Reading Reviews for Age of Peace and Times of Joy
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elizabeth Lynn Christmas Reflections

26th March 2014:
Really good, nicely written. Wasn't Neville's mother called Alice, maybe next time check for mistakes like that. Otherwise very good.

Author's Response: Hi!

Yes, Neville's mother's name is Alice. :)

I wanted Neville and Hannah's daughter to be named after Neville's mother and to have her own name. Alicia is the Latinized form of Alice. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Secret Santa Christmas Reflections

25th December 2013:
Ho ho ho!

Well this certainly was heartbreaking. Heartbreakingly beautiful! Gosh, I should not have been listening to 'Halleluah' while reading this. My heart hurts. In the sad sense, not the heart attack sense, so don't worry!

I really loved this. You took canon facts but added dimension and even created this aura of life around characters we have never seen.

I loved how you went into detail about the lives of Hogwarts characters and how they managed after the war and the details about their children really set this apart from a few fics I've read on this subject.

I especially loved the Charlie bit, the jab at James being named for two marauders and Fred being named for... well, Fred, and how both seemed to be trying to live up to their names, as well as the small Teddy/Victoire bit. That last one especially warmed my heart!

All in all, I just want to say that I really liked this. I can't exactly pinpoint what made this so amazing to me, because the entire thing is just so wonderfully well done. I thought I loved the first two fics of yours that I read, but you've outshone your own work.

Delightfully, beautifully, gorgeously sad, yet at the same time happy. I'm going to stop now before I start bawling and acting strange, but know that I loved this. Hopefully I haven't been too redundant in my love for this.

Amazing job!
Secret Santa! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I'm very glad that you found this piece to be heartbreakingly beautiful. I wanted to present a moment in time that would catch the emotions. :)

It was a lot of fun thinking up plausible future/history tidbits for each character. I may have to try another one with another family. :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by mini mis Christmas Reflections

14th September 2013:
I crys. I never crys

Author's Response: I hope these were tears of happiness... I didn't want to make anyone sad.

I'm sorry for the delay in responding - real life took an interesting turn.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Hermione ;) Christmas Reflections

21st July 2013:
Beautiful Story! Tears started to escape my eyes when you started to write about George and I got chills right up to Mrs Weasley reminiscing about the garden gnome as a star on the Christmas Tree. You have done the Harry Potter series true honor here by sticking to what JK Rowling wanted the future to look like for our characters.
You are clearly a true Potterhead! Which is a compliment, obviously. That must make me sound silly but what I mean is that you outlined a perfectly beautiful image of what the Family deserves, down to your on-the-spot detailing like with the toy brooms similar to what Harry had when he was 1. I loved it. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

After following the series for so long, I wanted to know what eventually became of them and was surprised with how little information was given in the Epilogue. :( When the challenge to write an alternative ending was presented, I already had a family gathering taking place - I only needed to decide whether it would take place at Christmas or during the summer.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Athene Goodstrength Christmas Reflections

18th July 2013:
Hello! What a lovely idea for a story. I really love Weasleys, and I'm always interested to see what sort of epilogue people might like to write for my favourite family :)

You include lots of lovely, interesting details in this story, and Molly's loving, worrying personality really just comes across very well. There seem to be lots of stories that you could expand upon really interestingly in their own stories - the shocker of Percy and Audrey, plus baby Molly for one thing! That really surprised me.

I really liked the description of little Dominique being similar to her aunt Gabrielle - that's a nice canon-type touch.

I do think Molly's reaction to Charlie's life is a little out-of-character... Although family means everything to her, I don't think she'd be disappointed in him for not marrying or having children. Perhaps she'd be worried that he'd be lonely, but she never seemed like the sort of mum who'd be disappointed by something like that. Maybe you could expand Charlie's section slightly and talk about his work? Just a suggestion :)

I absolutely loved the line about only worrying about Ron and Hermione if they *stopped* bickering. That's so them.

I enjoyed this! A really original idea.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I've written down your suggestions and will consider how best to include them. The idea of expanding some of the sections into their own stories is a wonderful idea. Thank you.

I'll take another look at Charlie's section and see how best to change Molly's worry.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by demigodshadeslayer Christmas Reflections

15th July 2013:
Hey!
I was just going through random one-shots and decided to give your story a shot, and I'm really glad I did!! It's one of the best post-Hogwarts stories I've read and you've given each character a special connection which I personally loved!! I also like the fact that the story is from Molly's POV, which is not very common! I loved the story in total and you've done an amazing job with it!! keep it up!!
love,
$

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I really enjoyed writing this story. I hadn't written a story yet from her viewpoint and thought this would be the best story for it.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pheonix Potioneer Christmas Reflections

14th July 2013:
This has a such a sweet ending. :)

It was nice that you point information about all of Molly's children, and also her great grandchildren. Rowling never really listed their personalities, and I like how you put their personalities.

It would be nice, though, if you let us see the personalities by their actions during Christmas. That would be quite fun.

I was quite surprised when you had the epilouge from Molly's POV. But I see why you did that, she is a person of family.

The ending is bittersweet, in a way. They are now happy, but also sad as a result of the war.

Good job with this story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

My thought was that since Molly has been so family-oriented throughout the series that she would be the best one to consider how her family has changed through the years. I did have one idea of a picnic during the summer, but a scene from Christmas seemed more poignant.

I've added your suggestion to the chapter and I will consider how best it could be implemented. Thank you! :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by BluebirdBrigade Christmas Reflections

14th July 2013:
This was a very sweet podcast and really brought about the sense of unity and family and how important it is that we stick together. I loved the description you brought to the story and the way Molly talked about each person in her family and her voice shone through really realistically too. I felt really warm by the end of it because it's clear that even with a very diverse and almost dysfunctional family that Molly loves each and every one of them and that was really lovely to read. Such a heart warming and beautiful story and she really summed it up at the end of the story 'I'm so happy that we're all here together.'

Superb story, barely any spelling or gammar mistakes and I loved the style you wrote with!

Maz

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I really enjoyed writing this story. I wanted something more than just names and ages. I really wanted each of them to seem realistic, especially the children.

The last lines of the story were the hardest for me to write. Tears were freely flowing as I tried to bring the story to a close. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Wildmoon Christmas Reflections

14th July 2013:
I have no problem imaging this story taking place in about 6 seconds, just a look around the room and all the emotions flooding her at once.

This was a lovely piece, I can imagine this just as easily as the epilogue we got in the book. All is well.

VERY well written!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I really enjoyed writing this story, tears included. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotter Christmas Reflections

13th July 2013:
Hello!
I thought this was a wonderful story, and I loved reading it! It just made me so happy to picture the whole family together for Christmas! I think you did a fantastic job with this. 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I really enjoyed writing this story. I'm very glad you enjoyed the story!

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Aurorofthelight Christmas Reflections

12th July 2013:
An absolute masterpiece! How brilliant! Thanks for such a wonderful little gem! :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I really enjoyed writing this story and am overjoyed that you liked it!

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by HeyMrsPotter Christmas Reflections

7th July 2013:
Hello! I'm here with your very late review!

You create such a beautiful scene of The Burrow in this, I can almost smell the mince pies! I love the little additions like the charm to remove the paper, they really add to the magic of your story.

The little descriptions of the family were adorable! I really liked how you gave the children their own personalities; individual yet taking after their parents. The mention of Neville was great too, it was so sweet that he kept the coin from the DA days, I definitely think this is something he would have done. They were all very realistic, especially Ron and Hermione's continuous bickering.

My favourite part was Molly's worries about Charlie, I can almost hear her saying those things to him, about not being married or having children, it was very true to character :)

I think the little details of this story are what makes it so good. Things like the names of Neville's children, Harry's reuniting with Dudley and petunia writing to him in secret. The story is beautifully written, I didn't see any spelling or grammar mistakes and it flowed really well.

Some little bits of CC: I think some of the ages may be a little off, Lily being younger than Hugo and Rose should be the same age as James but that's just me being picky, the story works perfectly regardless! The only other thing I'd suggest is that it ends at her abruptly. I think maybe even another paragraph just to sum up Molly's feelings, her happiness at being surrounded by family? Other than that this was a really lovely alternative epilogue!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This was a very fun story to write.

I will be revising the chapter to include a little more information on Molly herself.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by BellaFan202 Christmas Reflections

4th July 2013:
Hi! Thanks so much for requesting this, I really enjoyed it, and I'm so soo sooo sorry for the really long wait!

I really liked how it showed everyone from Molly's point of view, but I would have liked to see a little bit more about her. How had she changed over the years? How was she doing with everything that had happened and everything she had lost and sacrificed?

That being said, I think you did a really good job saying how everyone else was. Everything was believable and there was pretty good description on every family. You did a good job describing all of her kids and then going through to their families, and I liked how you included the Dursleys and Mrs. Tonks and Teddy as well.

I don't think there were any kind of grammatical errors or anything like that, and for that I give you/your beta if you have one kudos. :)

Once again, I am really sorry about the really long wait. I really don't have any excuse, except that I would have gotten this in about four or five days either but my friend came over, and then I went to her house for three days, and now she's back over at my house.

Thank you so much for requesting! :)

~BellaFan202~

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

And no problem! I completely understand!

I've added a note about adding more to Molly's character. Looking at it, I can see how I skipped over her.

This was definitely a fun story to write. So far, I've had no beta though I've been considering it lately. Thank you!

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by UnluckyStar57 Christmas Reflections

20th June 2013:
Hi! I shall now review your story! :)

This was a really good glance into the lives of the "Wotters" in between the end of Deathly Hallows and the epilogue. I liked how you wrote it from Molly's perspective because it gave the story a reminiscent quality, perfect coming from a grandmotherly woman like her.

Your description at the beginning was very good. I could really see the scene in the way you laid it out for me. It was also really nice that you put in some action between the details of jobs and children--you made the children do something, which kind of gave more substance to their various personalities. However, I would have loved to see more of that throughout the chapter. For instance, what about Teddy? What does he look like? How old is he? Does he get along with the other kids? Do he and Victoire have a friendship thing going on? What color is his hair now? All of these are just little details that would add a little more shape to the story, but they don't have to be added. I am only here to suggest things. :)

I was amused by the fact that you included the Dursleys: FOUR kids?! Whoa! However, I'd also like to know more about them. Are any of the kids magical? Is Caroline a witch? (I'm guessing that she's probably not, but one can never tell!) What did you have in mind for them? What do you see them as being? I'd really like to know!! Then again, maybe Molly has never seen them. That would explain why she wouldn't describe them much, but I'd like to know whether she has or hasn't anyway, just for closure.

I'm very surprised that this story hasn't been reviewed before--it looks to be hot off the presses! I'm very glad that you requested a review from me, because this really was a lovely story. Seeing a scene pre-epilogue through someone else's eyes was a really cool change of pace. :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I did enjoy writing from Molly's point of view.

I've added notes to include more about Teddy as you suggested. And I'll include more information about Neville's children.

I had to look at that piece of information a few times. But it kept saying "several" children, so I chose four. :)

Since the Secrecy Statute has been eased for those with Muggle relatives, Molly is really getting to meet Dudley's family and Hermione's parents for the first time in a wizarding setting.

I will add more information on the Dudley's family in particular. And add Molly wondering a little bit more about Dudley and his family. Caroline isn't a witch and none of the children are magical. I had considered it, but they are comfortable with magic.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login