Reading Reviews for A Disaster In The Making
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by toomanycurls Mr. Evans

17th May 2015:
Hello!!

Castiel sent me to review your story (he's so kind and offered to swap on your behalf).

I really like the premise of this story as I've always imagined there being more than one awkward meeting between Petunia and James (and Lily/James and Vernon). I can only imagine how much hate Lily must have shown James at home for her father to be truly concerned about Lily bring him over for winter break. Though, it's hard to see how Mr. Evans would equate his wife having an illness (I'm assuming cancer or the likes) with Lily having a change of heart about a boy. It's interesting that Lily didn't share her falling out with Snape wth her father (though, perhaps her mother's illness kept updates about school friendships at bay).

Petunia seems to be a bit more complex than she's usually portrayed which is quite enjoyable. Reading Lily's letters but not admitting to it, and knowing enough about her sister to know the name of a boy she doesn't like shows at least a lot of attention paid to Lily. Though, we do see the in books that Petunia often says one thing and does another (such as not liking some celeb divorce but reading magazine articles about it).

This sets a great stage for an eventful Christmas holiday. I love that you used Anthony Stewart Head as the face claim for Mr. Evans. I'm a BtVS fan so I was excited to see him.

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart Mr. Evans

16th May 2015:
Hi Lotte!

I'm here on behalf of your mystery gift giver for The Pass It Along Challenge.

So Lily is bringing home James for the first time ever. I could imagine there being a lot of tension in that situation. I imagine he and Vernon will get along smashingly. I think Mr. Evans has the right idea about it not being a peaceful Christmas.

I really liked how your characterized Petunia. I really could tell that she wanted to pretend to hate Lily, but you could also feel that hesitance to completely let her go. Her sudden interest in the fact that Lily was bringing someone home and the fact that she remembered James from the letters shows exactly how much she cares.

I'm so nervous for what is to come in the next chapter. Part of me really wants everything to go smoothly and has hope that Petunia and Lily can reconcile. On the other hand, if this follows cannon, I know that it isn't likely. It's so sad to think that these two sisters will never have a relationship because of some childhood feud.

Anyways, I think this is a lovely story so far and I'm curious to see what comes in the next chapter! Good work!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #3, by Castiel Petunia

15th May 2015:
Hmmm, Petunia keeps claiming that her parents show more affection and attention to her sister, but I can't help but wonder if that is an exaggerated, subjective opinion.

At the same time, you make a really interesting case for her here. Knowing that she was there for her mother and had to deal with all of that while Lily was away does help explain a lot of her resentment. I wouldn't blame a young girl for not leaving school, she should have maintained her education, but I also feel for Petunia.

Human conflict is difficult for me. I'm surprised at how interested I am in seeing it all play out. Luckily it only takes me a fraction of a second to read a chapter, but now I've reached the last one. I hope you continue this story soon.

I'm very worried about what will happen at Christmas--and very anxious to see a young version of the AsButt, Vernon.

But mostly I just wish that Lily and Petunia were more like the Winchesters.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Castiel Mr. Evans

15th May 2015:
Hello Lotte, my name is Castiel and I am an angel of the Lord. I am also your guardian angel for the month of May.

I know the story about the magical baby who goes to wizard school better than most other human cultural events because Joanne Rowling is a prophet, so it's been my duty to watch her career closely.

This is very interesting, writing from Mr Evans' perspective. I especially enjoyed seeing the sister, Petunia. I'll admit that human emotions aren't always easy for me to pick up on. I've noticed that humans often say something different from what they mean, and I recognized that in Petunia. If there's one thing I've learned from traveling with the Winchesters, it's that the bonds between siblings are extremely strong.

I identified with Mr Evans at the story's end. I too would be at a loss to make peace between warring teenage girls. Human deaths mean more to me than they once did, and it was very sad to see Mr Evans as a widower.

I'm very worried to see the dynamic between Lily, James and Vernon. I get uncomfortable when things are tense and I remember from the books that Vernon is an asbutt. But even though I'm worried to see this play out, I can't help but want to click to the next chapter. The human emotion of curiosity is a very strange one to me. I suppose I should be impressed that you inspired it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by The Summer Snake Mr. Evans

4th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

So, this seems like a very interesting story! Though I don't know much about these Evans that you mention of, they look like nice people. I liked your characterisation of Mr Evans. I don't think I've come across a story from his point of view before, so this is indeed very intriguing. I think you've got his fatherly stuff down good.

The Petunia scene was also a nice touch - I liked how you showed Petunia still cared about her sister though she tried to hide it. The whole "christmas disaster" thing sounds kinda entertaining so I wonder what will happen next xD

All in all, I think this is a good start to your story and I hope you continue writing it! I quite like what you've here so far. Being a snake, you'd expect I don't have much experience with this stuff but actually you wont believe the things snakes here while slithering on the ground hiding behind people!

Anyway, time is ticking so now I'm off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

 Report Review

Review #6, by Oregonian Petunia

26th April 2015:
Hi, Lotte.

I’m glad that I can finally read your Vernon/Petunia story that you hinted at when you reviewed my Vernon/Petunia story “Tiny Animals” under the fake name of Black and Yellow.

I can’t wait to see the younger Vernon walk into the scene, and the conversation between Vernon and James is probably going to be a hum-dinger! I am curious to see what Vernon has that is attractive to Petunia.

You write Mr. Evans well. His worry about being able to handle his two strong-willed daughters and their unfamiliar boyfriends is certainly realistic. It’s too bad that he already expects that the visit will turn into a disaster. Perhaps only after his wife died did he really realize how much he had depended on her to handle sticky family relationships.

Your depiction of Petunia is interesting, a combination of grief and anger with a little bit of love still there, but mostly a desperate urge for self-preservation. She would do whatever was necessary to get what she needed, yet she feels as if she’s fighting a losing battle, doomed by the “someone” who can control her life and is punishing her for some past offense. The way she comes to resolution with this fate, by becoming the woman we see in “Philosopher’s Stone”, is kind of sad.

It will be interesting to see how this holiday degenerates into the disaster foreseen by Mr. Evans. I am enjoying the story so far, and hoping to see updates soon. Thank you for writing.

Vicki

 Report Review

Review #7, by Felpata Lupin Petunia

16th April 2015:
Hello Lotte!
I thought I'd stop by your author's page... I'm very happy I did! :)

This is a pretty interesting story so far, I can't wait to see what will happen once everyone will be under the same roof... It's going to be an interesting holiday...

I never imagined I would feel sorry for Petunia. I still think that her attitude towards her sister is absolutely unfair, but I can sympathize with her here.
To never receive recognaissance and always be second would enrage anyone.
And the fact that she was the one to sustain the family during her mother's illness while Lily was "having fun at Hogwarts"... I don't know how much of her words were true and how much it was her bias and bitterness. But I do know first-hand how physically and psychologically exausting is to move in and out of hospitals and see someone you love slowly fade away. So that's one reason more I can't blame her for feeling betrayed and angry.

Really great job so far, Lotte! Can't wait for what's next!
A huge hug,
Chiara

PS I've been peeking around the common room and I've read something that made me wonder... Do you perchance know some very lucky anonimous reviewer who's stopped by one of my stories recently?
If yes, please say thank you to her from me ;)
Otherwise, thank you anyway for being so kind and welcoming. And good luck for your exam!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Harry James Potter Mr. Evans

4th April 2015:
Hello...I'm not sure who you are or how you know about my parents and Mum's family but I'm really glad you did and that you're sharing this story of them. So, yeah, thanks.

Aunt Petunia never talked about when she was younger, so I never found anything out about my Grandparents. My Grandad sounds nice though. I think I'll come back and read the next chapter soon. I can't imagine a dinner involving my parents, Aunt Petunia, and Uncle Vernon will go well.

Er, Ron asked me to ask if you could point him in the direction of some good stories about him. He's getting a bit obsessive over this website, he hasn't showered in a week. Hermione's really mad...

Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #9, by St. Brigid. Mr. Evans

3rd April 2015:
I really like Mr. Evans concerns at the beginning of this story. It makes a lot of sense that he would be worried his daughter was dating a man he had so often heard her criticise.

It also makes sense that he would find the new way of delivering post rather unusual. It is not something with which most of us are too familiar.

The reference to the school she wants to attend in the letter seems a little odd. Did you mean a university or some wizarding equivalent? To the best of my knowledge, "school" in the U.K. refers to primary and secondary education only. She has finished primary school and Hogwarts is the secondary school she attends.

Yes, the combination of Lily, James, Petunia and Vernon does not seem like one that is likely to make for a peaceful Christmas.

Happy Easter.

I really like the way you show that even though Petunia wouldn't admit it, she does have some concern for her sister. Both the fact she reads the letters and her reaction to the idea of her sister suddenly changing her opinion on James show this.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Freda_and_Georgina Mr. Evans

7th July 2014:
Hmm, Lily has the same kind of owl as Harry. Well, he does get his true nature from her. Though I don't know if there is any other school for Lily to get recommended to after Hogwarts, did you have something in mind? If there were, Slughorn would certainly try to get her in. His concern over Lily and his knowledge of Petunia's thinking is very realistic. I seriously want to give him a hug when he thinks about his wife, may I assume she has died? I'm sorry I read the second chapter first, if it really matters. Same thing I said there can apply here.
--Georgina
2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #11, by Freda_and_Georgina Petunia

7th July 2014:
An interesting story from Petunia's point of view. I really like it, and you use your words well. I think it's a good thing that Mr. Evans isn't worried about Vernon coming, doesn't it mean he trusts him? But I understand why Petunia was still upset by it. I look forward to this being continued, hopefully I'll have time. Anywho, awesome story. Keep writing (even if it's slow).
--Georgina
2014 House Cup review

 Report Review

Review #12, by Santa Petunia

19th December 2013:
Hello there! It's Santa here, back to leave you another review!
So this was another excellent chapter! I'm really intrigued to see where you go from here now that Vernon has arrived and James and Lily aren't too far behind! I have a feeling things are going to get really hectic!
I really enjoyed getting more of an insight into Petunia's character in this chapter! I think you write her very well, especially because she's still so young at this point. She's stubborn and immature at times, and I think that works really well for her character, especially after living such a different, and in her words boring, life compared to her younger sister.
I loved the tension you brought into the relationship through Petunia's memories of her life before and after Lily knew she was a witch. That feeling of being overshadowed and overlooked comes across so strongly in this that it just makes me want to give Petunia a big hug! The question I have is if Petunia has exaggerated anything that's happened in her life. Since we're seeing this from her side of things, are her parents really that much more focused on Lily or is it just Petunia's mind blowing things out of proportion because she's jealous? It does add a great deal of depth to her character and to the relationship, which I really enjoyed.
I hope you'll update this soon, I'm really curious to see where things go from here! Great work so far! 10/10

Author's Response: Hi There again. Thank you so much for this lovely review.

I'm glad you think I wrote Petunia well. The idea behind this chapter was to show a different side to Petunia. So I'm glad you liked getting an insight into her character. I think she's an interesting character, especially since you only see her from Harry's POV.


And thank you for that question. I've been waiting for someone to ask me that, and finally someone did. I definitely believe it's exaggerated. For example, I don't think her father said those exact words in their mother's funeral, but that's what Petunia heard. Petunia tells us that her father said that and her sister did that. But she's also so jealous of her sister and so angry at her father that their actions may have been perceived differently than intended. So to answer it shortly; Yes, I definitely think it's exaggerated.

Thank you so much. You really made my day with this lovely review. And I'll definitely update soon

- Lotte



 Report Review

Review #13, by Secret Santa Mr. Evans

13th December 2013:
Hello! This is your Secret Santa with the first of your reviews!
I really liked this chapter! I think the idea of writing this story from multiple points of view is really interesting, and I love that you started with Lily and Petunia's father! We never see him in JKR's writing, so I love that you picked a character you could really make your own and have fun with. He seems very sweet, and I love how much he thinks of his late wife.
I also can't wait to see how things go when Lily, Petunia, James, and Vernon are in a room together! James and Vernon, in particular, since they're so different! I think it's really sweet how Petunia still cares about Lily even if she doesn't show it, and I hope that doesn't change too much once she meets James! I have a feeling that things will not go the way I'm expecting them too, either!
There were two tiny grammar things I noticed- the first one is "I received you last letter" but it should be "your last letter" and the other is "he was more then worried" which should say "more than worried"
I didn't see any other grammar mistakes, and I loved the flow of this first chapter. It's a really nice opener for your story, and I can't wait to keep reading! Great job so far, and happy holidays!
Santa

Author's Response: Aww, Thank you. You're so kind.

Actually, I can't wait to see all of them in a room together myself. I'm working on the next chapter right now, and I'm definitely looking forward to seeing them in the same room. And I hope you (and the other readers) will like it.

And finally, FINALLY someone pointed out my grammar mistakes. You probably know it already, but English is not my native language. I've been learning it for most of life, but I still have a lot of mistakes. And I've been waiting for someone to point them out. So really; Thank you! I'll actually fix them right away.

And I'm really glad you liked the chapter. Hopefully you'll like the future ones as well :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #14, by auror_snape Petunia

2nd October 2013:
Please keep updating! I'd really like to read more.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you for this lovely review. I'll definitely try to update soon. I'm working on the next chapter right now, so I'll finish it by the end of the week (hopefully). And you've definitely motivated me to keep writing this story . Once again, thank you for the lovely review

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #15, by auror_snape Mr. Evans

2nd October 2013:
Nice idea! I rarely see things like this.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you liked the idea :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #16, by prefectperfect Petunia

23rd September 2013:
Hmmm... I really like this it's very thought provoking! :)
I love the fact that you have a sole chapter for Petunia :)
This is very well written I hope you update soon :)

Jayde x

Author's Response: Hi Jayde. Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm glad you find it thought provoking. I felt like I had to have a sole chapter for Petunia, because I find her so interesting. I believe there's a lot more to her than what we see in the books. Why does she treat Harry so badly? Why did she hate her sister? Etc.

Anyway, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. And I'll definitely try and update soon.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #17, by Rumbleroar goes roar Petunia

20th September 2013:
I really like how you've alternated narration in this story. Petunia is such an interesting character, in my opinion, and I feel like you've really done her justice. I actually really feel sorry for her! Interested to see what will happen next :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you Rumbles. I'm really glad you felt like I did her justice. It was so difficult to write this chapter, so I'm glad I managed to make you feel sorry for her. In my opinion, Petunia is more interesting than the main characters in HP, because you mostly see her in a negative light (because it's from Harry's POV). Anyway, thank you for your lovely reviews. You really made my day :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #18, by Rumbleroar goes roar Mr. Evans

20th September 2013:
This looks like the beginning of a very interesting story! Now that I think about it, it must have been so strange for Lily's parents when James Potter was thrust into their lives. He's not exactly normal... even for a wizard. :P And I can bet Petunia won't be too happy either. I really love James' character though. I can imagine him having such a wonderful time hehe. Anyway nice story! :D

Author's Response: Hi there, Rumbles. Thank you so much for your lovely review. And I agree with you. It must've been strange for them to have James Potter thrust into their lives, especially since Lily had hated him the last six years. That's was partly the inspiration for the story. I'm glad you liked it! :D

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #19, by lola Petunia

26th August 2013:
makes me feel sad about Petunia...

Author's Response: Awww, that's so good (or bad, depending on how you see it) to hear. I'm glad I managed to make you symphatize with her. Thank you so much for your lovely review.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #20, by Natasha Mr. Evans

26th August 2013:
I love this so very much, you are very talented!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much your lovely review. You really made my day!

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan Petunia

26th August 2013:
Aww, you dedicated the chapter to me?! You're sweet. Anyway, it was really exciting to see another chapter of this!

I really liked Petunia's POV here. Especially the part about how Petunia took care of their mother while Lily was away at Hogwarts... I could really sympathise with her there - she's trying so hard, and feeling that all her help and love go unnoticed. It must have been so hard for her living in Lily's shadow. (And these are things that normally don't come to mind when thinking about the Petunia of the books, because she's so easy to dislike, so props to you on writing Petunia so well!) She is a very complicated character and you did her justice - everything from her obvious jealousy, to the girl who tries so hard to be brave/magical/pretty like Lily, to that hidden part of her that loves Lily and still keeps that old photograph, to the vengeful side of her that wants to get back at Lily over Christmas (and hints at the future Petunia who gets back at Lily by mistreating Lily's son!) Anyway, that's my really rambly way of saying I like your Petunia :p

I adored the depictions of Lily and Petunia as children, playing hide and seek! And how they both cheat but they never call each other out on it - typical kid behaviour but they're such nice sisters :)

Lovely job here, and I'm really looking forward to more of this story!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you for another lovely review. I'm glad you liked it, especially since it was dedicated to you K (That's my new nickname for you btw. I've recently become too lazy to write names, so I just write the first letter).

I glad you liked my Petunia. I found her a challenge to write, but I tried to keep it as close to cannon as possible. At the same time, I wanted to add something of my own. And I'm just really glad you liked it.

Thank you again :)

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #22, by JKRFAN Mr. Evans

13th August 2013:
WOW, great story! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Awww. Thank you. That's really kind of you. The next chapter will be up in a few days.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #23, by Pat Johnston Mr. Evans

13th August 2013:
Interesting start. I like backstory for the characters.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked the start. And so do I! I love writing the backstory for the characters.

The next chapter will be up in a few days. It's from Petunia's POV, and will also be a character backstory. But I promise the real story will start after that.

Once again, thank you so much for the lovely review.

- Lotte


 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Mr. Evans

11th August 2013:
Hello :) I really like this, it's a cute idea! I think you've characterised Mr Evans quite well, and I really like the way you're written Petunia too. In particular the line about how Mr Evans knew that Petunia would be able to tell if he was lying. I have a feeling Petunia was really quite intelligent (she is Lily's sister after all!) despite her less agreeable qualities, haha. And I like stories that show Petunia's concern for Lily even when she doesn't want to admit it.

The only critique I have is that I want more! :P This feels like a great set up to what I'm sure would be a really ridiculous meeting. If Lily brings James over, and Petunia brings Vernon... ack! I can only imagine the disaster that would ensue and I think you should write it! :D

Well done Lotte, this is a lovely story :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you!

I actually wrote it as a short story, but I just didn't know how to write Vernon and therefore changed it to a one-shot.

But as I read you review, I got an idea for a new chapter. So now, thanks to you, it will be a short story! Just a warning, if you are going to read the next chapter that is, that chapter will be from Petunia's POV. The story will also have a new title. But I'm not sure what it will be yet...

Once again, thank you so much. I feel like flying over to your page, and reviewing your stories now. You really made my day!

- Lotte


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login