Reading Reviews for Life is Good
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by milominderbinder Life is Good!

1st October 2014:
hiya! here for the QTR story search round four! this was really sweet! after so much tragedy in canon and so much conflict in most things, it's nice to read a fic that's just so totally sweet and happy, haha! i really liked your OCs, they were lovely, felt very real and relatable. i also liked how you used some german in here - for some reason that felt like such a nice touch :D lovely read!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's always great to see an older story get some attention. Alara is the heroine in my larger stories, and Rachel has now made an entrance in the third story "Wounded Warriors." It's fun to see them as kids.

 Report Review

Review #2, by BluebirdBrigade Life is Good!

14th July 2013:
I loved the frienship between Alara and Rachel in this, obviously they are so familiar with one another and their families that even their friend's mum's know their habits. I like the small section where we learn that Alara is a very passionate reader and gets reprimanded for bringing so many books, that was a nice detail. I also really liked the way you incorporated travel into this story - it was a good interesting twist and you held my attention throughout. Very fluffy and very cute with great grammar and spelling :)

Lovely story!
Maz

Author's Response: Thank you! It was a fun little story to write. I have a little bit of backstory on Rachel developed, but not a lot. She's a very intriguing character, and I think she is a very interesting character and I look forward to finding out more about her!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8 Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
Hi, there :)

I really liked your idea. It was different and creative. I have always wondered how it would be for muggles/muggleborns after the war, and when they travel to other countries; would they travel the muggle way or the wizard way?

I also enjoyed the characterization. Your dialog had a good flow, and was very natural. It didn't seem forced or written. I loved how you explained that Rachel's parents were still adapting to the wizard world, because that seems like a natural reaction. You wouldn't just adapt quickly, but it would likely take a couple of years. After all, it goes against everything you've ever known.

I also loved Rachel and Alara. They have a good chemistry, and their dialogs flow well. It was interesting to see two characters from different backgrounds: one is a muggleborn and one is, I'm assuming, a half-blood or pureblood. And it's clear that they view this travel a bit differently. They both look forward to it, but Alara isn't as used to living as a muggle as Rachel is. Therefore, Alara seems more worried about living as a muggle, while Rachel seems more used to it/comfortable with it. It was really interesting to see that difference.

I loved the description. It was easy to imagine the whole story happening in my head (something I love to do). And you had some funny lines as well (the one about the fireplace). And it was great.

Yours sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Yes, Alara is a pureblood. But she has been taught well by her parents, she's got strong sympathies towards Muggles. She also strikes me as rather sheltered existence, probably because of her parents philosophies during the rise of Voldemort.

Thanks for reading and taking the time to leave your thoughts!


 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
Hello! I'm here reviewing for Gryffindor in the house cup :)

I like the plot of this story, and how excited the two girls are to go to Germany and get a chance to travel. The conversation between them seems realistic and believable and I found myself warming to both of their characters. It's really sweet how excited they both are to get the chance to meet their favourite celebrity. William the Wandering Wizard sounds like a great creation!

Some of the details in this were great and really helped anchor the story in to a period we know, which was good because all of the characters were new. I liked the mention of Harry Potter having ended the war, and the ending with the mention of Slughorn leaving is quite ironic - I'm not sure how much either of the girls would have liked Professor Snape!

There was some good humour in this story as well. I think my favourite line would have to be "We only use it for... well, fires oddly enough..."

The only thing that confused me was the mention of Alara as a 'pureblood sympathiser'. If she was, then how come her best friend is muggle-born and she's so excited to travel with Muggles?

Overall, a really entertaining and enjoyable one-shot, and a great entry. Well done!

Sian :)

Author's Response: You're the second person to mention the sympathizer thing. I always thought a sympathizer meant that she sympathized with muggles, as opposed to pure blood superiority. "Blood traitor" is perhaps the more clear term, and one I'll be sure to use in future stories.

Thanks for the feedback! I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16 Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
HI! Well, this was a different sort of story. I like your showing of muggles and a muggleborn during/shortly after the fall of Voldemort. I especially liked the mother's reaction to the floo network--"Sorry our fireplace isn't any bigger. We only use it for--well, fires, oddly enough."--that made me laugh. That and her trying to see through the floo network and her interest in Alara's bag with the extension charm. I liked how accepting her parents were of these things, while also being rational.

I thought this was really well done and good luck to you and your house in the House Cup.

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I think Mrs. Adams is a sort of reverse Arthur Weasley, magic intrigues her tremendously. I'm sure some of that comes from relief- after wondering (perhaps for years) what her daughter's habits of making strange things happen, to find out there was an explanation for it along with an entire community she could fit in to had to be immensely gratifying.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #6, by ScarletEye158 Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
Hey there! This was a really cute one-shot :)

One thing I really loved about your story is that you gave everyone such clear and distinct personalities all while being OCs. Its not common to see that, especially with such a short story so that was really cool!

I really liked how Alara (great name, by the way!) was so excited to go to Germany with her best friend and her Muggle family yet knew very little about Muggles. She didn't really take offence to anything Mrs. Adams said and just laughed at how much of a typical Pureblood she is :p

Hahaha William the Wandering Wizard... I love how excited they both were to meet him :) I would get super excited if I got to meet my favorite celebrity, too, so it was nice being able to relate to the girls in that way! I really hope they end up meeting him :)

aww, the ending made me laugh. Those poor girls don't know what's coming with their new Potions teacher... Hopefully they can stay on his good side!

This was really cute and I really enjoyed reading it. Bravo :D

-Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks for reading!

No, the girls are definitely not up for a good time with Snape. In one of my other stories we find out just how much trouble Alara gets into with him, which is (spoiler alert) the most trouble she gets into her entire schooling.

They're in for a shock!

Thanks for reading.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pheonix Potioneer Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
I LOVE the ending of this story. It's really ironic that Rachel says "I hope whoever repleces him is just as nice" when the person who replaces him, Snape, certainly isn't very nice!

I really like how the characters for this was extensively planned, despite having so little time to write this! You created several OC's, all with clear and distinct personalities.

I like how Alara is so excited that she can meet a celebrity. Just goes to show that witches aren't too different from muggles.

And congratulations on writing such a good, thought-out story.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Alara is an established character in my other two stories, but she's an adult there, this is the first time we see her as a youngster.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #8, by louise_loves_hp Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
This story was nice and light hearted. The only thing is I felt that the girls came across older than what you had said they were. I liked that there is that concussion on both sides of the Muggle and Magic world, that you have them both look at things very much the same but different at the same time. The plane part was good example of this. Also the thought of having to try an explain a extentable charm at the airport is very true, I could just see that.
Your ending really made me laugh because we know who it is.
louiseIShere - Slytherin

Author's Response: Thanks!

I was a bit worried that they might be a little young for the extension charm, which is why I had her mum do it. Sorry if they still came across too old!

Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. I appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauder5 Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
hi! I'm here for the House Cup review!

I must say, this was really good! The conversation between the girls was very realistic, the plot was good and all in all, it was a very enjoyable read :) Mrs Adams was so funny when she said that their fireplace was only there for.. fires! Haha!

I do have a question about this sentence: "Rachel's best friend and fellow Ravenclaw Alara Ayoni was what was known as a Pure Blood Sympathizer, and had known the fear for much longer." If she was a Pure Blood Symphathizer, how come she's best friends with a Muggleborn? And how come she's so exited about Muggle travelling? Maybe I just misunderstood something, I don't know ;) Perhaps you can clear things up for me!

And then, the girls excitement over William the Wandering Wizard (which sounds like a name that JKR would have used, or someone that Harry and his friends would have come across in History of Magic). I loved how their parents said that they had to behave when they saw him, haha! Young teenage girls meeting their hero.. yeah, they probably needed to hear that ;)

I really liked this! Well done :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading!
As I understand it, a pure blood sympathizer is like the Weasleys- of pure blood, but committed to the ideal that blood status doesn't matter correct? So Alara would not mind Rachel's blood status. Maybe "blood traitor" would have been a better word choice.

My thought was that both of them had something to fear from V- Rachel had to fear her blood status, whereas Alara had to fear the ideology she had learned from her parents, that all witches and wizards are equal.

Hopefully I've cleared that up, sorry if my word choice was wrong!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #10, by PolyJuice_ Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
Eeeh, I loved it~! William the Wandering Wizard! Heh, the alliteration. :P *loves it*

This was really neat, I loved the way you wrote the girls, they really seemed to come alive, and their excitement was just so palpable. They just seemed so young and adorable! I'm super glad that the HC has made me read all these stories, because y'all are such fantastic writers. Reading this story makes me want to check out some of your other work, as this was so superly-duperly done! (Though forgive me if I do not review ASAP, I'm going to be reviewed out for a little while. xD )

Liz

House Cup ~ 2013 ~ Slytherin

Author's Response: JKR uses a lot of alliteration in her names. I've always found that a fun little habit.

Basically I envision William as a youth writer, someone out to do serious historical research but aims his results at kids to get them excited about the larger world and get them exploring it. Maybe he had Professor Binns at Hogwarts too and is fighting against his style in his own way.

The HC has been fun for reading all these stories. It's hard to keep up, but there are some really good ones out there.

Thanks for reading mine!


 Report Review

Review #11, by HollyStone73 Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
This was cute! I really enjoyed reading it. It is very interesting to think about wizards and witches interacting in the muggle world. I love that she called it a portpass and referenced the ministry wizard having issues trying to figure out how to take a non-moving picture. I do have to admit that I loved the Snape reference at the end. It made me giggle a bit! Very well written and easy to read. Good job on this!

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to read and leave a response!

I appreciate it more than you know. The most fun part of this has been now I have a whole new character (Rachel) to add in to my stories. It's been great for my creativity!

Thanks for taking the time to read and leave a response!


 Report Review

Review #12, by ohmymerlin Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
Hi there!

This was an absolutely lovely one-shot! I really enjoyed it! I've never really read anything on people surviving the first war, so kudos for originality!

You wrote the girls' emotions very well, I was getting really excited with them, especially when we found out they were going to meet William the Wandering Wizard! Awesome alliteration, by the way! :D

You've got the overall House Cup Theme woven really well in this story, you did a really good job with it! You're extremely talented! :D

Also, I absolutely LOVED your writing style. I'm not too sure how to explain it, but I really liked reading it!

So yeah, good job on this! I really enjoyed it! It would have been good to see the girls get to meet William the Wandering Wizard (I REALLY love this name, that's why I said the whole thing haha!) but hey ho, it's still an amazing story!

- Kayla. :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm kind of envisioning the euphoria after Voldemort's first fall as the same thing America went through after WW1, where life was just a grand adventure waiting to be explored.

Thanks for taking the time to comment!


 Report Review

Review #13, by LittleLionGirl Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
Wow. This was actually a really cute story and I was pleasantly surprised. I am sorry to say I am a pick story reader and I wasn't sure your story was going to appeal to me. I am glad I read it though because it exceeded my expectations (which were not set low)
XOXOX,
LLG

Author's Response: Thank you! It was a fun little story to write. Alara is an established OC of mine, she if found in both my other longer stories. Rachel is an entirely new OC, one I may explore a little more. It would be interesting to track what happens to them as Voldemort's second rise happens.

Thanks for reading, and thanks for your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #14, by SereneChaos Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
Ah! That last line was hilarious! I loved how fresh your OCs are--your dialogue between all the characters is so natural! I especially liked Mrs. Adams apologizing for their fireplace -actually- being used for fires, haha. Thanks for writing such a sweet, fluffy piece!

Author's Response: Thanks! Nothing like a pair of pre-teens to brighten your day! It was a fun challenge.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyEPotter Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
Hi! Here for the House Cup Review!

This is a cute story showing a witch's glimpse of Muggle travel. I wonder how an Undetectable Extension charm would appear for airport security? You can't blame Rachel's mother for having Alara repack. :)

A visit to Germany and a book signing for their favorite author...

Great story!

Author's Response: We only saw magical people trying to fit in to the Muggle world when the Weasley's visited the Dursleys (Was that GoF or OOTP? I forget which)

I thought it would be fun to catch a more enjoyable glimpse of it.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Siriuslover177 Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
This was a nice one-shot.
I liked how she was going to show her friend how to live as a muggle, that was really cute:P
Also, I liked how they had passports that the wizarding world gave them, that is a really cool touch, and I have never thought about that.
Really nice job(:

~Sarah

Author's Response: Thanks! I wasn't sure whether the passports should be faked or genuine, if Alara gets into any trouble in Germany there could be issues when they run the passport through the consulate.

She better keep her nose clean!

Thanks for reading.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Siriusgirl Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
Awww, that was so cute! Who doesn't love puppies and rainbows? Great story, put a smile on my face. Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
My favourite part of this story has to be the last line. Oh those poor girls have no idea! Haha.

I really liked the comparisons between muggle and wizard travel. And the extension charm on the rucksack - I can only imagine how that would have gone through airport security! Good thinking Mrs Adams. I loved Alara's confusion on a "Portpass" as well!

The characters were great, and I loved their excitement about their celebrity crush, and how that's the biggest piece of news in a twelve-year-old's life because Voldemort is sooo last year, so life is good now! It seemed pretty realistic.

One thing I think I should mention is that since this is in 1982, technically it wouldn't be Germany they're going to, but West Germany ;)

Overall, lovely job with this, it was fun to read!

Author's Response: WEST Germany. Holy crow I didn't even think about that. GOOD CATCH!

Thanks for the kind words.


 Report Review

Review #19, by ShadowRose Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
Hi, it's ShadowRose, here for the House Cup review!

I love the pre-Hogwarts idea - I feel like that era is so rarely written about in fanfiction, that it's always a nice surprise to find something from that era!

I really like both of your OCs, even though we only meet them for a short period of time. I love their little celebrity crush, it's so cute! Watching Alara get acquainted with the Muggle world as she gets ready to go on this trip is fun to watch as well - I laughed at the "Portpass" thing. :)

One of the best things about this one-shot is that it really captures the post-first war mood - most everyone thought Voldemort was gone, and they believed that everything was back to normal and great again. I love how you've captured that here with the whole "life is good" theme you continue throughout the story.

The little comment about the new Potions teacher was funny as well - I don't imagine they'll think Snape is "just as nice" as Slughorn. :P

Overall, this was a very cute one-shot - I'm glad I got to read it!

Author's Response: In the first story I posted here, "The Gift of Severus Snape" we get a little backstory on the early relationship between Alara and Snape.

Suffice it to say it "held room for growth" :-)

Thanks for taking the time to read!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ginerva_molly_weasley Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
Oooh now I do like the concept to this story. I'm intrigued to see how a witch could live a muggle life for a period of time so I hope you extend your story in the future to show what adventures they got up to on their trip!

I also loved the fact you used some German in there in such a cheeky way. You showed the escence of personality between the two girls and you also showed the banter between them in that instance. You captured the idea that they were two teenage girls as well as witches. I especially like Alara's portpass! You worked really well there capturing the differences between magic and muggles.

One thing I did find a little distracting though is the lack of description and the fast pace which are very inter-related in this case. I do feel as if it did escalate very quickly here which is a shame really because after the first few paragraphs the story is fantastic! By slowing down the pace a little bit, making some sentences shorter and others a little longer in the first few paragraphs would really enhance the story!

All in all a very good piece. Once again please extend this further!

GinevraMollyPotter-Slytherin

Author's Response: Yeah, I could have elongated it out, point is very well taken. I literally wrote this in a day, it wasn't edited much at all. Next time I will absolutely take the time to do that.

Thanks for the words of advice!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Roots in Water Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
Hello there! I really enjoyed your travel-themed one-shot, for several reasons. :P

To begin, I really liked how your wrote your characters. It can be difficult and daunting to write with a cast made up of entirely original characters, but you did a great job of both introducing them and then continuing with their personalities. They weren't overly complex characters, no, but then they didn't need to be. In fact, having very complex characters probably would have weighed down your very light (and enjoyably so) story because you would have had to take more time to explain and flesh out their personalities and backstories. Instead, we're given characters who are understandable and realistic, allowing us to more thoroughly enjoy them in the context of the story.

I also think that you did a great job of introducing the time period that this story is set in. You wrote this story during a very interesting point in Wizarding history: when everyone thought that Voldemort had been defeated by baby Harry Potter, even though he really was just biding his time until he could make his return. I think that you chose a good pairing to explore this time period with. A Muggleborn, after all, would have experienced fear and oppression simply because of her blood but a Pureblood sympathizer would have experienced the same because of her choices. It's an interesting comparison and I'm actually quite curious to know about their futures. What will their lives be like fourteen years from now, when Voldemort returns? Would they be a part of the resistance or would they be like the majority of the Wizarding world and be passive (even if that's an unlikely option for them, based on their family history)?

I also really enjoyed the elements of humour you added. Muggles experiencing magic and purebloods experiencing life as a muggle... It's certainly a recipe for interesting incidents! Rachel's mom's comment about how they use the fireplace for fires... oddly enough... was a perfectly funny example of the reactions that come from the mixing of the two cultures!

Your references to magical things, both things that are familiar to us through the books and things that aren't, were also really well done. I always find it interesting to have the rest of the Wizarding world explored. JK did a fantastic job with her world-building, but even she couldn't explain everything (and literature was one of them). It's really interesting to see how magic could have affected literature - now you can write someone's biography with input from the person themself, even after they're dead!

All in all, I think that you did a fantastic job with this one-shot. Not only did you write an interesting and amusing story, but you also did it within a very short timeframe! Great work! :D

Author's Response: Alara is my main counterpoint to Snape in both of my longer fictions, you can find out what she did during the second rise in "The Gift of Severus Snape."

Rachel is a new creation, so I haven't plotted her future yet. Being Muggle-born, her options are limited, but the drama there isn't, and that may well be worth exploring. This little one-shot can be a launching point for lots of stories.

Thanks for the kind words!


 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotter Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
So usually I don't like stories where the main character is an OC but I actually enjoyed this! I thought the two girls were really funny and their excitement about William the Wandering Wizard was sweet, typical fan girls haha! The only feedback I would give is that if the girls go to Hogwarts they're probably British so would say 'mum' rather than 'mom' A very nice one shot all in all though )

Author's Response: Excellent point, can't believe I missed that.

Thanks for catching that!

Yes, they are typical fan girls. I wonder what they'll think of Gilderoy Lockhart in a few years? :-)


 Report Review

Review #23, by purplepotter77 Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
This is purplepotter775 on the forums from Ravenclaw, here for the House Cup!

I found it really interesting that this story took place soon after Voldemort fell the first time, as I've never read a story in that time period before! I think it must have been very hard for Rachel and Alara to have been first years when Voldemort was still alive and at large.

This was such a cute little one-shot. It reflected how happy people right after the first time Voldy fell, because they thought that he was gone for good. The theme of travel tied in well, and I liked how you included both Muggle and magic types of transportation. It was entertaining to see how Mrs. Adams reacts to magic and her daughter's pureblood friend who doesn't know very much about Muggle things.

The part at the end was hilarious! Poor Rachel and Alara; I'm sure they'll really (not) enjoy having Snape as their new Potions professor! :D

Author's Response: No... they're not. In my other story "The Gift of Severus Snape" we find out just how life is most definitely not good come second year potions- at least with Alara. Rachel hadn't been invented when I wrote that.

That could be an interesting story... hrm.

Thanks for the plot bunny!


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Life is Good!

12th July 2013:
This was a very interesting and original piece! I've read a couple of stories that show how muggles have to get used to doing/seeing things the magical way, but this is the first story I've read that does the opposite of that. I thought it was really great that you've got a Pureblood witch here who is really excited to learn what it's like to live like a muggle.

And you certainly thought of everything! Mrs. Adams pointed out that the rucksack would NEVER pass airport security, which is something I hadn't even thought of until I read it! That was a stroke of brilliance!

It flowed really well, and I didn't see any errors what-so-ever. Overall, a great piece! I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Thanks! It was fun to write.

 Report Review

Review #25, by bitplayr Life is Good!

8th July 2013:
Having read both of your other stories, I found it fun to see your OC in her youth, before she had to face her own version of the 'growing up magical' trials. You can see the consistency in the character, but the changes from first-year to post-war are nicely defined and somewhat dramatic.

So... what's next?

Author's Response: What's next. Good question. Rachel intrigues me, she just popped out of my head this week. After I get my current story finished I may explore her, it would give me a chance to work in some non-Hogwarts based characters, like the Weasleys, possibly Hermione or some of the folk at the Ministry of Magic.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>