Reading Reviews for A Disaster In The Making
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina Mr. Evans

7th July 2014:
Hmm, Lily has the same kind of owl as Harry. Well, he does get his true nature from her. Though I don't know if there is any other school for Lily to get recommended to after Hogwarts, did you have something in mind? If there were, Slughorn would certainly try to get her in. His concern over Lily and his knowledge of Petunia's thinking is very realistic. I seriously want to give him a hug when he thinks about his wife, may I assume she has died? I'm sorry I read the second chapter first, if it really matters. Same thing I said there can apply here.
--Georgina
2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by Freda_and_Georgina Petunia

7th July 2014:
An interesting story from Petunia's point of view. I really like it, and you use your words well. I think it's a good thing that Mr. Evans isn't worried about Vernon coming, doesn't it mean he trusts him? But I understand why Petunia was still upset by it. I look forward to this being continued, hopefully I'll have time. Anywho, awesome story. Keep writing (even if it's slow).
--Georgina
2014 House Cup review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Santa Petunia

19th December 2013:
Hello there! It's Santa here, back to leave you another review!
So this was another excellent chapter! I'm really intrigued to see where you go from here now that Vernon has arrived and James and Lily aren't too far behind! I have a feeling things are going to get really hectic!
I really enjoyed getting more of an insight into Petunia's character in this chapter! I think you write her very well, especially because she's still so young at this point. She's stubborn and immature at times, and I think that works really well for her character, especially after living such a different, and in her words boring, life compared to her younger sister.
I loved the tension you brought into the relationship through Petunia's memories of her life before and after Lily knew she was a witch. That feeling of being overshadowed and overlooked comes across so strongly in this that it just makes me want to give Petunia a big hug! The question I have is if Petunia has exaggerated anything that's happened in her life. Since we're seeing this from her side of things, are her parents really that much more focused on Lily or is it just Petunia's mind blowing things out of proportion because she's jealous? It does add a great deal of depth to her character and to the relationship, which I really enjoyed.
I hope you'll update this soon, I'm really curious to see where things go from here! Great work so far! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi There again. Thank you so much for this lovely review.

I'm glad you think I wrote Petunia well. The idea behind this chapter was to show a different side to Petunia. So I'm glad you liked getting an insight into her character. I think she's an interesting character, especially since you only see her from Harry's POV.


And thank you for that question. I've been waiting for someone to ask me that, and finally someone did. I definitely believe it's exaggerated. For example, I don't think her father said those exact words in their mother's funeral, but that's what Petunia heard. Petunia tells us that her father said that and her sister did that. But she's also so jealous of her sister and so angry at her father that their actions may have been perceived differently than intended. So to answer it shortly; Yes, I definitely think it's exaggerated.

Thank you so much. You really made my day with this lovely review. And I'll definitely update soon

- Lotte



 Report Review

Review #4, by Secret Santa Mr. Evans

13th December 2013:
Hello! This is your Secret Santa with the first of your reviews!
I really liked this chapter! I think the idea of writing this story from multiple points of view is really interesting, and I love that you started with Lily and Petunia's father! We never see him in JKR's writing, so I love that you picked a character you could really make your own and have fun with. He seems very sweet, and I love how much he thinks of his late wife.
I also can't wait to see how things go when Lily, Petunia, James, and Vernon are in a room together! James and Vernon, in particular, since they're so different! I think it's really sweet how Petunia still cares about Lily even if she doesn't show it, and I hope that doesn't change too much once she meets James! I have a feeling that things will not go the way I'm expecting them too, either!
There were two tiny grammar things I noticed- the first one is "I received you last letter" but it should be "your last letter" and the other is "he was more then worried" which should say "more than worried"
I didn't see any other grammar mistakes, and I loved the flow of this first chapter. It's a really nice opener for your story, and I can't wait to keep reading! Great job so far, and happy holidays!
Santa

Author's Response: Aww, Thank you. You're so kind.

Actually, I can't wait to see all of them in a room together myself. I'm working on the next chapter right now, and I'm definitely looking forward to seeing them in the same room. And I hope you (and the other readers) will like it.

And finally, FINALLY someone pointed out my grammar mistakes. You probably know it already, but English is not my native language. I've been learning it for most of life, but I still have a lot of mistakes. And I've been waiting for someone to point them out. So really; Thank you! I'll actually fix them right away.

And I'm really glad you liked the chapter. Hopefully you'll like the future ones as well :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #5, by auror_snape Petunia

2nd October 2013:
Please keep updating! I'd really like to read more.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you for this lovely review. I'll definitely try to update soon. I'm working on the next chapter right now, so I'll finish it by the end of the week (hopefully). And you've definitely motivated me to keep writing this story . Once again, thank you for the lovely review

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #6, by auror_snape Mr. Evans

2nd October 2013:
Nice idea! I rarely see things like this.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you liked the idea :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #7, by prefectperfect Petunia

23rd September 2013:
Hmmm... I really like this it's very thought provoking! :)
I love the fact that you have a sole chapter for Petunia :)
This is very well written I hope you update soon :)

Jayde x

Author's Response: Hi Jayde. Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm glad you find it thought provoking. I felt like I had to have a sole chapter for Petunia, because I find her so interesting. I believe there's a lot more to her than what we see in the books. Why does she treat Harry so badly? Why did she hate her sister? Etc.

Anyway, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. And I'll definitely try and update soon.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #8, by Rumbleroar goes roar Petunia

20th September 2013:
I really like how you've alternated narration in this story. Petunia is such an interesting character, in my opinion, and I feel like you've really done her justice. I actually really feel sorry for her! Interested to see what will happen next :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you Rumbles. I'm really glad you felt like I did her justice. It was so difficult to write this chapter, so I'm glad I managed to make you feel sorry for her. In my opinion, Petunia is more interesting than the main characters in HP, because you mostly see her in a negative light (because it's from Harry's POV). Anyway, thank you for your lovely reviews. You really made my day :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumbleroar goes roar Mr. Evans

20th September 2013:
This looks like the beginning of a very interesting story! Now that I think about it, it must have been so strange for Lily's parents when James Potter was thrust into their lives. He's not exactly normal... even for a wizard. :P And I can bet Petunia won't be too happy either. I really love James' character though. I can imagine him having such a wonderful time hehe. Anyway nice story! :D

Author's Response: Hi there, Rumbles. Thank you so much for your lovely review. And I agree with you. It must've been strange for them to have James Potter thrust into their lives, especially since Lily had hated him the last six years. That's was partly the inspiration for the story. I'm glad you liked it! :D

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #10, by lola Petunia

26th August 2013:
makes me feel sad about Petunia...

Author's Response: Awww, that's so good (or bad, depending on how you see it) to hear. I'm glad I managed to make you symphatize with her. Thank you so much for your lovely review.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #11, by Natasha Mr. Evans

26th August 2013:
I love this so very much, you are very talented!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much your lovely review. You really made my day!

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan Petunia

26th August 2013:
Aww, you dedicated the chapter to me?! You're sweet. Anyway, it was really exciting to see another chapter of this!

I really liked Petunia's POV here. Especially the part about how Petunia took care of their mother while Lily was away at Hogwarts... I could really sympathise with her there - she's trying so hard, and feeling that all her help and love go unnoticed. It must have been so hard for her living in Lily's shadow. (And these are things that normally don't come to mind when thinking about the Petunia of the books, because she's so easy to dislike, so props to you on writing Petunia so well!) She is a very complicated character and you did her justice - everything from her obvious jealousy, to the girl who tries so hard to be brave/magical/pretty like Lily, to that hidden part of her that loves Lily and still keeps that old photograph, to the vengeful side of her that wants to get back at Lily over Christmas (and hints at the future Petunia who gets back at Lily by mistreating Lily's son!) Anyway, that's my really rambly way of saying I like your Petunia :p

I adored the depictions of Lily and Petunia as children, playing hide and seek! And how they both cheat but they never call each other out on it - typical kid behaviour but they're such nice sisters :)

Lovely job here, and I'm really looking forward to more of this story!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you for another lovely review. I'm glad you liked it, especially since it was dedicated to you K (That's my new nickname for you btw. I've recently become too lazy to write names, so I just write the first letter).

I glad you liked my Petunia. I found her a challenge to write, but I tried to keep it as close to cannon as possible. At the same time, I wanted to add something of my own. And I'm just really glad you liked it.

Thank you again :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #13, by JKRFAN Mr. Evans

13th August 2013:
WOW, great story! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Awww. Thank you. That's really kind of you. The next chapter will be up in a few days.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #14, by Pat Johnston Mr. Evans

13th August 2013:
Interesting start. I like backstory for the characters.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked the start. And so do I! I love writing the backstory for the characters.

The next chapter will be up in a few days. It's from Petunia's POV, and will also be a character backstory. But I promise the real story will start after that.

Once again, thank you so much for the lovely review.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan Mr. Evans

11th August 2013:
Hello :) I really like this, it's a cute idea! I think you've characterised Mr Evans quite well, and I really like the way you're written Petunia too. In particular the line about how Mr Evans knew that Petunia would be able to tell if he was lying. I have a feeling Petunia was really quite intelligent (she is Lily's sister after all!) despite her less agreeable qualities, haha. And I like stories that show Petunia's concern for Lily even when she doesn't want to admit it.

The only critique I have is that I want more! :P This feels like a great set up to what I'm sure would be a really ridiculous meeting. If Lily brings James over, and Petunia brings Vernon... ack! I can only imagine the disaster that would ensue and I think you should write it! :D

Well done Lotte, this is a lovely story :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!

I actually wrote it as a short story, but I just didn't know how to write Vernon and therefore changed it to a one-shot.

But as I read you review, I got an idea for a new chapter. So now, thanks to you, it will be a short story! Just a warning, if you are going to read the next chapter that is, that chapter will be from Petunia's POV. The story will also have a new title. But I'm not sure what it will be yet...

Once again, thank you so much. I feel like flying over to your page, and reviewing your stories now. You really made my day!

- Lotte


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login