Reading Reviews for Risen: Out of the Ashes
126 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lottie Introduction

3rd June 2015:
I am the old reader you've been hoping for. Haha. But seriously, all jokes aside I'd forgotten how good this story was. I DREAMED ABOUT IT! And my name's Charlotte too. And I have grey eyes. And my dad's from Savannah. This story is literally about me!

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you.

In between writing and editing my first novel, and then starting my second novel, this one fell by the wayside. I'm going to try and finish it soon, as I'd started the editing process ages ago, got almost to the end, and then life happened.

Thanks again for the review. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by beka_wotter Fragility

18th March 2015:
Pretty please carry on updating the story! Thanks - you're awesome ;)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Audrey Boys will be Boys

15th February 2015:
I haven't even finished this chapter but I'm just so frustrated so bare with me. WHY DOESN't SHE JUST BRAKE UP WITH ASHER!?!? It doesn't mean she has to date James but at least to separate herself from Asher because even she knows it's obviously not gonna work!

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrHJPotter Deeper Meaning

2nd February 2015:
Great chapter! When can we expect the next one? Also does Morsque = Heroin in your story??

Author's Response: Hi! thanks for the review!

Next chapter will be finished today, added to the queue today, so should be ready to read soon. As for your question- mostly, yes, that's what I think of it as. However, since it's a magical potion, I also think it's a bit like pot and ecstasy.

Hope you enjoy the next chapter, and the rest of the story! Thanks again. ;)

 Report Review

Review #5, by eatmycupcakes A Discovery, A Rainy Day, and A Trip Down Memory Lane

31st January 2015:
Hi, I have to say that I really love your story, however, there is one inconsistency in this chapter. When James tells Charlie that it was Ava who ran up to him after he yelled at Charlie's father, that's not what happened, I'm pretty sure that it was Harper who did that because it's more true to her character. Also, I checked, and it was Harper.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review.

That part you mention is a part of the story I haven't gotten to yet in the editing process. I have been careful about leaving notes at the end of each chapter about the editing and to not read too far ahead- because of things like that. So yes, in the original story it had been Ava but I changed it to Harper. I will change that when I get to it. :)

Thanks again for reading. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Grace Normality

4th January 2015:
OMG YOU NEED TO UPDATE THIS STORY! I am reading this in 2015, I have just stayed up until 3am reading and now the next chapter isn't the the right one! Genuinely almost just cried! I have stayed up until 3am reading this and your story has kept me interested the whole time which is normally quite hard as I am an avid reader. Ok just letting you know how awesome you are but you need to update this story! If you can contact me on tumblr when you have updated it, I would literally love you. (Condoratheexplorer) thank you so much and congratulations on such a well written story!!! :) x

P.S my rating is only 9/10 because the story is unfinished!

Author's Response: Hi Hi!

Seriously- you just made me cry. So thanks for that. lol. I'm so happy you've enjoyed the story. I've had a crazy few months, which is why the story kind of fell to the background but I am fully intending to get back to it ASAP. Promise! I'll contact you on tumblr for sure once I have the next chapter(s) in the queue, though I can't promise when they'll be available to read. It can take as little as a few hours and as much as a week to validate.

Thanks again. Seriously. Been doubting my writing skills lately, so stuff like this reminds me I don't totally suck. Haha.

Hope you have a wonderful day or evening, whichever it is where you are. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Grace Normality

4th January 2015:
OMG YOU NEED TO UPDATE THIS STORY! I am reading this in 2015, I have just stayed up until 3am reading and now the next chapter isn't the the right one! Genuinely almost just cried! I have stayed up until 3am reading this and your story has kept me interested the whole time which is normally quite hard as I am an avid reader. Ok just letting you know how awesome you are but you need to update this story! If you can contact me on tumblr when you have updated it, I would literally love you. (Condoratheexplorer) thank you so much and congratulations on such a well written story!!! :) x

P.S my rating is only 9/10 because the story is unfinished!

 Report Review

Review #8, by HPFAN Shattered

31st December 2014:
So i had to comment and say that I have missed this story so much. I have had what can only be called the craziest of events happen to me in the past months and finding internet was the least of my worries. But I am so happy to say that I can read your story again. I know I am behind but trust me, you are getting a slew of reviews in the new year. I hope you have a great new years and had a great christmas. I really did miss this story and thinking about it got me through a lot. Thank you and Happy New Years.

Author's Response: HI!

Late response here. I'm sorry that life that been rough, and I truly hope that things are beginning to look up. Life can be a total B***h sometimes. Here's to a (hopefully) amazing 2015!

I swear I'm going to pick this up again soon. I've had my own (though most likely less serious) drama going on the past few months and this story, as well as my other one on this site, fell behind. I apologize- I'll get on this soon. Promise!

 Report Review

Review #9, by beka_wotter Normality

24th December 2014:
Hi, I keep coming back in the hope that you have finished updating the story because I am desperate to find out what happens! It is a really awesome story! So pretty please finish updating, it will be like a Christmas gift ;) merry christmas anyway:)!!

Author's Response: Hi. I've had so much going on, I've barely found time to work on my actual novel, let alone this. I'm sorry- don't hate me. I am seriously hoping to finish it soon, maybe the reminder of people wanting to read it will help.

Thank you for the holiday wishes, I hope the rest of your year is truly wonderful. Can't believe it's already almost 2015. How did that happen? lol.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Janine Family Ties

17th October 2014:
Nice to get some background on Charlotte's mother. Sad story!
I really like how besides James and Charlotte, other characters evolve throughout the story as well :)

Author's Response: Once again, thanks for the review! :) I've really enjoyed going back with this story and adding some much new content. It's always nice to hear that you guys like it too. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Mizikal Family Ties

16th October 2014:
Love the direction everything is taking so far (although of course I never want anything to happen to James). Thank you for taking the time to go through and re-write/edit this story! One of my favorites.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for taking the time to read this and especially for writing a review! :D Put a huge smile on my face and keeps me doing this. I'm so glad that you are enjoying the re-writes/edits. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Janine Snap!

14th October 2014:
YAY. girlpower! Charlotte finally stood up for herself :)

For a moment I was thinking the slytherin girl might be Ava, but this was also really nice! Cant wait for the next chapter.. Keep it up :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :D

So happy you enjoyed it. Next chapter (family ties) is up now, and I will hopefully have the one after that up soon as well, assuming I can stop working on my actual novel long enough to write the next chapter.

Have a great day (or evening)!

 Report Review

Review #13, by syd Epilogue

13th October 2014:
you are so wonderful. this has been an amazing story. i read it all in less than 24 hours. ooops. what is sleep. it is that good. I AM GOING TO READ YOUR SEQUEL THAT I HOPE EXISTS.

Author's Response: Hi.

That's the kind of stuff a writer wants to hear. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed the story. Check back again in maybe three months and re-read it. I'll be done with all the edits and new material then. Might be a new kind of experience, but only if you want to. :)

The sequel has been started, but not finished, nor have I made the changes I've been considering. Hope you enjoy what's there though (minus a few really depressing chapters.)

Thanks again for the review. Makes my day!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Janine Impact

13th October 2014:

Okay, so here's my thoughts: I hate Avery. You make me hate him, so that is good about your writing. But I think just just just maybe, you've gone a little far on the drama here! I mean, if someone was making such threats, James or any boy surely wouldn't just let it get to this point really?? Although on the other hand, very chivalrous of him to save up all his anger and fight it out on the pitch.

Anyway I love your story! Keep it up, enjoy reading it so much :)

Author's Response: Hiya!

Glad you're enjoying this! I hate Avery too. I don't even like writing him, but people like him exist, so I continue with it.

Yes, it's definitely a bit dramatic, but that's where writers have fun. I also see it as no one truly expected Avery to follow through on his threats, but they were on edge anyway. Avery is a bully, and a terrible human being, but there's no proof anywhere that he's followed through on every threat he's ever made. There's just rumors surrounding him. Avery is the kind of person that will only hurt people when other's (especially adults) aren't really around. Hitting James, during a rainy storm, high in the sky away from the eyes and ears of everyone is in keeping with his character, i think. Again... no real proof, right?

Anyway, thanks so much for the review. Makes my day getting these. Hope you enjoy Snap! and Family Ties (the next two chapters.) Family Ties is getting added to the queue today and should be available to read in a few days. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Janine Breathless

30th September 2014:
I loveee me a bit of drama :) You are annoyingly good at writing cliffhangers btw ;) I keep saying it but thanks tons for writing this!

Author's Response: Hehe- sorry? Nope, not sorry. lol. Seriously though, thanks for the reviews. So freaking happy you're enjoying this. New chapter should be up really, really soon. I hope.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Janine Shattered

30th September 2014:
How do I nominate it?

Author's Response: Nominations are closed... but maybe next year. :) I'm happy knowing people are enjoying this story.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Janine Reparo My Heart

30th September 2014:
Finaly. :) love this!

Author's Response: :) Love hearing that. Thanks for reading. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by AIP Alexander Respect

29th September 2014:
Ok, I feel like such a horrible person write now!! I haven't reviewed in forever! Life's been all over the place and i haven't even been able to work on my upcoming story, which will no doubt be credited to you and your awesome story. Anyway, getting back to your story, i think it is progressing pretty well. I enjoy how you've taken my advice and added more interaction between James and his family, as well as broadening each character's development. This makes the story a thousand times better.
while i haven't been able to read through the whole story from beginning to end like i hoped i would, i haven't left the monumental review i had planned to do, but at least i have keep reading through each new chapter to know what has been going on. On another note, i hope the end isn't as near as you make it out to be because i really enjoyed the part about the confrontation with (i can't remember his name right now :( he comes out near the end of the book) and i really enjoyed how Charlie grew up with the experience, etc... If it is as near as it seems, will you continue the sequel? reading your story is most often the highlight of my week and if you stop writing i'll have pretty much nothing to look forward to...
Anyway, i can't wait for the next one (as usual), and i hope all is well

Author's Response: Hi!

No worries... I completely understand life equalling crazy. Been there one too many times. lol. Please let me know when your story is up... I will be happy to read it. :) Thanks a billion for the kind words.

Really, if it wasn't for your review, this story wouldn't be what it is now. So thank you. It's actually really helped make me a better writer- going back and editing this. It's definitely helped make my novel better. So seriously- again- thank you.

I still have a few new chapters to add... but generally... I think I'm about coming to the end of the story. There will stuff coming up with Georgia and a really great scene I have yet to write between Ginny and Charlotte about Charlotte's Mom. The confrontation with Avery (I'm pretty sure that's what you're talking about) is going to remain. I definitely plan to keep on flushing everything out... and definitely plan on continuing with the sequel.

However, with the sequel, it's not going to be like Risen in the sense of taking place over a school year. Arise has always lived in my head more like snapshots of everyone's life after... so though I might flush it out more... it's going to jump forward in time quite a bit and won't be nearly as long as this one.

There are two chapters in the queue right now... and I'm almost done with another one. :)

Hope life calms down soon and thanks again. Can't say it enough.

 Report Review

Review #19, by AislinMorgan Random Musings

28th September 2014:
First, congratulations on the novel! I hope it got published for you. I, too, am a published author; my first novel was published in 2009. Secondly, I am really enjoying the story. Ith's well thought out and believable and the timeline is consistent (which is actually more rare with many stories here than I would have thought.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying the story. Glad to hear from others that the timeline is consistent. I tried. lol.

Still finishing my first novel actually... but I'm coming down the homestretch on finishing that one too. Then I'll start trying to shop it around to get published. Don't know if I'm allowed to ask what the title of yours is. I know privacy is really respected and encouraged on this site.

Anyway, thanks again for the review. As a writer, it makes my day knowing others are enjoying what I'm doing. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Janine Respect

28th September 2014:
It it soo weird, I couldn't see this chapter for a week!! So happy to have the story continued :)

Author's Response: Hi! Weird... there should be other new chapter(s) up now. Coming down the homestretch. I'm going to try and stay with this story until it's finished. Again. Let's hope all my other writing projects don't draw me away.

Thanks for the review! Means the world to me. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by MRSPOTTER Twenty Questions Part Deux

23rd September 2014:

Author's Response: Hi!

YAY! Love hearing that. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Janine Shattered

22nd September 2014:
It's great! I love this so much! Especially the whole thing with the sisters.. you describe really well how much it hurts to be the one left out, yet not wanting to let them know..Unfortunately I can identify :( Also the athena and the statue from athens? Curious to find out how that worked?? I really want to know a bit more about Charlotte's mother.. how it is that she doesnt care about any of her children? Also want to know a bit more about Georgia's situation here.. and OFCOURSE Charlotte and James should be together till the end! Thanks for writing this.. I'll be checking every day for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so so much for the review. New chapters should be up very soon. :)

I don't yet have any solid ideas on how to explain Charlotte's mother, but I'm sure I'll fit it in somewhere. If not in this story, then I'll try to fit it into Arise, the semi-sequel to Risen.

Also, if you feel like it (and only if you feel like)... if you do really enjoy this story please consider nominating it for a Dobby Award- going on now in the forums.

I hope you like what's coming up! I'm really nearing the end of editing this story. :;sniff sniff::

And again, thanks so so much for the review! Makes my day. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Janine Insecurity

16th September 2014:
So addictive! I think I discovered this story last week or so, and OMG already at chapter 36. I really love it, you have some good characters in there.

Altough you do keep me from studying because I want to read more all the time.. ;)

Thanks so much for writing this!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so so much for the review! Put a huge smile on my face. Thrilled to hear that you love the story, but sorry about the whole getting in the way of studying thing. :p

Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #24, by HPFAN Stranger Than Fiction

15th September 2014:
Dizzam, that was a sensational chapter. I cant begin to tell you how much I loved reading it. All the information, the character development, the story development, it was all there and all miraculously written. Harper is so much more tangible now and the backstory really helped explain her and Ava. I really loved how much Harper opened up to Charlotte and how she acknowledged that she was still young but couldn't use that as an excuse for everything. It was great to see how Charlotte was somewhat blind to what other people were thinking of her because she was so wrapped up in her own assumptions. All in all an absolutely fantastic chapter that I truly appreciated and thank you for writing. I know I normally thank you for your work and this story, but this chapter gets an extra thanks, in fact it gets a two, so thanks thanks. I really cant wait to see what happens with Al and Ava now and how it will effect the rest of the group.
I was wondering if, after doing all these edits, your ideas for Arise, and its main event thus far, have changed or do you think that the additions to this story cement what happens in the sequel?

Author's Response: Hi Hi!

So glad you like all of that... pretty much got written because of your request for more of Harper. It's really been so great to go back and rework this story into what it should have been the first time around. What happens with Al and Ava will be known in the next two chapters. so you won't have to wait long.

As for your question. I still think I'm going to keep to the events in Arise. It still feels like the right thing, and I think that the new edits are helping to cement that and make it more believable. I know these are fanfics, but I still want to try and make them somewhat believable. People go down different roads.

I was hoping to have the next chapter done already, but I got stung by a bee on my finger the other day, and it swelled up, making typing quite difficult at my normal speeds. However, it is at least halfway done. Hopefully it'll be up in a week... most hopefully the chapter will be finished today.

Love reading your reviews... thank you so so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by HPFAN Insecurity

9th September 2014:
You have such a good touch at creating evil characters. I could never imagine having to deal with people like that and Asher, well lets just say I have dealt with people who treat others like property and its sad way to live. I thoroughly enjoyed how you worked all of these supporting characters into the chapter while still keeping the focus on Charlotte. I also appreciated the amount of time your putting into the Ava and Harpers storyline. I cannot wait to see what happens in the next chapter. I feel giddy every time I read a chapter for this story even when its not happy go lucky. Its just too good. You are too good at this. Thank you for the chapter and the story and thank you for being too good at writing.

Author's Response: Hello my favorite reviewer.

You are far too kind... but like always, thank you from the depths of my heart for the compliments. Puts a smile on my face.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this... and I hope you will thoroughly enjoy the next chapter (which should be up in a few days). I'm a little bit back in the groove with this, so there should be more regular updates, at least for a few chapters. Seriously though, keep any ideas coming. Can't promise I'll fit it all in... but you're (as a reader) able to see things that I don't (or forgot)... so yea.

Thanks again. :D Enjoy what's next! Hopefully.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>