Reading Reviews for The Dark Mark
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AceFelton72 The Chamber Reopened

17th March 2014:
Great story! I'm actually quite fond of your
characters.. looking forward to read more of this :)

Author's Response: I'm quite fond of them myself! Thank you for reviewing, it might give me the motivation to get on and finish this thing... nearly there!

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane The Third Task

1st January 2014:
Hmm, this is a rather surprising and interesting place to start a story.

I like the way we immediately get her attitude to Harry Potter.

I wonder what she is doing at the Triwizard Tournament if she's not still at Hogwarts; whether she's just come to watch or if there is more to it.

So she was at Hogwarts 13 years before. Somehow I imagined her as being younger. I don't know why. I like the way you let us know things like that. It's very natural. You get the important information in without its sounding stilted.

You've written "she made a mental NOT to acquire one." I presume you mean "a mental NOTE."

And she's aware Hagrid is half-giant. Interesting. I like the way she connects his ancestry with his creating of hybrid creatures. It kind of highlights the fact she sees him as less than human.

You've written "Tough maybe that was through fear." I'm guessing it should be "THOUGH maybe that was through fear."

Author's Response: Glad you like the intro. As becomes clearer later on, the reason she is at Hogwarts is because she works for the Department for the Regulation and Control of Magical Creatures, as a creature handler, so she is responsible for the Sphinx and any other creatures brought in for the Tournament.

An interesting comment on the age. I never actually added it up, but looking at it now it does fit her position in life - she's experienced and has a reasonably senior position. She has earned respect from her colleagues which comes at least partly from age and experience. You like the way I give information? I don't even do it consciously most of the time so I'm delighted to know that!

Thanks for pointing out those typos - I'll get them sorted.

As she works with magical creatures, she clearly knows a lot about them so would recognise the signs in Hagrid. Not to mention Rita Skeeter had already publicised the fact following the Yule Ball!

She has no objection to the Skrewts, or to Hagrid's creation of them, she just wonders how he got away with it (he didn't exactly keep them secret). Possibly her comment was that being a half-breed one didn't expect anything else so allowances were made.

Thank you for yet another excellent review. I do very much enjoy reading them!

Leonore


 Report Review

Review #3, by celadon The Third Task

20th November 2013:
Here from the RRT!

It's rare than one gets the opportunity to read a story from the perspective of an evil OC. This sure is a refreshing change.

Ravenna is a mysterious character. The first thought that hit me was what made her want to become a Death Eater (a question which I suppose will be answered in the chapters to come). She seems quite dark and broody with an intense dislike for Harry (no surprise). She seems pretty fanatical about Voldemort, sort of like a Bellatrix in the making.

The loose ends that one encounters in the chapter only add to the suspense. I really want to know what's going to happen next. How did she know where Voldemort was? Will she finally become a Death Eater?

It's an interesting start and I can't wait to see where this goes!

Author's Response: Why she wants to be a Death Eater - I cheated a bit and didn't bother coming up with something. Maybe something'll occur to me later, but really all I have is she was a Slytherin during the 1st Wizarding War and agreed with the Death Eaters' view on muggles and also that they were doing something about it. She planned to join, but just before she left school he disappeared. She hoped he'd return, and brooding on it she allowed her mind to exaggerate what she knew about him. She liked her job, but was always thinking of that other plan. In Slytherin, the Death Eaters were admired not just feared, especially as some students were children of Death Eaters. That's my view, but I don't really bother putting it in later so its not a spoiler.

Immense dislike for Harry - certainly she has a very low opinion of him. And he was the cause of the Dark Lord's downfall before, which destroyed her plans at the time.

Like a Bellatrix in the making - I won't spoil the rest. How did she know where he was? I think I answer that in the next chapter or two. She's intelligent and has studied a lot of dark magic, including anything that might prevent death as she knew he would have taken precautions (or at least she was hopeful he had), and at some point she found mention of the potion. And at some point, thanks to her growing obsession, she found out everything she could about him - including somehow tracking down his family. How she knew his surname - no idea, probably came across it by chance.

Don't worry, these aren't spoilers as they're more back story that I don't bother mentioning. Nothing really exciting, it's just what was natural for someone in her situation.

Thank you for reviewing, and for complementing what I thought were the weak points where I didn't bother too much about the finer details. Being more interested in the interaction between her and others, I couldn't really be bothered to write the background, but if that's what people want when they read it I might need to put more of that in.


 Report Review

Review #4, by theblacksisters Preparation

4th November 2013:
So it's still updating! :) Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Still updating - SLOWLY! I hope you're patient.

 Report Review

Review #5, by theblacksisters A Lesson

25th October 2013:
C'm'on! I'm enjoying this. I do suppose just so long as you keep updating . . . .

Author's Response: I will! But actually right now I'm alternating between novels, updating as soon as one's been validated. Half term, so I'll try to do more this week, but I'm also struggling with the plot.
Leonore


 Report Review

Review #6, by theblacksisters A Meeting

14th October 2013:
Well, please update soon. It's an interesting story.

Author's Response: Glad you think so - I will do, though True Lion is my main one.

 Report Review

Review #7, by theblacksisters Opportunity

14th October 2013:
'our favorite passtime' sounds eery-I mean, it's fairly obvious what Bellatrix enjoys doing on her days off.

Author's Response: Yes, I would prefer not to meet her!

 Report Review

Review #8, by theblacksisters The Dark Lord

14th October 2013:
Definitely getting better. Oh, and about the banner, it's good for someone with not a lot of experience. I can't make bannners worth crap.

Author's Response: Thank you, I enjoy making them. By the way, site policy is that reviews should be 12+. Just for future reference.

 Report Review

Review #9, by theblacksisters The Third Task

14th October 2013:
Sound like a promising story. Definitely one I'll follow.

Author's Response: Thank you for all the reviews - more than I had in total before, I believe. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

Leonore


 Report Review

Review #10, by SiriusAura92 The Third Task

1st September 2013:
This is a really interesting concept. I really like the idea of following one of the bad guys for once and considering this is you first ever story, it's not badly done.

You could do with putting a bit more detail into stuff like the environment and character description (as we still don't know what Ravvena looks like).
Once you get on top of those, I'm pretty certain you could bring out a really great story!

I hope you continue this as I'll certainly be coming back to this :)

SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Thank you for your response - my first review! Actually I'm not sure what Ravenna looks like myself but I'll try to develop her further as the story goes on - her personality, at least. I've already written a lot of it, and it's waiting to go up - the next chapter should be out in a few days.

Thank you again, and enjoy the rest when it comes out.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login