15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kenpo The Perks of Being an Obliviator

29th September 2014:
Hello! Story Search #2!

I really enjoyed this story!! Alicia isn't a character I've never given extensive thought to, but I really love the idea that she went on to be an obliviator. I think I might adopt that entirely into my headcanon.

I really loved the lessons. You did a nice job imagining all the different qualifications she'd need to be able to do that job.

I love exploring different magical careers, so this story was a nice treat for me! One thing I would've liked to see is a little stronger characterisation in Alicia. I got bits of it that were really fantastic, like her opinion about the apparation hall and about the instructor, but more would've been nice.

Nice job!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Hi Georgia!

Thank you! Aw, thank you so much, a comment like that really means a lot to me! I think it's always great to reimagine characters we sort of know and put them in a different situation (or different career in this case), than what we might typically expect.

I also really appreciate your kind crit, I'll definitely look into that next time I review my story and try and include some more - characterisation does tend to be one of my weaker areas, I think. Thank you heaps for reading, and writing such a fabulous review!

- Charlotte :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by True Author The Perks of Being an Obliviator

8th July 2014:
Wow, what an enjoyable story! It was so simple and kind of short, but it's quite original. There are many wizarding careers that are often ignored, so I liked that you tried your hand at the job of a Ministry obliviator.

Alicia was a cool narrator. I never thought she would be a professional Quiditch player, so this idea was quite acceptable for me. You described the confused feelings of a girl new in a job really well.

Hmm, it does make sense that the obliviators have to take the couple of courses you described. It all was great imagination. Kudos!

You did a wonderful job with this. :)

Ashwini

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini,

Thanks so much! I'm particularly glad you thought it was original since I was really striving for that in this story. I completely agree with you - I rarely read stories about obliviators, so I'm glad you liked that this one was about that!

I'm so glad you liked Alicia and felt that it was possible/believable for her to be an obliviator. I think a lot of people seem to associate her with Quidditch and nothing else, and I like to think that whilst a lot of Quidditch players do end up in a career playing Quidditch, it's also possible to not end up in that path. Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely review!!

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm The Perks of Being an Obliviator

7th January 2014:
Hey Charlotte! I donít think Iíve read anything of yours before so I decided to use the last day of the 12 days of reviewing to do so!

I really loved this story, it was just so unique in the aspects it covered and Alicia was such a great narrator it made it even more enjoyable. I loved the little hints about being an oblivator because, like Alicia, I always thought that the job would be rather fun and glamorous and then felt a little bad for her when it wasnít quite what she thought it would be.

Alicia was really lovely too because it was great catching up on her because she seems to be forgotten in fan fiction which is a little sad because I always did enjoying reading her in the books. She was such a relatable character too, I think it was the little moan about the course costing a lot of money but not really being worth it which showed that to me. :P

Speaking of the course, it was nice to bump back into old Twycross again, and though itís a bit late, it fitted with the theme of the house cup really well!

I loved your description of when Alicia began to travel to other countries because it was so vivid and pretty it really made me want to visit all of those places. This was a great one-shot, Charlotte, and made me all nostalgic about the Cup :P

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey Kiana!

I'm so sorry for the horrible lateness of this response, but I hope you know how much this review means to me! Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review :)

I'm really glad that you found it unique, because I definitely really strive to do that in my stories. Yep, I definitely think it's really interesting how one's perception of a job/anything is sometimes completely wrong! :P I'm also really glad you liked Alicia - I completely agree about her being kind of forgotten in fan fiction - she really does feel like a minor character even though her presence in the books is fairly noticeable!

Haha, Twycross.. it was quite amusing writing him because I felt like I could relate to having frustrating teachers :P Thank you so much for all the kind words Kiana - I really appreciate the review!

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #4, by soufflegirl99 The Perks of Being an Obliviator

17th July 2013:
This is a really inventive and original take on the challenge! It was a really captivating and fascinating story, that had me engaged the whole way through!

First of all, your characterisation of Alicia was spot on. She was very realistic and beliveable as someone that was stuck in a ministry job and wanted to do something more. You wrote out that scenario really well, by the way, and it wasn't too over done and cliched like it often is in films and stuff. Anyway, I think you wrote Alicia fantastically, and her character harmonised beautifully with the third person narrative. Her often dry and sarcastic comments were a pleasure to read, and her witty personality was very enjoyable to read.

The pace and plot were perfectly formed; it was quite a steady pace, but then kept you gripped and guessing the whole way through. As for the plot, it was quite a simple structure, but then they have to be for one shots, so in that sense it was very detailed. The original take on such a cliched story line was remarkable, and quite refreshing actually, and the inner most thoughts of Alicia really helped contribute to quite a lighthearted and curious tone to the story. I loved the ending, and this whole story creates such beautiful imagery and a real sense of accomplishment and achievement at the end.

Overall, an absolute pleasure to read, with an awesome title and a cracking set of characters, with a nice bit of humour stuck in it.

Sophie :D

Author's Response: Hey Sophie!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Originality is definitely something I try to do so I'm glad you thought this was an inventive/original take, and also a story that engaged you! :)

The characterisation of Alicia was something else I was worried about in this fic, so your comments definitely made me smile! I'm so glad you liked the way I wrote her in the story and that you didn't find it too cliche - I definitely tried to make it as realistic as possible, since I'm also a stickler for canon. Wow, thank you so much for all your comments about the pace and plot as well - it definitely is very encouraging and means a lot to me to hear that about this story!

Thank you so much for reading and for leaving an absolutely wonderful review - you've definitely made my day with all your lovely comments! :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #5, by Haronione The Perks of Being an Obliviator

17th July 2013:
Hey maskedmuggle :)

I really enjoyed reading this one shot! The plot was great and the whole thing flowed really nicely. I liked your characterisation of Alicia and the explanation of how she ended up as an Obliviator. It really fits that the war would make people rethink their careers.

I loved the advanced Apparition lessons and Alicia's thoughts on how was not much different from her previous Apparition course. What a waste of 20 galleons just to be told to have 'greater focus on the destination, absolute determination and complete deliberation'. But then it makes sense that this is how it's done - to me anyway!

I really liked the ending, how one assignment (that just happened to be at a secluded beach ;)) could change her opinion of her job. Who wouldn't want a job where you could be sent to exotic places! I loved how only that morning Alicia had been daydreaming about travelling the world with the job and thinking that it wasn't going to happen and then, bam, her second assignment did just that :)

Great story, I really enjoyed it!

Haronione ♥

Author's Response: Hello Haronione!

Thank you so much for your really lovely review! :) I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed reading it and that you liked the plot and characterisation! I was a bit worried about Alicia being too flat/boring, but I'm glad you didn't seem to find it that way!

Yay! I'm glad that makes sense to you - it made a lot of sense to me too! I really couldn't think of something 'special' that they might have to do in order to do long range apparition.. so I just decided to bring in the exasperating Twycross and the three D's back into the story :P

I'm so glad you liked the ending too! Yep, I definitely wanted to incorporate the travel theme as much as I could, and I personally agree with you that a job including exotic travel would be heaps awesome! Thank you for reading and for the awesome review! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #6, by StEpH_M The Perks of Being an Obliviator

17th July 2013:
Here for the House Cup ;)

I must say I really enjoyed this one-shot. I like that it's not all entirely about being overseas, that's it's more the journey of getitng there. I also enjoy the fact that it's set just after the wizarding war and gives insight into the way it changed people. How someone can go from wanting to be a professional quidditch player, to a job in the ministry. It's defintely a great idea and one that I might actually look into a bit more at a later date.

I couldn't see any real gramatical errors, but then, I'm sort of going as quickly as possible so I might have missed something, but I did really enjoy it, it's a nice little one shot :)

Author's Response: Hi Steph!

Thank you so much for leaving me such a lovely review! I'm glad you liked the whole idea of the story. I definitely did try to make it about the journey and the destination, and although I didn't initially set out to show the impact of the War on Alicia, I'm glad that got through too! Thanks for reading and for the great review Steph! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Gryfindor The Perks of Being an Obliviator

14th July 2013:
This is a lovely one-shot! It was great to see someone writing about Alicia - she's never in stories outside of ones dealing with Quidditch, and I like the idea that she becomes an Obliviator. It's not a career that a lot of people write about, though after reading your story, I wonder why it's not more popular. It sounds like a fantastic job, taking one around the world like that - but it probably comes with its own dangers, such as resistant muggles and potentially dangerous situations. Yet it's the kind of potential for adventure that I can see appealing to Alicia - after all, she was a Chaser, the Quidditch position that has one constantly on the go.

I can't remember whether I've read anything you've written before, but I thought that, in this story, you writing was excellent. The narrative flows smoothly and I especially liked how you allowed Alicia's thoughts or word-choice show through - it revealed more of her personality and was effective in making me connect with her faster. I also liked the amount of detail you included about the political structure of the magical communities around Europe. For a story that everyone had to create on short notice, this amount of detail shows a lot of thought and creativity, making this story feel like it came straight out of canon. It was a wonderful way of recreating the magical world!

I'm glad that the House Cup has given me the chance to read this story. I'll definitely look out for more of your work in the future - your writing is fantastic! ^_^

Author's Response: Hey!

Thanks so much for the really lovely review! It definitely meant a lot to me! I'm glad you liked how Alicia was the main character in this story. I definitely like working with minor characters more as I have more space for creativity! To be honest, I picked Alicia as I thought she was a character we all knew, but also a character who we didn't really know (personality wise), so I thought I could fit her into this story and explore that a bit. I didn't actually think of it in the way you did - of how she was a Chaser, so being on the go/adventure would be something that would appeal to her but.. that's actually so perfect. I know one or two other reviewers have expressed doubts about seeing Alicia in a ministry job.. but that reasoning makes so much sense!

I hope I don't sound like a stalker, but you left me a review on my House Cup story last year too, haha! Lately I've only posted like one story a year (for the House Cup), so it's easy to remember these details! :P Thank you so much for the compliments! Even when I'm making up stuff, I'm a big stickler for canon so I'm so glad you thought that it was canon!

Thank you so much for reading and for leaving such an amazing review! Your comments really mean a lot to me! :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #8, by Erised The Perks of Being an Obliviator

14th July 2013:
Hiya! I'm here to return your review for the HC :D

So this was a great little fic! I immediately loved that it was about Alicia Spinnet because, well, how many fics are there about her? Well done for choosing a character that's more off the beaten track!

I also enjoyed the light, conversational tone that you used throughout your fic - it really lent itself to the setup you created and was also nice and easy to read. It made me feel happy too! Your imagination is clearly awesome with how easily you managed to fit things like Arnold Peasegood and bubotubers in so naturally, as if you were JKR herself.

The Apparition course was a really nice and smooth way of fitting in the travel theme. I loved how she wanted to spend a few more minutes at the beach in Slovenia - I don't blame her considering our usual weather in the UK! :P Your descriptions and situations that you create are lovely and natural and really bring the story to life too.

Great job here!

Author's Response: Hey!

Aw, thank you for making the effort to do that - I really appreciate the gesture!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked Alicia - it took me a while to think of a minor character who could fit into the role I imagined in this story. I like minor characters because I have more freedom and creativity in their characterisation! I've certainly never read a fic focused on Alicia before, but then again, I've never searched for one either! :P

I'm glad you thought that of the tone and the set up! And wow, that is such an amazing compliment, so thank you so much! I don't think I have anywhere near half of JKR's imagination, but hearing that from you definitely put a big smile on my face, so thank you!

Yep - I'm surprised more people didn't write about apparition to be honest, because that's one of the first things I thought of when I saw 'travel', although I then tried to think of ways to make it more unique. Anyway, thank you for reading and for leaving such an awesome review! Thank you so much for all your really lovely comments! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #9, by ginerva_molly_weasley The Perks of Being an Obliviator

13th July 2013:
This is sweet and done about one of the minor characters which I love. Everyone seems to forget about the more minor characters as it only seems to be the ones in relationships which are written a lot.

I had never quite considered an advanced apparition course before. Obviously people would be able to apparate long distances but it has been a source of great interest to us to find out how long counted as long however this seems to give a solution to it all that it can be done but requires a lot of training which is the best of both worlds.

I also love the acomplishment she had made in Sweden when rescuing the lady from the Crup and how she added it to her list of travels. That was sweet.

I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Hello!

Aw thank you! Yes, reading about minor characters can sometimes be more interesting than reading about main characters! I really like seeing what other people do with minor characters, because there's a lot more room for flexibility and creativity.

I'm glad you thought the way I set out apparition worked - as in, that long apparition was possible, but you needed training to do it. It made the most logical, practical sense to me while also adhering to canon! I'm also glad that you liked Alicia's accomplishment!

Thank you for reading and for leaving such a great review! :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #10, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The Perks of Being an Obliviator

13th July 2013:
Hello!

I really enjoyed this one-shot. It's a completely different take to the theme travel but it was really well written.

I liked the idea of Alicia getting the job as an obliviator and having to do the over sea apparition. It was quite funny to see that there wasn't much difference though - it's just the same guy enforcing more determination and so on!

I thought the story of her first few days was good and also gave us a good chance to see what the oblivators do. I thought you wrote it really well!

If I could offer a little constructive criticism it would be to maybe describe the efffects of apparation a little more. We're told it's not a nice experience - would that have improved once Alicia managed to do it over seas?

Well done on an awesome one-shot though!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hey Lauren!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it and that you thought it was a different take! In the past few years I've really been trying to write things that are more original.

Yep! I couldn't think of what extra you might need for overseas apparition.. so I just decided that it would be about reinforcing the same DDDs, which would also allow me to incorporate the exasperating character of Twycross into the story, hehe!

Thanks for the CC! I considered that a bit, but my attempts of adding more detail to the apparition process weren't that good - I sounded like I was just repeating how apparition is described in JKR's books. I'll try and see if I can do anything about that though! In my mind though, the feeling of apparition wouldn't be that different regarding the amount of distance travelled, but I would imagine that the more you apparate, the more used to it you'd get.

Anyway, thanks so much for reading and for leaving such a nice review! :D
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFan The Perks of Being an Obliviator

13th July 2013:
For some reason, I thought this was about Lockhart because it mentioned Obliviating and that seems to be his specialty. This was something different altogether.

I never really pictured Alicia as the type to go into Ministry work, she just always seemed like she'd go into Quidditch like Oliver or something like that. She seemed far too hyper to be sitting behind a desk or something like that. I'm sti having trouble picturing her working at the ministry but I'm getting there.

As much as it would suck having to travel for work at least Alivia got to go to some place new. Maybe I'm weird but to me her job did sound a little bit interesting. If I was Alicia, I'd get the job done faster just so that I would be done with it and wouldn't have to do it.

Good job on the one-shot :)

Author's Response: Hey!

Thanks for the review! That's not surprising - Lockhart is the avenue in which we find out the most about obliviating! I'm glad you thought it was different though - different is good! :P

Yeah, I can understand what you mean about hesitating in believing Alicia doing Ministry work - that's why I tried to make the obliviating job not seem too much like a desk job at all. Haha, I would've thought that travelling a lot for work might be appealing to some people, and that's what I hoped Alicia would be like.

Thanks for reading and for the lovely review! :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #12, by academica The Perks of Being an Obliviator

13th July 2013:
Hi!

This was a neat story. I liked the light tone, as well as the way it came full circle there at the end and made reference to the title. It's great that Alicia was able to find more fun in her career than she'd envisioned and was able to make her own adventures by learning the art of long-distance Apparition. The only thing that was potentially missing here was more of a sense of who Alicia was as a person, beyond just her career choice.

Nice job!

Amanda
Ravenclaw
House Cup 2013


Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

Thank you! I'm always terrible at thinking of titles for my fics, so I'm glad you thought this one made sense with the story. I definitely think being an obliviator and apparating long-distance would be quite an adventure. Thanks for the CC as well - it makes lots of sense. In fact, before I posted I was a bit concerned about whether Alicia's character was too flat/boring, so I'll definitely try to see if I can do anything to improve her characterisation!

Thanks for the lovely review! :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #13, by teh tarik The Perks of Being an Obliviator

13th July 2013:
Hello there! I'm here for the House Cup Review-on-and-on!

Well, this is such a unique and charming piece of writing! I always enjoy reading stories which focus on careers and jobs in the magical world, and it was very interesting to see a story going into such detail about things like long distance Apparition and the routine of a Ministry Obliviator. You've done a really good job in writing a day in the life of Alicia Spinnet as an Obliviator, and how a surprise trip to Slovenia is such a welcome break from the mundane routine of her day-to-day job. Also, your fic fits so seamlessly with canon and the Potterverse :)

I enjoyed the bit with the crup very much. Alicia was very methodical, very professional in her undertaking of her job. And that ending bit, where she decides to linger a little longer and enjoy the beautiful isolated beach is a lovely moment, and probably will appease Alicia's wanderlust, at least for a little while.

This is a lovely story! It's a simple, light read, and it really did fit the travel theme very well. Great work; I enjoyed reading this!

-teh

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review! I really tried to do something different with this fic, and to focus not only on travel, but explaining Alicia's story and her job, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed hearing about the details of her job. It's also always a great plus to hear that the story seems to fit in canon! :)

It took me a while to think of a small situation where one obliviator - Alicia might be needed (I was trawling through "magical creatures in Harry Potter" for quite a while before I stumbled upon the crup!). And the ending bit was mainly to further enhance the 'travel idea', so I'm glad you think that the theme was strong throughout the fic!

Thank you so much for reading and for leaving such a lovely review! Your words definitely made me smile :)
- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #14, by MC_HK The Perks of Being an Obliviator

12th July 2013:
I really enjoyed this :) As I like to gush about description, I'll tell you, you have a talent for it. It wasn't the normal "there's a blue house, a red fence, and white shutters" it was more... in depth I guess you could say. I also like that it's about Alicia, a character we don't get to really know in the books.

I would say Alicia is not flat, but she's not big and bold either. It's still a pleasure to read though, because I think with where you took this, you can't really make her big and bold. The important thing is that you wrote her in such a way that the reader can get a sense of her personality.

Your writing style is anything from boring. You took a normal day at the Ministry and turned it in to a very lovely and kind of self-discovery journey for Alicia. It made me feel warm and fuzzy inside, like when you eat a fresh-out-the-oven chocolate chip cookie with milk :)

There are a few things I spotted such as a couple run on sentences and some punctuation errors, but other than that this is great! I look forward to reading more from you :) MC_HK

Author's Response: Hey!

Thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm always unsure of my writing so it's a really awesome surprise to hear that you thought I have talent at writing description. That really means a lot, so thank you :)

I'm glad that you think that about Alicia - that her personality was able to be conveyed, because that's probably one of the most important things about characterisation. And I'm also so glad that you didn't find it boring and enjoyed it!

The story is definitely not perfect, so I'll reread and edit and see if I can spot those run on sentences/punctuation errors when I get the chance. But, definitely a big thank you for the lovely review - I really appreciate it!

- Charlotte :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore The Perks of Being an Obliviator

12th July 2013:
Hello! I'm here reviewing for Gryffindor in the house cup :)

I don't think I've ever read a story with Alicia Spinnet as the protagonist before, but minor characters are my favourite to both read and write about, so I was excited for this even before I began reading.

It's only a small thing, but I thought that the mention of the war at the beginning was a brilliant inclusion to this story. The characters in the series had to grow up so fast because of it, and it makes perfect sense that after coming through the war, a lot of people would re-evaluate their priorities and even decide on a different career to one they'd previously wanted.

Your characterisation of Alicia was very strong; I felt like I got a real handle on her personality in this one-shot. We don't really know very much about her from the books, except that she played Quidditch and joined the DA, but I found your interpretation of her very believable. There was a clear reason for her doing everything she did, which made it more realistic for me to read.

The travel element to this was really interesting! I've never read a story where cross-continent apparition was possible (you're showing me lots of new things with this story!) and I liked the way that you put some thought into the mechanics of it. The appearance of Wilkie Twycross made me laugh as well - is there a single student who's been through Hogwarts who hasn't, at some point, hated him? I'm also feeling quite jealous of Alicia being able to get to all those brilliant places so quickly, even if she doesn't get to spend time in them!

Another aspect I enjoyed was the fact that you included some details about her job; you didn't just say that she was an Obliviator, we actually got to see her doing her job. I also liked the idea that not every country would have a Ministry of Magic that was big enough to deal with all the problems, and that sometimes they would need to call on other countries to help.

I really like your writing style as well; it's interesting and compelling. There was some lovely description in this one-shot too.

The only CC I have is that there were a few typos and grammar mistakes (missing commas and things like that) so I'd suggest you just reread it again when you get a chance to fix them.

Overall, a really enjoyable one-shot!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi Sian!

Thank you so much for the lovely long review you left me! It really made me smile when I read it! :)

I agree about not seeing Alicia Spinnet as a main character much - I don't think I've ever read a story with her as the main character myself! I'm glad you found Alicia's characterisation strong! I was a bit worried that her character might be too.. flat/boring. I try to make everything that happens and everything that a character might say or do make sense, so I'm happy to hear that you found this all realistic.

I definitely wanted to explore the idea of apparating long distances and thought that I could do that by also exploring the job of an obliviator, and I'm glad you liked the little detail about not every country having a massive Ministry!

Thank you so much - I'm always a bit unsure about my writing style so comments like yours always make me just a bit more confident about the whole story. Thanks for the CC as well - I'll be sure to reread and edit when I get the chance! Just thank you so much for the really lovely review! I really appreciate it! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login