Reading Reviews for Crossing the Borderline
131 Reviews Found

Review #1, by _brii.rox Aaliyah: The Cronies

31st October 2015:
Please, please continue this story! I can't wait to know what happens next!!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by QkStephen Aaliyah: The Cronies

30th September 2015:
I really like the story. It's outstanding and dramatic and it keeps me entertained. I can't wait for the next post

 Report Review

Review #3, by happyanon Albus: The Decision

1st September 2015:
You know Ronan is described as blonde too. Im getting major headaches trying to re-read the entire thing hoping to figure out some things. Albus says he feels guilty and responsible somehow on what happened last year to Aaliyah. That he could have stopped it. This is what's weird. What could it be!???
Omg my head. Will it be possible that it was Ronan who fred cheated her with? She's blonde too. But if so, why woulf albus feel guilty? You said the wink doesn't have anything to do with fred? So, does it mean it wasn't ronan? Hmm.. could it be one of aaliyahs friends then? Seems impossible but i dont have much choice for suspects aside from them or Ronan.
You said Fred was afraid of commitment. It could be Ronan really. Albus must have known something? Ronan and him seem to have an agreement.
But since Ronan didn't know they were fake dating, and it had nothing to do with fred what was the agreement about? (Assuming of course that theh have some sort of agreement).. That she leave the family alone? That he gives her a scandal instead? That she leaves Aaliyah alone? That she returns the tape? Or was he in love with her? The part where albus' features softens upon looking at Ronan is interesting and curious and is giving me a major headache.
Were Albus and Ronan friends? Did he like her? Were they ever more than just people who attended the same school? Because There's some sort of weird respect/acknowledgement between them. But again my question, why?
And this chick who got the tape. The only thing we have is she's brunette who came with fred... this is too hard. I have no idea who this chick is. Could it be Aaliyah herself? Ronan disguised? One of Aaliyah's friends? Omg i have so many questions... i love this fic but the questions are piling up. I think my brain is going to explode. Lol i look forward for the big reveal sweetheart! Much love! Xox

 Report Review

Review #4, by marilyn Aaliyah: The Cronies

31st August 2015:
I can't wait for your next update! Its really good!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Giù9 Aaliyah: The Tape

31st August 2015:
Hi! I've been reading this story for a while now and I find it really intriguing. I love the characters, they are all very well written and the plot is mysterious and exciting and not boring at all. I also like that it's developing on more than one path, like we have what happened with Gabby and Fred and the fake dating and Ronan and the tape.

So I have a theory about this tape. I came back to read this chapter once more, because I wanted to make sure that my theory made sense before writing it down and present it to you. I might be completely wrong.

I think Aaliyah is the mysterious girl. The description fits, a brunette with blue-green eyes, non Gryffindor. Freddie invited her; maybe they were still together or they had already broken up, in both cases he could've asked Aaliyah to join them. If they had already broken up, she might have been looking for a chance to get back at him for cheating on her, so she took the tape. She eventually changed her mind because she realized that she was holding dangerous information that could hurt not only Fred but his entire family. (I must admit I can't come up with a reason why she gave it to Ronan. Maybe it was by accident and now she feels guilty and that's the real reason why she accepted to help Albus). The reason why the others can't remember the girl clearly might be Obliviation. Since there's a very good chance that the girl completely obliviated Dom, she might have used the spell in a less effective way on everyone else, so that they could vaguely remember her features but not her face or her name. BUT the one thing that got me thinking in the first place is that sentence at the end of the paragraph: “It's a memory card.” They've always called it “the tape” and this clarification made me think that Aaliyah knows more than she lets on.

I think that's it! I'll keep reading and thinking and not studying for my exams, at all ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dirigible_Plums Aaliyah: The Cronies

31st August 2015:




That's all I can say at the moment.

 Report Review

Review #7, by happyanon Aaliyah: The Cronies

30th August 2015:
I died. 17 chapters. I HAD TO WAIT SEVENTEEN CHAPTERS FOR A KISS. JESUS. THIS is the longest ive had to wait for a fanfic kiss. And my God was it odd. See this is interesting because we know Ronan for some reason has this idea that maybe they aren't dating. But now there will be photos of them snogging the life from each other it makes me wonder what that devious little girl will do about it. Will there be a chapter about the ball? I wish Albus can attend with Aaliyah. So Gabby liked Fred huh? Wonder how she felt when Fred went out with Aaliyah and then cheated on her. See something has been bothering me aside from Roman winking at Albus. Why is it in chapter one, when he looked at her it was described that his features softened? That interests me so much. I have this feeling that either they were friends or they were more than that. This is giving me a headache. I have another problem.. the one who has the tape and how it ended in Ronans hands. The girl was brunette who came with Fred right? Please don't tell me its Aaliyah? Or one of her friends? This is alot of things.. i wish you'd update sooner. Im really excited what happens after the kiss. And omg they are adorable. Looove albus and aaliyab so much! Love this fic! I hope to see the next update! Muc love! Xoxo

 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell Albus: The Family

21st August 2015:
Hey Sama! Here for that extra review I had promised you! Sorry it took me a bit. Things have been crazy down in the pit, what with the Silver Scales nominations and all. But I'm here at last!

So, we finally meet the family. The whole family. I like Louis and Dom! They seem sweet. I think it's nice that you portrayed them a little differently--so often they're portrayed as the bratty, judge-y family members (I don't know whether it's because they're pretty or because they're French). And for lots of fics that works, but I'm glad to have that stereotype shaken up a bit and to see them being nice.

I'm glad that Albus doesn't back down about the Fred thing when other people address it. He cheated on her. He doesn't have a claim on her, and she should be able to date whomever she wants. Granted, she doesn't exactly "want" to date Albus, but they don't know that.

I'm glad she has James there, amongst all the crazy. Hopefully that can help keep her a little more comfortable.

Overall, Aaliyah seems to hold her own in this chapter, and the Weasley-Potters look like they're going to be mostly accepting. Maybe that's half out of guilt, but I say take your advantages where you can get them! Things are off to a decent start with this non-relationship. At least, a much better start than it could have been, considering.

Still, this whole deal with Fred is gonna end up in some kind of scandal. I just know it.


I mean I know they probably all want to me to ‘properly’ introduce Aaliyah to them, but I didn’t and still don’t know how to exactly do that.
--I'm gonna suggest a slight rephrasing: I mean, I know they probably all want me to 'properly' introduce Aaliyah to them, but I didn't, and I still don't know exactly how to do that.

There’s only one girlfriend that I have had let the family meet and that is Katie, my fifth year girlfriend.
--I suggest deleting "had"

“Yeah,” he stretches the word like he already knew that.
--If you're going to say he stretches the word out, it might also be good to show it. Like, "Yeeaah,".

It is covered with dust and has a fair share of ancient tapestries that no one dares to touch because of one, they aren’t particularly pretty and two, who knows what touched them or what they contain.
--It is covered with dust and has a fair share of ancient tapestries that no one dares to touch, because, one: they aren't particularly pretty and, two: who knows what has touched them or what they might contain?

The hallway is empty like I could have heard the little sound a pin makes when it drops.
Two suggestions. Either, "The hallways is empty. Like, I could have heard the sound little sound a pin makes when it drops." Or "The hallway is so empty you could hear a pin drop."

Turning to him, I calmly voice, “Aaliyah already isn’t happy
--"voice" doesn't seem like quite the right word here. You voice concerns or opinions, but I don't think it's generally used as a substitute for "say".

--one period short on the ellipse, here.

I shrug at him and pass tables ‘til I get to Aaliyah’s one.
--I'd suggest cutting one and just leaving it at "'til I get to Aaliyah's."

she is infact
--"infact" = "in fact"

But not all my family likes her or gives a f*** about her really.
--But not all my family likes her, or gives a f*** about her, really.

And here I thought Ravenclaws are smart.
--in this case, I think you'd say "were" instead of "are", because even though the story is in present tense, Albus is saying he "thought".

Then, getting tired by my obvious surveying, she shrugs so I would stop observing her.
--I'd suggest rephrasing slightly. And I think "would" should be "will". Here's one possibility: Then, growing tired of my relentless scrutiny, she shrugs so that I will stop observing her."

I do the same introduction for every family members’ girlfriend or boyfriend.”
--members' = member's

I mean never, let’s anyone meet the family
--let's = lets

What does it take for a girl to joke around here.”
--missing a question mark

“..we would have understood.” Her tone is soft and sad. as if she feels betrayed that I didn’t tell her anything.
--the ellipse at the beginning is missing a period, and that period after sad ought to be a comma.

He couldn’t just ignore it, not when he is close to Aaliyah, but he does still stick by Fred (but he sticks by Aaliyah too).
--I'd suggest trying to rephrase so you aren't beginning both sections at the end with "but he"--"but he does still stick by Fred" and "but he sticks by Aaliyah, too", as it's a bit repetitive.
Maybe: He couldn't just ignore it, not when he is so close to Aaliyah, but he does still stick by Fred. He just chose to stick by Aaliyah, too.

One that Aaliyah is invited too.
--too = to

She’s short one being only five foot three inches.
--Maybe: "She's a short one, being only..." or "She's the short one, being only five foot three inches.:

Dom describes is as toffee hair, whatever that means.
--it = is

There is always winter holidays and summer break though.
--this needs a comma before "though", I think

Excluding Rose that is since she has prefect duties tonight.
--Excluding Rose, that is, since she has prefect duties tonight.

For whichever reason, I don’t know.
--I think that in this case "whichever" should be replaced with "whatever". It would be "whichever reason" if a selection of reasons had been presented before, and Albus was saying he didn't know which of those reasons was true. But when none are mentioned, I think you'd say "whatever".

I had fun meeting the whole fam in this chapter, and look forward to reading more--especially to learning what Aaliyah's thoughts were on the whole thing! See you soon!


 Report Review

Review #9, by wolfgirl17 Aaliyah: The Party

16th August 2015:
Hey Sama!

Wolgirl here finally with your requested review from my review thread. I'm sorry it took me so long. I keep falling off the wagon *blushes*

As always I absolutely adored this chapter. It was a little slower than the others, but you have this knack for weaving more and more secrets and plot-points into a tale and I can't wait for it all to come out.

Right now I'm think James maybe kinda fancies Aaliyah, but that maybe he and Gabby are kinda regretting their break-up too and I'm totally intrigued about the hatred between Aaliyah and Rose and I adore the way you portray Scorpius when he's drunk and upset over Rose not paying attention to the fact that he's alive.

And oh my gosh I'm rambling. Look at what you do to me with your tricky writing and your skills and your awesomeness! You've got me gushing and rambling over the characters to such an extent that when I read I forget about the need to be focusing on things that I can concrit or on trying to pick up on instances where you could include more Britishisms and the like and goodness me!

I really do absolutely adore your work Sama, I love the amount of personality and characterisation you bring to everyone in your fics and the way they don't feel flat and boring but are instead brimming with spunk and awesomeness and secrets. You truly have a gift.

I'm probably not achieving much for you in the way of detailed reviews at this point, but do keep requesting more reviews as this story is to die for and I might die if I don't make time to finish it. At least with the requests I can try and bring some notion of structure to it *she says, prodding the sentences and trying to get them to budge up in ways that make sense*

Keep up the positively brilliant work, love. You're stuff is to die for!


Author's Response: Hey, Ellie! That's really alright! The wait it always worth it when it comes to you and you didn't take long at all. :)

It was a long chapter and I think that's why it moved slowly and there was a lot of interactions that needed to happen.

James, I really want to hug him! He's such a sweetie and you're right about the break up, from his part anyway. I think Rose is a character that shows another side of Aaliyah. She shows that Aaliyah isn't liked by everyone and that Aaliyah is capable of disliking someone. Ah, Scorpius! Poor soul... he only wants Rose to just look at him and notice him.

Tricky writing? I like that description and thank you for the compliments! *blushes*

It's great to hear that my characters don't feel flat. That's always a worry since there are so many of them. (I think that's what happens when one of your main characters are a part of the Weasley/Potter clan.) And yes, they all have their secrets... even the ones who seem totally innocent. ;)

I think for me hearing a reader's thoughts on events and characters help a lot. It gives me direction on what I'm doing wrong or what I should do more of. So, don't worry about it not being detailed about britishisms and what not because you still give me insight on my characters which for me his huge. And I will definitely re-request! I love hearing from you!

Thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave this! There is a super short and Aaliyah interaction in the future chapters and I'm hoping to put more of them in.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Penelope Inkwell Aaliyah: The Slytherins

15th August 2015:
Hey Sama!

I particularly enjoyed the bit of dialogue where they decide they're going to try not to be so awkward, and make an attempt to get to know one another. It sounded particularly natural. It flowed well.

That moment when Aaliyah gets all cheeky is kind of adorable. I like how Al calls after her, but then just smiles and lets it go. I have a feeling that he likes that she was a little devious. He's a Slytherin, so he can appreciate a women who can wriggle out of a question she might not want to answer. At least, that's what I'm picking up.

I really like the way Aaliyah gets on with the rest of the Slytherin boys. It's just so cute! They all want to know her. Aaliyah is an interesting character. She isn't quiet, not exactly, but she comes across with this general tranquility whenever you put her in a room with other people (except Albus, sometimes). She's not loud, but she's still quite social. From in her head, we know that she freaks out quite often, but I think to people on the outside she would seem almost preternaturally composed. And I could see that appealing to Albus. He seems to place a lot of importance on poise in himself, but he also likes to crack other people. I get why she intrigues him.

Scorpius--I LOVE your portrayal of Scorpius. He's so cute. And I'm enjoying the other boys, too.

Awww, poor Aaliyah. And poor Seth. Having a friend like you when you don't like him back is so hard. Especially when he's a really nice guy. But if you don't feel it, you don't feel it, and that's not your fault. I'm really glad that Seth gets that, though. He doesn't act like he's entitled to Aaliyah, and he's willing to be honest, but he doesn't want to put her in a bad situation or make her feel guilty. I really admire that, and I hope things turn out okay for him.


The list’s title is ‘The List of Problems With Dating Albus Potter When Not Having Feelings for Him.’
--it seems like it would be hard to find any pros on a list that, according to its title, is only a list of cons?

No matter how much you want to be it, you don’t because when the two of you break up, people will always whisper about it.
--Maybe: "No matter how much you think you'd want that position, you don't. Trust me. Because when the two of you break up, people will always talk."

To be honest, I’m quite scared if she ends up finding anything ‘cause she most likely will.
--I think this would be a little smoother if re-worded, i.e. "To be honest, I'm quite scared she'll end up finding something. Knowing Charlotte, it's probably inevitable."

However, what I didn’t expect when I agreed to this arrangement is the snappy comments, snarky retorts, and half-attempted arguments. When you think about it, to have a real full-fledged argument with someone you need to know said person. Not only that, you are going to need to know how to pick out their flaws and find out their biggest insecurities. Taking that into consideration, our arguments aren’t really arguments. They are just small disagreements or pointless bickering. Basically, a string of semi-harsh words thrown at each other. (Well, whispered at each other. We can’t really yell at each other without people noticing. I mean we are supposed to be the picture of a happy couple.)
--I think this train of thought gets a little convoluted. Also, it actually sounds a bit more like Albus to me – all philosophical. He's the one who I associate with going into mental diatribes beginning with "if you think about it...". This bit seems like it's in his voice, rather than Aaliyah's.

“Excuse me?” I ask surprised.
--there should be a comma after "ask".

His mouth is a straight line and his tone is even, too even as if he is bored and I’m supposed to be his source of entertainment.
--I'd suggest splitting off the 'too even' part. i.e. "His mouth is a straight line and his tone is even – too even – as if he's bored and I'm supposed to be his source of entertainment."

still looking monotonous.
--monotonous doesn't seem like quite the right word here, but it is hard to find a synonym for "bored". Reworking it to use a "boredom" synonym might help. Maybe, "still looking as though he's drowning in the dullness of our conversation." Other good synonyms: tedium, ennui.

I ask picking up the novel I dropped earlier.
--needs a comma after ask

He’s apart of the Weasley family.
--"apart" = a part

I’ve never really kept tabs on your life or asked James about you so this is me doing my research,”
--Bit of a run on. Maybe: I've never really kept tabs on your life, or asked James about you. So this is me doing my research."

“You are kidding, right?” I whisper frantically.
--this struck me as a bit odd? Though it might be a character choice, which is fair. Why is Aaliyah so judgy about Al's relationship past. He has dated. Lots of people at 16 would have dated less. It seems odd to me that she's "frantic" over this.

“You’re turn.”

You see I like to stick with boys.
--comma after "see"

(Blaine + Scropius)
--Scorpius (also, this was funny)

He has a good five-six inches on me.
--"five or six?"

“Is there an elephant in the room I don’t know about?” I inquire cringing.
--comma before cringing.

“How should I know,” he exclaims, equally frustrated.
--this needs needs a question mark or an exclamation point, rather than a comma

I noticed about three places where you had two periods ".." instead of three "..." for an ellipse.

I continue to really love the different characters you pull in. They just make me smile. And I'm enjoying watching Albus and Aaliyah's relationship grow, even if it's only a little right here. The fact that his friends like her just really made me smile.

--Penny :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell Albus: The Confrontations

14th August 2015:
“Last time I checked being called a “cutie” is a good thing. Not that I like being called cute, though. I prefer a more masculine term like “sexy.” Sexy is like a package deal. The word is not only masculine but bold too, just how I like it.
--*rolls eyes* Oh, Albus

I pry the paper from her hands and push my textbook in front of her since she hasn’t bothered to touch hers yet. This way if the professor looks over, it’ll seem like we’re actually doing our assignment instead of socialising.
--good way to show Albus' Slytherin-ness!

He is totally into her. Keep denying it all you want, Alby. You're obsessed.

You know, as totally unpleasant as Rose seems, I still do see why she would generally get along with Albus, in a way. They're both opinionated and conniving--a bit less warm than the rest of the family.

Awkwardness fills the space around us like a pitcher pouring water into a glass: noisily and quickly.
--I like this! :D

So far Scorpius seems to be a good foil for Al. Much lighter, in a way, but they just mesh well. I like their relationship.

The way you set up that ending with Fred is nice and mysterious, which fits his whole character. It keeps us wondering: who is this? What happened between him and Aaliyah? What did he do? Why does he want her back? WHAT is going on?

Good job!


Maybe but I don’t think crossing your fingers may help these two in the slightest.
--There should be a comma after 'maybe', and I'd recommend changing 'may' to 'will'. i.e. "Maybe, but I don't think crossing your fingers will help these two in the slightest."

This time her face clearly shows that she is startled and in a way, I get where she is coming from.
--needs a comma between 'and' and 'in', I think. i.e. "she is startled and, in a way, I get..."

My redhaired, brown-eyes cousin
--"brown-eyes" = brown-eyed

The calculating face vanishes and a smile graces her face.
--I'd suggest trying not to use "face" so much in the same small space. Maybe change the first one to "The calculating expression"?

Rose... well, she had never been and still isn't fond of Aaliyah, a nice way of saying she hates her really.
--This might flow better if you restructured it a little: "Rose...well, she never had been--and still isn't--fond of Aaliyah (a nice way of saying she hates her, really).

“What is that supposed to mean?” She snaps, sounding...
--'she' should be lowercase.

One thing I would suggest, and this might just be personal preference, is splitting up some of the dialogue and the description that comes after it. Like changing:

“That means that I don’t really care if you don’t ‘approve’ of her.” I sigh. Knowing Rose, this is going to turn into a quarrel and arguing with family, especially the redhaired members, always ends up being taxing.


“That means that I don’t really care if you don’t ‘approve’ of her.”

I sigh.

Knowing Rose, this is going to turn into a quarrel and arguing with family, especially the redhaired members, always ends up being taxing.

There are a lot of two-line-long blocks of text in the section with Rose, and for some reason that seems to be a harder length to follow on the computer screen for me. Once again, that might be a personal thing, but splitting the sections up into shorter bits might make it easier.

She seems to be absolutely entertained by the list and is probably secretly hoping catching me in the act would cause me to blush which it won't.
--I'd split that last part--"which it won't" off from the rest somehow. Maybe: "hoping catching me in the act would cause me to blush, which it won't."
"hoping catching me in the act would cause me to blush (which it won't)."
"hoping catching me in the act would cause me to blush – which it won't."

I think everyone close to her is aware of how much she watches out for Aaliyah, how much she is protective of her, well… except for Aaliyah that is. And some people, like myself, know she does it out of guilt because a couple years ago she sort of a rubbish at the older sibling thing. She didn’t really know what was going on in Aaliyah’s life and nor did she make much of an effort to. That was the way things were, but people change and it usually takes one spark, one event to change them and that is exactly what happened to Gabby.
--Okay, there are several things in this section. A couple missing or unnecessary words, some places that I thought could benefit from a split. Here's my suggestion, but to save space I'll just let you go through it:

"I think everyone close to Gabby is aware of how much she watches out for Aaliyah, how protective she is of her. Well... except for Aaliyah that is. And some people, like myself, know she does it out of guilt, because a couple years ago she sort of rubbish at the 'older sibling' thing. She didn’t really know what was going on in Aaliyah’s life, nor did she make much of an effort to. That was the way things were. But people change. Sometimes it only takes one spark, one event to change everything.

And that is exactly what happened to Gabby."

Clearly, ignorance is both of our specialities.
--is it ignorance? Or ignoring inconvenient truths?

I motion them to go on and they relentlessly follow Nott.
--relentlessly doesn't seem quite right here. Maybe "reluctantly"?

when I stand back up, I am surprised by the figure a couple away from me.
--a couple [what] away? Feet? Yards?

He smiles a smile; a humourless one, a joyless one, a painful one. His warm brown eyes sparkle in amusement and maybe even some anger; however, not the mischief they used to carry.
--Suggest: "maybe even some anger, but none of the cheerful mischief they used to carry."

Man, poor Al. Aaliyah definitely got better reactions from her friends. Very interesting dynamics.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Penelope Inkwell Aaliyah: The Reaction

14th August 2015:
SAMA! *voice echoes from the distance* It's me! I'm coming *running steps, panting* I'm almost-- *footsteps growing louder*

*sudden crashing sound*


And I am so glad to finally be back! R&Ring more of this story has been on my to do list for ages, so here we are :D

Let's start at the beginning. I really like what you do with the chapter opening.

Sleep doesn't find me behind my closed eyes; it wavers on the top of my consciousness but doesn't come in, as if it is an unwelcome visitor.
--This sounds so good. It sets the tone nicely, and it gives Aaliyah that anxiety and depth that I feel are pretty crucial aspects of her character. I really like it.

So now you must be thinking what is Aaliyah, the girl who can’t handle unexpected events and climbing up a staircase, going to do?
--Bahaha! Oh, this made me laugh. Way to throw in some humor amidst the angst. Points for Aaliyah!

I think that whole section in the morning, with the fight in the dorms, was really well put together. Plenty of action and description and dialogue. It was good to have such a wide-awake, active scene after Aaliyah's midnight musings. I just liked the whole section a lot.

OOoh, I would kill him. I would absolutely want to kill him. Could Albus have made himself more obnoxious? COULD HE HAVE?! Ugh.

The awkwardness at the breakfast table was on point, though :D

I like her friends! And I look forward to seeing more of them. When I read through this part of the story before I must have been really speeding (and probs really tired). I'm glad I'm coming back and stopping to smell the roses. There are a lot of things I don't remember.


However, just because something is said constantly, doesn't mean it's easier to make up your mind about it.
--I don't think you need the comma, here

How is he so sure of himself, I find myself asking to no one in particular.
--I'd suggest reworking this so that you can fit in the question mark. Maybe How is he so sure of himself? I find myself asking to no one in particular."

And that guilt… it rooted from one person: Gabby.
--"rooted from" doesn't seem like quite the right phrase, here. Maybe, "originated from" or "was rooted in" or "it all originated from one direction: Gabby." There are probably some other options out there that would be better, but that's what I can come up with for now.

Just a little suggestion: when you describe the coolness of the floor, you might use the word "soothing" somewhere. I think that would give us an easier understanding of why Aaliyah is craving that sensation, and of why it seems "right".

Gosh, I don’t even want to think about the things she has been doing with the Luke bloke.
--I'd suggest replacing "the" with "this". So nitpicky, I know! But I think it'll sound more natural.

Then my textbook goes missing and on top of that Albus is probably in the Great Hall thinking, ‘which way do I tell the whole school that Aaliyah and I are dating while equally making it the most miserable way possible for her?’
--"which" here ought to be capitalized.

You see Seth's eyes tend change colour.
--"You see" should be followed by a comma.

On que...
--I think this is meant to be "On cue..."?

Annie smirks, which generally doesn’t happen too foten.
--foten = often

Yeah, well it turns out I was right since currently I am staring dreadfully at the stairs that lead to the girls’ dormitories.
--"dreadfully" doesn't seem quite right here, since it's usually used as a synonym for "awfully". Maybe, "Yeah, well it turns out I was right, since I am currently staring up at the stairs that lead to the girls' dormitories, my stomach churning with dread." Other stand-ins that might work would be, "staring, petrified, at the stairs..." or "staring fearfully".

If I had known that ‘this’ (yes, I’m going to address the relationship I’m in by ‘this’)
--little thing, but I think it might be better to say "(yes, I'm going to address the relationship I'm in as 'this') or "(yes, I'm going to refer to the relationship I'm in as 'this').

I'd suggest giving a little more weight to the section where Aaliyah starts lying to Ellie. At present it's so sudden, and such a turnaround from what she was planning, that it might be good to set it up a bit more. Maybe an analogy, like:"It's like her words have flipped some switch, turned on a spigot I didn't know I had, and the lies come pouring out, choking me with anger."

The number one thing I would suggest, overall, but especially in the first half of this chapter, is to add a bit more action. It doesn't have to be big. Just Aaliyah tossing and turning, throwing a pillow, just doing something. Aaliyah lives largely in her head, which makes a lot of sense, as she is a Ravenclaw. But sometimes long monologues can lose a bit of their punch if nothing else is happening, because the reader ceases to picture the character's surroundings.

It would be good to have her do a few more little things in the second half, too, but there you have dialogue to break up her mental wanderings, so it's pretty solid as is.

I can't remember exactly what happens in the next chapter, and I'm looking forward to being reminded.

Albus Potter, you've got some serious redeeming yourself to do :p

Good job, Sama!


 Report Review

Review #13, by pinkpanther16 Albus: The Game

1st August 2015:
Ugh, Ronan. I can't stand her. She needs to stay in her own lane. At least there was a lot of Aaliyah and Al in this one. Some almost fluff. Some almost answered questions. But wow, Gabby liked Fred? I didn't see that coming. I'm excited to hear more on that story. Glad you updated, see you next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Oh, Ronan. She really is a piece of work, isn't she? But she's surprisingly fun to write since she's so complex. Ronan should mind in own business. She's too nosy! But that's what makes a good journalist.

Yes there was some fluff and then I had to ruin it by dropping the Gabby's crush bomb. Gabby did like Fred. We'll get more into that next chapter. Is it bad that I'm glad you didn't see that coming? It was supposed to be a surprise.

The next chapter shouldn't take too long. It's just that I'm trying to get through some editing on beginning chapters before I post it.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I loved hearing from you!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by MalfoyMannor Aaliyah: The Slytherins

1st August 2015:
when I started reading this I was like nahh I'm not going to like it and now I absolutely adore it :)

poor Seth :( I love and hate it when authors make that happen, when a character reveals their feelings for another character when the character gets with someone

Author's Response: Ah, that's great to hear!! I think the summary sometimes intrigues people and at other times it puts off people so maybe that's why.

Seth... he really deserves some love, doesn't he? Authors don't like doing that either but I can't see Seth not admitting to Aaliyah his feelings, and her dating someone else really pushed him to it.

Thank you for taking the time to drop a line! And I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far!


 Report Review

Review #15, by happyanon Albus: The Game

31st July 2015:
OH MY GOD. WAS IT GABBY!!?? THE GIRL FRED CHEATED WITH!? WAS IT GABBY!!?? NOOO. wasn't there some description about how the girl was blonde or something? OMG WAS IT GABBY!?? Craaap they should have kissed! They should have kissed. Whyy did they not? I was anticipating it. Img RONAN NOO WHY ARE YOU SO SMART. WHAAAT WILL HAPPEN poor poor babies will get into alot of contoversy. :( i hope the plan doesn't blow over. Also, you said the wink Ronan gave does not involve Fred. And now we know it does not involve the fake date as well? So what does it involve? Dont tell me albus likes her? Omg so many secrets i love it but im too curious you must update!!! I cant stay put on what happens next. I love ittt! Much love! Xoxo

Author's Response: WAS IS GABBY?! I DON'T KNOW! I was almost evil enough to not tell you anything but since you're so sweet, I'll tell you... No, it wasn't Gabby. She wouldn't do that to Aaliyah... even in a moment of weakness, though it would have been really easy for her to cave. And you have no idea how happy I am that you remembered that the girl was blonde!

Should Aaliyah and Albus have kissed? Hmm, that's up for debate. I'm kidding, I'm really just stalling it and them not kissing was a perfect opportunity for Ronan to find out so... yeah, I basically put them in a tough situation. Opps?

Ronan is too smart! That or maybe she manages to be in the right place at the right time a lot? Probably both. And Aaliyah and Albus will have to deal with her soon.

Ah, the wink is back... I feel like I should steer you away from it since you're so smart that you'll probably figure it out but... it's going to come out in two chapters so the wait won't be too long.

I love secrets, maybe that's why there are so many. I'll try to update soon, sometime this month, so don't worry! And thank you so much for the review! Really, I always enjoy hearing from you!


 Report Review

Review #16, by asdfghjkl Albus: The Game

31st July 2015:
Okay so I can was kinda wondering that whole scene if someone would be watching them but then when she figured out they didn't kiss at the end...omg that Can only have insanely interesting consequences. My stomach actually turned over a bit with worry! This could either push them farther from admitting their feelings to eachother or closer and either way I'm sure it'll make for interesting scenes and dialogue in the future! Update soon please, I can hardly stand to know what happens next!

Author's Response: Ah, you're too smart for me! Already figuring that someone may have been watching them. The scene was just too perfect... them playing an innocent game of Quidditch... I just had to ruin it haha.

Even I'm worried about where I'll take this. I mean Ronan has already basically found out their secret. I can't promise that things won't get messy but it'll be interesting.

Thanks for taking the time to read and review! You guys really make my day! And the next chapter should be up sometime this month. :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by alicia and anne Aaliyah: The Meeting

29th July 2015:
The paintings are such gossips! But I bet that I would be if I was a painting as well and all I did was hang around in the corridors I would gossip as well haha. :D

I like how she's close with James, but Albus is a quiet enigma. :( I really enjoy the idea of Albus being perceived as withdrawn and distant with people. I really love it.

Oh no! Who is this person walking towards the room? Is it bad that I'm a little scared of them? I wonder why Albus keeps staring at her? Does he fancy her?

Oh I would so hide from her as well. I would worry about her finding out gossip and spreading it around the school.

Oooo I really like the idea of them being the new power couple that's going to be in a fake relationship like James and Gabby. Did you say why they faked it? I can't remember haha.

Anyways this is an awesome first chapter and I'm so intrigued by it all and I can't wait to find out more.

Author's Response: The paintings are really chatty! I could always see them gossiping for some reason since there are so many of them around the school and in a perfect position to gain knowledge on the students.

My favorite Albus is Slytherin Albus so I couldn't help but make him be distant and cold. I'm glad you like his characterization!

No, you should be scared. Terrified, really. I'm just pulling your leg but the person coming toward the room isn't the most likable. And Albus doesn't fancy Aaliyah... not yet anyway. ;) He just likes making people uncomfortable which he succeeded in doing with her. Also, he's curious about her.

Yes, I did mention why they faked it but it's easy to miss. They sort of did it to protect the others, distract Ronan from their friends' lives and maker her focus on their (fake) relationship. Their reasons are clarified in later chapters.

I'm so happy to hear that you find the first chapter interesting! And thank you so much Tammi for taking the time to read and review this! I had a great time reading your thoughts! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins beard Aaliyah: The Meeting

27th July 2015:
Hey there,
I'm FINALLY here with the review I promised about three weeks ago. I'm really sorry it took so long.

This is a very promising start to what will be an exciting story. I really like how you described your characters in so much detail, especially focusing on their imperfections, on making them not likeable at first. I really think it makes them much more believeable and is a really nice contrast to all the perefect potter children in many other fics.

I can see that Albus' plan may include a little more than he reveals right here, and I also think that it might just work. Faking a relationship is probably not as easy as you make it sound with James and Gabbie, (that may be why they're breaking up) and I find that this shouldn't be necessary for the protection from gossip. Something is going wrong here and I wonder why McGonagall doesn't put a stop to it. I'm really interested in what the next chapter brings.

I have one slight CC, but it's mostly personal preference. I think your chapters are fairly long, and the story may profit from splitting the longer ones into two. I find it hard to hold my attention for an extended period of time when reading on a screen, that's why I like chapters to be between 2000 and 3500 words,but that's only me. Just thought I'd mention it anyway.

I think I'll enjoy reading more of this,so I'll put it on my reading list for now - sadly, it has to wait a while because work is keeping me so busy.

Thanks for a fantastic read -I love how I find good stories by offering reviews.

~Anja xxx

Author's Response: Hello, Anja!

I think the summary sort of gives off that I like to focus on the imperfections of the characters haha. I find it more fun to make the characters unlikable and then slowly show all their other sides and watch as readers grow to like them. I did that with Albus since he's sort of a jerk in the beginning. I can't imagine the Potter children as perfect. I can see them having a rough time finding a separate identity from their parents... makes for some good angst.

Albus's plan does include more. He's a sneaky snake, no denying it. It wasn't easy for James and Gabby but the two of them hide it well. And their is a plot behind why they thought it was necessary... it comes out later in the story. I'm really glad you thought this chapter was interesting.

My chapters are fairly long, aren't they? I actually planned it like that. The story is fairly long and if I keep splitting it, for me it would be too many chapters, that and I try to keep the pov switches in mind. I can see why it's hard to focus for that long and for that I'm sorry. But rest assured I would never make a chapter 9,000+ words, I would definitely split it then. Thank you for suggesting it though! I'll keep that in mind for future chapters.

Ah, it's great that you like it enough to add the story to your reading list! Thank you for taking the time to read and review! I really appreciate it and had a great time reading your thoughts on this!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Penelope Inkwell Albus: The Decision

25th July 2015:
Hey Sama!

Here for our review swap. I've been meaning to come back and review more of this story, so this was the perfect opportunity :D

I can tell you've really thought through the core traits of your characters. I love that I can clearly see that Albus is a Slytherin--I have run across plenty of fics where the characters don't seem to match with their House traits at all, or only in very superficial ways, but I vastly prefer things like this, when it's quite clear why they are where they are. Albus obviously has pride and self-confidence, he is prone to keeping secrets, and he carefully guards his emotions. It's clearly important to him to be in control, and to not let anyone have an advantage over him. It's all clear in the things he does and in his mental monologue. That's very well done.

I also find it hilarious that he's so guarded with his emotions that, in some ways, he refuses to admit them to himself. That boy is in serious denial about his infatuation with Aaliyah. His examination of her also demonstrates that he is keenly observant. You set up a lot of his character traits without saying them outright, and that's wonderful! :D

The other thing I really like here is that Aaliyah's lines sound very realistic--like what a clever (and cautious) teenage girl in her situation would say. Overall, I give you lots of points for your characterization.


First I'll give some general comments and then some specific ones: If you do edits, the main thing I would suggest adjusting is sentence structure. There are a good many sentences in this chapter that could use a comma or two to break them up. There's also a few places that have shorter sentences and sentence fragments that come across as a bit choppy. They would flow better if they were combined with dashes or commas or semi-colons.

For my specific comments, I always try to give an example of how it might be written, just in case it helps. Vague CC can be frustrating, bc then you think something might be wrong but you've no clue how to fix it. I don't want to leave anyone in that boat. However, these are all just suggestions. I definitely might not have captured your intent. I'm just throwing them in there in case you're useful, but I don't want to tell you how anything should, for sure, be written. That's often a matter of style, and everyone has their own. I don't want to intrude!

"I slowly open an eye to see Scorpius’s expression, but there isn’t a trace of a single reaction. Being a snake teaches you how to be collected at all times (well, almost at all times)."
--This sentence seems a little out of place, since immediately above Albus was saying that Scorpius was showing way more emotion than was wise. The qualifier in parentheses doesn't quite take away the fact that Albus is contradicting himself. Maybe it would be better to say something like, "I slowly open an eye to see Scorpius' expression, but there isn't a single trace of emotion. It seems that his Slytherin side has finally kicked in."

“Why would she choose to finally come out after trying to avoid it like a disease? Aaliyah doesn’t even know me and seeing that I’m Fred’s cousin she doesn’t trust me."
--I think this sentence could be a little clearer. Maybe something like: "Why would she choose to draw attention to herself when she's spent years avoiding it like a disease? Aaliyah doesn't even know me. And, seeing as I'm Fred's cousin, she doesn't trust me."

“The tension in that abandoned classroom tired me out. Aaliyah and I may have been there for moral support and all, but I think we both felt the tension radiating off of James and Gabby. Now that I am in the Slytherin Common Room, I can finally relax with the heat from the fireplace warming me as well as the leather of the couch. That bench that I had to sit on for two whole hours was hard, rough, hard, scratched up, and hard. (Did I mention hard?)"
--I'd maybe sub in a synonym for one of those "tension"s. The 3rd sentence would be clearer if the words were re-ordered a little. i.e. "Now that I am in the Slytherin Common Room, sitting on the soft leather couch, I can bask in the warmth of the fireplace and finally relax..."

When you want to accomplish something, you need a couple things: effort, want and belief.
-- I think "desire" might sound better here than "want".

"You may call it a hero complex or whatever. However, that isn’t it. It is one of those impressions that make you think you could have done something. You could have prevented some of the events but you didn’t. Instead of doing something that caused an effect, you guilt yourself into thinking that you could have stopped that effect."
--When I first read this paragraph, I had a little trouble following what he was saying. I'd suggest running through this bit and clarifying it.
i.e. "You may call it a hero complex or whatever, but that isn't it. It's a responsibility, the kind that you feel when disaster strikes, and you know you could have done something; you could have prevented some of that, but you didn't. It sucks to feel guilty for the things you did, but the things you failed to do? Yeah, those'll make you feel a hell of a lot worse."

"Her face doesn’t hold any visible traces of thoughtfulness or anger, only passion towards the book she is reading. Weird."
--For some reason "passion towards the book she is reading" is striking me as an odd turn of phrase. And most people do look thoughtful when they read, since their absorbed in the story. Maybe, "Her face doesn't hold any visible traces of worry or anger, only a passionate interest in the book she is reading."

I'm a super nitpicky person, but you mentioned that it's easier to edit when stuff is pointed out to you, so I figured I'd go ahead and be particular. Feel free to PM me for any clarification! I'm loving the characters and setup!


Author's Response: Hi, Penny!

I get what you mean by reading characters that don't seem to match up with their house. I'm the type that likes it when there is a reason why they were placed in a certain house. I'm very picky about that stuff... maybe because I've thought about house traits so much. Also, I thought it would take the fun out of writing Albus as a Slytherin and not give him so many traits that belong to that house such as self-preservation, and being cunning and manipulative. I'm glad to hear that his Slytherin side shows... it was what I was aiming for so yay!

Albus is the type of person who ignores things that he doesn't want to be bothered with so he's very good at placing himself in denial, and Aaliyah is definitely included in that. He has a fascination with her, he finds her very interesting, his curiosity peaks around her but he doesn't fancy her... not yet anyway. ;) And yes, he is observant! So glad you noticed that!

I always try to think over character dialogue and imagine how I would say it in that situation. I'm guessing by your comment that that is working. :D

Truth be told, I find this chapter the most cringe-worthy out of all the current chapters in the story and that's mainly because how its writing quality. It's a little all over the place. Thank you for suggesting combining some of the sentences to make the flow better! That really helped as well as the rest of your CC. After reading your review, I actually made myself look (like actually look, not just glimpse which I tend to do) over this chapter again and it is currently being edited. A huge thank you for taking the time to point all those problems out! And really, I wish I could be nitpicky like you... it would definitely get me to edit faster and more efficiently. Nothing was unclear so no worries!

Thank you immensely for taking the time to do this swap! I can tell that you put a lot of thought into this and that this took a lot of time. *hugs* Thanks again!!


 Report Review

Review #20, by RavenclawFTW Aaliyah: The Tape

20th July 2015:
Heya Sama! I've here for BvB, although really I should have dropped a review when I first read through the chapter!

I was really surprised by the truth about the tape-- I really had no idea what it was going to be, but that explanation explains so much about this story. I'm impressed now how you've woven hints of it throughout the story and waited so long to reveal the truth about it. I thought the scene where they discuss it in the Hospital Wing was really well done with Albus being patient but bitter and Aaliyah as curious as ever.

Then I love how the two friend groups are kind of combining and getting along better now! The tension between Ellie and Al is really interesting, and I like how Ellie really can't refute the article because it's (accidentally?) hit the nail on the head-- she has been unsupportive! Then I like how Al is warming up to Seth and Isaac, and how the friend groups seem like they really could get along quite well. I'm excited to see where it goes with Blaine and Annie, and I really love their dynamic as it continues to unfold!

Finally, the conversation between Aaliyah and Seth-- it had to happen at some point and Seth handled it so well! Honest, but comforting. Aaliyah was always going to feel guilty, but he isn't babying her about it, and he understands where she's coming from.

Great chapter and I can't wait for the next update! :)


Author's Response: Hi J!

The tape was sort of a surprise itself. It never meant to happen but I thought of it and it kind of built from there. I'm really glad that you're surprised... that's how I wanted it to be. That scene was a little nerve-wracking since the words came to me easily but I wasn't sure if I balanced it right. Albus was talking a lot of the time and I tried to weave Aaliyah's commentary around his story to make it flow better. I'm really glad to hear that you thought it was well done!

They are getting along! It's surprising. The groups are going to end up interacting a lot due to Albus and Aaliyah since both of them are so attached to their friends. I knew I wanted one of Aaliyah's friends being unsupportive from the very beginning and that turned out to be Ellie. But Ellie will grow to like Albus and vice versa... well I think so. Blaine and Annie... they're fun to write. There is the guy who has a huge crush on the girl and there is the girl who has no idea how to react. And it's something both of the groups know about and are always hinting at.

They took forever to sit down and talk about it, but it did happen... in the library of all places. Seth is reasonable. He knows it isn't Aaliyah's fault in the slightest and nor is it his. That and the fact that he's kind of a softie. I sometimes feel bad that I didn't give him love. He deserves it.

Thank you for the thoughtful review, J! I loved reading it! And I'll try to update soon!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Diana Hanson Aaliyah: The Tape

19th July 2015:
I love this, love, love the Potter boys. Very surprised about two things...first being Fred's indiscretion and the second was James obliviating his friends. That, while understandable, was super surprising. This story is so intriguing and I am thrilled that it is only 1/3 finished. Please keep the chapters coming. I want more Aaliyah/Albus action. Thank you!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! You're too sweet. I'm really glad you like James and Albus! Potter boys are just hard to resist writing. I think it broke James a little to obliviate his friends but he knew it was the right thing to do. And Fred isn't someone who is good at keeping things inside and he kind of lost control that night. I'll try my best to keep the chapters coming! There will be some Aaliyah/Albus action next chapter so watch out for that. Thank you for the kind review!! It's been lovely hearing from you!


 Report Review

Review #22, by p Aaliyah: The Tape

18th July 2015:
I'm dying to know who the girl was behind the tape incident. You're the best for updating so quickly! :) Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: We'll find out who the girl behind the tape incident is before the end of the story, don't you worry! I hope it'll be surprising. I'll try my best to update again by the end of the month or beginning of next month! Thank you for taking the time to drop a review! I love hearing from readers!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Dirigible_Plums Aaliyah: The Tape

18th July 2015:

(First of all, lemme tell you how much I love the curiosity line. It's probably my favourite one in the entire chapter.)

...And the plot thickens. I wonder where the Tape/Memory Card is now and whether it'd make any difference whether they find it or not. I have the feeling that Ronan is the type to have memorised its contents anyways, but uses the existence of it to hold over the Weasleys' heads.

I think I'm gonna re-read all of the chapters because I completely forgot about the existence of Professor Reagan and if he's as hot as the girls of Hogwarts say he is, that's just not acceptable. I think that I just need to go through it again to refresh my memory.

I like that Seth doesn't appear to resent Aaliyah for not returning his feelings. I also love the banter between the Slytherins. Ah, Slytherins. Gotta love them.

Until next time,

Dirigible_Plums xo

Author's Response: Hello again!

I feel like I channeled some John Green with that line because now that I think about it I feel like he had a similar one.

The plot does thicken a bit. Or I hope so anyway. I myself don't know where the tape is. :P Okay, so maybe I have an idea where it is... but I can't exactly tell you. And you're definitely right about Ronan... she is the type to memorize all the contents.

Professor Reagan! *swoon* He isn't talked about a lot in the story but he is mentioned in chapter six I believe. I honestly think I have to make a chappie of him. Then everyone will see why the Hogwarts girls find him so attractive.

Seth is too sweet to resent Aaliyah. He's a big softie! Also he's a Ravenclaw so he knows that it isn't anyone's fault and that Aaliyah doesn't have to reciprocate the feelings. I sometimes wonder if I should make another character just for him... he deserves love.

How can you not love Slytherins? They're so devious and cunning. What's not to love? :P On another note, I'm really glad you liked their banter!

Thank you for taking the time to review! I love hearing from you! I hope you keep enjoying the story...

Until next time,

 Report Review

Review #24, by Gabriella Hunter Aaliyah: The Meeting

17th July 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review for our swap! I'm sorry that I'm just now getting to it!

So, this seems like a really fascinating beginning to a story. I have never stumbled across this before but I'm glad that I decided to give this a chance. I'm really curious about the mix of characters that you've introduced, Aaliyah is one person that I'd really like to know more about. What are her issues? She seems to be hiding a lot from other people and I'm really eager to find out about what might be happening with her past. I liked the way you described her fear though, it was like a living thing that was actually taunting her.

Now, I have to say that you introduced James and her sister very well. I like reading about various relationships with the Potter kids that aren't very typical and I loved this easy going James here. He's great and I was a little surprised by this curious horror that you made out of Albus. I hardly ever see him being portrayed this way and if he isn't the most cunning little snake in the grass...

Aaliyah has some great commentary too, I was totally invested in her POV. I think that she's got some great wit and she's a tad frank too, especially when it came to Ronan, Albus and her own weariness with it all. I really love that about her so far, she's not wasting words on things that aren't going to help her at the moment.

I kind of wanted to smack Albus in that last scene though. What an annoying little snot! He's so cocky and sure of himself on one hand but he's manipulative and snide on the other. I shouldn't like it, but I do. He reminds me alot of the Teddy Lupin that I created for my story, "Transparent". They would get along really well and that's scary. Hahahaha.

I do wonder what Aaliyah has to hide though but I'm glad that she didn't give in to Albus's proposition. I have a feeling that she's not going to have a choice though, from what Albus implied. >.>

Thanks for the read!

Much love,


Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! There is a character in Crossing the Borderline that has the same name but spelled differently! Yay for connections.

Aaliyah has a lot of... baggage? I guess that's the right word. She has a lot of history which comes out slowly throughout the story.

I'm glad you liked the introduction of James and Gabby. They play crucial roles in the story especially later. I love writing easy going James. I always pictured him like that. And cunning Albus... in my head Albus got sorted into Slytherin so I had to make him devious.

Aaliyah is straight forward, isn't she? And I'm really happy to hear that you think she's witty! I tried to write her like that but wit isn't easy to write in my opinion.

Is it bad that I'm really happy that you want to smack Albus? That was kind of the goal. He's supposed to be a real jerk in the beginning. It's the Potter charm. That's why you like him even though you shouldn't. No one can resist the charm, not even me. I'm now really interested in "Transparent." I mean a cunning Teddy Lupin sounds so intriguing. How can you not like manipulate, cunning male characters?

I thought it would be a good twist to have her say no at first. And I can't see her giving in that early but she does... eventually.

Thank you for the wonderful, sweet review! I had a great time doing our swap!


 Report Review

Review #25, by wolfgirl17 Albus: The Family

15th July 2015:
Hey Sama,

Wolfgirl back again with your requested review form over at the forums. As always you have a fantastic fic on your hands.

Also, what a monster of a chapter! And I noticed that the next one is even bigger. I will say that you certainly have a gift because usually when I see such long chapters I begin to despair, but your writing is so immersive that it all passes quickly, with all the enjoyment and marvel I've come to expect from your fantastic writing.

I did find this little mistake, if you have time to do an edit of the chapter:

“Yup. Who knew getting through hungry teenagerss would be that hard?” she thinks aloud.

You've got that double s there as a tiny typo. I also found this one:

"She doesn’t giving him any attention though. Instead, she’s smiling at James and he’s smiling at her back."

and this one, where you accidentally wrote boyfriend instead of girlfriend:

“Anyway… Aaliyah, I’m Lily which you already know since you used to come to our house like all the time, but now that you are my brother’s boyfriend, I’m your sister-in-law.”

I really liked the way you developed their relationship some more during this chapter, though I still have so many questions of where it's going to go and what they're all hiding. Why did Fred screw her over? Why did he cheat on her? Why do they need to pretend to be together?

As always, this chapter was wonderfully exciting and engaging. If you have time, make sure to do a thorough edit, as I noticed a few more typos throughout. Great story.


Author's Response: Yeah, chapter 6 and 7 are quite long! That tends to happen at times! Sorry about the length but it's great to hear that you didn't get bored with how long it is.

I actually just went back and edited everything you pointed out as well as change like like to fancy in Chapter 5. Thank you so much for pointing the mistakes out. I'm terrible at editing... it's the one thing I like to avoid when it comes to writing.

Ah, Fred... poor soul. Well, not really. I think that's revealed in Chapter 11 so it's a couple chapters away haha. The pretending is because they both feel like the owe Gabby and James. And because of something that Ronan has (that'll come later as well).

I'll probably go back and edit over it again because I know I still missed a bunch of things. I'm going to make myself sit down and do it in the next few days... I'll put a ban on writing the next chapter if I don't edit the old ones. :P That'll probably get me to do it.

Thank you for the lovely review as always! It's been very helpful! Not only the typos you found but your questions. They remind me of what I haven't revealed yet and what I need to explain more in depth.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>