Reading Reviews for The New Pride of Portree
  
145 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan The Dreaded Ex

25th July 2014:
I was right! I do smell a ship about to take off! Obviously Molly and Fitz have issues they need to work through and they have to learn how to play nice with each other but I can just picture the two of them dating and it involves a lot of arguments about ridiculous things that everyone uses as entertainment.

Mariah sounds irritating but besides imitating what I imagine to be sour lemon face and severe eye twitching, I can't really get annoyed with her because it's not like she's being extremely vicious or anything. That being said she does sound childish what with trying to push Riordan's buttons.

I admire how Molly handled the situation, she is definitely one smart cookie. If I was in her spot I wouldn't have been half as courteous as her, there would've just been death threats but that's the difference between Molly and I.

YES THIS IS SO GOOD I'M ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER!

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan The New Lineup

24th July 2014:
Molly may have a mohawk that's brightly coloured but her colour coordinated clothes scream Percy Weasley to me. I love how even though she's really punk you can still see a little bit of family resemblence on her.

I can see why Molly is so unimpressed with Fitzroy. I get that he's he's nervous and he doesn't want to work with a bunch of newbies but come on, he needs to start pulling it together if he's going to make them a top notch team. I'm surprised that the man isn't a Gryffindor because he has an awful lot of pride standing between him and that colour coded schedule of hers that would probably help him out to be honest.

If he's going to work with Molly then Fitzroy is going to have to pick up his game because she's the daughter of Percy Weasley and we all know what Percy's like. I have a feeling that Molly is going to accidentally end up controlling the practices because she's going to be irritated with the way that Fitzroy runs things.

And on a side note, I smell a ship growing.

 Report Review

Review #3, by missdagane Underdogs

23rd July 2014:
Roxanne is pregnant :-) Another baby in the Weasley clan. Love, love, love the chapter, and the fic in general. Hope Molly will share her feelings very soon.

 Report Review

Review #4, by missdagane Let Us Break A Few Heads

23rd July 2014:
First of all, I'm very sorry because I didn't review in a while. Your fic is amazing. I can't believe Rake was the responsible for Fitz's injury and because of Mariah... And thank you for Ron and Ropse's cameo, it totally makes my day!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan The Harpy With the Mohawk

23rd July 2014:
I've been hearing quite a bit about this story and it sounded really interesting so of course I'm going to be stopping by (and I'll be reviewing as I go so that I don't forget anything).

From the moment that you mentioned leather and mohawk I knew that Molly was probably going to be metal as fudge. I love how she's completely confident with her appearance and knows that it's not the most important thing as a Quidditch player.

This Meghan woman sounds like she plays a tough game. I mean, it's a little insane to fire half your team and their reserves but it sounds like she knows exactly what she's doing and what she's in for. Molly sounds like a great option for captain of the team actually, with that school record of hers she really is suited for positions of leadership.

Riordan is being a little too harsh, there's plenty of Quidditch talent out there but it's just sitting on the bench. Of course he thinks that just because it's a reserve player that they're going to be no good but he can't really judge since you don't often get to see reserve players play. And besides, it's not like the Pride of Portree could do any worse with these new players, the old team was almost as bad as the Chudley Cannons for chrissakes!

I'm obviously going to have to read the Midnight Run trilogy because otherwise I just won't feel right but other than that, I'm excited to read the rest of this story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Audrey Underdogs

22nd July 2014:
How is it that you get these chapters out so quickly? Simply brilliant! Love your work :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell Underdogs

19th July 2014:
Yay! New chapter! Is it just me, or are updates picking up speed? It feels that way, at any rate, and I am LOVING it.

So, first, I enjoyed the exchange between Molly & Roxanne. It’s good for her to admit her feelings. She’s started with her family, and now moved on to telling her closest friends, which seems like a positive step. Like, maybe she’s gearing up to tell the truth to Fitz. Baby steps and all that.

Of course, there IS the question of who’s going to admit that they love the other first?

One thing I like about this story, in general, is that the actions of both main characters make sense. Like, so much of the time when you get multiple POVs, even when I can see a character’s *reason* for doing something, I’m driven mad by how simple it would be for all the problems to be solved if both parties just looked beyond their nose. But that isn’t the case here.

Fitz has had a really horrible experience with his romantic relationships. I mean, Mariah really hurt him. Cheating is always hard to forgive, but the way she did things? It was just awful. And now he’s been a bit of a grouch, what with losing the sport he loved, his wife, and the head-splittingly painful shoulder injury, and for a while he was obviously bitter. He picked up on that, and now he believes himself to be unloveable. And really, his accusation that Molly just wanted to fix him? It wasn’t true, but I could understand why he drew that conclusion.

As for Molly--oh, I feel her pain. Or the pain she doesn’t know that she has? Ugh! What I mean is, she tries so hard to make sure it looks like she isn’t hurt, but the problem is that it MAKES IT LOOK LIKE SHE ISN’T HURT, which makes Fitz think that she never cared. And I can totally be like that. My first urge is usually to hide how really strong emotions affect me, so I totally sympathize. But, as in this case, it can really be a problem.

The thing is, both of their responses make sense, and I can’t blame either of them for it. So now I must just patiently wait, watching them snatch looks at each other--adorably--over popcorn and crazed teammates, until someone SAYS OR DOES SOMETHING, finally, and we can clear this all up.

In the meantime, the tension is very well executed. I am dying for them to work this out, but I’m not wanting to skip ahead. It’s not miserable, and you do a wonderful job of balancing the genuine pain of broken hearts with funny, upbeat moments. I enjoy every update, and it never gets to the point of, “Oh, this is all so depressing, I wish I could just fast forward to the good part,” because it’s *full* of good parts. That’s a really awesome skill! I’m so impressed, and I hope that, one day, I can pull off that balance as excellently as you do.

Also? I loved the Chariots of Fire, bit. I also like how the guys reacted to it the exact same way half my class did when we watched it in high school. It was charming. : )

Thanks for another great update!

Favorite Quote:

“Give it a go, and if you don't like it, you never have to have a feeling again.”



--Penny

 Report Review

Review #8, by coolgf Underdogs

19th July 2014:
This is great, team unity and Fitz getting the team together for once finally. I like that we get to see Ginny and Harry in the future maybe. Molly will step up in the future with Fitz she is that type. :) can't wait for more.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell Let Us Break A Few Heads

14th July 2014:
OH MY GOSH!

I can’t believe that it was Mariah’s ex-lover who Cursed Fitz.

...actually, I take that back. I can totally believe it.

Honestly, I’m just so glad to get that mystery solved. And while I usually don’t approve of bar brawls, I’m really just happy Fitz got in a few good punches. I mean, the man ruined his life. He got off lucky, all things considered. Fitz never has a great hold on his temper, and he’s been twice as grouchy since breaking things off with Molly. And then this guy comes along and brags about having slept with his wife and ended his career? He’s lucky the wands weren’t brought out, the way I see it. I mean, I don’t know that I see Fitz as the world’s best dueler, but he’d certainly have a great amount of righteous anger to fuel his fight.

Ron cameo! And Rose. Why *was* Rose covered in treacle, for that matter? Anyway, good to see them, and good of Ron to keep quiet about Fitz’s predicament. The Perks of being a Weasley--clearly it’s not a bad gig if you can get it.

Ack! Fitz...Molly. Uuugh! Something has gotta give here. This is just painful.

Favorite Quotes:

“What happened to you?”

“Shaving accident?” Fitz suggested.

“I thought we were going with 'ambushed by pirates',” Jinks stage-whispered.

“He was fighting off a troll,” Zara volunteered.

Fitz nodded judiciously at that. “Somewhat accurate,” he admitted.



Bahahaha!

Well written and engaging as always! Thanks for the chapter : D

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #10, by ThestralPrincess Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Aw, such a fantastic chapter. Loved the family interactions. Loved Fitz and Molly as I always do. :) Love the Rose appearance with treacle. Looking forward to next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by coolgf Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Sweet ! Ron and Rose in this chapter. So cool and I so love Molly. She is so cool.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by evil little devil Let Us Break A Few Heads

13th July 2014:
Oh my gosh, Rose! I am so happy you gave her a cameo, I was laughing so much imagining what how she managed to get herself into this particularly crazy scenario.
Poor Fitz. I can't believe that guy hexed him! All because Mariah wouldn't leave him quick enough. I would tell you more of my thoughts on him, but I'm not entirely sure how to compress them into a 12+ review :P
I am incredibly jealous of your ability to write quidditch matches. You do it so well! With just enough detail to make it interesting and draw me in, but not so much that it reads like a sports commentary. I'm very happy they beat the Falcons, a team that violent doesn't deserve to win.
This was such an action packed chapter, so much happened! It was very exciting to read :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Leonore Let Us Break A Few Heads

12th July 2014:
I thought I'd finally let you know that I'm reading and loving this story. I found it during diadem voting, then a few days later opened about ten tabs with different chapters to read while stuck waiting in a place with no internet. It definitely kept me from getting bored!

OK, I read this chapter and went to watch a bit of the World Cup third-place play-offs before reviewing and found myself just sitting there watching and thinking "Falcons" every time the Brazilians fouled (which was a lot, even in just half an hour). Although unlike the Prides, the Dutch seem to be pretty good at keeping their play clean (I may be biased, being 1/4 Dutch...). Anyway, going off on a slight tangent. I like tangents. *Insert dumb mathematical ramble here*

Yay, Molly and Fitz! Ignore managers and ex-wives and all of that. This fic has the perfect balance of romance and other stuff. Just romance really isn't my thing, but there's so much backstory and other factors and complications and their relationship is more than just "she is so beautiful and I gaze into her eyes and feel something stir inside me and we are soulmates" but all of the arguments and her kind of looking after him and worrying about him and then feeling guilty because the manager says no relationships in the team and trying to keep it secret and... *list gets out of hand* And then all the training and match details, not blow-by-blow accounts because that would get boring but all of the key events and bits of information like drills and archive footage and fouls and seeker search patterns and stuff. But yeah, action and drama and angst and Molly's OCD as well as well as the romance. And technical details! I LOVE technical details! (Like all of the medical stuff.)

Just like any muggle professional sports team, with the management and coaching and the healer team. And the ice baths and painkillers and everything. I love the way they've got the team drinking culture, going to the pub and having too much and all that. They're not perfect, they don't sacrifice everything to play on the team, they're people who happen to love Quidditch, be amazing at it, and do it for a career.

Urgh, I hate Rakes. It's one thing for it to be some random member of the public... OK, that would be horrendous too, to attack just because their team was being beaten. But he was already in the wrong being with Fitz's wife and then he convinces himself he's being wronged in some way - or just curses Fitz because he's used to getting his own way, or just wants an excuse. Whatever, it's horrible.

Good old Ron. He scared Fitz a bit talking about the Cannons, but he doesn't really hold a grudge. (To be honest if he held a grudge against every player who played against and beat the Cannons he'd have a lot of grudges). And he lets Molly know about the fight so she can come pick him up, knowing it's not worth a scandal.

Now I want to know why Rose and the random guy are covered in treacle. There has to be a story in that...

Yay, the Prides won! *doesn't actually dance round room celebrating because that would be a bit weird and my family might notice, especially as it's past 11pm* I like Hugo. That's all I'm going to say about him. All your characters are amazing. OK a couple are amazingly unpleasant, but they're all nice and complicated and like real people.

I hope you like long inane rambly reviews with lots of tangents. I am in that mood. And I'm making it long because this review partly covers my love of the whole story so far not just this chapter.

OK, I have no idea how much of that consists of my random comments and how much is actually relevant to, well, anything. Shall I stop talking (typing) now? ;)

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by Veritaserum27 The Dreaded Ex

12th July 2014:
Hi hi!

Oooo! Great ending. There is chemistry. Lots of chemistry. I love Molly's neurotic tendencies. They border, but do not quite cross the line of mental illness. Haha! She navigated Mariah well. That could've gotten really ugly - although I have a feeling that you have more in store for us regarding that one. I feel bad that Fitz is so uncomfortable in his new job. He needs to experience some success so that he can gain his confidence. He seems to want to do really well, and he is definitely putting for a concerted effort - with the new training schedule and getting Preece to practice and all that. He seems like a pretty decent guy. I can't wait to read more!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by Veritaserum27 The New Lineup

12th July 2014:
Hello, hello!

Wow. Molly sure does like her color coding, doesn't she? She seems to be a bit neurotic - what with getting to practice so early, starting the team on drills without the coach and coming up with her own training schedule. I'm afraid her ambition is going to get her into trouble. Nobody likes a know-it-all. I was curious about this line referring to Roxie: Well, possibly married. There had been a wedding on a beach, but whether or not there had been a marriage license seemed an entirely different question.. Was that part of another story? It sounds pretty funny. I'll have to read it. I am very suspicious about Fitz's injury. It seems like there might be a bit of mystery brewing. Someone REALLY didn't want him to play and I'm wondering if that person is going to come back when they find out he is the head coach of The Pride of Portree. On to the next chapter!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by Veritaserum27 The Harpy With the Mohawk

12th July 2014:
Hello!

I thought I would give this a go. I thoroughly enjoyed this first chapter. I like your version of Molly - intelligent, clever and "stylish." She's confident, but not arrogant (at least it doesn't seem so from this first chapter). Usually Molly is portrayed as intelligent, but super-annoying so this is refreshing. It looks like you've set the stage for some interesting conflict between Fitz and what I am assuming is his ex-girlfriend. In addition, there are a lot of new personalities coming together in a highly-charged slightly stressful situation. Makes for a good story and a lot of drama. I can't wait to see the purple mowhawk - or maybe Molly will adopt a totally different hairstyle for the Harpies!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by TidalDragon The New Lineup

12th July 2014:
Hello again!

Ahh the clash begins! I had a sense that Molly's determination to succeed was going to collide with Fitz's fixation on proving himself. The good part is I thought the clash was realistic, taking place in their heads at the moment. I'm interested to see if the pair can learn together and to find out what happens with the captaincy - will he deny Molly that because of their budding differences?

While developing all that, I thought you did a great job depicting the attitudes and lackadaisical approach that individuals at a bottom-dwelling club might actually take. I think it's realistic based on the anecdotes you here about teams in our sports when they're not doing well. I used to have an old boss who pounded the saying "speed of the leader, speed of the pack" into our heads though, so I'm hoping that between Molly, Zara, and Fitz - they can get this ship straightened out.

I think my favorite part of the story so far is how authentic it feels. Honestly, it reads quite like a real book so far! Kudos on that!

See you next chapter!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by TidalDragon The Harpy With the Mohawk

11th July 2014:
Howdy! I've seen you posting statuses about this story, and having become quite burnt out on reviewing one-shots this week, I figured a Quidditch-based novel would be a good change of pace!

As it turns out, indeed it was! I haven't read any of the stories mentioned in your A/N, but I was struck right off the top how clear and well-defined the characters are. Molly is immediately interesting - with her distinctive hair, you'd fancy her to be a rebel from the word go, but as you lay out in her background, she's anything but (or seems to be right now).

Meghan certainly seems shrewd. She's struck fast with the element of surprise on the other managers around the league hasn't she? The thing I perhaps like most about her already though is that she's a female character in a big role in sport. I have always wondered whether the Harpies are proof of past (or lingering) problems with sexism in Quidditch or whether they're a shining beacon symbolizing how equally both genders fare in the sport. If Meghan is any indication, it's the latter in your world, and I think that makes things interesting when comparing it to how things are in our world.

I also enjoyed Fitz. He was a nice change of pace from the other characters and while he seems like a potential hothead with a side-order of frantic, he's readily differentiable from the other two that featured most prominently and he's distinctive.

As well as you did the characters, the plot was still very clear and stuck out as well! I'm very interested to carry on and see how the story develops!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan The New Lineup

10th July 2014:
Hahaha, I love that despite Molly's outward appearance, she is still rather Percy-like in her sense of organisation - like her compulsion to keep all the bottles properly colour-coded, and the sense that if she's later than ten minutes early, then she's late. I laughed at the part where she volunteered to go wake up the missing players who slept in late, as well - she definitely would make a no-nonsense captain who gets everyone in line, that's for sure!

What a disaster of a first practice :-/ Honestly though, I can't blame any of the characters for acting as they are (well... maybe except for Jinks, who is just lazy). Molly might have been undermining Fitz' position by ordering everyone else on the team around, but she also really just wants the team to succeed and this is finally her chance. And Fitz is struggling to keep some authority over his hodge-podge team and obviously wouldn't appreciate some entitled girl doing his job for him. You've set up a really great and believable conflict between your characters already and it's only two chapters in!

I am loving this story so far and would love to keep reading but it's quite late at night so I'll be back tomorrow :P

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan The Harpy With the Mohawk

10th July 2014:
Hi WTM! I always enjoy reading your work so this was a great reminder to come by and read more of it ;)

I must say, after having read Unsinkable, this is quite a change, despite the main characters of both having the same name :P Molly II is FABULOUS. Seriously, from the first line with her wearing leather and styling her hair in a green mohawk... haha. I can't imagine Molly I is too thrilled with her style choices, and probably laments the fact that Molly II wears punk leather instead of lovingly knitted Weasley sweaters. Such is life. I digress. Anyway, I love that she's got this rebellious style AND was Head Girl at Hogwarts and got 12 NEWTs. She basically defies all stereotypes. Love her.

Poor girl though, that must be hard realising your dream job is not what you dreamed. That's a really important decision to make on the spot, so good for her! I love that she's planning to dye her mohawk purple for joining the Prides :D

Megan McCormack seems like an interesting character who's willing to take a lot of risks. I suppose at that point the team didn't have much to lose, if they were tied with the Chudley Cannons! Well, only time will tell whether it was wise or incredibly foolish of her to fire half the team and then steal reserves from the other teams. She's definitely crafty.

And Fitz certainly seems to be in an unwelcome situation, having to train all these new people when he doesn't have much experience training. I can see why he'd be furious with McCormack! Especially so because it sounds like she hired his ex, as well.

Great introductions to all your characters, and this looks like an entertaining story so far!!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore Tentative Hope

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Yay for Molly and Fitz! They're so cute together and I think Fitz is really cute - he's giving away a lot more of his feelings than Molly does as far as this is concerned, I think. It's a nice change because I feel like a lot of stories that I read, the guy is always more reticent and so it's refreshing to read a story when the girl isn't giving quite so much away. I can understand why they'd think they have to hide it - especially with all the talk of being professional, and the fact that the team has only just started talking to each other again, but it's kind of frustrating :P

Aw, I loved seeing Hugo in this chapter again! It's great to see him and I liked the fact that he was being protective of Molly - not without reason, because while they're not properly together yet, Fitz seems to benefit more from Molly's presence at the moment than she does from his.

And yes, finally! The team retreat seems to have worked because they've finally won a match! :D

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore Surprising Depths

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Fitz knew how to get them on side with that Hangover Cure Potion at the beginning of this chapter :P You know, I think that they've spent about as much time drinking on this retreat as they actually have doing all the trust exercises that are meant to bring them closer as a team. Still, in spite of all my doubts about this week, they do seem to be getting closer. Even if it's just because they're bonding over not wanting to have to do all the silly tasks that Lefoque is asking them to do. But that's good, at least, and they're talking to Molly again now, as well as Fitz. I think that their plan for them to skive off was a good one!

Although Mariah doesn't like Molly and Molly doesn't know why? I feel like it probably is jealousy although perhaps there is another reason, I'm not sure. And all the Molly and Fitz time was great! They're so cute together although their decision is definitely not professional :P I wonder how this will pan out...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore A Fine Line

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh dear, this retreat idea just seems to keep on getting worse and worse! How on earth is this retreat still open? Do people actually go back there? I've just never been able to understand all these trust-building exercises properly and I've always wondered whether they actually work, especially when you have to go away for them like this. I suppose though in a way that they are getting some sort of benefit from the retreat, if only because they're bonding over their hatred of the exercises they're being made to do and that's got to be a good thing. I'm surprised someone hasn't jinxed Lefoque by now, to be honest - I think that if it hadn't been for Fitz trying to keep them on track then they would have done by now :P

It's good that some of the team are slowly starting to talk to Molly and they're getting on better again now. Although most of the bonding seems to be done best in the pub :P I loved the conversation between the locals though, it was so funny! And then there was lots of lovely flirting with Molly and Fitz, which was great!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore A Sabotaged Sorceress

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

I wasn't expecting that the retreat would be a good idea even though the team do need something to get them all working together again as an actual team, but I'm not sure that a retreat is really the best way to do it. All of these trust exercises made me laugh, it was so funny to read Lefoque trying to make them do all these things and expecting them to take it seriously when the team just didn't want to do it, though. But in a way it's working, I guess? At least Molly and Zara had a conversation that wasn't Molly being blamed for the team's losses. Even if it's just bonding over the lack of good tea in the place!

Aw, so many cute Fitz and Molly moments in this chapter! Especially when they were doing the trust exercises and moving closer to each other, and Fitz just wants to stay there! I quite like the fact that neither of them are trying to hide the fact they like each other at this point, to the other, anyway - but I think from Mariah's reaction during the trust exercise, I felt like there could be some trouble brewing in the future...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore A Pack of Wild Dogs

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

What a great chapter! I'm hoping to get through the whole of this story so I'm caught up soon before you start posting the next updates, it's just so compelling to read and I'm enjoying it so much!

I loved the awkward conversation at the beginning of the chapter with Molly and Fitz. Lots of awkward moments in this chapter, actually. It might be easy to agree that they'll stay just friends and pretend that the kiss never happened so they don't have to tell anyone about it, but it's going to be an awful lot harder to actually do that. Especially for Fitz. Fitz can't seem to stop thinking about kissing her.

Oh dear, the team is playing really badly at the moment! And I feel sorry for Molly, being ignored by all the people you're captaining can't be a nice experience. It's no wonder that they lost again, really, although they didn't lose so drastically, even with Molly's bad arm. I'm glad Meghan's around to give them the kick up the bum they need! But I can't wait to see how this retreat turns out, I feel like it has a lot of potential for both humour and awkwardness!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>