
SUCH a good chapter ., definetely my favourite :D glad we got to see Ginny's POV, and just a bit unsure about whether Hermione knows about what happened to Rose now?
please update soon xx

Author's Response: Hi Hi!

So glad to see you back! I was really proud of this chapter - both in the emotion that was portrayed and Rose's progress. She experienced some frustration, but made some breakthroughs with her Mum and focusing on what she is good at: healing instead of fighting. I'm glad you picked up on Ginny's POV. Many people don't like Ginny and claim that she is the typical "girl next door who marries the hero." But there comes a lot a baggage with that - and I didn't want to gloss over the fact that being brave sometimes means you have to be strong for everyone else instead of being in the thick of battle.

To answer your question: Yes, Hermione knows about Rose's torture during her abduction. Now Rose also knows about Hemione being tortured at Malfoy Manor during the war. Both of those facts play an important role in the next few chapters.

The next chapter is in the queue - so YAY! I can't wait to hear what you think about it!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by crestwood Broken: Rose POV

17th July 2014:
Hey, I'm here from the review tag!

Wow, you've been working on this story for a really long time. I can't believe you were so successful on your first ever fanfic, both in quality and review count.

Rose's panic attacks are very well written and realistic. The encounter in her past that caused them sounds absolutely traumatic. You've really given us a look inside her mind. Especially with the kind of chanting she does inside her head of the tasks she's supposed to be doing in order to keep her firmly planted in reality. That's such a good touch there, in my opinion. Also, I've never read anything in which Rose, Scorpius and Al are all sorted into Ravenclaw before, that's definitely unique within my experiences on this site. I'm interested in where you'll take this and I'm going to read through this all, but that may take me a while, unfortunately. But I'm for SURE going to leave a review on each chapter. Great job on this!

Author's Response: Hello and thank you so much for this lovely review. I was so excited to see that you chose this story - most people shy away from the novels and play it safe by reviewing a one-shot. I've definitely worked the hardest on this story so far and I plan to be fairly consistent with the updates (at lease for the next couple months).

I hope I've included enough mystery and intrigue to keep you interested. I'm so excited to hear what you think about each chapter. Like I said, this is my first attempt and I am muddling though a bit.

I just wanted to let you know that this review totally made my day!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by luciusobsessed Breakable: Rose POV

15th July 2014:
Wowowowow I'm so sad this is the last chapter so far :( This was so intense, mostly because we're waiting to find out what happened. I'm so glad Rose found out the truth and was okay with Hermione finding out. I'm just nervous about Ron now. Please hurry up and update! You're amazing!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by luciusobsessed Breakout: Rose POV

15th July 2014:
OMG I KNEW THEY WERE AFTER ROSE AND I KNEW THAT WOULD HAPPEN. It's so strange how Death Eaters are coming back? Does this have something to do with Voldemort even though he's gone? I mean The Cause at least. Idk I can't review right now because I have to read the next chapter lol

 Report Review

Review #22, by luciusobsessed Breakdown: Rose POV

15th July 2014:
Ah you did again, another amazing chapter!! It was perfect!! It really is hard losing a patient. It's one thing learning about it and another experiencing it. I could never deal with that kind of responsibility. I'm glad Rose can be so close to Scorp now without freezing up. I still feel like something bad is going to happen soon though. We shall see I suppose. Right now I'm just ridiculously excited over how cute they are.

 Report Review

Review #23, by luciusobsessed Breakthrough: Scorpius POV

15th July 2014:
I like the edge of mystery to this chapter, it really brings a lot of questions to light. I don't know why but a part of my suspects maybe someone from the inside is involved? It's just a random guess though, I'm not sure. Either way, this Stannous guy is seriously scary and I can't wait to figure everything out about him.

 Report Review

Review #24, by luciusobsessed Befuddled: Rose AND Scorpius POV

15th July 2014:
It's about time they talked! I swear miscommunication is always the problem and I'm so happy they finally talked about it instead of dragging it on. They are perfect, I swear. It's terrible that Rose has to suffer so much mentally, and I feel like even though she's getting better, something is going to happen again suddenly. I'm glad she has everyone supporting her though, especially Scorpius. Great job on this chapter, it was amazing once again!!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by luciusobsessed Back to the Beginning: Rose POV

15th July 2014:
I love Harry so much. This is making me want to have a movie marathon and I think I will after catching up on all the chapters. Harry is the sweetest most caring person ever and I'm trying not to cry right now. I wish I had an uncle like him in my life and family like the Potters and Weasleys. Sorry I'm getting too personal and dramatic. You're such an amazing writer and your story is so amazing. I'm so attached haha. I like how Rose has that small voice in her head that doubts Scorpius. That's how I always am too, there's always that small room for doubt so I can really connect with her character over that. I loved this :))

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>