Reading Reviews for Somewhere Only We Know
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Somewhere Only We Know

13th March 2014:
Blackout battle 2/6

This was a very sweet and touching piece. I am not a Ron/Hermione person but I still liked it so that's surely something hehe =)

I loved how you incorporated the theme of travel here without including actual travel - rather a travel to memories and through them travel to various places. It was creative and interesting.

Your portrayal of Hermione was also nice as an old woman. I liked how organised the photographs were, each trip labeled, especially in Ron's writing.

I loved the inclusion of Rose/Scorpius here too. I smiled reading about Ron's dislike for the poor lad and yet ultimately things had turned out okay. I practically squeed at the mention of Kenya btw because I live in its neighbouring country and my parents have been there and have described of its awesomeness (I hope to visit it one day soon too)!

I also enjoyed the reflections Hermione had, especially towards the end, about marriage. As I said, I don't ship them, but it was nicely put - their differences and similarities were perfectly balanced.

The ending sentence particularly struck a chord with me knowing that Ron was no more. All the same, this ended on a bittersweet note and seemed fitting for the story.

Your descriptions were sweet and engaging, and I didn't spot any obvious grammar errors either. Good job =)

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #2, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Somewhere Only We Know

7th February 2014:
This is such a touching story. It would have been touching without the final sentence, but I feel as though that put the whole thing into a much sharper focus, enhanced each memory by tenfold. Almost as if everything became tighter. And, looking back, it didn't come out of nowhere: there was a hint in the first line. So, so well done.

I liked how each holiday was it's own little bubble, and had its own emotions attached to it. Greece was healing, Devon was warm-- I truly felt what Hermione felt. I also thought the picture taken in Spain was fantastically described, three generations neatly outlined. In very few words, you traced two decades, touching on the key parts, and I feel as though I absorbed so much even though there was so little.

The only thing that confused me, looking back, was this: "Their wish was granted with the arrival of grandchildren, and to this day she still doted on them as if they were still young and wanting her attention. She knew Ron did too." The way you've worded things implies that Ron still lives, since it notes that Hermione /still/ dotes on the grandchildren. Just a thought.

I'm glad to have stumbled upon this. I really enjoyed it!

-lllb

Author's Response: Hello there! Sorry for taking so long to reply to this, but better late than never.

Thank you! I feel like it's one of those sentences that then changes the entire perspective of the story, so I quite like it too haha. Yes definitely, I'm glad you got that impression about each holiday - I wanted to point out the important ones to show how much they meant to Ron and Hermione and how they changed their lives.

I'll have a look back over that sentence, thanks for pointing it out.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by XoXo Gossip Girl Somewhere Only We Know

4th January 2014:
Hello! Secret Santa here once more!

Aww... this was too cute of a story Jenny! I loved every bit of it! And that's a big compliment coming from me, as I am an avid Dramione shipper :P

I especialy loved Ginny's drunken ideas and antics. Poor Hermione! Sounds like something she would do however.

Once again, great description on this one. The little bits of memories that you intertwined into it was so good! It really gave insight into what I could see as a very beliveable scenario for Ron and Hermione. It was lovely! I especially loved the bonding holiday part, I can totally see Ron not coming to terms with Scorpius. Ah, so good!!

I did not see Ron having passed on coming! I thought he may have been out, that made me shed a tear definitely. Very well done though, was a lovely bittersweet twist you made there :)


Late Merry Christmas, hope you have enjoyed your presents!

Love,
Secret Santa
xoxo

Author's Response: Hello again! :D

Haha, in that case thank you! I don't mind Dramione personally but I do love Ron and Hermione. Haha yes, Ginny is definitely a character here!

Thanks! I really enjoyed thinking up all the little scenes for this so I'm so glad you enjoyed them. I wanted to make it as realistic as possible.

Yeah, it's definitely a sad ending, I was sad writing it :( glad you thought it was good though!

Thanks so much for the reviews and I hope you had a lovely Christmas! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by MissesWeasley123 Somewhere Only We Know

16th September 2013:
Jenny!

So, I'd actually read this one shot back when the House Cup was going on but wasn't active on the forums, so I kind of just read it and didn't review. I know, I know, bad Nadia, bad!

But now I figured it was time.

This story makes me realize why Ron and Hermione are my OTP. It's their differences that bring them together. Yeah - I do ship Dramione to an extent, but this story makes me wonder why I don't read Ronmiones more often.

Firstly, I think you incorporated the theme of the task very well. A lot of people did travelling to other places but you did a trip down memory lane.

It struck me at the beginning when Hermione was alone, and I knew in my heart of hearts that Ron was no more. But within the few words between the beginning and the end, you took me away. I entered Hermione's thoughts, felt her love and her pain. And by the time it all ended, realization struck me once more. That she was alone.

:(

You managed to pull me in and remind me everything J.K.R. did during the books. I believed in the pairing and this piece awoke all those feels.

So thank you for this. It was magnificent.

Nadia

Author's Response: Nadia!

Haha, that's okay. The amount of times I have done that too is admittedly pretty bad. ;)

I like Ron and Hermione, but I'd had the idea of Hermione as an old woman for literally years and I'd just never written it. The House Cup brought the story out from the ideas cupboard!

Thank you! I tried to think of a travelling idea, but I'm glad I came up with this because it focuses more on their feelings as a result. Aww! She is alone, but I'm sure Hermione being Hermione she is surrounded by her family most of the time.

That's high praise indeed! JKR is the Queen of course. Thank you for such a lovely review and I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by 1917farmgirl Somewhere Only We Know

23rd August 2013:
Oh, you made me cry. I started wondering as I was reading this if Ron was gone, but I forgot as I got caught up in all the adventures they had around the world, so that last line still got to me.

Love how you showed that just because Ron and Hermione fell in love and got married, it didn't mean they just changed into two people who got along perfectly. They were still the same, they had just learned how to love and accept each other as they were. That is something a lot of people forget - just because you get married doesn't mean all problems disappear. Marriage is hard work, too!

Loved seeing all the places they went through the years, and their family growing and changing. REALLY curious what Scorpius talked to Ron about! Gonna be wondering that for a long while now. :P

Thanks for a lovely one-shot! It was a pleasure to read it. You are such a talented author. :D

Author's Response: Hi there! :)

Oh man, I'm sorry! ;) I honestly feel bad but I'm happy that my story elicits such a strong reaction.

Yeah, I think it's really important with relationships to write them so that they're not always happy all the time, because that just isn't realistic. Accepting and loving each other is a great way to put it!

Haha, even I'm wondering what he said to Ron! ;) I'll leave that part up to your imagination!

Wow, seriously thank you so much! I'm so glad you think that. :D thanks for taking the time to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by lovethepotters Somewhere Only We Know

7th August 2013:
First of all, I'd just like to say that you've done a marvellous job with approximately 1000 words Jenny! You should give yourself a pat on the back for your efforts :D

You've come up with a unique take on the travel theme for the House Cup, so kudos to you! I loved the idea of Hermione reflecting on her life by looking through a photo album in her old age. It seemed very in-character, considering her love of books :)

The story itself is extremely well written and concise. The imagery is absolutely brilliant; I could picture everything in my head perfectly.

Hermione's holidays seemed realistic, which was nice to see. I could imagine her dragging Ron around Greece, just as I could imagine Ron holding a grudge against Scorpius! It was nice also to see Ron and Hermione in their older years, I think it was a nice touch :)

But what a twist at the end, mentioning that Ron was dead with the last sentence! It was so unexpected and yet it fitted in perfectly with Hermione's reflective mood.

A powerful one-shot, thank you for sharing this story Jenny! I really enjoyed it!

Tara :D

Author's Response: Hey Tara!

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it! :D that's so true, I hadn't even considered that aspect of her character - I love how everyone reads it in different ways :)

I was definitely going for realism with the holidays because I drew from my own experiences and others I know so great! And I'm pleased you liked all the description and such :)

Haha yes, I felt like a terrible person for doing it but it needed to be done!

Thanks for your review Tara and I'm so pleased you enjoyed it! :)

Jenny :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by randomwriter Somewhere Only We Know

3rd August 2013:
Hellloo!! :)
I absolutely adore Canon pairings :)

This is a lovely story! I expected Ron to come in and hug her from behind in the end, but when I read the last bit, I really genuinely felt that kind of gut-wrenching sorrow that loss brings. It's amazing how much power one simple line can hold. I supposed I should have seen it coming, I realize. After reading the story again. But, ah well. This made a more lasting impact.

Your description of the photos from Greece seem so realistic. I do think that they would have taken a holiday together to heal and move on from the horrors of their past. Their nervousness is a perfect way to describe how they might have been feeling. Especially since they had been friends for so long, it's always a little confusing in the beginning when you might not know how to behave with the person since things have changed.

I love Ginny in the sixth book. Her comments are so funny. And the Ginny you've described here seems like a very believable extension of that Ginny.

Rose/Scorpius is my favourite pairing, so the mere mention of them together got me excited. I think the whole Ron Vs Scorpius part was really written well. It's how I'd imagine things between them to be! I'm glad they sorted it out in the end, though.

The two paras in the end tie up the story nicely. I absolutely love the entire family photo. I think it seems like such a real life thing. And the love they share was also described perfectly.

As you can tell, I'm in a very descriptive mood. And I loved your story a lot, so I launched into full blown review mode.

I loved how the typical characteristics of Ron and Hermione came out, with her need to explore the places, and go to all the popular site-seeing locations, while Ron was content just sitting in the shade, being a lazy bum! :P

While it ended on a sad note, the story itself had its funny moments like Ron's sunburn, his discomfort at being in such a close range with a Kangaroo, baboons eating their food, Hugo's sweeping kiss, etc :)

And FINALLY, a tiny tiiiny bit of CC. I found that you r tenses were slightly mixed up in just two places. (I'm afraid that I've forgotten where)

P.S- I think this is the longest review I've left after making an account. I've posted far too many long reviews as a guest, but this is definitely my longest as a member! :P I love this mood I'm in!

Anyway, by this time, I'm SURE I've bored you.
Sorry, I guess :P

Love
Randomwriter :)

Author's Response: Hi Adi!

Well, THIS has turned me into a pile of gush! Haha. Thank you so much! All I want to do is squee right now! *hugs*

I'm really glad you liked that last line because I too believe it changes the tone of the story completely. There were a couple of tiny clues in the story that hinted to what had happened but I felt bad for writing it, haha!

Thank you! Funnily enough I've never actually been to Greece so I'm so pleased it sounded realistic! I think their lives would have been so focused on being 'war heroes' and reforming the Ministry that they would actually not know what to do with themselves in a sense when they're away from all that.

Rose/Scorpius (actually anything involving Scorpius) is my favourite too! Yeah, in hindsight I would like to add more to this part and not have Ron get over it so quickly but I'm glad you liked it all the same. :)

Aww thank you! I think that was my favourite part to write because I can imagine Hermione looking back at the photo in a moment of nostalgia when all of her family were together. It was fun to write what they would have all been doing in the photo too.

Ah yes, I always have trouble with my tenses! I shall check over it again and hopefully get it fixed! :)

Thank you so much Adi for such a lovely review and I feel honoured to have the longest review you've written as a member! :D

Jenny x


 Report Review

Review #8, by house elf Somewhere Only We Know

29th July 2013:
This hurt to read! Like a punch to the chest! It's written beautifully, perfectly. I think I might have a little something in my eye...

Very sweet idea, though. Beautiful :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know it's a bit of a tough read but I'm glad you still enjoyed it! :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Akussa Somewhere Only We Know

18th July 2013:
That was so sweet :) I really loved taking that trip with Hermione (and Ron!) I feel as though they deserve this happiness so much considering all they went through during the adolescence and how hard it was for them to finally admit that they had feelings for each other.

As I read this story and moved through the years with them, I could feel their love and their joy. It was just so well written and the detailing was great. It really felt like I was looking through the photographs as well.

I couldn't spot any spelling errors but I did find a strange sentence at the end. You write :

"ultimately had murdered one another in their sleep";

I highly doubt this is what you really mean considering the following sentences (although, you broke my heart by having Ron die). I really enjoyed this story and you made their love so real and believable through time, it was a great read!

Author's Response: Hi Akussa!

Aww, thank you! I ultimately meant for this piece to be uplifting despite the end. I'm glad you thought it was well written too! Yeah, that's a weird sentence haha, it's a typo! I've fixed it now :)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by starryskies55 Somewhere Only We Know

14th July 2013:
this was beautiful and so damn sad! not fair, not fair at all. gah. lemme compose myself. okay. this was amazing. haunting, and amazing. I really enjoyed this, and i thought that the characterisations were wonderfully canon. It was a really nice story. gahh. bad review alert.

The little snapshots (GEDDIT PUN) were really interesting, and, for little pieces, they were all quite well developed, and there was some beautiful description in here. I especially loved Ron taking an extreme dislike to poor Scorp. I wonder what he said to him?

The description of their married life was so perfect and blissful, it broke my heart when Ron was gone at the end, but well done, this was amazing.

PS. "ultimately had murdered one another in their sleep" - you may need to reword this unless Hermione actually did murder Ron. In which case... its stopped being so adorable.

Author's Response: Hey Jenny!

Wow, I'm so pleased you enjoyed it! Seriously thank you for your comment about how canon they are because I was seriously worried about that. I have always avoided writing the Trio because of it! So thanks :)

Nice pun there ;) and thanks! To be honest I was rushing a little bit to reach the deadline so I need to work on description for it. And yes, typo - fixed it now!

Thanks for reviewing lovely!


 Report Review

Review #11, by ginerva_molly_weasley Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
Oh now why did you have to do that at the end. This was a wonderful story until I read the last sentence and now I just want to cry! I want to erase that sentence from my memory!

This is lovely going through each of their holidays together. I especially love the one with Harry and Ginny to Thailand. It is just in Ginny's nature to instigate the whole fiascos and as for Hermione missing a whole day of exploring then that is almost unforgiveable. I also loved when you talked about Kenya (mainly because there is some ScoRose love!) because everyone knows that if the suitor goes to talk to the father all becomes fine as the father realises the man is right for their daughter.

The last sentence though. It blew me away with the whole 'The best holiday ever' and then his death. That's just so sad!

Well done!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm sorry! :( I genuinely considered having Ron there but I thought the story would have more resonance if he was gone.

Haha, Thailand was definitely fun to write! I thought the same about Ginny so it was great to write her as the instigator of many fun and drunken nights. And yes, Kenya was also fun too for that reason! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it despite my mean ending ;)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Dark Whisper Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
Ah, very, very good Erised. This really was a journey in several ways. Not only in the physical places they went, but their life's journey in pictures. Very good, indeed.

I love how you wrote Ron in this. His reaction of his daughter's love for a boy named Malfoy was done really well. Its just nearly impossible to forgive such a blatant obvious flaw. LOL! I'm sure their separation would actually give Ron and Draco something they could finally agree on. ;)

Great job with Hermione missing him in the end, because that's what happens to so many in real life. A lifetime of memories to hold dear when they are gone. ;(

Thanks for the lovely read,
DW

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it! I really enjoyed writing Ron even though it's quite daunting to write such a well established character, so I'm pleased you liked him! And yes, it really does which makes the whole thing so bittersweet.

You're welcome and thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Debra20 Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
Hey Jenny! I'm here from the Review-a-thon of the HC!

My Hermione. This bitter-sweet entry broke my heart, but in a good way. Thinking about it now, after reading her recollection of places visited and memories stored, that indeed they are the most untied couple in HP. While the HP books were still ongoing it never passed my mind that they liked each other so it was quite a sock to discover that they fancied one another, but now, I couldn't see them with anyone else. They're my favourite HP couple!

So you can imagine how much I enjoyed this story. The tone you used is very sweet, very quiet and it feels like something Hermione would do when she would feel lonely (because as I understood from the ending, Ron has died). So much brought the two together that just thinking about one of them dying makes me tear up. You've added a priceless touch to their story with this one shot. They loved each other so, so deep and you captured it all perfectly, while still keeping them in canon (their bickering most of all haha). I can sincerely say that you've made me very teary with this piece. Thank you for the sweet memories :)

Debra20

Author's Response: Hiya lovely!

Ahh I'm sorry :( it was a necessary move, I felt that it would give the memories more meaning and resonance. I love Ron and Hermione too so I'm glad you liked reading it as much as I liked writing it!

Thank you, I'm so pleased you thought I did well on this! As Ron and Hermione are such an established couple it was a little daunting to even begin to write about them but I'm so pleased you think I did okay. Yes, their arguing was definitely an important part of their relationship haha!

Thank you for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Athene Goodstrength Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
So, here I am, merrily trotting along, enjoying the story of my favourite couple's marriage, and then YOU GOT ME. Argh. My heart. I wasn't expecting that... you did a really good job with that little twist. Even though it's sad, it's happy too... they had a lovely life together.

And... Ilfracombe *is* gorgeous! Haha. What a nice memory for Hermione.

This was really sweet and enjoyable. I really liked the relationships portrayed here, especially the growing and changing family dynamic.

Well done! :)

Athene xo

Author's Response: Hiya!

Aww, I'm sorry :( I felt bad when I wrote it but it had to be done! Thanks for thinking that I did it well though :)

I'm glad you liked it on the whole and yes, I love Ilfracombe! ;)

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by HeyMrsPotter Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
This was ADORABLE! I actually had a tear in my eye at the end when I read Ron had died :( This was so well written and I could really imagine this happening. I particularly loved the part about Ron not getting on with Scorpius, it's so true to his character. I really really loved reading this, excellent job :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! And I'm sorry :( it just had to be done! Thank you for your lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by DracoFerret11 Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from Ravenclaw on the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2013! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: This was really sweet! I love reflective stories and really had a nice time reading this one. I liked thinking about all the fun, exciting times that Hermione had throughout her life. I'm glad that she was happy. :) And I loved that Rose married Scorpius and Ron had to get over it. :D And their relationship was just really sweet. I expected he was dead, but it was still sad. One question, though: what on earth does the line, "ultimately had murdered one another in their sleep" mean?! Who killed who? That threw me off a bit...

Characterization: I love that you showed Hermione as the brave and adventurous one who wanted to go to exotic places and do exciting things. That's something I can really picture. And Ron being more reluctant and hesitant is also believable. I also liked that you pointed out that, even though parents want their kids out of the house, it's still lonely after they leave.

Descriptions: I loved the way you described the places they had gone! I could have even done with MORE details! :) I love details! How things look, sound, smell, taste, feel, etc. That's just awesome for me.

Emotions: I really liked that Hermione was happily remembering her experiences, even without Ron. It was sad that he was gone (sort of--I'm not that fond of him), but I think you really made that work with the story. :)

Overall, I think you did a good job. Good luck with the House Cup!

--Emily

Author's Response: Hi Emily!

Haha first off - typo! :P I've fixed it now. I'm glad you liked it though as I had so much fun writing it! I definitely thought Hermione would be the more adventurous one so I'm glad you liked that aspect of her characterisation. Next time I'll work on more details, I'll admit it was a little rushed!

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by marauder5 Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
Oh dear, how could you? *wipes tears away*

This was such a beautiful one-shot. Throughout the piece, I was thinking: "Oh, what a cute idea, having Hermione look back at her memories of travelling!" And then there were your little details that made it even better, like Ron's skin going as red as his hair (obviously!!) and his hand-writing being as bad as Rose's. It was also lovely to see their holidays changing as their lives changed - when they had children, when the kids were older, and then with grandchildren. I really liked that.

I think that this might be a typo: "had survived the stress of raising two children, and ultimately had murdered one another in their sleep." It should be "ultimately hadn't murdered one another in their sleep," shouldn't it?

Oh, and when I read that last line, my heart broke! It was such a twist that I certainly didn't expect, but it made the rest of the story even more beautiful. It's just so sad to think about those who lose their husband/wife after having spent so many years together, and now they have to live alone.. :( But it's the harsh reality of so many lives, and your portrayal of it was absolutely impeccable.

Author's Response: Ha, I'm sorry! :P

Thank you, I'm so pleased you liked it! I really enjoyed thinking up all the little details that I wrote, it was so fun. And yes, stupid typo haha, I've fixed it now! :P

I meant the ending to be bittersweet in that she was sad Ron was gone but happy about all the memories they had. I know, it's really sad :( thank you for such a huge compliment though! :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFan Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
That was beautiful! That's all I can say, that was beautiful. I enjoyed Hermione reminiscing about the past and looking through the photographs. I could picture everything that you described in my head very clearly. It was definitely obvious that there was lots of love in the family.

It was so nice and sweet to read but then I got to the end and I swear to God, tears came to my eyes! It just made me so incredibly sad because Ron was gone. This was just beautiful and fluffy and I loved it.

This was absolutely fantastic, well done!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I'm so pleased you liked it. Yes, lots of love and sometimes lots of hate thanks to Scorpius! Haha. Sorry about the ending! ;) I enjoyed writing it though.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by maskedmuggle Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
Hey!

Wow. This felt like such a powerful fic, particularly that last line.. it just left me feeling incredibly sad for Hermione.. but also happy that she'd been able to build so many great memories with Ron and the rest of her family. I think the characterisation of Hermione is just perfect.. she's grieving, but at the same time, she's also strong, and that's what I felt from that last line.

I really liked the recounting of the holidays - they were all really interesting to hear about, and I liked how you made each one different in some way, such as adding in the little anecdotes about Rose/Scorpius or the spilling of ice-cream and Hermione saving the day with wet wipes. All in all, really well written, and I enjoyed reading this. :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi!

Aww, thank you! Yeah, I definitely intended the ending to be bittersweet. And yes, there's no way I could ever make Hermione a weak character!

Thank you! I drew from my own experiences and people I know who have been to these places, so it was fun to write.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by typewriter Somewhere Only We Know

13th July 2013:
I think my heart just broke in half like a twig. That was beautiful! I could perfectly imagine Hermione, old and widowed, going through the wonderful memories of vacations which she'd spent with her late husband. I so wanted the ending to have been happier, but the tragedy of the story definitely made it what it is. It was real and believable. Well done! I usually don't enjoy Ron/Hermione stories for some reason, but I definitely enjoyed this one.

Author's Response: Ohh, I'm sorry :( haha. I'm glad you liked it though! I'm glad you thought it was believable because that's definitely what I was aiming for. And sorry about the ending. ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by academica Somewhere Only We Know

12th July 2013:
Hello!

This was very sweet in its simplicity. I can certainly imagine Hermione reflecting back on her life and all of the adventures that she and Ron shared together. The cyclical nature of the piece was nice as well; the story began with Hermione and Ron, just the two of them, and it ended with them as well. In the middle they experienced a world of excitement both at home and abroad with the kids. At the end, I couldn't help but feel happy for Hermione because clearly she had enjoyed her life and gotten the most out of her time with Ron.

Nice job!

Amanda
Ravenclaw
House Cup 2013


Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you! So can I, I thought it was a very normal thing for them to do together throughout their lives. I'm glad you liked the ending too even though it was kind of upsetting!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Celtic_Dreamer7 Somewhere Only We Know

12th July 2013:
Hi there!

This was a cute one-shot. I like how you could sum up their entire lives together with their photos from each of their trips. They took many lavish trips together. I'm so glad they were able to escape the post war trauma for a little while at the beginning.

I love how you included Rose and Scorpius! That was cute. I also like how you included Ron's dislike to him in the beginning.

My only complaint was the ending. I wish you would have included a few more lines about his passing. Maybe how long it had been since his passing or something.

Great job and good luck to your house!

~Celtic~
Slytherin

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks! I thought it was important for them to get away at the beginning because their lives would have been so hectic for the first couple of years. And thanks! I jump at the chance to include any Scorpius when I can. :P

I left the ending deliberately ambiguous in this sense so that it left more to the imagination, but thank you anyway!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by LittleLionGirl Somewhere Only We Know

12th July 2013:
Oh this was so happy and sweet until the ending paragraph. Then I cried a little bit. I didn't think traveling would be something Hermione and Ron would do but you wrote it so well I can't imagine them doing anything else.
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Aww I'm sorry! Haha. I'm so pleased you liked it and thought that I did a good job otherwise!

Thank you for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Violet Gryfindor Somewhere Only We Know

12th July 2013:
This is a lovely addition to the House Cup stories! It's a fantastic idea to have Ron and Hermione travel so often - it's not something I've seen in any other stories that refer to their adult lives, but you make it sound so natural, something perfectly suited to their characters. Certainly Hermione is curious and studious - hence why she frequents locations with historical significance - but you also take into account Ron's love of adventure and the freedom travel offers. It's even more exciting to see the kind of places they visit, all "off the beaten path," as you put it. They're the kind of places that would be interesting and exciting for both Ron and Hermione.

What makes this story stand out is how you tell the story of their life together through the pictures in the photo album. I especially loved how every trip was marked by undercurrents depending on whom they went with or what was going on in their lives at the time. It was a very important thing to include, making the story feel that much more real - not every trip was a success, but they always marked a change in their lives, pushing their story forward.

But then that ending! Oh, I had a feeling that it would be the case, but I hoped that it wouldn't - she remembered everything so vividly, so fondly that one could imagine Ron sitting over her shoulder, pointing out the funny things that had happened or other such remarks. Yet even though there is that absence, Hermione has all of those memories of a life together, a full life, a love that lasted until the end. It's not a depressing ending, but it still brings tears to my eyes. Seeing a story that places Ron and Hermione's relationship in such a positive - yet still realistic - light is a wonderful treat. I'm very glad that I took the time to read this story - it was beautifully done.

Author's Response: Hi Susan!

Yes, I think travel on the whole is a generally unexplored area which was why I found the prompt such a good idea. I'm pleased you thought I managed to capture their personalities through their preferred destinations!

Goodness, thank you so much! Realism was definitely the key here, hence the trip with Scorp and Rose. I thought about keeping Ron alive but I thought it would make the memories even more special and have more resonance if he had passed on. Still, I'm really pleased you thought so highly of it! Thank you!

Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by patronus_charm Somewhere Only We Know

12th July 2013:
Oh man why did this story have to be so sad? Iím sitting here like Hermione now with tears rolling down my cheeks!

The idea of seeing their lives and childrenís lives through almost snapshots of holidays was really ingenious. I really felt as if I got a whole timescale of their lives and experienced all the highs and all the lows. I think by getting this more complete view of their lives made the ending even more tragic because there was the assumption that Ron was still there with her and then the gradual realisation that he had in fact gone was horrible.

I know itís a really minor thing but the level of description you went into when describing their handwriting was really great. Iím not sure why but it seemed to give all of them a really unique personality and added a sense of realism to them.

The two favourite holidays of mine where Thailand and Ilfracombe mainly due to them showing such differing sides to Hermione. Thailand was great because Hermione could actually have fun and seeing her and Ronís relationship in the baby years was just so sweet. Then Ilfracombe was obviously more of Hermioneís idea of how a holiday should be with an historical background due to that dragon thing. I also liked it because it showed the transition of their relationship and how it had morphed into something new.

The Rose/Scorpius hints made me far too happy, but then again they are my OTP :P I liked Ronís mood towards him because it felt as if he almost wanted to let himself be friends but there was just that one small thing which continued to hold him back from doing so. We almost got to see the transition of their relationship too which, again, was really nice.

Overall I really loved this one-shot as it was so unique and really heartfelt! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Ahh, I'm sorry Kiana! But I suppose it is a compliment in some way so thank you also! Haha.

Thank you! I appreciate detail and so try my best to achieve it. I actually remember seeing it in one of the charity books that JKR published where they had annotations of the characters written in, so that gave me the idea.

I loved those ones too personally! Especially Thailand, that was fun to write :P but yes, writing about their evolving relationship was definitely one of the fun parts of this. Rose/Scorp will forever be my favourites too! :)

Thank you for reviewing! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>