Reading Reviews for Quiet
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tobias225 Grey Eyes

16th June 2014:
I was wondering when the next chapter will uploaded? Not trying to rush, but this is really good. (I know I'm not on the last chapter :D)

Author's Response: Uploading an older revised chapter right now, so I'll put a new chapter up next week or the week after. Thank you for your patience!! I'm glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ForeverYour The Lion and the Snake.

8th May 2014:
Love it! Amazing story so far and you write well. I really like the love triangle that is starting to emerge and I can't wait for it to develop further!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Tobias The Lion and the Snake.

20th April 2014:
Amazing, I honestly don't have words to describe how much I love this, keep it up, please

Author's Response: Oh my god I'm so happy to hear that you love it!! That just made my day. Thanks for leaving feedback :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Becca First Day of Term

10th April 2014:
I really like this! Please continue your updates! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it!! I will continue to update until I post new chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by peppersweet The Start of Term Feast

27th December 2013:
Greetings! I'm here for the 12 days of reviewing challenge from the forums. Today's challenge was to review a story containing a feast, and I stumbled upon yours!

You have a really nice start to the story here (this review counts for chapter 1 too) and although you've already set it up quite neatly for a love triangle between Ivy, Draco and Harry, I feel like there are still a lot of unanswered questions to keep us engaged. Ivy's past, for example, is still a bit of a mystery - her narration seems a little reticent and detached, and I'm curious about what might have happened to her before she stepped onto Platform 9 3/4 in chapter one. Equally, it'll be interesting to hear Draco's story about the war - the post-war Slytherins are a really interesting set of characters to read and write about, as I think it's a really good way to explore grief and tragedy on a small, human scale.

Your writing flows very well, but I think there's a couple of issues with your grammar that could do with fixing up. Sometimes you're not punctuating properly at the end of speech - for example, "Bloody hell, mate" Blaise mumbled to Draco "that new Transfiguration teacher is a bombshell..." should read "Bloody hell, mate," Blaise mumbled to Draco. "That new Transfiguration teacher is a bombshell..." and so on.

I can't really offer any criticism about the plot or anything - starting with the departure to Hogwarts on the train has been done before, but exploring it from the immediate post-war angle is more unusual, especially from the perspective of a Slytherin, which I appreciate! One thing that did strike me when I read this - and this is an entirely personal preference - is that your characters seem a little, hmm, flawless? More in terms of physical description than anything. I do like Ivy's narration, but she describes almost everyone as being beautiful, including herself. Instead of talking about Draco's perfect hair and nose, it might be more effective if she noticed little quirks in his body language or appearance that made him stand out. For example, he might always have his top shirt button undone, or a small scar on his chin, or something odd like that. It's totally fine describing a character as beautiful - especially if Ivy develops feelings for Draco and Harry! - but I sometimes think it can be more effective to characterise someone through their little quirks and imperfections than to give them a wholly glossy image.

Great start, though! It'll be interesting to see how this develops (especially with those two new teachers - I get the feeling they'll be instrumental in the plot). Merry Christmas ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I have not worked on this story for several months due to personal reasons; however, I will begin writing new chapters as well as editing existing ones. I will definitely take your advice into account when I do this. Again, I greatly appreciate you taking the time to critique my story.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Blacklock Grey Eyes

7th September 2013:
of course she should wander! hogwarts wouldn't be hogwarts if people obeyed the rules :P and yep, daphne is one easy sl.ut. i suspect something will happen in the winter like ivy going to either the burrow or malfoy manor for the holidays...depending >.>

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!! ^_^ I like your suspicions for the winter time, keep reading to find out! I'm going to try to knock out a few more chapters, sorry I have been slacking lately. This semester of school is KILLING me.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Blacklock Ride

29th August 2013:
saucy!! ;) i love how long your chapters are, good luck with the wisdom teeth and start of semester. keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!! Wisdom teeth were a breeze, but this semester is gonna be tough. I will try my best to post one new chapter a week.

 Report Review

Review #8, by THEhpGENERATION First Day of Term

20th August 2013:
Great story so far. Love triangles are not only interesting to read but also drama filled. I would personally like to see a bit more Harry/Ivy relationship because there doesn't seem to be one. I don't think he even knew her name. Keeping updating, I would like to see how your story progresses.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I really appreciate you taking the time to give me your opinion. Don't worry! Harry and Ivy's romantic interest in each other will slowly come into the picture later on. At this point they are building a friendship. Harry is much more chivalrous than Draco. Thank you again for leaving a review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login