Reading Reviews for The Wandering One
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bester_jester Romania

8th April 2014:
It's amazing how much I dislike Teddy. I think because of my own experiences with being held back by someone, his (not real!) personality really grates on me.

It's just a story it's just a story it's just a story haha

Really great chapter. I liked that you incorporated the dragon activists into the story, and that something is obviously about to happen there.

I'm also really glad that Victoire and Teddy finally got everything out in the open. Hopefully she can go and meet up with Sam now!

Thanks for the update :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Haha! Sorry, I just loved this review so much because that's how I felt about Teddy as well. He was sort of inspired by certain ex-boyfriends of mine and I think the irritation just seeped through, so it's so great to hear that you could sympathize with that. :P

Thank you! This chapter was actually kind of hard to write since I've never been to Romania or to a dragon reserve, but I really enjoyed working on it.

I'm so excited to get working on the next chapter - I've had it planned for ages and can't wait to share it. :D We've seen the last of Teddy here... at least for now.

Thank you so much for the brilliant review, I really loved reading your thoughts on this chapter! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan Romania

4th April 2014:
Aw yes, chapter five! I loved the tone of this chapter, it was so soothing and quiet, there wasn't a lot of action to get the blood pumping but there was enough going on to keep it interesting and great!

It's so great that you wrote about the dragon reserve because it's another thing that's mentioned in the series but it was never really gone through. It was so interesting to see the way that you pictured the sanctuary and how it functioned. I hadn't actually thought about the fact that there would be dragon rights activists but it does make sense. Just like there are animal rights activists, there're going to be dragons.

Although to be fair, if dragons weren't kept in sanctuary's, can you imagine the amount of chaos and towns lit on fire because of dragons.

In other news, I'm glad that Teddy and Victoire have finally talked it out and cleared the air. At least the two of them know where they stand with each other. I will say this about Teddy though, he's an extremely insecure person and I think he needs to work on that before he decides to date someone. You can't be with someone if you don't trust the person. But, even though Teddy is extremely insecure, at some point I just stopped pitying him. He was getting extremely clingy and as sorry as I felt for him, I was more annoyed with how desperate he was to hang onto Victoire.

Victoire didn't need to apologize for not wanting to be with Teddy. She doesn't owe Teddy anything and she most certainly doesn't need to apologize for how she feels. If Teddy had decided to be bitter about her decision, then that would've been his problem. Victoire didn't do anything wrong except try and make her life better. I'm just going to leave it at that otherwise I'm going to end up going on a feminist rant and that's not the point of the review.

Anyway, another brilliant chapter and I look forward to the next one!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

This chapter was a nice little break from the excitement of always being on the move. I'm glad you found it interesting - I felt it tied up some loose ends which had been building up since the first chapter and really needed to be addressed.

I find the dragon reserve really fascinating, though I didn't have very much to compare it to. It's quite interesting how they would hide all those dragons. :P I thought the activists were a little goofy in a way since like you said dragons are probably safer and happier in the sanctuaries, except when they get called to Triwizard tournament duty I suppose. :P I almost had one of the activists dying while Victoire and everyone were at the sanctuary but decided that was a little too much tragedy for this story.

Good! I really love hearing people's opinions on Teddy here, and if Victoire was fair to him or not. Having dated insecure people before, I think I channeled some of my annoyance for that onto Teddy's character, and you've understood him perfectly. I think this would be a very different story if it were from Teddy's POV, but I'm glad you find Victoire's reaction realistic and how she knows that Teddy will be better off in the long run without clinging on to her.

You're right! Honestly, I think she did the nicer thing by being honest with him and not leading him on - ripping off the bandaid and all of that.

Thanks so much for the amazing review! I really love hearing your thoughts on this! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragon Romania

30th March 2014:
Hello again! After I finished my pending reviews and got caught up on some of my own writing I was psyched to see an update to this story!

I liked all the little tidbits in this chapter about how things work differently in different ministries/countries and particularly the little note about apparition. I had never considered that those things might affect the process (though it certainly makes sense - and perhaps explains the difficulty in long-distance apparition)!

As for your question, was Victoire too harsh? I don't know. I can understand where she's coming from and I can definitely understand her need to "shut the door" given the lengths Teddy has gone to.

At the same time, despite how Teddy's words sounded, I do feel for the guy. Victoire seems to have this viscerally negative reaction to the concerns and fears he had, which in mind are totally legitimate. Part of me feels like Teddy kind of did himself in by being honest enough to admit them, instead of pretending (so as not to sound creepy) that the fears don't exist. Victoire takes (in my mind) a very uncompromising approach about it - almost demanding respect for an important part of herself while refusing to respect a fundamental part of Teddy, despite a pre-existing long-term relationship. But hey, maybe I'm just being a guy, taking the guy's side. ..shrug.

Anyway, I thought regardless that you handled that aspect of the chapter well and I'm looking forward to seeing how this story keeps evolving!

Author's Response: Hello! :) I'm so happy to see you back!

I'm really pleased you liked those explanations as I find them so interesting. The wizards have everything so easy, and I can't resist making things like Apparition a little more difficult for them.

I really liked reading your reactions to the conversation with Teddy! I was hoping readers might be a little conflicted and be able to see both sides - yes, Teddy is annoying her, but Victoire isn't giving him much of a chance. I agree, she's not trying to accept him for who she is - I imagined her as being just very over the situation and not wanting to deal with the problems, while he's clinging on to what they had. I didn't even mean to spend this much time on their relationship, but once he decided to show up in Prague it was hard to avoid. :P

Thanks so much for following this story and for the brilliant review. I'm quite excited about the next chapter and hope to post it soon! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by AlexFan Prague

25th March 2014:
Yes, Prague was wonderful! As soon as Victoire mentioned the fact that her parents had all of a sudden changed her hotel plans I just knew Teddy was going to show up! I KNEW IT I KNEW IT! I was just sitting here thinking, "TEDDY WHAT DID YOU DO?!"

It was a nice surprise though having Dom show up as well, she kept things from getting too awkward. I loved getting all of this new information on Prague and reading about some folklore and learning history. That's one of the things that makes this so great, not only is the story enjoyable to read, you get to learn new stuff as well. Brilliant job on this!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Yay! I loved writing Prague and how lovely it is there. Haha I love how you predicted Teddy would show up, hehehe. He was quite nice in this chapter but there could be some drama approaching.

Yes! I really wanted Dominique especially to be there, she's so funny and silly. I'm so glad you find you're learning from this as well, that's really cool! :) I love writing all the history on the cities where Victoire visits so it's really awesome that you're enjoying it.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by TidalDragon Prague

12th March 2014:
Well! Teddy's return was certainly an interesting wrinkle and Dominique seems like a perfectly pesky little sister. I liked the bit where she found the shows boring at first, but then recommended them to the boy she met. It seems very age-appropriate and fitting.

I also continue to be blown away by the level of detail you provide about the locations and the history! You must be an incredible student of European cities, very well-traveled, or both!

I really like your writing style, pace, and balance of dialogue, inner monologue, and description. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Haha, yes, I've enjoyed seeing people's reactions when Teddy appears! I quite like writing Dominique, she's so playful and a good contrast to Victoire. She also brings out a more mature, yet slightly irritable side to Victoire which I like exploring. Dominique is quite young as well and I wanted to show that.

Thank you! :) Most of the places I've written about so far in this story are places I visited last year, so I've been using that as inspiration. Prague was one of the cities I really knew I had to write about - it's amazing!

Thank you so much for all the wonderful reviews! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon Flanders Fields

12th March 2014:
After reading your first two chapters, I felt like I had to keep following this story because of how well you write - the places, the characters, the story - I'm not normally one for such effusive praise, but I think it's great.

For me, one of the most powerful segments was the bit about Teddy. I was pretty skeptical about how quickly she had moved on in the last chapter, but you shut me up here. A big part of my job and one of my hobbies (aside from writing) is crafting language that creates a powerful image. In terms of that I don't think it gets much better than "...he was brilliant, but he would hold her back, keep her smiling from within a cage built with metal wrought from a place of love." AMAZING.

I also thought you did a spectacular job with the ghost scene. The thought and effort you put into the back-story for this setting was exceptional and it played out perfectly in this simultaneously enjoyable, but painful scene.

You also just keep on with the impressive characterization of Victoire as this imperfect, but independent and intellectual wanderer. It's truly special.

This is one of few Next-Gen stories I've ever read, but I think your writing and unique plot has made this a favorite for sure.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you like this! I'm really honoured. This story is very fun to write, and knowing that somebody is enjoying it is very encouraging.

I'm pleased you liked the explanation about Teddy as well. In my mind, Victoire is so preoccupied with traveling and having fun that she's left a lot of her old life behind, emotionally... and Teddy is part of that. I'm really glad you liked the metaphor as well, and how it explained the situation. Thank you! :D

The ghost scene was tough to write, but I felt it was an important lesson for Victoire to learn. She is very interested in the past, and this story puts her in the position to learn about the past - both the positives and negatives.

It's great to know you like Victoire as well. She's a great character to write, and quite quirky but also relatable for me.

Thank you so much! :) I've loved getting your reviews on this, and it really is encouraging me to get writing on the next chapter. I really appreciate this! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by MissesWeasley123 Prague

7th March 2014:
Things just got reaaal. Haha :P But seriously whaaat, THEY REACHED THEY REACHED! That is so weird. And awkward. And dmn, Tedyd is such a clingy boyfriend. And I'd just like to add, that that was really original, because we often see clingy girlfriends, but never do we see clingy boyfriends, and we saw that so yay, uniqueness! :P

I just travelled to India, and I know you've travelled everywhere, so I wnated to ask -- have you been to Prague? I was almost shocked when Vic said she didn't like Amsterdam because now, while I only have been to the airport :P it was still beautiful! (the airport, that is :P fail, I know)

And I'd also like to say, that I like how Vic calls Dominique, "Nique". It very different, and really awesome. I found the bit on, "Dommy" really funny. And Teddy's so annoying, honestly.

SAN AND VICTOIRE FOREVAAAR!!!

And the ending, the ending! That was hilarious. Ahh, I really hope Charlie and Gabrielle work out ;) How cool would it be for Vic and Sam to go to their wedding together... ;)

Anyway, excellent chapter Jenna!

Blackout 2/15

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

Hehe, I was so excited to see how people might respond to this. I know! Ah, Victoire handles it well because she is quite laid back and genuinely doesn't want to hurt anybody's feelings, but I would have personally been furious if this happened. I'm glad you like the originality of a clingy boyfriend as well! It actually feels a little refreshing to write this sort of relationship.

Yes I have been to Prague! :D It's the best place. I went to Amsterdam but had a kind of bad time there, mostly due to being ill to be fair, and I felt it was right to not make Victoire adore every single place she visits. :P But it is a beautiful place and I thought the city was amazing, I just didn't see much of it when visiting, whereas Prague was just instant love.

I'm glad you like Nique as well! "Dom" just sounds like such a hum-drum name, quite literally, if you know what I mean. Like "Gong," or "Dumb" or something. I feel like it would also translate a little strangely to a French accent.

Sam and Vic forever! ♥ I've loved getting reviews that ship these two. I was honestly going to keep them as friends with some fancying going on but the reviews encouraged me to put hints of a possible romance in the story as well. :)

Hahaha, I'm glad you liked it! Poor Charlie...

Thanks so much for the excellent review, Nadia! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 Flanders Fields

7th March 2014:
What two updates misses what.

Anyway, wow. This chapter was amazing! Whenever I read your updates to this, I never know which one's my favourite y'know. I really enjoyed this one, and the "Twit Twit" and I forget what you called the Internet, but that made me laugh so hard Jenna! It was golden, to be honest.

I've never really liked Victoire and Teddy as a couple so I love how you bash it in this fic. I totally agree, teddy comes off a bit possessive, you showed that really well in the letter and I also think the first person makes him seem really really annoying. Maybe not entirely possessive but definitely clingy. I think he has a girly quality him! :P

I love the Canadian bits to this, like "Flanders Field". That was really sweet. Sam just has such a beautiful personality, and the bit about football in the very beginning was so cute! And when Victoire was like, "It wasn't popular in my school" OF COURSE it wasn't and that was super awesome but honestly, Twit Twit took the show away it was brilliant.

Great work!

- Nadia
Blackout 1/15

Author's Response: Hi Nadia! :) Hehe, yes, I've been trying to update once a month *collapses of exhaustion* :P

Thank you! :D I know what you mean, and I'm very happy you liked this chapter. Haha Twit Twit, honestly that's how I sort of feel about certain social media sites along with Victoire, so I'm pleased you appreciated them!

Hehe, poor Teddy. :P I don't know why I hate him so much in this story, but he annoys me. He is a little clingy, and definitely girly! He's the sensitive one in the relationship which is traditionally reserved for the girl to be, I suppose.

Yay Canada! :D I'm glad you like our nation's one representative in my fanfiction, Sam, as well. He's such a gem, and I really like writing him and Victoire's friend/crush relationship with him.

Thanks so much for the awesome review! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon Paris

6th March 2014:
Hello again!

You seriously have a gift with writing accented characters and their speech patterns! It must take an amazing amount of care to get the writing down and the patterns just right, not to mention the actual French that you included in this chapter!

I like how you are keeping Victoire moving and structuring the chapters around each new place she visits. I think it matches up really well with the wanderlust theme and it keeps the setting fresh as well.

I do wonder about how quickly Victoire seems to be moving on from Teddy. It seems that after two years together, even at their age, she would not have her affections turned so quickly, even after at their age. I was glad she seemed to feel a bit guilty about it, as I thought that made sense, but I do hope she'll keep journeying on for herself and not get too caught up with the opportunities for "exotic" companions hailing from different places she visits during her journey.

Regardless of that aspect, I'm enjoying reading your writing - your descriptions and distinctive characters are great. I don't know how you come up with them so quickly, but long may it continue!

Author's Response: Hello again! :)

Thank you! I'm really pleased to hear that. I think it helps that I studied Fleur's speech a little and also imagined speaking with people whom I've encountered in the past. I quite liked including all the different speech patterns!

I'm glad you like the way each chapter changes to another location as well. It keeps the plot moving, and gives me the chance to reminisce on some of my favourite places in Europe without lingering for too long in any one location.

That's a good point - I think Victoire is very much inspired by my own personality to be honest, but most people don't move on so quickly. Also, because this story is more segmented there is quite a bit of time happening in between each chapter. Yes, she does feel a little bad, which I think makes sense, and Teddy isn't entirely out of her life yet. She's certainly more interested in traveling and adventures than boys, and always will be. :)

I'm glad you like it, thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragon Northern Ireland

6th March 2014:
Howdy!

I really enjoyed the characters you laid out in the story, from Victoire herself to Condescending Alexander to the Irish giant. I don't know a whole heap about the Irish, but it also seemed that you did a really good job getting his speech patterns consistent and therefore believable.

I thought it was interesting how you portrayed Teddy as well, having he and Victoire broken up after their turn in the DH epilogue, but it came across as believable, and even though we didn't see much of them as a couple in your story, even a bit sad.

While I also liked that Victoire seemed to be absorbed in every facet of the experience she was having, with her mind darting from here to there and then around elsewhere as she started off on her journey, I found it a bit jarring at points due to the formatting. I don't know if you left it that way because you wanted it to tell us something about her natural personality or if you just don't like using them, but I thought using the horizontal rule lines could be helpful at points because there is a lot of text on the page. Just a thought.

Looking forward to reading more of this!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you liked the characters! They were a lot of fun to bring to life, and writing Alexander was very amusing because he was so insufferable. I'm pleased the speech patterns seemed authentic as well, I was winging it a little but glad with how it turned out.

Yes! There will be more about them as the story progresses. :P Teddy didn't fit well into the plot at this point, even though it's not much of a romance story. I'm pleased you found it a little sad as well!

That's a really good point - I'll go back and edit the chapter at some point and look to break up the text a little. It is a very long chapter with lots of ideas which could be quite jarring. It's funny, usually I'm kind of the opposite and use too many line breaks, so this is very helpful feedback to get! :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by bester_jester Prague

5th March 2014:
Amazing story! It's a really interesting way to give insight into the second generation without using the same formula everyone else uses.

I love your Victoire! And Sam seems so lovely. I'm holding out for the scene in which she tells him she's an witch!

The little wizarding twists you put on real events/places in history are so well done. You've got a really great imagination.

Okay time to stop rambling. Really love this story, can't wait for more, thanks for making me want to travel more!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ahh, thank you so much! :) It's really lovely to hear you're enjoying the story, and finding it original.

I'm pleased you like Victoire and Sam, I've grown quite attached to them and their antics and chemistry are very fun. Haha yes, well we'll have to see how that goes over... :P

Thank you! One of my favourite things about the HP world is the way the magical world would intersect with Muggles, and this story gives me the chance to experiment with that.

Hehe, I'm glad this makes you want to travel more! :) I feel the same way when working on it, I have to admit. Thank you so much for the amazing review, it really made my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFan Flanders Fields

20th February 2014:
Okay first of all, woohoo you posted another chapter! Second of all WOOHOO VICTOIRE KISSED SAM MY SHIP IS COMING TRUE THIS IS CANON PEOPLE THIS IS CANON! I'm so excited to see what happens between the two of them from now on.

I do agree with Victoire though and the letter that Teddy sent her. You'd think that he would mention something about her personality but all he's focused on in that entire letter was how gorgeous Victoire was. She's definitely better off with Sam (WOOHOO THEYRE TOGETHER!)

It's so awesome that Victoire got to visit Flander's Fields though, I hear about it every year for Remembrance Day but it was lovely to read descriptions about what it looked like and such. You definitely seem to be doing your homework on travel sites with this story.

I love how everywhere that Victoire travels she runs into something or someone new and talks to them and gains more knowledge from them. I actually feel like I'm traveling with her while reading this story. If school was as interesting as Victoire's travel adventures I would love it so much more.

I absolutely loved this chapter and I'm excited for the next one! Awesome job on this!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Ahh first of all can I just say how excited this review made me? Thank you so much!

They kissed! :) They were always going to, really. I have some sneaky plans for the next couple of chapters so I'm really excited to see what you think! :)

Yes! Okay, I'm really glad you thought her reaction was realistic. I got so annoyed just writing it so that definitely came through to Victoire - Sam is a lot less sappy and a lot more fun than Teddy at the moment!

I'm glad you liked Flanders Fields as well! I really loved writing about it and thought it would be quite interesting to see the ghosts there. I went there last summer which was the inspiration for this chapter - well, minus the ghosts and magic and such. :P It's wonderful to hear it felt authentic.

This story is so fun to write for that very fact, imagining what a traveling witch might see as she travels. I agree, I wish school was this exciting! :) I'm really glad you like it, this story helps me remember that feeling of traveling again and really makes me happy. :)

Thanks so much for the brilliant review! :D I really love hearing your thoughts. The next chapter should be up in the next week or so! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by MissesWeasley123 Paris

28th November 2013:
Ah, Jenna! I'm so excited that you decided to turn this into a short story! Now that NaNo's over, I expect more updates! And I know I **should** be reading tGfS, but this story ♥

I'm loving all these Sam and Victoire moments ♥ So cute. I adored how this was set in Paris, the city of love. It seemed very fitting for the two of them. It was way too cute. My heart broke a little at the beginning when Vic said that she dreaded the thought of Sam having a crush on her. That crushed me.

And he's Canadian. Tell me where he lives I want to know (in a completely non stalkerish way... or maybe I am being creepy but I want to know still so tell me pls)

I loved Gabrielle. I found her character very eccentric and fun, she was great. I loved the french you added in too, because for once I could understand a language being used in a chapter! Sometimes when stuff like German comes on and I'm all sad because I don't know what was said until the very end :(

And she's with Charlie! That was such a nice touch. As always, I loved all the Canadian references. The snowfall bit was priceless. Especially considering the snow here... grrr...

And that last line! So.. much.. sugar.. can't.. handle... help. meeeh...

Great work as always!

Author's Response: Hola! Ah, yay, I'm excited that you're excited! And yes, I promise that I will return my attention to this story at some point in the near future. :P This story is kind of therapeutic in that it reminds me of traveling so it's a lot of fun to work on!

I'm glad you liked Paris and the little romance brewing! It's funny, I wasn't really sure if I wanted them to cross the friend line or not, but readers seem to be responding to them as a couple which is interesting. :) Victoire is just nervous and doesn't want to ruin their friendship, but well, we'll see what happens!

Haha, not stalkerish at all! :P I imagined him living in Ontario, near the Quebec border. He definitely took French in school and has seen a lot of snow on a regular basis. :)

I loved Gabrielle too! I imagined her as being a lot like Fleur, but a little less haughty and a little more silly. Ah, I totally know what you mean about having a language we can understand! I enjoyed putting in the French and Gabby's accent was fun to write as well.

Haha yeah, I figured the Charlie thing would be a little confusing for poor Victoire. And now she has to tell her mother... uh oh. Yes! I love including Canada in stories when I get a chance, and I'm glad you could sympathize with this with the snow. Yeck.

Thanks so much for this brilliant review! It was so great to get a review on this chapter, I really appreciate it my dear! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFan Paris

10th November 2013:
I'm back! And I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed my last review which was full of gushing and nothing else.

First of all, let me just say, Sam and Victire. We need to come up with a ship name for them. Maybe Sictoire or Vam. Seriously though, those two are so cute together and I love how they get along so well and just click with each other.

And I also like how you didn't make Victoire this stuck up person who thinks she's better than everyone like in most fanfiction. I actually really like this version of Victoire, she's relatable and she's got more depth to her than any other Victoire that I've ever read and I applaud you on that.

I also love your descriptions of Paris, it felt like I was actually there and now I actually want to go to Paris even more than before.

Gabrielle sounds like buckets of fun, I wouldn't mind hanging around her while in Paris. And goodness, I never imagined her getting together with Charlie but hey, it doesn't matter to me.

But yeah, let's have lots of Sam and Victoire in this story! And just out of curiosity, will Victoire ever tell Sam that she's a witch or will it just stay a secret for this entire story?

Author's Response: Hi again! Hey, I'm definitely not complaining about the gushing. I'm so happy you came back because this is the first review I've gotten on this chapter and I loved writing it, so getting some feedback really means a lot. :)

Your shipping of Sam and Victoire is awesome. I like Vam personally, it really has a nice ring to it. I think you're right, I've written so many complicated relationships in other stories and these two are just comfortable and happy around each other, and that dynamic is a lot of fun.

I'm also really happy you like my Victoire here, and think she's original! I think evil Barbie Vic is a great antagonist in some stories, but she wouldn't make a very interesting protaganist, and I also think that being raised by Bill and Fleur and being the eldest of the clan there wouldn't be much time for being too self-centered.

Yay, I'm so happy I got a bit of the feeling of Paris across! It's a lovely city and I would definitely recommend going there (Victoire would too, in fact!). Something I really want to get across in this story is the feel of certain locations and cities and really re-create them here.

I loved writing Gabrielle, she really is crazy here but I love it. I thought a mention of a Charlie/Gabrielle moment would be silly and quite uncomfortable for Victoire, though I'm not sure if it would go any farther. :P

Hmm, good question! I guess you'll have to wait for the next chapters to find out... though I would actually have to write them soon... hmmm.

Thanks so much again for this awesome review and for supporting this story! :D It really made my day and I greatly appreciate your feedback!


 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFan Northern Ireland

9th November 2013:
Eeek! I love this so much you don't even know! I've found myself yet another story to read up on!

I love how you started off the story by giving background information Victoire. I'm usually not a big fan of that because I feel like I'm getting shoved all of this stuff at me and I don't know what to do with it but it worked this time. It really helped me get to know Victoire and what kind of a person she was probably like.

I could totally relate to her as well. I love traveling so any chance to go some place is great for me! I can understand her desire to want to see the world and experience everything.

As soon as you mentioned Condescending Alex, I knew that he was just going to get on my nerves. From the very first line of dialogue that he had, I already knew that I'd probably wan to push him down a hill and then run away.

I like Silent Sam more than Condescending Alex and he wasn't even speaking for the majority of this chapter! Speaking of which, as much as I am a Teddy/Victoire shipper, I like her with Sam right now (I SHIP IT LIKE FEDEX) but I wouldn't mind if they stayed friends either.

I don't care what the relationship status with Victoire and Silent Sam is, as long as he's here, I'm good.

But yeah, I just really enjoyed this and I'm looking forward to the rest of it.

Author's Response: Hi! Aw, thank you so much! I haven't had a new review on this story in ages and this review was great in re-igniting my interest in it. :) I'm so glad you liked it!

I know what you mean about not liking long descriptions of background information, but I'm really glad you liked it here. I felt like with a next generation character it's important to establish them as seperate form the stereotypical portrayal of that character and I really loved coming up with Vic's backstory.

I'm happy this story reminded you of your love for traveling and you could relate to her! I love writing about traveling in this story, it's so much fun.

I love how most reviewers on this story have expressed such instant hate for Condescending Alex and that they know someone exactly like that, so I'm really happy I captured one of those awful characters everybody loves to hate! I'm glad you liked Sam better and that you ship them - yay!!! Mission accomplished. Sam does survive into the next chapter at least, I will tell you that. :)

Thanks so much for this awesome review!! It really made my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by MissesWeasley123 Northern Ireland

21st August 2013:
Review tag! Sorry this took a while, I had to eat breakfast...

Yes, I'm so happy to snag you! Sian is always going on how she loves everything you write! Anyways, on with the review :D

Victoire Weasley. Man, I seem to be reading her a lot these days. But this one was just so, different! No Teddy cliches at least ;P

The intro. I mean, how interesting could it get? Immediately you started off with telling us that she gets suspended upside down by the giant. It was very captivating!

Dominque. Victoire hated her, and you made me hate her too. Eurgh: That just about sums up my feelings for her.

I like the little things in this. The giant, the Candian dude (hehe I'm a Canadian too so, represent!), and Condescending Alexander. They all were such strong characters, and I think you pulled them off well as an author. :)

All in all Lululuna, you did a great job, and I know this was for the HC, and you incorporated the theme of travel amazingly!

Nadia :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, Sian, that is so nice! :) I'm so glad you got a chance to drop by as well, so that I got to receive your lovely review!

Haha, I actually had the idea for the story before choosing the Weasley I was going to write about, and Victoire just felt like a perfect fit. In many of the fan fictions I've read she's portrayed as being shallow or mean, and I wanted to give her a different spin. I'm glad you thought the Teddy cliches were avoided as well! :)

Ah, I'm glad you liked the intro! The story and plot of meeting Finn was so much fun to write, so I'm very pleased you enjoyed it.

Haha, I imagined Dominique as being the typical annoying little sister who Victoire clashes with: she was a great deal of fun to come up with and write, however! She would be pretty annoying to have as a sister!

Hooray for another Canadian! I knew I couldn't write a travelling story without at least one American and Canadian making an appearance, we are everywhere after all! I'm glad you liked the minor characters, they were all based on people I know and I had a very specific idea of them in my head, so very glad that came across.

Thank you so much for leaving this amazing review! :) It was so lovely to receive, you are awesome! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by patronus_charm Northern Ireland

14th July 2013:
Hi, Iím here with your second of five reviews!

I really loved the backstory you provided for Victoire Ė it really made me laugh. That is quite an art, giving a reader lots of information and them not getting bored. I really loved all of it, though I think the thoughts from Bill about why his daughter loved to travel were the best. The scenes where he was looking over his daughterís cot were so adorable and then to see her gallivanting off to Ireland helped me understand why he was like that.

One thing which was really great and added to the travel theme were all the Irish things in this story. The Giantís Causeway, the whiskey and the accent! Everything merged together and made something really lovely. Though it did make me want to go and see the Giantís Causeway because it sounded really cool and now I have an Irish accent running through my head!

Iím sort of glad that Teddy and Victoire were broken up for two reasons. The first being condescending Alexander could then attempt to flirt with her which made me laugh and then itís sort of done that pairing. Oh yes, I forgot to say that the idea of Teddy moping around after her made me chuckle in an ever so slightly evil way. I never thought him to be a crier so it was great mental images!

The letter from Dom was really sweet and loved getting to know more about her family. I feel as if I knew all of their unique personalities really well for a one-shot. Thatís such a rare thing so I really must congratulate you on that!

Yay for the random Scot! They always add more fun to any party and this Finn guy certainly did. I have a Scottish accent in my head now, which I guess is better than an Irish as Iím part Scottish so it wonít be too weird going around and saying wee bonnie lass :P

I know youíre Canadian, so Iíll try and remember to be nicer and not get them confused with Americans in the future. Next time, if in doubt Iíll ask if theyíre Canadian first not American. I really liked how you played with the country stereotypes in this story it added a lot of fun and humour and, again, fitted with the theme of travel!

That was another really great one-shot! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello again! :)

Ah, I'm so glad you liked the story and Victoire's character and backstory! I had a lot of fun coming up with the basis for her experiences; Bill was definitely one of the best parts to write. I'm glad you thought it was cute and made sense for him to think so! :)

Haha, I'm so pleased you liked the Irish details as well! The story was pretty much just a re-telling of my trip to the giant's causeway, minus the giant involvement of course! Haha, you should definitely go and visit it!

Ok, I'm very pleased you liked the fact they were broken up as I wanted to do a bit of a spin on the typical Teddy/Vic. Not all relationships survive high school after all, though it's not necessarily over for them yet. Haha, I scoffed a little at Teddy being all mopey as well! :P

I'm glad you felt like you got to know some of the other Delacour-Weasleys and enjoyed Dom. It was so much fun imagining their personalities and giving them little quirks.

Haha, I'm glad you liked Finn, and the accent! And yes, there are some of my countryfolk out there who get quite offended, I do think it's an honest mistake to think we're American however! :P I'm glad you liked the stereotypes about the different cultures and that it helped enhance the theme, as I said it was mostly based on my own experiences so very fun to write. :)

Thank you for another wonderful review my dear! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by HollyStone73 Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
This was super cute! I am not normally a reader of next generation stories but I really like this one. I love the details throughout the story, but I loved that Bill was playing nervous daddy and kept sending the owls along to check on her. The giant was cute and I actually felt sorry for him. Silent Sam was fun, and pretty accepting for being mistaken for an American! LOL! (I've met several Canadians who would have decked me if I called them Americans! Hee Hee!) Super great job and super fun to read!!

Author's Response: Hi! :)

I'm glad you liked the story, especially since this was my first Next Gen story and I had no idea how it would be received! I'm glad you liked all the little details, like Bill, which was definitely inspired by my own dad but minus the use of owls! :)

It's also great to hear you also enjoyed the giant and Sam! I'm Canadian myself and am usually pretty understanding when people mistake me for an American, but I know not all of my countryfolk are so forgiving! :P

I'm very pleased you found this enjoyable, and thank you so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Beeezie Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
Well, you certainly know how to draw a reader in! With your opening sentence, I can't imagine many people click the back button!

I loved your characterisation of Victoire here - it was one of the strongest and most imaginative takes on her that I've seen in a fic. I enjoyed the way you mentioned her role in the larger Weasley family while still maintaining her character as an individual who's very self-directed. I also really liked your mention of her accompanying Fleur to France. I often see that mentioned in fics about Victoire, and it's unfortunately frequently followed up with a comment about her being fluent in French, sometimes to the point that she has a French accent in English. Your mention of her imitating Fleur's accent until she was "close to passable" made me laugh.

Essentially? She came off as a lovely, vibrant human being.

I also liked the way you characterised the people around her. With her parents, it introduced an interesting dynamic that I hadn't thought about but makes sense now that you've said it. Of course a wanderlust would make Bill and Fleur a little uncomfortable, given their history.

And your portrayal of Teddy was also excellent, especially for that first teenage relationship. Victoire's feelings about are still clearly quite complicated, as they should be, and his possessiveness is normal enough to feel realistic but unfair enough to make me cringe.

The people she met on her travels, who were all true OCs, were also amazingly done. We've all (unfortunately) met Condescending Alexanders before, though unfortunately I've never met a Finn MacCoole. Silent Sam was also a welcome diversion.

You described her travel in enough detail and gave it enough of a local flavor that it felt genuine, but your focus was really on how it was affecting and changing her as a person, which is something that I, as someone who loves travel myself, really appreciated.

This story was absolutely lovely. You did an excellent job depicting the characters and their relationships with each other, and it's a shame that most people seem to be too pressed for time to read the longer ones. I really enjoyed it. Thank you.

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hi! Wow, how to start? This review was so incredible to recieve, so thank you for being so thoughtful and kind! :)

I'm very glad you liked the story, and that the first line did it's job by drawing you in. It's great to hear that you enjoyed Victoire and thought she was original, I loved coming up with her character and trying to make her believable and likeable. I definitely know what you mean about her being given a French accent, but I thought this Victoire would be more English than French and definitely not a mini-Fleur. It's so lovely to know that you liked her! :)

I'm also pleased you enjoyed the references to other canon characters. Since we don't know a lot about Victoire from canon I wanted to situate her within the familiar canon characters, and I'm glad you thought it made sense that her parents would be a little uneasy, even if they trusted her and knew she could take care of herself. With Teddy, I wanted to contrast the norm of Vic/Teddy relationships and make it seem realistic: they aren't even twenty yet, after all, and it's wonderful to hear you thought their relationship was believable.

I wish I could meet a Finn MacCoole as well! Although I could do without meeting another Condescening Alexander as well, haha. I'm glad you liked all the OCs! :)

I'm glad this spoke to you as a fellow traveller, and how the story is both about traveling and Vic's growth as a person. I really wanted that love and excitement for traveling to come across, and I'm so very pleased you liked it. If I end up adding more chapters to this story (which I have brainstormed a little, just for fun), hopefully I'll see you back! :) Thank you for just a wonderful review! :D



 Report Review

Review #20, by ohmymerlin Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
Hey there!

I really enjoyed reading this story! I loved your portrayal of Victoire, she seemed very real to me. I could understand her desire to get away, especially if her parents were so protective and sheltered. It makes sense, so that's always a good thing! :p

I loved the way you explained her on a coach, I could feel her discomfort and I really just wanted to give Condescending Alex a smack! I've never really been to a place with American people, but my parents have and they always say that each time there's an annoying person in the tour group, it's always an American. :p So you picked the right choice haha!

Silent Sam seemed rather sweet! I liked his polar bear joke haha!

I'm kind of glad the way you showed Teddy and Victoire's relationship, that it was suffocating and was a partial reason for her to go away on a big trip. Teddy seemed a bit, 'Oh you're my property so no one can flirt with you blah blah blah' so I didn't like him, I was kind of glad when we got Dominique's letter saying that he was moping around, good riddance in my opinion! :p

I really liked the giant in this! You wrote his speech really well and I liked his story, it was really interesting.

Overall, this was a wonderful one-shot!

Great work!

- Kayla. :D

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm very pleased to hear you liked the story! I loved coming up with Victoire's character so having her well received is great to hear. I'm glad you could relate to her a little and understand her need to travel.

Haha, I'm glad you could relate to the scene on the coach as well! I know, Alexander really was awful, wasn't he? I enjoyed winding Victoire up with his character, haha. And I'm glad you liked Sam!

Good, I'm glad you thought the breakup was justified and realistic. I definitely agree, Teddy was being a bit suffocating even if he didn't mean to. Haha, "good riddance," I love that! :)

I'm glad you enjoyed Finn as well! It was really fun writing the old story into dialogue and letting Finn tell his tale.

Thank you for this really lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by LittleLionGirl Northern Ireland

13th July 2013:
I have to say this is one of the best stories about Vic yet :) I think I might feel that way because I share her wonderlust... I enjoy the fact that you have Teddy and Vic "issues" because everyone normally wants the perfect romance for the two. I understand why Vic didn't invite him though a part of me wished she would have... The giant was a fun character and so was "Silent" Sam. I am also pleased to see someone took after Arthur's love for muggles
XOXOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Hello!

Wow, thank you so much and I'm very pleased you liked the portrayal of Victoire. I definitely share her wanderlust as well, so I'm glad you could relate. I know, it's too bad their relationship didn't work out but in my mind it's still far from being conclusive. :P I'm very glad you liked the other characters as well, I really enjoyed coming up with them.

Thank you so much for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by Siriuslover177 Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
I really, really liked this.
Victorie has always been very interesting to me, because she is much older than everyone else, and is part vela.
I have never seen her written like this, and I must say that I really did enjoy it.
It was a nice change from all the cliches, and it made me happy.
Very nice job(:

~Sarah

Author's Response: Hi! :) I'm so glad you liked the story! :D

I agree, Victoire felt right as the main character here, especially since I haven't seen much of her in fan fiction. I'm very glad you liked her character, and found it an original and non-cliche take on her character.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by ShadowRose Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Hi there!

From the few stories I've read by you, it seems you love to start off your one-shots with a punch, and you definitely do that here as well. From the very first line, my interest was piqued, and I had to figure out just how Victoire ended up upside down by a giant.

I really love how you've characterised Victoire here. She's very relatable, and I love how in detail you go with her backstory, talking about the wanderlust she's had since she was a child.

Condescending Alex is a brilliant character as well. I've definitely met people like that in my life, and they're just a bear to deal with, but awfully funny to read about, in my opinion. As long as I don't have to deal with them in real life, haha. :)

I love the detail you go into in this one-shot. You definitely made use of the word count - I'm pretty sure this was almost 5000! You definitely didn't waste it either - I love some of the little details you added, like Bill's overprotectiveness both when she was a baby to now, the story of Victoire and Teddy's break-up, and the story of the giant. They all really added to the story, and I found myself enjoying every bit of it.

Your writing style is one of my favourites to read on HPFF - it's so intricate and detailed. "Since childhood, the girl was overwhelemed with wanderlust. Circled and dotted maps lined the contours of her mind, wide blue Weasley eyes eager to soak in every blade of grass of the landscape, each crag and secret of a strange land." This line is one of my favourites - it's so eloquent and well-written, and a much more appealing way to describe her love of travel.

Overall, this was a really amazing one-shot! Great job! :)

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thank you so much, I'm glad the first line drew you in and you liked the story. I really enjoyed writing it and coming up with all the little traveling details and quirks.

It's wonderful to hear you liked Victoire and found her relatable! I loved coming up with her personality, especially her need and passion for traveling. A lot of reviewers have also related to knowing someone like Condescending Alexander, and I'm glad you could relate too! Well, not glad that you had to deal with people like that... but glad you thought it was realistic, haha!

You're right, I actually had to cut about 600 words to use it as a submission! I'm glad you didn't think it was too rambling, but complemented and completed the story. I'm glad you liked Bill, and the story of the breakup, which I thought I had better include since the story was about Vic.

Aw, that is such a lovely comment about my writing style, thank you! :) I'm so glad you enjoy it. And thank you for the fantastic review, it was just amazing to receive! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Roots in Water Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Hello there!

Wow. Just wow. I thoroughly enjoyed this one-shot- you did a fantastic job with it. I haven't read too many stories with Victoire as the main character, but I really liked how you characterized her here. She was a very relatable character, far from the spoiled and vain girl she's sometimes portrayed as.

Her journeys, her way of describing her excitement and the sights around her... It makes me wish that I had a bit more wanderlust myself. But alas- I don't, although I don't mind traveling.

I definitely think that you managed to capture the spirit of traveling. Her meeting with Finn was very interesting and served as a great central event for this story. His story about his encounter with the English giant was very amusing and highly enjoyable.

Even her companion, Condescending Alexander, was a very real addition to this story. Of course you meet people like that when you travel. People who think that they know everything, that they've travelled everywhere there is to travel and can now share their wisdom with the masses. I'm just glad that Victoire was able to escape his clutches in the end.

I also really liked Bill's concern for his daughter's safety. It added another element of realism to the story, because it's an unfortunate fact that women traveling alone are not in the safest of positions. As well, I loved the small mention of the relationships between Bill and Fleur and Molly and Arthur. I'm a bit of a romantic (:P), so I was very happy to get that dash of marriages that worked out and couples that remained in love. However, I also think that you did a great job with Victoire's relationship with Teddy. You explained their breakup very well, including the hint that they weren't, perhaps, done forever.

I also really liked your conclusion. It was fantastic to see hints of what Victoire would go on to experience and the concluding sentence was a fantastic one. It summed up both the piece and Victoire's journey/personal growth beautifully.

I did notice a few typos as I was reading and I thought I'd point them out quickly. To begin, with the phrase "was overwhelemed" it should be "overwhelmed" and with the phrase "travel the Muggle" I think you missed the word "way" at its end. As well, with "tricky to disgintuigh" it should be "distinguish". But other than that, your story read very smoothly! :)

All in all, I really enjoyed this one-shot. You did a great job with this and the theme of travel. Great work! :D

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you liked the story, and enjoyed the way I portrayed Victoire. I really liked coming up with her personality and hopefully making her a round character. It's wonderful to hear you found her relatable and breaking those typical stereotypes. :)

Ah, I'm so pleased you enjoyed and connected with the theme of traveling and Vic's wanderlust! I loved relating the giant myth into the story, and the character of Finn, and I'm glad it enhanced the theme of traveling. I love traveling myself, so knowing that passion came across in the story is just lovely to hear! :)

Condescending Alexander was based on people I've met while traveling, so it's so funny to hear people say they've met similar personalities! I'm glad you were rooting for Victoire to get away, and that her annoyance was realistic.

Yes, I imagined Bill's worries would be very common if a little annoying for Victoire. I imagine it's hard for those left to stress and be concerned at home. And I'm glad you liked the mentions of the other Weasleys, I hope it was tied in enough to the canon of Next Gen! :) It's also great to hear your reaction to the Teddy relationship, I hoped it would seem realistic and sympathetic. And you're right, they're only young and still might cross paths again!

Ah, I will be sure to fix those typos! :) And I'm glad you liked the conclusion, and the hints of Victoire's future adventures. I'm considering expanding on this story just because it was so much fun to write! :D

Thank you for this wonderful review, I absolutely loved reading it! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by purplepotter77 Northern Ireland

12th July 2013:
Purplepotter775 from Ravenclaw on the forums here for the House Cup!

I am usually an avid Teddy/Victoire shipper, but in this story, I think I rather disliked Teddy and found myself really rooting for Victoire and Sam instead! I really liked the way you characterized Victoire in this piece! I loved her sense of adventure and her bravery, and I think it tied in really well with the theme of travel. It was interesting the way you gave her red hair instead of the typical blonde, and she seemed really unique to a lot of Victoires I've seen in fanfic.

Another thing that I loved was how she gave people nicknames, like Condescending Alexander and Silent Sam. There was someone similar to Condescending Alexander in one of my classes last year, so I can definitely sympathize with Victoire. Silent Sam was another great character. At first, I thought he would be the more quiet, bookish type of person (especially with the name 'Silent Sam'), but I love how he has a sense of humor. Canadians are so rarely seen in fanfic (in fact, this may even be my first time seeing one in the HP fandom), so that definitely added another interesting element to Sam's character.

All in all, this was a very enjoyable read, and I loved your version of Victoire and all the other characters in this, even including the giant! :)

Author's Response: Hi! :)

I'm glad you liked the story, and thought it was a different take on Teddy/Vic. It's great to hear you liked Sam, I thought he was pretty great too. :) It's wonderful that you liked Victoire and her wandering spirit, and that she came across as unique, that's just how I wanted to show her.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the nicknames, it's definitely a secret thing Victoire likes to do. And Alex was just awful, wasn't he! To be honest he's based on a couple people I've met traveling, so I'm glad he came across as relatable. Yes, I imagined Sam as having a more quiet presence and sense of humour, and I couldn't resist making him a Canadian! :)

Thank you for this lovely review, it was a pleasure to receive and read! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>