20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lady Asphodel Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

28th March 2014:
Hey Adi! It's me, Alishya from the Gryffindor Review thread!


Well, first of all, I enjoyed reading this humorous one-shot! :P I gotta say you did pretty well for your first parody! And I applaud you for attempting it - because I am not a fan of parodies... as you can see it's not part of my genre of stories.


Anyways, I really loved how you had Victoire a girly-girl while at the same time a rough-around-the-edges type. It really pulled the corners of my lips into a smile.


Additionally, I liked how you wrote like a parallel version of Teddy, considering his parents - one who is mellow and humble, while as the other is clumsy. Thus, it was cool to see Ted confident and a bit arrogant. :^)


The proposal in front of the family scene was great too! You nailed Fleur's voice - because I find it so hard to misspell in order to fit her accent - or basically any character with an accent. :P

I mean everything in that scenario was funny! From Teddy misleading Victoire with the cooking; Molly's and Andromeda's skeptic looks and voices of expression. :D Arthur's breaking the awkwardness because of his hunger... and oh - I also took note of how Fleur's dad being chubby in your world when I imagined him to be fit, so it was great that you threw that in there. :D


The ending was great as well! Greatly wrapped up without going into too much detail, but I can imagine how this all played out... Your narrative sounds actually like how those narrators are in those comedy movies, so awesome job!


I didn't see anything wrong in terms for criticism, so you have a awesomely-written fic in your hands!


And I apologize for never reading any of your work. :( You say you should read my work more often, at least you do read my stories - ya know.


I'll be back to read more of your writing! Promise. ;)




- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #2, by MissesWeasley123 Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

27th December 2013:
It's the hap - happiest season of all...

Good lord Adi! I'm so glad I thought of this story for the 12 Days of Reviewing! A great excuse for me to go through your Author's Page!

And... this is exactly what I needed. I love parodies, and this one really put me in a brighter mood. First of all, I loved the beginning, it was such an eye roll, but so funny too, because of the way you worded it. This, this was golden:

A total of 564687768567 males and 3 females had asked her out in her life, but she had only ever had one boyfriend - Teddy Lupin.

LOL. The most randomest number and perhaps incredibly funny because we both know that there aren't even that many people on Earth. Still, hilarious.

Teddy *swoons* He's so.. so dreamy. I love him so much. I think I should just have him. Unlike Victoire, I can cook too. (kindofnotreallybutshhh)

And I don't even want to point this out, because I know from your later writing you've fixed this, but just in case, the only CC I would have is the dialogue. For example:

"That smells... interesting." Remarked Bill... -- this should be, "That smells... interesting," remarked Bill. Just with that comma instead of a period, since you added a dialogue tag. But you only did that a couple of times, so a quick read through would be okay. Otherwise, leave it, this was perfect.

I really loved the gathering, because our beloved Weasleys all showed up, which was great. Andromeda was hilarious, oh my. I loved how she still tried to be polite to Victoire's terrible cooking, but it was so much fun to watch her in pain. (I know, I'm evil) And Arthur and his plane obession were a nice touch.

Okay, so that turkey thing, sounded gross and ew. But that was one of the things I loved was that even though things were so crazy, you never stopped with the description. Your characterizations were perfect, and again - I really enjoyed your piece. It's one I'll come back to whenever I'm feeling down!

I hope you're having a great holiday Adi! Come back soon ♥
Nadia

 Report Review

Review #3, by milominderbinder Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

25th October 2013:
Review tag!

This was such a good parody. I loved how it started off just slightly parodical and then gradually got more and more ridiculous - the humour just built up and built up until the last line sent me into a fit of laugher! You did an awesome job of highlighting all the cliches that often get used with these two and totally taking the mickey out of all of them, which was brilliant to read. I love Teddy/Victoire which made this even funnier as I could really relate a lot of these tropes to things I've seen in real fics before! But never done as funnily as this :P

I loved Vic's bizarre food that she cooked, haha, that was perfect! Also the fact that she ends up working in St Mungos with people who are choking was just perfect, it really tied the whole thing together and was so funny.

Well done! This was hilarious to read. I am still giggling a little now...

~Maia xxx

 Report Review

Review #4, by Enjolras Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

6th October 2013:
This was just hilariously brilliant and I cannot wipe the grin off my face.

It's actually a really accurate description of how a friend and I have roleplayed Teddy and Vic - ESPECIALLY the Victoire-not-being-able-to-cook thing.

So, yes. Wow. Amazing. :)

Author's Response: That's a great thing! I'm glad it made you laugh :) It was my first parody and I was hoping that the humour would really shine.

Wow. Talk about co-incidence and head-canons.
Nailed it!

Gee, thanks :) This is a lovely review and your comments are so sweet! Thanks again! I'm glad you enjoyed reading this. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by bri_5_stars Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

1st October 2013:
I very much enjoyed this story! The intro was funny. I liked the whole her making a ridiculous food, it kinda reminded me of Friends. But I liked the engagement bit as well. Happy writings.
brithewriter from the challenge, I'll be posting results soon. Good luck!

Author's Response: Hello :) I'm glad you liked the intro. I really worked on it :P And yay for Friends! I love that show a little too much. Rachel in the episode where Brad Pitt comes in, right? :D She puts all sorts of things into the trifle. Lol :P I JUST realized that!

I'm glad you liked it. Thanks :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Erised Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

16th September 2013:
I've not read many parody pieces before so it makes a nice change to read one now! I love Teddy/Victoire so of course that's a big plus right from the start.

I think you did really well with the parody genre as it progressively got more silly, haha. I definitely couldn't take Teddy's proposal seriously. ;) There were a few funny moments there like when Arthur carried on munching away despite Mr Delacour choking, and of course the very unusual choice of ingredients for stuffing the turkey! Poor Victoire, she never had a chance really did she?

As soon as Teddy presumed that the ring was in the box, I thought to myself "Nooo!" because I just KNEW it would be in the turkey and I was right! Haha. That bit was well planned out, although a little gross that Teddy put the ring in his mouth after Mr Delacour choking it back up?!

I liked the little epilogue too explaining how they got married and such. It was the height of silliness although I'm glad that Victoire became a part-time worker at St. Mungo's because of the incident!

Good work here :)

Author's Response: Hi again :D

Yesss! :D I like them too, which is why I chose them.

Haha, I don't think anybody would have taken his proposal seriously, but the ladies seemed to :P Hahaha! :D I'm glad you had a laugh. Seems like I succeeded with the whole parody thing :D

Props to you for guessing, really :D It might have been quite obvious, but oh well... it IS a parody! I'm glad you liked how I planned it out. It is quite a gross, which is why I wanted it in there... such is Teddy's love in this parody!

Lol :p I'm glad you enjoyed it and cracked up in bits.

Thanks again :)
Your reviews are brilliant
*hugs* :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Siriusgirl Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

9th September 2013:
That was so cute! Loved it, always nice to read some light material! Teddy and Victoire are a cute couple, and the perfect couple to make this on-shot for!

Author's Response: Haha :) Thanks. It's fun to write such stories too, and I love Ted and Victiore :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heaven Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

18th August 2013:
Hello! Here with your requested review!

You asked me if the humour was coming through, and for me, it is, at least in the first section. I think you have a good handle on the parody part of the theme, and you seem to have a sound understanding of the stereotypes pertaining to these two characters. I found myself grinning and chuckling along.

I think it was a great decision to have Teddy be the one who can cook normally. It adds the chance for humorous upheavals on Victoire's part, and helps the reader to connect with the characters. I think there are a lot of us who struggle to cook the perfect Sunday roast!

Oh, my goodness, how stupid can Victoire get? Even if you don't cook, those flavours just sound wrong together! But, it's quite amusing to read Teddy have his fun!

Your descriptions of what Teddy and Victoire look like have me in complete stitches. They're so over the top, and oh, so amusing, it's beautiful.

I have no idea, but the way Mrs Weasley corrects poor Victoire, didn't sound kind at all, but I think it added to the humour of the piece overall.

I am trying to control the laughter that is threatening to bubble out of me at Teddy's proposal speech, and everyone's reactions. To be honest, if someone ever proposed to me like that, people would be crying for much different reasons, but here, it just works!

If you were aiming for a little slapstick humour in this, I think you succeeded with Monsieur Delacour choking and the way the ring was exchanged - it was funny, and a little bit disturbing, which is what I find makes the best kind of slapstick.

May I make a request for a sequel about the babies? I think they'll lead quite interesting lives with a family like theirs! For me, this was definitely a fun, humorous read. And the best part is that you'll only improve from here!

PS: I prefer Tectoire.

Author's Response: Hi there! It's been a while :) Always nice to hear from you!

This has made me SO happy. SEQUEL!? *gushes* :D Maybe sometime.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I wanted to know if it worked well, on humour level, and I'm happy to hear that it did! I was aiming for this breed of humour, because it is a parody, afterall. And I was hoping to play with some of the popular couple stereotypes, and Teddy/Vic stereotypes. I'm glad that came through :)

Vic is rather daft when it comes to cooking, isn't she? But I did that make the story humourous and to add to the bizarre-ness.

Thank you so much :) I was trying to make them shallow and over-the-top-ish! It's probably what makes it more of a parody :P

HAHA :D That made me laugh, thank you! I'm certain that if anybody proposed to me like that, I too would see to it that they went away, crying :P Laugh away though! no need for control :P

Thank you for this lovely review! :) I'll definitely request a review on some of my other work. Or maybe I'll catch you on review tag! :P

P.S- Your 'P.S' made me laugh :) I do too!


 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

17th August 2013:
Review Tag!

This was such a fun read! There were so many bits that really made me laugh in this story, and I think it worked really well as a parody.

I loved the first paragraph, and the fact that you went through so many descriptions just to say that she is half French and half English. You really played up the fact that Victoire is always portrayed as perfectly beautiful and Teddy as some sort of male model as well; those sorts of things are so common in Teddy/Victoire stories and I thought it was great that you picked up on that and made it into a funny part of this story.

There were other aspects as well which played well on the stereotypes and popular plotlines in fanfiction. The fact that Teddy's hair was changing colour according to his mood when Tonks' hair never did, that Victoire was only one-eighth Veela but was beautiful enough to be fully Veela and have millions of men (and some women as well) falling at her feet. The dig at the couple names was great as well.

The cooking seemed a bit random and so did Teddy's new recipe, but it fits in the context of a parody. I liked the fact that you made the characters very shallow and the day was meant to be a romantic replay of the proposal which ended in Monsieur Delacour choking on the ring. Arthur only talking about Muggles as well - he never does that in the books, but I have seen it happen in fanfiction.

The only CC I have is that I did spot a couple of typos here and there in the story, but I'm sure that you could fix those with another read through.

I loved the ending paragraph as well! Of course Teddy would end up as Minister for Magic and Victoire's crazy ability for saving people from choking would land her a job in St. Mungo's - as well as the two of them ending up having veeery sexy babies!

This was a great read, Adi - I was laughing a lot and I really enjoyed it!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Sian! :) It's always great to hear from you :)

I'm glad you liked the introductory para. If I may be honest, I had the most fun writing the start, the end, and the proposal. But the whole thing was fun, in general. So I'm glad you liked that because I did put in a lot of effort :)

I tried to make fun of all stereotypes that we see in fanfiction about these two (and some stereotypes we see in real life as well, like couple names). I'm happy you liked that! :)

The cooking was meant to be quite random and absurd. I wanted to make it rather outrageously odd, and I think I managed that, gathering from the reviews :) Thanks! :)

I did try to make the characters shallow and a bit out-there. It makes me happy to see that I've manages that, because it is quite important while writing a parody!

Thanks for pointing it out. I'll definitely edit this sometime and correct all those errors :)

HAHA! :) Yes. Of course it had to happen! Who didn't see that coming? ;)

Thank you so much for this review, Sian. You've made me smile throughout :) You're a lovely person!


 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

2nd August 2013:
Hahahahaha. I love parody stories, so thank you for requesting! The first section, in particular, was perfect. I loved that you made fun of all the stereotypes of Victoire and Teddy and how perfect the two of them are (even funnier when compared to the rest of the story, in which Victoire is a mess and Teddy is manipulative!). Oh and the end, calling them Viddy/Tectoire - couple names always kind of seem silly to me, so I liked that you threw in a completely nonsensical and stupid-sounding one :D And your jab at the media for all the "sexiest couple" rubbish they always have.

It's difficult to point out things that don't work in a parody, because they're not supposed to make sense. I suppose you could go into Teddy's thoughts more - like, what's his motivation behind this new recipe? Does he actually think this "food" is going to be amazing? Or is he trying to prove to her that he is in fact the better cook and she should stay out of the kitchen? Or does he want to see how everyone reacts to terrible food?

But as I said, take that CC with a grain of salt because it's a parody and anything goes! I really enjoyed this - great work!

Author's Response: Hey there :)
I did see that you'd listen out parodies under things you like to read, so I thought that you'd be a great critic! I bet you've read plenty of pretty good parodies.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and got all the jokes I made using those stereotypes. Couple names are very stupid and funny. I just HAD to do that :P And the media is so typically... the media. Don't get me wrong, I think we do have some excellent news agencies, but then there are the other who can't live without some gossip!

I think his motivation was just to pull some sort of prank on Vic, while making sure that he got what he wanted. I'm sure he knows that the 'food' will turn out disgusting, I'm also certain that his confidence in Vic's limited knowledge in the kitchen made him so cocky about it! I think they're both aware that Teddy is the better cook though :P

just thought I'd drop in some answers to make it clear :)

thanks a lot for this! I'm glad you like it!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney Dark Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

2nd August 2013:
Tag!

I don't read many parodies, but I really enjoyed this one! I think you successfully figured out all of the main Victoire/Teddy related stereotypes (and just generally Harry Potter fanfiction stereotypes, actually) and wrote about them really well, in a very funny way! So nice work!

Ugh, that chicken/turkey sounded horrible! How on earth did Victoire not realize that what she was making was going to be disgusting? Although I guess if you attend Hogwarts, there's not really a need to learn to cook.

Haha, the family member's reactions were great! If it was me though, I wouldn't have even pretended to like it - although perhaps I'm not a very polite person.

Good work!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you made the exception, Courtney! And I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed it! It was my first shot at writing a parody, so I was a little unsure about how to deal with all the stereotypes that I decided to poke fun at! I'm sure I use some of them in my other stories though :P I decided to go with this, and I'm glad it worked out well!
It does sound foul, don't you think? But I guess I needed to do that to keep the parody moving! Plus, I don't think she ever learnt even the basics of cooking. What, with Molly Weasley for a grandmother, I don't blame here really ;)

Thanks a lot! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by blackballet Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

2nd August 2013:
This was really funny! I enjoyed myself, even though I do prefer much darker, deeper, longer stories. This was really funny, and I didn't even see it coming when the ring was in the food! I did, however, see it coming when the ring wouldn't be in the box. Take out the part where it felt a bit heavy, and it will flow much nicer. No one will even see it coming! Again, very funny and light-hearted. I loved it!

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed this, and had a good laugh! I put in the bit about the ring not being in the box, because I do think it would be one of Teddy's concerns to check before their arrival since they planned on re-doing the whole proposal. I am quite pleased that I managed to hold the suspense with the ring being in the Turkey though.
You loved it? :D :D
*goes over and gives a hug*
Thank you. Your review means a lot :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by charlottetrips Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

30th July 2013:
Oh Zes, Zis was funnY!

I was already giggling by the time I got through the first paragraph. Loved how you went through all that just to really describe how half French and half British she was.

Throughout the whole story her perfection could not be described enough though one could hope she would've been smarter, but alas, one cannot have everything.

Teddy was such a boy about the whole thing, but because he too is perfect, of course he can get away with it all.

I absolutely loved the reactions of their family to the food with Bill and Arthur chowing down regardless of the fact that it's turkey with tabasco and lady fingers!

The whole thing was actually kind of sickly fascinating because Teddy was so one-track minded about what he wanted and how he was going to get it. Goodness, I would've given my husband the smackdown had he tried anything like that with me!!

Char

Author's Response: Hi Char! :)
I'm glad you liked the intro. I put a lot of thought into it, so it feels great to be appreciated!
I think that if Vic was smarter, this whole story would have gone rather differently, I only made her stupid to take the parody along! But, as you pointed out, one cannot have everything :P I see a bit of marauder like mischief in Teddy here. He's sneaky, but nobody can deny that he is charming either! :P
I know. It's rather ridiculous, right? But oh well. Men will be men, I guess :P
Haha! It's a good thing you aren't married to Teddy then! :D
Thanks for the review, Char! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

21st July 2013:
Hi Elphaba here with your requested review.

When I think "parody" I think of a story that mimics the style of another story or genre in a way that humorously pokes fun at the original.

There are many very funny moments in your story, so you definitely succeed in the humor department. This line made me laugh: "She was French enough to drink wine with deep fried food and English enough to eat deep fried food with wine."

The nipple rings also made me laugh. I had been expecting Victoire to have played a trick on him, but the third nipple ring was much better. :)

The story flows well, and you make good use of some common fanfic stereotypes of Teddy and Victoire like the overwrought description of Victoire and her possession of random abilities like the Heimlich maneuver.

Rather than categorizing this story as a drama, I would call it a romance. I would expect a drama parody to be over-the-top melodramatic, whereas your story seems to focus more on skewering romantic fics. In particular, I find a lot of humor in the descriptions of how hot Teddy is, the silly scenario that gets them into bed, and the focus on how they are destined to make pretty babies.

I think it works well overall as a romantic parody, and enjoyed it as a light, fluffy read. :)

Author's Response: Hi Elphaba :)
You write really nice reviews. I'm glad you got my digs at common stereotypes and plot lines. I'm also happy that you enjoyed the theme and had a good laugh :)
I guess it does have a great bit of that romantic element in it. But as long as it works well (?), I don't think it's an issue. I enjoy a dash of romance, myself.
The nipple ring idea just came to me while I was writing it, and I felt kinda pleased. It's nice that all these little things that I've added here and there have been appreciated so well :) Thanks a lot!
Glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyLou Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

20th July 2013:
LilyLou here with your Requested Review!

Oh. My. God. Now, I normally hate parodies. I'll say that outright. I think they're immature and disrespectful, in some ways. But this one? Holy... Crap... It cracked me up. I died of laughter. Tears pricked my eyes I was laughing so hard. There isn't much I can really say about it, because after all, it is a parody. I didn't see much of any typos, though there were a few. Nothing you or a beta can't go through and fix up in a jiffy though! The humor in this was great, and the over dramatic exaggeration was perfect for the parody.

Again, sorry there isn't much I can think of to say. It was funny, and there were very few errors.

Keep writing!

-Janelle

Author's Response: It's perfectly alright :)
You've said a lot. I really like this review, especially because you started off with such honesty :) I'm glad, that at least for once story, I managed to convert you. I love making people laugh, and the fact that I got you to laugh so hard is all I need with this :) It's good that this doesn't seem immature and disrespectful in any way.

And I have gone through this and fixed some errors. Thanks a lot, Janelle :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by DancingMooncalf Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

20th July 2013:
Haha, I still grinning! Okay, so here is your review:

What made me laugh immediately was the switch from the fairy tale introduction to the reality. How unbelievably delightful and true! I couldn't wait to read the rest once I had read that bit!

I found this to be a very cute story, but also rather funny. I can see it was meant as a parody, there's a certain hidden irony in it that is only really refiled at the beginning and the end. It makes it a strong parody.
It was very obvious that the ring would be in the turkey, but it was fun non the less.

I think for a parody the characters were perfect, really shallow and unbelievably confident. If it was a real story that would be strange, but it adds up to the fun and plays the story nicely.

hope you liked my review!
Maya

Author's Response: I'm grinning too now :)
Hey Maya! First of all I must apologize for this late reply. Life tends to get in the way every now and then.

It makes your heart swell when someone tells you that they enjoyed every part of your story. I'm glad I had you from the start. I'm also pleased that you think that all the elements of a parody are in my story. I did put in some thought to make sure that the plot and characterization were okay. So, this really means a lot!
Thanks a bunch :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by missclaire17 Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

19th July 2013:
Hello! This is Claire from the forums (:

The first paragraph cracked me up (in a good way!). Because this is for the parody challenge, it just made it ten times funnier because most times, it definitely seems like quite a lot of writers like to exaggerate Victoire and Teddy's good looks. And the entire proposal just was written so wonderfully.

I think it's hilarious that Teddy woke up at noon and Victoire started freaking out. I can definitely imagine a lot of Fleur in her kids. The entire process of Victoire threatening Teddy to help her, and then the way that the food actually turned out! It's wonderful that Teddy is the excellent cook, as opposed to Victoire because that really puts a nice spin on things. And the way that Monsieur Delacour nearly choked, and the entire thing was meant to be a romantic replay of their proposal was wonderfully written.

And can I just say, that last paragraph is too amazing. Viddy. Minister for Magic... saving people who choked... "and they did have very very veeerryyy sexy babies" was the perfect last touch on everything.

Wonderfully written! xD

Author's Response: Hello Claire! :)
I'm sorry about the horribly late reply :(

I'm glad you loved the first para :D It kinda sets the tone of the story, and can influence the mood of the writer, so I was hoping that I'd done a good job. I did try to make fun of some popular Teddy/Victoire plot lines and stereotypes. I'm so glad it worked :P

Victoire is very Fleur, I guess. If you get what I mean :p It's nice that you liked the plot and how it took course. I'm happy you had a good laugh and enjoyed this story :)

Oh, and the last bit was too much fun to write. I'm glad to it got some love :')

Thanks for the lovely review and the amazing compliments. It's always nice to hear someone say SUCH nice things, love. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFan Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

16th July 2013:
This was absolutely hilarious! I was giggling throughout the entire thing. Victoire really is clueless when it comes to cooking, you'd think that any person would realise that she was cooking everything wrong but apparently not Victoire.

Teddy was so arrogant though, he sounded more arrogant than Sirius and James. I thought it was pretty funny how he managed to trick Victoire though, it didn't seem very difficult considering Victoire didn't know what she was doing.

You had a couple of typos throughout the chapter but mothing big enough that it disrupted the flow of the chapter or stood out. The only thing that I would criticise is that that last paragraph where you explained how they got married in grand styles was unnecessary.

Other than that though this was absolutely hilarious (my favourite part was this "She accepted after forty-two minutes of high-pitched squealing and now they were engaged and had to tell everyone.") and I absolutely loved reading it!

Author's Response: I'm glad you were laughing throughout :D
Victoire really is pretty clueless over here, but that's the heart of this parody. A sexy, cocky Teddy and a beautiful, clueless Victoire. Teddy is smart guy, taking advantage of the situation, and getting a good laugh out of it :p

I'll make sure I read through once again, and fix the typos :P And I just added the last par to tie things off nicely, on a humorous note.
And I'm glad you liked that bit, especially ;) :P

Thanks once again for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by HeyMrsPotter Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

16th July 2013:
Hello, I'm here for our swap!

This was really funny! I can see why you were one of the winners-well done by the way :)

I loved how much emphasis you put on how sexy teddy was and how beautiful victoire was. His recipe sounded absolutely vile and the family's reactions to it were priceless.

A very well written parody, well done!

Author's Response: Hello there :)
I'm sorry I took a while.

Thanks a lot! :) I'm glad you think I did justice to the genre. Your entry was pretty great too :)

Haha, I can just imagine Molly Weasley losing all hope in humanity when her own gran-daughter cooks like that, but oh well. Can't inherit it all. I love Teddy/Victoire and always imagine them both to be very good looking, so this was a great chance to look at it from a funny angle!

Thanks for the review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #20, by patronus_charm Victoire Weasley's Cooking Capers

11th July 2013:
Hello there Iím here with your review for the parody challenge!

I really enjoyed the introduction you gave to Victoire as it was just so funny! It had me laughing all the way through because the contradictory elements of her character really blended well together. I loved the idea of her being proud veela but then guzzling beer and being English, it was just great.

Teddy really was brilliant too, and I couldnít help but feel sorry for him with all the mishaps with the wedding. He just never seemed to be able to get to the combination of it all right, and I couldnít help but pity him. I loved the mention of him having a six pack because I never saw him in that way but it made me crack up.

I never really pictured Teddy and Victoire being so oddly sexual too, but again, it worked really well. I suppose that is the beauty of parodies because they just explore obscure areas of characterís lives and make you wonder whether it could or not. Those scenes worked really well with the story and werenít too romantic to detract from it either.

The end of the one-shot had me laughing all the way through too! The way they were having sexy babies was slightly disturbing but the idea of them having some sort of magic-wide fame was great. I suppose that they are closest to our equivalent of the Ďití couple so it worked really well.

Overall I thought that this was a really great entry. I had a lot of fun reading this and thanks for entering my challenge!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! :)
This is such a lovely review. I'm sorry I'm a little late with the reply, I didn't expect the review so fast!

I'm glad you loved the introductions. I really enjoyed writing them and I tried to make them as funny as I could.

Also, I agree. Poor Teddy. But he had a laugh at Vic, making her cook like that, so I guess we could laugh at his expense :P I've never seen them as being oddly sexual either, but as you said, I guess it is the beauty of parodies. This let me explore some really obscure areas, and I enjoyed it! And I agree with you when it comes to Teddy. I've never seen him like that, and the thought just cracked me up. I also thought it would go well with the rest of his speech! :P

And about the sexy babies. The way matter not, just the result :P I bet they were happy though. It all worked out in the end, another lovely thing about parodies.

Thank you again for this awesome review :)
This was my first shot at writing a parody and my second shot at writing for a challenge and I enjoyed both aspects pretty well :) I've always enjoyed reading parodies, so it was really nice to have a reason to write one.

Thanks for this lovely challenge, Kiana! It was great fun :) I hope you had a good laugh.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login