Reading Reviews for The Broken Butterfly
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomwriter The Broken Butterfly

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review: Educational Decree Number Five

Hello! This was a really nice one-shot. Despite how sad it was throughout, the ending really made it hopeful and gave it a more uplifting feel. I like how it left the reader feeling a little more positive than when how it began. Co is one of the truly annoying characters and to see her analysed and understood so well was a really nice change from how she's usually pirtrayed. Her concerns make more sense now :) And it's easier to understand her emotions. I like how it was hermione who helped her. A nice full-circle thing. The idea of the butterfly was also nice! Good writing, nice story :)

Author's Response: Hey randomwriter! To be honest I dislike Cho as well but I wanted to do something personally eye-opening and well a creative way to cope with some things. The butterfly stuff sort of all meshed in the oddest ways possible since the challenge was written for BrokenButterfly and that's really what Cho was. Thank you for reviewing!
XOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore The Broken Butterfly

9th July 2014:
Hello there! I'm here reviewing stories in the house cup which feature a reference to the upsetting events of last year!

I think that you captured Cho's character very well. I really like your portrayal of her and I'm glad that you chose to write the fact that she found Cedric's death really hard to deal with once she found out all of the things that were being said about it, like the fact that Voldemort was meant to be involved but nobody really knew what had happened. You captured her grief really well and also I liked the mention of all the other worries she had like what her parents were saying and the Ministry and Umbridge too. That was a great touch. I liked the fact that you included Hermione at the end as well which was quite unusual but a really nice twist on the story and I enjoyed reading it a lot!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review Educational Decree #5

Author's Response: Hey there Sian! I am really glad I portrayed Cho well- mostly because I disliked her as a character. I kind of took it and wrote like what Hermione saw in defending Cho (and how could she not know without some background information right?) I hope I won't be too late to rejoin the HC. The iPod hasn't been working with the site well and my cord has been taken... So I have only seen a few updates... Thanks for stopping by!

XOXOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane The Broken Butterfly

4th August 2013:
Hmm, I generally have a prejudice against Harry Potter fanfictions with self-harm in them. I'm not sure why. It just often doesn't seem to completely fit. Cho, however, is a character I think it could be made to work for, perhaps because we don't know her as well as the main characters and don't really know what her manner of dealing with trauma is likely to be. I find it very hard to imagine some of the other characters dealing with things that way.

I like how you describe the feelings she's been experiencing since Cedric's death.

I also like the way she talks about how the more she wants to talk about these things the less anybody wants to listen. I did feel sorry for Cho in Order of the Phoenix and it did rather seem as if she was short of people to turn to. Teenagers aren't always the best at dealing with other people's grief. I know I wasn't. Even at college (or university if you're British or Australian or anything), I was of the opinion the easiest thing to do was avoid the subject when somebody had a problem.

It must be really hard for kids at boarding school to go through a trauma and not have their parents to turn to, particularly at Hogwarts, where they can't even phone. They can write, of course, but I don't think that's quite the same thing.

And I can imagine how she feels in a quandry - trying to be loyal to her parents and to Cedric's memory, when she knows they are working for people who are lying about the causes of his death.

I like the fact that it's Hermione who tries to help her and I also like the way things aren't solved simply at the end of the story.

All in all, an excellent story, giving a nice insight into Cho. I really like it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I know what you mean; sometimes the things people add into their stories doesn't make a lot of sense which was why I was hesitant to add it at first. This was a challenge for me because I wanted to write something about Cho whom I am not a big fan of. I know people who talk about their problems to the point of pushing others away so I thought that would be realistic to add. I am glad you liked my story and how real I did try to make it :)
XOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan The Broken Butterfly

28th July 2013:
Hello, here for our review swap! Had to pick this one as we competed in the same challenge together! :)

First of all I like that you wrote about Cho Chang. She's kind of a one-dimensional "human hosepipe" in OotP and you brought life to her character here, and I really felt for her. I'd never actually considered just how much she had to go through that year, and how hard it must have been for her. You've captured her despair quite wonderfully.

I think it said a lot about Cho's desperation that she told Hermione everything, given that she was quite irritated with Hermione in the first place because Harry liked her (so she thought). So I think the choice of character you had her confide in was really good.

I like the butterfly challenge idea too. And I thought it was realistic that despite Hermione's best efforts it didn't do anything to help Cho. It's sad, but of course it wouldn't be as easy as that. You did a lovely job on this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I tried to add some depth to a 1-D character. I felt as if I could relate in a way because that is how my life is in a way- a bunch of small things that end up feeling like a mountain.

I liked having Cho talk to Hermione because in the book Hermione knows a lot about what is going on when she reasons with Harry that he was insensitive to Cho. I figured she would've talked to Cho to know so much.

My friend and I were talking about the butterfly challenge as I was writing so I figured I had to add it with the name word play- and the author for the challenge was icing on the irony cake because I only thought about it after I made the title. Thanks for all the kind words!
XOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #5, by navyfail The Broken Butterfly

25th July 2013:
Hi! I am here for the review swap. First off, Cho is probably one of my least favorite characters from the Harry Potter series. Though this one-shot did give me a different perspective of her. I don't think I ever realized how much Cedric had meant to her and how she thought somehow Harry could fix her problems. I honestly really like the character development and the butterfly challenge was a nice touch. I can see Hermione doing such a thing. I also didn't know that Cho meant butterfly. Now that I do this story does seem to make more sense. Another thing I like is that she thought of her parents and their jobs. A lot of teenagers seem to forget what they do can affect their parents.

Anyway, nice one-shot. I enjoyed reading it.
~Sama

Author's Response: Thank you for all the lovely compliments! I really dislike Cho- which made writing this a challenge all it's own. I had to include the job part because she made it a point to say her parents didn't approve and Hermione defended Cho for that reason as well. I thought it would give some sense as to why Mione defended Cho after the whole Valentines Day incident.
Thanks again for leaving a review- you didn't have to do that!
XOXOXO,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #6, by Broken Butterfly The Broken Butterfly

19th July 2013:
Great Job. Thanks for your submission to The No Happy Ending Challenge. I like how Cho feels through this, much different than how The the movie portrays her to be. Great Work. Stay tuned for results.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I tried to portray Cho as everyone thought she was in the book. In the movie she just seemed to cry a lot... Thanks again and I shall wait patiently for the results.
XOXOXOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #7, by Siriusgirl The Broken Butterfly

15th July 2013:
Reviewing for the HC. Good job on this :) For someone who doesn't like Cho, you do write her well. You show her pain and angst. Excellent one-shot!
Siriusgirl aka coppertop1, from Hufflepuff.

Author's Response: Why thank you! I tried to put my dislike/indifference to the side and write how I would have prolly felt in her shoes. Excellent??- My work- pshh, nah- but thanks dear:)
XOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter The Broken Butterfly

15th July 2013:
So I couldn't not review this story, what with my honorable mention at the start-thanks by the way and you're very welcome!

As you already know, I really like this one shot and think it has huge potential should you want to turn it into a longer story. I think you execute Cho's feelings perfectly in this and she's perfectly cannon. Also, I really like the interaction between her and Hermione at the end. A great read, for the third time :)

Author's Response: Haha thank you HeyMrsPotter... I would love to continue- but this was the lucky shot in the dark WITH my hands over my eyes. I know it was a rough first draft and thanks for turning it into something lovely! You should beta for me more often considering how amazing you are!
XOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login