Reading Reviews for Swept Away
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina Swept Away

12th November 2014:
I'm going to keep this short, because my brain has shut down and there's not that much to say (besides, I'm sure the twelve reviews above me said all my thoughts).

Love love love love love this all. Every bit of it, from the first sentence to the author's note.
--Georgina

Author's Response: Hi! Aw, thank you so so so so much ;) I am thrilled to hear that! Thanks for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin Swept Away

27th August 2014:
Hi Kristin!
Well, just so you know... I intend to read and review all your stories, just give me time... :)
This was really brilliant! So unique and original!
I really enjoyed how it all started, with poor Miriam having to fix up the mess after the battle in the Department of Misteries! I never stopped thinking that someone would have to...
And I really enjoyed following her all along her trip through time and space. I read in some of the other reviews that what made Miriam so enjoyable as a character was the fact that she didn't despair but just rolled up her sleeves (a real Hufflepuff) and solved her own problems. I totally agree!
You did a wonderful job with the description of the sailing! That was really great!
And I also loved the bit with the african shaman. And I liked the detail of the first prototipe of a Time-Turner being in the shape of a Moebius strip (I'm a mathematician, I just love this kind of things...)
Really great (just as I expected it to be)!
Hugs,
Chiara.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, I just want to hug this review (and you!) I'm incredibly flattered that you're intending to read and review all of my stories :O Wow, just.. ♥
Anyway, I'm so glad you liked this! We had to write travel-themed fics for the House Cup last year so I fit in as many kinds of travel as I could :p I'm thrilled you liked Miriam as a character as well. She is very much a Hufflepuff! ;)
It's wonderful to hear you liked the sailing and the bit in Africa with the shaman and the early Time Turner. I just love the idea of all time being connected, and Moebius strips are just so cool - glad you appreciated that! :D
You are too kind! ♥ Thanks so much for yet another amazing review!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirl Swept Away

2nd September 2013:
First of all, minor typo out of the way while it's still on my copy/past: "With her with feet spread apart for balance" - too many withs. :)

No, review.

OH MY!!! This was seriously the most clever thing I've read in a long time! I loved it!

I loved your character Miriam. She was spunky but not too much, determined, personable. She didn't sit around a moan about her fate, or demand help and answers - she just quietly figured out how to solve her own problem. So cool.

And her travels! They were so much fun to read because you are so knowledgeable about what you were writing! I could smell the salt and feel the rocking of the boat and...wow! How do you know so much about sailing? Have you done it before?

I was very glad the crew accepted her. For one, many crews thought a woman on board was bad luck, but since they already has Mrs. Ross, I guess they were over that superstition. But to actually let her work on the crew? I liked that they did, even though it must have been weird for men of that time period to work alongside a woman.

Your writing was very gripping when you wrote the storm, btw.

And then when she got to Africa, I'm so glad it wasn't just - well, she's here now, problem solved! The ox cart journey, the huts...so realistic.

And then she helped invent the first time-turner!! GO MIRIAM! That was a fun twist! (Also loved that the Shaman knew she was coming.)

When she came back to the right time and the lady was so calm about it - made me chuckle. And I hope she DOES get that raise! She deserves it!

Oh, and before I forget, I love how you tied this into the books with her cleaning up the mess from the battle in the department of mysteries. So clever!

Bravo! I have loved every one of your stories I've read and this is no exception! Thanks for sharing, and for the review swap.

Author's Response: Ack typos! Thanks for catching that - I think I was hurrying to make the deadline for the HC so I must have edited poorly, haha.

Thank you, it's lovely to hear you thought the story was clever, and that you liked Miriam! I wanted for her to be kind of the opposite of Harry - really ordinary, composed, and not much of a sense of adventure. But obviously, I still wanted her to be interesting too, lol.

I'm glad her travels were fun to read! And yes, I lived on a tall ship for a while, so much of the description in the story came from my own experiences. Apart from the breaking mast and the time travel. :p

Originally I was going to have more about superstition in there, until I found out there actually was a woman on board that ship, so I figured it couldn't have been as big a deal. I think the crew probably wanted Miriam's help too, to make her earn her stay on the ship after she showed up uninvited! :p But yes, working with her would be weird at first for them.

It is wonderful to hear that parts of this were realistic, despite how weird and convoluted the plot is as a whole. And I'm glad you liked that she helped invent the time-turner, and that it didn't seem silly or cliche :p

Thanks so much for yet another lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ATLpaintingflowers Swept Away

6th August 2013:
Tag!

This is really good, I really liked this.

Plot: It was well executed, interesting, it flowed. The setting was believable. It was just very engaging in general.

Characterisation: I loved Miriam, she was very interesting, and bit funny. She was believable, and I love how you built up on her character.

Other Things: I couldn't find any grammar or spelling mistakes. All in all it was a very lovely story, and I hope you enjoyed writing it as much I enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it :) I'm aware the plot is really quite strange (which was very fun to write, as you guessed) so it's nice to hear that it was engaging and believable :p I'm really happy you liked Miriam as well - I tried to make her just a really average person without being boring, haha. Thank you so much for your lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by magnolia_magic Swept Away

1st August 2013:
Hi! Wow, what an impressive story! You've managed to do so much here: create likeable, vibrant characters, an exciting historical setting, and a really engaging plot. I loved every minute of reading this!

Miriam is really cute, and I liked her from the start. She seems like she's sort of at a crossroads in her life, waiting for something important to happen. And what a creative idea to have it all start with cleaning up Time Turner dust! That's something I would never have thought of, but of course it makes sense that it would be a dangerous job. But Miriam was clever enough to make the most of the situation (and even help invent the Time Turner in the process.) She was a great narrator, and she made this story even more enjoyable to read :)

I love that the ship was real, and that Miriam got to experience real-life history firsthand! Your descriptions of life at sea were so vivid and lovely, and even perilous at times. I really felt like I was there with her. I liked your supporting cast a lot too, especially Mr. Hopkins at the Ministry. He seemed like a real sweetheart, and his dialogue was fun to read :)

I love stories that feature ordinary people getting an extraordinary moment of glory. Miriam helping to invent the Time Turner was a great one! That's something she can be proud of forever, and that will hopefully help her gain the confidence she needs to pursue her dreams in her own time. This experience will be a real catalyst for growth for her, which is what we all want to see in a good story :). Awesome job with this!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Eee thanks Maggie!!! I'm so glad the characters were likeable and that the plot was engaging! I thought I might have gotten too carried away with that bizarre plot line but I'm thrilled to hear that it was exciting rather than weird! :P I've always thought time travel is an interesting concept, and we don't get much background on the limitations of Time-Turners in the books, which left a lot of room for interpretation.

I like stories about ordinary people too. Not everyone can be the Chosen One :P So I tried to make her pretty average and realistic. And yes, I like to think that she kind of found herself on that journey and pursued her dreams once she got back :)

Thank you so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarik Swept Away

27th July 2013:
KRISTIN

Oh, wow! You wrote a caretaker-goes-off-travelling fic for the House Cup as well! Except your caretaker Miriam is 1091823023 times better and more fun than Argus Filch. :P This was such an original story and I honestly loved it because it was so unexpected and I couldn't predict the ending. It's the kind of fic that I love, that starts off from a very specific point in time and space, in this case, after Voldie's Ministry break-in in OotP, and which rapidly broadens rapidly into the larger, more unpredictable world. And Miriam's journey sure is unpredictable.

Your narrative is very stolid and matter-of-fact, and I think this reflects Miriam's characterisation very well. She's clearly a very practical character who can keep her head despite being thrown into a different time era and travelling halfway across the world just to get back to the right time. I love, love, love that descriptive part of the ship voyage. I swear that you yourself are some time-traveller from the past who used to work on one of those olde sailing ships swabbing the decks or tending to the rigging or whatever; honestly, your use of all the ship jargon was a delight to read with all that mainmast and topsail and bowsprit and other such fascinating terms.

I really love the time travel theme of this story. You really took the 'travel' prompt for the House Cup challenge and developed it further to include movement through time as well as through space. It's such a fun idea to think about, that Miriam travels back 150 years back through time, and four months and several thousand miles through space to reach a physical location where she can return 150 years back to time, and when in the right time, travels back all the way halfway across the globe again back to her original physical location. If that sounds convoluted to you, it's actually because I'm quite inept at explaining things. :P Your story was very easy to follow, no worries! :P But it's a very imaginative idea, and it really takes the idea of 'travel' to a whole new level. And of course, it turns out that Miriam helped invent time travel! And then there's Livingstone and actual Muggle history! Gaaah, honestly, there's just so much in this fic that I loved.

The only CC I can offer is that you're missing a large segment of the story. You seem to have missed the part where Miriam goes back in the Pleistocene and meets a herd of woolly mammoths.

Other than that, lovely writing, Kristin! This was so original! ♥

teh

Author's Response: ASDFASDJF;LKSAJ :D :D

Ahh! This was such a lovely review! I don't even know where to start. nkjjhhgfdhf (ok, pulling myself together now.)

I'm so glad you thought the story was original and unpredictable, that's really nice to hear! Gah all these compliments, someone is going to need to pull me off the ceiling where I'll be floating for the next couple of hours. I was worried the inclusion of Livingstone made the story kind of corny, so it's nice that it didn't come across that way! :P

Ah, you caught me, it's true I'm a 150 year old time-travelling sailor! :P (haha, actually though, I did live on a tall ship for a couple of months so the ship descriptions were mostly taken from my personal experience.) I'm glad you liked the inclusion of sailing jargon and that it helped with the imagery rather than just making it confusing!!

Teehee, my original plan was for her to go back to the Jurassic period and meet dinosaurs, but I did the math and it would have needed WAYYY too many Time-Turners, so I had to settle for something more recent! ;)

(I want to type hearts here but they keep turning into Yen symbols when I click "Preview", so just imagine that they're there)

THANK YOUUU for such a kind and thoughtful review, teh! You've totally made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by BluebirdBrigade Swept Away

14th July 2013:
Well first up, I loved the way you incorporated the theme of travel into your story to go alongside the HC prompt, it was very unusal and interesting and creative. The use of time travel was really cool and I couldn't help but think of Marty McFly from Back to the future - which I love. I loved the descriptions you used and the way you talked about the janitors and the epic mess ahaha, it was really well done.

The flow of this story really worked well and I couldn't help but think that this would be a great story to podcast. You explored so may different writing techniques and I thought the dialogue, for me, was super realistic. Overall, it was a great, lovable story with no grammar or spelling mistakes that I saw! Great Job!

Maz

Author's Response: Thank you! It's nice to hear that you think the story was creative, and that the descriptions were good :) I'm glad you liked the time travel aspect too. Someone else mentioned Back to the Future in their review as well and to be honest I didn't even think about that as I wrote it, but I can see why you made the connection!

I'm glad you thought the dialogue was realistic - that was the part I was most unsure about, actually. And I'd never thought about how this would work as a podcast, hmm. It's an interesting idea! Thank you for such a lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Akussa Swept Away

13th July 2013:
Hi there!

Oh that was such an enjoyable little story, I had the greatest time reading it! What I mostly loved about it was the originality of the characters you chose to present. Miriam was interesing and original in all her "normality". I mean, she isn't a hero or a loser, she's just a normal woman that works at the ministry.

Also, time travel. Excellent choice and you did a wonderful job at making it come to life. I wanted to know more about this travel experience.

Great story, I really loved it :)

Akussa for Gryffindor in the House Cup 2013 :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad you liked Miriam and thought she seemed original, that's wonderful to hear :) And I'm glad the time-travel aspect worked, it was pretty fun to write that. Thank you for your kind review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by starryskies55 Swept Away

13th July 2013:
That's a brilliant disclaimer.

I really enjoyed this- you don't tend to think about the little people in the Ministry, the janitors and cleaning ladies, and it was interesting to see their point of view, even if for a little bit. I'd hate to clean up a perpetual mess, I'd get so angry at it!

I enjoyed the plot- the idea of them both inventing time travel is a bit Back to the Futurey, but I enjoyed it, its quite ironic. The journey part was really well done, I loved reading about the old ships, and I thought you did it very well! I did think you could use some more description- the journeys did seem a bit rushed, especially the one on the ox cart. However, I thoroughly enjoyed this, well done!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks!

I'm so glad you liked the story! I didn't even think about it being like Back to the Future but I do see it now that you mentioned it.

And yeah I realise that the ox cart voyage was rushed, but I was rapidly approaching the word limit by that point and had to cut it off :P Hopefully that didn't take away too much from the story!

I'm so happy you liked reading it, and thanks much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lululuna Swept Away

13th July 2013:
Hi there! :)

Wow, this was such an original story and I absolutely loved it. I feel like you could have chopped off the ending where she goes back and expanded this into a much longer story, although of course it works as a lovely one-shot as well. (But if you do change it around and expand it, I'd read it!) :)

I love how well you situated the story in HP lore, what with the battle of the Ministry. It's funny, whenever Voldy and Harry and the rest go and smash things up I never thought about who would have to deal with the mess and face more practical repercussions. Miriam was so interesting, I really enjoyed how since she's a janitor, she didn't seem to fussed about Voldy's return as the way the event affected her was creating extra work. I liked the hint that she didn't really know what her passion was until she went back in time and helped create the Time Turner. She seems like such a sympathetic person, especially how she felt guilty about inconveniencing others on the ship and her thought processes about what to do. I really enjoyed reading about her! :)

The descriptions of the ship and Miriam's physical travels across the world were very interesting and very well described in my inexperienced opinion. I actually really enjoyed the conversation with Hopkins as well, he reminded me a bit of Arthur Weasley's fanatical interest in Muggles with how he talked about time travel (but maybe that's because I just read a story about Mr. W. haha). I really enjoyed his assumption that Miriam was from the future since she was wearing trousers, I imagine she would be quite scandalous to the poor early Victorian wizards! The question about the Cannons was just a wonderful addition as well, it really made me laugh and linked the story with HP so well.

The only suggestion I have for this masterpiece is that I want MORE!!! It's such a wonderful idea and so well-written and thoughtful, I feel like there's so much you could continue and expand upon in the story. :D

This was such a thoughtful and well-written story to read, and the original take on travel, time-travel and even choice of an OC was great. I really hope you re-visit and write more to this story someday, whether it was about Miriam in the past or in the present I'd love to read it! :) What a lovely job you did with this! :D

Author's Response: aksjdfj;lk Can I just say reading this review was such a high point of my day :)

I'm glad you liked Miriam. I wanted her to be a really average, normal person, not adventurous or anything, and I'm glad that came across. And yes, the most stressful part of Voldemort's return for her was the extra work, haha. But in her defence, the Ministry must have been an absolute mess after a bunch of teenagers and especially Bellatrix's crazy spells had wreaked havoc on it!

I'm really glad you liked the descriptions! Much of that scene was inspired by my own experience sailing on a tall ship, actually. And I think Mr Hopkins was sort of subconsciously inspired by Mr Weasley, haha. He was fun to write :)

Thanks once again for this lovely and thoughtful review! I have the biggest grin on my face after seeing that you called this a masterpiece - I'm so flattered! THANK YOU :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by KiwiOliver Swept Away

13th July 2013:
Here for the HC :)

What an amazingly original plot idea! A ministry worker after the battle there, how intriguing!

I really love your characterization of Miriam, and I love the idea of being sent to a different time! How brilliant :)

What a great way to incorporate travel! Having to go to Africa :)
You're so good at developing this plot! I might just have to check out any other stories you've done :)

A really great idea with an awesome plot!

Some beautiful imagery and great ideas :)

Author's Response: Oh thank you, it's wonderful to hear that the story is original! And I don't normally consider plot development one of my strong points, so I'm thrilled that you liked it :D Thank you for such a kind and enthusiastic review, I loved it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle Swept Away

13th July 2013:
Hey!

This was so original! I really loved the whole plot here, and Miriam's character was also really refreshing! Being thrust from 1955 to 1840 must've been a humongous shock, so I'm a little surprised and doubtful about Miriam's complacency throughout the days/weeks of the trip, but maybe she's just a really practical person who doesn't focus on problems but on solutions.

Anyway, I loved how she had to travel all the way to Africa to find a group of shamans who would invent the time turner - and how she herself had helped to invent it! I liked how she had to stowaway on a ship to get to South Africa because of course it was the only means available. The way you introduced the situation at the start with Voldemort, her cleaning up the mess also made the entire plot seem very plausible. Overall, I thought this was a really well written and well thought out story and I really enjoyed reading it :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad it seemed plausible, given that it was a very implausible kind of story! :P

As for her being complacent - I was hoping to show that with a situation so far out of her control, she's only doing what she can because simply worrying about it will get her nowhere. What you said about her "focusing on solutions rather than problems" is what I was going for!

Thanks so much for your review and I'm really glad you enjoyed reading the story! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan Swept Away

13th July 2013:
This was wonderful! I got so wrapped up in the story that I felt like I myself was going on the adventure with Miriam! What a tough time that she had, poor thing, being sent back in time.

I love the amount of description in the story, there was enough that you became absorbed with what was going on but not enough that you got bored to tears and stopped reading.

I think you did brilliantly on this and I absolutely loved this. It's such a unique idea and I think you wrote this out really well. There's really nothing that you can do to improve this, it's perfect the way that it is! I hope everyone else who reads this enjoys this as much as I did.

Wow is the only way to describe this story! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked the amount of description, I thought I might have gone overboard on the sailing terms (...lol) so it's good to hear that it wasn't too much. And it's lovely to hear that my story is unique :) Thanks for your kind review!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login