Reading Reviews for George's Girl
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by brttknee Smiles

7th February 2014:
Loved the flashback! Just wished it was a bit longer. And more George/Angelina action!!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by brttknee The Leathery Scent of a Quaffle

7th February 2014:
Really love this story!

 Report Review

Review #3, by emia23 Smiles

14th January 2014:
I was so thrilled when I found your lovely story! I love George and Angelina, but there aren't so many stories about them and those that are are mostly not so good, but this story...oh how lovely it is! The feeling you create is so heart wretching, you laugh and cry and just love them both so much. This is just how I figured them to be.

I also love that you sometimes repeat the same situation, so that we get to read it from both's point of view. I'm so looking forward to follow them all the way! Thank you for letting us follow this lovely couple!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsCloWeasly Smiles

12th December 2013:
I hope you finish this story!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Scottiexlark Smiles

2nd November 2013:
Is this story being continued?

Really enjoy it

Author's Response: Hello! Yes, it is going to be confused, I've recently started university and am just settling in, watch this space! Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by MissesWeasley123 Smiles

20th September 2013:
I was waiting for any of the stories that I followed to update and was excited to see that this had been :)

Ooh, such a powerful chapter! I think you gripped Angelina's confusion for her feelings really well. As always I felt for George and my heart really does go out with him. I hope he gets better.

I also thoroughly enjoyed the flashback. I think you wrote eleven year old Angelina perfectly also. You write kids really well.

Keep up the great work, I highly anticipate the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you very much :)

Yes, Angelina is very very confused! But that's for the best I think, at this point George still needs Angelina to be a friend rather than anything more.

I'm glad you enjoyed the memory, I wasn't entirely sure if it would work!

Thank you again! I'll tell my fingers to get typing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Smiles

20th September 2013:
Yay, an update! As always, I simply loved it. I really enjoyed seeing the moving out from Angelina's POV and love that she's almost falling for George but doesn't even realise it yet. The memory was ADORABLE! I really liked that she based her decision on which house she wanted to be in from her brief encounter with the twins. The story with the spider was my favourite part, I can imagine a couple who were in different houses would argue about where their children would be sorted, it reminds me of my friend and her partner arguing over which football team their son will support! I'm sad this one was a little shorter but you could write a 10 thousand word chapter and I'd still want more ;) As always, looking forward to the next.

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad you liked it! I was really worried about this one, as it's a little different from the previous chapters. The wait for it to be validated didn't particularly help!

The memory was something that's been in my mind for ages now, and I was trying really hard to find a place where I could fit it in and for it to make sense, so I'm really pleased you think it works.

The next chapter will be longer, I promise. Though I have been suffering from the dreaded writers block :S I think I'm past it, and will try and finish chapter 7 asap :)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 The Purple Haired Baby

12th September 2013:
Okay, I know, I kind of like totally cheated and didn't review the other chapters BUT I'll try and leave an extra long one. I'm just not a big fan of typing, and hate leaving short reviews these days... the two don't go well together.

Yes I'm weird.

Anyway, SO. GOOD. Lemme just say, that you as an author - your writing technique among other little tidbits of your writing is fabulous. The way you portray the sadness, the love, and everything in between is just so amazingly done. I think you are so talented, truly.

I love the inclusions of Ginny, or Ron, and Teddy in this chapter. I think I loved this sentence though, for the relationship it showed between George and his "girl":

He didn't know whether hugs were a particularly effective means of communication, however George tried hard to convey how grateful he was to Angelina through that hug. Without her, he might still have been in bed in the darkened room he used to share with Fred at the Burrow, closed off to the world and open only to the all -encompassing grief that had come from losing his brother.

Oh that was so perfect. Why can't I write like that... Just keep on writing like this. Trust me, you'll be so loved. Even if it's just me and Dee right now haha, trust me - you'll be great even if it your first. I think you do a well job with everything - and you don't rush their relationship. So yay!

Thanks for giving me an amazing read, and I cannot wait for the updates!

Author's Response: Thank you for getting past your dislike of typing to leave me a review :D You are way too complimentary of my writing, but I am glad you like it :)

I'm not too worried if not many people read my story, the reviews that I've had from you and others are all so positive and kind that I am happy enough :D

Again, thank you thank you thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by MissesWeasley123 The Leathery Scent of a Quaffle

12th September 2013:
Wait, can I just say this is perfect?

Oh, I can't? Darn...

But I'll be a rebel and say it anyway. So perfect. Ahhh I'm falling in love with Angelina and George... noo... I'm already too soppy and weak. I can't have this many feels!!!

But whatever, this story makes me feel fuzzy :)

I loved the little tidbits about Fred in this. Again, my heart aches so much. So so much.

"I know...it's not right or healthy, but what right do I have to be healthy and happy when Fred is dead?" he whispered, his uncertainty and confusion almost childlike.

I literally just died right there. That one line, took my breath away. It was just so, out of this world.

You're doing a great job with this.

Author's Response: Haha! Thank you! This review made me smile a lot. I am now incredibly proud that I have written something that makes someone feel 'fuzzy' :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by MissesWeasley123 Getting back on the broomstick

12th September 2013:
Hiya! I'm back on a computer and just couldn't wait to finally get reviewing!

So, to be honest, I'd heard Dee gush about this ages ago. I really, truly did want to read it... but I just don't read George/Angelina fics. Maybe because they were never really talked about and just forced on us during the epilogue and whatever JKR bestowed upon us afterwards.

But seriously, this is awesome.

Ginny was a Weasley I never warmed up to. I found her a bit annoying but I love how you make her. I think she's fabulous. You make her so much more alive and loving I thoroughly enjoy her quirkyness among other parts of her personality.

George. Poor Georgie :( You made me remember everything I had felt during those few moments in which Fred has passed and oh my merlin, you made it so emotional. I think you painted his ache beautifully - even if it was in a dark way.

Again, Angelina - not talked about but I love this side of hers. As an author I think you do a brilliant job at making me believe that this is how Angelina Johnson is - she's smart, funny, and loving.

All in all, I think this was a great first chapter and an absolute milestone to set if this was your first fiction. Keep on writing amazingly like this!
Nadia :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you like it, especially as you usually don't read George/Angelina fics!

I always found it hard to decide what I though of Ginny, especially as book and film version seemed to conflict so much. I kind of just decided to make my Ginny enthusiastic about making sure her older brother gets better. I'm relieved that she has been well received.

Writing grief is hard, especially when it's impossible to understand what it must feel like in that situation. I assumed that George would be feeling a horrible mix of so many emotions, and tried to get that across...

Super pleased you like Angelina :) There's obviously a lot of freedom in her characterisation as she isn't mentioned massively in the books, but I'm glad she's believable :)

Again, thank you for the lovely review :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by prefectperfect Getting back on the broomstick

12th September 2013:
This is so good :) can't wait to read the rest of the story :) xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I've started the sixth chapter, and hope to have it finished and uploaded fairly soon :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by StellaRose The Purple Haired Baby

12th September 2013:
Hey there!

I really really like this and think it's very well done. I think your pace is good. As George has been through so much it would seem unrealistic if he jumped into any relationship. Your characterization of Angelina is perfect. She's spunky and just how I imagined her to be.

The only part that threw me for a loop was when George said he felt as though his family liked Fred more than they did him. That just didn't seem convincing to me for some reason. I think it would have helped if he had the conversation with family members.

I LOVED the interaction between George and Ron. It felt so natural and true to their characters.

Another thing you did really well was show the stages of George's grieving. The cooking actually made sense to me. Since he and Fred were constantly creating new products it made sense that he would give cooking a try! I'm really glad he's back at his shop :)

Besides that minor thing though I really enjoyed this. I can't wait for the next chapter to see where you go with this so keep them coming :)

--Emmy

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm glad you liked my characterisation of Angelina, I wasn't entirely sure how to play her, given that she was a fairly minor role in the series, but I kind of just went with it.
I also loved writing the bit between George and Ron! I wrote the dialogue first and then filled it in so that it would help it to show them bouncing off one another.
And I am really glad that you think George's grief is believable. It's such a difficult and sensitive topic to deal with, especially in terms of how quickly he gets better.
The thing about saying the Weasley's liked Fred more... it is ridiculous, I agree. But that's kind of the point. It's something that doesn't fit in because it's not true in the slightest. I think we'd be surprised about how much George's confidence rested in being with Fred, and now that Fred's gone, it would kind of make sense that he's thinking about how the world sees him as an individual, rather than as a pair? I hope that makes sense.
Again, thanks for the lovely review and for reading my story :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotter The Purple Haired Baby

11th September 2013:
I got so excited when I saw you'd updated! Every time I read a new chapter I think to myself 'THIS is my favourite chapter so far' and then you write a new one and that becomes my favourite. This one was no different!

I for one loved that there was more interaction with George and his family in this chapter, it gives the story so much more depth than if it was all George and Angelina. I liked that it was such a rollercoaster to read. I teared up when he was holding Teddy and a laughed a lot at his and Ron's conversation. As always, amazing job! This story should have way more recognition, I adore it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy that you seem to be enjoying this story as much as I am enjoying writing it :) I'm glad you enjoyed George's interaction with Ron etc. I think that it's important to realise that it's not just Angelina who's helping George to get better. I'll get writing that next chapter now...

 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotter Piece of Cake

27th August 2013:
Awww! This is absolutely my favourite chapter so far, it's not surprising at all that you're pleased with it! The idea of George baking a cake is just adorable and I could picture him perfectly in my head covered in food with flour in his hair :D As always the pace was just excellent, he's not better by any means but he's getting there slowly and I love that. I really liked that he made the step on his own rather than being encouraged by angelina though she was his motivation. Again, your attention to the little details astounds me, even down to the little games in the office and angelinas list of rules, number 7 made me laugh! Just excellent, really. I can't praise your story enough :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much :D Your reviews are lovely and make me ever so happy.

 Report Review

Review #15, by HeyMrsPotter A Bacon Sandwich and 'Pain-Away' Potion

21st August 2013:
As with the previous two, I thoroughly enjoyed this chapter! I love how you're pacing everything, that there's a hint of something between them, they have good chemistry, but I know it's not going to be an immediate thing. I'll be eagerly anticipating the next instalment :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I wasn't so sure about this chapter, but I'm glad you like it :) I have already written the next chapter, and am really happy with it, so it should be up fairly soon!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Siriusgirl The Leathery Scent of a Quaffle

18th August 2013:
I love this story! Keep it coming!
You write George very believably, the grief is so raw. The way he goes from depression to anger is very realistic and I could feel it! I can't wait to see how their relationship develops!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Siriusgirl Getting back on the broomstick

18th August 2013:
This is so sad yet so well-written! Fred's death had to be the hardest on George, Fred's twin and the more sensitive twin :(. It was sweet that Ginny thought of one of his old school friends and teammate to help him. Can't wait to see where this goes

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you think that George was the more sensitive twin, that's the idea I had always had as well. I'm glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by HeyMrsPotter The Leathery Scent of a Quaffle

18th August 2013:
Hello, I'm back again!

This was another brilliant chapter! The way your portraying George's grief is perfect, I think he would need a big emotional outburst like this to start him on his road to recovery, I'm glad Angelina was there to help him through it though.

Once again, the little details amazed me. I laughed out loud at the extendable ear story, if I hadn't read the HP series so many times I would have sworn that was something that came from JKR herself; it was just so perfectly in character for Fred and George! I liked that you mentioned it, most people in fanfiction never talk about George's ear, I guess it's a piece of information that gets lost in the deathly hallows because so much happens after it.

Anyway, excellent chapter! I've been looking for a new story to follow for months and I've definitely found it. Adding to my favourites and eagerly awaiting the next instalment :)

Author's Response: Thank you for both of your lovely reviews! I really appreciate the enthusiastic and positive feedback :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotter Getting back on the broomstick

18th August 2013:
Hello! I came across your author page in the Hufflepuff common room (I'm a badger too!) and decided to check out your story. I have to say, I'm glad I did! I've read post-war stories before about Harry Ron and Hermione but never one about George so this was a lovely change for me.

I really like how you started with Angelina and how George distracted himself by helping her. Their little interaction really sets the tone for the story and their relationship. The transition from the time immediately after the war to one month later was really smooth and I liked that you don't just have everyone suddenly better and back to normal, they're trying and it's a gradual process.

George's grief is described beautifully, I almost teared up! Of course he wouldn't just become his old self again, I've read stories where he features as a minor character and is up to his old tricks a matter of days later and it's so off putting. I love the way you had him isolated from the family and lying in his room thinking of happy times with Fred.

What I loved the most about this was your attention to detail, canon and your own ideas. Little things like Neville setting off the detonators, mentioning the owl order service the twins had and Molly's insistance that she would remove the marks really made this first chapter perfect. I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Just looked back at this first review from you and realised that I hadn't responded! It still makes me smile, your reviews are always so rewarding for me to read, thank you for each and every one of them!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Catie The Leathery Scent of a Quaffle

31st July 2013:
I just finished reading the whole short story! It was amazing and so different! It made me laugh and brought me to tears! You did a really great job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much :) Glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Scottiexlark Getting back on the broomstick

27th July 2013:
Keep up the great work! Fantastic start'

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login