Reading Reviews for Lost Wanderings
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarik Find Yourself

31st July 2013:
Hello there, Galawen! This is such an amazing story; it's so breathless and fluid and so filled with movement and restlessness, and such an appropriate mood for a travel-themed story. And it's such a surprise to read a story whose characters are all OCs! It really does remind us that the Potterverse is much larger than it appears, and that it really extends beyond the lives of the canon characters which we are so familiar with. I know there are other fics in which people travel to distant countries in order to both escape the stasis of their present lives as well as to search for some sort of new vigour in their lives, to find some fragment of their self which they have lost touch with. But despite that, your story still feels fresh and the whirl of countries and sweeping descriptions of the places visited by your character were really breathtaking.

I had the sense of so much colour and life and vibrancy, and there were some details that were so lovely and so unique, e.g. the St. Bernard puppy in Switzerland, the sobering visit to Auschwitz and the ties to her grandparents, etc. And then there's the presence of Ronan, which adds a lovely touch of romance to her life. It's quite lovely, the way the romance develops between her and Ronan, and how oblivious she is to it all; I'm thinking that her initial inability to perceive and understand her own feelings would be because she's still symbolically holding on to her past, i.e. she hasn't moved on. Which makes the end so satisfying (I know you said it was corny and all, but the way you've written it is gentle, mellow, and genuine and with little melodrama - and in my opinion, it was a very appropriate and well-written ending). Because this is when she leaves behind her old, suffocating life and that sense of melancholy and embraces the present, and life in general.

This was a really gratifying and wonderful story! It fit the travel theme excellently, and I really enjoyed this. Beautiful writing.

-teh

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Find Yourself

25th July 2013:
Aw, this was adorable! The ending is quite deserving of a Corncob Award - and I mean that in the best way possible, of course ;) Corny, yes, but so cute!

Ok, for the actual review now. Your writing style in this was really unique, and I loved it! There were only two lines of dialogue, which made it really interesting because all of the story is in the main character's head. It allows me to really understand the character because it's what she feels, experiences, and thinks, without the influence of anyone else's words. And I think that fit well with your theme of the character finding her independence and searching for herself.

I also thought it was interesting how you never revealed the main character's name - but I really liked that aspect. The story is still very personal despite not knowing who the person is. That's the beauty of it - it could be anyone.

Really well done on this story!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Violet Gryfindor Find Yourself

14th July 2013:
Oh, this is fantastic! I was surprised to see an all OC story for this challenge - they're hard enough to find at the best of times, and yours is a particularly fine example. Your characters feel as though they just stepped out of canon because you make them fit so well into the wizarding world. Your protagonist is also very realistic - she's not just the wallflower type, not in the way that she constantly reads her reactions and emotions, struggling against them as she goes. She really does go to "find herself" in the outside the world, growing and gaining confidence in ways that she just couldn't at Hogwarts, or even in Britain. It makes for an extraordinary journey both inside and out.

Another aspect of your story that stood out was the use of the Portkey Office. For some reason, portkeys don't come up much in the stories I've been reading, so it was refreshing to read a story that features them so prominently. It was also one of the reasons why your story felt so much like canon because you choose the perfect items - so random and incredibly everyday - and created a whole system of travel that makes me wonder why anyone would use a broomstick for long-distance travel. It was a lot of fun to explore the world through your character - you describe all of the places with wonderfully vivid details. I felt as though I was seeing all of those places too.

And of course there's the love story. When I first saw the grinning boy, I hoped that she would meet with him again, and the relationship that grows between them felt very natural - you effortlessly demonstrate how they belong together, and you didn't need canon to support this at all, it just happened. That's what makes the romance in this story so sweet. This story would make for a lovely romantic movie!

You've done amazing work with this story - it was a joy to read! It's very different from your other story I've read - "Ignorance" - but it has the same high quality of writing and storytelling. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #4, by KiwiOliver Find Yourself

13th July 2013:
Here for the HC :)

What a beautiful one-shot :) I really like it!

Out of all the one's I've read so far, this one has to be the best :)

I find it ironic that I feel like I know your character so well (because of your amazing writing) but I don't know their name :) It makes me smile because you're so good at writing!

Your descriptions are amazing and I really liked Ronan :) What an amazing guy, they suit each other perfectly! :)

Overall a really cool chapter :) I liked it a lot! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Find Yourself

13th July 2013:
Hi! I'm here for the house cup review-a-thon!

Gosh, this was so beautiful! I'm finding myself questioning why I've never read anything by you before and I'm definitely going to try and see what else you've written when you get the chance. This was just such a lovely story, really well written and constructed, and I enjoyed reading it so much!

At the beginning I was intrigued by your character and I think you showed the pain and heartache really well. It felt almost poetic at times, as if this rejection was a monumental loss, and I'm sure, to the protagonist, it was.

I loved the way that you incorporated the travel theme into the story. It might be a little cliched that people travel to find themselves, but I think in this case it holds true, only she was lucky enough to find someone else as well. I'm so happy for her that she gets another chance at love.

It's really interesting that you didn't give the protagonist a name at any point. I feel like, in spite of that, I know her very well and have a firm handle on her personality, but there's an element of intrigue and mystery there too. I actually like the fact that the character remains nameless, because it lets the reader think decide for themselves who exactly it is.

Ronan was a great character. He seems like such a genuine and nice person, and I'm really happy that she found him - it sounds like they have a lot in common and deserve each other.

Some of the description and imagery in this story was just stunning. I could picture everything so vividly, and I loved the fact that you took just enough time writing about each country she visited, with none of it feeling too rushed or too slow. The flow and the pace were great.

The only CC I have for you is that I spotted a couple of typos here and there, and I'd recommend rereading it to fix them. This was such a brilliant entry though, and I really loved reading it!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by purplepotter77 Find Yourself

13th July 2013:
Hello! Here for the House Cup review-a-thon!

I loved how they traveled through so many different places and explored so many cultures. You really covered the theme of travel well, and this was very interesting to read. I like how you didn't reveal the character's name, because I feel like it could fit a lot of different characters. It somehow made it easier to identify with her in a way. I also like how a broken relationship was what made her go on this trip, and then along the way, she met someone new.

Ronan seems like a great character, and I'm really happy the narrator had another shot at love. The description in this one-shot was also great. It helped me imagine that I was in each place with the narrator as she traveled through the world. I loved the last part of this and her realization that she's in love with Ronan. I felt really happy for her, considering what happened at the beginning.

This was a lovely read, wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Find Yourself

13th July 2013:
You've managed to capture the feeling of every teenage girl out there when they find out that the person they like has found someone else. Maybe not so heartbroken but very sad.

I love the descriptions throughout this and even though there were some very large chapters I understand why they were that length. You really captured the emotions of your character and you made it very easy to get into their head.

Great job on the entry!

 Report Review

Review #8, by magnolia_magic Find Yourself

12th July 2013:
Hi Galawen! I'm here for the review-a-thon!

So at the beginning of this story I was so excited, because I just love a tragic romance. But then I read on and it became something even better--a happy romance! I think you did such a great job with this piece, and I love that you kept with the grand tour idea. It really captures the spirit of the house cup :)

I loved traveling with our narrator to all the different places she visited. I think most of us can identify with wanting to run away after having our hearts broken...but she gets to actually do it! I loved the journey, and your descriptions felt so exotic and fun. And when she realizes the truth about Ronan I was almost as surprised as she was! I wasn't expecting her to find another chance at love, but I'm so glad she did :)

One thing I really liked was that you never give us your narrator's name. It really allowed me to identify with her even more, if that makes sense. She could have been me, or anyone else in the world. I think a lot of readers will really empathize with her.

This was such a fun read! You did a wonderful job with it!

--Maggie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login