206 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Seasons_Greetings Prologue

12th October 2015:

It is I, SeasonsGreetings, here to spread some love across HPFF from now until the New Year!

I've heard quite a bit of talk about your Gravel On The Ground series and I'm glad I've finally made it here. The set up for this story was unusual, but in a good way. I saw a few parallels to Merope starving on the streets during her pregnancy with Tom. Not sure if that was intentional or not, but I liked it.

I am quite intrigued by who this poor woman is and why she's out in the gutters on a rainy New York night. I've often visited New York during my quests to spread holiday cheer and I know just how cold it can get. I imagine she must be freezing.

I was very happy when the eccentric old lady showed up to take her out of the rain. I knew almost as soon as the cat didn't appear that it would be an animagus. I liked the detail about the ladies hair color matching that of the cat. It reminded me a bit of Professor McGonagall and her animagus form.

I'll end this here by wishing you a very happy holiday season!



 Report Review

Review #2, by alicia and anne Chapter 6

22nd September 2015:
YAY! ANOTHER SADIE CHAPTER! :D I'm so happy right now!

(pssst this is my 1700th review!)

Oh no! I'm worried about what's going to happen with Sadie there :S I need to protect her! I am really loving seeing this side of the scene, and what the others got up to in the woods, and I'm glad that Sadie is with them.

(Also love the fact that the twins hid things in Harry and Ron's rucksacks :P)

Look at Fred being a gentleman and giving her his coat, he's so sweet, but poor Sadie flinching *hugs her* I'll protect her!

I love how you're showing the Weasleys helping her settle in. If there's any family that could do it with such ease and such love, it would be the Weasleys.

No! Sadie don't run! :( Oh no! I hope that she's found.

phew! Fred got her.

No! Sadie! :( She's been through so much and all I want to do is hug her so tightly. Oh no! That flashback is so sad and horrible! *hugs her tighter*

This was such a sad chapter! :( And now I'm sad!

 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne Chapter 5

17th September 2015:
YES! SADIE! AHH! SO MUCH LOVE FOR HER! as you know with every review I've written.

How am I only on chapter 6? I feel like I've read more, but that just means I have so much more to read and love! YAY!

Aw I want to hug her again, she's got an innocence about her when she wants to go out and run around in the grass, I think that she should, Molly would definitely encourage that.

Oh Sadie! If any of those girls say anything I will hurt them! I'll protect you!

Awww I love how tired all of the boys are haha. And she wants to laugh! YES! This family is brilliant for her! :D

I seriously love her so much! Everytime I read more and more about Sadie I just have all of this love building up for her. There is nothing about her I dislike, and I just want to hug her all the time and become her best friend! Can I be her best friend? Somehow put me in the background so that I can be her best friend from afar :P

Aww the twins want to help her! :D

Oh no! Oh Sadie! :( Oh that poor girl! I want to hug her so tightly and help her get through her panic attack :( I'm so glad that it was Bill's jacket that she grabbed onto. I'm so glad that Bill was the one to talk to her and help her. Awww and he wants her to adopt him as a big brother! I'm so happy that he said that! :D

Aw Bill and Sadie will have the best brother/sisterness in the world! :D

This was amazing! and I need to get catching up on the rest of the story, it brings me such joy! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Chapter 4

10th September 2015:
YAY! It's Sadie again! :D Thank you for giving me this chapter to read :D

She must be so overwhelmed about going to the Weasley's house and being around them all.

I love that the first thing that Molly does is hug her :D Such a Molly thing to do!

Ahhh! She finally gets to meet Harry! :D YAY!

Oh Sadie! Can I hug her? I would be overwhelmed with everything if I was her, and you write how she's feeling so well! You've done a fabulous job describing that!

I can't wait for them to be friends as well! They're going to be an unstoppable team! I can tell!

You have got the characterisations of the Weasley's, Harry and Hermione done perfectly! And it's all just flowing so amazingly, it's like she was always in the series! :D

I love love love how they're all trying to learn sign language!

I need to read more and I can't wait to come back and read the rest of this story, I absolutely love Sadie, she's so different to every othe character I've read. I just have this massive urge to protect her and be there for her. You're such an amazing writer and I can't help but get lost in your beautiful words.

 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne Chapter 3

30th August 2015:
Albus and Minerva's friendship is epic!

And she must have something on her mind if she hasn't moaned about Argus!

Awww poor Sadie, having a fear or distrust of wands, I hope that she can get over that and use one. But I'm so happy that she's doing very well in other subjects though. I agree with Albus, she's going to surprise us.

Molly's house is definitely the best place for her if they want her to feel loved again. I don't think that there's another place in the wizarding world that would fit that criteria.

I agree that she needs a lot of help too, but I know that Minerva and the Weasley's and everyone else will be there to help her and get her through it. The just need to give her time. And I can't wait to see more of her as this story carries on. I feel attached to her and want only the best for her.

Awww she's so happy about new shoes and I could just cry! I want to protect her so much and give her everything that she wants.

I love this! And I need to carry on and read more!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm Prologue

11th August 2015:
Hey there!! Here with your review!

How have I never read anything by you before?! My goodness, I have been missing out! Even though this was a short prologue, I am completely captivated already. Your writing is just fantastic. It's so vivid and sucks you right in. I almost feel like I'm freezing, soaked and hungry, too. Wow.

So I'm definitely intrigued. I'm dying to know who this girl is and how she had come to be homeless in NYC. She obviously is familiar with magic, so I'm wondering if she is a witch, a squib or had known magical people before?

My heart broke for this poor girl. Especially when the woman at the shop was so horrible to her. I mean, she was out in the pouring rain, starving with no shoes. Who could be that cold towards someone so obviously in need. :( The poor girl.

The old woman was the cat! How interesting. It opens up even more questions that I will simply have to read on to find the answers to. And trust me, I'm definitely going to be back to read on!

Thank you so much for responding and giving me the opportunity to finally read your beautiful writing! I can't wait to continue on! Great work here!! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Chapter 2

27th May 2015:
Yay!! I'm back!! :D

Oh Harry, bless him for thinking that it was going to be about him. I bet he misses the attention haha.

I'm so glad that she's able to stay at The Burrow, especially with Mr Weasley, so that she could hear stories about her father. :D

I do love the background of how the Weasley's knew Sadies family, I can't imagine any other place that she would be staying. And I absolutely love that Arthur and Charlie named their kids after each other. Best friends ever!! :D

Oh no, I wonder who killed them and why? :(

I'm glad that she has them to look out for her and to show her around, at least she won't be alone. And Fred and George will definitely get her out of her shell and get her to open up :D

Oh no :( She can't talk, I hope that spell can be broken, and I wonder why that spell was put onto her?

Aw she's related to Harry! They're cousins :D

I really can't wait for more! I seriously need to get reading the next chapters, I'm so addicted to this story already, I love it so much! Your writing is wonderful and this story is so unique already and I can't wait to see how it develops and what other things your wonderful mind has come up with.

:D Keep up the amazing work! *squishes*

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan Chapter 10

27th May 2015:
Hi Farmgirl! I am back on land for a few days and here to appreciate and love this chapter!

This was great. You've got Ollivander's mannerisms and dialogue down perfectly, and as always I'm really impressed with your ability to adhere so closely to canon. Ollivander is kind of weird in that his love of magic and wandlore kind of gives him a strange energy that's a bit off-putting, but in his own way he did show Sadie that she has nothing to fear from magic. It was wonderful to see Sadie face that fear, realise she has a choice, and take a step to conquer her fear - she was close to following her flight instinct but she has already changed a lot now that she has support.

As always Fred and George really shine here. I will never tire of saying how much I love your writing of the twins!

Lovely chapter and I'm so eager to read more. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by merlins beard Chapter 10

15th May 2015:
Hi again!

I loved this! The characterization of Mr. Ollivander was a little different than I would have expected it, but it worked so well! I was a little nervous about this chapter, but everything seems to be going really well right now. Sadie starts to overcome her fears and trust the Weasley family.
I love all the Fred and George parts of the story, there can never be enough stories about them anywhere.

I kind of miss Sadie's interaction with her cousin a little. Harry did experience something similar to Sadie, so they should have something to talk about. I wonder if Sadie was told as a child what happened to her aunt and uncle (i think you said something about that in an earlier chapter, I can't quite remember right now.)


 Report Review

Review #10, by merlins beard Chapter 9

15th May 2015:
Hi again!
I loved the trip to Diagon Alley so far! It can be a really magical place nd I'm glad Fred and George were the ones to show it to Sadie. Her characterization compliments the Twin's -especially Fred's - quite well...
I can't wait to see how this thing between them turns out.

Wow, they even show her their shop. They are right, it will be amazing some day, and I'm hoping Sadie will be a part of that.

The wand buying comes next, right? I'm nervous about that, because Sadie probably isn't going to like it much...


 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard Chapter 8

14th May 2015:
Hello again! I guess it is time to get Sadie a wand. I have an uneasy feeling about that.

Can we please wrap Sadie into some Bubble-wrap tightly and -I don't know - never let her out of Molly Weasley's sight. I couldn't bear if something happened to her, but I'm afraid you're going to let her suffer a little more.

I love it when Fred and George are up to something!can't wait to see what George thought of during dinner.

He may be a little insensitive sometimes but I'm sure Sadie can take it.

Diagon Alley next chapter -I can't wait!


 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard Chapter 7

14th May 2015:
Hi again.
I love that Sadie starts to communicate, and I think you made the right coice translating her signs. Do you know ASL? I have no experience with any sign language other than knowing it looks fluent and beautiful and impressive.

Aw Ginny admits her crush! So sweet... sharing that secret is the best way to show Sadie what friendship feels like.

Wow, Sadie made Fred see her memories in that state of panic. She has really strong magic. I doubt she knows that he could see that. I wouldn't know what to do with that kind of information... but I agree that it's not his secret to tell.

I really love your writing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by merlins beard Chapter 6

14th May 2015:
I knew this was going to be bad. Poor, poor Sadie. I don't know how she could ever get over that.
Fred is so kind to her, like all the Weasleys. The dark mark frightens them all a lot, and Sadie just can't take it. I'm so glad that fred managed to catch her when she ran off. It will be a while until she tells someone about everything she's been through, and I can't help but think Dumbledore was right. The Weasley family really is the best treatment for someone who is heavily traumatized.
I'll just go to the next chapter to see if everyone is ok now.


 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard Chapter 5

14th May 2015:
Hi again!
This chapter was so sweet. Bill has always been the big brother I always wanted... I'm so glad he's offering to be that to Sadie. I love the Weasley family and all their love and respect, but Sadie must be so overwhelmed by it all...

I find it interesting that you tied Bill's profession into this story, it makes me think that maybe he'll be the one who'll work out how to remove th curse on sadie.

Molly is just like she always will be, feeding them all all the time and worrying about all her children, both biological and others. I don't think she could chose between Harry and Ron of she had to... She loves them both, and now Sadie as well.

I'm a little worried about what happens next at the Quidditch World Cup... it could really traumatize Sadie so much more than she already is... i hope she'll be fine.


 Report Review

Review #15, by merlins beard Chapter 4

14th May 2015:
Wow, this chapter makes me sad and happy at the same time.
Sadie gets a new family. They can't replace her parents and siblings, no one ever could, and they are not trying to do that. But they welcome her into the family like they did with Harry. The cousins have similar childhoods, and I never thought I'd say that, but Harry seems to have had it easier than Sadie...

wow, Arthur and Molly are her godparents... I wonder how Harry reacts to that. I think they should tell sadie soon.

It's so great for both Harry and Sadie to have someone they can call family.


 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins beard Chapter 3

14th May 2015:
Hi again!
First of all: thanks again for explaining the timeline thing! I feel much more comfortable reading this story now, and I really enjoy it!

I love the talk between Dumbledore and McGonagall, it's just something I'd expect them to do, just sitting there having a cup of tea, not even having to talk to each other, like old friends who have known each other forever.

I find it admirable how you remind us of Sadie's horrible experience just a few lines about clothes. I had almost forgotten that she couldn't talk when Professor Dumbledore spoke to her at the end of the chapter. He does always seem to know the right thing to say...

I can't wait for Sadie to meet the Weasleys... I daresay they will frighten her a bit. If Hogwarts is a madhouse, then what is the Burrow?


 Report Review

Review #17, by CambAngst Chapter 10

12th May 2015:
farmgirl! Seeing you post a new chapter is always awesome. I know I'm in for a treat.

I thought you did an awesome job with Olivander. You recaptured that mysterious, slightly spooky air that I remember from Harry's first visit to Diagon Alley. He's so fascinated with his work that he loses a bit of the broader moral context. That said, he's still compassionate and understanding.

Sadie's feelings were also described beautifully. I love the way you wrote the running battle between her fight and flight instincts, the way that flight comes close to winning on several occasions. I love how you expand her senses beyond the customary five so that she can feel the magic that permeates the shop and its contents.

Ollivander's dialog was really well written. It sounded like him and really reflected the passion he has for his art.

I love Sadie's change of heart, her first hints of reclaiming some of the control that was taken away from her. I'm really excited to see her begin to expand her boundaries.

You did your homework on the wand wood! Very impressive. I think that wand is a great match for her.

I'm very excited to see all of the characters return to Hogwarts and experience a new school year! Great job!

Author's Response: Dan!! Seeing you review is always beyond awesome! And humbling. I can't think what I did to deserve such a loyal friend, considering how slow I am at both writing and responding.

Thanks for the confidence in Olivander. You know how much I stressed over that scene. I wanted that mystery, but I didn't want him completely creepy.

Sadie feeling magic wasn't something I actually consciously chose for her, it just kind of evolved as I wrote. But, it actually makes a lot of sense, given her background and how much she's tried to ovoid magic for the last while. I'm glad you liked it.

WHEW on the dialog. Again, I stressed for a long time over this!

And I'm also so glad that you felt the change of heart worked. I really wanted to put this fear of wands more in the past and have her start to retake her life a bit, but I also didn't want to be guilty of the "quick fix" that so often can happen in fics and make them unrealistic.

I'm excited to GET them all to school. Let's hope I can do it before we all reach our 80s.

Thanks again, my friend. You are the best.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 10

12th May 2015:
The quality of the story makes it well worth waiting for. I know after it is finished I will re-read it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard Chapter 2

12th May 2015:
So maybe I didn't check what era the story is set in... I don't usually read anything where Harry is still at Hpgwarts because JKR covered it anyway. This, however, has me totally hooked.
Most of the stories where a lost relative of Harry turns up are so unbelievable... like yeah, he has a sister -HOW did that work out? I get that here, it's possible for him to have a cousin who was believed to be dead. Those surrounding him wouldn't want to burden him with that (as Arthur Weasley points out). I love that Charlie is named after Arthur's best friend...

I have discoverrf something that doesn't quite add up... I hope it's ok that I point it out.
I'm trying to work out a timeline here - Harry's cousin is two years older than him. She must have been at leasr 4 when her family was attacked, because she survived on her own (and because she remembers McGonagall. Harry's parents were killed when he was one. His aunt and uncle would have been still alive then. I would think Dumbledore would have let Harry stay with them...
Also, if Charlie was Arthur's bwst friend, wouldn't Bill, Charlie and Percy (or even the twins) remember him and his daughter?

That's only my timeline obsession playing up, I can live with the slight alterations you have made and explain away most of what I just pointed out.
I love your writing.


 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins beard Chapter 1

12th May 2015:
Ohhh this is so well written... I haven't seen many stories like that before... all the descriptions are just so perfect, so much detail without being boring.

It starts out so incredibly sad, and I'm afraid once we learn about Sadie's history, I'll be crying my eyes out. Something that affects Minerva Mcgonagall do deeply has to be really hard for everyone else.

I love Ophelia, she's just the right amount of crazy. The international floo call was an interesting idea, I never would have thought of something like that.
I can't wait to find out how Sadie likes Hogwarts.


 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore Chapter 9

1st May 2015:
Hi farmgirl! First, sorry I'm so late with this - I ended up getting a Skype call from a friend and other various things distracting me from reviewing. But I'm really glad you agreed to do a review swap with me - I realised recently I hadn't been back to read the latest chapter of this story and had it on my reading list anyway. Now that I've read it, you're just going to have to write some more and post again soon ;)

Yet again, this was another wonderful chapter! I really don't know what to say when it comes to reviewing this story because you've already done so many things with it that I never thought you'd manage - I'm really enjoying an AU story, which I generally don't read, and I just keep repeating myself over and over again in my reviews on this story. Sorry if that gets boring, but I can't fail to be impressed at the things you write so well!

The way that you write the twins is so amazing. I really can't get over it - I've only ever written them as young children and I find that so hard to do, because they're such vivid characters in the books but so distinct; I find it hard to capture their personalities and write true to that. But you do it so well - I know that I do say this in every single review that I write for this story but you really do. Their speech especially just makes me feel like these passages could have come from the books if Sadie had been there all along.

I really liked the way that we saw some development in Sadie's character here - she's come such a long way since we first saw her at the very beginning of the story. She's starting to feel comfortable at home with the Weasleys, as if she's a part of the family, and becoming a little better at facing up to her fears that really petrify her. I also loved the little moment when Sadie started - really started, I should say - noticing Fred and him being different from George. It was a nice reminder that even with all she's been through, so much of which we don't actually know yet, she's still a normal young girl. I loved her sassy response to Fred though, the deep buried instincts coming out in her.

The visit to Diagon Alley was great. Whenever I reread the first book or watch the first film again, I always get reminded of how truly magical that first trip to Diagon Alley is - all of us, as readers, spend so much time thinking about this world that we've lost some of the wonder behind the magic in it. But you managed to capture that incredibility when Sadie visited Diagon Alley with the twins, with all the different things that she could see, even though she was apprehensive about the crowds and the sheer amount of people.

I really liked the different shops that they went in and the way that you used them to showcase different aspects of Sadie's personality. She's really good at forging links with animals, she loves reading and she's got a mischievous side as well and enjoyed messing around in the joke shop.

I loved the introduction of the property for the joke shop! It's great to show that they had the dream about the place for a long time before they got the money from Harry and opened up the shop in the fifth book - it shows that their dream's a lot more grounded and cherished and I love the fact that they both feel that they can share that with Sadie, and that they communicate that to each other even without speaking.

And now, you really need to get writing again so I can read more of this story ;) Thanks again for the swap with me!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by alicia and anne Chapter 1

15th March 2015:
Oooo yes! I'm continuing this brilliant story! I'm still so intrigued by that prologue and I can't wait to see how this develops!

Awww Hogwarts would be so weird if McGonagall went home during the holidays. Hogwarts is definitely her home and they both need each other!

An international Floo? That's definitely interesting!

Haha I can't stop laughing at McGonagall saying that never have her knees needed to breathe! That is brilliant! :D Haha I can't stop laughing! Just the mental image of McGonagall out on the field, sunning her knees in shorts.

Ophelia changed the girl into a rubber chicken? That is just pure brilliance! Did she really think that carrying around a rubber chicken was better than carrying around a unconcious girl? :P

Ophelia is wonderful! She's so brilliant and hilarious! I love that she's charging an international Floo to Minerva, that she's going to change the sheets and restock the ice tray, and ordering in chinese. I love her!

She's knitted Sadie prisoner! Of all the things to keep her in one spot.

This is yet another brilliant chapter, so perfectly written and I'm so excited to find out what's going to happen with Sadie at Hogwarts. I can't wait to find out more of her past and to see how she fits in with other people. I can see that McGonagall will be a great parental figure for her.

Author's Response: Another one! Goodie! Thanks so much!

I agree. Hogwarts and Minerva just BELONG together. I can't think of anywhere else she would be. (I actually have a backstory for that in my head, totally going against all Pottermore stuff, but oh well. Someday maybe I'll tell it.)

One of the things I have always loved about the HP books is that JKR didn't just create characters, she created a world. A quirky world - which made me love it even more. I love it when I can think of little details to include that add to that quirky world. Because as dark as things can get in this world, it can't be all bad when you have self-measuring tape measurers, platforms with the name 9 and 3/4, etc.

Now I have this image in my head of McG tanning on the lawn in one of those old fashioned swimsuits from like the 1890s! Look what you did to me! I will never be able to stop laughing!

I guess Ophelia thought the chicken went well with her flamingo hat?

I ended up having so much fun writing Ophelia. She's probably going to creep into this story more than she was meant to simply because she was so much fun to write! I'm so glad you liked her!

I'm so excited you like Sadie and this story! If I ever get the chance, I will try to snag another review so you can find out what happens!

Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #23, by alicia and anne Prologue

13th March 2015:
Now that is some awesome description at the beginning of this. It's set the tone very well and I am so intrigued.

Wow, especially as a woman is coming at her with a broom! I wonder why she's doing that and why the girl is hanging around outside the shop? Who is she waiting for? Awww she was waiting for food :( I wish that I could give her some!

I would be worried that I was still dreaming if a woman dressed like that came and woke me up!

Oh now this has gotten extremely interesting! Why isn't this girl on the street using a wand herself if she recognised one? Who is this cat/woman and what does she want? What happened to this girl to make her live on the street? So many questions asked and I want all of the answers, so I'm going to definitely keep reading your fabulous writing! :D I am so excited to find out more. I am so hooked already!

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you! I can't tell you how much I am blushing right now! I know what an amazing author you are, so a compliment like that from you totally has me feeling giddy.

I love this review! I love it when my writing makes people ask questions, and you are posting them right here for me to see, so I can follow your thought process as you read. That's so much fun! Thank you! And I do hope that after reading, especially if you sometime continue on, many of those questions will be answer.

(I do believe she might love for you to give her some food as well, but alas, that could be hard to manage.)

Thank you again! This review was such a treat. And I hope you enjoyed the read as well.

 Report Review

Review #24, by The Ghost of Fred Future Chapter 3

9th January 2015:
Wow, so we finally get to hear (more) from Sadie! I'm not sure what I think of her yet. I will have to reserve judgment until I have gotten to know her a little better. Mostly I think it's because she's an OC, I don't have this default, built-in characterization to imagine. One thing that really impressed me was how much you conveyed with her thoughts, and I scarcely noticed in her interaction with Dumbledore that she didn't speak! Well done on that! I'm looking forward to seeing how she interacts with the Weasley Crew + Harry & Hermione.

As I said once before, I'm loving how you're incorporating McGonagall as a character in her own right! I thought you did pretty well with Dumbledore too. I definitely found some irony in his statement about there being people in the world who think they know what's best. That's certainly a way he behaved toward Harry! I guess Dumbledore knows better than a lot of people, in general, but still. :P

I'm not sure how intentional this was, but I liked the symbolism of Sadie looking at her "strange, new reflection in the mirror" at the end. I think it's indicative of the fact that she doesn't yet feel this transformation as quite real yet. For her, it's still something that's a reflection, or something not quite tangible. It's not just for her, really . . . it's for everyone. These changes are just on the outside, so the reflection shows that, but it's not quite reality yet. I hope I'm making sense here.

Author's Response: OC's are hard to warm-up to right off, aren't they. I totally understand the feeling. They just feel a little foreign in the midst of our beloved characters. Glad you liked her interaction with Dumbledore, however! It is tricky writing a character that doesn't speak.

I have a soft spot for Dumbledore. I know he has flaws - but I guess I tend to overlook them because I believe his heart was in the right place.

And you KNOW I love McGonagall! She's one of my all time favorites. Of course she's going to show up in this fic. I have big plans for her.

You make total sense in that last paragraph. I just wish I could claim that all that brilliant symbolism was in my head the whole time. Cause it's really cool that you read all of that into the section, and I like it a lot! Can I just pretend I had that thought up the whole time? hehehe

Thanks again! Great review! Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #25, by The Ghost of Fred Future Chapter 2

9th January 2015:
Where to begin?! You're a great writer. Even though there are certain unlikely scenarios (as if the whole Harry Potter story isn't unlikely itself :P ) that seem to crop up regularly in fanfiction, a character with a mysterious past starting school late and/or being related to Harry being amongst them, I like the way you are handling this so far. It's not coming across like a poorly explained trope.

I like that instead of having a "special power," she's got a disability, and not one of those that just seems like one but is actually something super cool (though she's going to have to do all non-verbal spells, obviously). Also, it's a physical manifestation of the trauma she's been through . . . she's scarred like Harry, but in a different way. It's going to force you to tell her story through others as well, and I think it will result in keeping the mystery of her "lost years" and the circumstances regarding her family's deaths going for longer.

The high point of this chapter was characterization for sure, in my opinion. One advantage of fanfiction is that we have these readymade characters, so it's easy to make your readers recognize them from the get-go, which you've definitely done. I thought Harry, the twins, Ginny, and Hermione were particularly well done. They all seemed spot on. I can't wait to see how they interact with Sadie.

Oh, and it was fun to start seeing the connections with that shorter short story collection I read! Ha! I suspected Charlie was named after Charlie McLauchlin!

Author's Response: Responding to Christmas reviews in September. I'm sure this sets some kind of horrible record. SORRY! But, that doesn't in anyway diminish how much I loved these!

I don't remember if I told you this or not, but for a long time this story was known simply to me as "cliché fic", for all of those reasons you just stated right there. I knew I was juggling several huge clichés, and I honestly just didn't care, because this was the story I wanted to tell. But I didn't post it for years because I figured I would get raked over the coals for all of them. Then a friend convinced me to put it up, and, well I am honestly surprised to see that people don't seem to be minding that much! So, thank you for the compliment!

There is probably a bit of that "special power" cliché in this story, which will be explained later, but I really have tried to make it so it is well grounded and not exactly something that gives her a great advantage over anyone else. And yes, I wanted to explore the idea of someone with a disability in the wizarding world. It is certainly helpful to the slow reveal of her past, though.

I've thought a lot about those ready-made characters and fanfic, actually. In an OF, you have to spend all this time developing your character and getting your readers to buy into them. In fanfic you can jump right in without having to explain anything. Very much a perk. The disadvantage is that you also have to convince your readers that you are writing the character correctly, since they are just as familiar with them as you are.

Thanks so much for the compliments and for reading! Glad you are enjoying the fic!

Oh, and yes, I had to try and find SOME way to make it seem like Sadie's family had always existed in canon. Charlie's name was my way.

Thanks again!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>