10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

12th January 2014:
Hey! I am awfully, awfully, awfully late with this but I am your Slytherin Secret Santa here with a review gift =) I am so sorry for the long time it took me to get here, but RL got in the way.

Anyhow, this was an awesome one-shot and I enjoyed reading it. I loved Victoire! This made me laugh so much and yet it was not a parody or a silly plot-less fic, so that's a great thing =) I also loved Teddy here, he was superbly characterised! The whole plot and concept was great and unique and fun, and I really enjoyed it. The whole scene with the Greek Ministry of Magic was awesome too haha. This was very interesting and I really liked it. I am glad I chose this to review! Great work =)

10/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

- Your Secret Santa from Slytherin House.

P.S. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year (belated)!

Author's Response: Why hello, Secret Santa! Thank you for the review gift. I totally understand about real life getting in the way.

Thank you! It's the only one-shot I've ever done, but it was quite enjoyable. My main fic is much more...atmospheric, kind of moody, so it was nice to be able to have a brief vacation from that and write something fun.

Thanks for your kind words, and for loving the characters. Can't tell you how much that gives me the warm fuzzes :D

--Penny

P.S. A very Merry Christmas and Happy (Belated) New Year to you, too!



 Report Review

Review #2, by TheWizardingPorcupine Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

22nd December 2013:
Oh. My. God.
SOCUTESOCUTESOCUTESQUE!!!
THIS ONE-SHOT WAS AH-MAZING!!!

Author's Response: I'm terribly sorry it's taken me so long to respond to your review. I am really glad you liked the story, and I truly appreciate your taking time to write a review! Thank you very much.

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #3, by maraudertimes Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

20th November 2013:
Hey hey hey!
Before I go all postal and freak out over this, I just wanted to say that I picked this over Traitorous Hearts only because it had less reviews, but I will get on that ASAP and I might even throw in an extra review!

OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG! This was *too* cute. I'm sorry, but I'm definitely giving you an extra review because I'm gonna flail over this and it won't be pretty. ;)

I loved the interactions between Teddy and Victoire and Victoire's melancholy over her look and her connections seemed really, well, real and saddening. I felt for her.

Now, I loved the tension between the two and the kiss? Magnificent! I was waiting for that! And, just, what, will, huh... GAH! It was just beautiful. I hope you can understand this gobbledegook because I'm not even sure I can, but long story short, I loved it. I think everything from your characterization to you plot to your dialogue to your tone, was perfect. I loved it!

Great job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Hi Lo!

I love that you reviewed this one. I really need to look into getting it a banner. Teddy and Victoire were fun to write, though fitting everything into a one-shot was a bit of a difficulty. But I think I only love them more for all the time I spent chipping away at the story until it fit into the requirements. I was so worried about it when I published it, because I'd never tried to write a really short story, so reviews like yours mean a lot :D

I'm so glad that you felt both saddened and happy in this fic. That was just what I was going for, so reading that just kind of makes me squeak with happiness!

I cannot even tell you how much this makes me smile. Your "gobbledegook" totally makes sense to me, and it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. I am so happy right now. Thanks so much!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #4, by whisper in the wind Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

1st August 2013:
ahh!! this is the second victoire/teddy story I've ever read and I don't really remember the other one because it was super long ago but THIS STORY WAS FANTASTIC. honestly, your writing is extraordinary. it made the story flow and the characters come alive. it was so light and fun. it pretty much made me smile throughout.

I love how you portrayed Victoire. and your description of her immediately transformed her in my mind. she reminded me of Hermione because of her intelligence but she had a personality all her own...and she was clearly half Weasley lol. you gave her the spice to be one and I really liked that.

Teddy was awesome! he reminded me a lot of Fred and George but when you said he ran his hand through his hair like Harry I was like ahh! I totally see him being raised by his godfather. his relationship with Victoire is adorable. they know and trust each other because they grew up together but they have such opposite personalities that they never allowed themselves (especially Victoire) to really admit to feeling anything more than civility.

and can I just scream about Teddy saying he'd never allow his friends to talk about her like that?!?!?!? I melted. he's such a jokester but also so manly and protective lol.

so yes. all in all, I loved this one-shot. it would be fun if you made a story where like each chapter was one year of their lives and their interactions per year or something like that, if that makes sense. because your portrayal of these characters deserves to be in novel form!

10/10 :)

Author's Response: Oh. My. Gosh! Squeea!

I don't even know what that noise is supposed to be, but it's basically what happened when I read this review.

I am so! glad you liked it :D You're one of my favorite writers on HPFF, so getting a review from you was like...summer vacation! Unexpected free chocolate! I don't know--something really exciting!!!

I wrote this for the House Cup, so at first I was just trying to figure out a story under a time-and-word-limit, which I had never really done. Then Victoire popped into my head and that was that--she took the lead from there. I wanted to see what it would be like to be all Veela-gorgeous, come from a famous family, and...be a Ravenclaw. I felt like it would be such a challenge, since I figured people would really underestimate her, and unlike the rest of the Potter-Weasley progeny, she'd have been the first one to really have to pave her own way, with less of the support network than the others would get, because she's older. But of course, she would have Teddy...

And about Teddy, and Victoire, and Teddy & Victoire, all I can think to say to your response is YES!!! and dance in a circle, flailing my arms about in some kind of happy dance.

Oooh! That would be a fun idea--to take the story and do a series of one-shots. I thought about expanding it, but I hadn't thought of that! Thanks for the idea--perhaps I shall look into that :D

Thank you so much for this review. It made my day like I can't even tell you.



 Report Review

Review #5, by Diezal325 Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

27th July 2013:
love it! More? plz read my stories thx xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by H Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

13th July 2013:
this is adorable! Love it! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review. Those notes are so encouraging, and I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

13th July 2013:
That was awesome! This was funny and serious all at the same time! I can totally understand where Victoire is coming from with the whole blondes are stupid thing. My best friend is a blonde and some people just assume that she's stupid because of it when she's not. And I myself don't have to deal with that stereotype but I deal with other ones.

I loved Teddy in this, I just loved the fact that he was so cocky all the time. He put a smile on my face. He and Vic may claim that they don't like each other but the way that they worked together said otherwise.

My favourite part had to be when Victoire demanded that everyone listen and take her seriously. I absolutely loved that part, I was like "You go Vic, you show them who's boss. GIRL POWER!" I can't believe she threatened the Greek Ministry of Magic though! The minister was so cool with it though and his response to not following protocol was hilarious.

My favourite line had to be when Victoire told Teddy that not everyone could be one with the donkey's (for the sake of keeping it twelve plus, I switched words). I laughe so hard at that you would not believe.

All in all a very interesting and enjoyable read!

Author's Response: What an awesome review! Thanks so much :)

Yeah, I got the idea to explore the dumb blonde stereotype as an obstacle for Victoire because I have a friend like that. She's super smart, knows way more about any given topic than most people around her, and yet people often sort of talk down to her. And really, what it boils down to is that she's very pretty, and she's blonde. People treat you differently. And, I mean, who would be prettier and blonder than the daughter of Fleur Delacour? I think everyone deals with some sort of stereotype. I wanted to show how frustrating it might be to always have people expecting less of you, even though you're perfectly capable.

I'm so glad you loved Teddy! He was so fun to write. His voice was different--I started giving him extra contractions because the story had to be under 5,000 words, so it was a way to lower my word count. But in the end I really enjoyed the voice it gave him--very confident, a little arrogant, and relaxed.

Favorite parts and favorite lines MAKE MY DAY! Thank you so much!!! :D
My face just has a huge smile on it, from reading which parts you liked. I am thrilled that you found it funny. Thank you so much again for taking the time to write such a kind, thorough review! It was fantastic!


 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarik Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

13th July 2013:
Hello! I've read some of your fabulous writing before and really enjoyed it, so I'm very happy to be reviewing this :)

Gah, I loved this story! It may have been close to 5,000 words, but honestly, it flew by so fast because it was quite superbly paced and the dialogue was lovely and sharp and the scenes were of perfect length. This is such a wonderful fluffy story (well, fluffy in the end :P ) with a madcap adventure and a strange country and I enjoyed this a whole lot. As always, your writing is so fluid and so clear and clever.

Victoire is a complex character; she's very intelligent but she's also incredibly vulnerable, and here in your story, I did really get a sense of how highly-strung she is, to be caught in a foreign land with a dragon's egg about to hatch in her bag, and with some creepy bloke trying to feel her up and her boss getting detained by security. It's all very comical and very light-hearted, but at the same time, Victoire's discomfort is so convincingly portrayed.

Teddy is gorgeously written as well; I love the details of his 'backpacker appearance', all scruffy and tanned and in sandals and with braided wristbands. I love how supportive and sensitive he is toward Victoire; they make such a good pair and they're both so comfortable with each other, never mind that Victoire did mention that she can't stand him. I love his habit of messing up his hair, which he probably learned from Harry. It's a very telling detail, and a very subtle bit of information about Teddy's childhood - how close he was to Harry's family to be able to pick up Harry's own mannerisms and such.

Their plan to infiltrate the Greek Ministry of Magic was absolutely hilarious. Not a very well-thought out plan for sure, but then Victoire was desperate :P One thing that really did make your Victoire stand out from the thousands of other stories about her was her fit of Veela rage. I've read plenty of fics about Victoire having a fiery temper and all, but none where she actually explodes with sparks. Holy smoke, I think I can really visualise her doing that. It's refreshing to see that she's not just a vulnerable helpless damsel-in-distress; she most certainly has that innate Veela ferocity which surfaces when desperate measures are needed.

Anyway, this was a very entertaining and incredibly well-written piece! I've enjoyed it, and I loved the ending where Teddy disguises himself as the creep. Baha! And Victoire beginning to enjoy travelling :) But only with Teddy around to help hold her together, of course. Great work!

-teh

Author's Response: OH my gosh, teh tarik! You give the best reviews!

It was different to write something so fluffy, but it was a nice mental break from all the tension in my other story.

I'm so glad you liked the characters and thought they worked well together! Yeah, Victoire couldn't stand him initially, and I had to cut some of the nuances out of that to make it fit 5,000 words. But mostly it boils down to her insecurities--he's a valiant Gryffindor who wants to help her with things because he cares about her (but hasn't ever explained that, and always jokes it off), and she's a smart girl who likes to do things for herself, because people often don't think she can. So, tension.

That part about Teddy pretending to be the creep was actually my favorite part, though it was originally a bit longer. I figured you couldn't be the son of Tonks and a Marauder without appreciating a good joke, and I wanted to give them a cute moment, so I'm delighted that you found it worth mentioning.

I can't tell you how much I love how you NOTICE things. You're really perceptive, you pay attention to the small details, and your reviews always make my day! Thank you SO much! I can't say it enough :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by LittleLionGirl Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

13th July 2013:
I must say that I found this story quite humorous. Especially the whole Ministry of Magic thing with the dragon egg! What are the odds right? I really love your story flow and the attention to detail you have is crazy (in a good way)
XOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, it had to be kind of condensed to fit into the word count, which I supposed made the whole thing a bit funnier and zanier, but I'm so glad you found it funny :)

And thank you for the comment about the attention to detail. I really appreciate it! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by Poohbear Dragons, Disguises, and Not-So-Dumb Blondes

12th July 2013:
This is really good! :D I want more! :')

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I'm hard at work on a couple of other stories right now--my Draco/Astoria novella and a Little Mermaid retelling for the Fairy Tale Challenge--but I'd love to go back some day and extend this to its original length. I had to make a lot of cuts to get it under 5,000 words, so it'd be fun to add to it. It was lots of fun to write. And you are so sweet for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login