Reading Reviews for The New Pride of Portree
  
159 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan Tentative Hope

29th July 2014:
It's all good and nice having Molly and Fitz kiss now and again but I think my favourite parts are definitely the ones where they're just being cute together. I don't know but I like the fluff part where they just sit together and talk and watch old Quidditch games. It just sounds so normal and relaxed.

Fitz is definitely becoming a better coach, he knows what he's doing when he talks about all of the other teams and their tactics. I love seeing players showcase their knowledge about the things that they're passionate about. I feel like a proud parent, "You see, my baby knows what they're talking about."

Woohoo! The Prides won their first game! That's got to be really exciting for them, I mean, they didn't exactly beat a difficult team or anything, but still a win is a win and everyone is doing heaps better than before. The meshing is really beginning to happen with everyone now, I can all see it happening.

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan Surprising Depths

29th July 2014:
OOH DAMN IS THIS WHERE THE DRAMA STARTS? THIS IS WHERE THE DRAMA STARTS ISN'T IT?

I mean, as happy as I am that Molly and Fitz are getting together, I can see that this probably isn't going to end up well and there's probably going to be some yelling. I'm excited for the drama but at the same time I'm not because drama causes some very strong feelings to creep out of their hole from inside my head.

Fitz is so gone on Molly it's so cute. The man acts all tough but he's really just a huge dork let's face it. Like honestly, I couldn't stop smiling at the fact that Molly laughing or smiling made him happy and that he loved trying to make her laugh. I kind of feel like Fitz is a lot more expressive his emotions internally while Molly spends most of her time trying to shut her feelings off (which actually makes sense considering their personalities).

And I'm so happy that the team is making progress! This is good, they've realized that they were being unfair with their accusations and I love that they've all realized that they all need to be putting in effort in order for them to really work and achieve something.

 Report Review

Review #3, by RupertsPheonix Widdershins

28th July 2014:
This story is fantastic. I just started reading this evening, and I am addicted. Such a good fanfiction--the best quidditch-centered fanfic I've read. I also LOVE this version of Molly II. I am anxiously awaiting another chapter!
--Kate/RP

 Report Review

Review #4, by AlexFan A Fine Line

28th July 2014:
There's nothing like planning to poison your activity guide to bring everyone together, is there?

Is Mariah jealous? Is this what I am sensing, does she want Fitz back and is angry because he doesn't respond to her usual behaviour and that Molly has more of an effect on him than she does?

I love the relationship between the bartender and his second cousin, "I hope ye choke on it," it doesn't get much more family than that. The tab thing that's going on with the bartender is the same as the one going on with Max and Fitz (I just hope that Max and Fitz don't end up getting into a fight about a girl).

You know, I don't understand why the team insists on getting drunk. They have no hangover potion and they know exactly how they're going to feel in the morning so why do they insist on getting drunk anyway? If they really didn't want to deal with a hangover there would be a simple solution to it and that's just stop chugging the alcohol like it's water.

And of course Fitz helped lift up the wheelbarrow, he puts himself in pain because he knows that other people aren't as strong as him to do the same job and I just, why are you so nice Fitz?

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan A Sabotaged Sorceress

28th July 2014:
I feel so bad for LeFoque because it just seems like she's trying to do her job and everyone is being deliberately difficult about everything. I don't know how that woman didn't lose patience with everyone that day. But I knew that no one was going to follow orders. No one ever does in a situation like this and people end up getting along better from mucking up instead of following instructions.

I just hope that the team decides to be a little more cooperative throughout the next few days to make LeFoque's life easier because I just want to hug this girl at this point. She's trying so hard and it's not leading to the results that she's supposed to get.

I look forward to the trust fall, that should be interesting.

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan A Pack of Wild Dogs

28th July 2014:
I can practically feel the sadness just oozing out of this chapter. Just reading this lowered my mood! Everyone sounds so tired and just done with everything throughout this entire chapter and I'm just the weirdo that's still cheering everyone and hoping that things pick up soon.

At least this time around they didn't lose as painfully as they did to the Magpies so there's that. Meghan needs to get some reserve players ASAP if Molly is going to start turning into a target for bludgers. There may not be many people willing to join the Prides (since they suck let's face it) but for some people it could be the Prides or nothing.

There's nothing like a retreat to force everyone into either getting along or just silently hating each other. I'm looking forward to seeing how that works out. And judging by the excerpts that I saw for the next few chapters, a lot of drama is going to be going down by the sounds of it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by stargirl100 Widdershins

27th July 2014:
Question-who is Rose married to ? Cause you mentioned that Ron and Bill were competitive with the grandchildren near the beginning of this story. Also, Molly is so great. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by coolgf Widdershins

27th July 2014:
Great chapter. When do we see the whole family together ? At least throw in some James and Albus thanks.

 Report Review

Review #9, by s.w Widdershins

26th July 2014:
I honestly love this story! I was sceptical reading it at first because the description said it didn't have any other characters other than Molly and OC but this story is truly well written, featuring heaps of known characters like Dominique, Roxanne, Ginny, Percy, Lucy, Harry, Audrey, Ron etc. I love this story so much, and it appears on the search page as a newly updated story which is good because I really don't want you to leave this story! Please keep writing xoxoxo Love the character developments too especially with Fitz! And Molly realises her feeings for him omg love it. Xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by AdinaPuff Widdershins

26th July 2014:
Hello, hello!

So I stumbled upon this amazing novel you have going here by chance, and I have to say I am so happy that I did. It is absolutely amazing! I love your characters! Molly is just phenomenal. She's so real! And I love Fitz. What a unique character you've brought to life there. He's a real person to me. I feel as though I've met him myself. I just love him! And of course, I'm loving the team. Jinks especially though. He's just absolutely hilarious. You should make another story about him to tie into this world you have going. Or do you already have one? I have yet to stalk your authors page. But in one of your A/N's you said there was a Roxanne one? I cannot wait to read that one soon! I'm dying!

Well, update soon! I'm off to learn about Roxanne and Perry :D

Cheers!

-Leigh

 Report Review

Review #11, by Leonore Widdershins

26th July 2014:
Hi! Dropping by with another classic Leo-review (nonsensical rambling and all)

I LOVE the superstitions bit in the middle, and the comparison to 'The Scottish Play'.

Ooh, awkward parents/Fitz stuff!

Poor Fitz. Practically the first thing anyone mentions to him is his shoulder. And he screwed up in front of Molly's family.

Yay, Prides! Haha, Jinks and "Chariots of Fire". Definitely a good move on Fitz's part, showing them those films. And they get on so amazingly, with their inside jokes and friendly insults.

Great press interview technique - "please don't print that" "don't print that" "or that". If it was anyone but Ginny...

Yes! Don't let Rakes get away with it. Though if he hadn't cursed Fitz then Fitz and Molly probably wouldn't have ended up as coach and captain...

Fitz + Molly = :D

I think you're the only author who's made me really care about the romantic side of the story. I guess this one works for me because their relationship is pretty complicated - injury, manager, temper, OCD, being coach and captain, worrying about the team, and of course the parents. It actually seems realistic, which is something I hardly ever feel.

By the way, I'm jealous of them getting to spend so much time on Skye. I went camping a few years ago, just for a couple of days, and it is the loveliest place. It may have helped that in out week going round Scotland, we had the best weather for those days, but even ignoring that it's lovely.

Yeah, it genuinely does rain a lot in Scotland. Not all the time, but a lot. And they get a lot of snow in winter. Though there are many days when it's beautifully sunny, there are also many with atrocious visibility due to light rain/mist.

And Brits do talk about the weather a lot. It's not just a cliche. I am living proof (and I'm not the only one obsessed with it, either) :)

~ Leo xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFan Magpies and Mistakes

26th July 2014:
That was painful to read. It must've been painful for Molly and the team to lose the game so spectacularly but it was painful hearing about it from the readers perspective. It was obvious that they weren't going to do well (unless a miracle happened or someone drank Felix Felicis) but I didn't think that it would be that bad.

And of course they blamed Molly, why wouldn't they blame Molly, she was their captain after all but at the same time it doesn't make much sense either because she's only had the title for a few days and Fitz is their coach. If he'd pulled it together sooner they might've had more practice time. In the end though, it was everyone's fault because they didn't have enough training time and the players were at fault for not playing as they were supposed to.

(ON A SIDE NOTE YES MOLLY AND FITZ KISSED HAPPY DANCING OVER HERE).

I'm going to take a wild guess that things aren't going to be going really smoothly after this?

 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan Drills and Defense

26th July 2014:
I'm so happy that Molly got Captain! I mean, I had an idea that she probably would but it's still nice to see that she actually got the spot! I love her strategy for getting Jink to actually work instead of just taking a nap on his broom. This girl knows how everyone works and to get things done. Molly is my baby, it's only five chapters into the story and she's already become my baby.

Thank God that Fitz finally managed to smarten up! I was wondering when he was going to figure out that he needed to step it up a notch. I was so impressed with him swallowing his pride and admitting that he needed help with the drills, that is a big step for him. I know how difficult it can be to admit that you're wrong and to ask someone who knows better than you for help.

As for whether he and Molly have a chance, HECK YES! She didn't exactly say no to his question but she didn't say yes either. Fitz has a chance with her as long as he stops acting like a jerk and apologizes for treating her so badly. But if they did break up, I feel like Molly would probably have an easier time of keeping it professional than Fitz because she has a lot more control over her emtions (and Fitz would have a harder time because his LACK of control over his anger).

Has Fitz considered seeing a therapist or getting some anger management?

 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFan Flight and Family

26th July 2014:
Percy has certainly changed from the person that he used to be when he was younger. I don't think I've ever seen him this affectionate with anyone before ever. The idea of him doting on anything is really weird to me but I guess children change a person. I love seeing the softer side of him around his daughters and how much of an interest he takes in their life. It's so sweet how much he cares and loves his granddaughter and wants to hold her and play with her.

I hope Audrey doesn't take to nagging Molly about the fact that she's not married even though she's close to thirty. It's not like there's anything wrong with it and I'm pretty sure Molly would rather get married to someone that she really loved instead of getting married to someone just because. I can see Molly getting married but then on the other hand, I kind of can't.

I love how Molly didn't beat around the bush with the whole attraction thing. I'm so used to seeing characters denying their feelings and calling themselves crazy for who they're attracted to but I like how Molly just admits it to herself and moves on. "I like the man but he's useless at what he does." I wouldn't expect any other reaction from her.

I knew that the Healer was a Weasley (red hair has now come to be Weasley to me) and I started guessing which one it was (I was wrong).

 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFan The Dreaded Ex

25th July 2014:
I was right! I do smell a ship about to take off! Obviously Molly and Fitz have issues they need to work through and they have to learn how to play nice with each other but I can just picture the two of them dating and it involves a lot of arguments about ridiculous things that everyone uses as entertainment.

Mariah sounds irritating but besides imitating what I imagine to be sour lemon face and severe eye twitching, I can't really get annoyed with her because it's not like she's being extremely vicious or anything. That being said she does sound childish what with trying to push Riordan's buttons.

I admire how Molly handled the situation, she is definitely one smart cookie. If I was in her spot I wouldn't have been half as courteous as her, there would've just been death threats but that's the difference between Molly and I.

YES THIS IS SO GOOD I'M ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER!

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFan The New Lineup

24th July 2014:
Molly may have a mohawk that's brightly coloured but her colour coordinated clothes scream Percy Weasley to me. I love how even though she's really punk you can still see a little bit of family resemblence on her.

I can see why Molly is so unimpressed with Fitzroy. I get that he's he's nervous and he doesn't want to work with a bunch of newbies but come on, he needs to start pulling it together if he's going to make them a top notch team. I'm surprised that the man isn't a Gryffindor because he has an awful lot of pride standing between him and that colour coded schedule of hers that would probably help him out to be honest.

If he's going to work with Molly then Fitzroy is going to have to pick up his game because she's the daughter of Percy Weasley and we all know what Percy's like. I have a feeling that Molly is going to accidentally end up controlling the practices because she's going to be irritated with the way that Fitzroy runs things.

And on a side note, I smell a ship growing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by missdagane Underdogs

23rd July 2014:
Roxanne is pregnant :-) Another baby in the Weasley clan. Love, love, love the chapter, and the fic in general. Hope Molly will share her feelings very soon.

 Report Review

Review #18, by missdagane Let Us Break A Few Heads

23rd July 2014:
First of all, I'm very sorry because I didn't review in a while. Your fic is amazing. I can't believe Rake was the responsible for Fitz's injury and because of Mariah... And thank you for Ron and Ropse's cameo, it totally makes my day!!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFan The Harpy With the Mohawk

23rd July 2014:
I've been hearing quite a bit about this story and it sounded really interesting so of course I'm going to be stopping by (and I'll be reviewing as I go so that I don't forget anything).

From the moment that you mentioned leather and mohawk I knew that Molly was probably going to be metal as fudge. I love how she's completely confident with her appearance and knows that it's not the most important thing as a Quidditch player.

This Meghan woman sounds like she plays a tough game. I mean, it's a little insane to fire half your team and their reserves but it sounds like she knows exactly what she's doing and what she's in for. Molly sounds like a great option for captain of the team actually, with that school record of hers she really is suited for positions of leadership.

Riordan is being a little too harsh, there's plenty of Quidditch talent out there but it's just sitting on the bench. Of course he thinks that just because it's a reserve player that they're going to be no good but he can't really judge since you don't often get to see reserve players play. And besides, it's not like the Pride of Portree could do any worse with these new players, the old team was almost as bad as the Chudley Cannons for chrissakes!

I'm obviously going to have to read the Midnight Run trilogy because otherwise I just won't feel right but other than that, I'm excited to read the rest of this story!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Audrey Underdogs

22nd July 2014:
How is it that you get these chapters out so quickly? Simply brilliant! Love your work :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Penelope Inkwell Underdogs

19th July 2014:
Yay! New chapter! Is it just me, or are updates picking up speed? It feels that way, at any rate, and I am LOVING it.

So, first, I enjoyed the exchange between Molly & Roxanne. It’s good for her to admit her feelings. She’s started with her family, and now moved on to telling her closest friends, which seems like a positive step. Like, maybe she’s gearing up to tell the truth to Fitz. Baby steps and all that.

Of course, there IS the question of who’s going to admit that they love the other first?

One thing I like about this story, in general, is that the actions of both main characters make sense. Like, so much of the time when you get multiple POVs, even when I can see a character’s *reason* for doing something, I’m driven mad by how simple it would be for all the problems to be solved if both parties just looked beyond their nose. But that isn’t the case here.

Fitz has had a really horrible experience with his romantic relationships. I mean, Mariah really hurt him. Cheating is always hard to forgive, but the way she did things? It was just awful. And now he’s been a bit of a grouch, what with losing the sport he loved, his wife, and the head-splittingly painful shoulder injury, and for a while he was obviously bitter. He picked up on that, and now he believes himself to be unloveable. And really, his accusation that Molly just wanted to fix him? It wasn’t true, but I could understand why he drew that conclusion.

As for Molly--oh, I feel her pain. Or the pain she doesn’t know that she has? Ugh! What I mean is, she tries so hard to make sure it looks like she isn’t hurt, but the problem is that it MAKES IT LOOK LIKE SHE ISN’T HURT, which makes Fitz think that she never cared. And I can totally be like that. My first urge is usually to hide how really strong emotions affect me, so I totally sympathize. But, as in this case, it can really be a problem.

The thing is, both of their responses make sense, and I can’t blame either of them for it. So now I must just patiently wait, watching them snatch looks at each other--adorably--over popcorn and crazed teammates, until someone SAYS OR DOES SOMETHING, finally, and we can clear this all up.

In the meantime, the tension is very well executed. I am dying for them to work this out, but I’m not wanting to skip ahead. It’s not miserable, and you do a wonderful job of balancing the genuine pain of broken hearts with funny, upbeat moments. I enjoy every update, and it never gets to the point of, “Oh, this is all so depressing, I wish I could just fast forward to the good part,” because it’s *full* of good parts. That’s a really awesome skill! I’m so impressed, and I hope that, one day, I can pull off that balance as excellently as you do.

Also? I loved the Chariots of Fire, bit. I also like how the guys reacted to it the exact same way half my class did when we watched it in high school. It was charming. : )

Thanks for another great update!

Favorite Quote:

“Give it a go, and if you don't like it, you never have to have a feeling again.”



--Penny

 Report Review

Review #22, by coolgf Underdogs

19th July 2014:
This is great, team unity and Fitz getting the team together for once finally. I like that we get to see Ginny and Harry in the future maybe. Molly will step up in the future with Fitz she is that type. :) can't wait for more.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Penelope Inkwell Let Us Break A Few Heads

14th July 2014:
OH MY GOSH!

I can’t believe that it was Mariah’s ex-lover who Cursed Fitz.

...actually, I take that back. I can totally believe it.

Honestly, I’m just so glad to get that mystery solved. And while I usually don’t approve of bar brawls, I’m really just happy Fitz got in a few good punches. I mean, the man ruined his life. He got off lucky, all things considered. Fitz never has a great hold on his temper, and he’s been twice as grouchy since breaking things off with Molly. And then this guy comes along and brags about having slept with his wife and ended his career? He’s lucky the wands weren’t brought out, the way I see it. I mean, I don’t know that I see Fitz as the world’s best dueler, but he’d certainly have a great amount of righteous anger to fuel his fight.

Ron cameo! And Rose. Why *was* Rose covered in treacle, for that matter? Anyway, good to see them, and good of Ron to keep quiet about Fitz’s predicament. The Perks of being a Weasley--clearly it’s not a bad gig if you can get it.

Ack! Fitz...Molly. Uuugh! Something has gotta give here. This is just painful.

Favorite Quotes:

“What happened to you?”

“Shaving accident?” Fitz suggested.

“I thought we were going with 'ambushed by pirates',” Jinks stage-whispered.

“He was fighting off a troll,” Zara volunteered.

Fitz nodded judiciously at that. “Somewhat accurate,” he admitted.



Bahahaha!

Well written and engaging as always! Thanks for the chapter : D

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #24, by ThestralPrincess Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Aw, such a fantastic chapter. Loved the family interactions. Loved Fitz and Molly as I always do. :) Love the Rose appearance with treacle. Looking forward to next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by coolgf Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Sweet ! Ron and Rose in this chapter. So cool and I so love Molly. She is so cool.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>