10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Josette_Phoenix Long and blue and forever is the Nile

9th August 2013:
Hi there!

You are dead-set one of the best writers I've come across on this site!! You absolutely took me all the way to Egypt with your splendid imagery, and you captured the character of Filch and Mundungus PERFECTLY. You also made me like Mrs Norris, which is quite a big feat - congratulations haha.

Your writing is just wonderfully wonderful to read :)

Cheerio!

Author's Response: HELLO! ♥

What an absolutely lovely and very flattering review! *blushes* I'm so glad you like my writing; that's one of the best compliments ever! Gaaah, this just made my entire forever! :D

I'm glad you thought Egypt was realistically depicted; I love that place a lot (I've been there once, so maybe I have a bit of an advantage here because I have an idea of how it's like). And it always amuses me whenever a reader tells me that they end up liking one of the not-very-likable characters I've written in this fic! Especially *cough* Filch and Mrs Norris. To be honest; I still dislike Filch a bit - he's such a violent, threatening man. But if I write a character, I always give them a chance, and I do my best not to judge them.

I notice you favourited my other fic 'you can write the book' as well! Thank you so very much; that is one of the stories that I'm really happy about, and it means so much that you enjoyed it, too!

Thanks again for your lovely words! I will have to swing by and read some of your work soon :D

teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by magnolia_magic Long and blue and forever is the Nile

1st August 2013:
Hi teh! I've actually read this before, during the House Cup, but I didn't leave a review :| (Yes, I'm one of those readers who reads and then doesn't review. You may now commence with rolling your eyes.) But I loved it then and I love it even more now!

What a strange combination of characters you have here. I love that these three unlikely companions happened to meet in one place and time. I've been trying to decide which character is my favorite, and it's honestly difficult to choose. It's definitely not Mundungus, though, I can tell you that. What a hideous person he is. I never liked him in the books (if you can't tell), and I really admire the way you brought that slimy personality to life here.

I think I'll go with Filch as my favorite. I love what you did with him here, exploring his feelings if being outside, and how hard it is for him to see students taking their magic for granted when he'll never have it. And he's so sweet when he talks to Mrs. Norris :) I love that softening we see in Filch whenever they are interacting. And I love that she was the key to getting then out of the tomb in one piece! It just shows that Filch does have something to offer, even when no one expects that to be the case.

This is a great piece, and I love that you were able to bring such an eclectic cast together so seamlessly. Wonderful job!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Maggie ♥

Gah, thanks so much for this wonderful review! I'm incredibly surprised and flattered that you actually read this story earlier! Don't worry about the not reviewing - I'm guilty of this a lot, reading and not reviewing, that is. Eep.

Yeah, this is indeed a bizarre cast of characters. I honestly have no idea what was happening in my head when all this was being produced. :P Y'know, I'm surprised that Filch is your favourite here! He's actually my least favourite, baha! I did, however, try to portray him a shade mellower than how he appeared in the books (y'know, the fearsome caretaker with the whips and all those horrid dungeon threats yelling at small children and all...), but still, I can't quite reconcile myself with him. Though I did try to give him a chance in this fic. I do doubt that I'll ever be writing a serious(ish) Filch fic again, though.

Gah, I'm so glad you thought that the characters were brought together so seamlessly! That is honestly a fantastic compliment and I'm so, so pleased.

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Maggie! It's been so encouraging! ♥

teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by bookdark_weasley Long and blue and forever is the Nile

31st July 2013:
I loved this! You got the voices of Filch and McGonagall perfect. And Nowanosisnem made me smile. One detail which was really simple but made the story great was Filch's shout of 'Peeves!'

Author's Response: Hello! Gaah, thank you for such a sweet and unexpected review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, including Filch and McGonagall's voices! FIlch was a particularly tricky character to write, but I'm so pleased it worked for you :) And I'm glad you like Minerva in this story, even if she was featured only very briefly.

Thanks again for this wonderful review ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Long and blue and forever is the Nile

27th July 2013:
Oh, Teh.

Every time I read one of your pieces, I am blown away. And this was no different!

You really have a knack for creating stories about minor characters from the series, and turning them into MAJOR characters. You really know how to give them life!

I thought that the way you got Filch to Egypt was totally genius! I think he would DEFINITELY do something like that, just for Mrs. Norris' benefit! And he really DID need a holiday! I also felt a surge of love for him when you described how he participated in the Final Battle. Even though he couldn't cast any spells, he was fierce, waving that whip and broomstick! He's such a hard character to like, you you really helped me to like him in this!

I LOVED how you tied this in with "You Can Write The Book". (Or at least sort of). Seeing Dennis here and the way he was so depressed was heartbreaking, but it seemed at the end that he finally realized he needed to learn to live again.

And I was TERRIFIED of that hierocosphinx (sp?). You did an amazing job describing it! At first, I thought it was a word/beast you had just made up - I had to google it! :P

And speaking of description... WOW. I don't know if you've ever been to Egypt, but the way you described everything, even the smallest little details (like the prayer mats), really gave the sense of someone who has been there many times... you really made me feel as though I were actually in Luxor, and actually in that tomb. Truly, truly brilliant!

This was just ANOTHER of your fantastic pieces, lovely! Great interpretation of the theme and a truly wonderful read! 10/10!!

Author's Response: JAYDE ♥

akshjiifjh this review made me all flaily!! Thank you so much; your comments are just sooo lovely.

Ahahah Filch! :P I have to admit, I still don't like him very much, even in this story. It was meant to be a bit of a silly thing, him going to Egypt because of Mrs Norris, and I'm glad you liked it! And I'm so surprised and flattered that you actually like him as a character in this fic.

And yeah, depressing Dennis is depressing. Also, I think I may be obsessed with him. He keeps popping up in all my stories. He does sort of wake up from the trancelike state he was in; I think it must have been the shock of losing his brother, which he has yet to get over.

I'm glad you like the hieracosphinx thing! Originally it was meant to be a different kind of monster, a leopard with a serpent neck...I read that somewhere on Wikipedia. I didn't make the hieracothing up; I'm not that creative, unfortunately!

And the description is all cheating, because I've actually been to Egypt (including Luxor) and I really loved it there! It's such an exciting place to see.

Aww, thank you SO SO MUCH for this absolutely wonderful review! Much love and badger hugs to you, my dear ♥ ♥ ♥

teh


 Report Review

Review #5, by charlottetrips Long and blue and forever is the Nile

27th July 2013:
I absolutely love what your mind has conjured up here.

I am sure that many other reviewers have commented on your choice of characters, but I'm going to chime in with my own two cents.

First of all Filch? I laughed at the fact that McGonaggal got him to get out of Hogwarts by using his love for Mrs. Norris. Also hilarious all his smoochy loving talk to his cat.

Next Fletcher: brilliant use of his character. Of course he'd be after one thing while lying about what he was after. And the fact that he was going under a fake name. Also I was impressed at you keeping in his speech patterns.

What really got me was Dennis. Oh man, when Filch mistook him for his brother and then was actually feeling bad about it...that got me. Dennis' continued thoughts on the subject was also a good hark back to where we left the family in the books. I really felt that this is where Dennis would be at as a person and so enabled me to connect with him.

Overall, loved how you brought the three together and how Dennis wanted to continue to treasure hunt in the end.

Char

Author's Response: Hello there, Char!

What a lovely surprise review! Thank you for taking the time to read the whole thing; this is certainly not a short piece (for a oneshot), and I'm incredibly grateful and happy that you did, and left me such wonderful feedback as well.

Bahaha! My mind was not spinning on the right axis when it conjured this ridiculous block of text up. I'd say it was the House Cup stress.

Ah, yes. The characters. They were indeed random. Originally, this fic wasn't even meant to be a serious one; it was supposed to be some frivolous treasure hunt involving only Filch and Mundungus, but unfortunately Dennis Creevey stepped in. (I'm currently going through a bit of a phase in which I'm obsessed with Dennis Creevey; he's been popping up in my plunnies and stories a LOT. :O ).

This story does have its sober bits, because after all, it's still a post-Hogwarts fic, set not too long after the final battle, in fact.

Thank you for this lovely review again! It's absolutely made my day! :D

-teh


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan Long and blue and forever is the Nile

21st July 2013:
TEHHH
I've been wanting to read this ever since you mentioned what it was about, while you were writing it. What an utterly bizarre cast of characters, but you managed to make it quite believable, so I commend you for that! :D

And all of them were very true to their canon personalities. I can easily see Filch getting tricked into something like that (and being cranky and disgruntled even when on holiday). Mundungus Fletcher - what a riot. And Dennis Creevey - he doesn't really show up much in the books but I love the voice you've given him here (and in your one-shot about him). It's like he's travelling as an escape, but seeing what Colin never got to see... it's very sad. But that made it believable that he would join Mundungus - simply that he's just going through the motions by this point and is joining just out of apathy. Poor Dennis :(

Although this is primarily a silly story (love the dialogue where they're all yelling at each other "Peeves!" "Filth?" "Wretched?" haha) you've still got the beautiful descriptions I love in your stories, the focus on the tiny things that make the big picture.

I really enjoyed reading this story! Well done :D

Author's Response: KRISTINN ERHMAHGERD ♥

What a lovely surprise review! Bahaha, I'm so happy you decided to read this silly old fic of mine and I'm still a little amazed whenever someone says the situation is believable, despite the ridiculousness. There were some serious bits in it, but honestly, when I first started writing, it was going to be 100% silly. Unfortunately, Dennis Creevey stepped in out of nowhere (what even is this boy doing in Egypt!?!?). It was originally supposed to be a cracky surly ill-humoured treasure-hunt between Filch and Fletcher, but as always, whenever I try to write something not-so-serious, more sober plot bunnies attack me and I'm forced to write them.

You've pretty much got all the characters spot-on. Grumpy FIlch with his ferocious temper who's also not very bright, Fletcher the sneak, and apathetic Dennis who shouldn't be here. I'm glad you like that bit with the Peeves! Filth and Wretched!. I honestly got so mixed up when writing "Filch" and "Fletcher" and decided to throw it into the fic :P And ee, thank you so much for your compliment on the descriptions! SOmehow I always love embellishing my fics with (sometimes useless) descriptions, though I do try not to go overboard with them.

I'm actually editing this fic now, expanding it a little, and adding in other bits which I cut out due to the word limit. But your review has given me an idea - I think I might ramp the silliness up a little (also this oneshot has somehow triggered off another pesky plot bunny - for a chaptered fic, this time - argh argh, I can't shoo it away).

Thank you so so much for your absolutely lovely review, Kristin! It's made my day and beyond ♥

teh


 Report Review

Review #7, by cypress Long and blue and forever is the Nile

19th July 2013:
Hello, hello! Just stopping by to give you your second of five reviews! (Congrats again on winning the challenge, btw!) Anyway, on to the review. I really enjoyed this story, as always. Before I even launch into it, I want to say how much I loved the characters you focused on. Very few people take on minor characters and here you took on three! And I think you did a great job with a plot that brought them together.

As far as your writing, it was exquisite as usual. The air gave him a headache and the sunlight made him sneeze - I chuckled at this. Great way to interject humor while maintaining the grouchy seriousness of Argus' persona. The rasp and click of his bones - you have such an amazing way with words. I think your onomatopoeia is my favorite, because the way you use it, it's so descriptive in more ways than just sound. I can feel the popping in my own joints, see the way he moves with difficulty. But the student - the one that got in the way of his sweeping, whose staring eyes haunted his dreams - I got CHILLS. You assume there's more going on behind his nasty facade, but that just makes it so obvious the level of haunting pain he's hiding.

I have to say, I wasn't expecting the route of this story. I feel terribly for Dennis, and I think the one curiosity about this piece is how 'aloof' he is while taking all these risks. It's almost like he -wants- to die. Like his own life doesn't matter at all, though you don't really say that specifically. Is that the case? One thing I'd like to know more about, too, is how the other men perceived Dennis. Whether they thought he was just as interested in the treasure as they, whether they believed he'd been fooled, whether it was fairly clear he'd stopped really caring about anything anymore and perhaps they wondered why he was going with them if he looked unconvinced.

I loved the ending with Mrs. Norris and the creature - I think you could probably have spent a bit more time on that dynamic, the reaction of the characters. I like the idea that this creature was subdued by a cat, of all things.

One last thought about Mundungus - why exactly did he tell these particular people about the treasure? Did he really fear for his life or something and was trying to bargain? Or was he completely unfazed by Dennis having his wand. It seemed like he was unfazed, but I sort of remember him being pathetic and sniveling at Grimauld Place when Harry had his wand on him. I was just curious if unfazed was what you were going for and if so, why - and if not, whether maybe I missed something in that part

Overall, I think it's a great piece. Super imaginative. Brings in all sorts of interesting elements and as I said, I really enjoyed the cast of characters. :) Thanks for sharing this lovely story!

Author's Response: cypress! ♥

What a lovely surprise review! Thank you so so much for taking the time to read this long rambling oneshot of mine! It's far from my best work, seeing as it was written in the space of four days or so, for the House Cup, and there was a 5,000 word limit as well, which led to me cutting out sizable chunks of narrative - which is why some parts feel incomplete. When the HC is over, I think I'll go back and make this piece longer and develop the characters more satisfactorily.

I'm glad you like Filch's portrayal. I don't think I was too invested in writing him bahaha! It was kinda hard portraying a mellower side to him while staying in-character, and I'm not altogether sure I succeeded, but ah well...yeah, despite his hatred of students, the battle really did disturb him. A least that's what I was trying to convey.

As for Dennis - yeah, he's supposed to be somewhat numb in this story as a result of the shock from Colin's death. I think he was aware that Mundungus was just making some rubbish up, but he probably didn't care and didn't have any plans. He's drifting through life in a strange land...somehow he ended up in Egypt :P This story was originally not meant to be a serious story at all; it was meant to feature just Filch and Mundungus, but all of a sudden Dennis popped up, and things got a bit more sober.

I really agree with your comments about how you'd like to have read about the reactions of the other two toward Dennis. If there's one thing that this fic fails somewhat, it's the lack of plausible interactions between the three. They're just there, together but also separate and hardly interacting. It's something that I wish I had more time to sit down and plan more carefully. I didn't want them to be perfect travelling companions for each other, not even close; I wasn't even going to have them end on too good terms with each other. But still, it does require a little more thought.

As for Mundungus - I believe that Filch believed him fully. Mundungus wasn't afraid of Filch because he was a Squib, and he wasn't afraid of Dennis because Dennis wasn't going to put up a fight - he was about to return the wand to Mundungus and retreat. But on hindsight, I suppose it would've been more in-character to make him the pathetic snivelling thing that he was in the books.

Your review is so long and so detailed and it's given me so much to think about! Thank you so much! Receiving something so helpful and yet so encouraging like this is just absolutely wonderful, and I can't thank you enough! ♥

teh ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 Long and blue and forever is the Nile

18th July 2013:
Hey teh,

What an... odd group of people to meet up together.

I think I like it!

This was such a good read, and it's good to see Dennis since not many people remember Colin, who's death I cried very hard at.

All in all, a really good piece, and you used the House Cup challenge well!

Author's Response: Hello there!

This was such an unexpected and sweet review! Thank you for taking the time to read this; it wasn't a short read, so I'm so grateful :)

The Creeveys have become some of my favourite characters to write about. I have a soft spot for Dennis. (I've also written another Colin and Dennis oneshot if you're interested!).

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #9, by Wistful Long and blue and forever is the Nile

13th July 2013:
ek.
omg.
eh.

like whoah. I really, really loved this. The characters for one. This was such an intriguing combination. i would have never imagined a scenario with Filch, Fletcher, and Creevey - but somehow you've managed to create a world where I don't doubt this would happen for a second. Your characterization was absolute perfection. Although you switched the narration, the connection with these characters were amazing. The way Dennis acted - he wasn't very emotional (I can't explain this) but more... forgiving? Understanding? Not holding on to his brother's death? And Filch was so perfectly Filch that it warrants an award. I was absolutely amused by his eagerness at realizing Fletcher was Fletcher.

And of course Fletcher - you got the dialogue just right.

I love the plot idea of this. It's so clever - a treasure hunt? And the ending felt just right. It gives me a feel that although their adventures mgiht continue someday, that the story won't.

Wistful
House Cup 2013

Author's Response: Hello, Wistful!

Gah, this review absolutely made my day! ♥ I'm so so glad that you thought the characterisation worked. There was a plot to this (a really ridiculous plot, I must admit), and I was so worried that while writing all the things I would lose hold of the characters, and they'd just be drifting around like blank ciphers. Your compliments are just so reassuring!

Dennis isn't very emotional in this fic. He's rather bland, living numbly after the events of the battle, though his near-death experience with the creature really sort of wakes him up, jolts him back to life.

I'm glad you thought Filch was so Filch-like! He was such a difficult character to write!

Definitely, there's more to their story, though I doubt I'll be writing it. That being said, I might do a story about Dennis in Egypt...

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing ♥!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle Long and blue and forever is the Nile

13th July 2013:
Hey!

Wow this was perhaps the oddest trio I've ever found myself reading about, but I thought that this story was really brilliant - it had a great plot and was really well written! I also found that all three of the main characters, and Karim as well, were characterised really well!

Firstly - Filch! I couldn't even imagine Filch ever leaving Hogwarts, let alone on a boat somewhere! I definitely found the idea of Filch on a holiday very amusing, and I really liked how you explained how it had all happened - go McGonagall! (The cat anecdote was very clever on her (and your) part!) He was still just as grumpy as ever throughout the story which just made it all the more amusing.

I was very surprised to see Dennis Creevey there. I feel like you could've used any of the numerous minor characters, but to see Dennis was really refreshing and unexpected. I really liked how you could still see the impact Colin's death had on him, because I think it's really important to acknowledge that big events like that don't just happen without having any consequences.

As for Mundungus Fletcher.. ahh, the same old sneaking around, trying to get money! I thought he was very believable and realistic - they all were, and I loved how he kinda lied about the money to get them to follow him to the tomb. I wasn't sure what exactly would be in the tomb but I found the hieracosphinx and the whole situation very imaginable. I absolutely loved how the hieracosphinx stopped attacking Denis as soon as Mrs. Norris - a cat - approached it! Very interesting and clever!

All in all, I thought your writing was really well done! It had the right amount of description in it and I found the whole plot developed really well. I also loved the last line! I really enjoyed reading this! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi there, Charlotte!

First, thanks for the absolutely lovely and encouraging review! And such a long one, too! ♥

I do agree, this is a bit random :P Of all the sensible things I could've written incorporating the theme of 'travel', I get a plunny for one that is completely outlandish and somewhat silly. Well, it was never intended to be a too-serious fic - that was, until Dennis Creevey popped up.

And Filch, ah yes. I had a hard time writing him. He went on a holiday at the absolute insistence of McGonagall, though I couldn't show too much of that scene due to the word limit - all his sweeping was making him a bit of a pain in the bum for the other teachers who were going to use magic to fix the castle. I was intending to write him as somewhat softer in the end, though I think I pretty much ran out of words to give him a decent character arc.

I have a soft spot for the Creeveys, especially Dennis, the living one. It's sad that he's such an underwritten character in fanfic!

And Mundungus was another difficult character to write, so I'm glad you thought him believable and realistic!

This was a rather tricky story to write because of the word limit! But I'm so so happy that you enjoyed this, and your review really means heaps to me, so thank you for taking the time to leave me such a detailed lovely one! ♥

-teh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login