Reading Reviews for Clash
  
278 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Kristi Rattle

31st October 2014:
Amazing. So well written.
Love the story line.
Incredible.

 Report Review

Review #2, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Descend

30th October 2014:
Oh my goodness Shez! Update soon, how dare you leave us hanging here!

 Report Review

Review #3, by fatamorgana Freeze

27th October 2014:
I am so hooked on this story, just started today (and this is my first review ever!!!) I wanted to mention that just yesterday and today I watched all of The Dark Knight movies, so when I came across this story, it felt like a paralleled extension to it, so dark and ominous, love it! And your quote from The Dark Knight made me squeal and I had to share my emotions here, sorry for the rumbling, I will keep reading on as I love the depth you create to every character and the elaborate story line. Amazing job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by knottedwool Descend

26th October 2014:
Hey,

I don't normally review on fics because I don't have a HPFF account and I don't actually have much time to write lengthy reviews (haha, says the person who read this while writing her history essay). I do think you deserve way, way more reviews and reads than you're currently getting because as I was catching up with the story - just the level of thought and effort and pure quality of writing that has gone into this is absolutely amazing. Since I'm not writing a review for each chapter and for not reading this fanfic sooner than I could have, I will attempt to write an incredibly long review which hopefully will convey everything I feel about this story.

I pretty much choose the fics that I read from the stated pairings shown and to a slightly larger extent, the summary. I love scorose so,so much and despite the noticeably lack of a romantic relationship between them, I'm not too bothered by it because of the amazing relationship between Albus and Rose and Albus and Scorpius. I really like the way you use other characters rather than just say that Albus and Rose aren't in any sort of romantic relationship and I'm sure everyone prefers their relationship as it is. Their fights and subtle affection adds to the fic, but the way you write their feelings actually try to convey the intricacy of a familial/friendly relationship just shows writing skills. And the fact that Ive enjoyed Albus/Rose parts more than Scorpius/Rose also proves it.

I think part of the reason why I like that relationship more is not just because Rose and Albus play a dominant part in your story line, it's just because Albus is an amazing, amazing character to read about. I'm a bit partial to those twisted, broken, brilliant characters in stories and despite his clear cut cold nature, I could actually see his character development through actions and events in your story. I haven't felt bored whilst reading about him, just his personality and the way he interacts with others, mainly Rose and Scorpius. The reader can definitely feel what those two can, the fact that despite knowing just how he can be, he's unpredictable and ruthless. I also love the level of detail you've managed to capture from the books and use with him and the rest of the characters, the plot line with the Resurrection Stone, Time Turner dust, my favourite is definitely Albus's heron/wandless magic idea, all of it sounds incredibly intelligent and well planned.

I also really, really love the way that despite Albus's superiority complex and his natural brilliance, the other characters aren't left too far on the sidelines. I would have thought since this is fic focuses on Albus and Rose, Scorpius would have definitely been left aside. And even when you have, it's understandable and everything flows at a reasonable pace. Also despite him being much less in loop than the other two, he's not made explicitly into a lackey or a submissive character, or too much so that he's disliked by readers. I really like how you've made Scorpius's character and that he still has a strong voice despite Albus's authority. His interest with Rose and Albus's nature also has kept me on my toes, it's just a blast to read.

The originality of the fic also surprised me. I don't think I've read a Harry Potter portrayed like this, especially in a next gen scorose fan fiction. That's why next gen is a brilliant era to write about, there's nothing that can especially be counted as au. Harry turning out like this is unlikely, but a possibility was always there, and the fact that Albus is the way he is because of a particular backstory makes it more real and believable.

But yes since characters are beginning to run out, I would probably say that I don't think Albus would care that much about Hugo's well being whether he's beaten up or not. He would still go and meet the leader of the Ordine Corvis and I feel as if Rose would have a stronger incentive to maybe even go with him.

Definitely looking forward to the darker chapters in this story, all the plot lines and arcs have been pretty seamless, none have bored or confused me (i'm intrigued by that not human thing which I'm sure has a bigger part in all this later on, possibly with Albus). I've only spotted a couple of typos and insignificant grammar errors. I do have a question though. I was wondering why Albus didn't react very much when Ginny snapped his wand. For someone who prizes magic and holds it in the upmost regard, just the small reaction felt odd to me.

Anyway, I hope you carry on and complete this story, it's been a real joy to read so far and I'll be sure to stick with this and see it to the end (the scorose lover in me just wants to see more of it and see what becomes of them) because writing like this is just needs to be read and appreciated.

Thanks for writing and hope you update soon!

-knottedwool

 Report Review

Review #5, by hedwig_pie Kill

26th October 2014:
he's a murderer!
im so conflicted right now...

 Report Review

Review #6, by hedwig_pie Reverse

26th October 2014:
WHAT IS THIS MYSTERIOUS DISSAPEARANCE?! why would the golden trio leave their entire families? oh merlin, this is great. but i really hope you have a good reason for their dissapearance!

 Report Review

Review #7, by jfsdfs Sink

25th October 2014:
wow. that was intense. albus is so unlike his father

 Report Review

Review #8, by hedwig_pie Rupture

25th October 2014:
the head is a bit intense, isn't he? why is he doing this to rose? im so confused, but your writing is so good and the plot is so exciting i have to keep going

 Report Review

Review #9, by hedwig_pie Him

25th October 2014:
BUT HARRY WOULD NEVER DO THAT IM SO CONFUSED BUT YOU WRITE SO WELL AND I LOVE HOW DRAMATIC AND DIFFERENT THIS STORY IS

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hedwig_pie Her

25th October 2014:
OMG THIS IS WEIRD. BUT GOOD WEIRD. amazing weird. i actually have no idea what is happening and I'm so eager to find out. great first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #11, by The_Crookshanks_Saga Her

23rd October 2014:
I really love this story so far, and I'm drawing some definite Full-Metal Alchemist vibes :) You really know how to pique someone's interest by giving away just the right amount. On to the next chapter.

-Meena

 Report Review

Review #12, by Queen of Nerds Descend

22nd October 2014:
I love the twisted psychological element of this story and I think you do a brilliant job writing Albus. Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Romoine Descend

22nd October 2014:
Love love your story..you are a brilliant storyteller.Keep up the awesome work and hope we get new chapter soon.
I just want to know whether there would be any romance between Al and Rose ? So far I could understand that Albus is Obsessive about Rose.I love Rose with scorp too but am guiltily shipping Albus and Rose :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Elyssia Descend

20th October 2014:
Loved this chapter, and yes, wouldn't mind another 10k word one, as soon as I finished it I already wanted more! It's amazing how far the UK has fallen in such a short time, and to such extremes. I wish I could say that level of inhumanity is impossible but evil people will always take control if they are given half the chance. I can't wait to see what you do next with the story, please update soon :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Romoine Rattle

20th October 2014:
Hey I love your storytelling..I couldn't help but see a lot of similarities between tom riddle and Albus.Are the similarities intentional ?

 Report Review

Review #16, by Midnight spark Descend

16th October 2014:
Ah... no, no, no. Hugo.

That's what I had been muttering this whole time. This is was the best chapter yet, darkness-wise(?). Oh no, those people went too far! Hugo is just a little boy! And my mouth flew open at Al's use of Killing Curse- I still see him as the playful boy other fics show him as, maybe that's why I'm so intrigued by your novel.

And welcome! I'm so glad you won. Clash and you definitely deserved this!

Great chapter! Just update faster, this felt like years to me! And after I knew that this was validated, it took me more than a week to actually read it. That week was a torture.

Good job!
Sana

 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyFlower Descend

14th October 2014:
Omg I just love this story so much and how well written it is. I am so glad to have found this story and hope you keep up the good work xD

 Report Review

Review #18, by Pia Descend

13th October 2014:
Hi!

Thank Merlin that the chapter is finally up! It was a good way to improve my monday morning! :)

So I liked seeing things from Draco's prespective, you nailed is characterization IMO.
The hole Astoria/Scorpius/high five house elves was hillarious!! As well as the "befriending a Potter is still better than dating a Weasley" line! Draco should know better haha!

The boys conversation about Rose was interesting... I tottally understand Scorpius confusion, he is realising Albus is not the guy he used to be, not exactly and that may not be a good thing for Scorpius at all, especially regarding Rose.
I'm wondering if when Albus said that Rose had a bigger role to fill than being Scorpius girlfriend, he actually meant that or if he is just trying to find a reason to make his attachment to her understandable.

Oh! And Albus can do wandless magic when he is high on heroin! How convenient! Haha! Can't wait to see his evolution!

Now I can see why Hugo's rescue is going to be a pivotal moment for them, Rose left her morals aside for the first time (not counting Hugo's ressurection) and morals are one of those things that making exceptions doesn't bring good results... and Albus found the perfect excuse to satisfy his bloodlust, whithout shame (he is saving is cousin) but he is actualling enjoying himself a bit too much, isn't he? haha! ;)

The big question now is Why the Corvis guys wanted to bait Albus and Rose?
It is a test to see how good they are? Or they just underestimated them?
Either way, I can't wait to find out!

P.S: The jackets scene was beautiful, those boys can be such gentleman sometimes! ;)

P.S 2: Thanks for thanking me, you really don't need it though, you are the one who is making me a favour by writting this amazing story!

 Report Review

Review #19, by insertofafanboy Descend

13th October 2014:
Oh my gosh, I could never ever get enough of you writing! Seriously, this is probably my favourite story on this site! I love it! Rose, Al and Scorp, they're all such distinctive and original characters, and their relationships with one another!

To be honest, I have no clue in hell where this story is going to end ou, and I'm really quite anxious to see how you put an end to everything.

You have an incredible talent with your writing. It's so fluent, and you can literally picture everything that you write down.

Well, I can't wait to read my Scorose. And I just, I love Al. Even though he's pretty dark and morbid, I don't know Al just, I just love him. He's pretty obsessive with Rose, and I'm trying to figure out whether or not he actually loves her.does he? It's a bit confusing. And I'm glad they found Hugo! I hope he actually makes it out alive, he's a beautiful character!

Anyway, congratulations on you Dobby Award! You defiently deserve it. Keep up the great work! Loving it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Roisin Descend

13th October 2014:
Hello!

Yay, after so much nitpicking and crossings out, here I am to actually talk about the substance of this chapter!

I really loved Draco's pov at the beginning. It was a really clever voice to use to introduce the climate at the time (also, the edits were all great - I feel like a got a lot more information out of this chapter). It was also smart to show Scorpius', like, happy family. It kind of puts Albus and Rose back into perspective. And the thing about the house elves was really, really poignant (that Draco almost loved them, that they were happy and had agency), considering he'd grown up seeing Dobby get abused. It was subtle, and not overplayed, and accomplished a lot. Plus, there was this cognitive dissonance about Draco I really liked, how his positive qualities (genuine respect for, and empathy, with Harry; seeming regret that the reforms stopped) seemed like the were leaking out, and his negative qualities (saying 'mudblood'/'filthy Potter-loving generation') seemed more like affectations.

I also loved Scorpius' voice in the next section. He has a sort of refreshing wit and cavalierness you always bring in at the right times. I loved the 'f- sh- up" and "demanding ahole" bits a lot! And the whole conversation about Rose was really brilliantly loaded. And then "muggles are clever, aren't they" kind of DESTROYED me. So great!

I can't exactly explain why, but Albus' heroin use is just such a powerful image, and sort of haunting. Also, him and Scorp were super Homes/Watson there!

The scene at Gringott's and then St. Mungo's was also excellent. The pacing worked really well, and the visual details were really nice. Also, I loved 'flame-ravaged.' AND 'LITERAL BOY-WHO-LIVED!'

'she picked up her wounded ego and slipped away' - also loved that.

Guh! And the thing about Albus transfiguring an apple into *something* before it bursts is REALLY unsettling!

'Murderous men. Weeping women. Beaten boys. Grimy girls' - let me commend you on the least whimsical alliteration I've ever seen! And just all of the language in the Little Norton section is tremendous. (It kind of reminds me of Slab City, actually. I mean, Slab City has folk artists and hippies who give it a cute quirkiness, but it also has a really terrible dark streak, and some super nightmarish aspects).

And something I was thinking about - Rose can be very sort of *obedient* to Albus. I think a lot of that has to do with all of that really grueling and abusing training she got from the Head. I mean, she /used/ to stand up to Albus. Anyway, I just want to commend you on the subtlety of the evolution of that.

And I really like the additions to the "proffering jackets" scene! Definitely a big water drip - Rose starting to think the Head has the right idea (especially after Draco's POV earlier). And then Albus making sure she got his jacket.

'Did you think I would hurt you? When youíve proven so useful to me?' OUCH. Also, I'm trying to figure out what, specifically, that !shattering! thing Scorpius figured out was!

'their leafy wings brandished' - another line I really like. Just a nice/unexpected adjective and verb choice.

And I loved what you added about Rose, and her enjoying the thrill of attacking people alongside Albus.

All and all, I think this chapter set up a lot of tensions, and introduced a lot of issues, and I can definitely see how its building to some really major stuff. Gah! I hate how HPFF is so serialized! If this were a physical book, this is not a chapter I would have stopped after! Can't wait til the next!

I developed a pretty shattering fan-theory reading this, namely, OH GOD IS HUGO GONNA DIEEE??? All of this stuff has happened because Rose wanted to protect him, and here, we see her selling out her morals for him. If he ended up dying anyway, GUH! (Obv I don't actually expect you to reply to this with spoilers).

And THANK YOU SO MUCH for your kind shout out in the A/N!

 Report Review

Review #21, by insomnia Explore

12th October 2014:
Good i can have a sleep now but naa, still waiting for next update. This simply a work of art

 Report Review

Review #22, by greenphantomme Explore

6th October 2014:
This story just gets more interesting! So much is happening and the relationships between people are so dynamic and descriptive. Also delightful to give this review some delicious alliteration! I really want to know what happens next, so enjoy college and in those sparse and brief moments of free time I hope chapters slowly get written :) Also, (just because I'm curious) how many chapters are you anticipating this story to be - or how long if you don't write story plans? Is this like a quarter of the way through - half? Less?

Cheers and happy writing/studying!

 Report Review

Review #23, by MargaretLane Him

6th October 2014:
Hmm, it seems as if Harry wants Albus to be prepared for future Dark Lords. Four seems young to be told stuff like that, but I am guessing Harry has his reasons.

And now I have sympathy for Albus too, with the stuff about nightmares haunting him.

It's only seeing your portrayal of Albus and Rose as being at loggerheads with each other that I realise how often they are portrayed as best friends. I've done so myself. It's interesting to see such a different portrayal of their relationship.

And YIKES, Albus is starting to sound a little like Riddle with his comments about how teachers were easy to manipulate.

I think the way you write this story in flashbacks really does work, as Rose and Albus are clearly very different people from those they are usually shown to be. And of course, they barely appear in canon, so these characterisations are quite possible. But I think it adds interest to the story to see them as such unexpected characters and then work back to show how two people raised by the parents we knew they had would turn out that way. Focusing on specific moments that led to them becoming the people they eventually did seems more effective than doing it chronologically might be.

Their parents were killed? Poor, poor Rose. To lose her parents and almost her brother.

I really wonder what happened to kill the trio.

And she and Albus WERE friends her, despite the divisions between them. I can't blame her for wanting to save her brother.

And I find the comment in the previous chapter about how she'll understand how people could reject an orphan when she has her own kids. I would have thought it would more be the opposite - that once one had kids of their own, they would find it more difficult to imagine people rejecting children for any reason whatsoever, let alone something that isn't even the child's fault.

But then again, that guy may have said that for effect and not because it's what he really believes.

 Report Review

Review #24, by MargaretLane Her

6th October 2014:
OK, I really didn't expect this beginning. Rose in prison, the last witch in the world. I really wonder what is going on here and how all magical people have been wiped out. Does this mean Harry, Hermione, Ron and all Rose's cousins are dead?

I'm not halfway through the first chapter and already I have questions. That has to be good.

You've written "this did not stop me from lates nights". I presume you mean "late nights."

OK, we're a long time into the future, if there was a war between the magical world and the Muggle one fifty years ago. So that may explain how so many of the canon characters would be dead.

So she was orphaned by the age of 15 and her brother died too. Poor, poor Rose.

I still don't fully understand what is going on here. Obviously she got in trouble with her own people as a teen, after her family died, then it sounds as if war broke out between the magical and Muggle populations, possibly her fault in some way and most of the magical population died or went into hiding or something and she was arrested by Muggles. Whatever has happened, it looks like she's had a really tough time.

I'm guessing this Head is going to be the villain or A villain anyway. He seems frightening.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Shinicha Him

2nd October 2014:
I really cannot understand what became of Harry ... I obviously don't know much yet, but for what reason did he torment persons on a regular basis ... what did he train Albus for, and who is reading his memories out of the pensieve. It couldn't be Rose, she seems to not know all the details the Pensieve apparently holds. But can Muggles use them? (as in Walter)

I think what happened to Albus is really horrible. I have difficulty to grasp his character, no matter how it was shaped by his past. I can't wait to get to know him better so that I will maybe understand him a little bit better. I'm also dying of curiosity as to why he would want to know to bring people back from the dead. It couldn't be "Tommy"? He doesn't seem to care for this kind of thing, although his mentions of Malfoy as a "pureblood friend" was somewhat worrying. So much confusion.
I also cannot wait to see what happens with Scorpius. Rose blamed some of Al's development on him, after all. Too strange.

Needless to say, this chapter was breathtaking and amazing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>