Reading Reviews for Clash
  
325 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarFeather Him

30th March 2015:
Hi, I'll try my review in tanka, Japanese traditional poem.

The death of the Savior
Not the end of your Vengence
The abyss you sunk in

Rose has thorns unexpected
You've never known you're only his Hope

StarFeather

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart Him

30th March 2015:
Hi there shez!

Wow! There was so much information to take in in this chapter. I just don't even know where to start with this review! The first chapter was such an unusual start that I couldn't wait to see what happened next. This chapter sure didn't disappoint either.

I'll start with Rose, since that's where this picks up. I just absolutely love this version of Rose. Usually, everyone writes her as a young woman, happy and full of life. On occasion, I've seen more angsty portrayals, but nothing at all like what you've done here. She's lost control of pretty much everything except the ability to withhold information. It really is intriguing.

Then there's the characterization of Albus. Geez. You present him like a complete sociopath. It's brilliant and yet terrifying. The way he manipulates Rose and Scorpius is so sadistic and cruel. I just have to wonder why no one ever stands up to him.

And the part about what Harry did to him...How horrific! I could imagine that would really mess some people up, except I'm not sure there was anything in Albus to mess up. I think he might've been messed up from the get go.

But then I almost wonder if the penseive memories have been messed with. Are they reliable or is this to purposely mislead the reader?

Oh and Scorpius. The idea of a Malfoy at the beck and call of a Potter is quite interesting. They benefit each other, but it's pretty pathetic to see Scorpius acting like a whipped dog.

Another fantastic chapter! I can't wait to read the rest! I just can't wait to see where you take it. I'm trying not to make any guesses because I imagine that there's going to be a lot of twists and turns.

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #3, by Nia Fall (part 1)

27th March 2015:
Wow. Just... wow. I have tons of homework, so I only intended to read a chapter or two... but after that I was hooked and I couldn't stop reading.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Unicorn_Charm Her

17th March 2015:
Hi there!! :)

W-o-w! I've had this story on my reading list for a while, actually. And I thought this swap would be a great time to get started on it. I really wish I began this sooner. I loved this chapter! I can already see that the Dobby was well, well deserved (congrats by the way!) I've never read anything like it on this site.

The opening was really chilling and made me not want, but NEED to keep reading. I can't believe that A. Rose is thought of as a dark witch, or B. That she is the last witch alive. How in the world did the Muggles wipe them out?! I'm sure I'll find out when I read on, but I want to know nowww! ;) And what was that with Hugo?? That was seriously crazy!

I couldn't believe that Kingsley was going to lock her up after all that he has been through with her family. Was it really that bad, the magic that she used? And I'm wondering now why Harry wasn't the head of the Aurors. Is he dead too?? And how did Ron and Hermione die? And who is this man who took her in? Bah! So many questions!!

I can definitely see why this story is so popular. I can tell it's going to be one of those stories that I'm not able to stop reading. You're a remarkable author! This was great and I cannot wait to read on!! Thanks for doing the swap with me! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart Her

16th March 2015:
Hi Shez!

I'm here for our review swap.

Wow! What can I say about this that hasn't already been said? This was fantastic! The suspense was built brilliantly and I have so many questions. What happened to Rose? Why were she and Hugo orphans? Why would the muggles wipe out the magic folk? How did she accidentally do this dark magic?where is Hugo now?

I wish I had found this sooner and it will now be added to my favorites list. I will be coming back soon to read the rest! Definitely in the top 3 opening chapters I've read, possibly the best.

Thank you for a brilliant read.

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #6, by krotti Fall (part 1)

11th March 2015:
So happy to see you updating.
Would love if you had a more set schedule but can understand the busy lifestyle
Keep on going with the great writing! Absolutely love your twist on things

Author's Response: I'M TRYINGGG. PROMISE.

I'm working on making quicker updates. I have many big scenes for future chapters written -- hopefully I can make monthly or bimonthly (twice a month) updates from hereon out. And come May, I'll be super speedy with updates.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing consistently!



 Report Review

Review #7, by Pia Fall (part 1)

8th March 2015:
Hi!

I'm really happy that you took time for update, sometimes I feel guilty for keep bothering you when you are so busy but I just love this story so much!!

Great chapter as usual! I loved to see a little bit more of Harry, Scorpius's letter to his father is hilarious, the jealousy between the boys is interesting and Rose has literally no soul, right? ;)

Looking forward to part II!!

P.S. I really like that song by natalie Merchant!

Author's Response: Hehe, don't worry. Sometimes I need to be poked and reminded to keep writing. I'm a little embarrassed by how long this update took.


Oooh, yes. Lots of jealousy and *confused feelings*. We'll get to see how it all comes together next chapter.

(Yes! It's the perfect hurt/comfort song for ALbus in that chapter. Super angsty hehe)


 Report Review

Review #8, by padfootandmoony Fall (part 1)

8th March 2015:
Ah absolutely fantastic chapter as usual! I'm really looking forward to finding out more about that shack, the ordine corvis and the training sessions Harry did with Albus! Great job! :)

Author's Response: Oh yes! It's all coming up! Glad you liked the chapter -- I was iffy about this one.

 Report Review

Review #9, by thegreatcatsby Fall (part 1)

7th March 2015:
Saw this update. Probably gasped so loudly that all the air in the room was sucked out.

Author's Response: *pumps more air into the room so you can keep breathing*

:D


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rach Rescue

13th February 2015:
Powerful story.I Like the plot. Dome inconsistencies are there though. If there is a price set on Rose's head by different govts how hard us it to send mercenaries to kill her off. She is not under the head's protection 24*7 anyways.

Author's Response: I know that hasn't really been addressed yet but we will get to see the international angleplay out in-story. We just haven't gotten a lot on it because Rose doesn't really *connect* with the political upheaval (and there hasn't been an opportunity to explore it yet with everything else going on -- I have a *Rose gets tailed by mercenaries subplot* planned but ended up moving it to a later part of the story). I assure you, we will get more on this -- it's a fascinating angle that would introduce loads of new tensions to the story.

:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by marissa lily potter Rupture

10th February 2015:
Hello! I am back with a review once again!

I really enjoyed this chapter. I like that you placed a lot more of the backstory in this chapter rather than the first two. I felt like the first two were the hook and they did a great job hooking me to this fic. But I was starting to wonder a little bit about Hugo as well as Rose and Albusí relationship, which you gave to us here. I really like Albusí character. Not because heís particularly nice because letís face it, heís not. But because heís so different and intriguing. Youíre nailing the indifferent genius bit with him. I think so far, I like seeing the scenes with Albus in them the best just because heís a very powerful character.

Rose and Albus scenes more specifically are the best. They both seem so different yet they get along (kind of?) and I feel like they live off of one another in a way. Itís such a destructive relationship and I can already see the potential consequences of it. I feel like this is something I can relate to. Always going back to one person even when you know itís bad for you canít lead to anything good. Itís what Rose seems to be doing with Albus. Everyone knows it too (this is what I gather from Hugoís comment at the end). I think Rose knows that sheíll go back to Albus as well because in a way, I feel like she thinks of it as a form of protection or comfort.

Ahh I really got shivers reading this! I am SO intrigued by Albus. He legitimately scares me and I wouldnít want to know someone like him in real life but heís so great to read about. I really like controversial characters and Albus is definitely toeing the line here. Anyway, Albus and Scorpius seem like such unlikely friends and Iím sensing some drama between Albus/Rose/Scorpius because Albusí possessiveness mixed with Scorpiusí feelings for Rose sound like a recipe for disaster haha.

Honestly, you have such a way with words. Everything seems to flow to nicely together and I like reading this story a lot more because of that. I didnít get a chance to say this before, but Iíll say it now: you possibly have one of the BEST story summaries. The way you write is so eloquent and best of all, itís consistent. I really feel a part of the story. I love how descriptive you are without being overly so. I can really feel the emotions that the characters are feeling and that is one of my favourite parts of reading. When I feel like Iím not just reading the story but actually a part of it, I know Iím reading something fantastic.

Iím a little confused about the different perspectives but not enough to not know whatís going on. My only confusion comes from not knowing which part is the third party, which parts are Roseís views and which ones come from Albusí pensieve. But itís really not that big of a deal in my opinion because it doesnít take away from the piece at all.

Iím trying to hold on to as much information as I can because I donít want to miss anything. xD And at the end of each chapter, Iím find myself trying to tie things together. Seriously, Iím thinking of this as a logic puzzle. Iíve become very addicted to this story and I wouldnít have it any other way. ^.^

~Marissa

 Report Review

Review #12, by marissa lily potter Him

8th February 2015:
Albus is so cold and cruel and manipulative but I canít get enough of him. I see him as very Tom Riddle like but even better. His relationship with Rose is questionable and fascinating all at the same time. I have read so many Next Generation fics where Albus and Rose have a close, best friend type relationship and I can see that theyíre close here (or maybe Rose is close to Albus and not the other way around) but you have taken a completely different spin on it. I was a little nervous to see how you would portray Albus, especially knowing that he is the son of Harry Potter but I wholeheartedly believe that Albus could have been like this.

No one knows how much pressure a famous, adored father can be and everything that Albus is, everything that he does; I can see it all being the result of his relationship with Harry. And Harry, oh my! I am definitely questioning him! I love that Iím being forced to go out of my comfort zone with how I view canon characters. Harry is definitely something, all right! Iím trying to wrap my mind around the reason why Harry would take Albus with him at such a young age only to witness his screams of pain and nothing else. It sounds a bit like a torture method more than anything else. I couldnít believe my eyes when I first read it but for some reason, it just makes sense to me.

What do we really know about Harry after the war? Not much and I think the war might have changed him entirely. Thereís no reason that the Harry that we see in your story canít have been what he turned into after the war. In a way, I am glad that JKR left so much up for interpretation because it makes fanfictions that much more believable.

I am very excited to see how Rose and Albusí relationship plays out. Their parentsí deaths seemed to have a huge effect on Rose but not so much on Albus, for which Iím also curious to find out more details about Harry and Albusí relationship. I love how well youíve related characterís experiences to their behaviour. More specifically, Iím talking about Albus. Although we donít know too much yet about his childhood, if that one snippet is any indication of what his childhood was like then I can see just why Albus is the way he is. Rose seems so innocent and naÔve comparatively; I want to yell out at her and tell her to be careful about trusting Albus but at the same time, I want Albus to continue on with his plans. As you can see, Iím feeling a lot of emotional turmoil here and I love it. :)

Albus being a target of affection from girls at Hogwarts is great. Thereís something so enticing about a dark, mysterious, handsome man and Albus is all of those. The fact that he doesnít seem to care too much about it makes him that much more irresistible. I do love that although the characters are dealing with hard experiences, youíre staying true to their age.

I'm a fan of Scorpius. His banter with Rose is funny and it made me laugh at how typical it was for him to pick on Rose when they were younger only to find that she became attractive. I swear, boys really donít understand that girls will change so they best be careful about how they treat them haha.

Another absolutely wonderful chapter! It was a pleasure to read it.

~Marissa

 Report Review

Review #13, by marissa lily potter Her

8th February 2015:
I am absolutely in LOVE with this story.

To be completely honest with you, I wasn't a huge fan of horror/dark fics until I read this one. I always thought they weren't my thing but boy, was I wrong! From the very moment the story started, I was hooked. Every word, every pause, every emotion had me waiting in anticipation. I felt as if I couldn't read fast enough and once I was done, I went back and re-read the chapter just to make sure I hadn't missed anything. I'm sure I probably did but then again, what's a good author without tricking their readers every once in a while. ;)

There are quite a few details in here that I feel are going to be important later on. Maybe I'm looking too deeply into things or maybe I'm trying to find a meaning when there isn't one but either way, the fact that your story is capable of making me feel this way says enough.

You put in just the right amount of suspense to get me wondering all sorts of questions. Why is Rose the only wizard left? How did she get captured? What happened to everyone else? Who is this man that is speaking to her? My mind hasn't stopped going over the beginning scene. I think it was all written very strategically. You can already tell that character relationships are going to play an important role in this story. The fact that Rose is questioning why none of her family members came to find her really makes me wonder the degree of dark magic that she used.

Speaking of Rose; I find myself attached to main characters very often just because of the fact that they're the *main* character of a story. But this time, I'm finding myself attached to Rose because she's interesting, intelligent, confusing! We got a glimpse of her personality here but I think there's a lot more to her than meet's the eye. The last line, where she says "That's all I want" sounds so simple but I thought it was incredibly powerful. I can almost feel her struggle. I cannot imagine the heartbreak she must have been feeling when she realized that her brother was dying and that he was the only one she had left.

To think, a Weasley could be worried about the last person they have left is a striking thought. I am interested to see how Rose's relationship with Hugo plays out. I also wonder how others will treat Rose after what she did to save Hugo. The Head seems not to care much about it; I think he only sees her as a pawn to be used. But Kingsley seemed almost scared of the power she held and I'm curious to see what others will think of her.

I almost forgot that Rose is so young. The older Rose that we saw a glimpse of in the beginning of the chapter versus the Rose who saved her brother seem like two very different people. Or perhaps they're not that different. Either way, I would like to see how the younger Rose turns into the older one. I want to know the experiences that made her become who she is now.

The best part about this story is how REAL it feels. Everything is so believable. It's very well worded and so very intriguing!

I think a new perspective on the Wizarding world is a neat idea and I can't wait to see what else you have in store! :)

~Marissa

 Report Review

Review #14, by daliha Him

7th February 2015:
There are so many questions in my head right now? What was Harry doing in that shack, and why take Albus? i keep trying to come up with theories but I have no idea what to think. I guess I'll just have to keep reading if I want to find out more.

Besides that I love the way you write, it's so detailed and full of awesome description, I wish I could write like that.

On to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for reading on. THat's SUCH a compliment! Wow...

And I enjoyed your story too. A LOT. Thank you so much for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #15, by daliha Her

7th February 2015:
Before I start, I had seen this fic before I even have it on a list of those to read XD I'm so happy to have done the swap with you, I have high hopes for this story too, the premise for it is so original, I'm curious to see what led magic to be eradicated from the world. Was it Rose's fault? Also what killed her parents? I have so many more questions but instead I'll read the next chapter, great job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter and all your questions will be answered eventually! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by mymischiefmanaged Burn

7th February 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our swap. I've read this story before so I decided to review this chapter because it didn't have as many reviews as most of your others - hope that's okay :)

I really really like this chapter. It has more action than lots of them but also has a lot of really effective character development. I like the beginning, with Albus contemplating Rose and Scorpius. He has SUCH an interesting reaction to them. His jealousy is really insane and kind of creepy and strange for a cousin, and it shows how hard he finds it to connect emotionally with somebody. He completely doesn't understand that Rose can have different types of relationships with different people and that if something develops between her and Scorpius it doesn't mean their own friendship will be affected. He's being completely irrational and it's a very interesting aspect of his character given that he sees himself as such an intelligent person (and undoubtedly IS an incredibly intelligent person, just not when it comes to actual emotions rather than just manipulation).

And then the apparitions are clever. I'm so glad you went for an original dark creature rather than one of the ones we see a lot in canon. Dementors probably would have been equally effective but this is another way to distinguish your work. It's a really well written scene and all the action is wonderfully written.

Rose's fight with Albus is another really interesting moment in terms of their character development. They both have so much control over themselves (Albus more than Rose) in general, but bring out a side of each other they probably wouldn't be very proud of if they took a step back and thought about it. Scorpius is definitely right to be bemused by their childish behaviour. It doesn't fit in with the way they see themselves at all, but it very much makes sense that they treat each other in this way. They've both been forced to grow up too soon and it's kind of sweet that they act with such immaturity around each other. Apart from Hugo, Albus is Rose's only real connection to her childhood, and Hugo's too sick for her to be a child around him.

And then the end! It's so fascinating and clever. You write dark mystery INCREDIBLY well, and I'm so intrigued about why Rose couldn't hear the sound (so far as I can recall, you haven't revealed that yet). I genuinely have no ideas about what would affect Albus and Scorpius but not Rose, and I can't wait to find out. You write the whole scene brilliantly, and I really like this trait you've given Rose where she unquestioningly protects the people she loves over everybody else. All your characters are really interesting and well developed.

Wonderful chapter of a wonderful novel! I can't wait for your next update.

Emma x

 Report Review

Review #17, by sola714 Rescue

2nd February 2015:
I'm excited to find out what the secret is! I can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! It's all coming up!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Rachel Descend

22nd January 2015:
I am absolutely loving this story. I wanted to stay up all night and keep reading and I've thought about little else since I woke up - a sign of a captivating read which I last experienced from Mrs Rowling herself writing as Robert Galbraith. Keep writing - you're doing an amazing job and I can't wait to find out how it all ends!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the high praise! wow, that's SUCH a compliment. WOW. Thank you so much, and I hope you enjoy what's to come!

 Report Review

Review #19, by mymischiefmanaged Rescue

10th January 2015:
So after our swap the other day I accidentally read the rest of your story (genuinely accidentally. I should have been writing my dissertation)...and wow, it's really so so good.

I'm not sure what to say in this review that could be helpful so I thought I'd just offer you some of my thoughts on your characters.

ROSE: You make Rose delightfully ambiguous. On the surface of things she seems to be driven by love, but then lots of her actions aren't so clearly motivated. Plus the fact she can't make sense of her feelings for anybody except Hugo makes her intentions less straightforward. I think she's very confused. She's incredibly clever but she's been thrown into a situation she isn't quite equipped to deal with. She desperately needs a parent figure to guide her and care about her while they do it, but all she has is Albus so she has to make do. Some of her best moments are those in which she finally gets through to Albus, and I like that she never (at least so far) gives up on him, but still makes it clear that he is not her ultimate priority. She's an extremely interesting character and I'm looking forward to seeing where you take her to develop her into the elderly witch we see at the beginning.

ALBUS: So i'm sure you've had lots of feedback on Albus. I think your creation of his character is probably the most impressive thing about this novel, and I get the impression that writing him might be what you enjoy the most? He's so sinister and psychotic, and in some ways his rare moments of humanity make him still scarier, because it seems he's capable of caring but chooses to ignore it? I hate the way he calculates every move he makes socially to get what he wants from people, but I love the way you write it. I'd like to see his attitudes to Scorpius developed further, but I could understand if you chose to keep it a mystery. We know that Scorpius loves him, and the relationship in some ways is made more interesting by the fact that how Albus feels is a mystery. If I were to guess I'd see he's fond of him, but doesn't feel any emotional attachment. Whereas almost every emotion he has is somehow tied up in Rose. He's such a wellwritten character. I don't know if you've ever tried original fiction but I could definitely imagine you working your characterisation of Albus into another novel. Wonderful wonderful writing.

SCORPIUS: So I'm intrigued about Scorpius, because earlier you had that line about some people thinking that Scorpius was the war, and I don't think that's come across so far. I desperately want to know how he becomes so tied up in everything. He seems like quite an unlikely character to have ended up in the situation he's in, but he balances out the dynamic between Albus and Rose, and contributes some humanity that the story definitely needs. I really like him. I know you're not big on writing romance but the relationship/friendship/whatever slowly developing between Scorpius and Rose is beautifully written. He's not manipulative like Al, even though he's a Slytherin, and that makes him much more valuable to his friends. Plus I love how much Hugo admires him. And the way you wrote his parents was a brilliant interpretation of canon too.

HUGO: I know he's not been a massive character until recently, but I wanted to talk about him because I just think he's so amazing. The illness storyline is brilliantly handled, and I like how you give him these huge vulnerabilities without underdeveloping the rest of his character. Also this idea of his body being so far behind his brain in development is fascinating, and helps us see how he's much more than his illness. His loyalty and love for Rose is endearing, and his reaction to Albus shows an openness to trust and love that reminds me a little bit of young Harry (although to a greater extent). And I think most of Albus's behaviour towards Hugo is manipulative, either to get a reaction from Rose or to get something out of Hugo, but I like how Hugo's inspired this kind of tenderness in him. Like Scorpius, Hugo's presence brings out a different side of your main characters, and it's a side that's really worth seeing.

HARRY: I'm quite horrified by your depiction of Harry, but I trust that you've got strong motivation behind it. I just WANT TO KNOW WHY!! And I loved how honestly you showed the effects of his behaviour in the rest of his family, especially in Ginny's breakdown.

JAMES: I'm guessing we're going to see a bit more of him, given his determination to bring his brother back. Of all your characters, James is perhaps the least developed because he fits so clearly into a mold - Gryffindor hero. But you acknowledge this again and again and the story isn't told through his point of view, so that's definitely not a problem. I'd just like to learn more about him. I'd imagine his reaction to everything going on will be very different to Albus and Rose's. Although I'm slightly ambivalent about his turning up again because I feel like he's not really destined for a very happy reunion with his relatives?

I'm really glad we did that swap because this is definitely a story I wanted to read. I was wondering how long you think it will be when it's complete? You've implied that it still has a way to go before the war is properly developed - does that mean there's still a lot more of the novel to come? Just out of curiosity.

Looking forward to your next update!

Emma x

 Report Review

Review #20, by Consciouslyignorant Rescue

10th January 2015:
Ok. So, breath.
I've just read so far in about 3 days. And frankly my initial reactions where very deffinately not 12+.
This is one hell of a story, very, very different from anything I've ever seen before site, the only one to ever start a chapter with a note saying how the author had to redact the chapter to be allowed (which really intrigues me) and that was a dark one as it is...

Is it bad that sometimes I'm identfying with Albus a little too much? Especially over the whole not quite getting all the'social niceties' thing (seriosly who cares about the weather? Look up if you're that bothered), less so the borderline psycopathic tendencies.

Anyway I almost regret starting this as WIP (you'd better finish) as I'm not sure how I'll handle going and coming back again.

Author's Response: Yeah, sometimes I have to edit my chapters to make them appropriate to post on here. That particular chapter went too far with the kiss and the murder scenes and yeah...I was worried it would turn people off.

Hehe, don't blame you for identifying with that part of ALbus. When he's at his most honest, he shares many tendencies with introverts (assuming you are one). I think there's something very sincere about Albus in that he doesn't 'get' social niceties -- and I've always admired people that don't beat around the bush.

I promise I'll finish! Hope you come back!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Holzer Sink

9th January 2015:
I have to say, I admire you so much! I absolutely love the way you write and am unable to stop reading this, even though I should be studying for finals. This story is so unique and special, Im a huge fan!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much reading and being a fan! Hope your finals went well regardless :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by mymischiefmanaged Her

7th January 2015:
Hi, I'm here for our review swap :)

I've actually been meaning to read this for a while. I've seen it recommended a lot in the forums and your summary's fascinating, but somehow I've never actually opened it before now. This is a fantastic first chapter, though, and I'll definitely be reading on at some point.

The opening is intriguing. I actually really like Walker a lot. I don't know if he'll show up again but he's a brilliant device to introduce the concept of the story, and it's interesting to see Rose through the eyes of somebody that purely sees her as a curiosity (rather than as a person, I guess). The interview set up gets across a lot of information without feeling contrived, and it's just generally a really strong opening to what I'm sure is going to be an amazing novel.

The healing/dark magic scene is really, really well written, and something I don't think I've seen before. I love your explanation of the nature of magic, and you manage to convey how serious the situation is even before you've made it clear that what Rose has done is a crime.

And then the trial's brilliant, although I was a little disappointed with the way Kingsley acted. I wonder what's happened in this world you've created to make him so harsh. And how did Ron and Hermione die?? I desperately want to know but also it's really late at night and I should really get some sleep after finishing this review...

The Head Auror's fascinating and more than a little bit sinister. His continual emphasis on how she's not allowed to talk to boys is interesting, and I don't really understand what the motive is. Something about love being incompatible with the dark arts? I have no idea really, but I definitely want to know more about his intentions.

And then Rose just wanting to see Hugo is painfully sweet. Everybody else seems to have not really focussed on what matters - that she did what she did out of love. I don't know how Rose and Hugo lost their parents, but they only have each other, and Rose obviously wanted to do whatever she could to hold onto that. Given that (and it should really have been obvious, both to Kingsley and to the Head Auror), it seems like a huge oversight at this point for them not to have realised her actions weren't the beginning of some dark magic, and not to have recognised that she'd just want to see her brother.

This is a really interesting, original first chapter and I'll definitely be back to read more.

Thanks for the swap!

Emma x

Author's Response: Hey there! Sorry it's taken me so long to reply!


I'm really glad you liked the first chapter. It definitely took the LONGEST to write, and really lays out the foundation for the rest of the story.

All good questions! (though since you've read ahead, you've probably gotten a few answered )

Oh, there's actually supposed to be a very dry, very DARK sort of humor with the Head. He goes out of his way to intimidate Rose, and it doesn't really worked out as planned.

And yes, I just HAD to end on a positive note there! Glad you enjoyed this chapter!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Alice Rescue

4th January 2015:
I'm in love with this story. Just thought I'd let you know. Thank you so much for writing it :)

Author's Response: Thank you for letting me know haha! Glad you're reading and enjoying it! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by fatamorgana Rescue

4th January 2015:
Yes, yes, yes, I jumped with joy when I saw that there is an update and a long one! It is amazing how host with words you can create such a clear picture of everyone and their characters. Brilliant! I think reviews before me said it all, so I am just saying thank you here. This is the best story I've read! (I have this urge to actually meet you and shake your hand)

Author's Response: Awww! Thanks so much for your high praise! It means so much that people are eagerly awaiting updates. Thanks so much for the motivation!

:shakes your hand::)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Dirigible_Plums Rescue

3rd January 2015:
Okay so this review will probably be all over the place because as per usual I only have a billion questions and there is so much to discuss. Naturally this review will not cover them all, but I'm gonna try my best to give this some sort of structure. Oh and I'm here for the review swap if it somehow wasn't obvious.

In regards to the most important question of all, I want Scorpius to get that date. Hugo pretty much explained why he'd be good for Rose: he'd ground her, he'd make her happy, he's already brilliant with Hugo etc. I really like them together. Albus clearly does not. I'm not sure whether he's simply possessive and is refusing to admit it or is pursuing incest, but it's an intriguing aspect of their dynamic. It'll be interesting to see how that develops.

Speaking of Rose I love how she is with Hugo. You really impress upon the reader how much she loves her brother and we can see what drove her to become the Resurrectionist and how she'd do it again in a heartbeat. Hugo is all that she has anymore. The familial bond shines strong.

I don't know how you manage to do it, but you always pull off the different narrative voices. There's always a distinct tone for each character and Hugo's one doesn't disappoint. You can really see his youth in the flow of words especially in the way that he looks up to Albus. The urge to not be mollycoddled and to be treated like an equal is something that people his age commonly experience AND is a trait that sets him apart from the others. They were forced to grow up whereas Rose has done her best to protect Hugo. I have high hopes for his relationship with Al - the scene where he comforts Hugo is one I adore - but I'm still weary. Al is so unpredictable after all.

He's also pretty awkward. He might be insanely smart and manipulative, but he really lacks people skills. He must be a sociopath :P

As I stated earlier you've left me with a million questions. Cygnus' role in the story, for example, and just why he is so condescending. (Immortals, man. Pfff.) What interests Paisley has in Albus - I know his magical prowess must factor into it but there has to be something that I'm missing. What Harry and the lessons he forced upon Al have to do with everything. What death has to do with everything.

Looking forward to next time. Which will probably be in a year. I can't really complain though because your chapters are long and good ;)

Dirigible_Plums xo

Author's Response: Hey, thanks so much for the review!

Ahh yes, everyone has a different perspective when it comes to the Al-Rose-Scorp. There's a definite direction I'm going with it all, but there are loads of twists and turns along the way, so yeah, stay tuned!

And I'm THRILLED to know you liked Hugo. It definitely took some time to figure out how to conceptualise him, because, as you said, he's more of a child.

Writing awkward Albus was loads of fun hehe.

Glad you're following along with the mystery -- all good questions! (though, of course, I can't really address any of them).


Your 'Immortals, man. Pfft' made me chuckle.

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>