Reading Reviews for Cosmically Clueless
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by C V. Collective True Love

9th March 2014:
This has been a really fun read so far! :) I love Augusta's voice and can't wait to see what shenanigans she and puppy-eyes James get up to in the coming chapters.

Author's Response: Oh yay, I'm glad you've enjoyed! Augusta's voice is the highlight of the story for me tbh. The shenanigans aren't bad either, I can say that much. Thanks for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #2, by LOLO V. Collective True Love

8th February 2014:
MAKE THEM GET TOGETHER . SOON.. PLEASE.

Author's Response: If only it were that easy! I have a feeling you may enjoy what comes next though ;) Thanks for dropping by!

 Report Review

Review #3, by newgenerationlover V. Collective True Love

30th January 2014:
Totally shipping James and Augusta. Please update soon!!

Author's Response: Hehehe isn't everyone? It very much remains to be seen whether the ship bears out, though ;) I'll try to update as soon as I can, but I do like having stuff prewritten and I haven't had time to write more of this in a while. I'll keep you all posted, I promise. Thanks for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy~

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rumbleroar goes roar V. Collective True Love

30th January 2014:
Aghhh! Loved this chapter and now I really can't wait to see what comes next. :) Poor characters haha...

Author's Response: They aren't characters in a story of mine if they're not being tortured by plot or ~emotions~ or what have you! Thanks for the review and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Reviewy IV. Pie Pressure

29th January 2014:
I just stumbled across your story and I must say I fell in love with it right from the start :) It's just so unique and funny!!!

I hope you update soon :D

Author's Response: Eee, I'm so glad to hear that! Unique, funny, and worthy of being a love-at-first-sight story are all things I strive for. Thanks for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #6, by GingeredTea I. God's Practical Joke

21st December 2013:
I'm spreading some Holiday Cheer and asked for some brilliant not-as-appreciated-as-they-should-be stories. Violet Gryfindor put your name up for grabs. So, here I am. And let me say, although this is not normally my "type" of story, this is a very good story and Violet Gryfindor made a good choice. :)

I really liked your beginning - choosing to start the story from a slight distance voiced through someone we don't know. It was an appealing entrance.

This made me burst out laughing: /Let me assure you, though, that Iím not the kind of witch that worships the ground he walks on or tries to fish his used tissues out of the rubbish bin to hug before bedtime instead of stuffed animals or, barring that, emotionally unavailable parents./

I love this narrator and the humor you have used. Great job.

This was wonderfully put together and I am so glad Violet Gryfindor recommended you. I hope this unexpected review spread a little more cheer on your holidays. :)

Happy Holidays!
Review what you Read!
Tory

:)

Author's Response: Ahh sorry for the response delay; it's been a busy few weeks for me, but this truly did brighten my day. I have to thank Susan for recommending me, but of course, thank you for reviewing at all! Truly a little bit of holiday cheer :)

I'm glad you liked that beginning! I love the idea of starting a story off with a distance that implies third person POV but is all of a sudden revealed to be first person, so that's what I was going for. And hehe that's one of my favorite pseudo-run-on sentences, which is saying something, because Augusta has a lot of those. I love her for it and I'm glad you do too.

Again, thank you so much for this little gem of a review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by willow1 IV. Pie Pressure

11th December 2013:
This is utterly hilarious! I love it! I love the line "I just realized that I would sell my soul for food"!

Author's Response: Hehe thank you! I feel like lots of people would sell their souls for the right food at the right time. (Like right now, I think I would kill for gelato). Thanks again for the review, and hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Rumbleroar goes roar IV. Pie Pressure

9th December 2013:
Haha oh I LOVED her dorm mates interactions. So hilarious! Ha loved the Legilimancy/Occlumency so I'm glad you got mixed up and included it :P
Really loving this story!

Author's Response: Yaay, glad you liked it! And hehe writing in that scene is probably the best decision I've made in this fic ever. Thanks for the review and I hope you continue to enjoy.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Didi IV. Pie Pressure

8th December 2013:
"It sounds like Legless-ly" This chapter was hilarious!

And James seems adorable. I feel like Augusta over-exaggerates his cluelessness.

I love your characters! And their ridiculous fangirling!

Amazing as always!

Author's Response: Teehee thank you! And it's interesting you mention that. Augusta is definitely not a strictly reliable narrator, but her POV and how she acts according to that POV that moves the story forward. That doesn't mean James /isn't/ clueless, because he clearly is, but he's not hopeless. Maybe. Anyway, thank you so much for the review! Hope you continue to enjoy.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Rumbleroar goes roar III. Frisson Instead of Fusion

17th October 2013:
Poppy seems like such a interesting character! I love her already. I especially love reading about your characters interactions. You really pull me into the story. Cannot wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Augusta obviously is my baby, but Poppy is such a doll and they really work well bouncing off one another. I'm so glad you liked them interacting because dialogue is my favorite part of writing anything, and this cast of dummies is one of my favorite casts ever and the dialogue so far is kind of a blast. I will update kind of soon (comparatively speaking?) but never fear, I am here~ Thanks so much for a lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sun Lovegood III. Frisson Instead of Fusion

13th October 2013:
If you dont update this asap, Your in big trouble because this was some of the most promising fics o have read in a long time

Author's Response: Hahaha I will keep that in mind! Thank you for the threat (I swear, I will not keep you waiting for an unreasonably long time) and for the compliment :) Hope what's coming up will live up to your expectations!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumbleroar goes roar II. Love Story for the Ages

6th September 2013:
I love your writing! It just flows so naturally and smoothly and I can feel the personality of your characters peeping through. Really good job I can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I try to do my best to do justice to these characters I really do love. Even when they misbehave, cough cough. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Poisoned Lily II. Love Story for the Ages

31st August 2013:
*squeals* You updated! (I don't normally do that, but seeing your story literally made me do that. Out loud. My cat's looking at me like I'm a complete weirdo, which I may well be.)
This is really, really good, and I cant wait to see what happens in the next chapter. I loved all the little bits about the talent show, as they really gave me an idea about the characters and Hogwarts. And a lobotomy? And falling in love with a mermaid? Hahaha!
Update soon? Please? :D

Author's Response: HI CAT! Sorry, I get distracted by cats -- buuut yes I did, and I squealed (mentally -- I'm a quiet person) to see such an enthusiastic review. I love creating different versions of Hogwarts through my fics and this heightened, crazy, James-worshipping one is one of my favorites to do. There's no limit to how far shenanigans will go! Talent shows, lobotomies, mermaid love -- that sounds like a tagline on its own. Thanks so much again for the review! Updates (for now anyway) are not far away, I promise :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by TearsIMustConceal I. God's Practical Joke

31st August 2013:
It is so refreshing to see James in a different light! Don't get me wrong, I do enjoy the usual portrayal of him and I am guilty of writing him in that way but wow, it's good to see him a bit differently. I love the element of him being clueless about girls and oblivious to their. And his affectionate side is endearing, the song about his dead dog? It makes me want to hug him.

I loved the opening so much, you're writing is absolutely amazing! It flows perfectly and the conversational element really works. And Augusta, what can I say? I absolutely love her, she has the perfect combination of sarcasm and wit and does it in a way that isn't horrible. She's intriguing and already loveable and I really can't wait to read more of what she has to say about James and life in general.

I can't wait to read the next chapter which I am definitely doing after this!

Author's Response: Haha, I don't blame you at all! We all have our weak spots for hot guys being hot and/or arrogant and/or perfectly aggravating and/or perfect. I've written my fair share of them in the past too ;) But yes, it's always fun to do something different with a character's fanon image and derpy James is no exception. He's such a sweetie but so, so dumb. (And hot. Never discount the hot).

Ahh thanks so much! I'm glad it all works. My first-person, as I'm sure lots of first-person in fanfic is, tends towards the conversational and snarky and kind of dumb, so I'm glad it works for the story and for Augusta. Who in every respect is my baby, so I'm very happy to hear she isn't horrible! Let's just say she thinks rather highly of her intuition and her observational skills, and she's right as much as she is wrong. Shenanigans!

Thanks so much for such a great review and I hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #15, by Violet Gryfindor II. Love Story for the Ages

27th August 2013:
Well, it looks like James is more on top of things that Augusta gives him credit for, haha. She's definitely in for it if the rumour mill gets a hold of her, and I can just imagine the capers that will ensue as a result. There needs to be a rule about stories being too much fun to read because now my face hurts from ginning so widely the whole time I read this chapter. It's way too much fun to hear Augusta digging herself into the biggest verbal messes possible. I love how she keeps talking about how hopeless James is when she's often just as bad as he is. The whole lobotomy speech... I can't even think about it without laughing. Brilliantly done, Gubby!

This is one of the rare stories that needs to be written in first person for it to work so well. Much of it relies on Augusta's own brand of insanity, and you make the first person voice highly effective too, such as at the end, when Augusta's mortification sets in. I enjoy her digressions - which are all of just the right length, revealing fantastic things about both James, herself, and the world of Hogwarts at the time (I especially liked the talent show with the image of the cello spitting fireworks - perfect perfection right there). The style is just fantastic, both easy to read and engaging, with many, many laugh-out-loud moments.

That's all the rambling I can manage for the moment. Needless to say I'm loving this story and hope that you're able to write more of it soon. Your writing is, as always, the best of the best.

Author's Response: You know how I love my occasionally unreliable narrators hehe. I love undermining them because mine, at least, tend to be very put-together but secretly aren't at all. And teehee I can promise that many, many capers will ensue (I can't use that phrase without thinking of Gina's Capers, so thanks for that, Gina). I'm so so so happy I can make you happy with this story, Susan! It makes me happy to write too -- and reread, actually, which is a huge deal. That lobotomy speech was a coup, I must admit. I was so afraid it would be too over the top but I'm glad it worked.

Yes, I agree; I think Augusta in anything but first-person wouldn't work nearly as well. Her brand of insanity depends on her assumptions of others' respective brands of insanity, and we'll see it when we meet more people, but she has a lot of assumptions, and she's wrong as many times as she's right. I was nervous about all the digressions too, because there weren't nearly as many in the first draft a year ago. I just love thinking up new things crazy fangirls do in pursuit of their One True Love.

That's plenty of rambling, and it didn't even feel like rambling because everything you say sounds like an eloquent, amazing critique. I'm so so happy you're enjoying it! I have a few chapters prewritten but I don't want to post them all at once because then I'll run out very soon, but rest assured, an update is on the books for the next few weeks! Thank you, thank you, thank you for being an angel!


 Report Review

Review #16, by handknittedsweaters I. God's Practical Joke

21st August 2013:
I always like reading about beautiful people, so James is checking that off the list, and I do like a James who isn't so savvy and good with the girls. Augusta seems like she'll be a pretty awesome character! I like that she had the backbone to tell James she liked him even as a wee fourteen-year-old. Also, your writing style/ this character's voice is so witty and entertaining :) Excited to see what will transpire!

Author's Response: Who doesn't like reading about attractive people? James is a derpy hottie, I think, so hopefully he's fun to read about (he's certainly fun to write). Augusta is really the reason I resurrected the fic in the first place. That voice stuck with me ever since I first wrote this last year. She wouldn't say she had backbone -- more likely she'd use that as evidence of her own idiocy. I'm glad you see that in her, though; there has to be some Gryffindor qualities in her personality. Thanks so much for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #17, by K I. God's Practical Joke

19th August 2013:
One word: awesome! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: That's a pretty great single word to choose. Thank you so much for reviewing and I hope you enjoy what's to come.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Poisoned Lily I. God's Practical Joke

17th August 2013:
Haha this is really good! I like how original this story beginning is, at least I haven't read a first chapter quite like this before. Please update soon!

Author's Response: I do strive to be original, even the lighter, fluffy fics like these, so thank you very much for reviewing. Hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #19, by soliloquy I. God's Practical Joke

21st July 2013:
OH MY GOODNESS, GUBS. REAL LIFE EATS ME FOR A WEEK OR SO AND THERE'S A NEW FIC TO READ.

You are a Goddess, but of course, you know that by now.

I love James and his guitar playing and Augusta and this story. And the shiny banner.

This is a wonderful first chapter that introduces us to James in a way that's frankly, original. I love the little bits of meta -- I would tell you a cute story about how that happened, but that's played out and annoying, so no.

THE BEST. I'm looking forward to good quips by Augusta because you write wonderfully witty replies (wow, that alliteration. HAHA) and I'm really looking forward to her observations because you definitely have some awesome, astute meta-observations about real life and fiction and popularity and humans and food.

I love you & this story & I can't wait to squee to you about it later and I'm sorry this doesn't make more sense but I love this. (which i can repeat a couple more hundred times if you'd like)

I'M SO GLAD YOU DECIDED TO POST. AH. -squeals and rolls around on the floor and the bed in a blanket burrito-

♥ ♥ ♥ lots of love!!

Author's Response: TANYA! I'm sorry I didn't give you advance notice! This was a spur of the moment deal. I'm not 100% sure it's up to snuff, but I do love it so much, and I love you more. Hehe I do love my meta lines, and being ~original~. If only I was as good at being quippy irl as Augusta is, I think I'd be set.

This review made me so happy, girlie :) I'm so happy to have you as a reader and friend and I can't wait to see what you think! Thank you for stopping by as always!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rumbleroar goes roar I. God's Practical Joke

21st July 2013:
Oh wow... This is such a great start to a story! Hahaha the Sparky part made me laugh! I absolutely cannot wait to read more! :D

Author's Response: Heee, laughter and enjoyment were the aims :) Thanks for such a lovely review and I hope the next one doesn't disappoint!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Violet Gryfindor I. God's Practical Joke

19th July 2013:
A new Gubby story! It's fantastic to see that you're still writing! Your next-gen humour stories are always a joy to read. It's funny, though, because I don't read these kind of fics by any other author, but when you write them, I know they're going to include hilarious, but multifaceted characters who kick cliches aside and take over the world. :D And there's of course your perfect writing - you know all the right places to include one-liners and just the right amount of sarcasm. Your use of first-person is also fantastic - even though Augusta doesn't say all that much about herself, her voice comes through so strongly that I can hear it reciting the story. It has a great conversational tone about it that immediately drew me in. She has a lot of personality with plenty of snark to spare, but I guess that's what happens when you're friends James Potter. It's as though she works to make up for James's awkwardness - in this way, they already make a perfect pair.

I've never read a James/OC story before, but I love what you've done so far with this one, especially in the way that you've characterized James. The poor guy is as hopeless as he is dreamy. It reminds me a tiny bit of Sirius in the flashback of OotP where he doesn't notice the girls watching him, but in James II's case, it's more than he's absolutely clueless about it. He doesn't seem to know how to look at a girl romantically. From the anecdote about the family dog, I can see that he's got heart, and his strength in practical magic reminds me of his father - Harry was far from the best student and was pretty darn awkward in his social relationships. Augusta's narration makes it difficult to tell just how much personality James has, if any - he's the dictionary definition of a "nice person", and if he wasn't a Potter or incredibly handsome, he probably wouldn't be noticed at all.

There must be more to him than this. Augusta lists the facts, but I want to learn more about the substance. In other words, I'm intrigued by this story. And its characters. Thus I make the usual request of "please, sir, may I have some more?" It will be fantastic to see where you take this story!

Author's Response: Oh, I'm always writing! The question is just if it's worthy of posting. I'm still not sure this is, but I'm glad you have fun with my stupid next gen oc-centric humor stories because I do too! And yes, I realize there's not a lot from Augusta about herself (the original version from last year had a bit where she addresses this, not sure if I'll use it now) but I'm glad you get a sense of who she is anyway. Hehe I like the way you're thinking! She certainly babysits him enough that they are a very special pair already.

I've read... far too many next gen canon/oc stories to name, though not recently. And I knew from the beginning I couldn't stand to write a perfect, card-carrying member of The Hottest of the Hot Next Gen Canon Characters Club. So instead, he became a derpy idiot.

You've completely hit the nail on the head about the kind of person he is -- he's a totally ordinary Good Guy, thrust into a spotlight he doesn't know what to do with for reasons beyond his control. That's not to say he doesn't have personality (and it's not to say Augusta is the end all be all Expert in All Things James Potter). I'm thrilled that you want to see more of him and Augusta and the whole gang (there's always a whole gang) to come. I'm excited to see where this goes too, because I'm by no means sure... but hopefully it will be fun wherever it goes! Thank you for reading and sticking with me for all this time, Susan. You're a legend :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by nightingale14 I. God's Practical Joke

18th July 2013:
HOLY VERTICAL BANNER
You should know that this is the third time I am typing out this review because the first two times was on my crap phone that does not like submitting reviews at all and I tried anyways-even though I don't like reviewing on my phone-because your story is just too darn good not to review.
Third times the charm?
Anyways, it's...delicious. Honestly. It's fresh and funny. Augusta is sarcastic and engaging and witty. I sped through it like a speed reading demon. It has sort of restored my faith in fanfiction.
Let me explain.
The past few (days? weeks? years?) I've been scrolling through and aside from the one or two updates from some of my favourite stories, there hasn't been much good fresh meat.
But, oh ho, your story takes the fresh meat biscuit!
In fact, you would win the Best Fresh Meat Competition!
If, ya know, there was one.
Oh hey there! You just got your first theoretical award!
All awards aside though, I sincerely enjoyed reading this and I do hope you update with it soon even if it is your "fun fic". I honestly would not care (that much) if the plot wasn't that great. The writing style itself is fantastic!
Good job :)

Author's Response: This review is so spot-on to basically everything I wanted to do with this story. (Even the vertical banner bit, which was justonemorefic's aim and not even my idea). You picked up on everything and gosh, thank you so much for going through all that trouble, especially when you feel that way about fanfic. I completely understand, as I barely read anything these days. I know it takes a lot to put energy into fic, so I'm very glad that I helped restore the faith! And hehe, I will update when I can, all other things considered as well. I hope you continue to enjoy, and thank you again for such a great review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by teh tarik I. God's Practical Joke

17th July 2013:
So you've left me some really awe-inspiring jaw-dropping reviews in the past and I do not forget! Saw your story and penname sitting right on top of the Recently Added and plunged in and I think this is one of the funniest beginnings I've read in a goodly long time. I thought you were going to focus on James Sirius Potter's demigodlikeness and enchanting looks and suaveness, but you did something better, and showed what a bit of an idiot he actually is. The confused personalityless lump with the panty dropper acoustic guitar whom all the girls scream and fawn over in the loo...you've got everything perfectly ridiculous and ridiculously perfectly oh-my-god. Apologies for incoherence; this story has decimated my ability to speak properly.

I'll admit, when I read the smorgasbord metaphor along with its allergy bit, all the array of girls which James is afraid of going near, I honestly thought of STDs. :P Sorry, don't know what this says about me. Except that I'm clearly an idiot. And bahaha! James singing that Song for Someone Special turns out to be Sparky the Spaniel who washes up on the shore. And the LYRICS. Once upon a time it was you and me / But now it's just me and the deep blue sea. SNERKXZ

But moving on, Augusta's voice is just an absolute scream and full of wit and snark and whatever it is, I'm so glad you excavated this out of whatever folder and posted this up! I know you've been around for a long time and you hardly read fic anymore, but honestly this was just brilliant, and I do hope you'll continue to post more chapters!

Loving this so far! ♡ ♡ ♡ And I can't wait to see God's practical Joke in action!

-teh

Author's Response: Ahh okay, I totally did not expect you to review this and I feel so so so bad that this is the first fic of mine you've read. I have this thing where I automatically think the darker fics are better, and so I am mildly horrified that you did read it, but much more humbled and glad that you enjoyed it!

Heh, I suppose it would be tempting to indeed focus on James Sirius Potter's demigodlikeness and how fabulous and mysterious a wizard he is. Because he is all of those things. I love 'confused personalityless lump' -- that's totally it. Not that I think he's particularly personality-less; I think he just happens to fit in the generic Attractive-Sweet Male OC form you see so much, and there's more to him than that. The idiocy, the lameness. (It took me a long time to figure out how to say 'JAMES IS DERPY' without using the word derpy). "Perfectly ridiculous" is what I was aiming for, but "ridiculously perfectly oh-my-god" is a big deal so thank youuu! Incoherence is my middle name.

You know, now every time I read the smorgasbord metaphor, I think of STDs now too! So clearly you're not an idiot. And thank you thank you thank you to all of the things that follow, especially regarding Augusta's voice! Which is the reason I salvaged this at all. I will do my best to update, and hopefully you continue to enjoy. Thank you again so very much! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login