Reading Reviews for The Final Journey
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Red_headed_juliet The Final Journey

8th July 2014:
This was wonderful! I like how much intelligence and insight you were able to give him in so few words. I really felt as though he was a dear friend, and not just a useful pet, which is exactly how Dumbledore would've perceived him. The description is wonderful. I could really see, hear, and feel everything your described. There wasn't anything that took me out of the story.

A wonderful little one-shot! I'm so glad I got to read it!

House Cup 2014- Decree 4

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so happy that you liked the story and that you thought that Fawkes was believable. I definitely wanted to portray his friendship with Dumbledore, rather than just a human/pet relationship. Thank you so much for your compliments!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #2, by Beeezie The Final Journey

17th July 2013:
Oh, god. Poor Fawkes.

I don't know what 'too much' is, but this was definitely upsetting. That said, I don't think it was upsetting in a bad way - I mean, this was about Dumbledore's death and Fawkes essentially mourning him. It should be upsetting.

But it was also beautiful.

You depicted Fawkes's sorrow in a lovely way, and I'm glad the HC brought this out. Your description of the places he passed over was amazing, whether it was Godric's Hollow or the ocean, and when you talked about the simple act of flying, I really, really wanted to fly, too.

Terrific job.

(I am sorry for this substandard review and I promise I will leave you better ones at some other point when we're not racing. ♥)

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hey Branwen!

I'm so happy that you liked this story! It was actually really challenging for me to write and I was completely unsure of its quality until I've received so many splendid reviews on it. :) I appreciate you reading and reviewing it! Thanks so much! And it's a lovely review, don't knock it. ;) W!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #3, by ginerva_molly_weasley The Final Journey

13th July 2013:
Oh this is sad. Why did you go and do that for? There are tears and everything here!

I love the fact you chose to write about Fawkes, there's originality right there as not many people choose to write about him because after all what do we know about animals!

I never thought how Fawkes would be coping after the death of Dumbledore, whether he would be pining and just die like some pets do or whether he would just fly off to find somebody else.

I loved the different scenes in here where he goes to Godric's hollow to visit the scene of the devestation where Harry was first found and then also to the house of Dumbledore where Fawkes had gone to him in his time of need after the death of Ariana. I love it.

Well done on this but poor Fawkes. I literally have tears in my eyes thinking about his grief!

Well done

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm sorry I made you cry, but I'm glad the story was so powerful. I really appreciate all of your kind words! Thanks again for taking the time to check this out!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #4, by Athene Goodstrength The Final Journey

13th July 2013:
Wow, Emily! What an amazing perspective to write from. This is really beautifully and thoughtfully written... Fawke's voice is so gentle, so loving, so sad. How on earth did you just manage to capture a phoenix's narrative thoughts so perfectly?

Of course, this works beautifully as a telling of some of Dumbledore's life too, and you do an excellent job of that. Dumbledore and Fawkes are both so glorious, aren't they? I feel like you captured that.

Although this was really sad (okay, really, really, really sad), the tiny glimpse of hope at the end is just so poignant and wonderful.

The actual wording and structure is lovely, so very well-put together. You're a very talented writer.

I really enjoyed reading this! Well done :)

Athene xo

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Your compliments really made me smile! Thanks so much! I'm so happy that you liked the voice and tone and all. I'm so glad everyone is seeing that the end is a bit hopeful. Again, thank you so much! And good luck on the House Cup! :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #5, by SilentConfession The Final Journey

13th July 2013:
I love the images that this story brings to mind. The fog, the marshes, the bright flying phoenix flying above the earth like a shooting star. Those are the kind of images that make a person get into the story. It sets the stage and it brings the reader right into the story. Which is great because as strange as a narrator as Fawkes was those things helped ground the story and helped us see life through his eyes.

This was a beautifully woven tale with a lot of emotion. I liked how he flew over some of the most defining moments of Albus' life and showed how Albus grew as a person and how they grew together. The theme also of rebirth was really strong here. How everything changes, eventually it changes for good.

This is just such a unique tale! I can't get over the idea that you chose to write with the eyes of Fawkes! Absolutely amazing choice and i'm just shocked at how emotional I feel over this fictional bird. Really stunning work. I think my favourite bit was the end and how he burst into flames and fell into the ocean. It left a really powerful vision in my head of how nothing ends forever and once again good will rise up again.

Really lovely work here! I'm really happy I was able to read this!

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I really enjoyed it and I'm so happy that you liked the story. I wasn't too sure of it until I read the reviews and it's received really positive feedback. I love details so I'm glad those came through. And I'm really happy you liked the "rebirth" element of this. That was important for me. That final scene with Fawkes dropping into the ocean was the only one that I was really positive I loved. So I'm glad you liked it too! Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan The Final Journey

13th July 2013:
I've never read a stor told from the point of view of an animal or magical creature so this was quite new for me. It was very interesting seeing things from the point of view of Fawkes. I liked understanding his thoughts and living his memories. You showed that Dumbledore really had been a friend to Fawkes and that Fawkes had really cared for Dumbledore.

I really liked how Fawkes had an understanding about everything that had happened and that he had understood words and events just as much as any human being.

Even though this was really sad and made me feel really sorry for Fawkes, I enjoyed it. A lot. Awesome job on this!

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you liked the story and the anthropomorphism. I really love Fawkes and wanted to give him a story about how HE dealt with one of the most painful deaths in the series. I'm really happy that you enjoyed it and thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #7, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The Final Journey

13th July 2013:
Hello!

Wow, this was such a powerful and heart wrenching one-shot! It's such a completely different take on the theme travel and I really enjoyed that.

I love that you gave Fawkes near on a human presence here. He understood at all times what was happening, the only thing he lacked was the communication. The memories that he brings up are key points in Dumbledore's life and I felt they worked so well here. I thought you had a good few additions too, like the fact he goes to pay his respects to Lily and James every year and the fact that Fawkes saved his life in both confrontations with Grindlewald.

I think you have a beautiful style all the way through this piece and the writing is spot on. I didn't notice any mistakes! Your imagery is lovely to read and I really felt like I was flying with Fawkes to his final resting place.

The ending was really nicely done and I think a fitting way to finish. After talking so much about how loyal Fawkes is too Albus, I think it's what might have happened. It's sad obviously and it really broke my heart but it did feel right.

Well done on such an awesome one-shot!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hello Lauren!

Thank you so, so much for your lovely review! I'm really glad that you liked the story and think it was believable. I really wanted to write this and see where it took me and I'm pretty happy with it. :) Thanks for all your compliments. They make me smile!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan The Final Journey

13th July 2013:
This was wonderful. I love minor character POV's, and had always wondered what happened to Fawkes at the end of HBP, so I was really glad to read this story!

His journey as he follows the events in Dumbledore's life was touching and very sad. I liked how you kind of personified Fawkes in that his tears were to heal a wound that wasn't really physical, so he was actually crying. Poor Fawkes :( He is a really special bird.

I love what you did with the ending as well, how he caught fire and sank into the ocean to wait. I don't really know what I was expecting, where he would go, but I liked this ending. It's sad but has a bit of hope, because some day another companion will present him/herself.

This was really original and I loved it! Wonderful work.

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for such a kind review! I'm really glad that you liked the story! I wanted to tackle what I thought might have happened with Fawkes after HBP and this is how it turned out. :) I wasn't too sure of it, but the reception has been good, so hopefully I succeeded somehow. I'm really happy you liked the ending! That's the one part I was sure I liked. :) Thanks again for reading and reviewing and good luck in the HC!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #9, by Celtic_Dreamer7 The Final Journey

12th July 2013:
I sit here, staring at my computer screen in tears. Why must you write such touching and moving words? I'm crying over the last flight of a fictional phoenix. One that doesn't exit in the "real" world but is very much alive in our universe. This one shot was very moving. I couldn't stop reading from beginning to end, excellent job.

I didn't see any grammatical or spelling errors and your spacing was perfect. I love your eye for detail and how you went back to each of the times he was there for Dumbledore. It was so moving.

The ending got me good. I love how although he "past" there was hope that he would return for a new companion in the future. So epic and awesome, I can't stop crying.

Great, great job and good luck to your house!

~Celtic~
Slytherin

Author's Response: Hey Celtic!

Thank you so much for such a splendid review! I'm really glad that you liked the story so much! I'm four for four in making people cry who've reviewed this story (including my sister). I really didn't mean to! But I am glad that it affected you so deeply. That means a lot to me. I love Fawkes and always wish that we would have known what happened to him after Dumbledore died. I really hope he was happy someday and this was just my take on what could have happened before that. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and thank you so much for reading and reviewing. Good luck to Slytherin in the Cup!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #10, by Wildmoon The Final Journey

11th July 2013:
This is BY FAR the best story I've read in the challenge so far. I'm on the verge of tears, and I'm not a crier!

I had always wondered where Fawkes went after Dumbledore's death, I always anticipated seeing him in the final battle of the books, and was disappointed when he didn't. I love the way you painted this explanation for that. He was so much more than just a pet.

I love the Aurthurian twist you put on the end, I can well imagine Excalibur thinking much the same thing if swords could think. Hopefully Fawkes won't have to wait as long for his once and future companion.

Well done!

Author's Response: Hello there!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm so, so happy that you liked the story! I'm sorry I nearly made you cry, but I'm glad that the story affected you so much. I wasn't sure it was very good at all! Thanks again for this lovely review. You made me smile. :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMolly The Final Journey

11th July 2013:
DracoFerret11,
If it's a story that has Fawkes, I'm there. He was so central to the story. It broke my heart when he flew from Hogwarts. His journey through your eyes is unique and quite possibly the first that I've read. I can see the ritual and path he took as a tradition that each Phoenix must take after a long time companion passes away. This was beautiful, sad, memorable, sweet and breathtaking. Your story makes one wonder how long until Fawkes next friend will take to find him. Thank you for the wonderful story you wrote.
FoM
PS I always hope that Fawkes would connect with Harry. It wouldn't surprise me if Albus requested that Fawkes watch over the Chosen One.

Author's Response: Hello FoM!

Thank you so much for such a sweet review! I'm really glad that you liked the story. :) I had the idea to write about what Fawkes felt after Dumbledore's death since we really never got to see that through J.K. Rowling's writing. I hope I did Fawkes justice. I think he's brilliant and I'm very fond of him. My sister cried when she read this, so hopefully that means I struck a chord. I don't know where Fawkes would go after Dumbledore's death or who he would be with, but I hope this story proposes some ideas for that. Either way, I hope he would be happy again someday. Thanks again for reading and reviewing and for all of your compliments. I really appreciate them. This review definitely made me smile. :)

--Emily


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login