212 Reviews Found

Review #1, by writeyourheartout Chapter 11

27th February 2016:
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, FARMGIRL!!! ♥

I'm at work non-stop for the next three days, so this is unfortunately probably not going to be my greatest review ever, but I just had to leave you something on your special day! So here we go:

That opening, girl. Dang. Your description here is just omg so good. I just love the way you wrote Sadie as she wakes from her nightmare. It's beautifully put, and so very gripping.

"Old MacDonald Had A Dragon" Hahahaha! Love it. Your Fred is spectacular as ever, right from the start!

And the pie! I love the way you wove Fred's secret love of cooking into canon facts. Perfection. You know him so well. ;)

Now, can we talk about this Fred and Sadie scene already?? Do you remember how much it was driving you just absolutely up the wall?! And WHY?? HOW?? Because it is SO PERFECT!!! Good Lord, woman. (And yes, I know I'm being totally hypocritical here, but whatever. :-p) It turned out just wonderfully. Such a dark topic, but with Fred still so authentically Fred, even in this moment of seriousness. And poor Sadie. You really make us feel for her here. For both of them. I'm so glad she didn't actually run away that first time, but just went looking for her source of communication so that Fred got at least some closure on the whole ordeal. Their whole exchange was just this frail, sweet, sad thing. It was excellent. And the small glimpse into Sadie's special gift was super cool.

Oh! And then when she really does leave as Fred's back is turned and Fred just says, "Masterful escape there, Sadie McLauchlin..."? LOL This made me chuckle. Back to his roots, our Freddie. Glad their chat helped him, too, the ittle lamb. ^.^

(Minor side-note: You misspelled Sherlock's last name. It's missing an E.)

Anyway, this was excellence - top to bottom, start to finish - as per usual. Congrats for finally getting through it; I know how much trouble it was causing you before! But it sincerely turned out fantastically, just as I knew it would. :)

Happy birthday to you once again, my friend. I hope it was a great one. You deserve nothing less. ♥

Tanya

 Report Review

Review #2, by Secret Cupid Chapter 1

15th February 2016:
Hello again! I'm here to spread some more love.

This is another really intruiging chapter.

I really love the way you write Professor McGonagall, she's so perfectly in character. You've got that matter-of-fact nature down, and then that slight hint of her finding Ophelia's behaviour amusing but not giving that away.

Speaking of which, Ophelia is hilarious! I love the way she kept going off on a tangent, and being easily distracted.

I'm interested to find out exactly who Sadie is, and how she came to be in New York without her parents.

Great job, Valentine♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by Secret Cupid Prologue

15th February 2016:
Hello! Happy Valentines' Day♥ Sorry for the delay in getting your gifts to you.

As far as opening chapters go, this is perfection. You've got an excellent balance her of giving away enough information so that I know what's happening, and I'm interested to know where you're going with it, but not so much that it's a giant information dump.

Your description is so incredible, I could perfectly imagine every little detail of this scene, and exactly how the mystery girl felt.

I'm excited to read on!

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Chapter 11

11th February 2016:
I'm here, as promised! You updated while I was travelling, so it's taken some time, but I am here in the airport and so happy to be finally reading this. Btw, I apologize in advance for typos since I'm reviewing on my phone.

Ahh FRED LIKES COOKING. Yes! I would never have thought of this but, why not? This is totally my new headcanon. And this: She would have already yelled at him for being out of bed, then moved over to taste his pie filling, offering a suggestion on what he could tweak to make it even better. -- I just love this, and I could totally see Mrs Weasley doing something like this. And she'd be SO happy that one of her children loved cooking as much as she did! Anyway, I loved that creative bit of characterization.

Your writing of Sadie continues to be wonderful, and I love how much depth and nuance you're able to give a character who never speaks. Little things like her rolling her eyes at Fred - it's clear that there's a lot more to Sadie than her sad, broken side which is most easily seen, and she has a sense of humour underneath it and it's always great to see one of the Weasleys bring out that side of her.

Lovely scene there in the kitchen wih Fred and Sadie. I agree that it would be too much of a secret for him to bear having seen her memory, and it was nice to see that she opened up about it a little. She is gradually doing that, tiny steps in each chapter but being surrounded by a loving family is helping her so much and it's wonderful to see. At the same time, I'm not surprised Sadie snuck out when Fred went to get the pie. I love that he left her a slice though (and that Fred went to go eat most of a pie by himself, hahaha)

I was so happy to see this update and it was a great chapter! Hoping to see some more of this soon :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by merlins beard Chapter 11

27th January 2016:
OMG A NEW CHAPTER! ♥ ♥ ♥

You kept me waiting... for a bit, I was getting worried that maybe you were abandoning this...

Just joking, I know how busy you are. I'm just so glad you updated this!

I love all the Fred/Sadie moments. So adorable. And oh my god Fred can COOK! why didn't I ever think of that? (I am now even more in love with Fred Weasley than I was before)

Gah, I can't even form coherent thoughts because I'm just so happy about this chapter! Amazing job, as always!

Lots of love
♥ Anja

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Chapter 7

11th January 2016:
I am literally so excited about reading more about Sadie! I can't believe that I've let it go this long without reading about her!

I still love just how accepting the Weasley's all are of Sadie, it makes me so happy that she was put with them, they're all so good for her. And it's brilliant that Ginny took her to her secret hide out. Can they be best friends? :D

It must be really hard to have to write her signing, but you're doing a fabulous job with it :D And I'm so proud of Fred for keeping that secret, especially from George!

I can't wait to read more! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Seasons_Greetings Prologue

12th October 2015:
Bonjour!

It is I, SeasonsGreetings, here to spread some love across HPFF from now until the New Year!

I've heard quite a bit of talk about your Gravel On The Ground series and I'm glad I've finally made it here. The set up for this story was unusual, but in a good way. I saw a few parallels to Merope starving on the streets during her pregnancy with Tom. Not sure if that was intentional or not, but I liked it.

I am quite intrigued by who this poor woman is and why she's out in the gutters on a rainy New York night. I've often visited New York during my quests to spread holiday cheer and I know just how cold it can get. I imagine she must be freezing.

I was very happy when the eccentric old lady showed up to take her out of the rain. I knew almost as soon as the cat didn't appear that it would be an animagus. I liked the detail about the ladies hair color matching that of the cat. It reminded me a bit of Professor McGonagall and her animagus form.

I'll end this here by wishing you a very happy holiday season!

Cheers.

SG

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Chapter 6

22nd September 2015:
YAY! ANOTHER SADIE CHAPTER! :D I'm so happy right now!

(pssst this is my 1700th review!)

Oh no! I'm worried about what's going to happen with Sadie there :S I need to protect her! I am really loving seeing this side of the scene, and what the others got up to in the woods, and I'm glad that Sadie is with them.

(Also love the fact that the twins hid things in Harry and Ron's rucksacks :P)

Look at Fred being a gentleman and giving her his coat, he's so sweet, but poor Sadie flinching *hugs her* I'll protect her!

I love how you're showing the Weasleys helping her settle in. If there's any family that could do it with such ease and such love, it would be the Weasleys.

No! Sadie don't run! :( Oh no! I hope that she's found.

phew! Fred got her.

No! Sadie! :( She's been through so much and all I want to do is hug her so tightly. Oh no! That flashback is so sad and horrible! *hugs her tighter*

This was such a sad chapter! :( And now I'm sad!

 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Chapter 5

17th September 2015:
YES! SADIE! AHH! SO MUCH LOVE FOR HER! as you know with every review I've written.

How am I only on chapter 6? I feel like I've read more, but that just means I have so much more to read and love! YAY!

Aw I want to hug her again, she's got an innocence about her when she wants to go out and run around in the grass, I think that she should, Molly would definitely encourage that.

Oh Sadie! If any of those girls say anything I will hurt them! I'll protect you!

Awww I love how tired all of the boys are haha. And she wants to laugh! YES! This family is brilliant for her! :D

I seriously love her so much! Everytime I read more and more about Sadie I just have all of this love building up for her. There is nothing about her I dislike, and I just want to hug her all the time and become her best friend! Can I be her best friend? Somehow put me in the background so that I can be her best friend from afar :P

Aww the twins want to help her! :D

Oh no! Oh Sadie! :( Oh that poor girl! I want to hug her so tightly and help her get through her panic attack :( I'm so glad that it was Bill's jacket that she grabbed onto. I'm so glad that Bill was the one to talk to her and help her. Awww and he wants her to adopt him as a big brother! I'm so happy that he said that! :D

Aw Bill and Sadie will have the best brother/sisterness in the world! :D

This was amazing! and I need to get catching up on the rest of the story, it brings me such joy! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne Chapter 4

10th September 2015:
YAY! It's Sadie again! :D Thank you for giving me this chapter to read :D

She must be so overwhelmed about going to the Weasley's house and being around them all.

I love that the first thing that Molly does is hug her :D Such a Molly thing to do!

Ahhh! She finally gets to meet Harry! :D YAY!

Oh Sadie! Can I hug her? I would be overwhelmed with everything if I was her, and you write how she's feeling so well! You've done a fabulous job describing that!

I can't wait for them to be friends as well! They're going to be an unstoppable team! I can tell!

You have got the characterisations of the Weasley's, Harry and Hermione done perfectly! And it's all just flowing so amazingly, it's like she was always in the series! :D

I love love love how they're all trying to learn sign language!

I need to read more and I can't wait to come back and read the rest of this story, I absolutely love Sadie, she's so different to every othe character I've read. I just have this massive urge to protect her and be there for her. You're such an amazing writer and I can't help but get lost in your beautiful words.

 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne Chapter 3

30th August 2015:
Albus and Minerva's friendship is epic!

And she must have something on her mind if she hasn't moaned about Argus!

Awww poor Sadie, having a fear or distrust of wands, I hope that she can get over that and use one. But I'm so happy that she's doing very well in other subjects though. I agree with Albus, she's going to surprise us.

Molly's house is definitely the best place for her if they want her to feel loved again. I don't think that there's another place in the wizarding world that would fit that criteria.

I agree that she needs a lot of help too, but I know that Minerva and the Weasley's and everyone else will be there to help her and get her through it. The just need to give her time. And I can't wait to see more of her as this story carries on. I feel attached to her and want only the best for her.

Awww she's so happy about new shoes and I could just cry! I want to protect her so much and give her everything that she wants.

I love this! And I need to carry on and read more!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Unicorn_Charm Prologue

11th August 2015:
Hey there!! Here with your review!

How have I never read anything by you before?! My goodness, I have been missing out! Even though this was a short prologue, I am completely captivated already. Your writing is just fantastic. It's so vivid and sucks you right in. I almost feel like I'm freezing, soaked and hungry, too. Wow.

So I'm definitely intrigued. I'm dying to know who this girl is and how she had come to be homeless in NYC. She obviously is familiar with magic, so I'm wondering if she is a witch, a squib or had known magical people before?

My heart broke for this poor girl. Especially when the woman at the shop was so horrible to her. I mean, she was out in the pouring rain, starving with no shoes. Who could be that cold towards someone so obviously in need. :( The poor girl.

The old woman was the cat! How interesting. It opens up even more questions that I will simply have to read on to find the answers to. And trust me, I'm definitely going to be back to read on!

Thank you so much for responding and giving me the opportunity to finally read your beautiful writing! I can't wait to continue on! Great work here!! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #13, by alicia and anne Chapter 2

27th May 2015:
Yay!! I'm back!! :D

Oh Harry, bless him for thinking that it was going to be about him. I bet he misses the attention haha.

I'm so glad that she's able to stay at The Burrow, especially with Mr Weasley, so that she could hear stories about her father. :D

I do love the background of how the Weasley's knew Sadies family, I can't imagine any other place that she would be staying. And I absolutely love that Arthur and Charlie named their kids after each other. Best friends ever!! :D

Oh no, I wonder who killed them and why? :(

I'm glad that she has them to look out for her and to show her around, at least she won't be alone. And Fred and George will definitely get her out of her shell and get her to open up :D

Oh no :( She can't talk, I hope that spell can be broken, and I wonder why that spell was put onto her?

Aw she's related to Harry! They're cousins :D

I really can't wait for more! I seriously need to get reading the next chapters, I'm so addicted to this story already, I love it so much! Your writing is wonderful and this story is so unique already and I can't wait to see how it develops and what other things your wonderful mind has come up with.

:D Keep up the amazing work! *squishes*

 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Chapter 10

27th May 2015:
Hi Farmgirl! I am back on land for a few days and here to appreciate and love this chapter!

This was great. You've got Ollivander's mannerisms and dialogue down perfectly, and as always I'm really impressed with your ability to adhere so closely to canon. Ollivander is kind of weird in that his love of magic and wandlore kind of gives him a strange energy that's a bit off-putting, but in his own way he did show Sadie that she has nothing to fear from magic. It was wonderful to see Sadie face that fear, realise she has a choice, and take a step to conquer her fear - she was close to following her flight instinct but she has already changed a lot now that she has support.

As always Fred and George really shine here. I will never tire of saying how much I love your writing of the twins!

Lovely chapter and I'm so eager to read more. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by merlins beard Chapter 10

15th May 2015:
Hi again!

I loved this! The characterization of Mr. Ollivander was a little different than I would have expected it, but it worked so well! I was a little nervous about this chapter, but everything seems to be going really well right now. Sadie starts to overcome her fears and trust the Weasley family.
I love all the Fred and George parts of the story, there can never be enough stories about them anywhere.

I kind of miss Sadie's interaction with her cousin a little. Harry did experience something similar to Sadie, so they should have something to talk about. I wonder if Sadie was told as a child what happened to her aunt and uncle (i think you said something about that in an earlier chapter, I can't quite remember right now.)

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins beard Chapter 9

15th May 2015:
Hi again!
I loved the trip to Diagon Alley so far! It can be a really magical place nd I'm glad Fred and George were the ones to show it to Sadie. Her characterization compliments the Twin's -especially Fred's - quite well...
I can't wait to see how this thing between them turns out.

Wow, they even show her their shop. They are right, it will be amazing some day, and I'm hoping Sadie will be a part of that.

The wand buying comes next, right? I'm nervous about that, because Sadie probably isn't going to like it much...

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #17, by merlins beard Chapter 8

14th May 2015:
Hello again! I guess it is time to get Sadie a wand. I have an uneasy feeling about that.

Can we please wrap Sadie into some Bubble-wrap tightly and -I don't know - never let her out of Molly Weasley's sight. I couldn't bear if something happened to her, but I'm afraid you're going to let her suffer a little more.

I love it when Fred and George are up to something!can't wait to see what George thought of during dinner.

He may be a little insensitive sometimes but I'm sure Sadie can take it.

Diagon Alley next chapter -I can't wait!

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins beard Chapter 7

14th May 2015:
Hi again.
I love that Sadie starts to communicate, and I think you made the right coice translating her signs. Do you know ASL? I have no experience with any sign language other than knowing it looks fluent and beautiful and impressive.

Aw Ginny admits her crush! So sweet... sharing that secret is the best way to show Sadie what friendship feels like.

Wow, Sadie made Fred see her memories in that state of panic. She has really strong magic. I doubt she knows that he could see that. I wouldn't know what to do with that kind of information... but I agree that it's not his secret to tell.

I really love your writing.
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard Chapter 6

14th May 2015:
I knew this was going to be bad. Poor, poor Sadie. I don't know how she could ever get over that.
Fred is so kind to her, like all the Weasleys. The dark mark frightens them all a lot, and Sadie just can't take it. I'm so glad that fred managed to catch her when she ran off. It will be a while until she tells someone about everything she's been through, and I can't help but think Dumbledore was right. The Weasley family really is the best treatment for someone who is heavily traumatized.
I'll just go to the next chapter to see if everyone is ok now.

Love
~anja

 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins beard Chapter 5

14th May 2015:
Hi again!
This chapter was so sweet. Bill has always been the big brother I always wanted... I'm so glad he's offering to be that to Sadie. I love the Weasley family and all their love and respect, but Sadie must be so overwhelmed by it all...

I find it interesting that you tied Bill's profession into this story, it makes me think that maybe he'll be the one who'll work out how to remove th curse on sadie.

Molly is just like she always will be, feeding them all all the time and worrying about all her children, both biological and others. I don't think she could chose between Harry and Ron of she had to... She loves them both, and now Sadie as well.

I'm a little worried about what happens next at the Quidditch World Cup... it could really traumatize Sadie so much more than she already is... i hope she'll be fine.

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #21, by merlins beard Chapter 4

14th May 2015:
Wow, this chapter makes me sad and happy at the same time.
Sadie gets a new family. They can't replace her parents and siblings, no one ever could, and they are not trying to do that. But they welcome her into the family like they did with Harry. The cousins have similar childhoods, and I never thought I'd say that, but Harry seems to have had it easier than Sadie...

wow, Arthur and Molly are her godparents... I wonder how Harry reacts to that. I think they should tell sadie soon.

It's so great for both Harry and Sadie to have someone they can call family.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #22, by merlins beard Chapter 3

14th May 2015:
Hi again!
First of all: thanks again for explaining the timeline thing! I feel much more comfortable reading this story now, and I really enjoy it!

I love the talk between Dumbledore and McGonagall, it's just something I'd expect them to do, just sitting there having a cup of tea, not even having to talk to each other, like old friends who have known each other forever.

I find it admirable how you remind us of Sadie's horrible experience just a few lines about clothes. I had almost forgotten that she couldn't talk when Professor Dumbledore spoke to her at the end of the chapter. He does always seem to know the right thing to say...

I can't wait for Sadie to meet the Weasleys... I daresay they will frighten her a bit. If Hogwarts is a madhouse, then what is the Burrow?

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #23, by CambAngst Chapter 10

12th May 2015:
farmgirl! Seeing you post a new chapter is always awesome. I know I'm in for a treat.

I thought you did an awesome job with Olivander. You recaptured that mysterious, slightly spooky air that I remember from Harry's first visit to Diagon Alley. He's so fascinated with his work that he loses a bit of the broader moral context. That said, he's still compassionate and understanding.

Sadie's feelings were also described beautifully. I love the way you wrote the running battle between her fight and flight instincts, the way that flight comes close to winning on several occasions. I love how you expand her senses beyond the customary five so that she can feel the magic that permeates the shop and its contents.

Ollivander's dialog was really well written. It sounded like him and really reflected the passion he has for his art.

I love Sadie's change of heart, her first hints of reclaiming some of the control that was taken away from her. I'm really excited to see her begin to expand her boundaries.

You did your homework on the wand wood! Very impressive. I think that wand is a great match for her.

I'm very excited to see all of the characters return to Hogwarts and experience a new school year! Great job!

Author's Response: Dan!! Seeing you review is always beyond awesome! And humbling. I can't think what I did to deserve such a loyal friend, considering how slow I am at both writing and responding.

Thanks for the confidence in Olivander. You know how much I stressed over that scene. I wanted that mystery, but I didn't want him completely creepy.

Sadie feeling magic wasn't something I actually consciously chose for her, it just kind of evolved as I wrote. But, it actually makes a lot of sense, given her background and how much she's tried to ovoid magic for the last while. I'm glad you liked it.

WHEW on the dialog. Again, I stressed for a long time over this!

And I'm also so glad that you felt the change of heart worked. I really wanted to put this fear of wands more in the past and have her start to retake her life a bit, but I also didn't want to be guilty of the "quick fix" that so often can happen in fics and make them unrealistic.

I'm excited to GET them all to school. Let's hope I can do it before we all reach our 80s.

Thanks again, my friend. You are the best.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 10

12th May 2015:
The quality of the story makes it well worth waiting for. I know after it is finished I will re-read it.

 Report Review

Review #25, by merlins beard Chapter 2

12th May 2015:
So maybe I didn't check what era the story is set in... I don't usually read anything where Harry is still at Hpgwarts because JKR covered it anyway. This, however, has me totally hooked.
Most of the stories where a lost relative of Harry turns up are so unbelievable... like yeah, he has a sister -HOW did that work out? I get that here, it's possible for him to have a cousin who was believed to be dead. Those surrounding him wouldn't want to burden him with that (as Arthur Weasley points out). I love that Charlie is named after Arthur's best friend...

I have discoverrf something that doesn't quite add up... I hope it's ok that I point it out.
I'm trying to work out a timeline here - Harry's cousin is two years older than him. She must have been at leasr 4 when her family was attacked, because she survived on her own (and because she remembers McGonagall. Harry's parents were killed when he was one. His aunt and uncle would have been still alive then. I would think Dumbledore would have let Harry stay with them...
Also, if Charlie was Arthur's bwst friend, wouldn't Bill, Charlie and Percy (or even the twins) remember him and his daughter?

That's only my timeline obsession playing up, I can live with the slight alterations you have made and explain away most of what I just pointed out.
I love your writing.

Love
~Anja

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>