Reading Reviews for Meddling Aphrodite
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pixileanin She Sits On Her Throne

26th March 2014:
"Aphrodite was the goddess of... all of that good stuff." Okay, I already have a smile on my face. You have my full attention now. Ahem.

Okay, I read all of that way too fast. This seems to be some kind of crossover with Greek Mythology, and I loved seeing the Greek gods discover this other world that had been hidden from them. With all the boredom that Aphrodite was touting, I can imagine how excited she must be to be meddling in people's lives that she previously had absolutely no access to. Though I'd be paying more attention to Hephaestus' little birdie thing if I were her. I mean, that kind of stuff rocks!

It definitely looks like you had a blast writing this! I can only guess how George is going to take this meddling business. Haha! Very interesting premise!

Author's Response: Glad that caught your attention. I was a little unsure as to how people would react to the story beginning that way but so far everyone has had a really positive reaction to it.

It most certainly is a crossover with Greek Mythology (one of my many obsessions). I can almost imagine Aphrodite giving an evil laugh at this new discovery and having more people to screw with. Except she probably wouldn't have given an evil laugh because it's not something that she would do.

I don't actually know how George is going to react to Aphrodite meddling in his life but I don't think he's going to take too lightly towards it. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heaven She Sits On Her Throne

25th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Oh! I am so excited for this story! I really love Greek mythology, and with the craze for Percy Jackson at the moment (myself included) I'm so glad other people are getting into it too!

OMG! You're just spot on with Aphrodite's character! I love how much you reference from the myths, because they're such a great resource. I feel really bad for Hephaestus and really, only Aphrodite likes Ares :P But you have to admit, Love and War do go hand in hand surprisingly well...

I really cannot wait to see what mischief Aphrodite causes on poor George and Angelina. They're in for the biggest surprise of their love lives! And we get to learn more about Aphrodite's problems too! Can gods undergo character development, I wonder?

Awesome stuff!

Author's Response: Hey there again!

I have found someone who loves Greek Mythology as much as I do, this is brilliant! I just really want a reason to write Greek Mythology and I'm so happy that people are on board with this story!

I'm so glad that you love Aphrodite's character! I'm having so much writing her! Of course, I need to alter the myths a little bit because Aphrodite is actually quite cruel. Everyone just kind of puts up with Ares because he's the god of war. War and Love do go hand in hand quite well, Aphrodite and Ares still have their arguments though so they're just like any couple out there.

I'm quite excited to see what Aphrodite gets up to as well. There's going to be a lot going on (I hope!)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unwritten Curse She Sits On Her Throne

27th February 2014:
Hi there! Here for the Review Exchange (sorry for my tardiness).

Can I tell you how much I laughed at the first line. "and all that good stuff" It set me up for Aphrodite's character without me knowing it--she's very easily distracted and seems to flit about, which is exactly what this line did.

I rather like "Heffy" here. Strangely enough, he may be my favorite character. I love how you've characterized him as this soft, intelligent man who is kind yet cannot seem to be charming (though he tries). I didn't like Ares, forcing poor Aphrodite into antiquated gender roles. Blegh.

I'm a bit curious as to why she has never seen a wizard before. If she's been meddling with peoples' love lives for--well, an eternity at this point--I imagine she'd see a wizard. So that part threw me off a bit, though I do like the scene where she discovers Diagon Alley (and can I admit, rather sheepishly, that I never made the connection between Diagon Alley and diagonally... I just admitted this to my husband and was laughed at). Anyway, I liked the kid-in-a-candy-store feel that I got from her discovering the magical world. I imagine the wizarding world would feel quite the same in discovering the gods of mythology were real as well!

Lastly, I liked the playful air to this first chapter. I will be the first to admit that I've never been a fan of mythology, but I rather like this modern take. And I liked your hint at Aphrodite wanting to change with the times. I think that line is what made it okay for these gods to be acting so modern and playful. These aren't the gods from our storybooks, they are the gods of here and now. And I think that's brilliant.

Anyway, I hope I was helpful. I plan to come back and review the second chapter tomorrow. I'm looking forward to more laughs and more snark.

-- Gina

Author's Response: As someone who has read far too much Percy Jackson, this story is exactly how I've come to picture Aphrodite in my head instead of the goddess that she is described as in the actual Greek myths.

I'm so glad that you like Hephaestus! I have a soft spot for him as well because I picture him as the best friend that the girl never even thinks about in a romantic way and the poor lad accepts it but is there for her even though he knows that he's never going to be seen as anything more than a brother. I'm having a lot of fun with Ares actually, but I think it's mostly because I'm trying to make him not as kind.

Well, the way that I pictured it was that the wizarding world has designed itself to not be seen by those that are not witches, wizards or beasts and the gods and goddesses aren't witches and wizards. Everyone in the Potterverse has a different type of magic than what the gods on Olympus have (in my head at least). And if Aphrodite had seen something weird or unusual, she probably would've dismissed it as something normal because the world has done some pretty weird stuff in this century.

Don't feel bad for not noticing that Diagon Alley went diagonally, it took me a very long time to find that out and when I did I felt really stupid for not noticing it earlier.

I can say that I enjoy mythology but it's mostly Greek, Roman, and a little Egyptian (although Egyptian mythology is a little mind boggling and I still have trouble understanding some of it) but besides those three I don't know much else. I feel so accomplished however to hear that you like this more modern version of it. I've always thought that the gods would change with the times, if you can't change with the times you're going to get left behind and lost and being left behind and forgotten is not something that I imagine any deity would really be okay with.

If you do come back to read the next chapter, I sincerely hope that you enjoy the second chapter as much as the first one. Thank you so much for your brilliant review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by teh tarik She Sits On Her Throne

29th January 2014:
Hello Grace! :) I'm here for the TGS review exchange.

Wow, this is such a great and very original idea! I love it already! :D You've done a wonderful job blending in Greek mythological figures with the Potterverse, and you've achieved this in a very humorous and entertaining manner. I love Aphrodite's nature, and how bored she is with her life and the Muggle world in general. It's indeed a strange but wondrous thing to read about a Greek goddess discovering the magical world (especially Diagon Alley) for the first time; usually, this sort of stuff is written from the perspective of some excited eleven-year-old about to go to Hogwarts for the first time. It's really interesting that the Greek gods and goddesses are so unaware of the magical world: it really speaks volumes about the skill and efficiency of the wizarding world in keeping their existence concealed.

I really love Aphrodite's voice in this story; she's such a complex character, and one moment she's disinterested and completely bored, and the next she's throwing a dangerous sort of tantrum, and the next she's about to cry crocodile tears to persuade her husband to let her do as she pleases. She sounds like an incredibly fun character, though not the easiest to get along with! I'm intrigued to find out about what exactly is her modus operandi, and what she intends to do with George and Angelina. And how her own personal life with all its complications with Hephaestus and Ares will turn out. I quite adore 'Heffy'; he's such a funny character, although I do see why Aphrodite is so dissatisfied with him; she is a very attention demanding person, and Hephaestus is simply too wrapped up with his work. But I still enjoy reading about him all the same!

Another thing I really liked about your story, and which drew me into the narrative very quickly, was your opening paragaphs. They were very well-written and sharp and the tone of the narration was wry and nonchalant and almost bored, which is very suitable, seeing as it reflects aspects of Aphodite's voice.

I really enjoyed this chapter! I think you're off to a wonderful start, and I hope you'll update this fic soon. So glad I got the chance to read this. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey there teh!

It means a lot to me to hear that I've come up with an original idea that's humorous. I've alway thought that if the Greek Gods meddled or every got involved with wizard magic some kind of mayhem would ensue and there would be a big mess to clean up. If I were Aphrodite I would get a little bored as well. She's lived so long that she's probably seen everything that there is to see and there's nothing to new to interest her anymore.

Given Aphordite's mood swings, it can definitely be difficult to keep up with her at time especially when she gets a whim into her head and goes out of her way to do what she's planned to do. She's the type of person who tries to keep up with what's current but maybe takes it too far. As for how she's going to mess with George and Angelina and mess up her own life a little bit, I have some of it planned out just not all of it so I may come to a stand still on the story at some points. Hephaestus and Aphrodite are different people, she's the extrovert and Hephaestus is the introvert so finding something that they both enjoy is a little bit difficult for them.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I enjoyed reading and responding to it, I have just sent the second chapter to my beta!


 Report Review

Review #5, by bellatrixlestrange123 She Sits On Her Throne

19th January 2014:
Hi there!

I'm here to review as part of your winners prize :) OK, so firstly I'm so sorry that this is a tad late (or a bit more than a tad) but life's been hectic hectic hectic so apologies for that :p

Anyyywayy, you mentioned that you wanted this story reviewed the most so i'll try my very best to give you the best review in terms of praise and if needed, some CC.

First and foremost, I really liked the way you opened the chapter (and if I may add, I'm a little envious because I'm terrible at introducing stories). There was a very nice flow to the way you wrote because you wasted no time in setting the scene, which is vital because if the scene isn't set in stone after at most the first half of the chapter, I myself as a reader find myself being slightly put off from reading on because my impatient mind can't take it :P

Also, using Aphrodite in a HP fic?! Brilliant! It's so unorthodox yet it works which is a sign of a great writer - sometimes it can be hard to make different characters from either stories/ myths come to life in other contexts especially something like Harry Potter which doesn't mention much in the books of anything along the lines of Greek mythology all that much. So well done for using your poetic license to your advantage!

Also, I like how you've given Aphrodite a very breezy tone, it suits a character like her that is meant to be beautiful, but surprisingly, doesn't seem to know it herself. She also seems quite immune to the love and attention she receives from men on the account of her beauty and that is 100% expected from her, so it really added more authenticity into the plot for you to write her that way. I also could not help but feel so sorry for Hephaestus! He seemed to lovely and genuine and my heart went out to him :(

Now, I noticed no punctuation or grammar mistakes and the form of the writing was in a way that was easy to read, the paragraphs were as long as they needed to be - which is good! And on top of that, you managed to keep your writing methodical throughout!

The only CC I have is that the writing, at parts seemed a little bit jumpy. I did find myself a bit confused at parts, for example: When Ares spoke of Aphrodite being married to Hephaestus, I did find myself a bit confused and I had to go back and have another read to see if I had missed something. Now, this could just be me being silly and maybe I actually did something about how official their relationship actually was, but maybe you can try and add a few hints to show that Aphrodite actually was married and that could add to the fact she is - almost - openly flirting with Ares.

Other than that, I must say this was a lovely read and I can't wait to go review more of your stuff! I hope I wasn't too blunt or maybe even to harsh, I'm rubbish with CC!

Keep up the great work and once again, congratulations!

Bella x

Author's Response: You're not late at all and wowie! That is one long review! It was unexpected but a pleasant surprise. I'm going to say right now, thank you so much for this long review!

Thank you so much, I'm glad to hear that the beginning was good and that it pulled you in! I agree though, the beginning of the story makes or break the story. I, myself, if I'm not immediately grabbed, I wouldn't want to keep reading said story.

Thank you so much! That is just the biggest compliment that anyone has ever given me. But I'm really glad to hear that the whole Greek mythology thing works with the Harry Potter magic and world. I was hoping that the two wouldn't clash.

The grammar and punctuation errors are all thanks to my lovely beta maraudertimes, she pointed out to me any punctuation mistakes that I missed.

I totally forgot about adding in things to show that Aphrodite and Hephaestus were married. I think I just assumed that everyone knew they were married from Greek Mythology so I didn't bother putting that in. My mistake but I'll definitely go back and add hints here and there if I can.

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I really appreciated it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm She Sits On Her Throne

18th January 2014:
Hey Grace! Here with your third review!

Ah, this was such a great start to the story with such an exciting premise and I hope that thereís more along the way soon! I really loved how Aphrodite was just so bored and full of disdain for humans and their boring lives. It made me laugh a lot and very much the same as how I envisaged her character. She was just hilarious!

Then the arrival of her husband Hephaestus! That made me laugh even more with the way he was soppy about her and she couldnít care less and openly recognised that. I always felt a little sorry for him, but they really are polar opposites so it could never have really worked out all that well. Gah, I just love your characterisation with all the Gods itís so much fun! Then Ares was great too!

I loved how she was just like Iím bored, Iím going to England :P Silyl Hephaestus ending up there too, but maybe George and Angelina will help the pair of them fall in love with one another too. I guess you never really know with these crazy gods! Haha, I did love how she was describing Diagon Alley to him though because it was funny to see too mythological/magical things collide together.

Ah, I loved how she chose them but you need to write more now! I really canít wait to read on because this was such a great and fun to the story which needs to have another chapter asap!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello Kiana!

I'm so happy to hear that you liked the beginning and there is most definitely another chapter coming soon, I sent it to my beta and I should have it up pretty soon.

Aphrodite and Hephaestus are polar opposites, I don't understand why they were married in the Greek myths anyway, they're almost nothing alike.

We'll see, maybe George and Angelina will really help Hephaestus and Aphrodite fall in love. Or maybe she's just going to realise who she really has feelings for in the end or maybe not. She might just decide that she's better off by herself than with a man.

The next chapter should be coming out soon (I hope). Thanks for your review.


 Report Review

Review #7, by MissesWeasley123 She Sits On Her Throne

16th December 2013:
YES, THIS STORY. This story is love. I swear, I saw this being put up one day in the RA section and then it disappeared and I was sad but I couldn't find it and aghhh yes, this is awesome.

First of all, I'd like to gush all over the title - so perfect. The summary - beyond real. And the banner easterlies has made you, which is some form of sorcery on it's own.

AND AGH WHY SO PERFECT I CAN'T EVEN.

I just love this idea so much. Love love love. It's so creative, and I honestly love it a lot, if you haven't caught on.

Aphrodite is sooo scary, except she's such an interesting character too so it's like, love or not love? I don't know I'm confused.

A fabulous start, and I just can't applaud the concept and idea enough.

Author's Response: I have been looking forward to responding to this review for so long because it put the absolute largest smile on my face ever when I saw it.

I am so happy that you found your way back to the story and I love how excited you sounds and it's making me excited.

The summary was actually quite a bit longer than the one that I posted but I cut it down a lot so that it could fit the limit. But yay, it's putting a huge smile on my face that you liked the title and the summary and easterlies has some magical powers when it comes to graphics because I absolutely adore that banner!

Maybe you'll finally be able to decide whether you like her or not as the story goes on. Again, thank you so much for this absolutely fabulous review and I seriously just want to give you the biggest hug ever like you don't even know.

Seriously, thank you for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by maraudertimes She Sits On Her Throne

11th November 2013:
Okay okay, before I get to the squealing, there are some things I need to address.

"...looked down at the puny morts..." Do you mean to say mortals?

"'...anything that you've built,' or have built she added to herself." That sounds a little bit redundant...

Okay, squealing time.

E!
This was so cute. Poor Heffy! Stupid Ares! I both in love and in hate with Aphrodite right now. But yay for meddling with George and Angelina!!!

I really loved how you did this kind of crossover thing. It really works and it was SUPER good!

*insert more squeals*

Also, your banner! Is that ScarJo? If so, OMG she's perfect for Aphrodite!

Anyways, I really loved this! Like a lot. Just... Gah! Feelings! Great job!

Lo:)

Author's Response: Those things you pointed out, I noticed them as well and I had the biggest facepalm in the history of facepalms because they're such stupid mistakes. This is why I'm getting a beta for this story so they can spot what I miss.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it at least. I can see that you've already picked which god you ship Aphrodite with.

I wanted to write a George/Angelina story but I didn't know how to make it work and then I saw this banner and it clicked and this was born.

I'm not entirely sure, I'm looking through gallery photos of her right now but I haven't found anything (if it is then that is one creative photoshoot).

I can't stop giggling because I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by blackballet She Sits On Her Throne

12th August 2013:
I love this idea so much! It's very interesting and unique. The only thing I couldn't believe was Aphrodite not knowing about the Wizarding World. I think you handled the topic very well, and made them well adjusted to modern times.

Great job again!

Author's Response: Hey there again!

I'm so happy to hear that you love it because I love writing it!

I imagine that if the gods existed they wouldn't really pay attention to mortals so I figured they never would've seen the wizarding world before.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by LittleLionGirl She Sits On Her Throne

19th July 2013:
Hmm. Interesting start putting it in Aphrodite's perspective. I find it funny and believable that Aphrodite just wants to give other people drama- hating it when it happens to herself. The chapter was very descriptive and entertaining. Can't wait to see what happens next.
XOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: I wanted to write a George/Angelina story but I wanted to do it differently, that and I really liked this banner and the story fit perfectly with it so here we are! Aphrodite is kind of like one of those soap operas on TV. You enjoy watching the drama happening to other people but you never like it when you're the one who's in the middle of drama.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Courtney Dark She Sits On Her Throne

14th July 2013:
Hey there!

Wow, what an original idea for a story! I have certainly never read anything like this before - it's definitely a unique idea for a George/Angelina story, having it from Aphrodite's point of view! I'm really looking forward to finding out what type of trouble she's going to cause!

Aphrodite seems like a very interesting character! She certainly seems to have a lot of sass, and seems to know what she wants and how to get it. However she also seems very eager and determined - I am really looking forward to finding out more about her. And so far Hephaestus (I had to copy and paste that as it was too difficult for me to spell) seems kinda adorable!

Nice start, very interesting concept!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you, I'm really excited to write something like this, I've never done it before so this is exciting for me! Knowing Aphrodite there's going to be tons of mayhem caused by her and some that isn't caused by her.

I wanted to make Aphrodite female, but at the same time, I didn't want to make her seem air-headed or stupid as people often think of her.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by charlottetrips She Sits On Her Throne

9th July 2013:
I love this already just from the fact that you are mixing Greek mythology into the Harry Potter world! It's interesting that some of the Gods were unaware of the existence of witches and wizards enough that they've only just found out about.

Aphrodite is way more likable here than in the myths. She's everything that could be cliched about a woman but also has the strength that doesn't make her a total loss. I like how she knows the strengths she has and uses it. I also appreciate the affection she has for Heffy (I am not going to attempt to spell out the fully name) whereas she is a total not nice person in the myths to someone who I think is pretty cool, even if deformed.

I hope you explore her story too as she meddles with Angelina and George. I love that she got so involved with their lives and what was going on that she was just fascinated. It's funny to think of a god being bored but in second thought, that's not so different from the beginnings of many legends!

Great start!

Author's Response: I wanted to write a George/Angelina story but I don't want to do it the usual way so I came up with this to make it a little different. When you think about it though, it kind of makes sense, the gods are so wrapped up in themselves and their problems that I don't think they'd really notice much out of the ordinary. I don't really think that anyone besides Hecate would know about wizards and witches. That's how I think of it anyway.

Yeah, in the myths she's not very likeable at all, she's very different in the myths to how she's portrayed here. She's definitely a lot nicer to Hephaestus here than in the myths, I figure it would make sense for her to like Heffy but not as anything more than a friend or a brother.

I do plan to explore her story as well as tell the story of George and Angelina.

Thanks for reviewing and I'm glad that you enjoyed it!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login