Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Bits and Pieces
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BKL8008 Through the Fog-an Arthur and Molly Weasley story

1st August 2013:
I now understand, from you response to the first review, how you did such a fine job on this one. I too watched a couple trying to get on with their lives after the death of a child. Now that I know this, I think it makes the piece all the more poignant. Yes, Fred did get lost in the shuffle, it's a shame that we couldn't have read more about these characters in canon.

Author's Response: This was almost therapy for me to write. I tried to imagine those characters going through the same trauma, and how it would manifest itself. Poor Freddy. And poor Arthur and Molly. But I don't think they would stay down forever. They'd be different, but they'd be okay eventually. They were too strong to let that take them down for good. Thanks so much for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #2, by BKL8008 Forgotten Friend- an Oliver Wood story

1st August 2013:
This is a great perspective of something that, I think, was a shame to leave out of the canon. How did the ones who survived feel? What did they all lose? Granted, it probably would have taken up a whole 'nother book though! This is good in how it makes us see the other side of Wood, a character far too underused in canon. I think you got him just right.

Author's Response: I admit, I always loved old Quidditch-obsessed Wood. But he was very one-dimensional in the books. He had a very small role to play, with all the other things going on, and I wanted to view the tragedy from a minor character's point of view. I agree, seeing the aftermath from all those points of view would fill volumes. I kind of wish she'd write them anyway. Thanks again!~GW

 Report Review

Review #3, by BKL8008 Longing- a George Weasley story

1st August 2013:
It's amazing to see less than 1k words sum up so much pain and longing as much as this one does. It's simply brilliant.

Author's Response: This was a drabble entry a long time ago. I always feel the worst for George. Nobody lost what he lost. The twins were written as almost one person. For her to separate them was a horrible thing, but I think she knew that and did it to show the horrors of war. We could have lived without Percy or Charlie, but it had to hit us as hard as it hit the characters. That death did it for me. Ugh. So Georgie's 'holey' and Fred is gone. Excuse me while I go sob over my copy of Deathly Hallows. :) Thanks for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #4, by BKL8008 The Sins of the Father- a Scorpius Malfoy, Professor Longbottom story

31st July 2013:
In just one word, beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I rewrote the ending of this after several people told me it just didn't feel right. I am much happier with it now. I appreciate your reviews!~GW

 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008 In the Quest for Power-An Albus Dumbledore story

31st July 2013:
This is a powerful one, and it captures the history of Dumbledore from DH just perfectly. In fact, I wish it had been written in, at least in a flashback, perhaps. This is great stuff!

Author's Response: I think I love writing missing moments most of all. Those little scenes that could have been in the books, but weren't, get my mind racing with ideas on how they could have happened. I have several of them, but this one moment really bothered me until I wrote it. He never knew who killed Arianna. Why? What did that fight look like? In my mind, it looked like this. The Albus Dumbledore we knew grew out of that tragedy and betrayal. I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks, BK!~GW

 Report Review

Review #6, by ValWitch21 A Magic Moment- a James Potter and Lily Evans Story, of sorts

31st July 2013:
Hi again!

I don't think I've ever read a story where you actually see the Marauders becoming Animagi, so that already makes me love this chapter.

Then there's James' train of thought that is perfectly fitting with my vision of him. The moment where he doesn't want Peter to manage himan transfiguration before him made him very real --no matter how close-knit the four boys are, they're still competitive.

The whole moment with Lily made me smile, then laugh when she stomped away, persuaded that James had ruined the moment. There are too many stories where she screams at him for no reason, but here her anger was (to a point) justified, as she obviously couldn't know James was the stag.

Also, the line about him not being her type really made me laugh, as we all know how that goes!

Author's Response: This was so much fun to write. I always wondered what it was like when they were working on the animagi transformation. They're boys, so you know it was a competition. I hate the Lily hates James thing in a lot of stories. I always imagine his immaturity just irritated her a bit , and then one day he grew up. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing!~GW

 Report Review

Review #7, by ValWitch21 Through the Fog-an Arthur and Molly Weasley story

31st July 2013:
This made me so, so sad -- it's been a while since I've read something focused on the Weasley family right after Fred's death, which makes this all the more painful.

The best aspect of this chapter, in my opinion, is your depiction of the emotions felt by the characters. I think this moved me closer to tears than Fred's death itself, because of how clearly grieving Arthur and Molly are. Fred's death was lost, in a way, amongst the chaos of the final battle, whereas here it is just Arthur and Molly, in a familiar setting, and that is why this was so heart-breakingly beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Having lived through this and watching a couple try to piece their lives together after the death of a child, I felt it gave me an advantage to writing Arthur and Molly here. Fred's death was one of so many during the war, and nobody had time to properly mourn him at that moment. When it is all over, I imagine the grief finds everyone in their own way. I appreciate the review so much! Thanks again. ~GW

 Report Review

Review #8, by BKL8008 Remnants- and Andromeda Tonks story

14th July 2013:
Poignant and touching the first time, and still so. A powerful emotional capture of something raw, and handled so well. One can only imagine the suffering that Andromeda must have endured, and this sums it all up perfectly.

Author's Response: It is so touching that you're taking the time to review these again! Thank you so much. I forget what challenge this was written for, but I always felt so sorry for Andromeda. She literally lost everything and everyone, except little Teddy. That's why I never understand fics that have Harry raising him. I seriously doubt Mrs. Tonks would let that happen. Thanks again! ~GW

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login