Reading Reviews for Romanian Romance
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan Of Ridgebacks and Redheads

5th December 2013:
Hey there! I'm finally here with your review.

I'm going to get to the easiest thing to address first and that is that everything does make sense. As far as I can see, I haven't come across anything that's really confused me about the story or left me wondering about what had happened.

The second thing that I want to talk about is your characterization. Tamara seems like a gutsy type of girl, she's definitely got enough courage to go around her little group of friends, and she seems nice enough, but maybe she's a little bit too gutsy. What I mean is, what she did, running into the cage and closing the mouth of the panicking dragon didn't seem very believable to me.

I mean, if I saw a Norwegian Ridgeback freaking out in a cage, my very first thought wouldn't be to run into the cage, it would be to run away from it. As much as I would've wanted to save Charlie and the tour guide's life, I most certainly wouldn't do it at the expense of my own.

Tamara running into the cage and closing the mouth of a dragon that even the Dragon Tamers couldn't seem to do seemed unreal to me and gave me this Mary-Sue vibe. I don't disagree with the fact that you have Tamara rescuing Charlie and the tour guide, it's just the way that she did it doesn't seem like the type of rescuing I would expect from someone who take photographs for a newspaper. If she'd gotten an idea and then yelled out the instructions, then the scene would be more believable.

And another thing that's occurred to me, even with the dragon's mouth shut, wouldn't it still be dangerous? I mean, sure, its stopped breathing fire but this thing is covered in spikes, has sharp claws and is one of the largest creatures in the world. You can't exactly tie up the mouth of a fully conscious, panicking dragon and walk away like it's nothing.

The dragon would probably get even angrier at whoever tied its mouth shut and probably go after Tamara or something like that. It would just make the situation even more dangerous than it was before.

Besides, what kind of rope did Tamara grab anyway? Is it just regular, muggle-made rope or is it something that's made specifically for dragon's? And if it's made specifically for dragons, wouldn't it be thicker, bigger and loads heavier so that it can actually be used against a dragon? Wouldn't Tamara have a harder time of carrying it up the dragon and tying it around his mouth? And why did the dragon seem to just give up once its mouth was shut? Why didn't the dragon just snap the rope off and keep blowing fire? In Goblet of Fire they needed chains to restrain the dragons why isn't the same necessary for this one? Is it not fully grown?

I don't know if I'm making sense but to sum it up as best as I can, Tamara is giving me the Mary-Sue vibe because she's managed to do a dragon tamer's job even better than the dragon tamer's and the way that the situation didn't really make sense to me.

And the ending when Tamara walks away swinging her hips and saying that Charlie was cute even though he was being very ungrateful for what she did and she just had an almost argument with him was also poking at me a little bit. I feel like Tamara's reaction should've been a little more annoyed, I don't know about anyone else but usually when I get into a small spat with someone or a full blown argument, the very last thing that I think about are how attractive they are.

I hope I wasn't too harsh and at least somewhat helpful. I like the idea for the story however and the description that you have going on and I think this is going to be very interesting!
~Grace

Author's Response: Hi!

Well, I'm glad that there isn't any confusion! That's always a plus!

Hmm, as for characterisation, I see where you're coming from. Tommy is pretty brave (to the point of idiocy), and I will have to provide some sort of explanation as to why she would do that, so thanks for pointing that out, but to be honest, Tommy is Tommy. She likes to be pretty while being called a typically male name. She's adventurous to the point where she doesn't really think of her own safety - own of her biggest flaws. I'll definitely tone it down, but to me, Tommy *would* go into the cage because that's the kind of person she is.

As for the rest, I do agree with you. It does have an air of unbelievability to it. I will take all your suggestions into account as I think they are very helpful, especially the rope one. Thank for pointing these out as no one else has deigned to do so and reading over the chapter now, I can definitely see that it's riddled with flaws. I won't respond to every single CC you've mentioned, just because you've done a fairly good job of explaining them and I can see where I need to change things, but please know that I have taken this to heart.

As for the ending, like I said, Tommy is Tommy. She likes to have a good time. That part I could use a bit more transition, but when you have a month in a beautiful country and you just saved a cute boy's bum, you know there's going to be some fun. I guess that's what makes Tommy so different than you and I, yet her nature is one of the things I like best about her. She sees a challenge and she'll take it. You wouldn't believe how much I envy her for that, and she's *my* creation.

Thank you very much for this review, and again, I've taken all the CCs to heart, I just didn't know how to reply to some of them as you're pretty good at pointing out what doesn't work and giving an explanation as to why you didn't find it believable, and I don't really have anything to say to them except: oops! My bad! :)

I'm glad out of everything that my description is good, which is actually fairly funny considering description is not what I would consider what I write best. Hmm... This review was quite helpful, so thanks again! (Although, I'm not changing Tommy's nature because the whole basis of her character is a courageous girl up for a challenge.)

Thank you!
Lo and *Tommy* :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Of Dresses and Decisions

24th November 2013:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap. Sorry I got delayed!

I'm glad I got to read another chapter of this one! I like the friendship you've portrayed between the two girls. The dialogue seems really natural, like they've been friends for years.

Also, I love the contrast between Tommy in the last chapter and in this chapter! Not only is she a reporter turned dragon wrangler but she also cleans up pretty well! :p I like the way you've already shown multiple sides of her character in two relatively short chapters, too.

If you don't mind a little CC, there was a small thing that if you fixed it, it would make the chapter excellent instead of just great! :P In the three paragraphs following "Smiling, I looked at myself in a mirror..." almost all of the sentences start the same way (with an "ing" phrase), so it might help to vary it a little.

Otherwise, though, it was really good! And I can't wait to see the next interaction between Charlie and Tommy. I wonder if he will recognise the hot reporter as the same girl who climbed on a dragon :D

Author's Response: Hi!

Yay! I'm glad you liked Ally and Tommy's interactions! And yay for three-dimensional female characters!

And that CC is very accurate. I do that a lot. :S
I shall rectify that ASAP! Thank you for pointing that out!

And I'm excited for you to read the next chapter as well!
Thank you so much, this was super helpful and the CC was very useful!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #3, by writeyourheartout Of Ridgebacks and Redheads

21st November 2013:
Hi! I made it! Yay! Sorry again about the delay! Stupid wisdom teeth! ^.^

Anyway, starting right from the top: I love the way this story begins! The tour guide speech is so perfectly accurate as far as characterization goes - she was just spot on; I felt like I was on that same tour with the others! haha And I think it's brilliant how quickly the action begins, too! It was really captivating and clever having us thrown into such a high intensity situation right off the bat and tracing it with some light humor as well. Really well done.

On a similar note, the chapter as a whole is really great too! You threw us into this really cool, crazy situation that allowed the actions of every character to give them some definition, rather than having your OC/MC give this explanatory internal monologue! It bothers me so much when chapters are basically just "Let me tell you who I am! And while I'm at it, let me also tell you who everyone else is!" It's a really easy trap to fall into, especially when you're writing from a first person perspective, so you get double the points for steering clear! Kudos! *throws confetti*

There's some true originality taking place in this story that I have to mention! First off: I adore that Tommy (and presumably her group of friends/co-workers?) is Canadian! I've only ever seen American OC's if they're from outside the UK, and while it's a similar concept, it's different enough to not feel overused or cliche! Also, while you've only given us a pretty small amount of background information on Tommy and Co., I really enjoy what you've told us so far! They're here on a one-month assignment from their boss for a story, so presumably they're a reporting team - Tommy takes the pics, someone else maybe does video, someone else does interviews and pokes around for new information, etc - obviously your set-up may not actually be structured anything like that, but I still think it was a clever reason for why Tommy is away from home and in Romania.

One of my favorite moments was this here: "...Jensen would never let my baby fall." - You're probably laughing because it's such a small, seemingly insignificant line to point out, but I really think it speaks volumes. The fact that she calls her camera her 'baby' gave a brand new level to Tommy, in my opinion! Based on that line, I just have to assume that her camera is a huge part of her life; that taking pictures is not simply her job, but something she loves to do; that she's probably not only a good employee because she actually enjoys her job, but that she's passionate about doing it well. I hope I'm not way off! And if I am, you may want to change that line cause it otherwise gives a false impression! :-p Methinks you did it on purpose though. ^.^

All of that said, there are a few bits and pieces that I want to point out:

So a couple of times you've sort of double used a word in a sentence that then makes the sentence sound a bit repetitive: "The tour guide shrieked again and ran over to the *cage, quickly opening the *cage with a swish of her wand." - The double 'cage' here feels a little cramped; I'd consider changing the second one to the word 'door'. Another: "I gave the redhead one last look of contempt and then gave him an innocent smile. "Smile for the camera,"" - Double 'gave' and 'smile' makes it a bit choppy. I would maybe rewrite the first sentence to say something like "I gave the redhead one last look of contempt, followed almost immediately by an innocent grin. "Smile for the camera,"

"As the dragon swished *the tail, I felt my grip loosen but I held tight." - *his/its tail, not the.

As much as I love the opening tour guide speech, there was one part that felt a bit off: "We do have actual cages for the dragons we are currently tagging, but we will only be bypassing them today." - It just reads a little choppy, is all. I would consider creating contractions and maybe even inserting a reason for passing on the caged dragons: "We do have actual cages for the dragons currently being tagged, but due to a temporary maintenance issue, we'll be bypassing them for today."

"Having put the rope over my shoulder, I now only had my wand to deal with, but I had put it in my mouth." - This bit is just a little confusing. I think what you're trying to say is that with her wand in her hand, she would have a hard time climbing the dragon's back, and so she decided to put it in her mouth to free herself up. The 'but' is what's throwing off the meaning because it makes it sound like she didn't mean to put it in her mouth; that the wand being in her mouth was the problem, not the solution. I would instead say something like "I now only had my wand to deal with so, thinking quickly, I placed it securely in my mouth."

I love the Charlie/OC love/hate relationship that's forming. I think relationships like this are so fun to read about when written well! My only concern is that I think you may be toeing the line as far as making Tommy a bit of a Mary Sue. I like that she's sassy and strong and confident, but she was sort of immediately placed into the hero position and hardly struggled with the task at all, and that coupled with the way the story ended (her swinging her hips and Charlie watching her walk away) could mean she's on her way to falling into that category. However this is strictly me basing her off of chapter one! Just make sure you know the difference between an actual fault and a fault-that-isn't-really-a-fault, or she's going to continue feeling that way, I'm afraid! Please ignore this comment if future chapters already rectify C1's situation!

Overall I really enjoyed this! I've never read a Charlie/OC or a Canadian OC before and I think you've got a really great foundation for a handful of reasons! The small things I pointed out are still completely outweighed by all the good stuff going on, so congrats on a well-done beginning! *hugs* ^.^

Author's Response: Hello!

Yay! I'm so glad you like the tour guide. She's one of my favourites to be honest. :)
And I'm also super glad you liked the direct action! Yay for me!

I'm really glad you liked this story as well as my introduction to Tommy and (kind of) everyone else. And yay for confetti! (Confetti! It's a parade!)

And you liked the fact that Tommy was Canadian? Yay! I know what you mean about mostly American foreign OCs. That was a big reason to have Tommy be Canadian (and it has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that I'm a purebred, home-grown and raised, proud Canadian, eh!), and I'm glad you caught the reporting team structure (ish). There's a photographer (Tommy), a writer (Ally), and an editor/jack of all trades (Jensen). So you were close! :)

And nope, not at all off at all concerning Tommy's love (*cough* obsession *cough*) with her camera. I wanted to make her someone who doesn't really appreciate anything unless she can stare at it through her lens, so yay! You-thoughtses right! :D

Eek! Typos! So sorry, I will get right on those. Thank you so much for pointing those out. I completely missed those! :S
And that part with the tour guide I completely understand! I will rectify such awkward stiffness immediately! As well as the rope part. I can definitely see where that could be confusing. And I will definitely keep your suggestion for that rewrite in mind since it flows very smoothly and nicely!

And go love/hate relationships! I love both reading and writing those (although reading them seems to be much easier :P)! As for Tommy, I'm trying to show she does have flaws in later chapters - namely vanity, over-confidence, and extreme stubbornness (to the point where it interferes with important matters) - so I hope that cancels out this preliminary Mary Sue feelings! But, I will definitely keep that comment in mind! :)

And yay! I'm glad you enjoyed this! And aw, good things outweighing bad things always makes me happy! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It means the world! *hugs right back*

Lo :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell Of Trees and Tumbles

21st November 2013:
Well, looks like Charlie came around. Iím surprised he was that quick about it. It takes courage to own up to being wrong about someone, and heís astonishingly frank about it. I guess being straight-shooters might be something the two of them have in common, huh? Makes up for a bit of his former jerkiness.

And yes, she did get his attention! Though if anyone didnít notice Tommy, seems theyíd have to be...well, Iíd say blind, but no. Theyíd probably still notice her then. I suppose thatís why her pick up scheme is patented--she can hardly fail in the getting noticed department, can she?

No critiques here. My main wish is that the chapters would be a little longer. I always am left wanting more, which I suppose is a good thing. But it would be lovely to get to spend a little longer with Tommy and the gang, especially now that Iím all caught up and will be getting them one at a time :) Iíll be awaiting the next installment.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hey!

And yay for Charlie realizing his stupid-headedness! And yes, the both of them are extremely courageous and confident, and while that does help in some aspects, I guess you can say that sometimes, opposites do attract. And they aren't exactly opposites ;)

And yes, I'm aware that these chapters are quite short, and I should really work on that, but I can't really say that I will considering I like how it progresses with small chapters.

I can't promise the next chapter will be up really soon, but I will try my best!

Thank you so much for everything! All your suggestions were so helpful and I honestly can't thank you enough!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell Of Rooftops and Relaxation

21st November 2013:
I can totally see why sitting in a hotel room and following the lovebirds around wouldnít really be Tommyís style. And shimmying up onto the roof to get some different pics seems like just her thing. I love imagining the pictures sheís getting--they sound gorgeous.

My only CC would be that, in the first sentence, it says that Tommyís having the time of her life in Romania, and then a few lines down it says that she was bored out of her mind. Maybe you could add a qualifier in there, like, ďin some waysĒ she was having the time of her life. Or, ďShe was having the time of her life. Except...Ē

Just a thought! Looking forward to a little more Tommy & Charlie, but Iím glad that not every chapter revolves around their relationship, and here we get to see a bit more of what makes Tommy herself, and her photographical eye.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hello!

And yes, I guess Tommy isn't really a waiter but a go-getter. And I will definitely take that CC into consideration!! Thank you so much for pointing that out! Silly Lo, making silly mistakes... :P

And I'm so glad you're happy with the development of the story, both as a romance and as not.

Thank you so much!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell Of Reasons and Realizations

21st November 2013:
Hah! Theyíre cute. Proof that college/adult friends are just as ridiculous and fun as those of the high school variety.

So, this is a short chapter, but itís nice to see the friends together. And I like that youíve established a different sort of voice for Jensen. Well, he says, like, two sentences, but when I read the first one, my first thought was, ĎThis doesnít really sound like how Tommy would phrase thingsí. And it wasnít! So good on you.

That was a cute way to have her realize the truth about her editorís crush on her--through studying a picture. Aw. Poor thing. With a Weasley who tames dragons around, he probably hasnít got a chance.

My one note would be that Tommy is starting to seem a little vain here. I love that sheís so confident, but her favorite picture being of herself (Hey, at least sheís honest), when sheís a photographer strikes me as a little bit narcissistic. Well, that and all her talk about how pretty she is.

However, if she is vain, that is fine. Itís a flaw, but itís no worse than many other flaws. And itís a fairly realistic one for such a forthright person to have. No one likes a character thatís too perfect, and a story canít go anywhere if its characters have nothing they can improve on. I wonder if Charlie intends to call her out on that. Iím guessing sheíd have a few things to say right back to him ;)

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi again!

Yay! I'm glad you like the friendship dynamic! Those are always fun to write! :) And yay for Jensen!

And yes, Tommy is a little vain, though hopefully I can straighten that out with a few harsh words from Charlie in the chapters to come ;) And yes, flaws are good, so I'm glad she isn't too perfect, but that narcissism shall be toned down.

Thank you so much!!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell Of Dinners and Dances

21st November 2013:
Well, it sounds like sheís got herself a bit of a challenge in Charlie. Iíve got to say, not cool of him to be so judgmental. And its not even logical. If she was afraid of getting dirty, she wouldnít exactly jumped into a dragonís cage, would she? But then, he is Ronís brother, and I can see him doing the very same thing. Gives him lots of room for growth. Itís obvious that Charlie didnít like getting shown up. Am I sensing some competition on the horizon?

I donít really have any critiques, per say. Tommy comes across as almost brashly confident, but thatís what makes her stand out. For a moment, it almost seemed unbelievable, and then I wondered why I thought that. I mean, I certainly have friends as bold (okay, well they maybe wouldnít jump on a dragon, but *nearly* as bold) as Tommy, so why did it initially strike me as odd? And then I realized that you almost never see a female character so unapologetically confident from the beginning of a story (unless theyíre the evil archenemy type). Guys, sure. And girls sometimes gain their confidence, to be revealed at key moments of a handful of scenes, but they rarely start out that way. Which is the very thing that makes it *seem* unnatural, even though it isnít at all. What Iím saying is, good on you for representing such a confident girl, because we need more of that, and Iím very happy to see it!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hello!

And I know! Judgemental Charlie! And there will definitely be competition. You are also right in the sense that Charlie doesn't like getting shown up. I guess it's that male competitiveness.

And I know what you mean by almost never seeing a female character so brazenly confident and sure of herself right from the beginning (unless it's the antagonist, as you said). So, I'm so glad you think I've done that well because I do love representing strong female characters!

Thank you so much, I'm beaming with happiness!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell Of Dresses and Decisions

20th November 2013:
Ha! I like her already. I appreciate a girl who knows how to accessorize and understands the importance of a proper makeup regimen. I mean, I also appreciate a girl who doesnít, but itís an art thatís dear to my heart. It seems that Tommyís a bit of a contradiction--sheís willing to just throw things on (generally), but also takes time on her appearance. Which I like. It makes her more real to me. Itís nice to see a girl of action fussing over her appearance and being a little nervous, even if she is super confident. Makes her more human.

Also, Iím a sucker for a description of a good outfit. And it is clear that Tommy has the Best Job Ever. Covering dragons and fashion week? Can I go work for a fictional magical Canadian news outlet? Please? Iím also a great lover of little details, when people work in things about the magical world Iíve never thought of. Wizarding couture must be awesome!

Also great is that she clearly has a good friendship with another girl. They really build each other up. Nice to see in the post-Hogwarts realm. So often all the best friendships are written to be in the school years, and the stories that take place after that are so single-mindedly about the MCs romance that they hardly mention any relationships outside of that. But itís already the second chapter and youíre already thoroughly describing the secondary characters AND setting up a potential romantic subplot. I love it!

You are doing a lovely job of taking my literary pet-peeves and demolishing them, and the story has barely started yet. Canít wait to see what it holds! Now, if I may, it sounds like I have a party to read about ;)

--Penny

P.S. Yeah, I know I said 3 for the review swap, but Iím not stopping now. However, you are not beholden to me for extra reviews, of course! I just saw that your latest chapters didnít have any reviews yet, and thatís criminal. Off to rectify that frightful wrong.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad she's growing on you! And yes, she does know how to pull an outfit together, doesn't she? And I'm glad I've been able to make her more human! Yay for me!

And I'm sorry, but you can't because 1. There are no job openings there and 2. Have you been to a magic school and then interned for a journalist? Of course, you could be a secretary?

And yay for friendship! I really wanted to show that Tommy and Ally had a great bond, so I'm glad that came across well.

And yay! I'm glad that I'm twisting your pet peeves around and making this story interesting for you.

Thank you (for everything, considering you were amazing enough to leave me so many reviews! So sorry for taking so long to respond!)!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell Of Ridgebacks and Redheads

20th November 2013:
Well! Thereís a beginning for you!

So, your MC certainly has spunk. I like how you jumped straight into an action seen at the beginning of your story. Usually OC stories seem to begin with a super-long, self-narrated expositional monologue. And that has itís place, but this was a nice way to mix things up. Based on just this and the one-shot I just reviewed of yours, you seem to have a gift for turning things on their heads a bit, as well as establishing the essentials of your charactersí personality in a very short bit of time.

So, sheís a risk-taker, huh? Whatís her background, that she felt so comfortable leaping into a cage with one of the most dangerous creatures out there? That immediately intrigues me. Sheís clearly going to be a spitfire. Also, good for her, standing up for being Canadian. I mean, Iím American myself, but I respect her patriotism. Go Canada!

Iím glad to see a Charlie/O.C. As you mention, I havenít run into many, so this is a nice change. Iíll be interested to learn more about this (slightly insane) MC of yours.

She and Charlie might not have had the ideal first meeting, but in my book that means tension, which is the best start of all! Eager to see where it goes.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you like Tommy! She is a little firecracker, isn't she? And yay for patriotism!

I hope that as you go along, you learn a little bit more about Tommy at every single turn (although considering I'm extremely late with this response, I'm going to guess you have), and I hope you continue to like her.

And yes, she and Charlie don't seem to be hitting it off, do they? Oh well! That's usually how I write romance for some reason... :S

Thank you so much!
Lo :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan Of Ridgebacks and Redheads

20th November 2013:
Hi! I'm here for the review swap!

I haven't seen many stories out there that focus on Charlie, so this was great! This was a really exciting first chapter. Your main character has a lot of spunk, I loved that she went to jump right into the dragon wrangling despite only being a photographer. Clearly she knows a little about dragons too, I'll bet people on her tour found her equally impressive and irritating, lol.

Anyway, I really like you started right in with action, which was written very well! I loved her interaction with Charlie at the end too - I think he was a little impressed but doesn't want to say so because he just got showed up by a reporter. Tommy is very confident and seems like a lot of fun, if not a little crazy! :p

I'm wondering what he was doing in that cage in the first place. Ooo maybe it was Norbert's cage! That would explain why the dragon wasn't attacking when it was just Charlie there.

Great opening chapter, I really enjoyed it! Thanks for the swap :)

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you thought this was 'great'! That means a lot to me! And yay for Tommy! And yes, she knows a little about dragons, but more about climbing which will come into play a lot during later chapters! And yes, she can be very (very) annoying, but at the same time impressive! :)

And yay for action! And actually, you are spot on with the Tommy/Charlie interaction. Charlie isn't used to being showed up, let alone by someone who has (in his mind) absolutely no training in the area.

And yes, my darling Tommy is a little off her rocker. ;)

As for why he was in their, that will be talked about later, so no spoilers! ;_

I'm glad you liked it and right back at you with the thanks!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by toomanycurls Of Ridgebacks and Redheads

12th November 2013:
This is an amazing chapter! You do a great job introducing Tommy - who is perhaps insane :P and setting up a great bit of tension between Tommy and Charlie that could lead towards romantic thoughts.

The action is the chapter blew me away. You wrote the ferocity of the dragons so well. I really can't believe Tommy climbed on the dragon. O.o that's quite brave of her. She just jumped into the action with the dragon tamers.

Charlie's reaction to her "help" is fantastic. I can't tell if he's amused or annoyed (or both). I definitely think Tommy peaked his interest though. I like how she said she was Canadian with a good amount of pride. :D

The ending for this was an incredible set up for them having an interesting interlude afterwards. I have to admit, I think this story may become quite addictive!

-Rose

Author's Response: Yay!
I'm glad you liked it! And yes, Tommy is a little bit insane.

And as for Tommy's braveness, I prefer to think of it as 'do-now-think-later' mentality. But yes, she doesn't seem to have any fears. ;)

Charlie on the other hand... He's quite annoyed that a journalist (photographer!) saved him instead of him getting out of the situation or someone else with dragon taming training.

And go Canada! That's probably what my reaction would be if I ever left North America and someone accused me of being American... Canadian pride!

And yay for addiction (the story kind, not the other kind!)!

Thanks!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Faith100z Of Dresses and Decisions

9th October 2013:
Hi again! :) I loved the dialogue in this chapter, it seemed very natural and realistic, great job! The description was good too, I always like to have some sort of idea of what characters and settings look like when I'm reading a story. I'm excited to learn more about all the characters and see what happens at the dinner, if you're including that in the story. Looking forward to the next chapter!

- Faith

Author's Response: Hi!
Hm, where have I seen your penname before?
Oh right!
You're that beautiful Canadian who reviewed before and who made my day!
Okay, first, yay! I wrote good dialogue!
Second, yay, I have good description!
Third, I'm definitely including what happens at dinner (a Charlie encounter fits in there somewhere).
Fourth, will try and get the next chapter up ASAP, but I have approx. seven chapters from various fics to add to the queue, so we'll see how long that takes. :S
But thanks yet again!
This was extremely appreciated!!!
MT


 Report Review

Review #13, by Faith100z Of Ridgebacks and Redheads

9th October 2013:
I really loved this! I don't think I've ever seen a story on the archives with a Canadian character, so as a Canadian I was so happy to read this! :) It's a really great opening chapter. I loved the way you started with a bit of an action scene, it got me interested in the story right from the beginning and developed Tommy's character at the same time. I think it's really great that you've kind of reversed the whole damsel-in-distress cliche and had Tommy save Charlie in their first encounter. I think she's a character I'm really going to like! I'm excited to see how you portray Charlie in later chapters too, since we don't really see much of him in the books. Brilliant work!

- Faith

Author's Response: Hi!
First, Canadian pride!!
I think a big reason I made her Canadian (other than the fact that I am too) *was* because of the lack of Canadian characters. But, then again, HP *is* set in the UK, so not much of a reason to have foreigners.
But yay!
You liked it!
Score one for MT!
As for Tommy's damsel-reversal, I needed to do that because she's kind of (a complete) girly girl. I needed her to have some sort of substance, you know?
Yay again, though!
You like it!
Thanks ever so much!
MT


 Report Review

Review #14, by Romanian Anon Returns Of Dresses and Decisions

5th October 2013:
Yeah, you portrayed it pretty well. I know less of the countryside, which is probably where the dragon reserve is, cause I live in the city.
The story is great and I'm fond of Ally though I don't know why.
:)

Author's Response: Hi again!
Yay! I'm so glad I did the country justice!
And I really like Ally too ;)
Thanks so much!
MT:)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Romanian Anon Of Dresses and Decisions

28th September 2013:
Hello, author. I'm in (and from) Romania so if you need help with Romanian names (if needing to name people from the Romanian magazine if it's in your plan) go with simple ones like:
Ana, Elena, Sara, Andreea, Maria, Diana (I have no idea why they all end in a)
Or
Eric, Cristi (from Christian), Bogdan, Marius, Florin.
Hope it was helpful,
Romanian Anon

Author's Response: Hi 'Romanian Anon',
While I appreciate this review (and I really do, this is great, helpful information that I will need), can I ask if you liked it?
Did I portray your country well?
Cheers!

MT :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login