Reading Reviews for Risen: Out of the Ashes
  
117 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Janine Family Ties

17th October 2014:
Nice to get some background on Charlotte's mother. Sad story!
I really like how besides James and Charlotte, other characters evolve throughout the story as well :)

Author's Response: Once again, thanks for the review! :) I've really enjoyed going back with this story and adding some much new content. It's always nice to hear that you guys like it too. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Mizikal Family Ties

16th October 2014:
Love the direction everything is taking so far (although of course I never want anything to happen to James). Thank you for taking the time to go through and re-write/edit this story! One of my favorites.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for taking the time to read this and especially for writing a review! :D Put a huge smile on my face and keeps me doing this. I'm so glad that you are enjoying the re-writes/edits. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Janine Snap!

14th October 2014:
YAY. girlpower! Charlotte finally stood up for herself :)

For a moment I was thinking the slytherin girl might be Ava, but this was also really nice! Cant wait for the next chapter.. Keep it up :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :D

So happy you enjoyed it. Next chapter (family ties) is up now, and I will hopefully have the one after that up soon as well, assuming I can stop working on my actual novel long enough to write the next chapter.

Have a great day (or evening)!


 Report Review

Review #4, by syd Epilogue

13th October 2014:
you are so wonderful. this has been an amazing story. i read it all in less than 24 hours. ooops. what is sleep. it is that good. I AM GOING TO READ YOUR SEQUEL THAT I HOPE EXISTS.

Author's Response: Hi.

That's the kind of stuff a writer wants to hear. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed the story. Check back again in maybe three months and re-read it. I'll be done with all the edits and new material then. Might be a new kind of experience, but only if you want to. :)

The sequel has been started, but not finished, nor have I made the changes I've been considering. Hope you enjoy what's there though (minus a few really depressing chapters.)

Thanks again for the review. Makes my day!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Janine Impact

13th October 2014:
AH. WHAAT? NO!

Okay, so here's my thoughts: I hate Avery. You make me hate him, so that is good about your writing. But I think just just just maybe, you've gone a little far on the drama here! I mean, if someone was making such threats, James or any boy surely wouldn't just let it get to this point really?? Although on the other hand, very chivalrous of him to save up all his anger and fight it out on the pitch.

Anyway I love your story! Keep it up, enjoy reading it so much :)

Author's Response: Hiya!

Glad you're enjoying this! I hate Avery too. I don't even like writing him, but people like him exist, so I continue with it.

Yes, it's definitely a bit dramatic, but that's where writers have fun. I also see it as no one truly expected Avery to follow through on his threats, but they were on edge anyway. Avery is a bully, and a terrible human being, but there's no proof anywhere that he's followed through on every threat he's ever made. There's just rumors surrounding him. Avery is the kind of person that will only hurt people when other's (especially adults) aren't really around. Hitting James, during a rainy storm, high in the sky away from the eyes and ears of everyone is in keeping with his character, i think. Again... no real proof, right?

Anyway, thanks so much for the review. Makes my day getting these. Hope you enjoy Snap! and Family Ties (the next two chapters.) Family Ties is getting added to the queue today and should be available to read in a few days. :)



 Report Review

Review #6, by Janine Breathless

30th September 2014:
I loveee me a bit of drama :) You are annoyingly good at writing cliffhangers btw ;) I keep saying it but thanks tons for writing this!

Author's Response: Hehe- sorry? Nope, not sorry. lol. Seriously though, thanks for the reviews. So freaking happy you're enjoying this. New chapter should be up really, really soon. I hope.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Janine Shattered

30th September 2014:
How do I nominate it?

Author's Response: Nominations are closed... but maybe next year. :) I'm happy knowing people are enjoying this story.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Janine Reparo My Heart

30th September 2014:
Finaly. :) love this!

Author's Response: :) Love hearing that. Thanks for reading. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by AIP Alexander Respect

29th September 2014:
Ok, I feel like such a horrible person write now!! I haven't reviewed in forever! Life's been all over the place and i haven't even been able to work on my upcoming story, which will no doubt be credited to you and your awesome story. Anyway, getting back to your story, i think it is progressing pretty well. I enjoy how you've taken my advice and added more interaction between James and his family, as well as broadening each character's development. This makes the story a thousand times better.
while i haven't been able to read through the whole story from beginning to end like i hoped i would, i haven't left the monumental review i had planned to do, but at least i have keep reading through each new chapter to know what has been going on. On another note, i hope the end isn't as near as you make it out to be because i really enjoyed the part about the confrontation with (i can't remember his name right now :( he comes out near the end of the book) and i really enjoyed how Charlie grew up with the experience, etc... If it is as near as it seems, will you continue the sequel? reading your story is most often the highlight of my week and if you stop writing i'll have pretty much nothing to look forward to...
Anyway, i can't wait for the next one (as usual), and i hope all is well

Author's Response: Hi!

No worries... I completely understand life equalling crazy. Been there one too many times. lol. Please let me know when your story is up... I will be happy to read it. :) Thanks a billion for the kind words.

Really, if it wasn't for your review, this story wouldn't be what it is now. So thank you. It's actually really helped make me a better writer- going back and editing this. It's definitely helped make my novel better. So seriously- again- thank you.

I still have a few new chapters to add... but generally... I think I'm about coming to the end of the story. There will stuff coming up with Georgia and a really great scene I have yet to write between Ginny and Charlotte about Charlotte's Mom. The confrontation with Avery (I'm pretty sure that's what you're talking about) is going to remain. I definitely plan to keep on flushing everything out... and definitely plan on continuing with the sequel.

However, with the sequel, it's not going to be like Risen in the sense of taking place over a school year. Arise has always lived in my head more like snapshots of everyone's life after... so though I might flush it out more... it's going to jump forward in time quite a bit and won't be nearly as long as this one.

There are two chapters in the queue right now... and I'm almost done with another one. :)

Hope life calms down soon and thanks again. Can't say it enough.


 Report Review

Review #10, by AislinMorgan Random Musings

28th September 2014:
First, congratulations on the novel! I hope it got published for you. I, too, am a published author; my first novel was published in 2009. Secondly, I am really enjoying the story. Ith's well thought out and believable and the timeline is consistent (which is actually more rare with many stories here than I would have thought.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Glad to hear from others that the timeline is consistent. I tried. lol.

Still finishing my first novel actually... but I'm coming down the homestretch on finishing that one too. Then I'll start trying to shop it around to get published. Don't know if I'm allowed to ask what the title of yours is. I know privacy is really respected and encouraged on this site.

Anyway, thanks again for the review. As a writer, it makes my day knowing others are enjoying what I'm doing. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Janine Respect

28th September 2014:
It it soo weird, I couldn't see this chapter for a week!! So happy to have the story continued :)

Author's Response: Hi! Weird... there should be other new chapter(s) up now. Coming down the homestretch. I'm going to try and stay with this story until it's finished. Again. Let's hope all my other writing projects don't draw me away.

Thanks for the review! Means the world to me. :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by MRSPOTTER Twenty Questions Part Deux

23rd September 2014:
I LOVE THIS SO MUCH!

Author's Response: Hi!

YAY! Love hearing that. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!



 Report Review

Review #13, by Janine Shattered

22nd September 2014:
It's great! I love this so much! Especially the whole thing with the sisters.. you describe really well how much it hurts to be the one left out, yet not wanting to let them know..Unfortunately I can identify :( Also the athena and the statue from athens? Curious to find out how that worked?? I really want to know a bit more about Charlotte's mother.. how it is that she doesnt care about any of her children? Also want to know a bit more about Georgia's situation here.. and OFCOURSE Charlotte and James should be together till the end! Thanks for writing this.. I'll be checking every day for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so so much for the review. New chapters should be up very soon. :)

I don't yet have any solid ideas on how to explain Charlotte's mother, but I'm sure I'll fit it in somewhere. If not in this story, then I'll try to fit it into Arise, the semi-sequel to Risen.

Also, if you feel like it (and only if you feel like)... if you do really enjoy this story please consider nominating it for a Dobby Award- going on now in the forums.

I hope you like what's coming up! I'm really nearing the end of editing this story. :;sniff sniff::

And again, thanks so so much for the review! Makes my day. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Janine Insecurity

16th September 2014:
So addictive! I think I discovered this story last week or so, and OMG already at chapter 36. I really love it, you have some good characters in there.

Altough you do keep me from studying because I want to read more all the time.. ;)

Thanks so much for writing this!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so so much for the review! Put a huge smile on my face. Thrilled to hear that you love the story, but sorry about the whole getting in the way of studying thing. :p

Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!



 Report Review

Review #15, by HPFAN Stranger Than Fiction

15th September 2014:
Dizzam, that was a sensational chapter. I cant begin to tell you how much I loved reading it. All the information, the character development, the story development, it was all there and all miraculously written. Harper is so much more tangible now and the backstory really helped explain her and Ava. I really loved how much Harper opened up to Charlotte and how she acknowledged that she was still young but couldn't use that as an excuse for everything. It was great to see how Charlotte was somewhat blind to what other people were thinking of her because she was so wrapped up in her own assumptions. All in all an absolutely fantastic chapter that I truly appreciated and thank you for writing. I know I normally thank you for your work and this story, but this chapter gets an extra thanks, in fact it gets a two, so thanks thanks. I really cant wait to see what happens with Al and Ava now and how it will effect the rest of the group.
I was wondering if, after doing all these edits, your ideas for Arise, and its main event thus far, have changed or do you think that the additions to this story cement what happens in the sequel?

Author's Response: Hi Hi!

So glad you like all of that... pretty much got written because of your request for more of Harper. It's really been so great to go back and rework this story into what it should have been the first time around. What happens with Al and Ava will be known in the next two chapters. so you won't have to wait long.

As for your question. I still think I'm going to keep to the events in Arise. It still feels like the right thing, and I think that the new edits are helping to cement that and make it more believable. I know these are fanfics, but I still want to try and make them somewhat believable. People go down different roads.

I was hoping to have the next chapter done already, but I got stung by a bee on my finger the other day, and it swelled up, making typing quite difficult at my normal speeds. However, it is at least halfway done. Hopefully it'll be up in a week... most hopefully the chapter will be finished today.

Love reading your reviews... thank you so so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by HPFAN Insecurity

9th September 2014:
You have such a good touch at creating evil characters. I could never imagine having to deal with people like that and Asher, well lets just say I have dealt with people who treat others like property and its sad way to live. I thoroughly enjoyed how you worked all of these supporting characters into the chapter while still keeping the focus on Charlotte. I also appreciated the amount of time your putting into the Ava and Harpers storyline. I cannot wait to see what happens in the next chapter. I feel giddy every time I read a chapter for this story even when its not happy go lucky. Its just too good. You are too good at this. Thank you for the chapter and the story and thank you for being too good at writing.

Author's Response: Hello my favorite reviewer.

You are far too kind... but like always, thank you from the depths of my heart for the compliments. Puts a smile on my face.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this... and I hope you will thoroughly enjoy the next chapter (which should be up in a few days). I'm a little bit back in the groove with this, so there should be more regular updates, at least for a few chapters. Seriously though, keep any ideas coming. Can't promise I'll fit it all in... but you're (as a reader) able to see things that I don't (or forgot)... so yea.

Thanks again. :D Enjoy what's next! Hopefully.


 Report Review

Review #17, by HPFAN Making It Known

26th August 2014:
Loved the chapter as usual. Glad that James finally made it official even if it was in an embarrassingly public way. I'm also digging how much more back story you are giving Ava and Al. It's really helping the story along and makes future events that much more important. James and Al's relationship is also so much more believable. I would love to see a little more of Harper, to get her perspective of all this and since she and Ava are so close. As always thank you for the story and I cannot wait for the next installment.

Author's Response: Hi hi!

Glad you liked it. Sorry if it wasn't my best work. I'll try and get the next chapter up soonish (in the next two weeks). I will try to work in more Harper, as she's an important secondary character as well. :)



 Report Review

Review #18, by emjacks2795 Epilogue

18th August 2014:
Great, fabulous, fantastic story but please hurry with the follow up chapters as I'm dying to read them! I find out what happens to them all! What happens with charlotte's dad? Will Ava ever swallow her pride? Why is Harper ignoring Charlotte and why did her mum change her mind with the flat and give away lots of the other girls' inheritance? Once again, fab story, joy to read and WELL DONE!!

Author's Response: Hi!

First... you are my 100th review, which feels very special to me... so thank you!

I'm so glad you like the story. I hope you'll go back and read Risen again once I'm done with all the edits.

I hope to answer all the questions I can... but I haven't gotten to them all quite yet in the editing process. If you haven't yet... check out Arise. It's the semi-sequel to Risen. It's not complete yet, and I might end up editing that a bit after finishing with Risen. Hope you like that too.

Once again, thank you so much for reading the story. :D

Have a fantastic day.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lena Final Days of Holiday

11th August 2014:
You said in the AN of the previous chapter that this chaper would be called Definitions. I think you should change that because I got really confused at first. Great chapter, but I think you repeat yourself a bit and in the part where James is looking back on the snow fight, it doesn't exactly match up with his account of when it actually happens. I hope these comments are helpful and not too confusing. I love this story and and glad your back at editing it! Keep up the great work

Author's Response: Hi!

Heh... whoops. You're right. I'll go back and edit that as soon as the queue opens up again. Thanks for pointing that out.

I do realize that some of it is repetitive, but it's all from James POV, and personally, when I'm not sure about something, I think about it often. So the repetitive stuff seems right to me from his point of view, but I'm sorry if that got to be too much.

Glad you enjoy the story though... hoping to have another new chapter up soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by HPFAN Final Days of Holiday

11th August 2014:
Wow did I miss reading this story. Your writing never ceases to amaze me. I absolutely love the scene in the snow, showing how powerful Charlotte is and how well she checks James. I'm really looking forward to the next chapter to see how everyone reacts to James and Charlotte being together. It seems that James still has some work to do to not focus on only. naked wrestling... but it is difficult at that age, hormones are hella powerful. I really enjoy the moments that he and Charlotte share when nothing is really happening. Sometimes a look or a slight embrace means so much more than grand gesture or a "wrestling" session. I know I have said this before but thank you for this story, it is truly intoxicating and worth the wait when you produce chapters like this.

Author's Response: Hi!

Sorry about the delay in posting this new chapter. The next one should be up soon, and more after that. Things got really crazy for a while, and my writer's brain pretty much just shut down.

Someone else commented that this chapter was a little too repetitive, so hope that didn't bother you too.

You'll probably like the next chapter... James does something a little... bold. :)

Hope you've been doing well.



 Report Review

Review #21, by HPFAN New Years Eve

1st July 2014:
This chapter is a perfect example of how James and Charlotte parallel each other. Both view themselves as inferior to the other, causing a sense of fear towards the others realization of their inferiority. James manned up and made a move, and now its Charlottes turn realize how perfect they are together. The fact that James didn't refer to Charlotte as his girlfriend, again, may have something to due with her feelings. Also, sad Asher is sad.
Thank you again for the story and thank you for the chapter. Take your time with next chapters if you need, we shall be here waiting.

 Report Review

Review #22, by M New Years Eve

30th June 2014:
Uh oh! Charlotte's self esteem issues are rearing its ugly head. In my opinion, she needs to confront her parents about their emotional distance for her if she's really going to overcome her self esteem problems.

It will also be interesting to she how James and Charlotte's relationship develops when they go back to Hogwarts. They've been in this cocoon, shielded from the world, during christmas and I'm interested to see what happens when they're back into their world.

A really good chapter. It raises lots of new questions for the next phase of this story.

Love your work and keep it up :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by M Paris

25th June 2014:
Man I just hate Avery. Everything about him just screams out creep. Major kudos for you though, as the writer, for making him seem so deplorable as a person.

It's also nice to see Dom back; it seems like she's finally moved on from the emotional trauma. With Georgia as well, I do love the friendship those three have.

I also have to commend you on your use of language to describe Charlotte's dress and her appearance with all of her make up on. The way you described the dress and her was so intricate, it made it so easy for me to imagine what she looked like in my mind.

Now that I've caught up with all of your updates for Risen, I'm going to head over to Puzzle Pieces...maybe tomorrow though, cause it's past midnight right now! Technically I should say later on in the day :)

Love the chapter and I look forward to the next one.

Author's Response: Hey!

Yes, Avery is a total creep. Not my favorite parts to write, but it's a necessary evil for the sake of the story. haha.

I'm basing Dom's journey off a friend of mine. She went through a very smilier situation, and was really depressed for a while, but then kind of just bounced back and went back to being herself.

Thank you for the kind words! You're the second present to comment on my ability to accurately describe things. so yay! Ego boost. lol.

I hope you enjoy Puzzle Pieces. It's a very different story.

Hope you had a great day, and I look forward to hearing what you think about the new story. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by M What Once Was Lost

25th June 2014:
Hey!

Another good chapter. I guess it was kind of a filler chapter; just tying up a strand of James' character which we learnt during the summer and some nice light-hearted dialogue with Rose. I think Rose was a whisker away from giving James a stroke there. Very entertaining though.

So overall an entertaining chapter and I'm running out of compliments about your work. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Yes, it was more of a filler chapter. But I enjoyed writing it, so as long as people enjoyed it, that's good for me. :)

Thanks for the compliments. :)

Have a fantastic day!


 Report Review

Review #25, by HPFAN Paris

25th June 2014:
Damn Avery is a creepy dude. I feel like people like that should come with a badge or a warning of some type to let people know from far away that they can be hazardous to ones health. Its great to see Dom getting better and in her element and its nice to see how Charlotte finally gets to impress the guy. You also have a special way with words when describing fashion, very descriptive. As always thank you for the chapter and for the story and I look forward to the next one. I will be heading over to the other story soonish (work) so be prepared for more reviews.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes, Avery is very creepy. I don't even like writing about him, but it's a necessary evil for the sake of the story.

I should have the next one up very soon. And that's when I might hit a bit of a wall until I can get some new stuff written.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>