Reading Reviews for No Turning Back
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven No Turning Back

8th December 2013:
REVIEW TAG! Sorry it took me a little while to get to this - I got sidetracked by lunch.

So this was really similar to the first chapter of Rise, I felt. I think you wrote this one first, so was this inspiration for Rise? And if so, why did you choose to start a new story, instead of just continuing this? Just wondering!

I really loved the description here. I'm going to keep on comparing this to Rise, I suppose, but I think you used description here to a very different effect. This story was much more introspective, and it felt as if the journey up to that pivotal point in his life was more important to Regulus than what was to come. Because this is a one-shot, I think that sort of "it's not where you go, but how you get there" feeling worked really well here.

I actually don't really have much more to say other than THIS IS FANTASTIC WOW I LOVE YOUR REGULUS HE'S SO MUCH COOLER THAN MINE (greatly helped along by the fact that yours is still alive. I tend to like characters more when they're not dead when I meet them).

That is all. Lovely stuff, as usual! :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

Yep, this is definitely what inspired Rise! I enjoyed writing it so much, I wanted to do more! I was originally planning on just extending this into a full length novel but there were a few alterations I wanted to make - subtle, but the reasons for them will become clearer as 'Rise' goes on. So yeah, I just decided to start afresh!

Thank you for the lovely review! I always enjoy hearing from you!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #2, by GingeredTea No Turning Back

31st October 2013:
Review tag!

This was chilling and enjoyable. I really liked your thought process and descriptions. Regulus is a character I'm just kind of getting into, but stories like this really make me want to start reading more about him.

Beautiful. Thank you for the great read!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed this one-shot - if you're interested, I've started a full length Regulus-centric novel! Not to self-promote or anything...

Thank you again!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cannons No Turning Back

1st October 2013:
Hi there dropping in from the review tag! :D hope you don't mind!

This was a really great one shot. It really pulled me in. I loved your description, it was amazing and it defiantly would not of been the same without your details.

The bit about the tapestry with the trolls and snakes made me smile, such a Black thing to have in the house.

By the end of it, I quite liked Regulus and felt really bad for him about having his mind twisted so badly by his families beliefs. It was really evident that all he wanted to do was please his family, and his new master, so I would be interested to see how you would write about when he eventually backs out and changes his mind, because this Regulus seems like he would never do that.

Amazing one shot! really enjoyed it. (:

oh it made me like Sirius even more :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

I've always felt a little sorry for Regulus - I mean, he's not exactly a nice guy, but I've always thought there was more to him that meets the eye!

And Sirius is awesome. Just saying!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #4, by adluvshp No Turning Back

19th August 2013:
Tag!

Wow, this was an impressive one-shot. I liked your characterisation of Regulus. Your descriptions were very real and I could feel his emotions throughout. The nervousness, the fear, the vulnerability, and at the same time, the desire to please his family and his 'master' was all very evident.

There were parts that gave me chills, especially the segment where Regulus is remembering about the 'tests' he had been put through, as well as the ending. I felt for poor Regulus, and at the same time disliked him for his choice, which was impressive.

It flowed really well throughout, and I didn't spot any grammar errors either.

Great job!
10/10
Cheers
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm glad you thought so! I actually enjoyed writing it so much that I've gone ahead and started on an entire novel based around Regulus, which should be interesting!

Thank you for reading!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #5, by WeasleyTwins No Turning Back

12th August 2013:
Hello Courtney! Since you've been so kind to read and review "The Seams," I thought I'd read and review something of yours!

I've always had this secret love of Regulus Black stories, but no one seems to be able to do him justice as I imagine him. But I was pleasantly surprised and excited with every word here! Your descriptions are wonderfully thorough without being boring or venturing into the realm of purple prose. They set the mood of the story nicely.

I love your characterization. It's exactly how I imagine Regulus to think and act. If I remember correctly, this challenge for the House Cup was about travel, right? Well, I think you accomplished that in more ways than one - we obviously see that he physically travels, but I think we see a hint of a metaphorical sort of travel, especially at the end. For a moment, when he wishes to be back at home and to be an ordinary teenager, there's that flicker of defiance and bravery (quite like Sirius, actually). It reminded me of what he will eventually do, i.e., betray Voldemort and basically help save the wizarding world. I like the subtle symbolism of travel.

I really enjoyed your take on Regulus (I'm pretty picky, I tell you!). I'm so glad I decided to stop by and I'll be back to visit your Author's Page! ♥

Shelby

Author's Response: Hey Shelby!

First, I am so sorry about how long it is taken me to reply - I kinda maybe sorta forget about my one-shots after I've written them.

I actually enjoyed writing this so much that I've got a whole novel based around Regulus on the way, would should be fun!

Thanks for reading!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #6, by ginerva_molly_weasley No Turning Back

9th August 2013:
Hey from review tag!

This is an amazingly powerful story! It has the air of pain and darkness yet there is a lot of emotion embedded in it too and that is more poignant as you keep mentioning how he must not show emotion in the story.

The human features you gave him made him much more likeable and believable as you have him being scared but at the same time want to do anything for his master and you show that really well by showing the torture he was exposed to as part of his training as a death eater which works perfectly well here.

The flashing back to Sirius as well gives us a chance to reflect on his good side as whilst his brother wasn't one of the 'Black's' per se his brother still loved him rather a lot and even though he was making the commitment to his master tonight family was still very important to him.

I love the details of the torture which is particularly well written.

I'm glad you wrote this for the house cup!

Author's Response: Hey there!

Wow, thank you so much! That means so much to hear you say that. I'm glad you enjoyed this one-shot.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by KCKibbles No Turning Back

20th July 2013:
Hello, reviewing from the review tag :D

First off, I'm going to say that I was attracted to this story because I knew it wouldn't be exactly cheerful at first glance since the banner was dark and it was about Regulus. I have never read any stories about Regulus (at least not memorable ones) and I was surprised to actually enjoy this. At first I thought it was going to be about him retrieving Voldemort's Horcrux but it wasn't which I find to actually be even more interesting since we all know how the horcrux story ends and there's only so much you can do to dramatize it.
Anyway, back to what you DID write.
You made Regulus very aware of his own surroundings which gives us insight as to what exactly he's feeling. We also get a chance to see how he feels about his own family, specifically Sirius and their beliefs. As he gets closer and closer to his destination you can almost feel how nervous he's getting. His own reassurances to himself also makes me uncomfortable because we all know what's going to end up happening to him and its rather depressing which fits the "Dark" description. You really make us connect to him which I think is an important thing to write.
I think you jumbled this sentence a bit, though: "And now he was going to his honour his family."
Other than that it was quite lovely and I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Hey there!

I am so sorry that it has taken me so long to reply! Thank you very much for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed it - writing a dark Regulus Black story was a huge challenge!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Haronione No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hi Courtney Dark,

I really liked this fic :) The plot was great, the descriptions were amazing, the characterisation spot on and it flowed fantastically!

It was great to read from Regulus's POV and see a glimpse into the Black family from another perspective other than Sirius's. I really liked the idea that there was an initiation process to get into the death eaters, and it was very fitting that it was such a cruel process!

I really liked that Regulus thought about Sirius in this, and that he had a photo of the two of them together. It showed that they did once have a normal brotherly relationship and the fact he still keeps the photo shows he still cares (deep down) about Sirius... Maybe this alludes to the reason he does eventually betray his Master?

I don't really know what else to say! It was fantastic and I loved it :D

Haronione x

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! And by the way, I am so sorry about how long it has taken me to reply - I am so embarrassed! And very lazy!

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the kind review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #9, by ImagineHarmony No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hi!

Oh my gosh, that was such a good one-shot. Truly had me with Regulus and the spectacular banner was beautiful and the summary and basically everything just sold the story and asnkf;sdfkasdf it was good. It was really really good.

I loved exactly how you portrayed Regulas and Bellatrix, the perfect descriptions truly. And I loved how well you just executed everything! I just can't fathom my love over these lines: But when he closed his eyes he could still see the whip, coming down against his bare back. He could still feel the white-hot pain, the burning, the torment. He could still see himself his pale white face, ghostly and sickly looking. The scream that never came out of his mouth because hed clamped his mouth shut so tight that hed bitten his tongue.

It's so real, it's so true, so very realistic and everything just fits together and that is such a painful true description of being whipped and I was just dying over Regulus. Honestly.

This was SO GOOD. (I don't have constructive criticism, I'm just good in flattery words :P ) I NEED TO READ MORE OF YOUR WORK!

- TheVividImagination for the House Cup 2013 Challenge
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for this amazing review! And I am so sorry at how ridiculously long it has taken me to reply. I am so embarrassed!

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed it!
If you're interested, I actually have a Regulus Black based novel in the works.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #10, by ValWitch21 No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
I'm so used to your light stories that I wasn't too sure what to expect from this, but as it's you and I tend to love your writing, I decided to give it a shot - and heck am I glad I did.

My favourite part of this, without doubt, is Regulus pondering his relationship with Sirius. There aren't nearly enough stories dealing with this, and when they do, it's often badly done. This, however, was perfect: smooth flow, almost like poetry (or maybe I'm just exhausted and hallucinating, but I don't think so), and Regulus being both bitter and nostalgic at the same timd was just wonderful.

As always with you, a lovely read, and I'll be checking out your new novel soon!

Author's Response: Hey there! I am so sorry it has taken me such a ridiculously long time to reply to your review! But I'm here now, so yay!

I'm really glad you like this - I enjoyed the challenge of writing this so much that I actually have a dark Regulus Black novel in the works, which I am very excited about!

Thank you!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Trundlebug No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Regulus is so interesting; he is the Black brother we don't really know. This was a good travel story. You have taken what would likely be one of the most important trips of this young man's life and described his thoughts and feelings very well. I like the progression of it, as he makes ready and eventually leaves, and that his thoughts are his constant company. I particularly liked that you showed that he was not wholly evil or as loyal to Voldemort as he thinks he is. This is important, because we certainly learn a thing or two about his loyalties later on.

He didn't hate his brother, but he acted in accordance to what was expected of him. And you even had him say thank you to the house elf, demonstrating a bond between them.

Overall its a good story. It has its little flaws and hiccups like any rough work, but the most important detail is there: it's enjoyable to read.

I certainly enjoyed it

Ken

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyL8 No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hello.

I really liked this idea. I have always wondered what went through Regulus head when he decided to become a death eater, and now you wrote your perspective (and I really liked it).

This was really well-written. You had so good emotional description, and it was really believable. I could practically feel his emotions. And I enjoyed reading it.

I loved that his brother was mentioned. I believe he would've thought about him when he made this decision.

And I especially love how he doesn't appear as all-bad. You can definitely tell that he is a bit unsure/nervous/afraid, but he goes through with it in the end.

Thanks for one great story.

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you for the lovely review, I'm really happy you enjoyed it!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ron 4 Hermione No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
This is a great insight into what it was like to become a death eater, and you really captured the tone and the creepy-ness of it.

I loved the parts about him thinking about Sirius, I think it ties in nicely with the part about him wanting to go home for some hot chocolate because although I doubt he really regrets joining up, it makes me think that there was a part of him that wonders what it would be like if he wasn't signing up, if he had escaped like his brother, so well done for getting that across. It also makes him seem more real and you have wrote him really well, even the way he talked to Kreacher was great!

This is a great one-shot, and you've did an amazing job! :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm so glad you thought I did a good job on this, it was a huge challenge for me to write! Thanks for the review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #14, by louise_loves_hp No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
You have done a great good job the level of description is that makes the story. I love that his brother is on his mind though out the story. The lesson his father told him were quite strong and you could see how they had shaped his character, it was good to see them. I really enjoyed that small moment with Kreacher, a nice almost happy one.(What I would say he could be).
louiseIShere

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #15, by academica No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hello!

It seems like a lot of people chose to go with foreign travel in exploring this year's prompt (me included), but I like that you stuck with a smaller form of travel here. I think it allowed you to focus on the details of each step of Regulus's fateful trip.

I love Regulus's characterization because it seems like he's really of two minds here. On the one hand, he keeps thinking about how proud his family will be and how he could never betray Voldemort after all he's been through thus far. On the other hand, he also has lots of lingering doubts about the company he'll have to keep and what he's already had to do in order to impress Voldemort. I think it's very reflective of how a teenager in such a dire situation might feel and you've really foreshadowed his eventual defection.

Great work!

Amanda
Ravenclaw
House Cup 2013


Author's Response: Hey there!

Sorry it has taken me such a colossally long time to reply to this, I'm so lazy! Anyway, thank you for the lovely review, I appreciate it!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #16, by ScarletEye158 No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hey there! This was a very nice and powerful one-shot. Stories about Regulus always get me thinking and I always end up feeling pretty bad for him :(

I like how you used the theme of travel a little bit differently for your story! It was like Regulus was traveling to Malfoy Manor (obviously) but it was also like Regulus was traveling into his new life. Too bad for him it was a permanent travel :(

Your descriptions throughout the story were really nice, especially at the beginning! I really was able to feel how nervous and scared Regulus was, and it was cool because I know how much he wanted to put up a strong and brave front.

I never really thought of there being an initiation process to become a Death Eater, but it really does make a lot of sense! I can't believe how much Regulus had to go through, though! being whipped and having your memories sifted through like it was nothing? I can't understand why anyone would tolerate that :S It was a nice touch to have Bellatrix laughing at him during the whipping too, because it showed how much she didn't care about his pain and how she only really cared about being a Death Eater and being on Voldemort's side. She was nice and sweet to him when he was finally really to be marked, which I thought was interesting. She really was a loyal member of the Death Eaters!

anyways, this was a really good one-shot! I really enjoyed reading it :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #17, by True Author No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hello! Here from the Review- a- Thon!

I don't know why, but this story strangely reminds me of Missing. I know there's nothing common, but the descriptions of Regulus's feelings and his situation was exactly like the way you did in Missing. :) I liked it!

Regulus is an underloved character, so I liked that you're writing him with a totally off beat theme. The plot was well-planned and it unfolded nicely. Though I thought Bellatrix could be a bit more cruel and cold. But that's just a personal opinion.

Good job dear! :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story - I guess what connects it to Missing is my writing style (do I have a writing style? I don't even know!)

Thanks for the review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by maskedmuggle No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hey there!

Wow this felt very dark but I found it to be a very well written story. I really liked the idea of "No Turning Back" and I think that definitely resonates with what's going on here. I really liked the idea of Regulus taking on this journey by himself, but at the same time, I'm curious about why he didn't tell the rest of his family what he was going to be doing that night? The only other thing I was uncertain about was the way you described this, with the word perfect: "James Potter and his bloody perfect family". It just felt a bit strange.

I can really believe that Regulus had to go through some kind of initiation process, and the idea of having to experience pain and follow His orders for some time is quite believable. I also really liked Regulus's characterisation all around, particularly his nervousness and fear, even though he was doing all he could to hide his emotions. So, nicely written :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #19, by CharlieDay No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hello!

Wow, Regulus Black is a very interesting character to write about, particularly with the 'Travel' prompt! A very creative choice :)

Somehow, in this piece your writing was both haunting and simple in the most elegant way- I liked it very much!

I was a little confused by the Sirius and Regulus photo- how old were they when it was taken? I like, however, that you mentioned it- it is interesting to think of Regulus noticing it before his meeting with Voldermort.

I loved the irony as Regulus thought about how he would never, ever betray his master. We all know, of course, that he did, so that almost made me laugh. Almost, I say, because the tenseness which you portrayed in this story made me to invested in the plot itself!

I very much enjoyed this one-shot, and thought that your portrayal of Regulus' feelings towards Bellatrix were very realistic- I would've been terrified of her, even if she was my cousin!

This was a very well written one-shot that I really enjoyed,
Charlie
xx

Author's Response: Hey there!

Aw, thank you so much for the lovely review, I really appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed this one-shot, I had fun writing it.

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #20, by PolyJuice_ No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Whee! So I've already read a bunch of your stuff, so when your name came up in my list of to-review for the house cup I got all excited. :3 I knew instantly that I'd love whatever it was you'd come up with.

Anyway. I loved your character choice. You'd couldn't have written him better if you'd tried. (..that doesn't make much sense, as I'm sure you tried and put as much of yourself into thi-- em, nevermind) Soon as the bit with Kreacher at the start, where he was offered his coat, I instantly knew we'd be hearing about his Death Eater days. The way your wrote him I really pitied him, the whole way through. I felt every emotion as if I was there with him, and your well-placed bits of extra description only added to the amazing scene already in my head.

tl;dr THIS WAS FAB.

Liz

House Cup ~ 2013 ~ Slytherin

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much, this is such a lovely review - I'm grinning from ear to ear right now, and feel even worse about how long it has taken me to reply!

Anyways, I'm working on a sort of sequel Regulus Black based novel thing if you're interested.

I'm glad you enjoyed!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #21, by missclaire17 No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Everyone always writes a lot about how Regulus had turned against Voldemort, but very little is written about when Regulus started being a Death Eater. The fact that he had thought so much about Sirius throughout his journey to meet Voldemort really said something about the brothers' relationship and about how their differing paths had such a huge influence. His mention about James hints at Regulus' jealousy that Sirius had found someone like a brother other than Regulus himself. Also, it was interesting how you wrote Regulus would never betray his master. I had always thought about Regulus going into as a Death Eater, whether he felt forced to, or because he willingly wanted to. Either way, it must have had an impact on his decisions later in life.

I loved this one-shot! I think you wrote it beautifully!(:

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #22, by HollyStone73 No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
This was beautiful...in an eerie sort of way. I found myself feeling almost as nervous as Regulus was. I really actually like how you said that he had to go through tests to "prove" his commitment. I had never actually given it much thought about how death eaters were initiated into service, but your liking it to a gang initiation was pretty genius.

All-in-all it was very well written and a pleasure to read. It is very hard to write suspense and I think you did a great job with it!! Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by ohmymerlin No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hello! :D

Just... wow. This is just... I have no words for how amazing this is.

Actually, I do have some words but they probably aren't coherent. :p

(Don't judge me haha)

I just LOVE the way you wrote this whole one shot. I felt like I was on the edge the whole time, you really portrayed that fear/nervousness/terror/adrenaline well!

And this part: That made him want to run back home and ask Kreacher to fetch him a mug of hot chocolate. That made him want to be an ordinary sixteen year old again.

But he was so much more than that.


Woah! That was mind-blowing! It made me so sad to realise that he was only a kid when he joined up. He obviously would have been terrified and you portrayed that so well! :')

I loved the glimpses of Sirius and the rest of his family, and they were portrayed so well. They seemed very canon and you gave them just the right amount of creepy (the family, not Sirius) so I absolutely adored that!

And when you described Regulus being punished? Oh that made me shiver and get goosebumps! You wrote it astoundingly!

I know I sound like a broken record, going on and on about how amazing this one-shot is, but it is! I have no words for it!

Excellent job!

10/10

- Kayla. :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for this amazing review! I'm so, so glad you enjoyed it and I feel terrible about how long it has taken me to reply!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Beeezie No Turning Back

12th July 2013:
Wow. This was a thoroughly enjoyable story to read. Thank you for writing it.

Your description is absolutely stunning. You painted such a vivid picture early on that I felt like I was in the room with him, and continued that throughout the story. It made me feel like I was watching a movie in my head rather than reading a fic, and it definitely helped get me into Regulus's character.

I think that Regulus is a great character to read about in fanfics. There are so many places his character can be taken, because what little we do know is pretty contradictory. On one hand, common consensus among the order seemed to be that he was a coward and not very important; on the other, Voldemort did approach him in particular to use his house elf, which indicates a certain level of trust. While he's generally seen as a stereotypical blood-obsessed pureblood, he does intentionally give his life for Kreacher's, which most purebloods obviously wouldn't. He's a bit of a puzzle, and we don't see enough in canon to properly sort it out.

I felt like you did a great job of adding that nuance here. The first glimpses you give us of Regulus are of him being vulnerable - he got spooked by the owl, he was nervous, and he felt sad about where Sirius and their relationship had gone. When he hears a noise at the bottom of the stairs and demands that the person show themselves, he almost came across to me like a fraud - almost a kid playing dress up, you know? The fact that he had to consciously remember what his father told him, both then and later, indicates that he's not confident enough to have actually internalised it.

At the same time, though, you don't let Regulus off the hook (so to speak). He did some pretty awful things because he died, and I like that you don't try to skate over that. His conflicted feelings about his brother do ultimately morph in a kind of righteous resentment, and while he's clearly suffered on the way to becoming a full Death Eater (something I hadn't thought about but makes perfect sense), he just as clearly feels that it's been worth it.

What I also found really interesting was the fact that as you reach the end of the story, you show some of his vulnerability melting away. It's no longer about what his father said - it's what he could and couldn't do. At the same time, he was clearly still torn and a little scared, which is completely realistic, IMO.

There were a couple errors I noticed, as well as a few stylistic choices I wasn't sure about. That's not shocking, considering the time constraints we were under, and like I said, overall your writing is lovely. You can feel free to ignore the nitpicking if you'd like. :P

Toward the end of the paragraph starting, The house was eerily quiet, "Black's" should have been plural, not possessive. Ditto "Potter's" later on. I suspect they were probably just typos, but I thought I'd point it out.

There were also a few points where a combination of dashes and sentence fragments hurt the flow of the story, for me. In the third paragraph, for example, the aside "after midnight" felt stilted, and immediately following the sentence with a fragment came off as awkward to me. It would have been smoother, IMO, if you'd written, It was late, after midnight: the time when strange and dangerous creatures came out to play. There were a few spots in the story where I noticed something along these lines.

Like I said, very nitpicking. I wouldn't even bother to point it out if everything else wasn't so strong. Again, overall your writing is lovely, and I really enjoyed this story!


House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Haha, you're quite welcome!

I'm so sorry it has taken me so long to reply, but I really appreciate this review all this time later, so thank you!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by ShadowRose No Turning Back

12th July 2013:
Hi there!

Wow, what an awesome story. There are so many one-shots that focus on Regulus's last moments, but not many that focus on his life as a Death Eater. I love how you've explained his convictions here, but at the same time, you show that he's not fully into the whole Death Eater lifestyle, as shown when he talks about his guilt for killing five people, but that he knew he had to do it. I thought it was interesting that he scorned Sirius the way that he did, for taking an easier way out. It makes sense, but it's not a thought commonly seen in fanfiction. Also, I loved this line: "It was an evil, mad smile that made Regulus want to look away. That made him want to run back home and ask Kreacher to fetch him a mug of hot chocolate. That made him want to be an ordinary sixteen year old again." It really reminds the reader how young Regulus was when he got into all of this, and just how unprepared he was for what he ends up facing in the future.

The detailing and description in here was fantastic - it set a very dark and eerie atmosphere that goes great with the events that happen here.

There was one little spelling error I noticed in here. You said, "faithful that Bellatrix," but shouldn't that be "than Bellatrix"?

Overall, this was very well-written, and I'm very glad I got the chance to review it!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you for the lovely review, I'm glad you thought it was well-written!

Courtney:)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>