Reading Reviews for Money Mania
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarik Money Mania

1st August 2013:
Hi there, Claudia! Gaah, this is such an adorable story! It made me laugh a bit, at Sirius and James flying across the world on broomsticks, with James being all soppy and lovestruck with Lily initially. Sirius getting the broom to whack some fun into James was hilarious, as was the sticking charm.

This is such an interesting and unique idea, collecting coins from all over the world...of course, they didn't get to travel all over the world before Dorea Potter came storming up to them at a bank in Paris demanding that the two of them return home with her immediately. Your fic made it sound like the whole world is accessible to everybody...everyone who is of magical blood, of course. It's such a lovely idea, being able to get up and jump on your own broomstick and fly to any part of the world any time you feel bored or restless.

I absolutely loved the way you described the Muggle bank in America, and the entrance to it. I could really picture it, the moneybag sign painted on the wall, with real gold flooding out of it to form a huge glittering doorway. That was such a lovely detail!

Well, I really enjoyed this story! It's lovely, light-hearted and fun to read, and of course, with these two there's always adventure, excitement and mischief. Great story!

-teh

Author's Response: I'm so so sorry it's taken FOREVER to respond!

Thanks! I tried to make this story humorous, so that's why I included all of those silly things.

I don't think most wizards fly around the world very often. Sirius is a boy who doesn't think ahead, if he was more sensible he wouldn't have done that. Also, I think it is incredibly painful to be on a broomstick for hours. However, Sirius's determination went so far that he decided not to complain too much (although he did complain a little bit).

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Money Mania

25th July 2013:
This was a cute and light-hearted one-shot, I really enjoyed it! I think you've got James and Sirius's personalities written perfectly - James trying to be responsible in an attempt to win Lily over, and Sirius being bored and restless and therefore coming up with wacky ideas that he doesn't really plan ahead. And I love the way you've written their friendship (bromance, I guess, in the case of Sirius turning into a dog and licking James...ahaha). I also thought it was really funny when Sirius thought he spoke French but actually just said embarrassing things. I have to admit I was surprised when James' mum showed up - how would she find them? - but it was amusing all the same, and I think her reaction was quite realistic for someone who'd just discovered her son sneaking off to another continent. Good work on this! :)

Author's Response: First of all, I'm sorry it's taken so long to answer this! I've been really busy. *hides*

Sirius doesn't plan. He just doesn't. :)

Yeah, James and Sirius have a lot of bromance.

I am even impressed at Sirius for somehow saying embarrassing stuff, and I'm the author! *laughs*

After years of James's pranks, I think his mother put a locating charm on him to prevent trouble. And it certainly came in handy, didn't it?

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane Money Mania

20th July 2013:
OK, I actually did laugh out loud at the idea of Sirius bashing James on the head with a broom over and over again. That was hilarious.

Hmm, you now have me wondering if the Irish wizarding world has the same money as Britain. I guess so, since they attend the same school and stuff and it'd be pretty pointless making money for how small the Irish wizarding community must be.

I really like the American wizarding money and bank you created. I think it'd be interesting to see more about different wizarding countries.

Author's Response: Sorry it took a while to answer this. There were quite a few reviews on this story, so I was answering all of them first.

Poor James gets tortured by Sirius every once in a while. Sirius likes to have fun.

Yeah, I'm thinking they might have the same money system, but I'm not completely sure.

We saw the American and French banks, but unfortunately, I couldn't write them all. It would probably be cool though.

Thanks for reviewing this!


 Report Review

Review #4, by BluebirdBrigade Money Mania

14th July 2013:
This was a really funny but adorable story. I love the banter that went on between Sirius and James and how Sirius was super bored and was trying to get James to be mischievous with him. I found it super cute that the main reason James didn't want to do any pranking was because Lily didn't like it which you know is a very 'in love' thing to do because you don't want to upset the girl you like. Sirius's responses ad jibes were really funny and very in character and I especially like the part where he decides to force James by making his broom hit him over the head. James's own favourite thing is now clubbing him over the head, brilliant :P

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. I don't think I saw one single spelling error or grammar mistake and the flow of this story was so smooth and just got better and better as it went along. I thought it was really funny and a very interesting idea. I like the way you included the war too, made it seem more realistic and drew my focus a little more too to see the details :)

Maz

Author's Response: First of all, I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond. Even though though the house cup ended a few weeks ago, I'm still trying to catch up on everything!

I tried to make this story a little humorous, so I'm glad you enjoyed the humor! And it definitely helps that James and Sirius are both silly sometimes.

Really? You didn't catch any mistakes? That's great!

I'm glad you enjoyed the mention of the war! Stuff like that is usually on people's minds.

Thanks for the review!



 Report Review

Review #5, by ValWitch21 Money Mania

14th July 2013:
Sirius is just the worst in terms in of rational thinking, isn't he? One thing that came across clearly in this one-shot is how easy-going he is about (almost everything). Jumping on a broom to tour the world out of the blue, WELL WHAT A GOOD IDEA.

Admittedly, I am kind of jealous of how easily you could travel as a wizard -- just jump into a fireplace, or hold a broken shoe, and poof! Nothkng compared to Muggle check-in and fully body searches at the airport.

Thank you for such a kice read!

Author's Response: First of all, I'm sorry I didn't respond sooner I'm STILL trying to catch up on everything I neglected during the house cup!

Ha ha, your comment made me laugh out loud. Sirius is a bit of an idiot, isn't he? He acts BEFORE he thinks.

I wish I could travel like a wizard- everything would be so time efficient! (Something I have a problem with)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by starryskies55 Money Mania

13th July 2013:
this piece really made me smile :P

I'm not a fan usually of marauders stories, because they're quite hard to write without sounding cliched, but I think you did it really well actually! Mentioning the rise of Voldemort and his threatening power was a brilliant idea, especially to add context and a lot of people write Marauders forgetting about him. You also kept the rest of it very close to canon, which is a good idea when you don't have enough time to make an AU, for example with Lily and Sirius at James' house in the first place.

James and Sirius' exchanges were very funny as well, I loved the bit at the start when they were lying on the bank together. 'Get a hobby!'- and Sirius turning into a dog and licking him. I like to think he does that a lot to annoy James! It was very original as well- I liked that the Americans used paper money and the difference between Gringotts and their bank, as well as the bank in France. (Oh! And when Dorea shouted at them, she shouted at Sirius like he was her son as well. I liked that a lot. Poor Sirius.)

As some CC, I'd say that the piece as a whole could be developed and expanded a bit more. It was a bit of the leap of the imagination to have Sirius and James just fly to America- that would have also taken them at least a day- and how did Dorea Potter know where to find her son? However, this is a great start, well done!

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me so long to respond, I'm STILL trying to catch up on everything I neglected during the house cup.

I'm not much of a marauders person either, but it's great for little one-shots like this. I like next greneration much more, since you can really do anything, but as my main novel is about Albus Potter, I decided not to do them for this.

I liked making little funny exchanges throughout the story. I really wanted to make the banks different as well.

Dorea treats Sirius as her second son. :)

Thanks for the CC, I always like knowing what I can imrove upon. I wrote this in sort of a rush. In an earlier review, the reader suggested Sirius should get a little inspiration for the trip, and I think that is a good suggestion. Yeah ,you do have a point, they got there a little fast- I had them put a speeding charm on there broomsticks though (Which would be illegal in Quidditch). Dorea found her son through a variety of tracking spells, I just wasn't sure how to incorporate that fact in the story (And I needed to get the story in really quickly).

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by KiwiOliver Money Mania

13th July 2013:
Here for the House Cup!

I really like this story :) So light hearted and witty :) You made ma laugh a couple of times, especially with the French bit!

You also managed to make the characters extremely believable :) Sirius is just how I imagined him!

With the detailed descriptions of the money and such, you made it seem all the more realistic :)

Great job :) I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: So sorry I haven't responded yet. I'm still behind on many things that I had neglected during the house cup!

I haven't done any humorous pieces, and the last one-shot I wrote was very depressing, so I decided to have a little bit of fun with this one.

Sirius's character came quite easily to me when I was writing him.

Thanks! I tried to make the banks so everybody could see them inside their head, I'm glad I suceeded!

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Akussa Money Mania

13th July 2013:
Hi! Here for the House Cup 2013 :P

I liked this story a lot and especially the interractions betweens the characters of James and Sirius. I think you got Sirius' character spot on with the immaturity and need to always be in action.

The travels to different banks was great, I love how you described the places and the money was really nice and gave an impression of "being there". I'm glad James had fun during this trip; it gave the occasion to see how great friends they are.

Great job, it was a good one shot!!

Akussa for Gryffindor!

Author's Response: First of all, I'm sorry it's taken so long to respond I am still trying to catch up on everything, even though it is weeks after the house cup!

James grew up a bit to be with Lily, but I don't think Sirius ever fully grew up! Even in OOTP, Sirius was still a bit reckless.

The different banks were fun to write.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by purplepotter77 Money Mania

13th July 2013:
Here for the House Cup!

This story was so enjoyable to read! I loved both Sirius and James. James had matured a lot, but at the end, he's still a Marauder on the inside! Sirius was funny and always trying to have fun as usual. I loved the part where he tried to speak French but instead, he said "I pick my nose with my thumb."

It was really interesting to see the American bank and how they had paper money instead of coins and the French bank. The way you incorporated the theme of travel into this in the form of broomsticks was really amusing.

I think my favorite part would have to be the end and how Mrs.Potter finds them, but I'm glad James had fun on their journey! I'm wondering how Mrs.Potter could find them, but it's probably her motherly instincts.

Great job with this; I really enjoyed it! :)

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken so long to respond. I'm STILL trying to catch up on everything I neglected during the house cup!

Ha ha, that phrase came quite randomly to me. I was laughing as I wrote it.

I wanted to have each bank they visited be different, so it wasn't just like a copy of Gringotts. One of the things I changed was the type of material for the money.

Mrs. Potter is a very talented witch, and she found her son and her adoptive son through a series of different tracking charms. I just wasn't sure how to say that in the story. And, I think there was some motherly instincts in there as well. :)

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Athene Goodstrength Money Mania

13th July 2013:
Here from the HC review-a-thon!

This was so funny and sweet, I found it really refreshing! The part where Sirius turned into a dog and started licking James face, prompting James to worry about his parents inside seeing, made me laugh - it's like they're a young couple! I guess it's guy love to the max.

The characters were both really fun, and Sirius in particular definitely felt familiar - restless, looking for excitement, getting people into trouble... yep, sounds about right!

I enjoyed the visits to the wizarding banks, particularly the description of the painted money bag on the wall. It did seem a bit of an odd choice for an adventure though, as it seemed to come out of nowhere. Perhaps you could add a line or two about Sirius looking around for inspiration, then finding a Galleon in his pocket and thinking 'aha!'?

I enjoyed this story - it was short and sweet, and Hufflepuff should be proud to have you :)

Athene xo

Author's Response: First of all, so sorry it's taken me so long to respond- I'm trying to catch up on everything I neglected during the house cup, even though it's several weeks later.

Aw, I thought it was very cute with Sirius licking James. It did not give the effect Sirius wanted though!

Writing Sirius came very easily to me; I knew exactly what his character was like!

Hmm, I actually like your suggestion a lot. I did this story in sort of a rush, and you're right, the idea did pop out of nowhere. I think I might change it, thanks so much for the suggestion!

Thanks for review, as well!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Debra20 Money Mania

13th July 2013:
These boys will never learn, will they? It seems the most natural thing that Sirius would want to drag James into trouble, now that the boy had finally settled himself and stopped his 'pranking'. Sirius loved Potter very, very much, but there were moments in the books when it felt like he was frustrated that James changed after he started dating Lily. He didn't have his best friend all for himself any more. And that's completely understandable. That's why your story fits perfectly with my idea of how the relationship between the two evolved. This was the beginning of their slight separation.

Even if the idea of them being able to fly that much on brooms, without a stop, and be able to visit any place in the world as easily as they did, I have to admit you explained it very well. The idea was very imaginative and how you fitted the HC theme in the story makes a lot of sense. Well done!

Author's Response: First of all, sorry for taking so long to respond- I'm STILL trying to catch up on everything I missed during the house cup!

Yeah, I think James went a little lovesick for Lily, and Sirius got sad that James wasn't pranking anymore. Perfectly understandable, and I'm glad you picked up on that!

I didn't want my one-shot to be boring, so I got a little creative with it.

Thank you for the review!



 Report Review

Review #12, by charlottetrips Money Mania

13th July 2013:
Boys will be boys won't they?

I enjoyed reading about the different countries and the money exchange. Sirius was so Sirius here as has been described by JKR in the books. He's got the arrogance, the flightiness, but the underlying loyalty that really shines here in the end. He created mischief, yes, but he did it to help a buddy out. While his viewpoint may be lacking in the soberness needed for a world at war, I think a story like this highlights why Sirius was a needed friend.

I liked how James was such a straight act here, though he did give in in the end. He's definitely got more of a line to toe and I find it interesting that his parents were mentioned here because in the other Marauder stories I don't get to read much about them.

I thought the way you introduced the different banks and such was pretty creative! It was unusual to me that you decided to have the banks run by wizard instead of any other magical races. Also, I smiled at the American's disdain for the galleon because that is how I (an American) sometimes feel about other countries' money (I do admit a little shamefully). I think it's because I don't understand it.

All in all, this was a cute oneshot and enjoyable!

Author's Response: So sorry for taking so long to respond- I'm still trying to catch up on everything that I neglected during the house cup, even though it is weeks later!

Thanks for the compliment about Sirius! I actually didn't have a hard time writing him. His character just comes so naturally to me.

Yeah, this is the time when James starts to become more mature. James is about to enter his seventh year, and he's going to become head boy soon.

I tried to make sure the banks were different, so I had them wizard-run. I think Gringotts is unique because it is run by goblins. I doubt all wizarding banks are like that.

Thanks for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dark Whisper Money Mania

12th July 2013:
Money Mania,

Oh, this was really cute. I just love Sirius in this. His light-hearted fun character was really great. I loved how he was able to show James how to have fun, especially since readers know the tragedy that will eventually unfold. He is such a great friend.

And I love how they came to the U.S. Yeah!

And "de-butt numbing spell." XD Hahahaha!

Great job.
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Wow, out of the three reviews I've replied to, your the third person to say you liked Sirius! I guess I did him well. Sirius knows how to lighten up and have fun. You're right, no matter what Sirius does to James in this story, Sirius is a great friend to have.

I figured they should come to the U.S. since that's where I'm from.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by maskedmuggle Money Mania

12th July 2013:
Hey!

I really enjoyed reading this story! It was actually quite humourous! I always find that James + Sirius are amusing to read about and it was no different here. I loved your characterisations of them both - Sirius nagging James to go have some fun, and James having changed into someone a bit more serious, particularly due to Lily's influence! I loved Sirius' attempt at French: "I pick my nose with my thumb." That had me laughing out loud too.

The plot itself was really nicely done too! I loved the idea of James + Sirius flying across the sea, cleverly using disillusionment charms to hide themselves, finding the hidden bank and then apparating (through the portal) all the way to Paris! I found it interesting how they had a different money system, but it makes sense!

The only thing I'm a bit unsure about is.. I wonder how Dorea Potter managed to find them and why she was so angry? Surely it was just two teenage boys having a bit of fun? Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, and it was really great writing! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I'm not very experienced with humor in stories, so I tried to make this story as humorous as possible. I'm glad to see that I succeeded!

I figured the wizard money systems would be different than the muggle, since the English wizards use a different system than the muggles.

Dorea actually found her son through a locator charm, because she placed it on James when he wandered off when he was little. I couldn't figure a way to state this in the story and keep the same ending, so I left it out.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFan Money Mania

12th July 2013:
I loved this! I thought the idea of collecting money from different countries as hobby was really unique. I liked the reactions that each person had in different countries and I especially loved the part where Sirius couldn't speak French.

I loved Sirius, he sounded so Sirius, I loved his whiny and how he completely ignored James going on about how annoying and stupid Sirius was.

James seemed very serious, I expected him to be a little bit more easy going but I am interested to know what happened that got James and Lily almost killed.

My favourite part had to be "“Can you possibly get even more stupid?” James groaned.

“Yes,” Sirius grinned.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it and thought it was really funny. Great job!

Author's Response: I was hoping to get creative on this story, and muggle coin collecting is what I came up with!

Aw, I'm glad you liked Sirius. I needed him to be a silly, since I wanted to experience with humor, and if it wasn't for him, this adventure wouldn't have happened!

James and Lily escaped Voldemort three times, and since they died so soon out of Hogwarts, I assumed there must have been a few incidents in school.

Thank you so much for the generous review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login