Reading Reviews for Running Away
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie On the Run

13th July 2013:
This is nicely written, and a lot of fun. :)

The Black family is really, really complicated, and I feel like you did a great job of portraying that, especially at the beginning before Sirius left the house. Regulus definitely felt a bit torn to me, which I liked, because that's how I imagine he would feel; on one hand, Sirius is his brother, and it's only natural that he care about him. On the other, he's much more sympathetic to his family's way of looking at things, which means he's kind of caught between a rock and a hard place. I'd never thought about it before, but in a lot of ways, Regulus's life probably got easier after Sirius left.

I really liked the Muggles he encounters, too. They add a human element to your story that manages to stay just on this side of realistic (particularly the woman in the diner - the man was stretching it a bit, but I can suspend my disbelief), and adds a nice contrast to Sirius's family as we saw them at the beginning of the story. A stranger feeds him for free, but his mother burns him off the family tree. A stranger helps him and gives him a bike (sort of), and his mother locks him out of his Gringotts vault. It really says all you need to know about the Blacks.

My only issue was that I did feel like you could have been a bit more imaginative. This is a good story that's well-written, and you certainly fulfilled the prompt nicely, but it didn't pop - I didn't feel like you really used your creativity and delved deeper into the story, if that makes sense. I'm not saying it wasn't good or enjoyable, because it absolutely was - just that I would have liked to see a little something extra, if that makes sense.

Still, you did a good job, and I really enjoyed this!

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks for the read & review! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ShadowRose On the Run

13th July 2013:
Hello there!

I really like the focus of this story - Sirius's flight from his family.

The first scene with Regulus is really well written, in my opinion. It really shows Regulus's conflicted feelings about Sirius, because he makes all these rude comments about Gryffindor and Sirius's choice, but at the same time, he still helps Sirius and trails after him like a little puppy dog all the way until the end.

I love the caring people you placed on Sirius's trip - it really helps Sirius confirm his belief that he's doing the right thing in running away. This line, "In just one night he had experienced kindness beyond imagination from the very muggles that his parents and the rest of their society wanted to snuff out." was brilliant.

I like how you included how Sirius came across the motorbike! I can very much imagine him trying to convince himself that it was abandoned, so it was okay for him to take it. And all his thoughts about what he could do to the bike, when we all know what's going to happen to it, I loved it. :)

This was a really great description of Sirius's running-away; I can definitely envision his escape being like that! Very well-written - great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Awww schucks!! You make me blush!! Thank you so much for the read & review! I had a lot of fun writing this and am glad you enjoyed reading it!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by ohmymerlin On the Run

13th July 2013:
Hello!

I absolutely love reading Sirius running away stories, and I think you've written this one so perfectly! I can really imagine this is the way Sirius ran away! It's believable and fits with his personality from what we knew in the series!

However, before I say anything else I just want to say something. When the bike started sputtering and the man asked, "Are ya outta gas?"

Well, English people tend to use the word 'petrol'. I'm not too sure if people are starting to change over because I don't live in England, so I might be wrong, but I'm 90% sure they call it 'petrol'. :)

Anyway, I absolutely loved the way he found the motorbike. I kind of like that he stole it, it does seem a bit Sirius-y and the way he assured himself that it was abandoned and he was 'rescuing' it seemed very canon, in my opinion! I could imagine Sirius assuring himself that he didn't steal the bike, just rescued it haha! ;)

I loved the little ideas that Sirius has about the motorbike, and we know that he makes it a flying motorbike so that was great!

I also liked the way you represented Regulus and Sirius' brother relationship. It was done very brotherly, and I think that's so nice to see! Lately I've been reading a lot of Marauders things where Sirius and Regulus hate each other, but I quite like that you've made them brotherly. It's a nice change. :)

Anywho, this was a wonderful one-shot! You wrote it really well!

10/10

- Kayla. :)

Author's Response: Yea!! Thanks for such an awesome read and review! I'm glad that you liked it!

I feel kinda silly about the gas vs petrol thing! Didn't even think about it. My American ignorance is showing here I guess! LOL!

Other than that...I'm glad that you thought I was able to keep him in mostly in cannon and very glad you enjoyed reading it. It was fun to write and a refreshing challenge to step out of my comfort zone on this one!!

Thanks!
Laura


 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle On the Run

13th July 2013:
Hey!

I really loved this! I think the moment that Sirius decided to leave is a moment we all know about in canon, but actually reading about it was really interesting and enjoyable - especially the way you wrote it! I really liked seeing that Sirius and Regulus here, still acted like brothers and how you portrayed their relationship - whilst not extremely close, I could still feel some form of affection there.

I absolutely loved the way Sirius traveled from leaving his house to James' house, and particularly this: In just one night he had experienced kindness beyond imagination from the very muggles that his parents and the rest of their society wanted to snuff out. It was just such a lovely idea - I loved how caring the woman was, how helpful the gentleman was... It felt like such a sweet and happy story even though you'd have expected it to be sad since Sirius had technically run away from home, but it was great seeing Sirius experience the world outside of his family. Really well written :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2013 Ravenclaw

Author's Response: AW!!! Thanks so much for such a great review! This completely made my day! I'm so glad you liked it and very much appreciate your kind words!! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Siriuslover177 On the Run

13th July 2013:
Goodness, this almost brought me to tears!
Very, very well written story.
I love how he met the two muggles who helped him out. It was so sweet, because they knew he was in need, and was steeling, yet they didn't care.
And at the end, with him and James. Just so heart-wrenching.
I really, really enjoyed it(:

~Sarah

Author's Response: Yea!! Thanks so much for the read & review!! I'm so glad you liked it! I had a lot of fun writing this and stepping out of my comfort zone to do so. Can't wait too see what next year's HC theme will be!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Roots in Water On the Run

12th July 2013:
Hello there!

Ah- so it's the first appearance of the infamous motorcycle! Haha- I like this version of how he comes across it.

I enjoyed reading this story. I think that you did a good job with Sirius' characterization as well as his run from Grimmauld Palace. You could definitely see why he ran here (not that the reasoning behind his decision to run was ever in question) and it makes sense that a huge fight was the event to spark his running. It's actually quite sad how quickly his mother acted against him in ensuring his separation from the family name.

I think that it was a really good choice to include Sirius' encounters with the Muggles during his journey, for, as you wrote, they cemented his idea that he had made the right choice. Imagine if he had met a rude Muggle though... Although I doubt he would have changed his mind, it would have put an unnecessary damper on his journey to James' house.

I do have a question, though: what was the diner doing open at 2:00 am, if my math serves me correctly? That's either awfully late or awfully early for a diner to be open...

The manner in which you have portrayed the relationship between Sirius and Regulus is different than what I have in my mind, though no less good for that fact. I'd always imagined that they were less friendly with each other, more resentful of the other's views and life decisions, though below it would remain an element of the affection they once carried for each other. However, their relationship certainly wasn't the focus of this story and you did well with the little appearance Regulus made in this story.

All in all, I think that you did well with this story. Everything flowed together smoothly and it was an enjoyable read. Good work! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the read and review! I'm glad you liked this. I had a lot of fun writing it! The bike thing just kinda came to me as I was writing and I fell in love with the idea!

As far as the diner...I must admit to knowing NOTHING about London or any other country outside of the US (I know...very ignorant) but does the UK not have all-night diners? I know we do here, but if they don't over there then I messed up with that one. LOL!

With Regulus...I always imagined them to be on an amiable level at least until Reg joined the Death Eaters. Like their relationship was on some sort of slippery slope sliding slowly into a vague dislike.

Thanks so much again for reading and sharing your insight!


 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyEPotter On the Run

12th July 2013:
Hi! Here for the House Cup review!

This is a very nice story about Sirius finding his way to the Potters' house. I hadn't considered how difficult it would have been for Sirius to get there without using any magic. It was also very nice of the lady at the diner and the pastor to help Sirius out when it was so plainly evident that he needed the help.

Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the read & review! I'm glad you liked this piece. I was pretty unsure about writing a marauder story since I have never done so before, but I'm so glad that I did. I liked the way it came out!

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan On the Run

12th July 2013:
I loved this! Sirius is probably my favourite character from the series and I like the way you portrayed him here. I love that he and Regulus are still on civil terms, and that Regulus is clearly concerned about Sirius running away. Your explanation of why all Sirius's Gryffindor things remained on the wall was great!

I think it was perfectly fitting that Sirius got help from Muggles as well, and how that reinforced that he'd made the right decision to run away. And the man who gave him a lift - if I'm not wrong, he was the one Sirius stole the bike from! I thought that was a nice addition haha.

Great job!!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! This was my first time writing about Sirius and I was pretty nervous about it. I always had it in my head that Sirius and Regulus were as civil as could be, at least at first. I think they may have had a falling out later, but I wanna think, even if just in my own little world, that Sirius always had a soft spot in his heart for his little brother.

I hadn't planned on incorporating muggles into the story, but I admit that they kinda worked themselves in pretty well. And yes...the man who gave him a ride was the owner of the bike! :)
Thanks a bunch for the read and review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LittleLionGirl On the Run

12th July 2013:
Wow. That was an amazing runaway story I have got to tell you. I am glad in a way to wee he didn't meet any harm along the way. It was also a cool and unique way to introduce his flying motor bike:)
XOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Thanks!! I had a lot of fun writing this one! My first time writing anything Marauder Era so I'm glad it came off well!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoy On the Run

12th July 2013:
Wow. This is such a lovely one-shot, dear!

I've never read a story about the night Sirius ran away from home, so this was a very original idea! And I like the scene between Sirius and Regulus! You can tell Regulus doesn't like what Sirius does/thinks, but they're still cordial to one another. They're still brothers, after all!

Honestly, as Sirius was dragging his trunk through the streets of London, he reminded me of Harry when he ran away from home after blowing up Aunt Marge. It's nice to see how much the two of them had in common!

I really loved how you tied in Sirius' certainty about his decision with the two, really nice muggles. And I had a feeling that the old man in the truck was the owner of that bike!! I couldn't help but smile when I read that; he was certainly very nice to someone who'd just lifted something from him! In Sirius' defense, though, it didn't seem that he used it much anymore... :P

The ending was great, too. I really loved how Sirius said he knew he was at home when he saw James' smiling face, and it was nice to see how he came to be in possession of the bike as well!

Great job!

Author's Response: Awww! Thanks for the review. I have always considered how Sirius and Regulus would interact towards each other and just could not think that they would be anything but brotherly. At least not until Regulus officially joins the DE. But even then I just imagine Sirius to be more sad for him for allowing himself to be brainwashed by their parents than anything else.

I am glad you picked up on the bike belonging to the old man. I wasn't sure if that would come across when read so I was glad for it!!

Thanks so much!
-Laura


 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotter On the Run

12th July 2013:
Aww, this was such a sweet story! I loved the awkward goodbye between him and Regulus. The scorched tapestry was a really nice touch, I've always wondered the circumstances which led to it. I love the muggle interactions he has and how the reaffirm that the choice he has made is the right one. I particularly liked how you worked in his motorbike! The wordless greeting from James was the perfect ending too. A lovely one-shot all in all :)

Author's Response: Aww thanks! I kind of wanted to keep things civil between Regulus and Sirius as I really don't imagine they were particularly cruel to one another. At least not outwardly until Regulus "crossed over".

I worked the greeting with James in because I figured that such best friends they would have discussed this possibility at great length prior to Sirius actually doing it. While I don't think it was planned out as far as when or how, I imagine James offering his house out as a refuge as Sirius complained about his home life!

Thanks for the great review!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by academica On the Run

8th July 2013:
Hello again, stopping by from Review Tag!

I really loved your characterization of Sirius here. It's clear that he's been raised to be suspicious of Muggles and it was nice that he learned to discard that so quickly on his journey to James's house. It was nice to see that he wasn't just perfectly innocent, though--he almost ran out on his bill and then he stole the bike from the barn. I liked that, too, because you kept his mischievous attitude and the fact that he's not a perfectly angelic character.

I also liked the beginning of the chapter, where you showed him interacting with Regulus. I've spent a lot of time writing them in one of my novels, Post Scriptum, and I tend to make their relationship really complex. But I liked your take on it, where they sort of interact normally despite the chaos going on around Sirius running away. I guess I would have liked to see a little more in terms of their final exchange when Sirius really left with his bags, but maybe that's a stylistic choice.

Anyway, yeah, this was cool. I liked how you incorporated the theme while going a little deeper in terms of the message the plot actually sends.

♥ Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

This was actually my first attempt at writing anything about the marauder's so I was actually pretty nervous about it! I was really trying to not dive too deeply into the Regulus/Sirius in this story (mainly because I have another story about them brewing in my mind) but also because I guess I didn't think of Sirius leaving as being a goodbye to Regulus. I figure they would probably see each other at school or still communicate in some way despite Sirius leaving. (At least until Regulus makes the choice to join the Death Eaters anyway!)

Glad you liked it!!



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login