Reading Reviews for Risen: Out of the Ashes
  
101 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HPFAN Making It Known

26th August 2014:
Loved the chapter as usual. Glad that James finally made it official even if it was in an embarrassingly public way. I'm also digging how much more back story you are giving Ava and Al. It's really helping the story along and makes future events that much more important. James and Al's relationship is also so much more believable. I would love to see a little more of Harper, to get her perspective of all this and since she and Ava are so close. As always thank you for the story and I cannot wait for the next installment.

Author's Response: Hi hi!

Glad you liked it. Sorry if it wasn't my best work. I'll try and get the next chapter up soonish (in the next two weeks). I will try to work in more Harper, as she's an important secondary character as well. :)



 Report Review

Review #2, by emjacks2795 Epilogue

18th August 2014:
Great, fabulous, fantastic story but please hurry with the follow up chapters as I'm dying to read them! I find out what happens to them all! What happens with charlotte's dad? Will Ava ever swallow her pride? Why is Harper ignoring Charlotte and why did her mum change her mind with the flat and give away lots of the other girls' inheritance? Once again, fab story, joy to read and WELL DONE!!

Author's Response: Hi!

First... you are my 100th review, which feels very special to me... so thank you!

I'm so glad you like the story. I hope you'll go back and read Risen again once I'm done with all the edits.

I hope to answer all the questions I can... but I haven't gotten to them all quite yet in the editing process. If you haven't yet... check out Arise. It's the semi-sequel to Risen. It's not complete yet, and I might end up editing that a bit after finishing with Risen. Hope you like that too.

Once again, thank you so much for reading the story. :D

Have a fantastic day.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lena Final Days of Holiday

11th August 2014:
You said in the AN of the previous chapter that this chaper would be called Definitions. I think you should change that because I got really confused at first. Great chapter, but I think you repeat yourself a bit and in the part where James is looking back on the snow fight, it doesn't exactly match up with his account of when it actually happens. I hope these comments are helpful and not too confusing. I love this story and and glad your back at editing it! Keep up the great work

Author's Response: Hi!

Heh... whoops. You're right. I'll go back and edit that as soon as the queue opens up again. Thanks for pointing that out.

I do realize that some of it is repetitive, but it's all from James POV, and personally, when I'm not sure about something, I think about it often. So the repetitive stuff seems right to me from his point of view, but I'm sorry if that got to be too much.

Glad you enjoy the story though... hoping to have another new chapter up soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by HPFAN Final Days of Holiday

11th August 2014:
Wow did I miss reading this story. Your writing never ceases to amaze me. I absolutely love the scene in the snow, showing how powerful Charlotte is and how well she checks James. I'm really looking forward to the next chapter to see how everyone reacts to James and Charlotte being together. It seems that James still has some work to do to not focus on only. naked wrestling... but it is difficult at that age, hormones are hella powerful. I really enjoy the moments that he and Charlotte share when nothing is really happening. Sometimes a look or a slight embrace means so much more than grand gesture or a "wrestling" session. I know I have said this before but thank you for this story, it is truly intoxicating and worth the wait when you produce chapters like this.

Author's Response: Hi!

Sorry about the delay in posting this new chapter. The next one should be up soon, and more after that. Things got really crazy for a while, and my writer's brain pretty much just shut down.

Someone else commented that this chapter was a little too repetitive, so hope that didn't bother you too.

You'll probably like the next chapter... James does something a little... bold. :)

Hope you've been doing well.



 Report Review

Review #5, by HPFAN New Years Eve

1st July 2014:
This chapter is a perfect example of how James and Charlotte parallel each other. Both view themselves as inferior to the other, causing a sense of fear towards the others realization of their inferiority. James manned up and made a move, and now its Charlottes turn realize how perfect they are together. The fact that James didn't refer to Charlotte as his girlfriend, again, may have something to due with her feelings. Also, sad Asher is sad.
Thank you again for the story and thank you for the chapter. Take your time with next chapters if you need, we shall be here waiting.

 Report Review

Review #6, by M New Years Eve

30th June 2014:
Uh oh! Charlotte's self esteem issues are rearing its ugly head. In my opinion, she needs to confront her parents about their emotional distance for her if she's really going to overcome her self esteem problems.

It will also be interesting to she how James and Charlotte's relationship develops when they go back to Hogwarts. They've been in this cocoon, shielded from the world, during christmas and I'm interested to see what happens when they're back into their world.

A really good chapter. It raises lots of new questions for the next phase of this story.

Love your work and keep it up :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by M Paris

25th June 2014:
Man I just hate Avery. Everything about him just screams out creep. Major kudos for you though, as the writer, for making him seem so deplorable as a person.

It's also nice to see Dom back; it seems like she's finally moved on from the emotional trauma. With Georgia as well, I do love the friendship those three have.

I also have to commend you on your use of language to describe Charlotte's dress and her appearance with all of her make up on. The way you described the dress and her was so intricate, it made it so easy for me to imagine what she looked like in my mind.

Now that I've caught up with all of your updates for Risen, I'm going to head over to Puzzle Pieces...maybe tomorrow though, cause it's past midnight right now! Technically I should say later on in the day :)

Love the chapter and I look forward to the next one.

Author's Response: Hey!

Yes, Avery is a total creep. Not my favorite parts to write, but it's a necessary evil for the sake of the story. haha.

I'm basing Dom's journey off a friend of mine. She went through a very smilier situation, and was really depressed for a while, but then kind of just bounced back and went back to being herself.

Thank you for the kind words! You're the second present to comment on my ability to accurately describe things. so yay! Ego boost. lol.

I hope you enjoy Puzzle Pieces. It's a very different story.

Hope you had a great day, and I look forward to hearing what you think about the new story. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by M What Once Was Lost

25th June 2014:
Hey!

Another good chapter. I guess it was kind of a filler chapter; just tying up a strand of James' character which we learnt during the summer and some nice light-hearted dialogue with Rose. I think Rose was a whisker away from giving James a stroke there. Very entertaining though.

So overall an entertaining chapter and I'm running out of compliments about your work. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Yes, it was more of a filler chapter. But I enjoyed writing it, so as long as people enjoyed it, that's good for me. :)

Thanks for the compliments. :)

Have a fantastic day!


 Report Review

Review #9, by HPFAN Paris

25th June 2014:
Damn Avery is a creepy dude. I feel like people like that should come with a badge or a warning of some type to let people know from far away that they can be hazardous to ones health. Its great to see Dom getting better and in her element and its nice to see how Charlotte finally gets to impress the guy. You also have a special way with words when describing fashion, very descriptive. As always thank you for the chapter and for the story and I look forward to the next one. I will be heading over to the other story soonish (work) so be prepared for more reviews.

Author's Response: Hi! Yes, Avery is very creepy. I don't even like writing about him, but it's a necessary evil for the sake of the story.

I should have the next one up very soon. And that's when I might hit a bit of a wall until I can get some new stuff written.


 Report Review

Review #10, by M The Day After

25th June 2014:
Hey there!

Only a quick review...a really nice chapter. More light and humorous, which I enjoyed. It's great to see Dom more cheery.

A great gift from James and the kintsukuroi idea is a great analogy of James feeling for Charlotte.

Thanks for the chapter and I love your work

Author's Response: Hi again.

So happy that you're still enjoying this and thank you so so much for the review. Probably said it before, but I'll say it again, knowing people like what I write keeps me writing. So thank you. Hope you have a great day!


 Report Review

Review #11, by M Christmas Miracle

24th June 2014:
Yay! Great chapter (for obvious reasons)

James and Charlotte are finally together (yay!). A really good chapter. Charlotte's gifts to James were so thoughtful and amazing. What are Charlotte's connections to the Quidditch world? I'm thinking Charlotte got the tickets from Ginny. That's the only person that I can think of who has the influence to get those tickets. Unless it's a completely new person.

It's always a pleasure to read your work

Author's Response: Hi there!

Finally, right? Glad you like this one. :D

I honestly hadn't thought about Ginny being the connection. HP fan fail there. I was considering making it someone new entirely, but Ginny makes a ton of sense. I'll have to factor that in at some point with whatever I settle on.



 Report Review

Review #12, by M Christmas Eve

24th June 2014:
Hey!

A really nice chapter. The tension between James and Charlotte is now reaching a boiling point. They need to confess their love for each other soon. James pretty much did it with his rant to Charlotte's dad, a part which I loved by the way. I also liked the little moment James had with Ginny. It seemed to me like Ginny understood James' feelings and was encouraging him to confess his love to Charlotte.

Anyways a great chapter and onwards to the next one!

 Report Review

Review #13, by HPFAN What Once Was Lost

24th June 2014:
Once again, James the sad puppy. I still find it silly. Anyways that was a great moment between James and his dad. It showed how maturation takes time and comes in different ways for everyone. I feel like it was a good sign for James. Rose on the other hand may have almost Killed James. I am actually surprised he didnt try to fly over to Scorps house right then and there. I do love the advice she gives and how she voices the families opinion that Charlotte isnt just another girl, almost an echo of what James has been saying. I love all these chapters and updates and I completely understand if it takes a bit of time until the next ones. I hear that someone may have another story I can start reading? As always thank you for the chapter and for the story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this one. It felt like a bit of a side-step to the normally story, but it was a good James chapter, I felt.

Yes, I do have my newest story up (the first three or four chapters anyway). It's called Puzzle Pieces. Go read it if you want to. It's very different. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by AIP Alexander The Day After

24th June 2014:
Quick review; take into consideration that James has already gotten Charlotte a gift before (and a very nice one if i could say so myself), so i don't know if the comment on the gifts is something you forgot to change, it still goes for everyone else other than Charlie, or he was like that before his change.

Author's Response: Hi! I didn't think about it that way, but it still stands. James would have been, and might continue to be, a horrible gift giver to everyone but Charlotte. Her comment about the gifts was more about the stories she'd heard about his gifts, than the one he got for her previously. Hope that makes sense.



 Report Review

Review #15, by HPFAN The Day After

24th June 2014:
Loved and still do love the idea of kintsukuroi. I think I may have mentioned that in the first review I ever left on this story but it stays true to this day. It is a perfect way to put James' feelings into words. Once again the comedic relief provided by the supporting characters was done with spot on timing. I feel like James would look like a puppy that is being left home for the first time when Charlotte left for her trip. Anyways thanks again for the chapter and the writing and fantastic choice with queuing up all these chapters, it is making my day.

Author's Response: Haha.. yea. I saw that there was like a one hour wait time and just kept posting what I had. The only thing that means is that I have to get my butt in gear writing new stuff, otherwise there may be a brief period of time where I'm not updating because there's nothing new and/or edited to post. Don't kill me.

Glad you still enjoyed this chapter the second time around! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by HPFAN Christmas Miracle

24th June 2014:
AHH. Finally. James and Charlotte as they are meant to be. Together. I also had no idea that this was uploaded so it was a pleasant surprise. The gifts that Charlotte got James were the ultimate combo. Sentimental and amazing, and somewhat alluring. "I have a quidditch connection, ok? Thats all I'm going to say" Talk about an aire of mystery. As always all I can do is thank you for your writing and this story. It is a true joy to read.
p.s. I can completely visualize the look on Harpers face while she was holding her hip and I am still laughing at it.

Author's Response: Yay! Happy readers equals happy writer. :D

I've been debating about coming up with the answer to Charlotte's Quidditch Connection. I wasn't sure I was going to do it, but I might have to fit that in somehow.


 Report Review

Review #17, by HPFAN Christmas Eve

24th June 2014:
I remember reading this chapter when the story was still in the O.G. form and loving it. Still the same today. I really enjoyed James' speech/rant as well as how knowing Ginny seems. I now feel that both Charlotte and James need to just fess up to each other and practice the mattress mambo. I kid... kind of. I am also looking forward to the story behind James' gift toward Charlotte. Every time I type what I am looking forward to i remember more that happens in the story later on and I get even more pumped for these updates. As always thanks for the story and your writing. I cannot wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi!

That chapter you are looking most forward to should be up by now, as well as the two after that. :) There was like zero wait time yesterday, so I queued up a bunch of things.

Hope you're doing well. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by M This Is Where The Healing Begins

23rd June 2014:
Another high quality chapter. I've come to expect nothing less now; you're consistently writing chapters to a high standard.

It was a really nice way for Dom to say goodbye and hopefully now allow her to move on with her life. It seems like the ceremony lifted some of her sorrow. However with wounds like these, the only thing that can fully heal it is time.

It's also very frustrating as a reader to know the only thing that separates Charlotte and James from getting together and playing tonsil tennis is Charlotte telling James that she's broken up with Asher. A little dramatic irony never hurts anyone though.

Also I think there's a typo. It says "slid on my favourite books" in the 6th paragraph. Should it say "boots" instead?

Anyways, love the chapter, love your work and thank you for writing this fix.

Author's Response: Thanks for the notice about the typo. Someone else said something about that too- so I went back and fixed that. I type really fast, and read really fast so I sometimes miss things like that. Ooops!

So glad you're liking the story! Reviews like yours really warm my heart and keep me writing. Pushes me to keep writing to a high standard too, so I'm glad everyone is liking them.

Yes, time is what Dom needs. She won't ever forget, but she will move on.

As for James and Charlotte... in due time. :) The next two chapters are in the queue (and should be up soon), and I'm pretty sure you will enjoy those. ;)



 Report Review

Review #19, by HPFAN This Is Where The Healing Begins

23rd June 2014:
Fantastic chapter as usual. It was a nice way for Dom to say good bye. Who knows how long it will take to get back to normal, or if she ever truly will but its nice to see her moving in that direction. It's times like this that I want to Charlotte to get some sense knocked into her so she can just tell James and they can do the horizontal tango and get on with their lives. But hey, whats a few more chapters right? As always thank you for your writing and for this story. I'll be sure to check our your new story soon so expect to see more reviews. Thanks again.

P.S.
"slid on my favorite books and figured out what else to wear."
books=boots?

Author's Response: Gah! Once again you help me with a typo. I just went in and fixed it.

Just a few more chapters! I promise. Lol! Both the Christmas chapters are in the queue and should be up soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by AIP Alexander This Is Where The Healing Begins

22nd June 2014:
Sorry for my rather long hiatus! I haven't had the chance to read the last three chapters so i have skimmed through them in order to leave you a little review. The first and most important thing i want to do is congratulate you! When you had first finished the story, you had only written 24 chapters and you had neglected the story for @ 6 months before you came back to finish it. As of right now, you have written 27 chapters, and they are all much, much better than before. I know how hard that is, and as a reader i can't express my gratitude enough! I'm sorry i haven't been able to review lately, but i just wanted to congratulate you as well as leaving a little review to assure you I'm not dead and i'm hoping to leave you a review of astronomical proportions with my opinion on every chapter in the next couple of days.
Cheers,
AIP Alexander

Author's Response: Hi!

I look forward to hearing your thoughts. Hope things are well with you. Your review is what set me on this course... so really... I should be thanking you. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by M Winter Break

18th June 2014:
Hey there!

The break up was obviously inevitable. Firstly because of Charlotte's feelings for James. Also, Asher only sees Charlotte as a broken person and that he can fix. The relationship would never have worked in the long term because Charlotte has to fix her own problems and Asher doesn't seem to understand that.

I loved the section with Scorpius asking Charlotte what to give Rose for Christmas. For some reason I always imagine him as this excited little puppy. Maybe a Rose & Scorpius spin off story? There seems to be great potential there. However it can be a bit of a cliche; it's basically Romeo and Juliet.

It's also nice to see Dom to make some small, tentative steps to recovery. I have a feeling the next chapter, given the title, will be around the small ceremony and maybe involve a reconciliation with her family. Can't wait to see what's next.

Also some nice sexual tension between Charlotte and James at the end there. A preview of what coming up over Christmas, I presume ;)

Love your work and I wait for your next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi back! :)

Thanks a million for the review. I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Yes, the break up was inevitable and now onto the part everyone wants to read. lol.

I had planned to have a lot more about Scorpius and Rose's relationship in my sort of spin off story called The Silver Queen, but unfortunately, I haven't been that inspired with that lately. One of these days, I'll get back to it.

Enjoy the next few chapters. ;)



 Report Review

Review #22, by HPFAN Winter Break

17th June 2014:
Poor Asher. He never really got Charlotte. Even if James wasn't the object of her desire they wouldn't have worked. He was trying to fix something that wasn't his to fix. Its good to see Dom feeling a little better and to see James not acting like a complete bludger. Although its James so who knows how long that will last. I also noticed that Avery was mentioned this chapter. Dun dun dun. Anyways loved the chapter as always. Thank you for the writing and the story. Its truly a joy to read your work.

Author's Response: :) There will be a new chapter next, and then the Christmas stuff (which I'm not changing all that much cause I still feel like it's about as perfect as it can get).

It warms my heart to get these reviews, and it really does help me keep writing, so thank you from the absolute bottom of my heart. You're amazing. :)

Also, in case you're interested... I just posted the introduction to my newest story, should be up in a day or two.



 Report Review

Review #23, by M Boys will be Boys

17th June 2014:
Ah yes, Quidditch!! There's nothing like it to get the testosterone rampaging and emotions spilling over.

A really good chapter. It's different to your previous chapters; there's more emphasis on the plot whereas in the other chapters, there's more focus on characterisation. I guess it was a good way to set up the christmas section of the storyline. Can't wait to see what happens i.e. how James manages to muck things up.

Also a special mention to Lily in this chapter. Such a spitfire!

So overall great chapter and I'm waiting impatiently for the next one!

Author's Response: So glad you like it! :D

Thanks so so much for the review. Very much appreciated. The next chapter should be up soon! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by HPFAN Boys will be Boys

16th June 2014:
Ahh quidditch!!! I loved it. That was so good. James getting some sense knocked into him, Charlotte being torn, and Lily is always amazing. I do feel bad for Charlotte in a way because she really only wants simplicity and her life is the antithesis of that. I stand by that this is an extremely character driven story yet it is great to read your action writing, especially in such a pivotal moment in the protagonists character arch. I love everything about this and I also learned how long it takes for your stories to post once you put them in the queue so thats always good to know. Thank you again for the writing and this story and I cannot wait to see how James manages to mess up being with Charlotte for a whole 2 weeks.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! :D things are coming together quite nicely, I think.

It does sometimes take a while for new chapters to get posted, and other days it takes a few hours. The next chapter is in the queue now, but might not show up for a few days.

Hope you keep enjoying what's next. I'm probably going to be posting a new chapter to Arise, the sequel and possibly the intro and first chapter to my other new fanfic (Puzzle Pieces) soon as well... so keep an eye out for those.

Hope you're doing well and as always, thanks so much for the review. :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by HPFAN Confession

11th June 2014:
First of all poor Dom. I had an inkling that is what happened to her but you almost never want to be right about those things. That situation is so hard for people to understand because there is the stigma around teen pregnancies but the body had its own agenda. No matter how against it you are your body will act on its own accord to prepare for birth. It's good to see the three girls bond the way they did and for Charlotte to focus on someone besides James. As for the man himself it seems like he is finally getting it through his head how he should be acting towards Charlotte even if she is still with Asher. Poor, poor Asher. Not helping much to disprove the "nice guys finish last" saying. Its not his fault though, the heart wants what the heart wants. As always thank you for the writing and the story. Absolutely fantastic. Can't wait for the next chapter. Also a special thank you because "maelstrom" is my favorite word and I love seeing it used.

Author's Response: Hi hi!

Maelstrom is a great word... I should use it more often! lol.

I've known a few people who have miscarried, and it's always devastating. It happens to teens too, even though people don't like to talk about it. It seemed like the right thing to do with Dom's character and I'll have to keep building that into her story arc.

As for the two boys in Charlotte's life... I hope I'm right in guessing that you'll enjoy the next two chapters. When I wrote this story the first time, Asher wasn't in it enough for me to feel attached to him, now I kind of do.

As always- thanks a million for the review. I love reading them. Makes me all happy inside.

Hope you are doing well, and have a fantastic rest of your day. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>