Reading Reviews for Arthur Weasley Air-Bound
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

20th December 2013:
I loved this story! What an experience for Arthur!
I'd love to hear about the rest of the trip; a large group of wizards traveling muggle-style and trying not to stick out too much, especially with Arthur... Do you have any plans to continue this story?

Author's Response: Thank you! At the moment this was just a one-shot for the House Cup earlier this year but I might re-visit it in the new year and add some chapters around their trip :)

Thank you for the review and for the questions on the forums!


 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

26th July 2013:
Aw! I absolutely ADORE THIS!! ♥

First of all, there were SO MANY FEELS in this one little one-shot! I was excited for Arthur and laughing at his behavior, I was touched when Harry talked about how much the Weasleys had done for him, and I was sad at the mentions of Fred's death. But overall, most of the time I was just grinning from ear to ear!

This is such an original idea, and an excellent interpretation of the "travel" theme. Not only have you got Arthur Weasley on an airplane, but you've also taken the family to Egypt (which is one of the places we went during the House Cup)! Brilliant!! :P

I really just loved the way Arthur acted like a child. That was SO in-character and believable, and really well done!

All in all, this was a FANTASTIC piece, and it's now in my favorites! 10/10!!

Author's Response: Ah Jayde this is such an AMAZING review!!

I'm so glad you liked it enough to favourite, this is definititely one of my favourite of the one shots I've written, I think Arthur is so underwritten in fan fiction and he's such a wonderfully fun character to write.

I worried that Egypt as their destination was a little cheesy so I'm really glad you liked it and that you thought Arthur was in character.

Thanks so much for this amazing review, now I'M grinning from ear to ear!


 Report Review

Review #3, by typewriter Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

25th July 2013:
Dee,

When reading this, all I could think about was how Arthur's love of Muggle trinkets reminded me a lot of Ariel. When he said they had funny names, I was waiting for him to start calling the artifacts thing-a-ma-bobs and whos-its. I adored the idea of Arthur getting Sirius's moterbike when Hagrid didn't need it anymore! I can't even imagine what it would be like to be with Arthur during his first trip in an airport. I laughed out loud at the "whoops" part with the revolving door. I think you captured a fun time for the family in the wake of a tragedy. It was nice that even Molly enjoyed herself, despite her sadness.

Excellent job!

~Amanda

Author's Response: Aah loving the little mermaid reference!

I'm really glad you liked the story. I think as sad as the weasleys would be after Fred's death he wouldn't want them to be moping around and a holiday would be exactly what they all needed.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by DancingMooncalf Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

20th July 2013:
Hey, sorry for the delay, I had kind of forgotten that I had opened my queue again. But here it is, finally, your review!

Such a lovely little story.
I like how excited Arthur got, that's really his character. He becomes almost childishly happy when Muggle technology is involved, you really got that down.

When I read the summary I thought I would like it, it's cute and funny, I really wish for there to be more about this holiday, it sounds exciting. If you like maybe you could write it?

I thought the stories flow was good. You add little details that make it nice to read and still keep the story-line clear. It was really smart to make Mr and Mrs Weasley refuse at first. It fits their personalities and gives you a chance to let us know how much they mean for Harry.

I liked it a lot so keep on getting on... or something like that.

Maya

Author's Response: Don't worry at all about the delay, I did the same thing!

I'm glad you liked the story and the characterisation of Arthur and Molly. This is the first story I've written with them as main characters and I was a little worried I hadn't got them quite right.

I honestly hadn't considered writing this as any more than a one-shot but you never know, there are a lot of places I could take this story :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

16th July 2013:
You've captured Mr Weasley's enthusiasm for all things muggle perfectly. His excitement at getting to ride an aeroplane was perfectly believable and not overdone at all.

Mrs Weasley crying over pictures while she showed them to Harry, Hermione and everyone else seems totally believable. It's totally understandable that she would be upset at any mention of Fred.

Hermione was pure Hermione what with being organised and explaining everything to everyone. Harry seemed a bit too gooey, I would never expect him to give that kind of speech.

There a couple of typos throughout the chapter and Exploding Snap should be capitalised but other than that, nothing interrupted the flow. Your pace was good, not too slow or fast.

In general, I really enjoyed reading this and it was very amusing. Great job on it!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading :)

I'm glad you found Hermione, Mr and Mrs Weasley believable. It's the first time I've written Arthur as a main character in a story so I did worry that he wasn't quite right.

Harry's speech was the part I wrote and re-wrote more times than I care to admit and I still wasn't sure about it when I submitted this for the HC. It's had mixed reviews since and I'm still not sure what to do with it!

I need to go back and edit this some more so thanks for pointing out the errors, I'll be sure to fix them.

I'm glad you enjoyed it overall, thanks so much for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ron 4 Hermione Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

14th July 2013:
Aww, that was an amazing story! I loved the story of the car, I could just imagine Molly finding it! Poor Arthur :P

This was so realistically done, I could just see Arthur in my mind as I read this, going round the door; asking to be weighed and talking to the children! I thought you had his characterisation perfectly!

I loved how they got to go on holiday too, it's so Harry to do something like that and Mr and Mrs Weasleys reactions to it were spot on too. I also liked how you got Hermione to help him book it and everything!

This is an amazing story and I'm adding to my favourites! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review, it really made me smile!

I'm glad you enjoyed the story enough to add to your faourites :D I really appreciate the comments about the characterisation in this, it's something I always worry about.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lululuna Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Hello! :)

I absolutely loved this, it was pure Weasley antics perfection. I really enjoyed the length and format of the story, and felt like it flowed really naturally and smoothly. You managed to create such strong characters and complete a narrative arc in such a short one-shot, and it was so well constructed and well written. :)

I love the characterization of the Weasleys, like Mr. W's childlike excitement was written just right. I enjoyed how the story began with explaining his love for Muggle objects and giving some context instead of just taking that character trait for granted, like his reminiscing over the Ford Anglia. I really loved the line where George yelled that Ginny was too young to get married, it was just so typical and perfectly in the spirit of George and the other brothers, as was poor Ginny's indignation. And typical humble Harry, wanting to treat the Weasleys! That was a great introduction, and made a lot of sense as only he and Hermione who were raised by Muggles would think of taking Muggle transport. Hermione was also just perfect, I love how strict she was and of course she planned their itinerary meticulously! Really, you understand and write all of our beloved characters so well. :)

The descriptions of Arthur's embarrassing actions at the airport made me laugh as well, and were so silly and a pleasure to read. And the last line about the shed tied the entire story together perfectly and was just the most lovely of endings.

You should be really proud of this and especially your characterization and witty writing. I loved it, and I'm so glad I got a chance to read and review it! :) Amazing job! :D

Author's Response: Wow! This is such an amazing review, firstly, thank you so much!

I am forever worrying that my characterisation isn't right, we all love the characters that JKR created so much and I'd hate to do them an injustice so whenever someone tells me they think I did a good job it really makes me happy!

I had so much fun writing this, Arthur is a really great character to write and I really didn't expect it to be so well reviewed. Thank you so so much


 Report Review

Review #8, by HollyStone73 Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Hee Hee!! "I wish I had a bigger shed." That's priceless! I loved this. I know that everyone of us have always imagined in our head how Aurthur vs. an airplane would play out and this is very close to how we all have envisioned it! LOL! This was super cute and I loved all of the little details throughout...ie...Harry getting a reward, hiding wands, not being able to play exploding snap. All of it was just very well written and I really enjoyed reading it! Great job!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much :D I'm glad you think it was so close to head cannon and that you enjoyed reading it :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by PolyJuice_ Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
The title! It immediately cracked me up, as it let me know I was in for something hilariouus! c:

I love Harry, he's such a nice guy that it was good to see him in such a lighthearted situation for a change. His speech~! I loved it, it was just so canon of him. All of the characters were.

Your writing in general was wonderful, there may've been a been a few typos, but nothing that stopped the flow of the story.

Arthur was just so CUTE. asdfghjkl, I loved him. He just seems so naive. "In hindsight, the flight booster button hadn't been the best idea." Bless him. :3

I'm sorry but this broke my heart, "George and Bill high-fived," POOR FRED. YOU SHOULD BE THERE, FINISHING GEORGE'S THOUGHTS AND HIGHFIVING HIM, NOT BILL!

So, I'm sorry; this review wasn't quite coherent, just a fair bit of fangirling and not much specific criticism/praise, :p but I absolutely loved it.

Liz

House Cup ~ 2013 ~ Slytherin

Author's Response: Haha! Fangirling is absolutely fine with me! This review really made me laugh! I very nearly thought about ignoring the fact that Fred died (as I do so often) and writing him in anyway but I knew people would complain haha. Thanks so much for the incoherence, it made my day :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ScarletEye158 Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
awww this was so sweet! It literally made me smile and laugh out loud and I just love how happy Arthur was :)

I really liked your writing style and how you went from Arthur's POV, to more of Harry's in the middle and then ended it with Arthur's again. Harry is such a good person and I'm really glad he used the money for a vacation for himself, Hermione, and the Weasleys... everyone knows how much they needed it!

hahah Arthur was so adorable in the airport! The part where he had his nose pressed up against the window with the muggle children had me cracking up because I could sooo picture that in my mind! :P

Arthur on the plane was so funny too! When he shushed everyone (who weren't talking) so that he could hear the propellers... that was just hilarious! I liked seeing everyone else's reaction to flying on the plane, too. Ms. Weasley getting queasy and Fleur panicking a bit was totally realistic and made me able to relate to your story more :)

This was such a cute, fluffy little one-shot and I'm really glad I got to read it! It definitely put a smile on my face :D

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Arthur is such an underrated character in fanfiction and I've not read much where he is the main character so I had a lot of fun writing this.

I'm glad I made you smile!


 Report Review

Review #11, by AC_rules Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Hi there HeyMrsPotter!

This is really SUCH a lovely story. I'm absolutely terrible at writing the canon characters liked this, but I really liked the way you presented them. Arthur was as awesome always and the matter of fact way you addressed Fred's death was sad and a little perfect. I mean, you acknowledged it had had a real effect and yet they were all still living and such.

I feel like Harry would have been a little bit more awkward and less forthcoming about his feelings rather than the speech - because Harry's not so hot on talking about his feeling - but it definitely seemed in keeping with something he'd do, and I loved Hermione and Ron too!

The final line about the shed was really great and I'm so glad that Arthur finally got a chance to ride the plane. Go Arthur!

Lovely entry

-Helen

Author's Response: Hi Helen!

Thanks so much for this lovely review. In my haste to get this entered in time for the HC I didn't edit as much as I usually did so I intend to go back over it and will take your comments about Harry's speech on board, thank you! I'm glad you liked the portable of the other characters, it's something I try very hard with when writing :)

Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by academica Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Hi there!

Okay, first off, I love that Arthur ended up with Sirius's old bike. I would have thought that Harry would have been the one to give it to him, since surely all of Sirius's possessions went to his godson, but I still really like the sentiment here.

"Ginny's right. I'm not." - awkward. Haha.

I loved Harry's speech. It really touched my heart and the reactions immediately following it were just wonderful. It seems so fitting that he would want to repay the Weasleys for being there for him.

Mr. Weasley's behavior at the airport and on the plane cracked me up. I could totally picture him comparing the scanners to "Muggle wands." And I loved Molly chiding him about playing with the tray table.

The ending was so sweet. It seems like the Weasleys, especially Arthur, are glad that they took Harry up on his offer to travel "Muggle style." It seems like you could even continue this into a short story if you wanted to keep exploring Arthur's reactions during his adventures in Egypt.

Great work!

Amanda
Ravenclaw
House Cup 2013


Author's Response: Hi Amanda, thanks for reading!

I remember reading in Deathly Hallows that Arthur had made some improvements to Sirius' bike in preparation for Hagrid flying Harry to the safe house with it, so figured he would get it back again, I think Harry would have let him keep it as he wouldn't have had much use for it.

Harry's speech was something I wrote and re-wrote more times than I care to admit, I'm glad you liked it and thought it was something he would do.

I hadn't really thought about continuing this when I wrote it but now that I've read all of the travel stories it's something I may well do.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story, thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ShadowRose Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Hello there!

I really like the common underlying theme of Muggle transportation here - the way you introduce the story by talking about Arthur's fascination with the transportation, followed by the airplane trip itself.

I love how you characterized Arthur - you really brought his fascination with Muggle objects to life, and added a humourous twist as well - I found myself giggling at this little one-shot throughout! :) I could just picture him making all those little oddball comments throughout the airport, and getting all sorts of strange looks for it!

I loved Harry's speech - I feel like he's always felt indebted to the Weasley's for all they've done for him, so it definitely makes sense that he would want to take them on a vacation instead of just keeping the money to himself. It definitely made me think of the Triwizard Tournament all over again.

There were a few grammatical things I noticed in this story. For example, this line, "Explaining to the parents, who were now pulling their children away with a mixture of confusion and fear on their faces, that it was his first time on an aeroplane and he was just over-excited." isn't actually a full sentence. It doesn't disrupt the flow of the story, but it did catch my eye as I was reading.

Overall, this was a joy to read - great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hi Taylor, thanks for reading!

I'm glad that you liked the characterisation of Harry and Arthur. I definitely think Arthur would be over excited if he ever went on an aeroplane so tried to really get that across in this. Harry giving the twins the money in GoF was my inspiration for him treating the Weasleys and Hermione in this one shot, I think he would hate the ministry giving him any sort of compensation and no-one else.

I've spotted a few grammatical errors in this myself, thanks for pointing that sentence out-I must have missed it in my haste to enter this in time!

I'm glad you enjoyed reading this and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by ginerva_molly_weasley Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Wow! I love the Post Hogwarts trip we have here!

Its very interesting as I had never really imagined
what would have happened to all the survivors after
the war whether they would have been offered
compensation or not. One of the things I did notice
was though if it was all of the Weasley's who had
been offered compensation then why did Harry have
to explain himself?

I loved the fact that it had been done the muggle
way too. There had been far too much misuse of
magic so them travelling by an aeroplane would
have been just what they'd have needed. As its
post Hogwarts though I think you need to clarify
how long after the war this was as there would
have still been a lot of upset about Fred if it was
too close so that might be something to think
about.

Arthur's reactions fit perfectly here with the story
and him on an aeroplane would have been fantastic
to see. He just seems to childlike here with the
excitement of it all. Some of the comments he also
makes make the story appear very realistic and I
feel you have this character down very well here.

The final thought aswell made me smile. Of course
now he's going to want an aeroplane! I also liked
learning about where he'd got the car from
originally. That was nice to see.

Well done
GinevraMollyPotter
Slytherin

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for reading!

I probably didn't explain to well about the compensation. In my mind it was just Harry who was given a financial reward, I like to think that the Ministry looked at Harry with rose-tinted glasses after voldemorts defeat and saw him as the only person responsible, hence why he was the only one to get the money and had to explain to the Weasley's. Hope that cleared it up for you :)

I'm glad you thought I wrote Arthur's personality well and that you liked the idea of the muggle holiday and also the reasoning behing Arthur aquiring the car.

I definitely plan to go back and work on this some more so I'll make sure to clear up timescales after the war, in all honesty I didn't really have a date in mind!

Thanks so much for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggle Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Hey!

This was so enjoyable to read! The idea of Arthur Weasley and muggle planes seems very amusing and I loved seeing it come to life in your fic here! I really liked the whole situation and background of how they all came to be on this trip. Throughout this story, I really loved everyone's characterisation, particularly the way you portrayed Arthur and his fascination with the things in the airport and with the aeroplane! Reading this story made me very amused as I imagined his excitement at the revolving doors, being excited by the handheld body scanners, acting like a kid with his nose pressed to the glass, and this: "I can hear the pro-peelars, that's what makes the plane fly, you know".

The other bit I loved was Harry's speech! Particularly the second one (after he announced the trip), where he talked about all the things the Weasleys had done for him. The emotions after that announcement were really strong - I felt a bit surprised that Hermione would be crying, but I can believe Fleur and Molly both crying - and it just made me think back to when Molly disliked Fleur and how similar they actually were! Anyway, I thought this was a well written story with a great plot, and it was very fun to read! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte! Thanks for stopping by :)

I'm glad you thought the story was funny, that's definitely what I was going for! I really love when people think I got the characters right, it's something I'm always worrying about so I'm glad you liked how Arthur was behaving and Harry's speech.

This definitely needs a little editing and I agree with you that maybe Hermione wouldn't cry at Harry's speech.

Thanks so much for the kind review :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Beeezie Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It was generally well-written, and you explored some major canon characters in creative ways that I haven't really seen done before. Great job!

My favourite thing was obviously your focus on Mr. Weasley. Not only did you write your story about a character I rarely see written about, especially for being so important to the story, but you also did so in a way that really delved into some of his interests and obsessions that were mostly played for laughs in the books and thoroughly brought them to life.

That started in the very beginning of the story, when you talked about Muggle inventions, and was a continuing theme through the entire thing. You segue nicely from Arthur's love of Muggles in general to their inventions to transport to airplanes, and you drew this reader, at least, into his life and personality in a way I wasn't expecting to be. You also made me look at his obsession seriously, which I don't think I've done before. I don't mean that you stripped the humour from it, because you absolutely didn't, but you made him a three-dimensional figure who I found myself understanding and even empathising with.

Part of that was that you made him come off as so absolutely infectious. Your description of his reactions at the airport was classic and perfectly in keeping with how I would imagine a pureblood, even one like Mr. Weasley, to react to all of the Muggle technology. I especially liked his reactions once he was on the plane - again, he was just so enthusiastic, and it was quite endearing!

I also loved the fact that you had Harry take the Weasleys on vacation. It had a nice echo of what he did with his Triwizard winnings, which he also didn't feel like he owned, and throughout the books it becomes very clear that he feels strongly about the Weasleys and is in some ways feels kind of indebted to them for the kindness and normalcy that they showed him. I can absolutely see him doing this with money he didn't feel that he deserved, though it's not something I'd have ever even thought to write about!

That said, there were a few things I would recommend you keep in mind for the future.

First, there were some grammatical problems I noticed. There weren't too many of them, and I wouldn't say that they even really distracted from the story, but the more polished a story is, the better, IMO. A few examples: partway through the story, in the paragraph starting, Me and Hermione went yesterday to book the tickets, it should have been Hermione and I instead. Mr and Mrs should also always have periods after them, because they're abbreviations. Again, they're all minor, but they're worth noting. If you can get a grammatically inclined beta, it might help in the future. :)

I also wasn't always completely convinced by the dialogue; there were times when some of them seemed a bit out of character. I can't imagine anyone jumping to Harry proposing to Ginny, let alone Bill, and I also have a hard time seeing George say, "She's far too young" - it seems a bit formal. Harry's speech to the Weasleys after dinner also felt a bit long-winded and formal for him. It's not a huge problem, but again, it's just something I'd suggest keeping in mind for the future.

Finally, I was a little confused about why they were going back to Egypt. I know Harry and Hermione (and possibly Fleur) hadn't been there before, but everyone else had. I'd have assumed he would take them elsewhere, to somewhere they haven't seen.

Again, those were just minor concerns. Overall, the story is a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed it!

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi Beeezie, thanks for reading!

I agree with you about the grammatical issues, I wasn't as scrutinous with my editing as I usually am. Though the "me and Hermione" part of Harry's speech, personally I think it sounds more like Harry than "Hermione and I" (I don't think Harry speaks in a particularly correct way :p) The speech he gave was written and re-written more times than I care to admit and I'm still not 100%happy with it. And Egypt was chosen just to keep in fitting with the HC themes, I didn't really consider anwhere else...

Other than that, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Arthur's characterisation is something I worked really hard to get right, you're right in saying he is a very rare character in terms of fanfiction ant that is partly one of the reasons I wanted to focus on him throughout this rather than Harry. I think is fascination with Muggles is adorable and wanted to start the story with that to give it a little depth rather than the trip istelf.

Harry using his money to treat the Weasley's in this was inspired by him handing over his Triwizard winnings, I could really imagine him doing something like this for them so I'm glad you agree.

Thanks so much for the CC and the lovely compiments. I'm glad you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #17, by missclaire17 Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
What a ORIGINAL idea for a one-shot! As soon as I saw the summary, I just got so excited because let's face it: Mr. Weasley and Muggle things is just hilarious and brilliant to read.

The Weasleys leaving to go to the airport, how everything was all busy and how getting everyone onto the airplane was a bit of a task because of how many of them there were, I think you wrote everything wonderfully, focusing on the Weasleys going on vacation but also on Mr. Weasley's excitement. The very last line summed everything up so nicely!

Awesome job writing this! (:

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for reading :)

I completely agree that Mr weasley and Muggle things is an excellent combination, he's just so adorable and funny!

I'm really glad you liked the idea and enjoyed reading the story. Thanks so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by LittleLionGirl Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Wow. I have to say HeyMrsPotter this was a really interesting piece. I am surprised to say though that this piece especially stood out over the other I have read. It might be because this was focused on Arthur specifically but I think I am okay with that. He is an enjoyable character that you captured perfectly.
XOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Hey!

This is such a lovely review, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and you thought it stood out over others :D Arhur is a brilliant character but is seldom the main one in fanfiction so I had a lot of fun with this one :)

Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Siriuslover177 Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

13th July 2013:
Goodness! That was so adorable!
That is exactly how I would think Arthur would react! He was just so cute :P
I thought it was just so sweet that Harry did that for them, and Hermione made sure to make it so Arthur would have more fun.
And the last line about him wanting a bigger shed, goodness that was such a good line!
Very good job! (:

~Sarah

Author's Response: Hi Sarah!
I'm really glad you liked the story :) I'm always useless at thinking of ways to end my chapters so it's good to know you liked the ending ot this one :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by LilyEPotter Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

12th July 2013:
Hi! Here for the House Cup review!

This is a very nice story about Arthur's fascination with Muggle items, and in this case, a plane! You can certainly feel the frustration of the Muggles with Arthur's behavior. I can completely relate as I once had to sit next to a first-time flyer who was horribly nervous, especially with the landing. O.o

The ending was particularly nice also with Arthur's wish that he had a bigger shed. :)

Great story!

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad you liked the story. I do love Arthur and think his muggle-loving is adorable so couldnt resist writing this! First time flyers are the WORST so I can fully understand your frustration haha!

Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by purplepotter77 Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

12th July 2013:
I'm purplepotter775 on the forums from Ravenclaw, here for the House Cup!

Mr. Weasley here was amazing! He was definitely in character, and I loved the way you've written him! His fascination with all things Muggle is in full swing here. I loved the part where he was trying to explain an airplane to the Muggle children and going through airpoirt security and all that stuff. Arthur and his obsession with Muggle stuff is adorable.

Harry's speech was so touching! You could really see how much the Weasleys meant to him and how much they had done for him over the years. They were really his family when the Dursleys failed in that aspect. I loved the part before he makes his announcement where Bill asks if he's proposing!

Everyone seemed so true to canon and you really got their personalities down! Molly and her sobbing after Harry makes his announcement, George and his annoyance with Percy going on about his job, and Hermione being meticulous, logical, and prepared.

I really enjoyed reading this; great job! :D

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for reading :)

I really REALLY appreciate your comments about the characterisation of everyone in the story, it's always my worst fear that I haven't done them justice so I love hearing people tell me I got them right :D

Thanks so much for this lovely review :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by marauderfan Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

12th July 2013:
This was lovely! I really like Arthur Weasley and his muggle fascination. It was so funny when he got a stack of papers about travelling the muggle way and the primary thing he focussed on was the paper clip! I loved all his antics at the airport as well.

Bill and George's initial reaction to Harry saying he had an important announcement was hilarious! And I thought it was so perfectly in character for Harry to not want the money for defeating Voldemort, and to want it to go to Hogwarts instead.

And I really liked the end, when Molly reflects on how it's the first time Arthur has been happy since Fred's death. I'm glad you included that bit in there - yes, it's all fun and games with the plane but the wounds of the war are still really fresh.

This was a pleasure to read, great job!

And lastly, GO HUFFLEPUFF!

Author's Response: Go hufflepuff indeed! I am SO proud of us badgers right now!!

I love Harry's character so much, he's not perfect at all but his selflesness amazes me, it seemed right that if he were offered a financial reward for the defeat of Voldy that he wouldn't want it. I'm really glad you liked the story you thought it was funny-I'm taking that as a compliment from you now that I know you are the funniest badger I've ever spoken to! (Still laughing at badgers and ladders!!)

Thanks for the lovely review :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by patronus_charm Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

12th July 2013:
Aloha!

I loved the almost prelude like start to this one-shot as it added a really great air to it. I could sense the danger of Arthur combining with muggle transport due to all the memories connected to each object he possessed so that was a really clever thing to include. Another thing about that was that your narrator voice was just like Arthur and his excitement in that was tangible.

The humour in this story really made it! I have to say, my favourite part of it was when Harry started making the announcement and Bill asked if he was proposing. The reactions of all the family members in that scene were spot on and each of them made me laugh. Itís just simple humour like that which works really, really well!

I liked the idea of Harry being rewarded for what he did, because he did have to through a good deal of bad stuff so he should get more than some Order of Merlin or whatever. The idea of him and Hermione planning the trip was really great though, and the fact that Hermione had to provide them with almost step-by-step instructions on how to survive made me chuckle.

Arthur on the plane nearly made me cry through the humour and the adorableness of the entire scene. He was just like a massive child on that plane and he was having such fun nothing could ruin his big moment he was just having. The comparison to it being a Hippogriff was great and I am now forever going to think that while on a plane.

The last sentence made me slightly worried for poor old Mollyís nerves! I think that if he did want his own personal aeroplane hanger he would need something slightly bigger than a shed! I really loved this one-shot, as it really made me smile! Great work ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!

This is such a lovely review, it really made my day (L)

I'm glad you found it funny, that's exactly what I was going for with this :)

Arthur is such an under written character in fanfiction in terms of him being a main character so I couldn't resist the opportunity to write about him. I absolutely adore him and his love of all things Muggle. I could picture him in my head as I wrote this so it was great fun for me and I'm so pleased it's been so well recieved.

And yes, I agree, I think Arthur would definitely need something bigger than a shed :D

Thanks so much for this wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by MadiMalfoy Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

12th July 2013:
Hello, here with your requested review! :)

This is a really fantastic piece! You wrote Arthur exactly as canon as possible! And the rest of the Weasley's plus Harry and Hermione are wonderfully written too! One thing I will say though is that Arthur does become a little bit less rambunctious about Muggle things after the fifth book/movie (doesn't he?) so I think that his excitement is great but there could be just a teeny tad bit less. I think the war and losing Fred would have subdued him somewhat too. Other than that, wonderfully close to canon! :D

I really enjoyed this piece because I haven't read much Arthur/Molly and I really liked how you wrote their relationship. Very realistic and close to canon. It flowed very well and the third person point of view really helps that so there isn't the confusion of switching point of view at all. There were a few grammar/spelling errors but I think you can fix those with a quick proofreading. You probably had to write this rather quickly to get it in for the House Cup, so don't worry too much about it!

Basically, a fantastic one-shot! :) Feel free to re-request for other stories! :)
~MadiMalfoy xx

Author's Response: Hello! Sorry it's taken me so long to reply to this, the craziness of the house cup distracted me from everything!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and thought Arthur was cannon, he's such a fun character to write and I really wanted to do him justice. I do agree that he calms down a little once things get serious in terms of Voldemort but I couldn't help but get carried away with his excitement in this.

I think Arthur is seriously under written in fanfiction in terms of him being a main character and I've wanted to write one with him in for ages so was delighted when the opportunity came via the HC.

The scrutinising for spelling and grammar on this one was a little rushed due to house cup deadlines so you're right about that, I'll definitely be revisiting this one :)

Thanks so much for the review :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by Courtney Dark Arthur Weasley Air-Bound

10th July 2013:
Hey there! And I just want to say once more congrats for getting a placing in the Cassandra Clare quote challenge! Your entry was so sweet and adorable!

I loved this one-shot! It was so fun and humorous - you really reminded me just how much I love Arthur. And you wrote him perfectly in character, too. In fact, you wrote each of the characters really well, in my opinion. I loved how selfless and modest Harry seemed, with not wanting the money, how 'meticulous' Hermione was when it came to preparing for the trip and how excited Arthur was about everything.

I think my favourite part of this would have to be when Arthur was standing at the window, watching the planes with the children. And the line:
"That bit there, they call that the nose; because it looks like one you see. And those are the wings, a bit bigger than a birds, eh? Even bigger than a hippogriff!" was just perfect.

Very nice job!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for the place! Your challenge was really fun :)

I'm glad you liked this one, I absolutely adore Arthur to read and write! He's just so adorable :D

I really worry about the characters I write being OOC so it's lovely to hear you think I got then all right.

I'm glad you enjoyed this and thank you so much for the lovely review xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>