Reading Reviews for The Globetrotting Garden Gnome
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Secret Santa The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

24th December 2013:
This is such a unique story, I loved it! I don't think I've ever read anything from a magical creature's point of view so this was really cool. I loved getting to see how the gnomes felt about the de-gnoming, the Weasleys and everything else. You did a really realistic description of what their thoughts on those things might have been.

The little details they notice about life at the Burrow was really well done too, especially how they noticed Fred's absence. I thought Arthur giving them food and not de-gnoming when Molly asked him to was really true to his character as well.

This was just so original and fun to read! You really did an amazing job with this! Happy holidays!! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for saying that! After I thought of the idea for this story, I did think it was kind of weird, haha, but I wanted to give it a shot. I'm so happy you liked this insight to the mind of a gnome. I'm glad you found it realistic too :)

I had lots of fun coming up with those details that they'd notice (although the Fred thing is always sad to me). I can definitely see Arthur secretly feeding the gnomes like that and I'm very happy to hear that you agree :)

Thank you so much for these kind words and for another amazing review! I'm so lucky I got you for my Secret Santa (whoever you are, haha) ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by aditi The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

26th October 2013:
it looks like you have been to Italy yourself. well, it was definitely an interesting and amusing read.

Author's Response: I actually haven't been in Italy, but I've been in other places near it. I'm glad you thought so! I can't believe you decided to read all my stories - thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heaven The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

29th September 2013:
REVIEW TAG!

Wow! It has been so long since I read one of your stories! I have missed it.

This was a really wonderful and fluffy little piece. I adored the unique point of view, especially how you used it to show a different side to George that we do not really get to see. It was so nice to see him happy!

And OMG! The gnome was such a grouch, but in the best of ways. I loved it! Never have I read someone being so happy about depressing rain!

This was super fun and really entertaining to read. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Well I'm glad to see you back :D

I am so glad that you liked this! I really enjoyed writing a softer side to George, and I'm glad you liked reading it. He really deserves to be happy, doesn't he?

I'm so glad you liked the gnome too! I think I'd be quite fond of him, if I knew him ;) Definitely a grouch though!!

Again, I'm so happy that you liked this! Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by LoopyMoony The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

19th August 2013:
Brilliant! Just...Brilliant! This is one of the best ideas I've ever come across, and in a one-shot as well! I love the tone of the gnome, a little bit of a home-bird grump! It's hysterical to think of a little gnome on an accidental trip to Italy! I don't take well to ridiculous heat, I felt his pain!
Love that it's George who has the soft-spot. After all his joking, it's nice to see such a side to him! Also thought it was funny how the gnome slowly became part of their honeymoon! And also, YAY! Cause I love George!
Excellent to see you've been nominated for a Dobby! Best of luck and thank you very much for that excellent piece of gold!
Izzy

Author's Response: Wow, those are some amazing compliments. THank you so much!!! I don't even know how to explain to you how happy it makes me that you liked the story so much :)

The gnome is definitely a home-bird, and grumpy, haha! I agree with you on the heat think, Italy in the middle of the summer can be just a tad too hot for me too ;)

I'm glad you liked that part about George :) I thought he should take after Arthur in some way, and I'm glad you thought it worked! Haha, I love George too!! :D

I literally still can't get it into my head that it was nominated for a Dobby. Thank YOU very much for reading this, and for taking the time to write this review, which was lovely for me to receive!!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by missclaire17 The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

18th August 2013:
This was by far one of the most brilliant one-shots I've ever read. I mean, how many people would get the idea to write in the point of view for a GNOME?!

That was brilliant though. The gnome's voice was perfect, and I loved the way that the gnome described the things that we know. It would have been even better if you added a bit about Crookshanks in there because Crookshanks loved gnomes since he hadn't seen them before. Either way though, this was brilliant.

There are very few one-shots that I've read that are genuinely creative and original. This was one of them. And I'm so glad that you chose George and Angelina! I love them (:

Awesome job writing this one-shot!

Author's Response: Wow, I am SO happy that you liked the idea of this one-shot. At first, I thought it was a bit too weird... but then I just went with it. The idea came to me as I wrote a George and Angelina wedding chapter for one of my WIP:s on the site, where I included the gnome choir. Then those gnomes were just stuck in my head, and this idea came to me! :)

I had completely forgotten about Crookshanks! I'm definitely going to try to find a way to include him, thank you so much for suggesting it.

Thank you so, so much for your kind compliments! I don't think I can tell you how happy it makes me that you thought so well of this story!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarik The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

28th July 2013:
Hi there! Gaaahhh, what a lovely fluffy adorable little story! I really felt like picking up that grumpy old gnome and giving him a cuddle, which, of course would only prompt him to sink his teeth into my fingers. Honestly, though, this was such a unique idea, to write from the POV of a garden gnome! I absolutely love it whenever I come across stories from the perspectives of non-human beings in the Potterverse, and this is the first garden gnome story I've read.

I love it, and how you reference the other Weasleys. I'm assuming Ginny is the girl who kidnapped one of the gnomes and pretended he was her baby. That made me giggle a bit. I think you got all the gnome-ish facts and characteristics really well, and you portrayed them so accurately. They're grumpy and pesky and troublesome, and they can be a tad nasty with all their biting. But you've also shown how much of a bother humans are on them.

And I loved that you included George and Angelina's wedding in there! It was so lovely. I'd always thought Italy would be a lovely holidaying place, but from the gnome's POV, you really did show how terrible it was; you portrayed his disomfort and indignation very well.

I absolutely adore the final paragraph. Very strong ending.

It began raining. Rain! Never had I felt such joy at the sight of those drops of water, sometimes big enough to kill one of our newborns! At that moment, however, I welcomed them with open arms; oh England, you sweetest of places, I will never leave you again.


Such wonderfully hilarious contrasts here! The sweet rain, dangerous enough to kill newborn gnomes, and yet he rejoices in it. Gah, it really does speak of the extent of his discomfort and newfound hatred of travel.

Absolutely entertaining fic! Great work :)

-teh

Author's Response: Oh, what a wonderful review to receive!!

Haha, I am glad that you liked the little gnome! Of course, I agree, he probably wouldn't like you back though... ;) I am so glad that you found this idea and story to be quite unique, that's great to hear!!

I am also glad that you enjoyed seeing the Weasley's through the gnomes eyes. Yes, that was Ginny who kidnapped the baby gnome! I agree - mostly, we see the gnomes from Harry and maybe Ron's POV in the books, and of course they're not going to like them. But of course, they won't like humans either, considering what they do to them!

It's good that the gnomes' discomfort came across - he certainly didn't like travelling! (I'd love to go to Italy, personally!) Thank you so much for pointing out that last paragraph - it's so great to hear that you liked it and that it worked to sort of attest to how much he hated being away from home :)

Again, thank you so much for this review, and please know how much I appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by magnolia_magic The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

28th July 2013:
Aww, this is the cutest thing! And such a creative idea! I never would have thought to send a garden gnome on vacation, of all things. But the way you wrote him--so disgruntled and appalled with all things human--made the whole thing seem perfectly believable.

I loved seeing the Weasleys from the gnome's point of view. Of course Arthur would be the favorite...he's too soft hearted to throw a gnome anywhere! And it was so cute to see all the little memories he had about misadventures with the kids. When Ginny kidnapped his son! I just had to laugh at that part! And interrupting the wedding...what would a Weasley wedding be without something like that happening? :)

I thought you did a wonderful job with this. Your mentions of the Weasleys kept them in character while still putting a unique twist on them. And your adorable narrator makes the whole thing a treat to read :) Great work!

--Maggie

Author's Response: I am so happy to hear that you thought so! And that you found this believable - it's quite tricky to get into the head of a gnome, so that's such a relief!! :)

Yeah, I definitely imagine Arthur being their favourite! Haha, and I think that a little gnome would be the perfect toy for little Ginny, even if the father didn't quite agree ;) I agree about the Weasley weddings, and I think it's true for George Weasley's wedding, especially!

I am so happy that you liked this story, and that you liked the gnome as a narrator! Thank you so much for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoy The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

26th July 2013:
Aw! This is SO adorable!! I've been wanting to read this ever since you mentioned that you had written a story about a Garden Gnome! I expected it to be quite funny (which it was), but it was also cute and just... awesome!

This is absolutely the first story I've read from a Garden Gnome's P.O.V, so HUGE kudos there on originality! And I thought you did an excellent job on putting yourself into the mindset of a Garden Gnome, too! I hadn't thought about it before, but since reading this I can definitely agree that this is EXACTLY how a Garden Gnome would feel/view things!

It flowed wonderfully and there were several moments where I wanted to laugh, or even cry (like when they mentioned the lack of Fred). *Sobs* So I think you did an excellent job with emotions, as well. And you also came up with a very unique take on the 'Travel' theme, so props to you for that, too!

All in all this is a cute little one-shot, and I really enjoyed reading it! 10/10 and going in my favorites!!

Author's Response: Okay, I just have to put it out there: are you the most amazing and kindest person ever? You have reviewed almost every single one of my stories and always been SO kind and so encouraging and I can't even begin to explain how happy it makes me!!! I am so glad that you enjoyed this story as well!

When this idea hit me, I thought: "well, that's a strange one", and decided to just give it a try. It's great to hear that it was original, and that you believe that this is how a garden gnome would feel. THat's just an amazing compliment :)

Again, thank you so much for this review and know how much it means to me! I'm definitely going to have to return the favour of all of these lovely reviews (besides, I've been meaning to start reading your Charlie story for ages now, so expect to get a couple of new reviews on that one soon!) Thank you so much again :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by Erised The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

14th July 2013:
Hey there! Returning your wonderful review for the HC!

Well, I can say this story definitely had me hooked almost immediately. First of all I love that it is from the point of view of a gnome - there is such untapped potential there, why has nobody written about them before?! Secondly that opening line is just hilarious! I loved it!

The gnome's rampant patriotism made me laugh too, especially at the end and how happy he was to be back in England. His POV on his accidental trip away was so funny too, and totally made sense. I like how George had a soft spot for him though, just like his dad! Pretty cute.

I've got to say this is one of the best entries I've read for this year! Well done on such an original and funny piece of writing!

Author's Response: Hi! :)

There is a lot of potential, and a lot of liberty since we know so little of the gnomes. Although, of course, it's also quite a strange idea ;) I don't think I could have written a much longer story about gnomes, but who knows? Maybe someone else will try it ;)

Haha, I am glad you enjoyed that. After that terrible trip, of course he's going to love England! I am so glad that you found it amusing, and yeah, I really wanted George to inherit that certain trait :)

Wow, one of the best entries? What an amazing compliment. You are just too nice. Thank you so much for this review, and I must say that yours were on of my favourite entries too! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Haronione The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
Wow! I absolutely adored this fic :D

I was intrigued by the title and the story did not disappoint! I loved the plot, the descriptions, the characters... Well everything really!

I loved the idea of a fic from a gnomes perspective, very original! The way the gnome perceived humans was brilliant. I particularly enjoyed the gnomes description of the contents of the case and how he thought they made humans weird, very amusing.

I thought from the beginning that it was a Weasley's-garden gnome, and I loved how you incorporated the Weasley's into the story and included important canon things about the family and not just about George.

In case I haven't got the message across yet - I loved this, it had me smiling and giggling from start to finish :D Brilliant!

Haronione xx

Author's Response: I am so happy to hear that! It's also such a relief to hear that you actually found it amusing, as this is my first attempt at writing humour :) Of course, a gnome wouldn't understand the purpose of a hair brush, right? ;)

I am glad that you enjoyed seeing a little bit of all the Weasleys, and again, I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the story. Thank you so much for your kind words, I hope you know how happy you've made me!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by HollyStone73 The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
What a unique take on the whole thing!! A story from the viewpoint of the garden gnomes? How in the world did you ever think of such a thing? I loved it. I love how observant the gnome was and I so love how Fred rescued him! I absolutely love how they refer to Arthur as "the kind one." Overall a very cute unique story. A pleasure to read something so different and imaginative! Great job!

Author's Response: It's quite a strange idea, yes ;) I came up with it when I wrote a chapter for another story on George and Angelina's wedding and decided to have a choir of gnomes interrupting the band, so that they couldn't begin a wedding march (because George can't have just a normal, boring, perfect wedding). And then this just came to me, because that little choir got stuck in my head ;) Actually, George was the one who rescued him as Fred, sadly, is dead :( I am so thrilled to hear that you liked this! Thank you so much for your review :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by Beeezie The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
This is definitely one of the funnier House Cup story I've read so far. I couldn't help but smile at the very first sentence, and the smile didn't fade throughout the story.

I loved your choice to write about a non-human. You definitely used your imagination in how a gnome might think, and you gave him a really strong voice. The emphasis on how much he hated humans - other than Arthur, of course - was really funny but also pretty understandable, once I stopped to think about it for a minute. I also liked the fact that you portrayed Arthur as being so complicit in the gnomes' continued residence in the garden.

The fact that the gnome actually ended up in Italy with George and Angelina (I'm assuming) - and what's more, that he hated it - really made me giggle. That's certainly one thing that will convince you your home isn't so bad after all. :P

I did notice some grammatical errors here and there - mostly misplaced punctuation or similar things - but there weren't so many that it was really distracting. I'm not sure if they were just because of the time constraints around this or not, but either way, getting a beta to look over this quickly might be worth your time. :)

The only other issue I had was that there were times that I felt like you should have either been a little clearer in what was going on or should have cut the section out altogether. I get that you were trying to tell this from the gnome's perspective, and I appreciated that, but at the same time, it's not really worth it if it's just confusing to the readers, you know? The specific example that comes to mind is the girl who kidnapped his son - I'm assuming you're talking about Ginny, but that reference kind of lost me and left me feeling confused and didn't really add anything to the narrative for me.

Overall, though, great job. I really enjoyed the story! :)

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I am so glad that you found it funny. This is my first attempt at writing humour, so that makes me really happy!!! :)

Yeah, I can't imagine a gnome liking humans after how they're always being treated. I'm glad you agree :) And well, Arthur is just too kind to not care about them - also, I think he finds them quite funny - and feeding them will definitely make them want to stay, right? :)

Yeah, I am sure that this certain gnome will be very happy if he gets to stay in the Burrow for the rest of his life ;)

I'll take a second look at this and try to find errors. Thanks for pointing it out - English isn't my first language so I tend to miss out on it sometimes, so I really appreciate you mentioning it :D

I'm sorry to hear that you found that part confusing - yes, it was Ginny. I'll try to see if I can make it more clear somehow :)

I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you so very much for this review!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by purplepotter77 The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
Hello! Here for the House Cup!

This fic was so funny and original! I can't say I've ever read a story told by a garden gnome before, especially a traveling garden gnome that's also a choirmaster!

I loved the characterizations of the gnome, George, and Angelina. The garden gnome's comments about humans were so funny and the names that he gave them were great as well. The part about George taking after his father was really nice as well. I felt bad for the garden gnome, since they do not get the best treatment in the world, so I was really glad when George finally took pity on him and helped him out!

All in all, great job! This was so unique and humorous! :D

Author's Response: Hi!

Haha, well, the idea of this story is quite strange ;) I am so glad that you enjoyed it, though. I felt like a garden gnome must hate humans, considering what they do to them. Poor things! I am really glad that you liked George's actions - I felt like he'd inherit his father's soft spot for them :) I am so glad that you liked this, and thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by AC_rules The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
oh wow, that was so completely brilliant!

I think this might actually be one of my favourite of the entries. It's definitely unique and fabulous and I'm so glad I got the chance to read it. I loved the voice of the Gnome - he really had a gnome-quality about him that I'd really find difficult to explain, but it was definitely there. He was exactly like I would imagine a Gnome to be.

Also, George was great! I'm actually amazed you managed to get so much of his character through such an indirect narrative, but it was really brilliant. When he started feeding him pasta... oh, that was lovely. And for awhile I thought Angelina was going to be angry at him for bringing him along, but I'm so glad that she wasn't. The idea of them legging it out of a nice restaurant is such a weasley twin thing that it will forever be my head canon.

I really loved this! Absolutely fabulous :D

-AC

Author's Response: First of all, thank you SO MUCH for being so incredibly kind to me! One of your favourites? I feel so flattered. It's just lovely to hear that you found the gnome gnome-like (yes, that was a weird sentence...). What a compliment!

I am also really glad that you liked George in this! And I figured Angelina would only find it sweet. Besides, I imagine her being a little bit like George, with a great sense of humour - otherwise, I don't think she'll stand being married to him. And yes, running out of a restaurant like that is a very Weasley twin thing to do, now that you mentioned it ;)

Again, thank you so, so much for being so kind and encouraging! I can't tell you how happy this review has made me! You are just wonderful!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
Hi! I'm here for the house cup review-a-thon!

I've heard a lot about this story in the past week or so and I've been really looking forward to reading it - I have to say, it didn't disappoint!

This is such a unique and original story! It's exactly the sort of thing that I love to read - it's great to see a story narrated purely from the perspective of a garden gnome! I found myself feeling quite sorry for the poor things!

It's great to think of this story as the sort that an old and wise gnome would tell to the younger ones to get them to stop complaining, or stop them from wandering off when they're not supposed to. Your characterisation of the gnome (although this is a first for me, since I've never read a story from the perspective of a gnome before!) was brilliant. There was real depth to his character as you gave him a family and friends and other experiences beyond his travel to Italy. I enjoyed reading a story from his perspective because it's so creative and I loved his character.

The characterisation of George and Angelina was great as well - they're exactly how I imagine them to be. Although both Fred and George had fun de-gnoming the garden, I liked the fact that he took after Arthur and was compassionate to the gnome when he found him, giving him food and eventually taking him on trips with the couple. I found Angelina's reaction very believable and realistic, and I like the fact that she wasn't annoyed with him for keeping the gnome with them on their holiday.

The details that you included were a wonderful addition; I liked the way that the gnome observed the Weasleys from a distance and didn't know their names, but from his description we could recognise each of them. It was heart-breaking when he mentioned that one of the twins had gone missing, since he didn't know that Fred had died.

There were some really hilarious parts of this story as well. Some of my favourite lines:
"Second: no hedge in sight. Things did not look promising."
"And furthermore, while I'm not too familiar with the courtesy of humans, amongst us gnomes, throwing someone out of their home is considered quite rude."

In case you couldn't tell, I absolutely loved this story. Great job!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Wow, I feel so flattered! I am so happy that you weren't disappointed by this and that you enjoyed reading it, especially since I wasn't so sure about it myself when I wrote it!

Yeah, I definitely imagine this being an old, wise gnome sharing his experience with the younger ones. Of course, they'd consider him quite exotic after having been in Italy, while they've only ever been at the Burrow all their lives! I am so glad that you liked the characterization. You're right, we don't really know anything about gnomes, so I just made things up as I went. I'm glad you liked the result, though ;)

It's also great to hear that you found George and Angelina in character. I don't think that she could get mad at him when he was really just being very sweet, right?

I'm really glad that things didn't get too confusing when he didn't know their names! And yes, since I HATE the fact that Fred dies, it made me sad to write it :/

Oh, I love to hear lines that stood out to you. I am thrilled to hear that you liked those! And I am also thrilled to hear that you've enjoyed this story so much, I can't even begin to explain how much I appreciate this thoughtful and encouraging review. Thank you so, so much, and know that it really means a lot to me that you took the time to do this :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by ShadowRose The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
Hello there!

This is a really unique story - I'm pretty sure I've never read anything from the point-of-view of a garden gnome before. :P

His character was very amusing - a bit cynical, constantly complaining, and overall just kind of fun to listen to. He kind of reminded me of a grumpy old man, but I guess he's a grumpy old gnome, haha.

I love that he ended up on George and Angelina's honeymoon, and enjoyed it far less than the pair did. All of their adventures were really funny, and I can definitely picture George acting the way that he did.

Overall, this was a really fun little one-shot to read - and I love the alliterative title!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: hi! I get that - I never thought there would be a day when I'd write a story from the POV of a gnome either.. ;) I'm glad you found him amusing, and yes, I see him as a grumpy old gnome too :)

I so glad to hear that you liked it, that you found George's actions in character, and of course, the title. It's so nice to hear, and very reassuring as I've never written anything even remotely like this before. Thank you so much for being so kind and giving me such lovely response, I appreciate it so much :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by ginerva_molly_weasley The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
Oh Gnomes! I love these little Gnomes so this story is only going to get pure love from me!

I love how it was from the point of view of the Gnome so it really helped us see his character and how much he hated being thrown away from his home. I had never seen them as having feelings before so this was interesting to see the other side of the Gnomes.

Also I take it 'the twin' was George? It was a little confusing not mentioning any of the names here so I was a little confused as to who you were talking about.

This was a fantastic story! Well done

GinevraMollyPotter
Slytherin

Author's Response: I love gnomes too! I never thought I'd write a story about one, but then it just came to me ;) I am glad that you liked it!

I didn't mention names because I don't think the gnomes would have picked up on that; you're right that it was George (the gnome did say that one of the twins wasn't around anymore - that was Fred, since he died). :( thinking about Fred dying always makes me sad.

But this review made me really happy! Thank you so much :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
Hey there!

Hehe, I really enjoyed this quirkly little piece! I thought it was definitely very original and unique to have it from a garden gnome's perspective and I loved the way you portrayed that perspective. The gnome's character in itself was very amusing to read about and I really enjoyed his comments about the little humans and degnoming - reading about it all from his perspective was very interesting!

I also really liked the bit about how George was also like his father, even though he didn't show it too much, and how he kept fairly good care of the gnome during the trip to Italy! Okay, good is probably debatable from the gnome's perspective, but hey! he got some food and managed to make it back home! :P

I thought the narration was cleverly written, and yeah, I just really enjoyed the plot and the unique perspective! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi!

Oh, that makes me so happy! This is so different from what I normally write so I'm really relieved that you enjoyed it so much, both the story itself and the gnome :)

Yeah, the gnome wouldn't have called George's treatment good, but you're right, at least he didn't leave him there to die :)

Once again, I am so thrilled that you liked this! Thank you so much for your review and your kind words, I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
This was a hilarious story! I never thought I'd see a story written from the POV of a gnome before, but here it is! I love that he was so cynical too. It felt perfect for someone who spends his life being spun around and thrown out of a garden. And so it made sense that he didn't like travelling!

The idea of gnomes singing was really funny. I can imagine it sounds something like a sort of guttural grunting in different pitches - slightly more melodious than Troll singing, haha. Something George would clearly love at his wedding (and Molly would not like at her son's wedding!)

This was such an amusing and original story, I really enjoyed it!!

Author's Response: This story is so different from what I normally write, so it's so nice to hear that you enjoyed it! And that you liked the little gnome as a character - I agree, being thrown out of his home constantly must lead to him not enjoying traveling, which is equal to leaving home.

Haha, yeah, I imagine it sounding something like that too! And I think George absolutely loved it, while Mrs Weasley was furious.

I am so happy that you enjoyed the story! Thank you so much for your kind words :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by DracoFerret11 The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

13th July 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from Ravenclaw on the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2013! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: Oh my gosh! This was so sweet! I loved it! How often do you get to read a gnome story, right? So creative. :D I like to think of this story as a really old gnome telling a "scary story" to baby gnomes about his terrifying, exciting adventure. :)

Characterization: Okay, so I loved your tiny gnome and thought he was very true to what I know about gnomes (which isn't much, I suppose, but they were in the books a few times). I loved the mention of Arthur as the "Kind One" and I adored that you mentioned Angelina and George. I absolutely adore them. And George was so sweet to the gnome, even if he thought of ignoring him at first.

Descriptions: I really liked seeing the world from the gnome's point of view. You really committed to that and stuck with it. Great job. I love that you included sights, sounds, smells, the works. Well done!

Emotions: I wonder if the gnome was really more afraid than he let on. Maybe I would like to hear about his thoughts those first nights on the balcony. Was he worried he'd never see his family again? Was he angry at himself for accidentally ending up in Italy? Things like that.

Interactions: I really loved that Angelina wasn't mad at George for sheltering the gnome. I always imagine her as pretty goofy too and I think she appreciates his compassion and I liked that you showed that. And the gnome was quite pleasant to the humans despite his annoyance with them. :) I loved his gnome choir at the wedding (though I was sad that he inadvertently mentioned Fred's death--always heartbreaking).

Overall, I think you did a great job! This has been one of the most original stories I've read for this competition and I really enjoyed it. Thanks for writing! Again, good job and good luck with the House Cup!

--Emily

Author's Response: Hello and thank you for this very detailed review! I appreciate it so much!

I am so glad that you liked the idea of a gnome story, as I figured people would find it weird, haha. I agree, I can definitely see this being a story he'll tell to the baby gnomes :)

I am so glad that you liked my gnome as a character! And I love George and Angelina too! I was actually writing their wedding chapter for another one of my stories when I came up with this, which is why I included them :) And yeah, good thing that George had a little bit of Arthur in him, right?

I am also really glad that the descriptions worked! :D As for his emotions, you're right; when I go back and look over this story again, I'll try to think of ways to include more of that. Thanks for pointing it out!

Yeah, I imagine Angelina as being goofy to (I think you have to be in order to be married to George!) and I'm glad you agree :) Yeah, the gnome was holding back his hatred a little bit, I supposed! And I know; Fred :( It breaks my heart too.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed this story. Thank you for all your kind comments about it, and for your advice. Good luck in the HC to you too, and thank you again for the review :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by LilyEPotter The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

12th July 2013:
Hi! Here for the House Cup review!

This story certainly had a very unique viewpoint! To consider how the little garden gnomes feel about humans... I really was feeling sorry for the little gnome all through the story, especially when he found himself in Italy without any hedge in sight.

Great story!

Author's Response: Hi! Yes, it is unique (I would've said weird, haha!) ;) Yes, poor thing.. that wasn't what he had in mind when that day began. I am glad that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by patronus_charm The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

12th July 2013:
Hello there! Iíve really enjoyed all of your so far, so Iím glad the HC provided me with an opportunity to sneak back over!

Youíre making me feel bad now because I never really thought about the life of a gnome beforehand, and now youíre going to make me question every garden gnome I see and wonder if theyíre really judging me! I loved the idea of writing it from their perspective, because theyíre such cute little things which are ignored a lot and deserve the coverage you gave them here!

The fact that you developed its own unique voice and views was brilliant! I never expected a gnome to be able to have such complex thoughts so seeing it here was great! I think the one thing which I really loved was the way it just hated humans. To be fair, I really donít blame them because we are pretty cruel to them but just seeing all of their thoughts behind was really entertaining! ♥

I felt so bad for it because all it did was attempt to venture off to Italy and it got mistreated! It really doesnít have a nice at all. Perhaps they should create some sort of gnome reserve for the mistreated ones out there so they can live a happy and cruel-free life without the bother of humans? After all, the way the twins through water over him and were going to jump on him was just horrible!

I feel bad for keep on pointing it out, but maybe you just forget, but you had the case of placing the comma outside of the speech marks when it should be inside. It occurred in quite a few lines of speech and itís easy to do and easy to fix, so a quick scan read of this again should place them correctly!

Other than that it was a really enjoyable one-shot!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad to see you again too! :D

Haha! Well, if you see this certain gnome, you know that he will judge you. No question about it :) I am thrilled to hear that you like the idea of giving them a voice - it is quite weird!

Well, the gnomes are portrayed as being really stupid in the books, but I think they are just misunderstood :) Yes, it would make sense that they wouldn't like humans, wouldn't it? I am so, so happy that you found it entertaining :D

Well, perhaps Hermione will take on the rights of gnomes once she's finished with house-elves? They do deserve to have a little safe haven, I agree. Although, life with the Weasleys is, just as the gnome pointed out, easier with the children out of the house.

Oh, I totally forgot that because I wrote this kind of hastily, but I'll go back and edit! Usually I keep it in mind when I write now, though, so thank you so much for teaching me that! And don't feel bad for pointing it out, I'm so grateful for the help :)

I am so glad that you enjoyed this one-shot. Thank you SO much for this review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by HeyMrsPotter The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

10th July 2013:
Well this was just amazing! If 'puffs don't get points for creativity I'll be astounded! It's funny, witty and just plain BRILLIANT! I never thought, even in the wonderful world of fanfiction, that I'd read a story from a gnomes perspective (let alone enjoy it!) Job well done!

I noticed just a couple of spelling/typing errors:
schampoo should be shampoo
Identic should be identical
"Eating at loud placed" should be places

Author's Response: Never in my life would I have guessed that I would ever WRITE a story from a gnome's perspective, but the idea came to me when I included the gnome choir in the wedding chapter for "19 years" ;) I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it, because it's so different from what I normally write, way out of my comfort zone and, to be honest, quite a strange story. So thank you for those kind words, and for pointing out the typos (I have edited the chapter now, I think I wrote it a little too hastily). Again, thank you so much :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login