Reading Reviews for Beat It
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RICH_AS_GRINGOTTS~£0000 The Press Conference

26th May 2015:
Yay they can finally start dating in public.if the match doesnt go wrong :-[
I dont remember Sian coming in your other stories about Abigail and James.I have to go read that again
Is Abigail going to come in this story?
Theres been so many references towards her.
Great chapter O:-)
Update soon please

 Report Review

Review #2, by James101 The Press Conference

26th May 2015:
This story is coming together so nicely
I loved the press conference and i cant wait for the upcoming match.maybe Roxanne will break Jasons arm again ;)
Cant wait for more chapters!!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Shadowkat Do you want to put a bet on that?

11th May 2015:
Scratch that, you already read my second chapter...but I'm reading more of this now.

Author's Response: Haha Thanks :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Shadowkat The morning after

11th May 2015:
I'm liking this so far, though I noticed some errors with this one. In a few places you missed some words, and in others you missed some punctuation. I would copy and paste those parts...but I'm kinda on my hidden device. I have to take my phone down by eight, and this is supposed to be broken. The acre is, at least, and it won't let me copy and paste some stuff. But it let's me read and review, so yay!

Thanks for the double review swap! Can't wait to hear what you think of my second chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Shadowkat Beat It

11th May 2015:
Interesting start to say the least. I haven't read many quiddich related stories yet, but maybe I'll start!

This read smoothly, and had a really nice feel to it. It wasn't rushed or sloppy, not too descriptive but still painting a nice picture. Already we're getting a feel for personalities and sensing potential conflict. All in all, well done! Off to read the promised second chapter!

 Report Review

Review #6, by bittersweetflames Beat It

11th May 2015:
TAMMI!

Here for our swap! :)

Ok, ok… I love Quidditch-centric stories! They just scare me (to write) but I love them (to read). hehe

Anyway, I love how you set up this chapter. You gave us a lot of information without overwhelming us with too many names or facts. And you also set up the rest of the novel in a way that makes the reader not only want to know what happens next but also what's going to happen between Jason and Rozanne! :)

The interaction between Jason and Roxanne was so funny. It puts to mind, "the lady doth protest too much, methinks." She basically thinks that he's gorgeous but she goes out of her way to make it seem like she doesn't. I get the whole fact about the team rivalries. I THINK it's a blooming great idea! BAHAHAHA. -chuckles evilly-

Lastly, Violet seems like SUCH a cool person. :) Then again, she plays seeker and I always think that there's something about seekers.. They have this sort of aura and Violet definitely has it. :D

Can't wait to read more, hunny. Thanks for the swap! :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire Evergreen Beat It

11th May 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap!

So ever since I read one fic with Roxanne as a main character, I have been in love with her and I already love your version of her! I love that you've thrown in more traditional "girly" things with a strong Beater. It's becoming much less common now to make the two mutually exclusive, but I still feel like I should point it out. Either way, I still love Roxanne. She seems like the kind of person who wouldn't take crap from anyone, but still has a softer side that will probably come out at some point.

Violet is fantastic. No matter who you are, you always need a friend like her. I'm already excited to see what happens with her as the story goes on. At least from this, she seems like she'll be a great friend to Roxanne and I already am in love with her (being a Seeker does help a bit too :P)

Not gonna lie, I was getting a bit of a Romeo and Juliet vibe from Roxanne and Jason, but I'm not sure how I feel about that. I don't care how attractive his body is, his personality absolutely sucks. He seems like the typical jerk whose Qudditch skills have gone to his head and Roxanne should most certainly run for the hills and never go near that even if they're the last two people on earth...yeah, I really don't like him, can you tell? :P

I'm all about a story about Qudditch with Roxanne as the main character, so you can be sure that I will be back!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotter Beat It

11th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I absolutely loved this. I don't read many stories that focus on Roxanne, so I always think it's interesting to read the different ways that she's written. I love how you've characterized her. She's sassy and confident and knows what she wants. I also adore the fact that even though she's a professional Quidditch player, she's still really feminine and likes getting dressed up. I feel like a lot of stories that include female professional Quidditch players make sports and femininity mutually exclusive, so having the two come together in a character is really refreshing!
Violet was hilarious, too. I love the way she and Roxanne act together, and can tell that they're really good friends, even from just one chapter. I love her name, too!
Jason Turner is quite the flirt! But I agree with Roxanne; his pick-up lines were really bad. I think you've set up his and Roxanne's future interactions really well in this chapter. I wonder what will happen when they actually play each other in Quidditch?
This was an awesome opening! I think I'll have to come back to this soon to see what happens next! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by SincerelyFrance Cody McIntyre

10th May 2015:
Hi! I've been reading the Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy. So I was reading this chapter when..IT SAID THAT ABIGAIL AND JAMES HAVEN'T SPOKEN TO EACH OTHER IN YEARS?? I MEAN, I completely spoilt it for myself seeing as Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy isn't complete. I was so sure they'd at least keep in contact even thought she possibly moved to America for her comic book career. And WILLIAM?? Where has he gone?? Geez, this chapter gave me heart palpitations. I'm pretty sure my heart combusted out into epic proportions of insanity. Really. If you could find the time to reply back, could you please maybe explain to me a few things? I might go insane. (Oh and I absolutely love love love love your work!)

Author's Response: Awww thank you!! This is told from the opinion of Roxanne, so she assumes that James hasn't spoken to Abigail in a while. I can assure you that he sees her, and William is still around! Don't you worry!! I can explain anything you want! Send me a message on the forum or on here that's fine. Thank you so so much for reading and reviewing! I absolutely love love you!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by LittleMissAutumn The Press Conference

5th May 2015:
Ahhh I just read your story and I love Roxanne and Jason together! Poor James though! I don't think he's dead. Like his friend said, he would know if something had happened and James had apologised to her when she was in the hospital. I think he faked his death so the bad guys could get caught. I can't wait to read the next chapter and see how Roxanne and Jason's relationship grows! They're so cute and their relationship is steamy...I approve. ;) hehe. And Winston stole my heart.

Update soon please! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #11, by RICH_AS_GRINGOTTS~£0000 Never Can Say Goodbye

2nd May 2015:
Whoa.
This story is amazing.
Honestly i just read it all in 2 hours.
#TeamJaxy
TeamJox?
TeamRacy?
#TeamQuidditch
UPDATE SOON PLEASE :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Wow! That's a lot of reading! I'm so glad that you stuck with the story, the next chapter is up and more are coming!

o I like all of those names!
TeamJaxy sounds good! :D

More is coming soon! Thank you! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by TreacleTart Beat It

10th March 2015:
Hi alicia and anne,

A bit ago you and I swapped reviews. I read your prologue for The Unspeakables, but I felt bad because I didn't realize it was so short until I was about halfway through. In your author's notes you mentioned that it was linked to this story, so I thought I would check it out as well.

I really like the way you've written Roxanne Weasley. She has a bit of sassiness and cleverness to her. The way she handles Jason seemed very natural. The banter between them was just right.

I also like how you've built the dynamic for a Romeo and Juliet type story. Jason and Roxanne are on two opposing teams. Not only that, but their teams are bitter rivals. At even the hint of interest, Roxanne is quickly reminded not to get involved because of the team rivalry.

I do have a bit of a critique in regards to grammar.

In several cases you use "I'll" incorrectly. An example of this is "“Do you think that I’ll be sitting with them when there’s an attractive woman at the bar?” Jason asked with a smirk I think it should be “Do you think that I would be sitting with them….”

You have missing apostrophes. An example of this is "Roxanne gave a laugh at her friends comment," It should read “Friend’s comment”.

In this sentence you wrote "There wasn’t a week that went passed where Jason" It should be either “week that passed” or “week that went past”

You wrote "relationship between the two is going to be anything but a mistake" I think this should say "between you two"

You wrote "“I’m not denying that he’s not nice to look at” The double negatives make it sound as if she thinks he is unattractive. It should read "I'm not denying that he's nice to looks at."

You wrote "handle himself if one of them tried to start and argument or a fight with him" I think this was just a typo, but it should say "start AN argument"

Overall, I really enjoyed the start of this story and am just nitpicking at details. I think you have a well developed character and the potential for a very interesting story line.

I'm looking forward to reading more!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #13, by james101 Never Can Say Goodbye

25th February 2015:
Whoa...2 chapters in 2 days.You have my congrats.

Moving on im fairly sure that james is not dead since William was adamant about it...Also because James is/was a powerful wizard since he's an unspeakable and therefore must have done the spell with William correctly even though they were in 7th year and drunk.

Jason was an absolutely brilliant guy for Roxanne;even Dominique seemed to think so.

The kids were all adorable sice half of them gave Jason a fistbump.So nice touch there...

I really do hate Leanne Walsh.Enough said on her?

It was incredible when at the end Albus and Fred repaired their broken relationship with a hug.Nice little bromance going on there.Hopefully there'll be more scenes on the 2 of them just hanging out instead of avoiding eachother.They are after all cousins.I can honestly say that I thought Albus would start yelling at Fred in front of Lee,the other kids and the rest of the family but it didn't really turn out that way,did it?

Overall it was a little sad with Roxanne,Lily,Harry,Ron and a few other people being upset but it was still brillaint...

NICE JOB (::) (::) ; D

 Report Review

Review #14, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Never Can Say Goodbye

22nd February 2015:
Okay. First of all, I have a lot of feelings right now. Two, I know too much about your characters. For both reasons, this review will probably be really small.

BUT OH MY GOD, SUCH SADNESS. ;(

I'd never wear that dress again if I was Roxanne. Too many memories. I'd cry every time I thought of James.

Aww, look at Jason. Being there for Roxanne, even going to the house and looking after the kids. No one can deny their love now.

*AVOIDS ALL THE THINGS IN THE MIDDLE THAT SAM CANT TALK ABOUT AND BE HAPPY*

Henry is so adorable. As is Lee. All the kids are.

UNCLE JASON! AHHH!!! *loves*

I'm still sad, but also a little happy. And I'll take the chocolates of forgiveness now.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #15, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Hugo

22nd February 2015:
Richard needs to pay. And Hugo needs to wake up. Please wake him up. :(

I'm so proud of him for saving Scorpius. Wish it had ended differently, though. I hope Scorpius is okay.

I miss James. He's barely gone and I miss him so much. *huggles James*

Poor Roxanne. But at least she has Jason. And she does have him now, there is nothing she or anyone can say that will take him away from her. They're together forever and ever and ever.

Roxanne and Jason and Winston a happy family of three. At least until they get their Quidditch team of kids.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #16, by TheHeirOfSlytherin What happened?

22nd February 2015:
Oh, thank God she's alright. I almost had a heart attack, thinking the worse. But she's fine, Jason's fine. Everyone had better be -

HUGO!!! ;(

No. Just no. No. No. No. I refuse to believe you. No.

No one else, though... right. You haven't taken someone else away from me.

JAMES!!! *cries*

I do not accept your chocolates of forgiveness. I must go away and cry now...

I love this story, I do. It's awesome and brilliant and any other words you wanna use. But there's only so much pain a Sam can take.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #17, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Wasps v Arrows

22nd February 2015:
Rituals and traditions are important. Silly right now, considering the threat they're under, but I understand Roxanne's need to go for her walk and right now I'm thinking she should go. Yes. Let her go...

BECAUSE WHO IS THAT LOOKING FOR HER? JASON, THATS WHO.

Aww, finally! She knows it isn't true and now they get it on. (Totally did not since that last bit in the style of Hot Chocolate's You Sexy Thing... much.)

Look at them. Just can't keep their hands off each other. :D

Uh oh. She gots a bad look.

And now for the game. Where all the bad things will happen because they have to pretend they don't like each other.

WHAT? NO! Not the fighting. Screaming. RUN GUYS. ;(

By golly, you sure do know how to make me sad.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #18, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Article

22nd February 2015:
Aww, Violet. I hope they get the guy who's been a stalking it. She's too awesome to be so scared of being alone. I'll beat the guy up with Jerome. *cracks knuckles*

Roxanne needs to tell Violet about Jason. They're best friends, she'll understand.

NO. NO, HE DID NOT USE YOU AND THEN CHEAT ON YOU WITH SOME OTHER WOMAN. NO, ROXANNE. YOU KNOW BETTER THAN TO LISTEN TO THE MEDIA. SILLY BILLY.

I don't want her to hurt him. I want her to marry him and have a Quidditch team of kids.

I wish she hadn't thrown his letters away.

Oh, James. Don't say good bye. ;(

I'm both sad and happy right now.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ada Hugo

21st February 2015:
I love Hermione's faith in Hugo's recovery.
I'm glad to see Roxanne feeling safe and cared with Jason ...and Winston. That dog is so cute!

Author's Response: Hermione has a lot of faith in Hugo, he's going to need it.
Winston is so adorable! I want him for myself! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Ada Never Can Say Goodbye

21st February 2015:
WOW - Thank you- 2 new chapters.This is awesome!!!
You did make me cry a little bit, but I hope that James is not gone, for two reasons:
- Abigail was not there
- William ( James' s blood brother) did not feel it.
As always, Jason is sooo cute and nice; I love when he said that Roxanne will do fine giving birth to their kids. :)
Also that he admitted that he have fallen so much in love with her.
Update soon, if you can, just because this is such a nice story!

Author's Response: You are welcome! More chapters will be coming soon!
Aw *hugs* Please don't cry! I'm sorry!
Mm you're the only one that's noticed these things, whether you're right? You shall find out soon.

I do love writing Jason, him and Roxanne are so much fun to write together.

More is coming!! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by james101 What happened?

13th February 2015:
Update soon please. ;D Oh and i read the other story about James and it had a brilliant first chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I'm so glad that you liked it. I am just trying to sort out my plans and then I can update, I'm hoping that it won't be too long a wait.

 Report Review

Review #22, by James101 What happened?

26th January 2015:
Roxanne said in the other chapter that james sounded like he was saying goodbye.
Maybe this is some elaborate ploy that has something to do with the mysterious job he has.
I cant wait for the seperate story about james ; )
Thanks for replying in good time!

Author's Response: Yep! Is it an elaborate ploy to do with his job? It may very well be, it also may not... :P The James story is already up! It's called The Unspeakable and it's on my page.

Thank you James101!


 Report Review

Review #23, by James101 What happened?

25th January 2015:
Oh no poor james.
why did he die
please upadate soon #desperate

Author's Response: I'm so mean! But did he? Did he not? Updates will be soon! Thank you so much James101!

 Report Review

Review #24, by AdinaPuff What happened?

23rd January 2015:
OMG OMG OMG TAMMI YOU DIDN'T

Ugh. I know this has something to do with James's job, I knew that for a while. But ugh this confirmed it I think and just it's so sad.

Thank goodness for Sydney. He's my new hero. Just saying.

It was nice to see Fred concerned about Roxxie. I mean yes he is her brother but they fight a lot and that doesn't mean that they care but it's nice to see a softer side.

Poor Jason not being able to rush over and help her and make sure she's okay. And then having to be quiet about coming to the hospital.

Oh poor Hugo. I hope he gets out of his coma.

WAIT WAIT WAIT

Isn't this story connected to The Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy (which I REALLY need to catch up on)?! DOES THAT MEAN THAT ABIGAIL IS GOING TO HAVE TO DEAL WITH JAMES BEING GONE?! I mean I don't know what their relationship is like at this point but ugh it's so sad. Poor Roxxie and the whole family oh my gosh. I just can't handle the feels.

I find comfort in your A/N though. It's not how it seems? I certainly hope not. I love James omg no.

Okay great chapter as always! :D

-Leigh xxx

Author's Response: I'M SORRY LEIGH!!! BUT I DID!! I'm a terrible person!

Yep, it's to do with James' job and I'm sad too.

Yes! It's a good thing that Sydney was there otherwise Roxanne would probably have hurt herself beyond help. He's my hero too :D We should give him a knighthood.

Fred, although is a massive jerk at times, does love his sister a lot, even if they do fight all the time.

Jason could only watch from a distance, so it's good that his best friend Sydney was there to save the love of his life. If only the ban wasn't there, they would be able to see each other without fear of repurcussions.

I'm just being mean to everyone in this chapter, absolutely everyone!

IT IS CONNECTED!!! :D As for that question. I shall not say! haha :D So many feels!

Thank you so much Leigh! You're awesome! *squishes you so tightly*


 Report Review

Review #25, by fangirlfanatic Wasps v Arrows

20th January 2015:
I am so mad at you right now... Really? A cliffhanger? And a juicy one at that. Love the chemistry between Roxanne and Jason, he said the l... Word :)

Author's Response: I'm sorry! Please don't be too mad at me :P Oh yes! Jason said the L word
I'm writing the next chapter as we speak! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>