198 Reviews Found

Review #1, by merlins beard Chapter 10

15th May 2015:
Hi again!

I loved this! The characterization of Mr. Ollivander was a little different than I would have expected it, but it worked so well! I was a little nervous about this chapter, but everything seems to be going really well right now. Sadie starts to overcome her fears and trust the Weasley family.
I love all the Fred and George parts of the story, there can never be enough stories about them anywhere.

I kind of miss Sadie's interaction with her cousin a little. Harry did experience something similar to Sadie, so they should have something to talk about. I wonder if Sadie was told as a child what happened to her aunt and uncle (i think you said something about that in an earlier chapter, I can't quite remember right now.)

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #2, by merlins beard Chapter 9

15th May 2015:
Hi again!
I loved the trip to Diagon Alley so far! It can be a really magical place nd I'm glad Fred and George were the ones to show it to Sadie. Her characterization compliments the Twin's -especially Fred's - quite well...
I can't wait to see how this thing between them turns out.

Wow, they even show her their shop. They are right, it will be amazing some day, and I'm hoping Sadie will be a part of that.

The wand buying comes next, right? I'm nervous about that, because Sadie probably isn't going to like it much...

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #3, by merlins beard Chapter 8

14th May 2015:
Hello again! I guess it is time to get Sadie a wand. I have an uneasy feeling about that.

Can we please wrap Sadie into some Bubble-wrap tightly and -I don't know - never let her out of Molly Weasley's sight. I couldn't bear if something happened to her, but I'm afraid you're going to let her suffer a little more.

I love it when Fred and George are up to something!can't wait to see what George thought of during dinner.

He may be a little insensitive sometimes but I'm sure Sadie can take it.

Diagon Alley next chapter -I can't wait!

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #4, by merlins beard Chapter 7

14th May 2015:
Hi again.
I love that Sadie starts to communicate, and I think you made the right coice translating her signs. Do you know ASL? I have no experience with any sign language other than knowing it looks fluent and beautiful and impressive.

Aw Ginny admits her crush! So sweet... sharing that secret is the best way to show Sadie what friendship feels like.

Wow, Sadie made Fred see her memories in that state of panic. She has really strong magic. I doubt she knows that he could see that. I wouldn't know what to do with that kind of information... but I agree that it's not his secret to tell.

I really love your writing.
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #5, by merlins beard Chapter 6

14th May 2015:
I knew this was going to be bad. Poor, poor Sadie. I don't know how she could ever get over that.
Fred is so kind to her, like all the Weasleys. The dark mark frightens them all a lot, and Sadie just can't take it. I'm so glad that fred managed to catch her when she ran off. It will be a while until she tells someone about everything she's been through, and I can't help but think Dumbledore was right. The Weasley family really is the best treatment for someone who is heavily traumatized.
I'll just go to the next chapter to see if everyone is ok now.

Love
~anja

 Report Review

Review #6, by merlins beard Chapter 5

14th May 2015:
Hi again!
This chapter was so sweet. Bill has always been the big brother I always wanted... I'm so glad he's offering to be that to Sadie. I love the Weasley family and all their love and respect, but Sadie must be so overwhelmed by it all...

I find it interesting that you tied Bill's profession into this story, it makes me think that maybe he'll be the one who'll work out how to remove th curse on sadie.

Molly is just like she always will be, feeding them all all the time and worrying about all her children, both biological and others. I don't think she could chose between Harry and Ron of she had to... She loves them both, and now Sadie as well.

I'm a little worried about what happens next at the Quidditch World Cup... it could really traumatize Sadie so much more than she already is... i hope she'll be fine.

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard Chapter 4

14th May 2015:
Wow, this chapter makes me sad and happy at the same time.
Sadie gets a new family. They can't replace her parents and siblings, no one ever could, and they are not trying to do that. But they welcome her into the family like they did with Harry. The cousins have similar childhoods, and I never thought I'd say that, but Harry seems to have had it easier than Sadie...

wow, Arthur and Molly are her godparents... I wonder how Harry reacts to that. I think they should tell sadie soon.

It's so great for both Harry and Sadie to have someone they can call family.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard Chapter 3

14th May 2015:
Hi again!
First of all: thanks again for explaining the timeline thing! I feel much more comfortable reading this story now, and I really enjoy it!

I love the talk between Dumbledore and McGonagall, it's just something I'd expect them to do, just sitting there having a cup of tea, not even having to talk to each other, like old friends who have known each other forever.

I find it admirable how you remind us of Sadie's horrible experience just a few lines about clothes. I had almost forgotten that she couldn't talk when Professor Dumbledore spoke to her at the end of the chapter. He does always seem to know the right thing to say...

I can't wait for Sadie to meet the Weasleys... I daresay they will frighten her a bit. If Hogwarts is a madhouse, then what is the Burrow?

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #9, by CambAngst Chapter 10

12th May 2015:
farmgirl! Seeing you post a new chapter is always awesome. I know I'm in for a treat.

I thought you did an awesome job with Olivander. You recaptured that mysterious, slightly spooky air that I remember from Harry's first visit to Diagon Alley. He's so fascinated with his work that he loses a bit of the broader moral context. That said, he's still compassionate and understanding.

Sadie's feelings were also described beautifully. I love the way you wrote the running battle between her fight and flight instincts, the way that flight comes close to winning on several occasions. I love how you expand her senses beyond the customary five so that she can feel the magic that permeates the shop and its contents.

Ollivander's dialog was really well written. It sounded like him and really reflected the passion he has for his art.

I love Sadie's change of heart, her first hints of reclaiming some of the control that was taken away from her. I'm really excited to see her begin to expand her boundaries.

You did your homework on the wand wood! Very impressive. I think that wand is a great match for her.

I'm very excited to see all of the characters return to Hogwarts and experience a new school year! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 10

12th May 2015:
The quality of the story makes it well worth waiting for. I know after it is finished I will re-read it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard Chapter 2

12th May 2015:
So maybe I didn't check what era the story is set in... I don't usually read anything where Harry is still at Hpgwarts because JKR covered it anyway. This, however, has me totally hooked.
Most of the stories where a lost relative of Harry turns up are so unbelievable... like yeah, he has a sister -HOW did that work out? I get that here, it's possible for him to have a cousin who was believed to be dead. Those surrounding him wouldn't want to burden him with that (as Arthur Weasley points out). I love that Charlie is named after Arthur's best friend...

I have discoverrf something that doesn't quite add up... I hope it's ok that I point it out.
I'm trying to work out a timeline here - Harry's cousin is two years older than him. She must have been at leasr 4 when her family was attacked, because she survived on her own (and because she remembers McGonagall. Harry's parents were killed when he was one. His aunt and uncle would have been still alive then. I would think Dumbledore would have let Harry stay with them...
Also, if Charlie was Arthur's bwst friend, wouldn't Bill, Charlie and Percy (or even the twins) remember him and his daughter?

That's only my timeline obsession playing up, I can live with the slight alterations you have made and explain away most of what I just pointed out.
I love your writing.

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard Chapter 1

12th May 2015:
Hi!
Ohhh this is so well written... I haven't seen many stories like that before... all the descriptions are just so perfect, so much detail without being boring.

It starts out so incredibly sad, and I'm afraid once we learn about Sadie's history, I'll be crying my eyes out. Something that affects Minerva Mcgonagall do deeply has to be really hard for everyone else.

I love Ophelia, she's just the right amount of crazy. The international floo call was an interesting idea, I never would have thought of something like that.
I can't wait to find out how Sadie likes Hogwarts.

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #13, by nott theodore Chapter 9

1st May 2015:
Hi farmgirl! First, sorry I'm so late with this - I ended up getting a Skype call from a friend and other various things distracting me from reviewing. But I'm really glad you agreed to do a review swap with me - I realised recently I hadn't been back to read the latest chapter of this story and had it on my reading list anyway. Now that I've read it, you're just going to have to write some more and post again soon ;)

Yet again, this was another wonderful chapter! I really don't know what to say when it comes to reviewing this story because you've already done so many things with it that I never thought you'd manage - I'm really enjoying an AU story, which I generally don't read, and I just keep repeating myself over and over again in my reviews on this story. Sorry if that gets boring, but I can't fail to be impressed at the things you write so well!

The way that you write the twins is so amazing. I really can't get over it - I've only ever written them as young children and I find that so hard to do, because they're such vivid characters in the books but so distinct; I find it hard to capture their personalities and write true to that. But you do it so well - I know that I do say this in every single review that I write for this story but you really do. Their speech especially just makes me feel like these passages could have come from the books if Sadie had been there all along.

I really liked the way that we saw some development in Sadie's character here - she's come such a long way since we first saw her at the very beginning of the story. She's starting to feel comfortable at home with the Weasleys, as if she's a part of the family, and becoming a little better at facing up to her fears that really petrify her. I also loved the little moment when Sadie started - really started, I should say - noticing Fred and him being different from George. It was a nice reminder that even with all she's been through, so much of which we don't actually know yet, she's still a normal young girl. I loved her sassy response to Fred though, the deep buried instincts coming out in her.

The visit to Diagon Alley was great. Whenever I reread the first book or watch the first film again, I always get reminded of how truly magical that first trip to Diagon Alley is - all of us, as readers, spend so much time thinking about this world that we've lost some of the wonder behind the magic in it. But you managed to capture that incredibility when Sadie visited Diagon Alley with the twins, with all the different things that she could see, even though she was apprehensive about the crowds and the sheer amount of people.

I really liked the different shops that they went in and the way that you used them to showcase different aspects of Sadie's personality. She's really good at forging links with animals, she loves reading and she's got a mischievous side as well and enjoyed messing around in the joke shop.

I loved the introduction of the property for the joke shop! It's great to show that they had the dream about the place for a long time before they got the money from Harry and opened up the shop in the fifth book - it shows that their dream's a lot more grounded and cherished and I love the fact that they both feel that they can share that with Sadie, and that they communicate that to each other even without speaking.

And now, you really need to get writing again so I can read more of this story ;) Thanks again for the swap with me!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by alicia and anne Chapter 1

15th March 2015:
Oooo yes! I'm continuing this brilliant story! I'm still so intrigued by that prologue and I can't wait to see how this develops!

Awww Hogwarts would be so weird if McGonagall went home during the holidays. Hogwarts is definitely her home and they both need each other!

An international Floo? That's definitely interesting!

Haha I can't stop laughing at McGonagall saying that never have her knees needed to breathe! That is brilliant! :D Haha I can't stop laughing! Just the mental image of McGonagall out on the field, sunning her knees in shorts.

Ophelia changed the girl into a rubber chicken? That is just pure brilliance! Did she really think that carrying around a rubber chicken was better than carrying around a unconcious girl? :P

Ophelia is wonderful! She's so brilliant and hilarious! I love that she's charging an international Floo to Minerva, that she's going to change the sheets and restock the ice tray, and ordering in chinese. I love her!

She's knitted Sadie prisoner! Of all the things to keep her in one spot.

This is yet another brilliant chapter, so perfectly written and I'm so excited to find out what's going to happen with Sadie at Hogwarts. I can't wait to find out more of her past and to see how she fits in with other people. I can see that McGonagall will be a great parental figure for her.

Author's Response: Another one! Goodie! Thanks so much!

I agree. Hogwarts and Minerva just BELONG together. I can't think of anywhere else she would be. (I actually have a backstory for that in my head, totally going against all Pottermore stuff, but oh well. Someday maybe I'll tell it.)

One of the things I have always loved about the HP books is that JKR didn't just create characters, she created a world. A quirky world - which made me love it even more. I love it when I can think of little details to include that add to that quirky world. Because as dark as things can get in this world, it can't be all bad when you have self-measuring tape measurers, platforms with the name 9 and 3/4, etc.

Now I have this image in my head of McG tanning on the lawn in one of those old fashioned swimsuits from like the 1890s! Look what you did to me! I will never be able to stop laughing!

I guess Ophelia thought the chicken went well with her flamingo hat?

I ended up having so much fun writing Ophelia. She's probably going to creep into this story more than she was meant to simply because she was so much fun to write! I'm so glad you liked her!

I'm so excited you like Sadie and this story! If I ever get the chance, I will try to snag another review so you can find out what happens!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by alicia and anne Prologue

13th March 2015:
Now that is some awesome description at the beginning of this. It's set the tone very well and I am so intrigued.

Wow, especially as a woman is coming at her with a broom! I wonder why she's doing that and why the girl is hanging around outside the shop? Who is she waiting for? Awww she was waiting for food :( I wish that I could give her some!

I would be worried that I was still dreaming if a woman dressed like that came and woke me up!

Oh now this has gotten extremely interesting! Why isn't this girl on the street using a wand herself if she recognised one? Who is this cat/woman and what does she want? What happened to this girl to make her live on the street? So many questions asked and I want all of the answers, so I'm going to definitely keep reading your fabulous writing! :D I am so excited to find out more. I am so hooked already!

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you! I can't tell you how much I am blushing right now! I know what an amazing author you are, so a compliment like that from you totally has me feeling giddy.

I love this review! I love it when my writing makes people ask questions, and you are posting them right here for me to see, so I can follow your thought process as you read. That's so much fun! Thank you! And I do hope that after reading, especially if you sometime continue on, many of those questions will be answer.

(I do believe she might love for you to give her some food as well, but alas, that could be hard to manage.)

Thank you again! This review was such a treat. And I hope you enjoyed the read as well.


 Report Review

Review #16, by The Ghost of Fred Future Chapter 3

9th January 2015:
Wow, so we finally get to hear (more) from Sadie! I'm not sure what I think of her yet. I will have to reserve judgment until I have gotten to know her a little better. Mostly I think it's because she's an OC, I don't have this default, built-in characterization to imagine. One thing that really impressed me was how much you conveyed with her thoughts, and I scarcely noticed in her interaction with Dumbledore that she didn't speak! Well done on that! I'm looking forward to seeing how she interacts with the Weasley Crew + Harry & Hermione.

As I said once before, I'm loving how you're incorporating McGonagall as a character in her own right! I thought you did pretty well with Dumbledore too. I definitely found some irony in his statement about there being people in the world who think they know what's best. That's certainly a way he behaved toward Harry! I guess Dumbledore knows better than a lot of people, in general, but still. :P

I'm not sure how intentional this was, but I liked the symbolism of Sadie looking at her "strange, new reflection in the mirror" at the end. I think it's indicative of the fact that she doesn't yet feel this transformation as quite real yet. For her, it's still something that's a reflection, or something not quite tangible. It's not just for her, really . . . it's for everyone. These changes are just on the outside, so the reflection shows that, but it's not quite reality yet. I hope I'm making sense here.

 Report Review

Review #17, by The Ghost of Fred Future Chapter 2

9th January 2015:
Where to begin?! You're a great writer. Even though there are certain unlikely scenarios (as if the whole Harry Potter story isn't unlikely itself :P ) that seem to crop up regularly in fanfiction, a character with a mysterious past starting school late and/or being related to Harry being amongst them, I like the way you are handling this so far. It's not coming across like a poorly explained trope.

I like that instead of having a "special power," she's got a disability, and not one of those that just seems like one but is actually something super cool (though she's going to have to do all non-verbal spells, obviously). Also, it's a physical manifestation of the trauma she's been through . . . she's scarred like Harry, but in a different way. It's going to force you to tell her story through others as well, and I think it will result in keeping the mystery of her "lost years" and the circumstances regarding her family's deaths going for longer.

The high point of this chapter was characterization for sure, in my opinion. One advantage of fanfiction is that we have these readymade characters, so it's easy to make your readers recognize them from the get-go, which you've definitely done. I thought Harry, the twins, Ginny, and Hermione were particularly well done. They all seemed spot on. I can't wait to see how they interact with Sadie.

Oh, and it was fun to start seeing the connections with that shorter short story collection I read! Ha! I suspected Charlie was named after Charlie McLauchlin!

 Report Review

Review #18, by The Ghost of Fred Present Chapter 1

7th January 2015:
I love love love that you've introduced McGonagall as a character! She's one of my favorite characters, actually, despite being a rather minor one, and it's rare to see her in a story except in the role of disapproving teacher when pranks are being played (usually in the Marauder era), it seems to me. I was so excited to see her presented here as a character in her own right, with some background (the reading and such) to develop her in this story a bit more. Very nice.

I'm a fan of the details about the long distance Floo as well! Something like that never occurred to me, despite its obvious parallel with long distance calling! The bit about putting Floo powder on the fire at exactly 2 and five eighths minutes was a detail that fit perfectly into the wizarding world JKR created too, what with the ridiculous monetary system they have and all (I mean, seriously, who has their seventeens times tables down pat? Wizards, I guess).

You've answered some of the questions from the prologue, but you've opened up more questions! We know who the girl is and why Ophelia was interested in her, but we still don't know her importance! Obviously there has been some sort of tragic event in the past. I imagine more details will be revealed as the story progresses.

Anyway, I think that McGonagall and Ophelia were my favorite parts of this chapter . . . I enjoyed them as characters.

Author's Response: I had a lot of fun writing McGonagall in this chapter. It was exciting to explore her character outside of being just a teacher. Besides, as a teacher myself, I can relate to her a lot and it's fun to show her with different sides.

I am also a big fan of details - and one of the things that made me love the books so much in the first place was this quirky, just a bit odd-ball world JKR created. It's so much fun to add to that! I'm glad you liked my little contribution!

Yup. More questions. This story will have a lot of them. And I hope readers like that approach.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by The Ghost of Fred Present Prologue

6th January 2015:
Hey! It's your Secret Santa, finally getting around to the next batch of gifts! My apologies for my tardiness. I know you've got a bunch of reviews on this chapter already, but after the last story I read, I wanted to read this one, and of course I have to start at the beginning.

You are an ace at descriptive writing! You set a whole mood and atmosphere in this chapter. I could picture things so easily, and I felt like I could feel them too. You brought me right into the story like I was a fly on the wall. I just love it when writers manage to create an almost dreamy sense with their writing, in which I feel as if I am floating through it and/or the characters are floating through reality (for the record, your characters don't feel dreamy/floaty :P ).

So, who is this magical girl?! I assume that was a Muggle shop she was lurking outside. How does she know of magic? Is she a witch? Who is she looking for? I suspected the cat would turn out to be an Animagus, because it just seemed to parallel (though in a different universe, perhaps) McGonagall being a cat Animagus. I wonder who this girl is, though, that the woman has sought her out and is so interested in her.

There are quite a few questions raised in this prologue, which is great, since it entices the reader to keep going to find out the answers. Yet despite tantalizing us with unknown information, I don't feel like there's an obnoxious or poorly-written cliff-hanger, so kudos on that!

Ok, enough rambling. On to the next chapter.

Author's Response: No apologies needed! These reviews were wonderful and I completely understand about life getting busy! And I am thrilled about having you look at this story. It doesn't matter how many reviews a chapter has - a review from a friend always means that much more.

Aw. Thank you! I was trying so hard to set a mood, with the rain and mystery and lighting and everything. I'm really glad it worked!

:D Dreamy/floaty characters. Now I will have to try that sometime.

Yep, that was a Muggle shop she was outside of. But she is a bit of a different character - kinda stuck between two worlds.

And I was a bit obvious with the Animagus thing, but that was okay. The lady in question isn't very good at subtle anyway, so I guess it fits. And thinking of McGonagall isn't the worst comparison you could come up with *wink*.

I'm excited it left you with questions. That was pretty much the point, and if it hadn't worked, I would be sad.

Glad you liked it! And I love the rambling. :) Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #20, by TidalDragon Chapter 9

18th December 2014:
Howdy! Sorry for the delay!

To jump right to what you've asked about, there certainly wasn't anything that came across to me as choppy or forced. There were a couple of uncharacteristic typos that could be indicative of the rushing you were worried about, but on the whole, solid.

One thing that did leap out about this chapter in comparison to some of the others was that it was particularly dialogue-heavy. Because of that I didn't get quite the same level of immersion that I have from previous chapters and I think it inhibited connecting with Sadie's reaction to her first Diagon Alley experiment. Obviously a lot of dialogue will happen from time-to-time, especially when your MC can't speak audibly and is somewhat at the mercy of a couple very talkative characters like Fred and George, but it felt like here wasn't the ideal opportunity for that.

What I enjoyed most about this chapter though was how you've continued to give us new looks at things that weren't covered in canon, all without violating it. Fred and George at Diagon Alley was fun to read and it was very interesting to see how early the twins had identified the building they ended up occupying with their store. Mrs. Weasley was also appropriately mother-hennish. Poor kids.

Hope this helps! Keep going!

Author's Response: No worries! You know how I work by now, so I am never concerned about delays.

Thank you so much for the honest review. :) I have noticed those typos as I've read back over it, and I really need to makes sure and do an edit promptly. I think you are right that I rushed a bit, being so happy to finally have something to post, and missed a few of them.

I'm not sure I can change the dialogue-heavy-ness of this chapter, but I really do see what you were meaning. I will have to be careful of that. I love dialogue and it comes easy for me to write usually, but I also think one of the strengths of this story is the feelings and descriptions, and I don't want to lose that. I really appreciate you pointing these things out.

I am trying VERY hard to stick to canon and not violate it, but still insert something new. :D Glad you noticed!

Thanks again. Your reviews and advice ALWAYS help.


 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore Chapter 8

14th November 2014:
Hi, farmgirl! So I've been meaning to catch up with this story for ages, and I don't even know how I managed to miss an update from months ago (except I was completely snowed under at this point with uni work). And you commented on my status, so here's some NaNo encouragement too! :D

I really loved the way that you opened this chapter, throwing us right into the chaos that's just a normal meal in the Weasley household. I loved the mention of George elbowing Ginny, both of their retorts, and the way that Ginny had already wised up by this age and was more likely to plan revenge than go telling tales to their parents. I feel like it's the sort of thing that she'd have to do to survive in a family like that, and Fred and George have always seemed pretty proud of the way she grew up and know she's a formidable foe!

I really felt for poor Sadie in the midst of this. It was also lovely that George was the one to notice her - I think that the twins can both be really perceptive when they want to be, but they're often not written that way, so to me it makes sense that they would pick up on something like Sadie not having the food that she needs, because she's too scared to get involved. I smiled when he made sure that Sadie managed to get some food and helped her to combat all the noise without drawing any attention to the fact that she was the one needing more food. It was very sweet and tactful of him!

I've said this in most of my reviews, but you really write the Weasleys - especially the twins - so well! I also really liked seeing the hint of maturity that's often forgotten when people write the twins, as George mused on the unfairness of the different situations.

As for him jumping up and leaving partway through dinner - I'm not entirely sure that Molly would allow it, but I am curious about why he left and took Fred with him! I know that their family suspected that it had something to do with their pranks and joke products, but I wonder if it wasn't something that George thought of that they could use to help Sadie...

Ah, Arthur. He's another character that you write wonderfully and I really liked the way that he was more accepting of the fact that the boys are determined to make mischief and that they want to open the joke shop - he always seemed happier with the idea than Molly, anyway.

The two flashbacks in the final section of this chapter were so contrasting that it really had a big impact. It was so sweet to see the interaction between Sadie and her father, and the happy family life that they had. Sadie's just so cute there, all innocent and untouched by what would happen to her later, and I loved her enthusiasm about playing with the Snow Blower. I think that just made it even sadder to think of what happened to her family, though.

Arthur's conversation with Sadie was really sweet, too. He's so caring and I liked the link between him and Sadie's father with their shared love of Muggle objects. (I did notice a few typos in this section, one of them where you write 'Brittan' and I think you mean 'Britain', so it might be worth giving this a quick read through to catch those.) I'm glad that Arthur knows that Charlie found the farm that he was looking for, in the end.

I certainly wasn't expecting Arthur mentioning a wand to Sadie to have such a violent reaction! I'm guessing that the flashback we got to see there is what Sadie has experienced at the hands of wizards and part of the reason she doesn't speak... it's so sad to think about what she's been through! But I, like George, am really worried about how she'll cope at Hogwarts, if even the thought of a magic wand causes such a terrible memory - how will she survive being completely surrounded by magic?

This was another great chapter and hopefully I'll be back soon to get to the other one that I hadn't even noticed you'd posted! And as for NaNo - good luck, and you can do it!

Sian :)

Author's Response: I am so awful, waiting this long to reply to such an amazing review. I really hope you don't hate me!

Anyway, on to the response.

You know I love the Weasleys. And one of the things that I love about them so much is that they are so normal! Their house is messy, there is chaos everywhere, siblings tease each other but still love each other - it's not perfect, but that's okay. So I jump at any chance I get to write all of that.

Ginny is a smart girl. She figured out a long time ago that the best way to get Fred and George was at their own game. And you are right - they end up pretty proud of her for it.

While I love the chaos, I think poor Sadie is a bit intimidated by it right now. So I did let George play the hero this one time and help her out. I'm glad you liked the way I did it, because I really didn't want to make Sadie seem TOO helpless.

I never really thought of Molly not allowing him to leave half-way through dinner. I guess I just figured with all the craziness, she might not even notice.

The twins ARE up to something, and you are a smart girl, so I believe you are on the right track. Hold onto those thoughts.

Thank you so much for your compliments about Arthur. I do love writing him and I'm glad you are enjoying my portrayal of him. As well as the flashback to Sadie's dad. I really wanted to show that not all of her memories are awful - some are very sweet if sad. For the first nine years of her life her childhood was really very lovely.

Stupid typos. I really, really wish I could spot all of those before I post.

You guessed right about the last flashback. Magic has not always been kind to Sadie, especially when wands have been pointed at her. But, she has people who care about her now and will help her learn to get over it. But I suppose it will take time.

Thank you so much for the review, and for being patient as I got around to replying. You are a great friend and I always treasure your reviews. Hope life slows down for you soon!


 Report Review

Review #22, by The Ghost Of His Last Laugh Chapter 9

29th October 2014:
Hi! I am so sorry for the delay in your review! I accidentally closed my laptop after hitting preview instead of submit and didn't notice til I sat down to write. I feel so bad!


Anyways, this chapter was really good. You definitely have Fred and George characterized right, and you are a very talented writer. While I have not read the whole story, so my review might be slightly askew, I have just one thing to say: it doesn't feel like a whole lot happened. All I picked up is that Fred and George went to Diagon Alley with Sadie, and she loves books. Now, don't get me wrong, since I haven't read the rest, I might not be right about the importance of this. Don't let my review discourage you, because this is a great chapter! I think Sadie is really interesting, I really want to know why she doesn't talk, and I like that she is from New York. I'll be adding this to my reading list so I can try to catch up.

Keep going! You're an awesome writer!

-The Ghost Of His Last Laugh

Author's Response: No worries about delay! Have you seen how late I am in responding to your review? And I HATE it when that happens! I have done that more times than I want to admit - hit preview and thought it was posted and then realized I just lost the whole review!

Thank you so much for the compliment, and thank you for being willing to jump in and look at the last chapter of something without seeing the rest.

You are right - on the surface this was a chapter where not much happened. See, Sadie has been trying very hard for a week to adjust to being back among normal people, and to trust them and interact with them, and basically remember how to smile. So for her to go out into the magical world like this and have a good time is actually a pretty huge thing. BUT, you are so right in that out of context, this really is a rather boring chapter. LOL.

Thank you for plowing through anyway and I look forward to hearing what you think if you get around to reading the rest.


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan Chapter 9

20th October 2014:
Review swap! Heh, I already had this chapter pulled up in a tab on my browser, along with like 8 other stories I'm trying to catch up on, so yay now I'm doing this one first.

Every time, I am so impressed by how you write the twins. And all of the Weasleys, really! I feel like this is right out of the pages of the books (except for the additional character of Sadie.) Sometimes I wonder if JKR writes all the Weasley scenes for you because it's just SO perfect and true to character for all of them. I loved the scene in the beginning too with Mrs Weasley trying to get everyone off to Diagon Alley - it was such a perfect combination of stern motherliness and teasing humour, I loved it.

“You-Know-Who leaves you homework hints? Blimey, I feel robbed. Do you think he’d be willing to branch out? Merlin knows I could use the help with Potions.” -- hehe, love it.

I really enjoyed reading their adventure through Diagon Alley - much like Harry's first trip there in Philosophers/Sorceror's Stone, it really feels magical - not just in the sense that there is magic going on, but all the wonder and discovery of new exciting places. It was neat to see Sadie find her element, in the bookstore and then once again in that joke shop. The way the twins kept talking about Hermione's love of books, it made me grin to see that scene as it was kind of like a reminder to the twins that people can love books AND love creating mischief - they're not mutually exclusive traits.

Ooh, the beginning of Weasley's Wizard Wheezes! I loved this scene because in the books it's like this place just appeared out of nowhere suddenly vacant and the twins bought it, so I like that you showed it in its state of disrepair before anyone did anything with the property. And they were buying ingredients for Canary Creams and whatnot during that visit, just as Mrs Weasley predicted they would. But as we know, those sneaky twins will find a way to get away with it! :p

Awesome chapter, as always! I look forward to reading more :D

Author's Response: You are so good to me, keeping up with my SUPER SLOW fics even though it takes years to get an update. *hugs* Thanks so much!

And now my head explodes from happiness after your Weasley comment. Seriously, I can't tell you how good that makes me feel. You are THE best! And I promise, JKR does not write them for me, though that is one of the nicest things anyone has ever implied, LOL.

You are the first person to pick out that line about homework help and laugh at it. I was beginning to doubt that it was even funny. Glad someone liked it!

I'm glad you felt the magic in the scene. I really was trying to show that. I miss that aspect of the earlier books as the story got darker and more mature. That sense of wonder and magic and that this is a world that is just a little eccentric and doesn't always take itself seriously.

And yes, you can love books and mischief at the same time.

I have always wondered how the twins found property when they were stuck at school, so this was my explanation - the place had been empty for ages and they had log ago decided it would be theirs. And of course they were buying illicit things for their business. Would you have expected anything less from them? hehehe

Thanks again. Maybe sometime this century there will be another chapter for you to read. But you will probably be somewhere exotic when it comes out so, LOL.


 Report Review

Review #24, by CambAngst Chapter 9

16th October 2014:
Hi, farmgirl! I meant to review this yesterday, but better late than never, I suppose. Also, you get to wake up to my reviews two days in a row. :)

There was something about seeing Mrs. Weasley doing a simple task like laundry that I really liked. Ugh, what's the word I'm looking for? Maybe "settling". I think small, mundane details like laundry and cooking and cleaning take a story with some very big mysteries and characters who've suffered some awful tragedies and make it all feel grounded in reality. I know it's kind of a big leap. "Yes! She's doing laundry! This story could have happened in real life..." But I hope you know what I mean. It's not all devious plots and powerful spells and good vs. evil, sometimes people have to stop and wash their clothes.

I really like the way you wrote Harry in this chapter. He isn't stealing the spotlight from Sadie at all, but his presence has an effect on everyone involved. She finds him comforting, in a way. A reminder that she still has some roots in the life that was torn away from her. Harry seems to remind Mrs. Weasley that places like Diagon Alley are special, and it helps her to see the trip as more than just an opportunity for Fred and George to get into trouble. As someone who has twin boys, I can emphatically state that it's very easy to obsess over the possibilities of your kids causing mayhem to the point that you forget about how neat something might be.

Ha! I love the show that Fred puts on for the room. One of my favorite things about how you write Fred and George is that while their methods may be devious, their intentions always seem pure. Mostly, anyway. They love to make people laugh. Even Mrs. Weasley can't completely keep herself from enjoying the spectacle. Then there was this line: Laughing silently, Sadie found the whole thing very amusing and, strangely enough, a bit comforting – to be surrounded by a real family once more – a completely normal (if not slightly insane) family. She's come a long way from the feral girl living on the streets of New York.

What was wrong with a truck or a nice, stable subway train? -- Wow. The floo must be really horrible if it makes a subway train seem stable.

"You know, when you put it like that, I guess we do have a pet." Fred straightened up and grinned. "We have Ron." -- Awesome!

I loved the scene inside Flourish and Blotts. Sadie has found her element, it seems. And Fred and George are obviously starting to collect the tools needed to craft their pranking empire. The little knocks on Hermione and Percy cracked me up.

Gamble and Japes proved to be a huge success. The guarded, ever-wary look that had haunted Sadie since the moment she arrived at his house finally slid completely away, replaced as they wandered the well-stocked shelves with a wonderful yet totally silent laugh. -- Heart-warming. She fits in so well with the two of them.

One of the formative moments of Weasley's Wizarding Wheezes. Excuse me while I brush away a sentimental tear. I love that you included this scene.

I noticed a couple of small typos as I was reading:

Clutching her glasses tightly with one hand and clinging to Fred’s arm with the other, Sadie gritted her teeth as she was jostled and bumped like a lose marble in a shaken can. -- "loose marble"

They immerged fifteen minutes later with bulging pockets, Sadie's faltering smile firmly back in place, and Fred silently praising Bill and his timely loan of cash that morning. -- "They emerged" I think is what you meant to say. I looked up "immerge" and it's a real word, but it means the same thing as "submerge".

I enjoyed this so much! I suppose the next thing would be for Arthur to take Sadie wand shopping. I'm really interested to see how that goes. I also hope we get to see Sadie interacting more with Harry soon. I'm dying to find out how these two orphaned cousins relate to one another. Great job!

Author's Response: Two reviews from you is like Christmas, no matter when they come! And let's not even talk about late, considering when I'm finally getting around to responding to this review.

I love including the day to day stuff in my stories. It's those kind of details that made the books so much fun for me in the first place. I do love details, and ordinary life, and all that jazz. (Yes, I am that weird girl who watched the Wizard of Oz and worries not about the tornado that's approaching but that Dorothy forgot to take her suitcase with her when she ran into the house to find safety...) So, I'm really glad you liked the inclusion of the laundry! It was fun to write, as well.

I don't have many complaints about the books (or movies) but one, I guess it's more of a regret than a complaint, is that as the books progressed and the storyline got darker, we lost some of that wonder and delight of magic that the early books had. It was so much fun in the early books to see through Harry's eyes the insanity and amazement of the wizarding world. So, whenever I can, I love to stick that back in there and play it up. This section was a little homage to that.

Fred - I do try to keep the boy under control, but sometimes he just gets away from me. But, you know that much of this scene happened from prodding from you and Pix. So you are really the one responsible for Fred's behavior here, if you think about it.

But yes, I like to show the goodness that lives underneath the pranking and jokes. Because they really are GOOD kids...they just love to laugh.

You see Sadie growing? YES, that's a good thing! I don't want her to stay the feral little girl from the streets. I want her to grow. And show there is life and humor and a quick mind under the quiet.

I need to hire you to pick out my typos BEFORE I post. Would save me lots of stress. Thanks though.

And thanks so much. The wand shopping comes next, and yes, some Harry and Sadie bonding! If I can ever get the dang thing written.



 Report Review

Review #25, by magnolia_magic Chapter 8

30th July 2014:
Farmgirl, hi! I've been meaning to come by and review this story again, because I'm caught up and waiting eagerly for the next update! Not to pressure you or anything, I know the must can be tricky sometimes. But I really love this chapter, and the story in general!

I wish I knew how to describe what I love about your writing. It's just so...conversational, maybe? Effortless. That's a good word. Nothing feels forced or contrived in your writing; it all flows very naturally. It would be very easy to make a Mary Sue out of a character like Sadie, but instead you've made her down-to-earth and perfectly relatable. You let your characters get introspective and emotional without being melodramatic. Your tone is so pleasant, even when addressing the unpleasant things. It's just a joy to read :)

I still adore the way you write the twins! And Arthur as well. I've never seen anyone write the Weasleys as well as you do, Farmgirl, honestly. Like this little snippet here:

'"We need to go to Diagon Alley."

"To get some..."

"Things."'

I can just see them finishing each other's sentence, and it warms my heart. And I laughed out loud at some of the little moments at the dinner table, especially George and Ginny's bickering. And he was so sweet with Sadie! That's what I love about your George, you let his sweetness shine through.

Arthur is wonderful in this chapter. This is how Arthur is meant to be written; sentimental, wise, dryly funny. I'm so, so impressed with your Arthur. And the farm things! They made my farmer's daughter heart so happy! The fact that Sadie and I share that particular distinction just makes me love this story that much more :)

I loved this! I'd love to see a new update on the horizon *wink wink* Excellent chapter as always!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for stopping by again! It's always so heartening to know people are still reading. And I'm sorry you've had to wait so long for both this review response and the next chapter. Life has just been a bit crazy lately. Maybe one of these days I'll figure out a good balance.

You think my writing is good and effortless? WOW! I'm totally blushing, because if you only know how HARD it is for me to write, at least lately. Nothing seems to flow and it's like pulling teeth to get the words to come. Seriously, I think this comment just made my day as I re-read it to respond. THANK YOU!

I do love my twins. I hope that shows in my writing. I want other people to love them and see them as I do, so I try really hard to make them fun characters to read. Thank you for the compliment.

George does have a sweetness to him that is often hidden, doesn't he. And I also love Arthur. I know there are many people in the Arthur/Sirius debate that wish JKR would have killed off Arthur and let Sirius live instead, but I'm so glad that she didn't. Sirius loved Harry, but I really do believe in the long run that Arthur is a much better father-figure for him. Of course, the best deal would have been for both of them to live.

Thanks so much! I'll see what I can do about an update in the near future.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>