Reading Reviews for Bowled Over
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by toomanycurls Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

11th November 2013:
I read someone else's entry in this challenge yesterday so I thought I'd be cool to read through yours!

Wow - this is quite a funny view of Cho (funny haha, not funny strange). I can see her being this competitve. I laughed as she was talking Pippa into letting her play. Then when she was threatening to be lound and have them found out it was quite hysterical.

Oh man, I don't know if I should laugh or go check on Filch to see if he's okay. Well, I'm stuck laughing.

This is quite a good parody. :D
-rose

Author's Response: I'm really glad that this story made you laugh! Eh, Filch will be fine. Grumbling as usual, but fine ;)

Thank you for this review :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Red_headed_juliet Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

10th November 2013:
This was very amusing! I wasn't expecting Cho to be in her first year, it was refreshing to see the young her. There were a few punctuation things, but nothing too major. I can see why it did well in the Challenge, pretty entertaining. +]

Author's Response: Thanks! I'll review the chapter once more to correct the errors.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Singularity Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

9th November 2013:
What a cute story! I love that you chose to write about Cho as a first year. It was nice to get a sense of who she was before we meet her as a sad, weepy, girl in OotP. This is a Cho that I could actually see growing up to be someone who Harry could fancy. She still had some of the traits we know she possesses later (athleticism, competitiveness, intelligenct, etc) but she still seemed like an 11 year old. So really great job with the characterization!

I also felt like I got a pretty good feel for Pippa's character. You could definitely tell that she and Cho are sisters. The other girls all blended together. While I think it would have been nice if they had been more distinct characters, I know that's sometimes hard to do when writing a one-shot, and I don't think it detracted from the story too much, as they were really just background characters anyway.

The plot was really cute and humorous. I absolutely loved the way you ended it. Cho's last line was great! I didn't really get 'parody' from reading this, but it was cute, fluffy, and well-written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! Yeah, this was my first attempt at writing something remotely humorous and I agree that this wasn't really a parody as opposed to merely a funny story. Thanks for sharing your thoughts :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Natalie Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

22nd July 2013:
I really enjoyed this story and it was really cute. Also, cute banner! Good job and keep writing :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by iatevoldysnose Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

15th July 2013:
Woah! This was a really good oneshot! I enjoyed it a lot, especially being a cricket-lover myself :P I liked how you showed Cho's personality and character differently to how most people write her. It showed her more adventurous and fun-loving side :) I also love how you ended the story :D

Great work and don't stop writing! I can't wait to read more of your work :)

Love,
iatevoldysnose xox

P.S. Love your username :D

Author's Response: First of all, I love your username as well :)
This is a bit different from the usual stories involving Cho due to it being written for a parody. I'm glad that you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyLou Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

13th July 2013:
Hey, LilyLou here with your Requested Review!

I loved it! The plot was amazing! It flowed quite well, over all.

-Your characterization is very well written. You keep the same traits on a character and you don't make them brave one minute and cowards the next. You kept it consistent.

-You went in depth and explained things. You weren't vague on anything and I was never confused when it came to something about the plot. Some authors simply aren't descriptive enough. They leave out important factors- you didn't.

-I love how you wrote Cho. For all we know, she could have been like that. We never REALLY meet her until after Cedric's death; and for all we know, that could have drastically changed her personality, losing someone she loves.

-A confusing thing was the friends of Pippa. Perhaps you could have named them and explained who they were. Don't drift away from the main focus; just vaguely describe them so it's easier to write about when they come in no such.

-The relationship between Pippa and Cho is so realistic. You made them just like sisters; mean to each other, but still, Pippa softened up a bit towards Cho at one point or another. It was perfectly written!

-I've never played cricket, and you explained it enough for me to understand enough. You added tiny details and explained the game to me so I wasn't confused.

Amazing one shot. I loved it!

Keep writing!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm pretty embarrassed for not replying earlier. Life was just...ugh. Too many things going on and being the biggest procrastinator in the world isn't exactly helping my situation. ;)

First off, I love your use of bullet points, it makes the review so easy to read. I should really try that method in the future.

There is a nice thing about writing a story on a character before he/she has been introduced in the books. I get the freedom to write what I want. So you're absolutely right, Cho could have been the feisty little first year whose character changed completely after Cedric's death. We will never know. Such tragedies like death do break people inside.

I'm no cricket expert either and I'm glad that the terms of the sport didn't confuse you. :)

So once again, thank you so much for the great review! I apologize profusely for not responding earlier.


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

4th July 2013:
Hi, here with your requested review!

I really enjoyed this! It was lovely to see Cho as a first year, pre-Cedric. And I really liked the way you characterised her, the typical younger sister who looks up to the older one, and feisty, and good at cricket. I especially thought her talent at cricket was a nice touch given that she's quite good at Quidditch. But you've still got the girly quality to Cho which we see later in OotP - when she's thinking of what to wear with her cricket uniform! All together I really liked your portrayal of Cho.

And that ending LOL. I'm surprised Cho wasn't still serving detentions four years later.

One thing I was sort of wondering near the beginning though - one of Pippa's friends asks her "What's a James Bond"... despite her friends maybe not knowing much about muggle pop culture, I think they'd recognise it as a name at least, and maybe ask "Who is James Bond?"

Thanks for requesting, I'm glad I read this! :) Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks! I loved portraying Cho as fiery eleven year old, with an actual life that doesn't involve moping over the loss of Cedric. She's still a girly girl that loves the pretty things in life.

Pippa's friends are all wizards unfamiliar to the muggle movies and novels. Cricket was something Pippa introduced to them. That's why they thought that James Bond, like cricket, was some sort of a title or game rather than a person.

Still, thank you so much for the great review and your kind words. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Trundlebug Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

4th July 2013:
I thought it was great.

We just don't get enough Cho, or any Ravenclaw really. I particularly enjoyed her thoughts on accessorizing a cricket uniform.

It was well-written and held my attention perfectly (this from someone who knows nothing of cricket). The characters were distinct and their dialogue seemed real enough for me.

All in all, this is a fun and witty read, and I think you should definitely pursue more of such light-hearted tales in the future.

Author's Response: Ravenclaws are so underrated in the books (apart from Luna), so this is something of a tribute to my house and all its amazing people. The arrival of the House Cup shortly after was a pleasant coincidence. ;)

Thank you for all the encouragement as this is my first parody. I guess my sense of humor isn't as bad as I thought it would be. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #9, by KiwiOliver Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

3rd July 2013:
Hey there, KiwiOliver here with your RR:
First off let me say it's nice to see a pre-Cedric story staring Cho, that's a nice change!
I really like how she's this enthusiastic fun girl, as we don't get to see much of that in other stories!
Your story flowed really well, I just wish you had used a bit more detail in places, like the room of Requirement, after all, Cho had never been there before so she must have been excited right?
I like the relationship the sisters have, it's real and something that isn't far fetched at all :)
Your characters are all realistic and beleiveable so don't worry about those :)
Your plot is really interesting and I like the way you had them play Cricket, which is a very british thing to do :p
The end line was realy good as well! :) Really made me think about what had happened to her.
Hope to see you requesting more in the future!
KO
(Sorry if there are any spelling mistakes ect, I'm on my phone :P)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review my story. I appreciate your feedback and will incorporate it into my story as soon as I can :)

(By the way, you're pretty adept at typing on you phone. I always take forever to write a message and even then its riddled with mistakes :P)


 Report Review

Review #10, by patronus_charm Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

3rd July 2013:
Hello there, Iím here to review your challenge entry!

I really liked the inclusion of cricket as itís such an iconic British sport and even though I donít know how to play it, it just reminds me of Britain so it gave the story great authenticity and I really didnít think cricket could be so humorous.

Cho was really lovely in this one-shot. Iíve always had a soft spot for her as sheís a fellow Claw and all, so seeing her being depicted as a nice person here was really great. The fact sheís good at cricket ties in well with her quidditch playing and I liked the idea of her being an adventurous person and sneaking out at night time.

Pippa and her group of her friends was a great inclusion too. Pippa was a really good narrator and she added a humorous element to the story which I really enjoyed. I think one of my favourite parts was her description of Cho and likening her to an angel because I never thought that would happen.

I do have to admit I thought Cho was going to go all psycho on Pippa when she saw her in the corridor but I suppose we do have to wonder what tied her into a feisty person later on. Maybe it was just due to Cedric dying and all of that jazz because I wouldnít be surprised by that if it was.

The idea of the room of requirement turning into a cricket pitch was really great and itís now making me wonder whether other students have done that beforehand. The cricket game was really interesting to watch too, and I could tell that you were a big fan but the level of technicality you went into which was a really great touch.

Then the ending made me crack up with Cho hitting Filch and then having to run for it, itís making me wonder what happened to them and whether they managed to escape! That was a really great one-shot and it brightened my day!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Sorry for the late reply. Truth is, I didn't want to jinx my chances in the competition. Me superstitious? Pfft no way :P

Anyway, I'm really glad you liked the story! The whole point of me writing this story (aside from the competition) was to make people laugh out loud. More than placing third, I'm really glad that my story brightened your day :)

Thanks again for the awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by teh tarik Cho Chang: The Master Blaster

30th June 2013:
Hi there! I'm here from the review tag :)

Well, this was a quirky little story! I'm glad you chose to write such a funny, light-hearted piece about Cho! There are many Cho stories on the archives which are angst-ridden, all focusing on her life post-Cedric, so it's really refreshing to read such a unique little fic focusing on a moment during her first year. And goodness, Cho is feisty. She'll certainly do whatever it takes to get her own way. Not to mention she's an excellent cricket player as well. :) Lovely combination; I like this Cho a lot!

I like the little contrasts and the sibling dynamics between Cho and Pippa - Cho as the tag-a-long little sis and Pippa as the impatient older one. Well, they're similar, too - both seem to have quite the penchant for rule-breaking.

And, it was really interesting that you included a Muggle sport here. And gah, Cho hitting the ball straight at Filch's head. Honestly, she pretty much surpasses the Weasley twins with her capability for mischief and ruthlessness.

I do wish that you'd included a wee bit more description in certain parts, especially the Room of Requirement. It's Cho's first time in there, and seeing the room transform into a cricket pitch must have surely been an astounding sight for her, and I think it would be great if you'd expanded a little on the detail.

But all in all, this is a fun little story, and I really enjoyed reading! Great work :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey! I like this Cho a lot as well!

This one-shot was written for a parody challenge, so it couldn't help but be anything other than funny and light-hearted. I'm glad that I achieved bringing out those emotions from the story, though. It must mean I've succeeded in something, right?

I love the way you've described Pippa and Cho's bond- I couldn't have described it any better. Although they are total opposites, they have similarities. Well put :)

I will definitely add more description in certain areas- thank you for pointing that out to me! I would have never caught it otherwise. See, now this is why I like reviews, yours especially. :)





 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login