10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Harry and Ginny Misunderstandings and Mistakes

28th October 2013:
another great chapter Bee! I found funny when Poppy was jealous of Holly when she though that Garrett was on a date, when he was just with his sister! and I liked how you ended the chapter with a bit of mystery!!! can't wait to read more!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

 Report Review

Review #2, by Harry and Ginny Here to Work

28th August 2013:
another great chapter Bee! I'm liking reading Poppy's new life and I liked how this chapter ended with a cliffhanger! I do wonder what did Garrett's dog Rosie saw, but I can't wait to read more!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked the little cliffhanger I left at the end. As to what Rosie saw, you shall find out in future chapters ;) I can't give too much away right away. I hope you continue to read the story, and I appreciate your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MissesWeasley123 Only the Beginning

28th August 2013:
Hello!

Poppy Pomfrey. I love minor characters. You just wrote this so beautifully.. Gah, I'll actually write something relevant now. Or at least try...

I absolutely adored the way you began this. With Harry and Poppy. Dear me, it sounds so weird to call her Poppy. Anyways, the duo have always had a special connection - Harry ends up in the wing far too often. I never expected this beginning so it totally sucked me into the story. Well done on that!

I love the flashback. I think it'll be fun to get to know her more as the story goes along, though I have a shrewd idea as to why the full moon makes her so restless.

This Garrett man seems so handsome and dreamy... I bet he is. Again, something tells me he won't be that way forever. *sigh* Why must you do these cruel things to your characters!

Ah, well. I can't wait to continue reading and am totally hoping nothing bad happens.. though my all around pessimistic mind tells me different. As for CC, I think you missed a quotation mark in the beginning, so you could fix that when you have them time. Otherwise it was perfect!

Author's Response: Thanks dear! I'm glad you liked the beginning flashback (I liked writing that bit and it seemed perfect for an opening). Minor characters are absolutely my favorites to write (most of my fics are of minor characters or lesser used characters). I'm glad I was able to suck you into this fic. Garrett is definitely one dreamy man (at least he is in my head haha). And what makes you think he won't be that way forever? ;) I'm sure you caught on to the hint in the chapter ;) I missed a quote mark? Thanks for telling me so I can fix that! And thank you for reviewing! I appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by atellam Here to Work

28th August 2013:
I'm going to sound like a broken record, but some more description could have really added to this chapter, as well as upping the word count. I know we'll see more of her later, but I have no idea what Holly looks like, or anything to do with Terrance other than his arm was hurt. Obviously, no body wants to be that person who spends three paragraphs describing a dress, but slipping in description is easy. "The two walked to the front door, Holly's shoes click-clacking as she crossed the patio, the sound largely drowned out by their laughter. Neither were aware of the dark shadow passing from the far hedge to the trees as they made their way inside. Rosie barked at the movement, her small yap filling the otherwise empty garden, until a maid came rushing out of the house to pull the small terrier inside by the collar least she disturb the master." Not that that's perfect or anything, but see how just adding in some of that description helped make the whole thing longer, as well as also adding to the overall flow of the story? Anyway, that's just my two cents. I love what you're doing regardless, but yeah.

Keep up the awesome work, and I'll be on the lookout for an update!

- A. :)

Author's Response: Broken records are fine dear, I appreciate any advice. This chapter was quickly whipped up (I regret it looking back now) because I'm going to college and I wouldn't be able to update for a few days and I'd already waited over a month to write a decent chapter. I'm glad you liked that last bit. It was one of my favorite parts with the little dog seeing something the other characters were unaware of. I'll include more description of Holly. I realize now I didn't do that before. lol. Thanks for your advice and your help! It only helps me write a better fic and become a better writer! :) Thanks for reading and I'll update in a few days (probably in the first week or two of September). :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by atellam Pureblood and Posh

28th August 2013:
I wonder why Garrett went all cold when he dropped her off? I suppose we'll just have to wait and see! And this is far from the Poppy we know and love from Hogwarts. Such an excellent opportunity for character development! ^_^ And werewolves! Oh my!

Again, I know this is your first time writing in third person, and you're doing brilliantly, but more description would really improve the flow in my opinion. And I'm not trying to sound harsh, or picky, because I know how much easier it is to get emotions across from a first person point of view, but just remember to SHOW us how Poppy feels, not just tell us. 'She felt sick with nerves' isnt anywhere near as effective as 'her stomach rolled as she picked up the scalpel, her hand shaking as she realized she was way out of her depth.' Does that make sense? Again, sorry if I sound mean or picky. It's not my intention - I'm just pointing out areas and methods you might try in order to strengthen your writing and the story. :)

Keep up the awesome work!

Author's Response: I love developing minor characters. They're my favorites to work with actually so I'm excited to see how Poppy develops throughout. Eeek yes, first time in 3rd person and it scares me a little to add too much description but if you think that's what this needs more of, I'll gladly try to include it! I'm very open to advice at this point as it's still early on in the fic. Thank you for your suggestions as well as your reviews! I hope you continue reading!

 Report Review

Review #6, by atellam Only the Beginning

28th August 2013:
I love stories about Madam Pomfrey, and this one certainly looks promising. Lots of set up here and I can't wait to see where it goes. Some of your (I'm going to call them sections because I don't know how else to refer to the different time periods you've broken up the chapter with) are a bit brief though, and I think you could flesh them out some more with description. It might help the flow of the whole chapter if you did. I found some of the sections quite jumpy, although maybe that was just me. The story reads fine as is, but just food for thought. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! I'm thrilled you like Madame Pomfrey as much as I do. I love minor characters and I jumped at the idea I had spinning around in my head to write her story. Some sections are a tad brief, but that's only because I'm switching from place to place (like from hospital to estate etc). However, I will take your advice to consideration and I shall work on that in the upcoming chapters! :) Thanks for the advice and thoughts!

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Here to Work

28th August 2013:
Hello! found this in the recently added and I have to say it was that lovely banner that drew me in, as I'm a huge fan of Downton Abbey, lol. Anyway, onto the actual review. This is such a great idea for a story. I love minor characters and it's wonderful to see a back story for Madam Pomfrey - who, although she has minimal mention in the books, is pretty important (because seriously, how many times did Harry get a Quidditch injury?!) I'm really intrigued by the werewolf plot and I love how you've tied it in with the second world war - I'm assuming Grindelwald will come into the story as well, since he was around the same time. So, minor character and a neat historical setting makes for a really great story! I'm enjoying this so much! Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: aw thank you! I am thrilled you liked the banner - i am an avid fan of Downton Abbey too, and Sybill actually inspired me to write about Madame Pomfrey. I love minor characters, they are my absolute favorite to write about. Werewolves bring an interesting quality to the story and I'm hoping to include Grindelwald at some point in this fic, I just need to find an appropriate way to tie him in. I am thrilled you are enjoying the story! Thank you so much for reading! I really appreciate your review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Harry and Ginny Pureblood and Posh

19th July 2013:
another great chapter Bee! loving how you described everything, including how Garrett acted when he left Poppy at the hospital and all the conversations between all the people, once they saw Poppy. can't wait to read the next chapter!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: Thanks hun! I'm thrilled you liked it! I'm working on updating another fic then i'll do this one. I've been so busy lately that my writing time is slacking. lol. thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Gryfindor Only the Beginning

14th July 2013:
This is a lovely story so far, Sarah! It's fantastic to see someone writing about Poppy's history and of course a period piece like this is always a treat to find. It was the banner that caught my eye when I was scrolling through the recently added list - it's absolutely gorgeous! - but then I saw your name and knew I had to take a look. :D

It doesn't sound as though you've never written in third-person before. The narrative flows nicely and has a strong narrative voice to it, offering snippets of Poppy's thoughts while also allowing readers to see her from a distance. For instance, when you make reference to the werewolf, but then add that Poppy was too occupied with her own thoughts to really pay attention - that was an excellent little moment to include. It's just enough foreshadowing to pique the reader's curiosity, and it also reveals a bit about Poppy's personality, especially her youthful excitement. You also reveal her naivety in this way and it's really effective. One of the challenges of 3rd versus 1st person is that one can fall into doing too much "telling" as opposed to "showing", and you overcome that hurdle in a way that looks effortless.

I'm excited to hear more about Poppy's history and also to see more of magical England in the 1940s. There are a lot going on with the war and the bombings - Poppy will certainly have her hands full at the hospital, with a lot more than paper cuts and stomach aches too! It's wonderful to read something of yours, Sarah, and I hope that you continue writing this story - I'll have my eye out for an update! ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you Susan! I about died of a heart attack seeing a review from you! ^_^ I'm so honored because you are such a wonderful writer. Ah yes, the banner is one I made actually. I don't often make graphics anymore so it was fun to do one. You have got me blushing hysterically, Susan!

Well I'm glad it doesn't sound like I've never written in 3rd person before because I was worried it would sound awful. I haven't written a good story in 3rd person in a very long time so this was a challenge.

I'm thrilled you like the story so far. This is probably one of my better recent ones that I've written. I hope Poppy doesn't become too cliche or annoying later on. and thank you for the tip, I'll keep that in mind when I'm writing.

I love writing about lesser known characters that we don't often hear about. I guess that gives me more creative freedom when I write. The 1940s are my favorite era, and I am very fond of Downton Abbey so that was also a little inspiration. I will definitely keep writing! Thank you for your lovely review, Susan! It's definitely given me the push to crank out another chapter. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Harry and Ginny Only the Beginning

11th July 2013:
great start for this fic Bee! if you have never written in 3rd person, I have to say that I'm very impressed because you are an expert! I don't usually read fics like this but I can't wait to read more!^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

Author's Response: aw thanks hon! I am glad you like it so far! I was worried it'd be cliche... and writing in 3rd person is hard but I think it suits the story. let me know if you catch any "I's" in it later on lol thanks for reading!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login