Reading Reviews for Just Another Picnic
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Bonus! Scorpius

12th July 2014:
I can't believe this is the last Chapter! Fred and James are just the same as ever. I really feel for Ginny having to keep an eye on the pair of them.
I really enjoyed meeting the Malfoys. I liked seeing how much Draco had changed since his Hogwarts days. And seeing how much being a Malfoy affects him and his family in the Post War Wizarding World. Its nice to see that the kids don't judge Scorpius because of his family and invite him on a tour of WWW!
Lockharts back?! I think I'll avoid Flourish and Blotts then :) !
I've really enjoyed reading this whole fic, and meeting each of your NextGen characters, and watching them develop and grow! I love your sense of Humour and you've had me laughing many times throughout the course of me reading this fic!

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Good thing we added a bonus chapter if you didn't want it to end. :)

I wanted to explore the Malfoys since they weren't exactly on goods with either side. I saw post-war Draco as somebody who doesn't want his son to experience what he did. But Albus is way cool to have a playmate, and Lily's just sweet to everyone.

Lockhart was a brilliant brainstorm of mine. At least he actually has his own story this time.

Thank you, thank you ever so much for your great reviews! We really appreciate them, and we look forward to any (humor) writing you do in the future. Us and our cinnamon rolls. ;)
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #2, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Hugo

12th July 2014:
Hermiones comment about Hugo keeping still otherwise he'd fall out of the wrong fireplace is something I can really see her saying. She clearly worries about her children so much.
I really liked reading the part about Teddy and Victoire. They are so perfect together! and I hope that she doesn't get into any trouble for "borrowing" Fleur's hair clip.
Hugo used Magic! I can really picture that scene with Albus desperately trying to recatch the snitch! And Louis and Roxannes tea party is so sweet. I can understand why he wouldn't want any of his Hogwarts friends to see that picture.
I think the thing I like most about this chapter is how the Kids go from not wanting to be caught on camera, to begging Hugo to take pictures of them along with other members of their family!

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Hermione was pretty easy to write about--she would certainly be the concerned mother.

I so love Victoire and Teddy! He's the only one who can keep her happy. I almost wish there was another Triwizard Tournament so Teddy can take Victoire to the Yule Ball. But I settled with this. ;)

I'm happy you liked the Snitch scene, it wasn't #1 on our favorite ideas list. Louis was the big shocker since he was never too attached to his family, but this is a little glance of how much he loves them (though he doesn't show it).

When you have uncles like Ron and George, you most certainly want a picture with them! The way the uncles treat their nieces and nephews is kind of like how our dad is with our cousins, so I liked writing about them.
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #3, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Lily

12th July 2014:
Yay, James and Fred finally got a taste of their own medicine! And its their own fault too! They shouldn't have taught Lily and Roxane how to prank, and they shouldn't have pranked Albus! Its really nice that Teddy got involved and helped them set up the Prank. I have a feeling that they'll be made to clean up all the mess (despite what Lily thinks)! Arthur charming the paint never to dry, that's definitely something I can see him doing (albeit only after the twins had moved out)!
I really hope that Dom's wrist gets better soon, and that it'll be healed enough to start Quidditch practice soon!

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, I thought it was a cool idea for Lily to flip the tables on James, and how Roxanne jumps right in too. I was planning on the adults cleaning up the mess magically, since I bet some of them thought it was a fantastic "surprise" for the boys. Ah, Arthur and his muggle stuff. He would do stuff like that. Dominique will be fine by the next day; some skelegrow and a restful-sleep-potion and she's be all healed!
Thanks so much for all the reviews! They truly made our day. :)
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #4, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Roxanne

12th July 2014:
I really liked how the girls banded together, to form their own Quidditch team, after the boys wouldn't let Roxanne play! I like how Dom's still the practical one and comes up with the rules for "Quidditch on the Ground"! The game becomes so much more interesting when Al and Hugo join. I adore the sibling rivalry between the Potters, lily fuming that Al is on her team, because that means she can't tackle him, is perfect and hilarious!
It's nice that Molly has found someone who likes to read and spend time with her, I used to worry about her being lonely, so I'm glad her and Rose have become close!
James and Fred's input is so completely them, all they want to do is cause trouble :P

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Yup those girls sure do like quidditch! ;) Haha yes I can also picture lily fuming about the fact that she has to share the "girls only" game with her brother. Oh, Fred and James. 'Nuff said. ;)
Thanks for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #5, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Albus

12th July 2014:
James trying to get out of seeing the Dursleys with fever fudge- priceless! Is he suffering from Dursleyitus? I laughed so much when I read Harry and Ginny's muttered discussion about Quintons present! At least one of them can apparate and the Quinton will be none the wiser. I really don't like Dudleys daughter either. Trying to force the truth out of James, and she has Dudley wrapped around her little finger!
I bet the boys and lily are glad that they get to leave the party much sooner than they expected after the little incident with the clown! Just out of curiosity, what did James turn the sheep dog into?

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: In my opinion, this is the best opening to a story--kids trying to get out of dull relative visits.

Ah, isn't that life? You finally force the kids somewhere and find out you left something at home. C'est la vie.

Ceridwen is the Petunia-ish Dudley. She knows how to manipulate people to get what she wants and usually what she wants is snobbish. I actually read a book where somebody told part of a truth because the person wouldn't like the full truth, and the person just made a bet about getting out the full truth by that night. Ceridwen is a smart brat.

They're just happy to not have to talk to Ceridwen or Quinton again. :)

We kind of left what James did up to the imagination and didn't plan anything, but I thought he would have transfigured the sheep dog into a white rat.
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #6, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Rose

12th July 2014:
I can totally see Hermione trying to be on time, and having a private desire to arrive before Percy just once. I think Hermione and Ron's interaction sums up their relationship perfectly. I sort of wish Charlie had been their to see his little nephews and nieces argue about which species of dragon was the coolest! (I think he'd agree that the weasley specklebaks are the best though :P ). They were really cute when they were discussing the dragons, and which one to make into their costume. And I loved the parents reaction to suddenly being faced with a dragon! I hope the kids don't tell Hagrid that dragons are ticklish- that would only give him ideas :P !

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup

Author's Response: WEASLEY SPECKLEBACKS RULE! Haha
Charlie would have been proud. :) And yes, Hermione will always have that inner desire to be the best or the first, and Percy is quite the competition when it comes to that. Haha nothing good will come out of Hagrid having the notion that dragons are tickleish!
Thanks for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #7, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Lucy

12th July 2014:
The renaming of the Chess pieces is adorable (the names they give them make a whole lot more sense than the actual names), and I loved reading how much it irritated the chess pieces!
It made me laugh that Percy still expects Lucy to become a prefect, surely he's realised by now that she's a lot more like the twins than him!? I agree with you, Lucy would far rather be Quidditch Captain than a Prefect!
I've never really thought of Lucy being a prankster and really close to FredII and James II, but you've really made me love her character! And I especially love how she's a real pranking mastermind, and shows the boys what they've been doing wrong! If only the person she pranked wasn't Percy- it would have been a perfect prank! OOPS!

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: The chess piece re-naming was something that just came to me as I was writing (as was most of this story, I pretty much started writing and hoped it worked). I'm glad it worked and you liked it!

Oh, Percy knows what his second daughter is like, he just wants to tweak it.

Since Lucy was around Fred & James' ages, she was more influenced by them and Dominique than Molly in my opinion. Besides, with a name like 'Lucy', she's got to have a fun personality. She's got some Percy in her--but she uses it for laughs. Though unlike Percy's pranking brothers, she does not target him. That was a funny coincidence.
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #8, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged James

12th July 2014:
James likes treacle tart just like Harry! I love James II and Fred II! They've gone to so much trouble just to get some treacle tart! I love how they always have a plan and managed to come up with a plan B in just a couple of minutes! They really live up to their namesakes!
I am really excited to see what they get up to with the old stuff in Fred and George's room! The families won't be safe for much more :P ! it was definitely a good idea not to eat that puking pastille! As always the humour is fantastic! Sure the parents are 50 years old!

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Heehee this was a fun one to write! Oh, but treacle tart is worth the trouble! ;) Of course they would attempt to eat it; except for the wrapper being completely stuck. *eye-roll* Boys. ;) Heehee I definitely laughed out loud when writing the "50 years old" line. :)
Thanks for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #9, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Fred

12th July 2014:
OOOPS! They forgot to find Albus! I'm really amazed at how a little boy managed to stay hidden in the coat closet!
But It's really cute how the boys are playing with their little sisters, and teaching them how to Prank! I bet George would be proud (the others not so much)!
Poor Angelia having to attend a meeting that Percy's chairing, I really feel for her!
It's these little details that you put into your chapters that makes me love them so much!

Clare :)

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Freda wouldn't have any experience forgetting to find someone in Hide-and-Seek, would you, Freda? *cough cough (just kidding)

Thank you so much for another brilliant review! We love your feedback.
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #10, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Louis

12th July 2014:
Personally I liked the fluff, especially since you're writing about children. I feel that I've already gotten to know the characters so well as not only children but as developing personalities! In this chapter I've seen Louis develop through play, and bond with his cousins, Teddy and big sister (albeit after being threatened with losing his desert :P ). I like how you always capture little aspects of magic in your chapters (Teddy the Chameleon) and how the character development of the kids is captured, not just in their own chapter, but in the chapters of the other kids!

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: We like writing about children too. Louis was a little difficult because he's not really interested in his family in our original story, but after several edits, it came together nicely. He warms up to them (with a little help and encouragement). I usually try to include magic as an everyday occurrence (since it really is). We're glad you really like them.

--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #11, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Molly

12th July 2014:
I really feel for Molly, she can't help being a little different from her cousins. It was really interesting to read Molly's thoughts on Lucy. She so clearly loves her little sister, despite wishing that Lucy was more like her. I can feel just how concerned she is for Lucy when she see's her falling off the tree, and James and Fred really deserved to be covered in Apple Goo! Molly's first magic being to humiliate the boys who had put her sister in so much danger is perfect. I know She thinks that she'll end up being in Ravenclaw, but I feel that with all that loyalty she could just, just be a Hufflepuff! I look forward to reading more of Molly, will she and Rose become close?

Hufflepuff for House Cup!
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: She's different just like her father, or her Aunt Hermione. Still, at the end of the day she cares more for her younger sister than even her school-work, and that's saying something! In our novella we "learn" that Molly's boggart is Lucy being less than alive. As far as Rose goes, she and Molly definitely relate very well. They probably could have grown closer than we have written, but I plan to keep that in mind for the future. And yes, Fred and James totally deserved it. ;)
Thanks for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #12, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Dominique

12th July 2014:
Its great to see how Dom's developing, and has realised that the little one's aren't all that bad! Molly and Lucy are so incredibly different. Percy must be shocked at how different Lucy is from him and Molly! Dom's such a great teacher and I can feel how concerned she is for Lucy when she falls off the broom! She's really bright too, realising that little Lucy won't be able to catch apples! I really want to read more of Lucy and see what these two get up too. It seems to me that despite the age difference these two are going to be so incredibly close as they grow up!

House Cup 2014 Review!
Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Thanks! These two might be our favorite girls of all the cousins. I loved writing their sisterly friendship at a young age; since these two will become closer to each other than to their true sisters. Granted they are quite different from their sisters: Victoire perks up at "Teddy" and Dominique perks up at "quidditch" or "flying"!
Thanks for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #13, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Victoire

12th July 2014:
It's strange seeing the extendable ears used for a sensible "adult" reason, instead of being used to listen in on the Order, or to spy on People. I take back what I said last chapter, George has grown up a little bit :P
I love how Bill knows just what to say to get Victoire to agree to babysitting- Teddy! And that Hermione is watching Vic help Rose up the stairs with her "anxious stare", that capture Hermione perfectly!
And Teddy is clearly the best big brother/cousin in the world. I really like how he patiently changes his hair colour and keeps up with the demands of the little ones! I love how the first person he "turns into" is Vic!

Clare :)

House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: I was trying to think of the best wizarding version of a baby monitor; and Extended Extendable Ears were perfect. Well if nothing else it's an extra money maker since they already have it "patented", and we all know Ginny would have a fair supply of them as it is! Heehee those are all great lines! This epishort is probably one of my favorites, even though it seemed rather lame when I first started writing it. I'm glad you liked it!
Thanks for the review!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #14, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Teddy

12th July 2014:
Teddy is so sweet. I really like the way he's really proud of being a big brother to James, and holding tight to him when they're travelling by floo! And how Teddy interacts with Victoire is so incredibly adorable. She clearly hates having to share him with Dom! Teddys approach to people staring in Diagon Alley is perfect! Why would they be staring at Uncle Harry when his hair is bright turquoise?! Its just perfect to see Harry from his perspective, not the War Hero, but the person who loves him and bought him his owl!
George has clearly not changed! He would totally be encouraging rule breaking at an early age!
I love how you used the reds and yellows of the leaves to "build" the Gryffindor common room! Its such a creative idea!
looking forward to Vic and Dom's chapters already!

House Cup 2014 Review!

Hufflepuff for House Cup!

Author's Response: Sorry for the delay in the review responses!
First off, thanks so much! Teddy rocks, doesn't he? ;) Victoire is (going to be) a lucky girl! Yup; of course blue hair is more noticeable than the celebrity aka just plain Uncle Harry. And that's George for you!
Thank you for the review! :)
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #15, by Odie Bonus! Scorpius

15th February 2014:
a very good group of short stories about the next generation. look forward to reading more of your stories!

Author's Response: Thank you! We're planning to write more of these for another family, then our novella is coming out later this spring!

We're glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by jellyfish Lily

3rd January 2014:
Please write more! Love it!

Author's Response: Thank you!
I am happy to say we have much more written than we have posted, so there will be more! After Hugo, we have "epishorts" for Scorpius and Kenway; who will become Albus' best friend at Hogwarts. We're glad you enjoyed reading them!! Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by jellyfish Albus

3rd January 2014:
I like how your story is funny and appropriate for pretty much all ages, as long as you have read the harry potter books! Maybe you could include someones first day at Hogwarts?

Author's Response: Thanks! And thank you for the suggestion, we might use it.
We have a lot of other ideas too, and several are even written in rough-draft form. We are also preparing a novella on Albus' third year at Hogwarts and it is almost completed!

We're so glad you enjoyed our "epishorts"! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by rosaleeweasly James

21st December 2013:
Fifty years old. THAT MADE ME LAUGH SO HARD! That was really cool and the boys were so cute, I think the train of thought of James was really well done. I can't wait to see more!

Author's Response: heehee I might've laughed out loud a little while writing this... ;)
I enjoyed writing the young pranksters, and I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!


 Report Review

Review #19, by rosaleeweasly Fred

21st December 2013:
This was really good! I loved the blanket castle/fort with Roxanne and Lily, but I feel sorry for Albus, being stuck in the coat closet for so long!

Author's Response: Thanks! Blanket forts are really cool! 8-)
I know poor Albus (I realize that sounds weird since I'm the author)...at least they get fudge! (Now that I'm thinking about it, fudge sounds really good right now...)
Anyways, I'm glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by rosaleeweasly Louis

21st December 2013:
W.o.w. this chapter was amazing. Just wow. I don't think it's too predictable at all.

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks!
This was another one that was tricky to write. I'm glad you enjoyed it! And thanks for all the lovely reviews! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by rosaleeweasly Molly

21st December 2013:
I love this. It shows a different point of view from the older cousins, and I feel like I can relate to Molly more. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks! She was fun to write even though it was rather different. Like Percy, it's interesting to see things from their eyes when they might seem extremely boring, especially when compared to Fred/George or Fred II/James.

 Report Review

Review #22, by rosaleeweasly Dominique

21st December 2013:
Lucy is literally the best so far! Dominique wasn't like I thought she would be, but I love the small character development as she starts liking Lucy more and more. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! We really like Lucy too, especially "Georgina".
If you'll pardon the slight cheesiness, these two will "grow up to do great things" (on the quidditch field).
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #23, by rosaleeweasly Victoire

21st December 2013:
Aw! I love it! Teddy is the best and Roxanne, Albus and Rose are super cute! I can't wait to see more of it!

Author's Response: Thanks! This story came out way better than I thought it would--before I started writing it I thought it would be rather lame. I'm proud of how it turned out. Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by rosaleeweasly Teddy

21st December 2013:
This was sooo cute, I absolute love this! Especially the whole common room thing with Do minibus and Victoire :)

Author's Response: Thanks!! :)
I thought it was a nice touch too-- Glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Winnie Albus

20th October 2013:
Awesome story! I love it! Please write more!

:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Rose and Roxanne are on their way; they're just getting some final edits.

Unfortunately I haven't had as much free time as I did in the summer. :/


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>